Web Cache Poisoning - Not only a Theoretical Attack

Web Cache Poisoning

Not only a Theoretical Attack

Ralph Meier
by Ralph Meier
on May 12, 2022
time to read: 8 minutes

Keypoints

How to identify Web Cache Poisoning Vulnerabilities

  • Various cache mechanisms are used to reduce the latency of a response on the Internet
  • Cache keys can be configured individually, but by default consist of a combination of host and query string
  • Procedure for discovering web cache poisoning vulnerabilities
  • Increase resistance to Web cache poisoning attacks

Web cache poisoning is an attack on the cache used by the web server or web application, whereby its behaviour can be manipulated and thus foreign visitors to the website can be attacked. Web cache poisoning is considered an advanced technique and essentially consists of searching for a suitable input, which is reflected by the server, and a working payload.

There are a variety of different types of caches, but most of them have the same main goals – less network traffic, thus shorter response time and less load on the web server. Caches are located between the user and the web page. In a cache, requests for resources and their response, or a copy of the resources (images, texts and other components) are stored for a set time.

Different Caches

The browser cache is located locally on the user’s computer, more precisely in their browser. Thus, another browser on the same computer has no access to the stored contents of the first browser cache. The browser cache belongs to the so-called private caches, as third parties have no access to it.

Proxy servers can also have a cache, but this is not bound to the user; all connections that go through the same proxy server can access it. However, this does not necessarily have to be all visitors to website X.

In addition, the web server can have its own caching mechanisms, for example via a framework such as Drupal, or the used Content Delivery Network (CDN) has its own caching. In some cases, specific products such as Varnish are also used.

There are other types of caches, but the focus of this article is on caching mechanisms that are used by all website visitors, so-called shared caches.

Cache-Control Header

The Cache-Control Header is an HTTP header that can be used in requests and responses to control caching. This header determines whether, who and for how long a request or response may be cached. Who means various cache parties such as the browser, a proxy server, CDNs and others.

With max-age the maximum cache duration in seconds can be set Cache-Control: max-age=604800. The cache duration starts from the time when the response was generated by the server.

Requests or responses that contain sensitive content should not be cached for security reasons; Cache-Conrol: no-store should be used for this.

Further information on the Cache-Control-Header is available in the Mozilla documentation.

Cache Keys

So that the cache does not have to compare the complete request with the currently stored request, so-called cache keys are used. Cache keys normally consist of the HTTP query and the host name, but this can also be configured differently. If there is a match, the stored copy of the response is transmitted directly to the request originator. This happens as long as the cached resource is valid. Possible cache key of this article: "/en/?labs.20220512" + "www.scip.ch"

Unkeyed

Components of the request that are not part of the cache key are called unkeyed inputs. Unkeyed inputs can be request headers, cookies, in rare cases also parts of the query string or parts of the request body (Fat GET requests). These unkeyed inputs can lead to problems or enable a web cache poisoning vulnerability.

Web Cache Poisoning Example

In the following example, the X-Forwarded-Host header is used to generate an Open Graph URL within a meta tag. In this case, changing the X-Forwarded-Host header could determine the domain and load a different image. Since this is cached, all other visitors with the same query string within the validity period of the cache will also receive this image.

GET /en?param=test HTTP/1.1
Host: www.example.com
X-Forwarded-Host: evil

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
...
<meta property="og:image" content="https://evil/images/cat.png" />

Instead of a domain, JavaScript can also be embedded, which leads to a cross-site scripting attack:

GET /en?param=test2 HTTP/1.1
Host: www.example.com
X-Forwarded-Host: a."><script>alert(1)</script>

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
...
<meta property="og:image" content="https://a."><script>alert(1)</script>" />

The examples are inspired by the paper Practical Web Cache Poisoning, which describes many different types of web cache poisoning attacks. Web cache poisoning payloads can also include open redirects or DOM-XSS attacks, as well as other attacks.

Steps to a Web Cache Poisoning Vulnerability

First, start by looking for unkeyed inputs and what their effect is, i.e. how they are returned in the server response. This evaluation can either be done manually with known request headers and other frequently affected unkeyed inputs or with the help of Param Miner, an open source burp plugin that greatly simplifies the search for an unkeyed input.

When a promising unkeyed input has been found, the search begins for a payload that is functionally returned by the web server in the corresponding response.

After the payload has been determined, the response with the reflected payload is cached in a final step so that it is delivered to the desired third-party visitors via the cache used.

When testing an application for a web cache poisoning vulnerability, a cache buster should be used. This is a random URL parameter that prevents normal users from being affected by testing. www.example.com/en?RandomCacheBuster=123

Countermeasures

The simplest and at the same time most drastic countermeasure is to do without caching completely. This works for small websites that have little network traffic and a web server with sufficient performance. In this case, it may be that web frameworks are used that have caching by default, but since it is not needed, it can be deactivated and thus the attack surface can be reduced.

If caching cannot be dispensed with completely, only static resources should be cached. This prevents web cache poisoning, since no user input is processed when requests are made to static resources, they are also not susceptible to web cache poisoning attacks.

If the caching of static content is not sufficient, it can be extended to dynamic content, but should not process input from request headers, cookies or reflect unkeyed inputs in the response. It should be noted that some frameworks have their own request headers, which could also be vulnerable. The possibility of web cache poisoning due to a configuration error cannot be ruled out.

There is also the option of including unkeyed request headers in the cache key, which makes the cache key longer. Because the cache key now contains additional components, there may occasionally be several entries in the cache, but the possibility of a successful web cache poisoning attack is reduced. The contents of request headers should not be used if they are not part of the cache key. In addition, HTTP headers should never be returned directly to users for cached resources.

GET requests with body (Fat GET), which result in changes to the server response, should be avoided.

An additional security measure would be to test the web application by using the Burp plugin Param Miner and to check detected HTTP headers or other unkeyed inputs more closely.

Conclusion

Web cache poisoning was long considered a theoretical attack, but Bug Bounty platforms have shown that this combination of a cache attack and another vulnerability is now also quite practical. Therefore, cache configurations should be well thought out and not left at the default configuration. Cache mechanisms supplied with the framework should be deactivated if there is no need for caching. If you would like to find a web cache poisoning vulnerability yourself in a training environment, we recommend Portswigger Labs.

About the Author

Ralph Meier

Ralph Meier completed an apprenticeship as an application developer, with a focus on web development with Java, at a major Swiss bank and then completed a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science UAS Zurich at the ZHAW School of Engineering. His primary task is doing security-related analysis of web applications and services.

Links

You want to test the security of your firewall?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Increase Security in the Home Network

Increase Security in the Home Network

Ralph Meier

Reverse Engineering

Reverse Engineering

Ralph Meier

The Secure Use of IoT Protocols

The Secure Use of IoT Protocols

Ralph Meier

Programming Language Go

Programming Language Go

Ralph Meier

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Web Cache Poisoning - Nicht nur ein theoretischer Angriff

Web Cache Poisoning

Nicht nur ein theoretischer Angriff

Ralph Meier
von Ralph Meier
am 12. Mai 2022
Lesezeit: 8 Minuten

Keypoints

So identifizieren Sie Web Cache Poisoning Schwachstellen

  • Verschiedene Cache-Mechanismen werden eingesetzt zur Verkürzung der Latenz einer Response im Internet
  • Cache Keys können individuell konfiguriert werden, bestehen per default aber aus einer Kombination von Host und Querystring
  • Vorgehen zur Entdeckung von Web Cache Poisoning Schwachstellen
  • Steigerung der Widerstandsfähigkeit gegenüber Web Cache Poisoning Attacken

Bei Web Cache Poisoning handelt es sich um einen Angriff auf den eingesetzten Cache des Webservers oder der Webapplikation, wobei deren Verhalten manipuliert und so fremde Besucher der Webseite angegriffen werden können. Web Cache Poisoning gilt als fortgeschrittene Technik und besteht im Wesentlichen aus der Suche nach einer geeigneten Eingabe, welche vom Server reflektiert wird sowie einem funktionierenden Payload.

Es gibt eine Vielzahl von verschiedenen Cache-Arten, die meisten von ihnen verfolgen aber die gleichen Hauptziele – weniger Netzwerkverkehr, damit auch kürzere Antwortzeit und geringere Auslastung des Webservers. Die Caches befinden sich zwischen Benutzer und Webseite. In einem Cache werden Anfragen auf Ressourcen und deren Antwort, beziehungsweise eine Kopie der Ressourcen (Bilder, Texte und weitere Komponenten) gespeichert für eine festgelegte Zeit.

Unterschiedliche Caches

Der Browser-Cache befindet sich lokal auf dem Computer des Benutzers, genauer gesagt in dessen Browser. Somit hat ein anderer Browser auf dem gleichen Computer keinen Zugriff auf die gespeicherten Inhalte des ersten Browser-Caches. Der Browser-Cache gehört zu den sogenannten privaten Caches, da Drittpersonen keinen Zugriff darauf haben.

Proxy-Server können ebenfalls über einen Cache verfügen, dieser ist jedoch nicht an den Benutzer gebunden, sondern darauf können alle Verbindungen zugreifen, welche über den gleichen Proxy-Server gehen. Dies müssen aber nicht zwingend alle Besucher der Webseite X sein.

Zudem kann der Webserver eigene Caching-Mechanismen besitzen zum Beispiel über ein eingesetztes Framework wie Drupal oder das verwendete Content Delivery Network (CDN) verwendet ein eigenes Caching. Teilweise kommen auch spezifische Produkte wie Varnish zum Einsatz.

Es gibt noch weitere Arten von Caches, jedoch liegt der Fokus in diesem Artikel auf Caching-Mechanismen, welche von allen Webseitenbesucher benutzt werden, sogenannte shared Caches.

Cache-Control Header

Der Cache-Control Header ist ein HTTP-Header, welcher in Requests und Responses verwendet werden kann, um das Caching zu steuern. Durch diesen Header wird festgelegt, ob, wer und wie lange ein Request beziehungsweise eine Response gecacht werden darf. Mit wer sind verschiedene Cache-Parteien wie der Browser, ein Proxy-Server, CDNs sowie weitere gemeint.

Mit max-age kann die maximale Cache-Dauer in Sekunden festgelegt werden Cache-Control: max-age=604800. Die Cache-Dauer startet ab dem Zeitpunkt, wo die Response vom Server generiert wurde.

Requests oder Responses, welche sensitiven Inhalt enthalten sollten aus sicherheitstechnischen Gründen nicht gecacht werden, dafür sollte Cache-Conrol: no-store verwendet werden.

Weitere Informationen zum Cache-Control-Header finden sich in der Dokumentation von Mozilla.

Cache Keys

Damit der Cache nicht den kompletten Request mit den aktuell gespeicherten Request abgleichen muss, werden sogenannte Cache Keys eingesetzt. Cache Keys bestehen normalerweise aus dem HTTP Query und dem Hostname, dies kann jedoch auch anders konfiguriert werden. Bei einer Übereinstimmung wird die gespeicherte Kopie der Response direkt an den Request-Steller übermittelt. Dies geschieht so lange wie die gecachete Ressource gültig ist. Möglicher Cache Key dieses Artikels: "/?labs.20220512" + "www.scip.ch"

Unkeyed

Komponenten des Requests, welche nicht Teil des Cache-Keys sind, werden als Unkeyed Inputs bezeichnet. Unkeyed Inputs können Request-Headers, Cookies, in seltenen Fällen auch Teile des Query-Strings oder Teile des Request-Bodys (Fat GET-Requests) sein. Diese unkeyed Inputs können zu Problemen führen, beziehungsweise eine Web Cache Poisoning Schwachstelle ermöglichen.

Web Cache Poisoning Beispiel

Beim folgenden Beispiel wird der X-Forwarded-Host Header verwendet, um eine Open Graph URL innerhalb eines meta-Tags zu generieren. In diesem Fall könnte durch das Ändern des X-Forwarded-Host Headers die Domain bestimmt werden und ein anderes Bild geladen werden. Da dies gecacht wird, erhalten alle anderen Besucher mit demselben Querystring innerhalb des Gültigkeitszeitraums des Cachs auch dieses Bild.

GET /de?param=test HTTP/1.1
Host: www.example.com
X-Forwarded-Host: evil

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
...
<meta property="og:image" content="https://evil/images/cat.png" />

Statt einer Domain kann auch JavaScript eingebettet werden, was zu einem Cross-Site-Scripting Angriff führt:

GET /de?param=test2 HTTP/1.1
Host: www.example.com
X-Forwarded-Host: a."><script>alert(1)</script>

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
...
<meta property="og:image" content="https://a."><script>alert(1)</script>" />

Die Beispiele sind inspiriert vom Paper Practical Web Cache Poisoning, in welchem viele verschiedene Arten von Web Cache Poisoning Attacken geschildert werden. Web Cache Poisoning Payloads können auch Open-Redirects oder DOM-XSS Attacken sowie weitere Angriffe umfassen.

Schritte zu einer Web Cache Poisoning Schwachstellen

Zuerst beginnt man mit der Suche nach unkeyed Inputs und was deren Auswirkung sind, also wie sie in der Server Response zurückgegeben werden. Diese Evaluierung kann entweder manuell mit bekannten Request-Headern und anderen häufig betroffenen unkeyed Inputs gemacht werden oder mit der Hilfe von Param Miner, einem Open Source Burp Plugin, welches die Suche nach einem unkeyed Input stark vereinfacht.

Wenn ein vielversprechender unkeyed Input gefunden wurde, beginnt man mit der Suche nach einem Payload, welcher funktionsfähig vom Webserver retourniert wird in der dazugehörigen Response.

Nach der Bestimmung des Payloads wird in einem letzten Schritt die Response mit dem reflektierten Payload so gecacht, dass sie an die gewünschten Drittbesucher via dem eingesetzten Cache ausgeliefert wird.

Beim Testen einer Applikation auf eine Web Cache Poisoning Schwachstelle sollte unbedingt ein Cache Buster verwendet werden. Dies ist ein zufälliger URL-Parameter, welcher verhindert, dass normale Benutzer vom Testen beeinflusst werden. www.example.com/en?RandomCacheBuster=123

Gegenmassnahmen

Die einfachste und gleichzeitig Einschneidendste Gegenmassnahme ist komplett auf Caching zu verzichten. Dies funktioniert bei kleinen Webseiten, welche wenig Netzwerkverkehr und einen Webserver mit genügend Leistung besitzen. Hierbei kann es sein, dass Web-Frameworks eingesetzt werden, welche per Default ein Caching mitbringen, da es jedoch nicht benötigt wird, kann es deaktiviert werden und somit kann die Angriffsfläche verkleinert werden.

Falls nicht komplett auf Caching verzichtet werden kann, sollten ausschliesslich statische Ressourcen gecacht werden. Somit wird Web Cache Poisoning verhindert, da bei Requests auf statische Ressourcen keine Benutzereingaben verarbeiten werden, sind sie auch nicht anfällig für Web Cache Poisoning Attacken.

Wenn das Caching von statischen Inhalten nicht ausreichend ist, kann man es auf dynamische Inhalte ausweiten, sollte aber Input aus Request-Headern oder Cookies nicht verarbeiten beziehungsweise unkeyed Inputs nicht in der Response reflektieren. Hier gilt zu beachten, dass Frameworks teilweise eigene Request-Header mitbringen, welche ebenfalls anfällig sein könnten. Hier kann die Möglichkeit für Web Cache Poisoning aufgrund eines Konfigurationsfehlers nicht ausgeschlossen werden.

Es gibt auch die Möglichkeit unkeyed Request-Headers in den Cache Key miteinzuschliessen, damit wird der Cache Key zwar länger. Dadurch, dass der Cache Key nun zusätzliche Komponenten enthält, kann es vereinzelt mehrere Einträge im Cache geben, jedoch wird die Möglichkeit auf eine erfolgreiche Web Cache Poisoning Attacke reduziert. Dabei sollte der Inhalt von Request-Header nicht verwendet werden, wenn dieser nicht Teil des Cache Keys ist. Zudem sollten HTTP-Header niemals direkt an Benutzer returniert werden bei gecachten Ressourcen.

Auf GET-Requests mit Body (Fat GET), welche Änderungen an der Server-Response zur Folge haben, sollte verzichtet werden.

Eine zusätzliche Sicherheitsmassnahme wäre die Webapplikation mittels des Einsatzes des Burp Plugins Param Miner zu testen und festgestellte HTTP-Header oder andere unkeyed Inputs genauer zu prüfen.

Fazit

Web Cache Poisoning galt lange als theoretischer Angriff, jedoch zeigte sich auf Bug Bounty Plattformen, dass diese Kombination von einem Cache-Angriff und einer weiteren Schwachstelle heute durchaus auch praktischer Natur ist. Daher sollten Cache-Konfigurationen gut durchdacht und nicht auf der Standardkonfiguration belassen werden. Mit dem Framework mitgelieferte Cache-Mechanismen sollten deaktiviert werden, wenn der Bedarf von Caching nicht vorhanden ist. Falls Sie gerne selber mal eine Web Cache Poisoning Schwachstelle in einer Trainingsumgebung finden möchten, empfehlen wir Portswigger Labs.

Über den Autor

Ralph Meier

Ralph Meier hat eine Lehre als Applikationsentwickler, Fokus Webentwicklung mit Java, bei einer Schweizer Grossbank absolviert und danach einen Bachelor of Science ZFH in Informatik an der ZHAW School of Engineering abgeschlossen. Er fokussiert sich auf die sicherheitstechnische Untersuchung von Webapplikationen.

Links

Sie wollen die Sicherheit Ihrer Firewall prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Sicherheit im Heimnetzwerk erhöhen

Sicherheit im Heimnetzwerk erhöhen

Ralph Meier

Reverse Engineering

Reverse Engineering

Ralph Meier

Der sichere Einsatz von IoT-Protokollen

Der sichere Einsatz von IoT-Protokollen

Ralph Meier

Programmiersprache Go

Programmiersprache Go

Ralph Meier

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv