HTTP/2 Request Smuggling - An Introduction

HTTP/2 Request Smuggling

An Introduction

Andrea Hauser
by Andrea Hauser
on July 07, 2022
time to read: 8 minutes

Keypoints

This is how HTTP/2 Request Smuggling works

  • Request smuggling occurs when, in a chain of servers, the servers do not agree on where the request body ends
  • HTTP/1.1 and HTTP/2 are based on different principles
  • A faulty conversion from an HTTP/2 to an HTTP/1.1 request can be exploited by attackers
  • An end-to-end HTTP/2 connection, that is, also between the front-end and the back-end, solves the problem

In the previous article, the basics of request smuggling were explained. These will be necessary for the following explanations, so those who are not yet familiar with request smuggling should first read the article on Request Smuggling – Description and Procedure for Testing.

HTTP/2 is a binary protocol. HTTP/2 messages are sent as one or more frames and each frame has an explicit length that tells the server how many bytes to read. The length of an HTTP/2 message is calculated accordingly by adding up the length of all frames. This length can not be manipulated. Now the question arises how request smuggling can still occur in HTTP/2 if the length of the frames cannot be manipulated, since this manipulation of the length was the prerequisite for request smuggling in HTTP/1.1 requests. Basically, HTTP/2 request smuggling only occurs when the front-end supports HTTP/2 but the back-end does not. Then the front-end must convert the HTTP/2 request for the back-end into an HTTP/1.1 request. This creates new possibilities for manipulation.

Since HTTP/2 is a binary protocol, abstracted and simplified representations are used here to show the concepts. The individual frames are not shown. In HTTP/2 there are so-called pseudo headers. These are defined for the rest of the article as follows and marked with a colon in front of the name

Pseudo Header Description
:method Corresponds to the request method.
:path Corresponds to the request path including possible parameters.
:authority Corresponds approximately to the host header.
:scheme Corresponds to the request scheme and is normally http or https.
:status Corresponds to the response status code and is not used in requests.

It is easiest to see these headers in use compared to the same request in HTTP/1.1 and HTTP/2.

HTTP/1.1 Request

POST /test HTTP/1.1\r\n
Host: example.com\r\n
User-Agent: test\r\n
Content-Length: 3\r\n
\r\n
x=1

HTTP/2 Request

:method POST
:path /test
:authority example.com
:scheme https
user-agent test
x=1

With the basics covered, HTTP/2 request smuggling vulnerabilities can now be addressed.

H2.CL Vulnerability

This vulnerability works in principle similar to the TE.CL vulnerability from the last article, but the front-end uses HTTP/2, ignores the Content-Length Header and passes it unchanged to the back-end. The back-end uses HTTP/1.1 and therefore interprets the Content-Length Header. In an example, the attack looks like this.

:method POST
:path /test
:authority example.com
content-type application/x-www-form-urlencoded
content-length 0
Injected

Since the back-end finishes processing the request earlier than what the front-end sent due to the content length of 0, the rest of the request remains in the pipeline between the front-end and the back-end. As soon as a next request arrives, the remainder of the previous request that is still in the pipeline is added before this new request. So a new request would look like this in the back-end.

InjectedGET /user-requested HTTP/1.1
Host: example.com

H2.TE Vulnerability

Similar to the vulnerability described above, the front-end uses HTTP/2, ignores the Transfer-Encoding Header and passes it unchanged to the back-end. The back-end uses HTTP/1.1 and therefore interprets the Transfer-Encoding Header. In an example, the attack looks like this.

:method POST
:path /test
:authority example.com
content-type application/x-www-form-urlencoded
transfer-encoding chunked
0

GET /admin HTTP/1.1
Host: example.com
Foo: Injected

Since the back-end finishes processing the request earlier than what the front-end sent due to the transfer encoding of 0, the rest of the request remains in the pipeline between the front-end and the back-end. As soon as a next request arrives, the remainder of the previous request still in the pipeline is added before this new request. So a new request would look like this in the back-end.

POST /test HTTP/1.1
Host: example.com
Content-Type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded
Transfer-Encoding: chunked

0
--> Request one ends here
GET /admin HTTP/1.1
Host: example.com
Foo: InjectedGET /user-requested HTTP/1.1

Request Smuggling with CRLF Injection

Since HTTP/2 and HTTP/1.1 are not interpreted on the same basis, as HTTP/2 is a binary protocol and HTTP/1.1 is string based, these differences can be exploited. In an HTTP/2 header, for example, line breaks can be used without any problems, as they are not interpreted in a special way. This means that a header interpreted as one header in the front-end can become several headers in the back-end. For example

Testheader: Test\n\rInjected

one header in the front-end, would look like this in the back-end

Testheader: Test
Injected

Due to the excellent research by James Kettel, the attacks described above can be simulated in the Web Security Academy.

Countermeasures

The easiest way to prevent this vulnerability, as already indicated at the very beginning, is to use HTTP/2 throughout. If this is not possible, care must be taken that no headers such as content length or transfer encoding and no special characters such as \r\n and : are included in the conversion to an HTTP/1.1 request.

Conclusion

When switching to HTTP/2 in the front-end server, an extensive vulnerability can be unknowingly introduced if the HTTP/2 and HTTP/1.1 speaking servers do not agree on where the limit of the request is. The effects of request smuggling can include the unauthorised reading of responses from other users, the insertion of arbitrary JavaScript into arbitrary responses from users, and the complete disruption of the normal operation of a website. The fix is comparatively easy if the back-end server can also be converted to work over HTTP/2. Otherwise, it requires careful conversion of the requests to avoid introducing vulnerabilities.

About the Author

Andrea Hauser

Andrea Hauser graduated with a Bachelor of Science FHO in information technology at the University of Applied Sciences Rapperswil. She is focusing her offensive work on web application security testing and the realization of social engineering campaigns. Her research focus is creating and analyzing deepfakes. (ORCID 0000-0002-5161-8658)

Links

Are you interested in a Penetration Test?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Request Smuggling

Request Smuggling

Andrea Hauser

JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

HTTP/2 Request Smuggling - Eine Einführung

HTTP/2 Request Smuggling

Eine Einführung

Andrea Hauser
von Andrea Hauser
am 07. Juli 2022
Lesezeit: 8 Minuten

Keypoints

So funktioniert HTTP/2 Request Smuggling

  • Request Smuggling entsteht dann, wenn sich in einer Kette von Servern die Server nicht einig sind, wo der Request-Body endet
  • HTTP/1.1 und HTTP/2 basieren auf unterschiedlichen Prinzipien
  • Fehlerhafte Umwandlung von einem HTTP/2 zu einem HTTP/1.1 Request können von Angreifern ausgenutzt werden
  • Eine durchgehende HTTP/2 Verbindung, also auch zwischen Front-End und Back-End behebt das Problem

Im vorhergehenden Artikel wurden die Grundlagen des Request Smugglings erklärt. Diese werden für die nachfolgenden Erklärungen notwendig sein, wer Request Smuggling noch nicht kennt, sollte also zuerst den Artikel zu Request Smuggling – Beschreibung und Vorgehen beim Testen lesen.

HTTP/2 ist ein binäres Protokoll. Dabei werden HTTP/2-Nachrichten in einem, bis mehreren Frames versandt und jeder Frame hat eine explizite Länge, die dem Server vorgibt, wie viele Bytes gelesen werden sollen. Die Länge einer HTTP/2-Nachricht wird dementsprechend berechnet in dem die Länge aller Frames aufsummiert wird. Diese Länge kann nicht manipuliert werden. Nun stellt sich die Frage, wie in HTTP/2 dennoch Request Smuggling entstehen kann, wenn die Länge der Frames nicht manipuliert werden kann, da diese Manipulation der Länge bei HTTP/1.1-Anfragen die Voraussetzung für das Request Smuggling war. Grundsätzlich entsteht HTTP/2 Request Smuggling nur dann, wenn das Front-End HTTP/2 spricht, das Back-End allerdings nicht. Dann muss das Front-End die HTTP/2-Anfrage für das Back-End in eine HTTP/1.1-Anfrage umwandeln. Hier entstehen dann neue Möglichkeiten für Manipulationen.

Da HTTP/2 ein binäres Protokoll ist, werden hier abstrahierte und vereinfachte Darstellungen verwendet, um die Konzepte aufzuzeigen. Die einzelnen Frames werden nicht aufgezeigt. In HTTP/2 existieren sogenannte Pseudoheader. Diese werden für den weiteren Verlauf des Artikels wie folgt definiert und mit einem Doppelpunkt vor dem Namen als solche gekennzeichnet:

Pseudoheader Beschreibung
:method Entspricht der Request Methode.
:path Entspricht dem Request Pfad inklusive möglichen Parametern.
:authority Entspricht ungefähr dem Host Header.
:scheme Entspricht dem Request Schema und ist im Normalfall http oder https.
:status Entspricht dem Response Status Code und wird in Requests nicht verwendet.

Am einfachsten ist es diese Header im Einsatz zu sehen im Vergleich zur gleichen Anfrage in HTTP/1.1 und HTTP/2.

HTTP/1.1 Request

POST /test HTTP/1.1\r\n
Host: example.com\r\n
User-Agent: test\r\n
Content-Length: 3\r\n
\r\n
x=1

HTTP/2 Request

:method POST
:path /test
:authority example.com
:scheme https
user-agent test
x=1

Mit den Grundlagen abgedeckt können nun die HTTP/2 Request Smuggling-Schwachstellen angegangen werden.

H2.CL Schwachstelle

Diese Schwachstelle funktioniert vom Prinzip her ähnlich wie die TE.CL Schwachstelle aus dem letzten Artikel, allerdings verwendet das Front-End HTTP/2, ignoriert den Content-Length Header und gibt ihn unverändert an das Back-End weiter. Das Back-End verwendet HTTP/1.1 und interpretiert daher den Content-Length Header. In einem Beispiel sieht der Angriff wie folgt aus.

:method POST
:path /test
:authority example.com
content-type application/x-www-form-urlencoded
content-length 0
Injected

Da das Back-End die Verarbeitung der Anfrage aufgrund der Content-Length von 0 früher beendet, als das Front-End geschickt hat, bleibt der Rest der Anfrage in der Pipeline zwischen Front-End und Back-End bestehen. Sobald eine nächste Anfrage eintrifft, wird der noch in der Pipeline vorhandene Rest der vorherigen Anfrage vor dieser neuen Anfrage hinzugefügt. Eine neue Anfrage würde im Back-End also wie folgt aussehen.

InjectedGET /user-requested HTTP/1.1
Host: example.com

H2.TE Schwachstelle

Ähnlich wie bei der oben beschriebenen Schwachstelle verwendet das Front-End HTTP/2, ignoriert den Transfer-Encoding Header und gibt ihn unverändert an das Back-End weiter. Das Back-End verwendet HTTP/1.1 und interpretiert daher den Transfer-Encoding Header. In einem Beispiel sieht der Angriff wie folgt aus.

:method POST
:path /test
:authority example.com
content-type application/x-www-form-urlencoded
transfer-encoding chunked
0

GET /admin HTTP/1.1
Host: example.com
Foo: Injected

Da das Back-End die Verarbeitung der Anfrage aufgrund des Transfer-Encoding von 0 früher beendet, als das Front-End geschickt hat, bleibt der Rest der Anfrage in der Pipeline zwischen Front-End und Back-End bestehen. Sobald eine nächste Anfrage eintrifft, wird der noch in der Pipeline vorhandene Rest der vorherigen Anfrage vor dieser neuen Anfrage hinzugefügt. Eine neue Anfrage würde im Back-End also wie folgt aussehen.

POST /test HTTP/1.1
Host: example.com
Content-Type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded
Transfer-Encoding: chunked

0
--> Anfrage eins endet hier
GET /admin HTTP/1.1
Host: example.com
Foo: InjectedGET /user-requested HTTP/1.1

Request Smuggling mit CRLF-Injektion

Da HTTP/2 und HTTP/1.1 nicht auf der gleichen Basis interpretiert werden, da HTTP/2 ein binäres Protokoll ist und HTTP/1.1 String basiert ist, können diese Unterschiede ausgenutzt werden. In einem HTTP/2 Header können zum Beispiel problemlos Zeilenumbrüche genutzt werden, da diese nicht speziell interpretiert werden. Das heisst aus einem im Front-End als ein Header interpretierten Header können im Back-End mehrere Header werden. Zum Beispiel wäre

Testheader: Test\n\rInjected

im Front-End ein Header, würde im Back-End allerdings wie folgt aussehen

Testheader: Test
Injected

Danke der ausgezeichneten Forschung von James Kettel können die oben beschriebenen Angriffe in der Web Security Academy nachgespielt werden.

Gegenmassnahmen

Diese Schwachstelle kann, wie zu Beginn bereits angedeutet, am einfachsten verhindert werden, in dem durchgehend HTTP/2 eingesetzt wird. Falls dies nicht möglich ist, muss darauf geachtet werden, dass bei der Umwandlung in einen HTTP/1.1 Request keine Header wie Content-Length oder Transfer-Encoding und keine Spezialzeichen wie \r\n und : übernommen werden.

Fazit

Bei der Umstellung auf HTTP/2 im Front-End Server kann unbewusst eine weitreichende Schwachstelle eingeführt werden, wenn sich die HTTP/2 und die HTTP/1.1 sprechenden Server nicht einig sind, wo die Grenze des Requests sind. Die Auswirkungen von Request Smuggling könne das unberechtigte Lesen von Responses von anderen Benutzern, das Einfügen von beliebigem JavaScript in beliebige Responses von Benutzern, sowie das vollständige Stören eines normalen Betriebs einer Webseite sein. Die Behebung ist vergleichsweise einfach, wenn der Back-End Server ebenfalls auf HTTP/2 umgestellt werden kann. Ansonsten benötigt es eine sorgfältige Umwandlung der Requests, um keine Schwachstellen einzuführen.

Über die Autorin

Andrea Hauser

Andrea Hauser hat ihren Bachelor of Science FHO in Informatik an der Hochschule für Technik Rapperswil abgeschlossen. Sie setzt sich im offensiven Bereich in erster Linie mit Web Application Security Testing und der Umsetzung von Social Engineering Kampagnen auseinander. Zudem ist sie in der Forschung zum Thema Deepfakes tätig. (ORCID 0000-0002-5161-8658)

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Request Smuggling

Request Smuggling

Andrea Hauser

JWT-Problematiken

JWT-Problematiken

Andrea Hauser

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv