Benchmark a Firewall Rulebase

Benchmark a Firewall Rulebase

Rocco Gagliardi
by Rocco Gagliardi
time to read: 8 minutes

Firewall systems are the oldest elements in the network security. With ongoing use they were surrounded by many additional security systems but remain a central element of the company security.

As explained by Marc Ruef in Firewall Rule Review – Ansatz und Möglichkeiten, scip AG performs firewall rulebase reviews using self engineered models and tools; please refer to this lab for details.

In this lab, we will briefly discuss the output of our analysis.

Data Set

The numbers are calculated using a subset of 30 analyzed rulebases, selected by company type and size, rulebase size and enforcement point (EP) positions (border firewalls with internet exposition, second level or internal firewall):

Firewall Rulebase Data Distribution

Measuring the Rulebase

Our tool searches for vulnerabilities in each rule; each vulnerabilitiy has some numerical values associated, some of them can be compared across different rulebases and are useful as indicators.

The vulnerability-weight (vw) tries to measure the severity of the identified vulnerability. For each finding, the value is added to the global rule-weight (rw). The resulting rw gives a numerical indication of how problematic the rule is.

Vulnerability Heatmap

The simplest numerical indicator for each rule is the rw. The whole rulebase can be displayed as a heatmap, with the rw as temperature indicator as shown in the following table:

Firewall Rule Heatmap

The heatmap may show problematic rule-clusters, as example created for a specific application implementation. Example of rule-cluster candidate for closer look are:

Heatmaps are very rulebase specific, but we can use the data to extract some indicators:

The first two are comparable across different rulebases, useful to benchmark the rulebase versus sector or averages rulebases. The last one make sense only for the same rulebase and can be used to measure if the rulebase evolves in the right or wrong direction.

Key Areas

During the review, our tools perform hundreds of checks on rulebase core elements (rules, objects, services). We have categorized these checks in Areas described as:

Area Description
Lazy-tracking This check group basically tries to find out if the rule is well tracked. Administrators tend to aggregate protocols – especially administrative protocols – in few rules, then disable tracking for a rule because an snmp fills the log but at the same time the rule allows also ssh.
Over-Traffic Sometime we find bi-directional rules, most of which are not really needed: normally, just the traffic in one direction must be explicitly allowed. This check group recursively compares each rule versus all remaining and points out all suspected full or partials rule-pairs.
Readability Not very frequent, but sometime we encounter a big list of objects defined as source, destination or services. Sometime, the complete rule cannot be displayed on the monitor forcing the user to scroll up and down to search a specific objects. After a while, the rule becomes a blackbox.
Lazy-objecting Very frequent, objects are not strictly defined; even if only a single host needs access, the whole network is configured in the rule. This check group points to big objects looking at the number of IPs or ports involved.
Temp/Test Also frequent, created for quick problem resolution or for temporary access, the objects remain in place sometimes submerged in a group.
Mix A mix of temporary/test objects with sensitive objects – like administrative objects – is present in some rulebases and is very difficult to find. This check group looks in rule comments, object comments, known services to point out all suspicious combinations for a closer look.
Quality Basically, we try to measure the quality of the management processes used to manage the rulebases, looking at content of the comments, rulenames etc. Very oft, we encounter redundat or void comments or no reference to a management document, making the rule obscure. See Structuring the Rule Name in Checkpoint Firewall

Key Area Indicators look a little bit deeper into the rulebase and are used to identify problem areas for an accurate control:

Firewall Rulebase Key Area Indicators

Representing the same data as the chart, we can quickly check if the rulebase is performing better or worse in its class.

Firewall Rulebase Key Area Comparison

Key Values

For each Area, many controls are performed on each object. We calculate some Key Values Indicators that can be benchmarked across all analyzed rulebases and give us hints on the possible directions for an improvement:

As a chart, we can quickly check which part of the rulebase is performing better or worse.

Challenges

Maintain the same vulnerabilities classification over the years is the biggest challenge for this class of tools.

If the number of checks or the check itself is changed, the result may become not comparable and we would lose all the historical series (sometime was necessary to align old results with the new tools to make values consistent).

During the last decade of constant revisions, we gained a set of consistent checks. While the checking mechanism remains basically the same, the parameters are constantly updated with each revision: if during an analysis we encounter a new parameter that affects a control, it is coded so that it can be reused in subsequent versions (the most common example is new – sometimes fancy – comments to mark a rule as temporary).

This method reduces the need to (re-)normalize the data while the tool evolves.

Summary

Measuring objects with complex interdependencies is always a kind of alchemy and always produces a grainy representation of reality.

Once the process is tuned to (assuming the distorsion remains constant), a review of an even larger base of rules becomes not only possible but efficient and through the use of metrics it is possible to steer the improvements and measure them.

Thanks to the experience gained through years of revisions, after countless tests and improvements, we reached a set of checks that help us to measure and improve the quality and security of a rulebase.

References

About the Author

Rocco Gagliardi

Rocco Gagliardi has been working in IT since the 1980s and specialized in IT security in the 1990s. His main focus lies in network routing, firewalling and log management.

You want to test the security of your firewall?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
SQLite forensic's notes

SQLite forensic's notes

Rocco Gagliardi

Microsoft365DSC

Microsoft365DSC

Rocco Gagliardi

Office 365 Teams Security

Office 365 Teams Security

Rocco Gagliardi

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Benchmark einer Firewall-Rulebase

Benchmark einer Firewall-Rulebase

Rocco Gagliardi
von Rocco Gagliardi
Lesezeit: 8 Minuten

Firewalls sind die ältesten Elemente in der Network Security. Mit der steten Verwendung im Laufe der Jahre sind sie um eine Vielzahl Sicherheitsfunktionen erweitert worden aber sie bleiben ein zentrales Element in der Unternehmenssicherung. Scip AG bietet Firewall Rulebase Reviews an, die auf proprietäre Modelle und Tools zurückgreift. Und genau darüber will ich heute schreiben. Im Folgenden werden wir den Output einer solchen Analyse diskutieren.

Datensätze

Die Zahlen in diesem Artikel werden unter Berücksichtigung von 30 analysierten Rulebases kalkuliert und nach Art der Firma, Grösse der Rulebase und Enforcement Point (EP) Positions (Grenz-Firewalls mit Internet-Exposition, Second-Level-Firewall oder interne Firewall):

Firewall Rulebase Data Distribution

Messung der Rulebase

Unser Tool sucht nach Schwachstellen in jeder Rule. Jede Vulnerability hat eigene numerische Werte, wovon einige mit anderen Rulebases verglichen werden können und somit als nützliche Indikatoren dienen.

Das Vulnerability Weight (vw) veruscht, die Schwere der identifizierten Vulnerability zu messen. Für jeden Fund wird der Wert zum globalen Rule Weight (rw) hinzugefügt. Das daraus resultierende rw gibt uns einen numerischen Indikator zur Problematik der Regel.

Vulnerability Heatmap

Der einfachste numerische Indikator einer jeden Regel ist rw. Die gesamte Rulebase kann als Heatmap mit rw als Temperatur-Indikator angezeigt werden, wie in der folgenden Grafik:

Firewall Rule Heatmap

Die Heatmap kann problematische Rule-Cluster anzeigen, als Beispiel für eine spezifische Application Implementation. Unter anderem sind die folgenden Rule-Cluster besondere Aufmerksamkeit wert:

Heatmaps sind Rulebase-spezifisch, aber wir können die Daten auch dazu nutzen, weitere Indikatoren auszulesen.

Die ersten beiden Werte können in verschiedenen Rulebases verglichen warden und sind nützlich um ein Benchmark von Rulebase und Sector oder Average Rulebases zu erstellen. Letzteres ergibt aber nur Sinn wenn die selbe Rulebase verwendet werden kann um festzustellen, ob die geprüfte Rulebase sich in die richtige oder die falsche Richtung entwickelt.

Key Areas

Während der Überprüfung führen unsere Tools hunderte Checks durch, die allesamt Rulebase Core-Elemente (Rules, Objects, Services) näher ansehen. Wir haben diese Checks in Areas unterteilt.

Bereich Beschreibung
Lazy-tracking Diese Checks versuchen herauszufinden, ob die Rule gut getrackt ist. Administratoren tendieren dazu, die Protokolle zusammenzutragen und zu aggregieren. Dies betrifft insbesondere administrative Protokolle. Nach diesem Zusammentragen deaktivieren Administratoren dann oft das Tracking für eine Rule, weil ein snmp das Log füllt, aber die Rule gleichzeitig auch ssh erlaubt.
Over-Traffic Manchmal finden wir bi-direktionale Rules, die meisten davon unnötig. Im Normalfall muss der Traffic in eine Richtung explizit erlaubt werden. Diese Check-Group gleicht jede Rule gegen alle anderen ab und weist alle verdächtigen Rule-Pairs aus, auch wenn nur ein Teil des Paares betroffen ist.
Readability Dies kommt nicht sehr oft vor, aber manchmal entdecken wird eine grosse Liste mit Objects als Source, Destination oder Services definiert. Und manchmal kann die gesamte Rule nicht auf dem Monitor angezeigt werden, was den User dazu zwingt, bei der Suche nach spezifischen Objekten scrollen zu müssen. Nach einer Weile wird die Rule zu einer Blackbox.
Lazy-objecting Kommt sehr oft vor. Objects sind in diesem Falle nicht strikt definiert. Selbst wenn nur ein einziger Host Zugriff benötigt ist in der Rule das gesamte Netzwerk eingeschlossen. Diese Check-Group sucht nach grossen Objects indem sie die Anzahl IPs und Ports, die in die Operation involviert sind, prüft.
Temp/Test Auch dies kommt oft vor. Die Objects bleiben bestehen, manchmal in einer Group verschwunden. Dies geschieht als schnelle Reparatur für Probleme im Bereich des Temporary Access zu lösen.
Mix Einige Rulebases vermischen Temp/Test-Objects mit empfindlichen Objekten, Administrativen Objects zum Beispiel. Dies ist sehr schwer zu finden, Diese Check-Group durchsucht Rule Comments, Object Comments und bekannte Services um herauszufinden, welche eine genauere Untersuchung nötig haben.
Quality Im Grunde genommen versuchen wir hier die Qualität des Management-Prozesses, der die Rulebases regelt, zu messen. Der Check durchsucht den Inhalt der Comments, Rulenames und so weiter. Oftmals entdecken wir hier Redundanzen oder leere Comments, oder solche, die keine Beziehungen zu einem Management-Dokument enhalten, was die Rule eher merkwürdig erscheinen lässt.

Key Area Indicators blicken ein bisschen tiefer in die Rulebase hinein und warden dazu genutzt, Problembereiche für eine genaue Kontrolle zu identifizieren.

Firewall Rulebase Key Area Indicators

Indem wir die selben Werte wie in der obigen Tabelle anders darstellen, können wir schnell sehen, ob eine Rulebase besser oder schlechter performt als sie in ihrer Class sollte.

Firewall Rulebase Key Area Comparison

Key Values

In jeder Area werden eine Vielzahl Kontrollen für jades Object durchgeführt. Wir errechnen daraus einige Key Value Indicators die wir über alle analysierten Rulebases verteilt benchmarken können. Dies gibt uns wichtige Tipps zur möglichen Verbesserung:

In Tabellenform können wir einfach überprüfen, welche Parts der Rulebasse besser oder schlechter performen:

Herausforderungen

Die selbe Vulnerability Classification im Laufe der Jahre beizubehalten ist die grösste Herausforderung dieser Tools.

Wenn die Anzahl der Checks oder ein Check selbst verändert wird, kann das Resultat nicht mehr mit den vorigen Resultaten vergleichbar sein. So würden wir alle historischen Serien-Werte verlieren (was machmal notwendig sein kann, wenn die alten Resultate an die neuen Tools und deren Werte angleichen wollen).

Im Laufe der vergangenen Dekade und steten Revisionen haben wir ein Set von konsistenten Checks erhalten. Und obwohl die Check-Mechanismen im Grunde genommen die selben bleiben, werden die Parameter der Checks mit jeder Revision upgedated: Wenn während einer Alanyse neue Parameter entdeckt werden, die die Kontrolle beeinflussen, werden diese so gecodet, dass sie in folgenden Versionen weiterhin genutzt werden können (das meistgenutzte Beispiel hierfür sind neue – manchmal fancy – comments, die eine Rule als temporär kennzeichnen).

Diese Methode reduziert den Bedarf die Daten zu (re-)normalisieren, wenn das Tool sich weiterentwickelt.

Fazit

Objects mit komplexen Interdependenzen zu vermessen invoviert immer ein bisschen Alchemie und produziert immer ein körniges Abbild der Realität.

Sobald der Prozess richtig kalibriert ist, angenommen die Distorsion bleibt konstant, wird eine Durchsicht von grossen Rulebases nicht nur möglich sondern auch effizient. Durch Nutzung von Metriken wird es möglich die Verbesserungen an den Rules zu messen und sie zu steuern.

Dank der Erfahrung aus Jahren der Revision, nach unzähligen Tests und Verbesserungen, haben wir ein Set von Checks erhalten, das uns hilft, die Qualität und die Sicherheit einer Rulebase zu messen.

Über den Autor

Rocco Gagliardi

Rocco Gagliardi ist seit den 1980er Jahren im Bereich der Informationstechnologie tätig. In den 1990er Jahren hat er sich ganz der Informationssicherheit verschrieben. Die Schwerpunkte seiner Arbeit liegen im Bereich Routing, Firewalling und Log Management.

Sie wollen die Sicherheit Ihrer Firewall prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Schutz vor Phishing

Schutz vor Phishing

Rocco Gagliardi

Logging

Logging

Rocco Gagliardi

IT Security Policies

IT Security Policies

Rocco Gagliardi

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv