Increase Security in the Home Network - An Overview

Increase Security in the Home Network

An Overview

Ralph Meier
by Ralph Meier
on February 10, 2022
time to read: 7 minutes

Keypoints

Measures and tips for a Secure Home Network

  • Default settings of routers should be changed during commissioning
  • Guests should be separated from the home network
  • Overview of the participating devices in the network, their software status and possible vulnerabilities is definitely advantageous
  • Network segmentation brings further security through further subdivisions, but requires specific devices

Have you recently purchased an Amazon Alexa or other Internet of Things device? Do you allow your guests access to your home WLAN network without blinking an eye? Do you know about all the devices on your home network, or only some of them, or have you lost track of them?

This article is intended to show some tips on home network security and to support you when reinstalling your WLAN.

Default Configuration of a Router

Most home routers only create a WLAN with the device name and use a predefined password in the installation process. This is either a standard password or an individual password printed on the router. For users who are not very concerned with the topic of network settings, this results in a single network to which all computers and smartphones are logically connected. But that’s not the end of the story: You might have a smart speaker, a smart TV, possibly a hub for smart home devices, and at some point a new kitchen appliance will come into the house that also has an internet connection. When guests visit, they sometimes also need internet access, so their devices are also added to the network.

Emerging Issues

If all devices are integrated into a single network, this can lead to various problems. On the one hand, one can quickly lose the overview of all devices connected to the network. On the other hand, all network participants see shared files if public shares or network drives exist and are configured incorrectly or not protected. Devices with different and partly unknown software versions enter the network and thus bring unknown security vulnerabilities with them.

All devices can communicate with each other because they are on the same network, making it easier for attackers to jump from an infected device to other devices, such as the personal computer. By mixing all devices, i.e. devices with private files and Internet of Things (IoT) devices, the creation of firewall rules becomes more difficult. IoT devices, for example, often need to be accessible from the internet in order to use the full range of functions.

Security Tips for the Home Network

The following are some basic home network security improvements.

First Steps

When commissioning a new router, the default settings should be adjusted immediately. This means changing the password for the WLAN to a random sequence of upper and lower case letters, numbers and special characters with a minimum length of 12 characters. Since this password only has to be entered once per device, it can be longer.

The name of the network, the so-called SSID (Service Set Identifier), should not contain the model or manufacturer of the router used. It is also advisable to choose a name that is not related to your own household.

Next, the encryption method used for the wireless network should be set to the highest possible option, which at the time of this writing is WPA3.

Now check whether new updates are available for the router and activate the option to install future updates automatically.

What to do if there are still Sevices that do not support WPA3?

The best solution would be to put these devices in their own virtual LAN (VLAN) and use WPA2 there. If the router does not support WPA3 or WPA2, it should be replaced with a newer model as soon as possible.

Guest Network

Many routers today have the option to set up a separate guest network. This is an independent subnet that has its own SSID and password. If you want to provide internet access to your guests, you should configure it this way.

This solves several of the problems listed above in one fell swoop. Some routers also offer a function that generates a QR code to enable easy connection to the guest network.

More Settings

After the division between home network and guest network, the remaining configuration options of the router should be gone through and checked. Some routers offer various functions such as NAS functionality or an FTP server. The rule here is that if the functionality is not currently being used, it should be deactivated. This also applies to accessing the router’s administrator interface from the Internet. If this option is active, we recommend deactivating it.

Network Segmentation

By applying network segmentation, a network is divided into several subnets or VLANs. This is something for advanced users and often not feasible with standard routers.

The aim here is to divide a large flat network into small subnets with “similar” devices and thus reduce the attack surface.

Example of network segmentation for a home network

By similar devices, it is meant that all devices with private data or with access to private data, such as computers, tablets and smartphones, for example, enter a first subnet. Printers, televisions, IoT devices and their hubs go into another subnet. Then there is a subnet for guests and possibly another for working in the home office.

With such a subdivision, firewall rules can be introduced per network segment and thus also configured more efficiently and precisely. Connections from the first subnet can be allowed into the subnet with IoT devices and printers, while a connection request in the opposite direction can be blocked.

The introduction of different subnets also makes lateral movement in the event of a cyber attack more difficult or, depending on the configuration, impossible.

Tips for buying Smart Appliances

Before purchasing Internet-enabled products that are to be integrated into the home network or devices for network expansion, the following aspects should be considered:

Conclusion

For a secure home network, changing the default settings, using up-to-date software on routers and end devices and using secure passwords are essential. Good device management, a division into home network and guest network or even a more specific network segmentation provide additional security. It is also important to inform oneself intensively before buying in order to choose devices that have the desired functions and are compatible with each other. To avoid unintentional known vulnerabilities when re-integrating devices, a vulnerability database should be consulted in advance.

About the Author

Ralph Meier

Ralph Meier completed an apprenticeship as an application developer, with a focus on web development with Java, at a major Swiss bank and then completed a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science UAS Zurich at the ZHAW School of Engineering. His primary task is doing security-related analysis of web applications and services. (ORCID 0000-0002-3997-8482)

Links

You want to evaluate or develop an AI?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Flipper Zero

Flipper Zero

Ralph Meier

OAuth 2.0 Flows

OAuth 2.0 Flows

Ralph Meier

Web Cache Poisoning

Web Cache Poisoning

Ralph Meier

Reverse Engineering

Reverse Engineering

Ralph Meier

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Sicherheit im Heimnetzwerk erhöhen - Ein Überblick

Sicherheit im Heimnetzwerk erhöhen

Ein Überblick

Ralph Meier
von Ralph Meier
am 10. Februar 2022
Lesezeit: 7 Minuten

Keypoints

Massnahmen und Tipps für ein sicheres Heimnetzwerk

  • Standardeinstellungen von Routern sollten bei Inbetriebnahme geändert werden
  • Gäste sollten vom Heimnetzwerk getrennt werden
  • Überblick der teilnehmenden Geräte im Netzwerk, deren Softwarestand und möglichen Schwachstellen ist durchaus von Vorteil
  • Netzwerksegmentierung bringt weitere Sicherheit durch zusätzliche Unterteilungen, benötigt jedoch spezifische Geräte

Sie haben letztens eine Amazon Alexa oder ein anderes Internet of Things Gerät zugelegt? Ihren Gästen gewähren Sie Zugriff in ihr WLAN-Heimnetzwerk ohne mit den Augen zu zwinkern? Sie wissen über alle Geräte in Ihrem Heimnetzwerk Bescheid, oder nur über einen Teil oder Sie haben gar den Überblick verloren?

Dieser Beitrag soll einige Tipps zur Sicherheit im Heimnetzwerk aufzeigen und Sie bei der Neuinstallation Ihres WLANs unterstützen.

Auslieferungskonfiguration eines Routers

Die meisten Router für den Heimgebrauch erstellen im Installationsprozess nur ein WLAN mit dem Gerätenamen und verwenden ein vordefiniertes Passwort. Dies ist entweder ein Standardpasswort oder ein individuelles auf dem Router aufgedrucktes Passwort. Für Anwender, welche sich nicht gross mit dem Thema Netzwerkeinstellungen befassen, resultiert also ein einziges Netzwerk, mit welchem logischerweise alle Computer und Smartphones verbunden werden. Damit ist jedoch noch nicht Schluss: Man hat vielleicht noch einen smarten Lautsprecher, einen Smart TV, eventuell einen Hub für Smart Home Geräte und irgendwann kommt ein neues Küchengerät ins Haus, welches neu auch über eine Internetanbindung verfügt. Wenn Gäste zu Besuch sind, brauchen diese teilweise auch einen Internetzugang, somit werden deren Geräte auch ins Netzwerk hinzugefügt.

Aufkommende Probleme

Wenn alle Geräte in ein einziges Netzwerk eingebunden werden, kann dies zu verschiedenen Problemen führen. Zum einen kann man schnell den Überblick aller mit dem Netzwerk verbundenen Geräte verlieren. Zum anderen sehen alle Netzwerkteilnehmer geteilte Dateien, sofern öffentliche Freigaben oder Netzlaufwerke vorhanden und falsch beziehungsweise nicht geschützt konfiguriert sind. Es kommen Geräte mit unterschiedlichem und teilweise auch unbekanntem Softwarestand ins Netzwerk und bringen damit unbekannte Sicherheitslücken mit sich.

Alle Geräte können untereinander kommunizieren, da sie im selben Netzwerk sind, das macht es Angreifer leichter, von einem infizierten Gerät auf andere Geräte, wie zum Beispiel den persönlichen Computer, zu springen. Durch die Vermischung von allen Geräten, sprich Geräten mit privaten Dateien und Internet of Things (IoT) Geräten, wird das Erstellen von Firewall Regeln schwieriger. Denn IoT Geräte zum Beispiel müssen oft vom Internet aus angesprochen werden können, um den vollständigen Funktionsumfang nutzen zu können.

Sicherheitstipps fürs Heimnetzwerk

Es folgen einige grundlegende Verbesserung für mehr Sicherheit im Heimnetzwerk.

Erste Schritte

Bei der Inbetriebnahme eines neuen Routers sollten zuerst die Standardeinstellungen unverzüglich angepasst werden. Dies bedeutet, das Passwort fürs WLAN zu ändern auf eine zufällige Abfolge von Gross- und Kleinbuchstaben, Zahlen und Sonderzeichen mit einer Mindestlänge von 12 Zeichen. Da dieses Passwort pro Gerät nur einmal eingeben werden muss, kann es auch gerne länger sein.

Der Name des Netzwerks, die sogenannte SSID (Service Set Identifier), sollte nicht das Modell oder den Hersteller des eingesetzten Routers enthalten. Es empfiehlt sich auch ein Name zu wählen, welcher nicht auf den eigenen Haushalt zurückzuführen ist.

Anschliessend sollte die eingesetzte Verschlüsslungsmethode für das Drahtlosenetzwerk auf die höchstmögliche Option gesetzt werden, zum Zeitpunkt dieses Artikels ist dies WPA3.

Nun sollte geprüft werden, ob für den Router neue Updates bereitstehen, sowie die Option zukünftige Updates automatische zu installieren, aktiviert werden.

Was tun, wenn noch Geräte vorhanden sind, welche WPA3 nicht unterstützen?

Die beste Lösung wäre, diese Geräte in ein eigenes Virtuelles Lan (VLAN) zu stecken und dort WPA2 zu verwenden. Falls der Router kein WPA3 beziehungsweise WPA2 unterstützt, sollte dieser zeitnah ersetzt werden durch ein neueres Modell.

Gastnetzwerk

Viele heutige Router verfügen über die Option, ein separates Gastnetzwerk einzurichten. Dies ist ein eigenständiges Subnetz, das über eine eigene SSID und ein eigenes Passwort verfügt. Sofern man seinen Gästen einen Internetzugang zu Verfügung stellen möchte, sollte man dies so konfigurieren.

Damit lösen sich gleich einige zuvor aufgezählte Probleme auf einen Schlag. Einige Router bieten zudem eine Funktion, welche einen QR-Code generiert, um das einfache Verbinden mit dem Gastnetzwerk zu ermöglichen.

Weitere Einstellungen

Nach der Unterteilung zwischen Heimnetzwerk und Gastnetzwerk sollten die restlichen Konfigurationsmöglichkeiten des Routers durchgegangen und überprüft werden. Einige Router bieten verschiedene Funktionen wie eine NAS-Funktionalität oder einen FTP-Server. Hierbei gilt, sofern die Funktionalität gerade nicht verwendet wird, sollte sie deaktiviert werden. Dies gilt auch für den Zugriff auf die Administratoroberfläche des Routers aus dem Internet. Sofern diese Option aktiv ist, empfehlen wir, diese zu deaktivieren.

Netzwerksegmentierung

Durch das Anwenden einer Netzwerksegmentierung wird ein Netzwerk in mehrere Subnetze oder VLANs unterteilt. Dies ist etwas für fortgeschrittene Anwender und oft nicht mit Standardroutern umsetzbar.

Ziel dabei ist es, ein grosses flaches Netzwerk in kleine Subnetze mit “ähnlichen” Geräten zu unterteilen und somit die Angriffsfläche zu reduzieren.

Beispiel einer Netzwerksegmentierung für ein Heimnetzwerk

Mit ähnlichen Geräten ist gemeint, dass in ein erstes Subnetz zum Beispiel alle Geräte mit privaten Daten oder mit Zugang zu privaten Daten, wie Computer, Tablets und Smartphones hineinkommen. In ein weiteres Subnetz kommen Drucker, Fernseher, IoT Geräte und deren Hubs. Dann gibt es ein Subnetz für Gäste und eventuell ein weiteres für das Arbeiten im Homeoffice.

Durch solch eine Unterteilung können Firewall-Regeln pro Netzsegment eingeführt werden und somit auch effizienter und genauer konfiguriert werden. Verbindungen vom ersten Subnetz kann in das Subnetz mit IoT Geräten und Druckern zugelassen werden, wobei eine Verbindungsanfrage in die Gegenrichtung blockiert werden kann.

Durch die Einführung von verschiedenen Subnetzen wird auch die laterale Ausbreitung bei einem Cyber-Angriff erschwert beziehungsweise je nach Konfiguration verunmöglicht.

Tipps für den Kauf von smarten Geräten

Vor dem Kauf von internetfähigen Produkten, welche ins Heimnetzwerk eingebunden werden oder Geräte für den Netzwerkausbau an sich, sollten folgende Aspekte berücksichtig werden:

Fazit

Für ein sicheres Heimnetzwerk sind die Änderung der Standardeinstellung, die Verwendung aktueller Software auf Router und Endgeräte sowie der Einsatz von sicheren Passwörtern essenziell. Ein gutes Gerätemanagement, eine Unterteilung in Heimnetzwerk und Gastnetzwerk oder sogar eine spezifischere Netzwerksegmentierung bringen zusätzliche Sicherheit. Ebenfalls ist es wichtig sich vor dem Kauf intensiv zu informieren, um Geräte zu wählen, welche über die gewünschten Funktionen verfügen und untereinander kompatibel sind. Um ungewollte bekannte Schwachstellen beim Neueinbinden von Geräten zu vermeiden, sollten im Voraus eine Schwachstellendatenbank konsultiert werden.

Über den Autor

Ralph Meier

Ralph Meier hat eine Lehre als Applikationsentwickler, Fokus Webentwicklung mit Java, bei einer Schweizer Grossbank absolviert und danach einen Bachelor of Science ZFH in Informatik an der ZHAW School of Engineering abgeschlossen. Er fokussiert sich auf die sicherheitstechnische Untersuchung von Webapplikationen. (ORCID 0000-0002-3997-8482)

Links

Sie wollen eine KI evaluieren oder entwickeln?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
OAuth 2.0 Flows

OAuth 2.0 Flows

Ralph Meier

Web Cache Poisoning

Web Cache Poisoning

Ralph Meier

Reverse Engineering

Reverse Engineering

Ralph Meier

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv