Secure Mobile Data

Secure Mobile Data

Rocco Gagliardi
by Rocco Gagliardi
time to read: 4 minutes

Everyone needs access to data, whether it is online or offline. Sometimes, there is a need to transfer data between two devices (hopefully both with encrypted storage).

Sometimes, you are an unprivileged user and cannot install software (better: you – as a security expert – always work as an unprivileged user, even on your home computer, and sometime you do not have the ability to go in privileged mode).

This is the time where the workarounds are pretty creative. In these situations, you are under pressure (you have to present something and your VGA adapter is in the office, so transfer the presentation (or, just to make sure everything will work, the whole directory) to the first computer you can attach to the projector using the first USB key you get): data exposed for a short period of time may remain as a copy on a USB key where the files were just deleted. Do you use a FIPS eraser to clean the files?

Time, urgency, pressure may lead to errors and finally to unprotected data.

In recent years, TrueCrypt has helped us to keep data secure, but still requires the user to work rigorously, requires the ability to run software on a device, expose the pass phrases to keyboard sniffing attacks and is limited to some device+OS combinations.

Protecting the Data

I have tried different solutions over the years, and – finally – last June, I spent around 160 Swiss Francs and ordered a Carbide USB Stick, a USB key with hardware encryption.

The World’s Best USB-Key, according to the vendor

Pros

Basically, if you work rigorously, it keeps data relatively secure (note that even if you leave the data on the stick, the process of the data is in the computer memory, swap etc. but your HD is encrypted!).

The device has following features:

Unlike most encrypted drives that only work with specific combination of devices+OSs, the physical PIN code entry on the side of the drive allows for universal compatibility. You can unlock the key using the keypad and stick in the USB device port in the next 30 minutes. The computer or Android devices or television recognizes it as a normal USB key.

Remove the device (physically or virtually) and the drive is locked.

In addition to the physical and security defenses of the Carbide drive, the drive is also protected from viruses by ClevX DriveSecurity™ powered by ESET. Carbide includes a full 5-year license for DriveSecurity.

Contra

I found just one problem: the speed. If you work on Word documents, then the delay is noticeable; in this case the temptation to make a temporary copy on the desktop is irresistible.

Benchmarked Speed: 10MB/s and up, comparable to other high-end FIPS-certified hardware-encrypted drives. Random read/write of small blocks comparable to non-encrypted retail drives. Your portable apps hum along just fine!

Summary

Why so serious about data security? It is very easy to lose data. And sometime you don’t know which data is lost.

If you need a secure portable storage, this is the only usable solution I know. If the key is lost, you can reasonably be secure that the data will be unreadable.

On the other side, with this device you can read data on each device reading normal USB keys.

References

About the Author

Rocco Gagliardi

Rocco Gagliardi has been working in IT since the 1980s and specialized in IT security in the 1990s. His main focus lies in network routing, firewalling and log management.

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
SQLite forensic's notes

SQLite forensic's notes

Rocco Gagliardi

Microsoft365DSC

Microsoft365DSC

Rocco Gagliardi

Office 365 Teams Security

Office 365 Teams Security

Rocco Gagliardi

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Sichere mobile Daten

Sichere mobile Daten

Rocco Gagliardi
von Rocco Gagliardi
Lesezeit: 4 Minuten

Jeder User braucht Zugriff auf seine Daten, egal, ob diese online oder offline sind. Manchmal müssen diese Daten zwischen zwei Geräten ausgetauscht werden, die beide hoffentlich über verschlüsselten Speicher verfügen.

Manchmal sind Sie aber unpriviligiert als Benutzer und können auf den Geräten keine Software installieren. Oder besser: Sie, als Security Experte, arbeiten immer in der Rolle des unpriviligierten Benutzers, sogar auf ihrem heimischen PC. Aber macnhmal fehlt Ihnen die Fähigkeit, in den priviligierten Modus zu wechseln.

Das sind die Momente, in denen kreative Workarounds notwendig sind. In diesen Situationen sind Sie unter Druck. Zum Beispiel müssen Sie eine Präsentation halten, aber sie haben Ihren VGA-Adapter im Büro liegen lassen und können die wichtige PowerPoint-Präsentation nicht mit dem Beamer projizieren. Daher müssen Sie wohl oder übel die Präsentation – oder, um ganz sicher zu gehen, dass alles klappt, gleich das ganze Verzeichnis – auf den erstbesten Computer, der sich mit dem Beamer verbinden kann, transferieren. Dazu benutzen sie den erstbesten USB-Stick. Das Problem: Daten, die auch nur für kurze Zeit exponiert worden sind, können als Kopie auf dem USB-Stick bleiben, von dem sie gerade erst gelöscht wurden. Die Frage nun: Benutzen Sie einen FIPS-Eraser, um den USB-Stick zu säubern?

Zeit, Dringlichkeit und Druck könenn zu Fehlern und daher zu Datenlecks führen.

In den vergangenen Jahren hat TrueCrypt uns geholfen, Daten sicher zu halten, doch erfordert die Software von seinen Benutzern sicheres und integres Arbeiten sowie die Fähigkeit, Software auf einem System auszuführen. Zudem sind die Passwörter nicht gegen Keyboard-Sniffing-Attacks abgesichert und TrueCrypt ist auf gewissen Gerät+OS-Kombination begrenzt.

Der Schutz der Daten

Im Laufe der Jahre habe ich viele Methoden ausprobiert und im vergangenen Juni endlich etwa 160 Schweizer Franken ausgegeben und mir einen Carbide USB-Stick zugelegt – einen USB-Stick mit Hardware-Verschlüsselung.

Der weltbeste USB-Key, laut seinem Hersteller

Pros

Grundsätzlich: Wenn Sie seriös arbeiten, sind Ihre Daten bereits relativ sicher. An dieser Stelle ist anzumerken, dass auch wenn die Daten auf dem Stick sind, sie im Computer Memory verarbeitet werden. Aber die Festplatte ist verschlüsselt.)

Der USB-Key hat die folgenden Features:

Zusätzlich zu den physischen Sicherheitsmassnahmen ist der Carbide Drive mit ClevX DriveSecurity mit ESET gegen Viren geschützt. Carbide beinhaltet eine fünfjährige Lizenz für DriveSecurity.

Contra

Ich habe lediglich ein Problem gefunden: Die Geschwindigkeit. Wenn Sie mit Word-Dokumenten arbeiten, dann bemerken Sie die Verzögerung. Da wird die Versuchung, eine temporäre Kopie des Dokuments auf dem Desktop zu machen, gross.

Benchmark-Speed: 10MB/s und höher, was vergleichbar mit anderen High-End FIPS-zertifizierten Hardware-verschlüsselten Drives ist. Random Read/Write von Small Blocks ist vergleichbar mit den unverschlüsselten Drives aus dem Laden. Kurz: Ihre portablen Apps laufen ganz gut.

Zusammenfassung

Warum nehme ich die Datensicherheit so ernst? Es ist sehr einfach, Daten zu verlieren. Und manchmal wissen Sie nicht, welche Daten verloren gehen.

Wenn Sie sichere, portable Daten brauchen, dann ist der Carbide Stick die einzige Lösung, die ich kenne. Wenn der Stick verloren geht, dann können Sie relativ sicher sein, dass die Daten unlesbar sind.

Andererseits spricht die Tatsache, dass der Carbide Stick von jedem Gerät als normales USB-Laufwerk erkannt wird, für das Gerät.

Weiterführende Links

Über den Autor

Rocco Gagliardi

Rocco Gagliardi ist seit den 1980er Jahren im Bereich der Informationstechnologie tätig. In den 1990er Jahren hat er sich ganz der Informationssicherheit verschrieben. Die Schwerpunkte seiner Arbeit liegen im Bereich Routing, Firewalling und Log Management.

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Schutz vor Phishing

Schutz vor Phishing

Rocco Gagliardi

Logging

Logging

Rocco Gagliardi

IT Security Policies

IT Security Policies

Rocco Gagliardi

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv