System Log Monitoring - A Useful Minimal Solution

System Log Monitoring

A Useful Minimal Solution

Tomaso Vasella
by Tomaso Vasella
on May 04, 2023
time to read: 9 minutes

Keypoints

This is How You Profit from System Log Monitoring

  • Collecting, recording, and monitoring system events is a basic security measure
  • Python can be used to programmatically access Systemd's journal directly
  • Event driven processing of log messages is easy to implement
  • A minimal solution with simple keyword searching is quite effective

Collecting, recording and monitoring events – especially if they are security-relevant – is a basic security measure that should not be missing on any system. Many operating systems, programming languages and software frameworks offer more or less flexible options for collecting and recording events. Windows contains the Event Log, Unix and Linux typically use a syslog implementation such as syslogd, rsyslog or syslog-ng. Most modern Linux distributions use the logging component of systemd.

Thus, plenty of tools for collecting and recording events are readily available and are active in operating systems at least in a basic configuration. However, when it comes to analyzing logs the situation looks a bit different. Although there is a good range of powerful solutions for this purpose such as Graylog, ELK or Prometheus, most of them require dedicated systems, often considerable resources and a lot of configuration effort. Centralized collection, correlation, and analysis of logs is highly recommended in larger environments, but may be beyond the effort one can or is willing to invest in smaller environments or individual systems. This article examines a simple method to programmatically access systemd’s journal and implement a minimal but useful notification solution with simple methods.

Logging with Journald

Journald is a component of Systemd and is available as a package in many current Linux distributions and is often active as the default logging solution. In contrast to classic syslog solutions, journald uses a binary file format for writing logs to local storage (on-disk). These logs can be examined and searched with the command journalctl. In addition, there is a python module available that provides direct programmatic access to the journal, among other things. This python module is used in the following example.

Accessing the Journal with python-systemd

To use the python module python-systemd it must be imported.

from systemd import journal

The individual entries in the journal are accessed with the class systemd.journal.Reader(). Various settings can be selected for accessing the journal entries. For our purpose, we have defined that only entries with the severity level LOG_INFO or higher should be considered and that only those events are relevant that have been recorded since the last start of the system since our log monitor should continuously monitor new events and not care about earlier events.

j = journal.Reader()
j.log_level(journal.LOG_INFO)
j.this_boot()

Since we are only interested in the events newly added to the journal, we jump to its end. There is or there was a bug or an ambiguity in the documentation, that is jumping to the end of the journal places the pointer after the last entry, which requires going back one position to access the last entry in the journal. Our tests were not conclusive in whether this is still the case, but the following approach worked well.

j.seek_tail()
j.get_previous()

Event-driven Processing

After programmatic access to the journal has been established, an efficient method is needed to read and process newly arriving messages. An event-driven approach is suitable for this where an event loop waits for incoming messages and executes commands only when a message actually arrives. This is a much more efficient approach than polling for new messages at a high frequency, but it requires appropriate signaling.

Linux provides this possibility with the system calls poll or epoll which can wait for events arriving at a file descriptor. In Python, there is a module called select that makes the functions poll() and epoll() available. Therefore, we can use poll() to observe the file descriptor of the journal, which can be implemented as follows.

p = select.poll()
journal_fd = j.fileno()
poll_event_mask = j.get_events()
p.register(journal_fd, poll_event_mask)

Log Monitoring

All that remains is to analyze the individual log messages and react to certain events. The simplest method proved to be searching for keywords such as Error, Fail or Problem and sending an email on their occurrence. According to the documentation, the function process() must be called after each use of poll(). The C function sd_journal_process() mentioned in the documentation corresponds to the function process() in the select Python module.

while p.poll():
    if j.process() != journal.APPEND:
        continue
    for event in j:
        if re.search('(fail|error|alarm|problem|emerg)', event['MESSAGE'], re.IGNORECASE):
            <do stuff>

False Positives

A large number of messages can quickly appear in event logs that contain the keywords looked for but may be considered false positives. For example, the logs of the mail server Postfix often contain entries such as SSL_accept error from unknown or the logs of the IMAP server Dovecot show messages like failed: Connection reset by peer (no auth attempts in 1 secs) which may be caused by automatic scanners in the Internet. Therefore a feature is necessary to identify and to ignore such unwanted log lines. This can be achieved by a simple substring comparison or in more complex cases regular expressions might be used.

Practical Implementation

With the above considerations, a complete solution could look like the following.

import select
import re
import smtplib
import logging
from email.message import EmailMessage
from systemd import journal

def main():
    j = journal.Reader()
    j.log_level(journal.LOG_INFO)
    j.this_boot()

    j.seek_tail()
    j.get_previous()

    p = select.poll()

    journal_fd = j.fileno()
    poll_event_mask = j.get_events()
    p.register(journal_fd, poll_event_mask)

    while p.poll():
        if j.process() != journal.APPEND:
            continue
        for event in j:
            if re.search('(fail|error|alarm|problem|emerg)', event['MESSAGE'], re.IGNORECASE):
                if not is_false_positive(event):
                    msg = EmailMessage()
                    msg['Subject'] = f'[ALERT] Error detected in {event.get("_SYSTEMD_UNIT",event["SYSLOG_IDENTIFIER"])} on {event["_HOSTNAME"]}'
                    msg['From'] = 'sender@localsystem'
                    msg['To'] = 'recipient@othersystem'
                    msg.set_content(f'{event["__REALTIME_TIMESTAMP"]} {event["MESSAGE"]}')
                    try:
                        s = smtplib.SMTP('localhost')
                        s.send_message(msg)
                        s.quit()
                    except Exception as e:
                        logger.error(f'Err: could not send mail. Reason: {e}')

def is_false_positive(event):
    false_positives = [
        {'_SYSTEMD_UNIT': 'postfix.service', 'MESSAGE': 'SSL_accept error from unknown'},
        {'_SYSTEMD_UNIT': 'dovecot.service', 'MESSAGE': 'TLS handshaking: SSL_accept() failed'}
    ]

    # if all of the keys and all of the values (values as substrings) of any of the false positives are in event
    return any(all(fp[key] in event.get(key, '') for key in fp) for fp in false_positives)

if __name__ == '__main__':
    logger = logging.getLogger(__name__)
    logger.setLevel(logging.INFO)
    logger.propagate = False
    logger.addHandler(journal.JournalHandler())
    logger.info(f'Starting log monitoring script {__file__}')

    main()

To permanently run the log monitor as a system service, a Systemd Unit can be created:

[Unit]
Description=Log monitor
After=network.target

[Service]
Type=simple
ExecStart=/usr/bin/python3 /usr/local/bin/logmon.py
TimeoutStartSec=0
Restart=always
StartLimitInterval=0

[Install]
WantedBy=default.target

In our example, this unit was placed at /etc/systemd/system/logmon.service and then activated:

systemctl enable logmon && systemctl start logmon

Summary

It is evident that the described approach cannot replace a full-featured system monitoring solution, especially in comparison with centralized solutions such as Graylog, Elastic, Prometheus, Zabbix, Nagios or others. However, in the sense of a favorable effort benefit ratio, the presented solution has proven to be very useful. Before completely refraining from implementing system monitoring, be that because of a lack of time or because a larger solution seems too extensive, it is better to choose a simple approach that can be implemented with simple means and requires little maintenance.

About the Author

Tomaso Vasella

Tomaso Vasella has a Master in Organic Chemistry at ETH Z├╝rich. He is working in the cybersecurity field since 1999 and worked as a consultant, engineer, auditor and business developer. (ORCID 0000-0002-0216-1268)

Links

You want to bring your logging and monitoring to the next level?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Denial of Service Attacks

Denial of Service Attacks

Tomaso Vasella

Data Transfer with SSID

Data Transfer with SSID

Tomaso Vasella

Windows Installer Security

Windows Installer Security

Tomaso Vasella

Analysis of Mobile Apps

Analysis of Mobile Apps

Tomaso Vasella

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Überwachung des Systemprotokolls - Eine nützliche Minimallösung

Überwachung des Systemprotokolls

Eine nützliche Minimallösung

Tomaso Vasella
von Tomaso Vasella
am 04. Mai 2023
Lesezeit: 9 Minuten

Keypoints

So profitieren Sie von der Überwachung des Systemprotokolls

  • Das Sammeln, Aufzeichnen und Überwachen von Systemereignissen ist eine grundlegende Sicherheitsmassnahme
  • Mit Python kann programmatisch direkt auf das Journal von Systemd zugegriffen werden
  • Eine ereignisbasierte Verarbeitung von Lognachrichten lässt sich einfach umsetzen
  • Eine Minimallösung mit einfacher Schlüsselwortsuche ist erstaunlich effektiv

Das Sammeln, Aufzeichnen und Überwachen von Ereignissen – insbesondere, wenn sie sicherheitsrelevant sind – ist eine grundlegende Sicherheitsmassnahme, die auf keinem System fehlen sollte. Viele Betriebssysteme, Programmiersprachen und Software-Frameworks bieten mehr oder weniger flexible Möglichkeiten, Ereignisse zu sammeln und aufzuzeichnen. Windows beinhaltet die Ereignisprotokollierung (Event Log), Unix und Linux verwenden klassischerweise eine Syslog-Implementation wie syslogd, rsyslog oder syslog-ng, wobei die meisten modernen Linux-Distributionen auf die Loggingkomponente von systemd setzen.

Werkzeuge zum Sammeln und Aufzeichnen von Ereignissen sind also reichlich vorhanden und in den Betriebssystemen zumindest in einer Grundkonfiguration aktiv. Etwas anders sieht es aber bei der Auswertung von Logs aus. Es gibt zwar eine gute Auswahl an sehr leistungsfähigen Lösungen dafür, beispielsweise Graylog, ELK, Prometheus, die meisten davon erfordern aber dedizierte Systeme, oft beträchtliche Ressourcen und viel Konfigurationsaufwand. Das zentrale Sammeln, Korrelieren und Auswerten von Logs ist in grösseren Umgebungen sehr zu empfehlen, kann aber in kleinen Umgebungen oder bei einzelnen Systemen den Aufwand übersteigen, den man investieren kann oder will. Dieser Beitrag betrachtet eine einfache Methode, programmatisch auf das Journal von systemd zuzugreifen und mit simplen Mitteln eine minimale, aber nützliche Benachrichtigung umzusetzen.

Logging mit Journald

Journald ist ein Bestandteil von systemd und ist in vielen aktuellen Linux-Distributionen als Paket verfügbar und als Default installiert. Für die lokale Aufzeichnung von Ereignissen (on-disk) verwendet journald im Unterschied zum klassischen Syslog ein binäres Dateiformat. Diese Logs können mit dem Befehl journalctl betrachtet und durchsucht werden. Für systemd steht ausserdem ein Python-Modul zur Verfügung, das unter anderem direkten programmatischen Zugang zum Journal ermöglicht. Dieses Modul wird im folgenden Beispiel eingesetzt.

Zugriff auf das Journal mit python-systemd

Damit das Python-Modul python-systemd verwendet werden kann, muss es importiert werden.

from systemd import journal

Auf die einzelnen Einträge im Journal wird mit der Klasse systemd.journal.Reader() zugegriffen. Dabei können verschiedene Einstellungen gewählt werden. Wir haben für unseren Zweck definiert, dass nur Einträge mit dem Schweregrad (Severity) LOG_INFO oder höher betrachtet werden sollen und dass nur solche Ereignisse relevant sind, die seit dem letzten Start des Systems aufgezeichnet wurden – unser Log Monitor soll ja laufend neue Ereignisse überwachen und sich nicht um frühere Ereignisse kümmern.

j = journal.Reader()
j.log_level(journal.LOG_INFO)
j.this_boot()

Da nur die neuen, zum Journal hinzukommenden Ereignisse interessant sind, springen wir zum Ende des Journals. Es gibt oder gab dabei einen Bug beziehungsweise eine Unklarheit in der Dokumentation; dieser Sprung plaziert den Zeiger nämlich nach dem letzten Eintrag, so dass man für Zugriff auf den letzten Eintrag eine Position zurück gehen muss. In unseren Tests zeigte sich nicht eindeutig, ob dies aktuell immer noch der Fall ist, das folgende Verfahren scheint aber gut zu funktionieren.

j.seek_tail()
j.get_previous()

Ereignisbasierte Verarbeitung

Nachdem programmatischer Zugriff auf das Journal eingerichtet ist, braucht es eine effiziente Methode, neu ankommende Nachrichten zu lesen und zu verarbeiten. Dazu eignet sich ein ereignisbasiertes Vorgehen; das heisst, eine Ereignisschleife (Event Loop) wartet auf ankommende Nachrichten und führt nur dann Befehle aus, wenn tatsächlich eine Nachricht ankommt. Dies ist ein viel effizienteres Verfahren, als mit einer hohen Frequenz nach neuen Nachrichten zu fragen, erfordert aber die entsprechende Signalisierung.

Unter Linux gibt es dafür die Möglichkeit, den System Call poll oder epoll zu verwenden, welcher auf Ereignisse eines Dateideskriptors wartet. Python bietet dazu das Modul select mit der Funktion poll() oder epoll() an. Wir können also mittels poll() den Dateideskriptor des Journals beobachten, was folgendermassen umgesetzt werden kann.

p = select.poll()
journal_fd = j.fileno()
poll_event_mask = j.get_events()
p.register(journal_fd, poll_event_mask)

Log-Überwachung

Übrig bleibt nur noch, die einzelnen Lognachrichten zu analysieren und auf bestimmte Ereignisse zu reagieren. Als einfachste Methode erwies sich die Suche nach Schlüsselwörtern wie Error, Fail oder Problem und der entsprechende Versand einer Email. Zu beachten ist hier noch, dass gemäss der Dokumentation nach jedem Aufruf von poll() die Funktion process() aufgerufen werden muss. Die in der Dokumentation erwähnte C-Funktion sd_journal_process() entspricht der Funktion process() im Python-Modul.

while p.poll():
    if j.process() != journal.APPEND:
        continue
    for event in j:
        if re.search('(fail|error|alarm|problem|emerg)', event['MESSAGE'], re.IGNORECASE):
            <do stuff>

False Positives

In Ereignisprotokollen können schnell sehr viele Nachrichten auftauchen, die zwar die gesuchten Schlüsselwörter enthalten, aber als False Positives betrachtet werden müssen. Beispielsweise beinhalten die Logs von Postfix oft Einträge wie SSL_accept error from unknown oder beim IMAP-Server Dovecot failed: Connection reset by peer (no auth attempts in 1 secs) was beispielsweise durch automatische Scanner im Internet verursacht werden kann. Es braucht also eine Funktion, um solchermassen unerwünschte Logzeilen zu ignorieren. Dies kann z.B. durch einen einfachen Substring-Vergleich erreicht werden oder mit Regular Expressions in komplexeren Fällen.

Praktische Umsetzung

Eine vollständige Lösung kann somit etwa wie folgt aussehen.

import select
import re
import smtplib
import logging
from email.message import EmailMessage
from systemd import journal

def main():
    j = journal.Reader()
    j.log_level(journal.LOG_INFO)
    j.this_boot()

    j.seek_tail()
    j.get_previous()

    p = select.poll()

    journal_fd = j.fileno()
    poll_event_mask = j.get_events()
    p.register(journal_fd, poll_event_mask)

    while p.poll():
        if j.process() != journal.APPEND:
            continue
        for event in j:
            if re.search('(fail|error|alarm|problem|emerg)', event['MESSAGE'], re.IGNORECASE):
                if not is_false_positive(event):
                    msg = EmailMessage()
                    msg['Subject'] = f'[ALERT] Error detected in {event.get("_SYSTEMD_UNIT",event["SYSLOG_IDENTIFIER"])} on {event["_HOSTNAME"]}'
                    msg['From'] = 'sender@localsystem'
                    msg['To'] = 'recipient@othersystem'
                    msg.set_content(f'{event["__REALTIME_TIMESTAMP"]} {event["MESSAGE"]}')
                    try:
                        s = smtplib.SMTP('localhost')
                        s.send_message(msg)
                        s.quit()
                    except Exception as e:
                        logger.error(f'Err: could not send mail. Reason: {e}')

def is_false_positive(event):
    false_positives = [
        {'_SYSTEMD_UNIT': 'postfix.service', 'MESSAGE': 'SSL_accept error from unknown'},
        {'_SYSTEMD_UNIT': 'dovecot.service', 'MESSAGE': 'TLS handshaking: SSL_accept() failed'}
    ]

    # if all of the keys and all of the values (values as substrings) of any of the false positives are in event
    return any(all(fp[key] in event.get(key, '') for key in fp) for fp in false_positives)

if __name__ == '__main__':
    logger = logging.getLogger(__name__)
    logger.setLevel(logging.INFO)
    logger.propagate = False
    logger.addHandler(journal.JournalHandler())
    logger.info(f'Starting log monitoring script {__file__}')

    main()

Um den Logmonitor als Systemdienst permanent zu aktivieren, kann eine Systemd Unit erstellt werden:

[Unit]
Description=Log monitor
After=network.target

[Service]
Type=simple
ExecStart=/usr/bin/python3 /usr/local/bin/logmon.py
TimeoutStartSec=0
Restart=always
StartLimitInterval=0

[Install]
WantedBy=default.target

In unserem Beispiel wurde diese Unit als /etc/systemd/system/logmon.service abgelegt und anschliessend aktiviert:

systemctl enable logmon && systemctl start logmon

Zusammenfassung

Es ist klar, dass die beschriebene Methode keine vollwertige Systemüberwachung ersetzen kann, insbesondere im Vergleich zu zentralisierten Lösungen wie Graylog, Elastic, Prometheus, Zabbix, Nagios oder anderen. Im Sinn eines günstigen Verhältnisses zwischen Aufwand und Nutzen hat sich die vorgestellte Lösung aber als sehr nützlich erwiesen. Bevor man ganz auf ein Systemmonitoring verzichtet, sei es aus Mangel an Zeit oder weil eine grössere Lösung als zu umfangreich erscheint, wählt man besser einen simplen Ansatz, der sich mit einfachen Mitteln umsetzen lässt und wenig Wartung erfordert.

Über den Autor

Tomaso Vasella

Tomaso Vasella hat seinen Master in Organic Chemistry an der ETH Zürich abgeschlossen und ist seit 1999 im Bereich Cybersecurity aktiv. Positionen als Berater, Engineer, Auditor und Business Developer zählen zu seinen Erfahrungen. (ORCID 0000-0002-0216-1268)

Links

Sie wollen Ihr Log und Monitoring auf das nächste Level bringen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Flipper Zero WiFi Devboard

Flipper Zero WiFi Devboard

Tomaso Vasella

Denial of Service Angriffe

Denial of Service Angriffe

Tomaso Vasella

Datentransfer über SSID

Datentransfer über SSID

Tomaso Vasella

Windows Installer Security

Windows Installer Security

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv