Web Proxy with Kerberos - A Basic Configuration Guide

Web Proxy with Kerberos

A Basic Configuration Guide

Michael Schneider
by Michael Schneider
on September 01, 2022
time to read: 11 minutes

Keypoints

How to Setup a Web Proxy with Kerberos

  • A proxy server reduces data traffic and controls access to the Internet
  • Kerberos is a secure authentication method and should be preferred over basic authentication and NTLM
  • The open source tool Squid can be configured as a proxy server with Kerberos
  • The configuration offers some pitfalls, for example, the notation of realms, domains and SPNs must match Active Directory exactly
  • Proxies with Kerberos can be a barrier for malware

A web proxy server is a web server that acts as a gateway between a client application, for example a web browser, and the target web server. Thereby, the proxy server communicates with the target web server on behalf of the client application. A proxy can be used as a cache for web content to reduce traffic. Another task of the proxy server is to control access to the Internet. It is configured on the proxy which application, which user and which system can access which resource. Thus, the proxy server is an crucial element in securing outgoing connections.

Users and computers need to authenticate themselves to the proxy server; Basic Authentication or NTLM was often used for this task. However, NTLM should be deactivated as far as possible and Basic Authentication sends username and password unencrypted in the HTTP header, protected only by the TLS transport encryption. Therefore, the use of both authentication methods should be discontinued, and Kerberos should be preferred.

We use the proxy server Squid in our test environment. In this article we describe the basic configuration of a Squid instance with Kerberos. The complete configuration of a proxy server with exceptions for systems and applications that do not support Kerberos, as well as the filtering and monitoring of network traffic and an authorisation concept of who is allowed to access what content, is not part of the article.

Configuration of Kerberos Integration

We have built the proxy server on the basis of Fedora Linux. The server is run as a dedicated system and is not joined to the domain. The proxy server is the only system within the infrastructure that is allowed to use external DNS servers, as a measure against DNS tunnelling on systems in the domain.

The proxy server must be able to communicate with the domain controller so that Kerberos authentication is possible. The configuration for this is done in the file /etc/krb5.conf.

[libdefaults]
...
default_realm = LABS.EXAMPLE.ORG
dns_lookup_kdc = no
dns_lookup_realm = no

default_tgs_enctypes = aes256-cts-hmac-sha1-96
default_tkt_enctypes = aes256-cts-hmac-sha1-96
permitted_enctypes = aes256-cts-hmac-sha1-96

[realms]
LABS.EXAMPLE.ORG = {
    kdc = dc01.labs.example.org
    admin_server = dc01.labs.example.org
}

[domain_realm]
.labs.example.org = LABS.EXAMPLE.ORG
labs.example.org = LABS.EXAMPLE.ORG

The upper/lower spelling of the realm and the domain is essential and must be applied in the same way everywhere, otherwise the connection will not work. On a positive note, Fedora and Red Hat Linux no longer support the encryption algorithm RC4 or older algorithms by default. Our forest example.org is configured to only allow AES256 and future encryption types for Kerberos.

Squid Configuration

Squid is installed from the Fedora repository, additionally the package krb5-workstation is installed, which contains tools for working with keytab files and Kerberos tickets. Keytab stands for Key Table and is used to store long-term valid keys for one or more Service Principals. In order for Squid to authenticate itself to the Active Directory, a keytab file of this type is created on a system connected to the domain for the proxyuser service account.

The following commands create a keytab file for the two principals HTTP/proxyserver and HTTP/proxyserver.labs.example.org, which are connected to the user proxyuser, the Service Principal Names (SPN) are created automatically. Only AES256-SHA1 key material is stored in the keytab file.

PS C:\> ktpass.exe /princ HTTP/proxyserver@LABS.EXAMPLE.ORG /mapuser proxyuser /pass * -crypto AES256-SHA1 +dumpsalt -setupn -setpass -ptype KRB5_NT_PRINCIPAL /out proxyuser.keytab
PS C:\> ktpass.exe /princ HTTP/proxyserver.labs.example.org@LABS.EXAMPLE.ORG /mapUser proxyuser /pass * -crypto AES256-SHA1 +dumpsalt -setupn -setpass -ptype KRB5_NT_PRINCIPAL /mapOp add /in proxyuser.keytab /out proxyuser.keytab

The keytab file is stored on the proxy server under /etc/squid/proxyuser.keytab and the access is restricted as far as possible. With the tool klist the content can be shown under Linux.

[user@proxyserver ~] sudo chown root:squid /etc/squid/proxyuser.keytab 
[user@proxyserver ~] chmod 640 root:squid /etc/squid/proxyuser.keytab
[user@proxyserver ~] sudo klist -e -k /etc/squid/proxyuser.keytab
Keytab name: FILE:/etc/squid/proxyuser.keytab
KVNO Principal
---- --------------------------------------------------------------------------
  16 HTTP/proxyserver@LABS.EXAMPLE.ORG (aes256-cts-hmac-sha1-96)
  16 HTTP/proxyserver.labs.example.org@LABS.EXAMPLE.ORG (aes256-cts-hmac-sha1-96)

In order for Squid to authenticate itself with the keytab file, the following configuration in /etc/squid/squid.config is necessary. Authentication is necessary so that Squid can communicate with the domain controllers and verify all accounts (users and computers) that want to log on to the proxy.

# Kerberos Authentication
# Use the switch "-d" (debugging) for troubleshooting
auth_param negotiate program /usr/lib64/squid/negotiate_kerberos_auth -k /etc/squid/proxyuser.keytab -s HTTP/proxyserver.labs.example.org@LABS.EXAMPLE.ORG -s GSS_C_NO_NAME
auth_param negotiate children 10
auth_param negotiate keep_alive on
acl kerb proxy_auth REQUIRED

For negotiate_kerberos_auth, the SPN must be written exactly the same as in the Active Directory. The realm must be written only in capital letters.

Restrict Access

Internet access is only allowed for members of the group grp-proxyallow01. Squid uses LDAPS to query the members. Unfortunately, we did not succeed in using the keytab file for LDAPS authentication in our configuration, so the credentials of the service account must be stored in the Squid configuration. However, access to the configuration is restricted to the users squid and root.

# Definition of a specific AD group (LDAP request)
# Use the switch "-d" (debugging) for troubleshooting
external_acl_type proxy_ad_grp-proxyallow01 ttl=3600 negative_ttl=3600 %LOGIN /usr/lib64/squid/ext_kerberos_ldap_group_acl -g "grp-proxyallow01" -s -a -i -l ldaps://dc01.labs.example.org:636 -u "proxyuser" -p "<secret>" -D "LABS.EXAMPLE.ORG"
acl ad_grp-proxyallow01 external proxy_ad_grp-proxyallow01

With this information, domain lists and ACLs can be created to control access to the Internet. The ACLs are defined either directly in the configuration or by including files.

# Definition of domain lists used for allow/deny acls
acl youtube_domains dstdomain .youtube-nocookie.com .googlevideo.com .ytimg.com
acl allowed_domains dstdomain /etc/squid/acl_allowed_domains.conf

# Deny access for all to YouToube
http_access deny youtube_domains

# Allow access based on Kerberos auth / AD groups
http_access allowed_domains ad_grp-proxyallow01

# And finally deny all other access to this proxy
http_access deny all

In this extract, the ACLs for YouTube and a list of allowed domains have been defined. Access to YouTube is denied to all users, while access to the list of domains has been allowed to members of the AD group ad_grp-proxyallow01.

Troubleshooting

The files access.log and cache.log contain information for troubleshooting and monitoring access. These files should be forwarded to the log infrastructure and analysed. Each request is first blocked with the status TCP_DENIED/407, thus signalling to the user that authentication with Kerberos is required. Then the same request is made with the authentication of the user.

1651764387.820   16 192.168.10.101 TCP_DENIED/407 3965 CONNECT europe.cp.wd.microsoft.com:443 - HIER_NONE/- text/html
1651764397.612   9790 192.168.10.101 TCP_TUNNEL/200 3957 CONNECT europe.cp.wd.microsoft.com:443 dc01$@LABS.EXAMPLE.ORG HIER_DIRECT/20.54.122.82

The log files show which system accessed which URL with which user. It is also interesting to analyse which system could not authenticate itself. Either there is a misconfiguration, or a software component does not support Kerberos. This can also be malware, for example.

Windows Proxy Configuration

The proxy server configuration in Windows can be implemented in several ways, including using the Web Proxy Auto-Discovery (WPAD) protocol or the static configuration in the registry via group policies. The key ProxyEnable under the path HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings is set to the value 1 and the key ProxyServer under the same path is set to the address of the proxy server, such as proxyserver.labs.example.org:3128.

The Windows HTTP services (WinHTTP) have their own proxy configuration. This can also be distributed via registry keys. On a system, the configuration from the previous section can be imported for WinHTTP with the command netsh winhttp import proxy source=ie or set static with netsh winhttp set proxy <proxy>:<port>. The binary value of the setting is located in the key WinHttpSettings under the path HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Connections. This key can also be distributed via group policies.

For applications such as Microsoft Defender for Endpoint, the setting Administrative Templates > Windows Components > Data Collection and Preview Builds > Configure Authenticated Proxy usage for the Connected User Experience and Telemetry Service must be configured to the values Enabled and Disable Authenticated Proxy usage as described in the Instructions from Microsoft. The proxy server is configured under Administrative Templates > Windows Components > Data Collection and Preview Builds > Configure connected user experiences and telemetry and under Administrative Templates > Windows Components > Microsoft Defender Antivirus > Define proxy server for connecting to the network.

According to the Instructions for Microsoft Defender for Identity, a user name and password can be defined for the proxy. If no credentials are defined, authentication on the proxy fails, native support for Kerberos authentication seems to be missing. We have configured an exception rule in Squid for the endpoint <your_workspace_name>sensorapi.atp.azure.com and the respective systems.

acl system01 src 192.168.10.101/32
acl defender_for_identity dstdomain <your_workspace_name>sensorapi.atp.azure.com
http_access allow defender_for_identity system01

Microsoft provides tools for testing the connection, such as the Microsoft Defender for Endpoint Client Analyzer Tool. This helps with configuring the proxy and troubleshooting when applications and services do not work as desired.

Summary

There are some obstacles when configuring a web proxy server with Kerberos authentication. On the one hand, the proxy server must be connected to the Active Directory or configured so that all proxy services can authenticate themselves. In our test environment, we could not get the Squid LDAP module to work with a keytab file. If anyone has a hint or solution to this, we would be happy to receive feedback. The use of Kerberos is a secure authentication method. Since not all applications and services have Kerberos support, exceptions will need to be configured and documented.

Tim MalcomVetter, Head of Managed Security Services at Cyderes, had conducted a Twitter poll on the configuration of Squid Proxy and Kerberos in February 2019. Out of 68 votes, 75% have not yet done such a configuration and the other 25% agreed that there is nothing more difficult. With this in mind, we hope that this article will be of help for upcoming installations and configurations and that the implementation can be accomplished successfully.

About the Author

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider has been in IT since 2000. Since 2010 he is focused on information security. He is an expert at penetration testing, hardening and the detection of vulnerabilities in operating systems. He is well-known for a variety of tools written in PowerShell to find, exploit, and mitigate weaknesses. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

You want to test the security of your firewall?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Network Time Security

Network Time Security

Michael Schneider

Forced Authentication

Forced Authentication

Michael Schneider

Network Provider

Network Provider

Michael Schneider

Attacks via Peripheral Devices

Attacks via Peripheral Devices

Michael Schneider

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Web-Proxy mit Kerberos - Anleitung zur Grundkonfiguration

Web-Proxy mit Kerberos

Anleitung zur Grundkonfiguration

Michael Schneider
von Michael Schneider
am 01. September 2022
Lesezeit: 11 Minuten

Keypoints

So setzen Sie einen Proxy mit Kerberos auf

  • Ein Proxy-Server reduziert Datenverkehr und kontrolliert den Zugang ins Internet
  • Kerberos ist eine sichere Authentisierungsmethode und sollte Basic Authentication und NTLM vorgezogen werden
  • Die Open-Source-Software Squid kann als Proxy-Server mit Kerberos konfiguriert werden
  • Die Konfiguration bietet einige Stolpersteine, so muss die Schreibweise von Realms, Domains und SPNs exakt mit Active Directory übereinstimmen
  • Proxys mit Kerberos können eine Hürde für Malware darstellen

Ein Web-Proxy-Server ist ein Webserver, der als Gateway zwischen einer Clientapplikation, beispielsweise ein Webbrowser, und dem Ziel-Webserver agiert. Dabei kommuniziert der Proxy-Server mit dem Ziel-Webserver im Auftrag der Clientapplikation. Ein Proxy kann als Cache für Webinhalte eingesetzt werden, um den Datenverkehr zu reduzieren. Eine weitere Aufgabe des Proxy-Servers ist den Zugriff ins Internet zu kontrollieren. Auf dem Proxy wird konfiguriert, welche Applikation, welcher Benutzer und welches System auf welche Ressource zugreifen kann. Somit ist der Proxy-Server ein wichtiger Bestandteil bei der Absicherung von ausgehenden Zugriffen.

Benutzer und Computer müssen sich gegenüber dem Proxy-Server authentisieren, dazu wurde oft Basic Authentication oder NTLM eingesetzt. NTLM sollte soweit als möglich deaktiviert werden und bei Basic Authentication werden Benutzername und Passwort unverschlüsselt im HTTP-Header übertragen, nur geschützt durch die TLS-Transportverschlüsselung. Daher sollte auf den Einsatz beider Authentisierungsmethoden verzichtet und auf Kerberos gesetzt werden.

Wir setzen in unserer Testumgebung den Proxy-Server Squid ein. In diesem Artikel beschreiben wir die Grundkonfiguration einer Squid-Instanz mit Kerberos. Die vollständige Konfiguration eines Proxy-Serves mit Ausnahmen für Systeme und Applikationen, die keine Unterstützung für Kerberos haben, sowie das Filtern und Überwachen des Netzwerkverkehrs und eines Berechtigungskonzept, wer auf welchen Inhalt zugreifen darf, ist nicht Bestandteil des Artikels.

Konfiguration der Kerberos-Anbindung

Wir haben den Proxy-Server auf der Basis von Fedora Linux aufgebaut. Der Server wird dediziert betrieben und ist nicht mit der Domäne verbunden. Der Proxy-Server ist das einzige System innerhalb der Infrastruktur, das externe DNS-Server verwenden darf, als Massnahme gegen DNS-Tunneling auf Systemen der Domäne.

Damit die Kerberos-Authentisierung möglich ist, muss der Proxy-Server mit den Domain Controller kommunizieren können. Die Konfiguration dazu wird in der Datei /etc/krb5.conf vorgenommen.

[libdefaults]
...
default_realm = LABS.EXAMPLE.ORG
dns_lookup_kdc = no
dns_lookup_realm = no

default_tgs_enctypes = aes256-cts-hmac-sha1-96
default_tkt_enctypes = aes256-cts-hmac-sha1-96
permitted_enctypes = aes256-cts-hmac-sha1-96

[realms]
LABS.EXAMPLE.ORG = {
    kdc = dc01.labs.example.org
    admin_server = dc01.labs.example.org
}

[domain_realm]
.labs.example.org = LABS.EXAMPLE.ORG
labs.example.org = LABS.EXAMPLE.ORG

Die Gross-/Kleinschreibung des Realms und der Domäne ist essentiell und muss im weiteren Verlauf überall gleich umgesetzt werden, ansonsten klappt die Verbindung nicht. Positiv anzumerken ist, dass Fedora und Red Hat Linux den Verschlüsselungsalgorithmus RC4 sowie ältere Algorithmen standardmässig nicht mehr unterstützen. Der Forest example.org ist so konfiguriert, dass für Kerberos nur AES256 and future encryption types erlaubt sind.

Konfiguration Squid

Squid wird aus dem Fedora-Repository installiert, zusätzlich wird das Paket krb5-workstation benötigt, welches Werkzeuge zum Arbeiten mit Keytab-Dateien und Kerberos-Tickets beinhaltet. Keytab steht für Key Table und wird verwendet, um Langzeit gültige Schlüssel für einen oder mehreren Service Principals zu speichern. Damit sich Squid gegenüber dem Active Directory authentisieren kann, wird eine solche Keytab-Datei auf einem mit der Domäne verbundenen System für das Dienstkonto proxyuser erstellt.

Die folgenden Befehle erstellen eine Keytab-Datei für die zwei Principals HTTP/proxyserver und HTTP/proxyserver.labs.example.org, welche mit dem Benutzer proxyuser verbunden werden, die Service Principal Names (SPN) werden dabei automatisch erstellt. In der Keytab-Datei wird nur AES256-SHA1-Schlüsselmaterial hinterlegt.

PS C:\> ktpass.exe /princ HTTP/proxyserver@LABS.EXAMPLE.ORG /mapuser proxyuser /pass * -crypto AES256-SHA1 +dumpsalt -setupn -setpass -ptype KRB5_NT_PRINCIPAL /out proxyuser.keytab
PS C:\> ktpass.exe /princ HTTP/proxyserver.labs.example.org@LABS.EXAMPLE.ORG /mapUser proxyuser /pass * -crypto AES256-SHA1 +dumpsalt -setupn -setpass -ptype KRB5_NT_PRINCIPAL /mapOp add /in proxyuser.keytab /out proxyuser.keytab

Die Keytab-Datei wird auf dem Proxy-Server unter /etc/squid/proxyuser.keytab abgelegt und der Zugriff soweit als möglich eingeschränkt. Mit dem Tool klist kann der Inhalt unter Linux angezeigt werden.

[user@proxyserver ~] sudo chown root:squid /etc/squid/proxyuser.keytab 
[user@proxyserver ~] chmod 640 root:squid /etc/squid/proxyuser.keytab
[user@proxyserver ~] sudo klist -e -k /etc/squid/proxyuser.keytab
Keytab name: FILE:/etc/squid/proxyuser.keytab
KVNO Principal
---- --------------------------------------------------------------------------
  16 HTTP/proxyserver@LABS.EXAMPLE.ORG (aes256-cts-hmac-sha1-96)
  16 HTTP/proxyserver.labs.example.org@LABS.EXAMPLE.ORG (aes256-cts-hmac-sha1-96)

Damit sich Squid mit der Keytab-Datei authentisieren kann, ist die folgende Konfiguration in /etc/squid/squid.config nötig. Die Authentisierung ist notwendig, damit Squid mit den Domain Controllern kommunizieren kann und alle Konten (Benutzer und Computer), die sich am Proxy anmelden wollen, verifizieren kann.

# Kerberos Authentication
# Use the switch "-d" (debugging) for troubleshooting
auth_param negotiate program /usr/lib64/squid/negotiate_kerberos_auth -k /etc/squid/proxyuser.keytab -s HTTP/proxyserver.labs.example.org@LABS.EXAMPLE.ORG -s GSS_C_NO_NAME
auth_param negotiate children 10
auth_param negotiate keep_alive on
acl kerb proxy_auth REQUIRED

Bei negotiate_kerberos_auth muss darauf geachtet werden, dass der SPN genau gleich geschrieben wird wie im Active Directory. Der Realm muss ausschliesslich in Grossbuchstaben geschrieben werden.

Zugriff einschränken

Der Internetzugriff ist nur für Mitglieder der Gruppe grp-proxyallow01 erlaubt. Squid verwendet LDAPS um die Mitglieder abzufragen. Leider gelang es bei unseren Konfiguration nicht, die Keytab-Datei auch für die LDAPS-Authentisierung zu verwenden, sodass in der Squid-Konfiguration die Zugangsdaten des Dienstkontos hinterlegt werden müssen. Der Zugriff auf die Konfiguration ist jedoch auf die Benutzer squid und root eingeschränkt.

# Definition of a specific AD group (LDAP request)
# Use the switch "-d" (debugging) for troubleshooting
external_acl_type proxy_ad_grp-proxyallow01 ttl=3600 negative_ttl=3600 %LOGIN /usr/lib64/squid/ext_kerberos_ldap_group_acl -g "grp-proxyallow01" -s -a -i -l ldaps://dc01.labs.example.org:636 -u "proxyuser" -p "<secret>" -D "LABS.EXAMPLE.ORG"
acl ad_grp-proxyallow01 external proxy_ad_grp-proxyallow01

Mit diesen Informationen können Domain-Listen und ACLs erstellt werden, um den Zugriff ins Internet zu regeln. Die ACLs werden entweder direkt in der Konfiguration oder über das Einbinden von Dateien definiert.

# Definition of domain lists used for allow/deny acls
acl youtube_domains dstdomain .youtube-nocookie.com .googlevideo.com .ytimg.com
acl allowed_domains dstdomain /etc/squid/acl_allowed_domains.conf

# Deny access for all to YouToube
http_access deny youtube_domains

# Allow access based on Kerberos auth / AD groups
http_access allowed_domains ad_grp-proxyallow01

# And finally deny all other access to this proxy
http_access deny all

In diesem Ausschnitt wurden die ACLs für YouTube und eine Liste erlaubter Domains definiert. Der Zugriff auf YouTube wird allen Benutzern verwehrt, während der Zugriff auf die Liste der Domains den Mitgliedern der AD-Gruppe ad_grp-proxyallow01 erlaubt wurde.

Troubleshooting

Die Dateien access.log und cache.log enthalten Informationen für Troubleshooting und Überwachung der Zugriffe. Diese Dateien sollten an die Log-Infrastruktur weitergeleitet und ausgewertet werden. Grundsätzlich wird jeder Request zuerst mit dem Status TCP_DENIED/407 geblockt und damit dem Benutzer signalisiert, dass eine Authentisierung mit Kerberos erforderlich ist. Danach erfolgt derselbe Request mit der Authentisierung des Benutzers.

1651764387.820   16 192.168.10.101 TCP_DENIED/407 3965 CONNECT europe.cp.wd.microsoft.com:443 - HIER_NONE/- text/html
1651764397.612   9790 192.168.10.101 TCP_TUNNEL/200 3957 CONNECT europe.cp.wd.microsoft.com:443 dc01$@LABS.EXAMPLE.ORG HIER_DIRECT/20.54.122.82

In den Logdateien ist ersichtlich, welches System mit welchem Benutzer auf welche URL zugriffen hat. Interessant ist es auch auszuwerten, welches System sich nicht authentisieren konnte. Entweder liegt eine Fehlkonfiguration vor, oder eine Softwarekomponente hat keine Unterstützung für Kerberos. Dabei kann es sich auch beispielsweise um Malware handeln.

Proxy-Konfiguration in Windows

Die Proxy-Server-Konfiguration in Windows kann über unterschiedliche Wege realisiert werden, unter anderem mittels des Protokolls Web Proxy Auto-Discovery (WPAD) oder der statischen Konfiguration in der Registry über Gruppenrichtlinien. Der Schlüssel ProxyEnable unter dem Pfad HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings wird auf den Wert 1 gesetzt und der Schlüssel ProxyServer unter demselben Pfad auf die Adresse des Proxy-Servers, wie zum Beispiel proxyserver.labs.example.org:3128.

Die Windows-HTTP-Dienste (WinHTTP) verfügen über eine eigene Proxy-Konfiguration. Diese kann ebenfalls über Registry-Schlüssel verteilt werden. Auf einem System kann mit dem Befehl netsh winhttp import proxy source=ie die Konfiguration aus dem vorherigen Abschnitt für WinHTTP importiert oder statisch mittels netsh winhttp set proxy <proxy>:<port> gesetzt werden. Der Binärwert der Einstellung befindet sich im Schlüssel WinHttpSettings unter dem Pfad HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Connections. Dieser Schlüssel kann ebenfalls via Gruppenrichtlinien verteilt werden.

Für Anwendungen wie Microsoft Defender for Endpoint muss, wie in der Anleitung von Microsoft beschrieben, die Einstellung Administrative Templates > Windows Components > Data Collection and Preview Builds > Configure Authenticated Proxy usage for the Connected User Experience and Telemetry Service auf den Wert Enabled und Disable Authenticated Proxy usage gesetzt werden. Der Proxy-Servers wird unter Administrative Templates > Windows Components > Data Collection and Preview Builds > Configure connected user experiences and telemetry sowie unter Administrative Templates > Windows Components > Microsoft Defender Antivirus > Define proxy server for connecting to the network. konfiguriert.

Gemäss der Anleitung für Microsoft Defender for Identity kann für den Proxy ein Benutzername und Passwort hinterlegt werden. Wenn keine Anmeldedaten definiert werden, schlägt die Authentisierung auf dem Proxy fehl, eine native Unterstützung für Kerberos-Authentisierung scheint zu fehlen. Wir haben für den Endpunkt <your_workspace_name>sensorapi.atp.azure.com und die jeweiligen Systeme eine Ausnahmeregel in Squid konfiguriert.

acl system01 src 192.168.10.101/32
acl defender_for_identity dstdomain <your_workspace_name>sensorapi.atp.azure.com
http_access allow defender_for_identity system01

Microsoft stellt Werkzeuge zum Testen der Verbindung zu Verfügung, wie zum Beispiel das Microsoft Defender for Endpoint Client Analyzer Tool. Dies hilft bei der Konfiguration des Proxys und beim Troubleshooting, wenn Applikationen und Dienste nicht wie gewünscht funktionieren.

Fazit

Bei der Konfiguration eines Web-Proxy-Servers mit Kerberos-Authentisierung gibt es einige Hürden. Einerseits muss der Proxy-Server mit dem Active Directory verbunden sein, oder so konfiguriert werden, dass alle Proxy-Dienste sich authentisieren können. In unserer Testumgebung gelang es nicht das Squid-LDAP-Modul mit einer Keytab-Datei zum Laufen zu bringen. Falls jemand dazu einen Hinweis oder eine Lösung hat, freuen wir uns auf ein Feedback. Die Verwendung von Kerberos stellt eine sichere Authentisierungsmethode dar. Da nicht alle Applikationen und Dienste über Kerberos-Unterstützung verfügen, werden Ausnahmen konfiguriert und dokumentiert werden müssen.

Tim MalcomVetter, Head of Managed Security Services bei Cyderes, hatte im Februar 2019 eine Twitter-Umfrage zur Konfiguration mit Squid Proxy und Kerberos durchgeführt. Von 68 Stimmen haben 75% noch keine solche Konfiguration vorgenommen und die anderen 25% haben zugestimmt, dass es nichts Schwierigeres gibt. In diesem Sinne hoffen wir, dass dieser Artikel bei kommenden Installationen und Konfigurationen eine Hilfe darstellt und die Implementation erfolgreich durchgeführt werden kann.

Über den Autor

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider arbeitet seit dem Jahr 2000 in der IT. Im Jahr 2010 hat er sich auf die Informationssicherheit spezialisiert. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehören das Penetration Testing, Hardening und das Aufspüren von Schwachstellen in Betriebssystemen. Er ist bekannt für eine Vielzahl in PowerShell geschriebener Tools zum Finden, Ausnutzen und Beheben von Schwachstellen. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

Sie wollen die Sicherheit Ihrer Firewall prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Forced Authentication

Forced Authentication

Michael Schneider

Network Provider

Network Provider

Michael Schneider

Angriffe über Peripheriegeräte

Angriffe über Peripheriegeräte

Michael Schneider

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv