Cyber War - How Technology wins Wars

Cyber War

How Technology wins Wars

Marc Ruef
by Marc Ruef
on March 09, 2022
time to read: 5 minutes

Keypoints

This is how Technology wins Wars

  • Army leadership must not close its mind to the digitalization of war
  • attacks on critical infrastructure can affect a society severely
  • these are controlled using classic computer and network systems
  • anticipating geopolitical activities must accordingly also take place in cyberspace
  • in the process, own offensive activities must also be cultivated

More than 10 years ago I had the opportunity to discuss the topic of cyber in the context of Army leadership. During this discussion it was said from different sides that cyber would not decide a war. That was wrong then and is even more so today. An unnecessary mistake in thinking, which should be avoided in the information age.

We live in an era where our existence is held together, togetherness is orchestrated and quality of life is ensured by electronics, digitization and information processing. Cyber, however, is not just about bits and bytes. Security audits like to focus on tech-savvy hacking attacks, even though many companies have implemented their power supply lines and fuse boxes unprotected and freely accessible.

Electricity is just one of the elements that make up the critical infrastructure. If this fails, chaos can be expected after hours and looting after days. This is because the water supply, communications and transport will also collapse along with it.

In turn, the generation and distribution of electricity is enabled by modern computer and network technologies. Sooner or later, an electronic attack on central elements can severely affect a society. Scenarios that have gained relevance both below and above the threshold of war thanks to societal digital transformation.

Geopolitical interests

Computer attacks are commonplace in a globally interconnected world. Some of them are driven by cybercriminals who want to finance their lifestyle with theft and extortion. Others are orchestrated by state actors to advance their geopolitical interests. The difference in approach and figures involved is sometimes fluid, and the clear identification and association of actors all the more difficult.

However, opportunities exist to observe these activities, or at least the results of them. This makes it possible to “profile” both individual actors and groupings: ?labs.20201022: Which technologies are relevant and which products are selected as targets. Putting this in context with economic or geopolitical intentions, it is sometimes possible to make fairly accurate predictions in terms of planned, emerging or ongoing activities.

For example, it can be seen that China made a strategic decision about 2 years ago to also target attack scenarios that may require user interactivity. These include classic phishing and social engineering scenarios in which the target is pressured into a compromising action. This can typically be giving out passwords or installing a malware.

This thrust is in great contrast to the paradigms that can be observed, for example, among U.S., Russian, or Israeli actors. There, purely technical attack methods are primarily preferred, in which the fickle human factor plays no role. These methods are technically more complex to implement without errors, but they are just as difficult to detect early on and defend against in real time.

Such details, especially when they can be used to derive a solid forecast, are of enormous importance. They help to make strategic and tactical decisions oneself in order to be able to identify attacks at an early stage and successfully mitigate them. Ideally, you can take proactive action against the threatening dangers, or at least react confidently.

Offensive requirements

But professionalization and industrialization have also taken place on the offensive side. The implementation of technical attacks is automated with so-called exploits. Developing these has become increasingly difficult over the decades as computer systems have become more complex and defense mechanisms more sophisticated. So it is not surprising that a market for these exploits could establish itself: Attack tools are exchanged, sold and bought there.

Analyses of these markets reveal trends in terms of popular attack targets and price developments. As a rule of thumb, the more popular a product is from the attackers’ perspective, the higher the prices. Exploits for iPhones have been leading the ranking for years, regularly achieving prices above USD 1.5 million. On the one hand, this is due to the architecture of Apple’s operating system. On the other hand, it is due to the potential VIP targets that can be targeted with a good exploit.

In the end, the one with the best knowledge wins. By buying exploits, this doesn’t even have to be acquired to a large extent. It remains a question of money at this point. If you want to keep up in the international game in cyberspace, you have to be able to position yourself correctly not only defensively, but also offensively. Corresponding budgets are now being earmarked by the organizations responsible for this. And the mindset is slowly coming to terms with the digital transformation.

Conclusion

Our society is based on new technologies. They give us prosperity and quality of life. At the same time, however, they are also a faustian pact with the devil. In many areas, they tend to dominate us. This can only be countered with wise decisions and organic growth. Primitive-seeming basic values such as independence and simplicity are indispensable if we are not to be overrun by technology.

Digitalization has not stopped at military equipment. Drones, aircraft, tanks are the most obvious elements that can benefit from it. They all rely on electronic mechanisms that either highly optimize or even enable orchestration and use. Hacking attacks on these components are of enormous importance, can significantly weaken associations. They have thus become an elementary tool in warfare. Nowadays, a war can certainly be decided with cyber. This should neither be underestimated nor ignored.

About the Author

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef has been working in information security since the late 1990s. He is well-known for his many publications and books. The last one called The Art of Penetration Testing is discussing security testing in detail. He is a lecturer at several universities, like ETH, HWZ, HSLU and IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

You want to test the strength of your enterprise regarding malware attacks?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
scip Cybersecurity Forecast

scip Cybersecurity Forecast

Marc Ruef

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Data Markets

Data Markets

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Cyberwar - Wie Technologie einen Krieg entscheiden kann

Cyberwar

Wie Technologie einen Krieg entscheiden kann

Marc Ruef
von Marc Ruef
am 09. März 2022
Lesezeit: 5 Minuten

Keypoints

So werden Kriege durch Technologie entschieden

  • Die Armeeführung darf sich nicht vor der Digitalisierung des Krieges verschliessen
  • Angriffe auf kritische Infrastruktur kann eine Gesellschaft empfindlich treffen
  • Die Steuerung dieser findet mit klassischen Computer- und Netzwerksystemen statt
  • Das Antizipieren geopolitischer Aktivitäten muss entsprechend auch im Cyberraum stattfinden
  • Dabei müssen eigene offensive Aktivitäten ebenfalls kultiviert werden

Vor über 10 Jahren hatte ich die Möglichkeit das Thema Cyber im Rahmen der Armeeführung zu diskutieren. Bei diesem Gespräch wurde von verschiedenen Seiten geäussert, dass Cyber keinen Krieg entscheiden würde. Das war damals falsch und ist es heute umso mehr. Ein unnötiger Denkfehler, den man im Informationszeitalter tunlichst vermeiden sollte.

Wir leben in einer Ära, in der unsere Existenz durch Elektronik, Digitalisierung und Informationsverarbeitung zusammengehalten, das Zusammensein orchestriert und Lebensqualität gewährleistet wird. Cyber hat aber nicht nur mit Bits und Bytes zu tun. Im Rahmen von Sicherheitsüberprüfungen wird gerne das Augenmerk auf technisch versierte Hacking-Angriffe gelegt, obschon viele Firmen ihre Zuleitungen und Sicherungskästen für Strom ungeschützt und frei zugänglich umgesetzt haben.

Strom ist nur eines der Elemente, das zur kritischen Infrastruktur gehört. Wenn dieser Ausfällt, ist nach Stunden mit Chaos und nach Tagen mit Plünderungen zu rechnen. Denn mit ihm werden ebenso die Wasserversorgung, Kommunikation und der Verkehr zusammenbrechen.

Die Gewinnung und Verteilung von Strom wird wiederum durch moderne Computer- und Netzwerktechnologien ermöglicht. Ein elektronischer Angriff auf zentrale Elemente kann somit über kurz oder lang eine Gesellschaft empfindlich treffen. Szenarien, die sowohl unter als auch über der Kriegsschwelle dank der gesellschaftlichen digitalen Transformation an Relevanz gewonnen haben.

Geopolitische Interessen

Computerangriffe sind in einer global vernetzten Welt an der Tagesordnung. Manche von ihnen werden durch Cyberkriminelle vorangetrieben, die mit Diebstahl und Erpressung ihren Lebensstil finanzieren wollen. Andere werden durch staatliche Akteure orchestriert, um ihre geopolitischen Interessen durchsetzen zu können. Der Unterschied in Bezug auf Herangehensweise und involvierte Figuren ist manchmal fliessend, die klare Identifikation und Assoziation der Akteure umso schwieriger.

Es bestehen aber Möglichkeiten, diese Aktivitäten, oder mindestens die Resultate dieser, zu beobachten. Dadurch können sowohl für einzelne Akteure als auch für Gruppierungen entsprechende Profile erstellt werden: Welche Technologien sind relevant und welche Produkte als Ziel ausgewählt. Setzt man dies in Kontext mit den wirtschaftlichen bzw. geopolitischen Absichten, lassen sich bisweilen ziemlich genaue Voraussagen in Bezug auf geplante, sich anbahnende oder laufende Aktivitäten erstellen.

Zum Beispiel ist ersichtlich, dass man in China vor rund 2 Jahren den strategischen Entscheid gefällt hat, ebenfalls Angriffsszenarien anzustreben, die eine Benutzerinteraktivität voraussetzen können. Dazu gehören klassische Phishing- und Social Engineering-Szenarien, in denen die Zielperson zu einer kompromittierenden Handlung gedrängt wird. Dies kann typischerweise die Herausgabe von Passwörtern oder das Installieren einer Malware sein.

Diese Stossrichtung steht in grossem Widerspruch zu den Paradigmen, die man zum Beispiel bei US-amerikanischen, russischen oder israelischen Akteuren beobachten kann. Dort werden primär rein technische Angriffsmöglichkeiten bevorzugt, bei denen der wankelmütige Faktor Mensch keine Rolle spielt. Diese Methoden sind technisch aufwändiger fehlerfrei umzusetzen, lassen sich aber ebenso schwierig frühzeitig erkennen und in Echtzeit abwehren.

Solche Details, gerade wenn sich aus diesen eine solide Prognose ableiten lassen, sind von enormer Wichtigkeit. Sie helfen dabei, selbst strategische und taktische Entscheidungen zu treffen, um Angriffe frühzeitig identifizieren und diese erfolgreich mitigieren zu können. Im Idealfall kann man proaktiv gegen die drohenden Gefahren vorgehen, oder halt mindestens souverän reagieren.

Offensive Anforderungen

Doch auch auf offensiver Seite hat eine Professionalisierung und Industrialisierung stattgefunden. Das Umsetzen von technischen Angriffen wird mit sogenannten Exploits automatisiert. Das Entwickeln dieser wurde über die Jahrzehnte immer schwieriger, da Computersysteme fortwährend komplexer und Abwehrmechanismen zunehmend ausgeklügelter wurden. So ist es nicht erstaunlich, dass sich ein Markt für diese Exploits etablieren konnte: Dort werden Angriffstools getauscht, verkauft und gekauft.

Analysen dieser Märkte zeigen Trends in Bezug auf beliebte Angriffsziele und Preisentwicklungen auf. Als Faustregel gilt, dass umso populärer ein Produkt aus Sicht der Angreifer ist, desto höher sind die Preise. Exploits für iPhones führen seit Jahren die Rangliste an, erzielen regelmässig Preise über 1.5 Millionen USD. Dies liegt einerseits an der Architektur des Apple-Betriebssystems. Andererseits an den potenziellen VIP-Zielen, die mit einem guten Exploit angegangen werden können.

Am Schluss gewinnt derjenige mit dem besten Wissen. Durch den Zukauf von Exploits muss dieses in grossen Teilen nicht mal selbst erarbeitet werden. Es bleibt in diesem Moment eine Frage des Geldes. Wer im internationalen Spiel im Cyberraum mithalten will, muss sich also nicht nur defensiv, sondern auch offensiv richtig aufstellen können. Entsprechendes Budget wird mittlerweile bei den dafür zuständigen Organisationen vorgesehen. Und das Mindset kann sich langsam auch mit der digitalen Transformation anfreunden.

Fazit

Unsere Gesellschaft fusst auf den neuen Technologien. Durch sie erhalten wir Wohlstand und Lebensqualität. Gleichzeitig sind sie aber auch ein faustischer Pakt mit dem Teufel. In vielen Bereichen tendieren sie uns zu beherrschen. Dem kann nur mit klugen Entscheidungen und organischem Wachstum entgegnet werden. Primitiv anmutende Grundwerte wie Unabhängigkeit und Simplizität sind unabdingbar, um von der Technologie nicht überrollt zu werden.

Die Digitalisierung hat auch vor militärischem Equipment nicht Halt gemacht. Drohnen, Flugzeuge, Panzer sind die offensichtlichsten Elemente, die davon profitieren können. Sie alle greifen auf elektronische Mechanismen zurück, die eine Orchestrierung und Nutzung entweder hochgradig optimieren oder gar erst ermöglichen. Hacking-Angriffe auf diese Komponenten sind von enormer Wichtigkeit, können Verbände massgeblich schwächen. Sie sind also zu einem elementaren Mittel in der Kriegsführung geworden. Ein Krieg kann heutzutage durchaus mit Cyber entschieden werden. Das darf man weder unterschätzen noch ignorieren.

Über den Autor

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef ist seit Ende der 1990er Jahre im Cybersecurity-Bereich aktiv. Er hat vor allem im deutschsprachigen Raum aufgrund der Vielzahl durch ihn veröffentlichten Fachpublikationen und Bücher – dazu gehört besonders Die Kunst des Penetration Testing – Bekanntheit erlangt. Er ist Dozent an verschiedenen Hochschulen, darunter ETH, HWZ, HSLU und IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Sie wollen die Resistenz Ihres Unternehmens auf Malware prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
scip Cybersecurity Forecast

scip Cybersecurity Forecast

Marc Ruef

Ransomware erkennen, abwehren und verfolgen

Ransomware erkennen, abwehren und verfolgen

Marc Ruef

Datenmärkte

Datenmärkte

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv