Kerberos Key Distribution Center Proxy Protocol

Kerberos Key Distribution Center Proxy Protocol

Oliver Kunz
by Oliver Kunz
time to read: 10 minutes

In this article I would like to introduce you to a Microsoft protocol – Kerberos Key Distribution Center Proxy. KKDCP is an open specification by Microsoft that enables Kerberos clients outside the organisation’s premises to use the Kerberos Authentication Protocol.

Kerberos

Short Introduction to Kerberos

Kerberos is defined in RFC 4120 and is based on the Needham-Schroeder trusted-third party authentication protocol. Simply put, the goal of Kerberos is to mutually authenticate the client and server, and check if the client is authorized to connect to the requested server.

In a Kerberos environment at least four entities exist:

The Kerberos authentication runs as follows:

First, the client authenticates to the AS and is issued a Ticket Granting Ticket (TGT). The AS is authenticated by returning an encrypted random value sent by the client. The client itself is not explicitly authenticated to AS, but its identity is implied by as the AS encrypts the answer with a key only known to the client. Any further communication requires the correct key.

Next, the client sends the TGT to the TGS along with his service request to the server. The TGS checks if the client is authorized to access the requested service and if so, issues a Service Ticket (ST) and sends it back to the client.

Lastly, the client sends the ST along with his request to the server. The server and client mutually authenticate each other by exchanging encrypted time-stamps. In case of successful authentication, the client is able to use the service provided by the server.

Pitfalls of Kerberos

For a successful Kerberos authentication the AS and TGS must be available on the client’s authentication request. Each issued ticket (TGT and ST) has a distinct validity and cannot be revoked before time runs out. Time synchronisation is a key issue with Kerberos as timestamps are used for authentication challenges. It is thus important to have synchronized clocks. Additionally the client has to secure a long-term secret (shared with the AS) and the AS as well as TGS are trusted not to misuse their functionality.

An attack on the Kerberos protocol is possible if the attacker is able to get a hold of the session key K (created by the AS and used by the client and the server to secure their communication) and the server is offline. The server does not have to be online during the first interaction between the client and the AS/TGS. An attacker could masquerade as server and respond to the client’s service request with a valid reply as he has knowledge of the session key K. He could further authenticate as server to the client.

Kerberos Key Distribution Center Proxy

The goal of this Microsoft open specification is to enlarge the usage of Kerberos into the internet, where the Kerberos System within an organisation’s private network is unreachable.

The KKDCP server is located in a Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) as a standalone system listening on the Kerberos messages from the client on the internet to authenticate at the AS.

Client to Proxy Communication

The client has knowledge where to locate the proxy server, this is done via an URL (KKDCPServerURL). For communication, either HTTP or HTTPS are allowed by the specification. For security reasons it seems obvious to use HTTPS in order to protect the Kerberos messages in transit. HTTPS is also the default foreseen by the specification.

Both, the client and the server send each other messages from type KDC_PROXY_MESSAGE. This is a newly specified message type containing the original Kerberos message and some additional information.

The proxy is used for all requests until the TGS has returned the Service Ticket to the client. The communication with the server is done directly.

Example Protocol Run

The image displays an example protocol run.

Receiving a Service Ticket. Graphic after MS-KKDCP Specifications.

  1. The client calls the ProxyMessage() method containing the KRB_AS_REQ message.
  2. The KKDCP client establishes a secure channel via TLS with the KKDCP proxy server.
  3. Afterwards the KDC_PROXY_MESSAGE (containing the KRB_AS_REQ message) is sent.
  4. Upon receiving the KDC_PROXY_MESSAGE, the KKDCP server extracts the KRB_AS_REQ message and forwards it to the KDC server.
  5. The KDC server sends the KRB_AS_REP to the KKDCP proxy server.
  6. The KKDCP proxy server wraps the KRB_AS_REP message in a KDC_PROXY_MESSAGE and sends it to the KKDC client.
  7. After receiving the KDC_PROXY_MESSAGE, the KKDCP client hands over KRB_AS_REP message to the Kerberos client.
  8. The Kerberos client calls the ProxyMessage() method initiates the KRB_TGS_REQ message.
  9. The KKDCP client sends the KDC_PROXY_MESSAGE containing the KRB_TGS_REQ message.
  10. After receiving the KKDCP server extracts the KRB_TGS_REQ and forwards it to the KDC server.
  11. The KDC server generates the TGT and sends the KRB_TGS_REP message to the KKDCP server
  12. The KKDCP proxy server wraps the KDC servers’ message in a KDC_PROXY_MESSAGE and forwards it to the KKDCP client.
  13. The KKDCP client hands over the KRB_TGS_REQ message to the Kerberos client
  14. The Kerberos client sends the KRB_APS_REQ message to the application server to request the service.
  15. The application server returns the KRB_AP_REP message.

This description is somewhat shortened, the recipients have to check the validity, integrity, authentication etc. in all the steps. Plus: It is assumed everything runs flawlessly and the client is authorized to use the requested service from the application server.

Security Implications

Expanding Kerberos authentication into the Internet has its advantages. However there are some risks to keep in mind.

Security of Kerberos Messages

General issue with publicly available services are Denial of Service (DoS) attacks. A malicious client could establish a connection to the KKDC proxy server and present fake, fraudulent and most likely not well-formed Kerberos requests. The proxy will have to process them. Needless to say, the resources of any server are limited. However, the specification says that a KKDCP proxy server validates the Kerberos message encapsulated in a KRB_KDC_PROXY_MESSAGE and should drop the connection and stop the processing if it is not well-formed. This probably should prevent the elevation of a DoS to internal Kerberos elements and thus limiting the negative effects to outside clients only.

The important question is: What is being validated in the KKDCP proxy server? Does the proxy server keep an acceptance window for nonces and timestamps to check for replayed packages? If not, then the proxy server is forwarding a replayed Kerberos message into the network and the internal Kerberos systems have to deal with them. This is because a replayed Kerberos message will always be well-formed. As a consequence, illegitimate traffic is forwarded behind the firewall. The KKDCP proxy would only be able to check for replayed messages when it has knowledge of the keys used to encrypt the Kerberos messages. This should not be the case as it would increase an attacker’s ability upon compromising of the proxy.

Although the default in Microsoft’s specification is HTTPS, the option to use it in HTTP implies the risk of message integrity violation and information disclosure. Should an attacker be able to intercept and manipulate the traffic, he could learn the following:

Apart from learning that information, he could also manipulate the traffic and:

All three scenarios would disturb the client’s activities and effectively result in a Denial of Service.

If somehow the KKDCP proxy server gets compromised, an attacker doesn’t gain much. As the proxy has no knowledge of the keys used to encrypt the Kerberos messages, he cannot learn more as in the scenario with HTTP-only traffic. In terms of the DoS, he is in an advantageous situation. He can drop all communication or just for some specific clients.

Conclusion

It is understandable that Kerberos authentication is of great value for organisations if it’s on the Internet. I came across KKDCP while analysing MobileIron version 6.0. It enables the organisations authentication into the outside, but care must be taken as information about the internal network could be leaked. Not just in the case where HTTP-only is used. With SSL/TLS faux-pas which became public earlier this year (goto-fail and Heartbleed) HTTPS doesn’t have to be a silver bullet per se. Care must be taken in configuration and maintenance of SSL/TLS and/or clients could be affected with denial of service. Adding more key knowledge to the proxy would increase the possible damage in case of a compromising dramatically, but could be used to decrease the risk of Denial of Service of the internal infrastructure.

About the Author

Oliver Kunz

Oliver Kunz has been in information security since 2010. Mainly, he deals with incident response, forensics and the security of mobile devices.

Links

You want to test the security of your firewall?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
OTPs as Second Factor

OTPs as Second Factor

Mark Zeman

JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

CIS Controls

CIS Controls

Tomaso Vasella

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Kerberos Key Distribution Center Proxy Protocol

Kerberos Key Distribution Center Proxy Protocol

Oliver Kunz
von Oliver Kunz
Lesezeit: 11 Minuten

In diesem Artikel möchte ich Ihnen einen Einblick in ein Microsoft-Protokoll geben – Kerberos Key Distribution Center Proxy. Es ist eine offene Spezifikation Microsofts, deren Ziel es ist, Kerberos Clients ausserhalb der Organisationsinfrakstruktur eine Kerberos-Authentisierung zu ermöglichen.

Kerberos

Kurze Einführung zu Kerberos

Kerberos, im RFC 4120 definiert, basiert auf dem Needham-Schröder Trusted-Third Party Authentisierungsprotokoll. Einfach gesagt, das Ziel von Kerberos ist die gegenseitige Authentisierung zwischen Client und Server Und die Überprüfung, dass der Client autorisiert ist auf den Server zu verbinden.

In einer Kerberos Umgebung existieren mindestens vier Entities:

Die Kerberos Authentisierung durchläuft folgende Schritte:

Erstens, der Client meldet sich an der AS an und erhält ein Ticket Granting Ticket (TGT). Der AS ist authentisiert indem er eine Zufallszahl, die der Client generiert hat, verschlüsselt und an den Client retourniert. Der Client selbst wird nicht explizit vom AS authentisiert. Es wird eine implizite Überprüfung seiner Identität vorgenommen, indem nur der Client in der Lage sein sollte, die Antwort vom AS zu entschlüsseln und jegliche weitere Kommunikation vom Entschlüsseln dieser Antwort abhängig ist.

Als nächstes sendet der Client das TGT zum TGS, zusammen mit seinem Service-Request für den Server. Der TGS prüft ob der Client autorisiert ist auf den Server zuzugreifen. Ist dies der Fall stellt der TGS ein Service Ticket (ST) aus und sendet dieses an den Client zurück.

Zuletzt sendet der Client das erhaltene ST zusammen mit seinem Request an den Server. Der Server und Client authentisieren sich gegenseitig mittels Austausch von verschlüsselten Zeitstempeln. War die gegenseitige Authentisierung erfolgreich, ist der Client nun in der Lage den zur Verfügung gestellten Service des Servers zu konsumieren.

Tücken mit Kerberos

Für eine erfolgreiche Kerberos Authentisierung müssen AS und TGS verfügbar sein, sobald der Client sich authentisieren möchte. Jedes ausgestellte Ticket (TGS und ST) verfügt über eine bestimmte Gültigkeitsdauer und kann nicht vor Ablauf dieser Dauer annulliert werden. Zeitsynchronisierung ist ein wichtiger Punkt bei Kerberos, da Zeitstempel auch als Challenge-Werte bei der Authentisierung verwendet werden. Daher sind synchronisierte Uhren unumgänglich. Zusätzlich muss jeder Client ein Langzeit-Secret (geteilt mit dem AS) speichern. Eine weitere Grundvoraussetzung ist das Vertrauen in den AS und TGS, dass sie ihre zentrale Position und Funktion nicht ausnutzen.

Ein Angriff auf das Kerberos Protokoll ist möglich, wenn der Angreifer Zugriff auf den Session Key K (erstellt durch den AS und verwendet durch den Client wie auch den Server um ihre Kommunikation zu sichern) und der Server offline ist. Es ist keine Voraussetzung von Kerberos, dass der Server in den ersten Interaktionen zwischen Client und AS/TGS online sein muss. Ein Angreifer könnte sich als Server ausgeben und auf den Request des Clients mit einer gültigen Nachricht antworten, da er Kenntnis über den Session Key K hat. Weiter könnte er sich auch als Server beim Client authentisieren.

Kerberos Key Distribution Center Proxy

Das Ziel dieser offenen Microsoft-Spezifikation ist es, den Anwendungsbereich von Kerberos ins Internet zu verlagern, wo das Kerberos-System im privaten, internen Netzwerk der Organisation nicht erreichbar ist.

Der KKDCP Server wird in einer Demilitarisierten Zone (DMZ) als Standalone System platziert. Mit einem Listener wartet es auf Kerberos Nachrichten der Clients aus dem Internet, die eine Authentisierung mit dem AS durchführen wollen.

Client zu Proxy Kommunikation

Der Client hat Kenntnis, wo der Proxyserver zu lokalisieren ist. Dies geschieht über eine URL (KKDCPServerURL). Gemäss der Spezifikation kann für die Kommunikation entweder HTTP oder HTTPS verwendet werden. Aus Sicherheitsgründen ist offensichtlich, dass HTTPS zum Schutz der Kerberos Nachrichten im Transit, zu bevorzugen ist. Standardmässig ist auch HTTPS in der Spezifikation vorhergesehen.

Der Client wie auch der Server senden sich Nachrichten mit dem Typ KDC_PROXY_MESSAGE zu. Dies ist ein neu spezifizierter Nachrichtentyp, der die originale Kerberos Nachricht und zusätzliche Informationen beinhaltet.

Der Proxy wird für alle Requests verwendet, bis der TGS das Service Ticket an den Client retournier hat. Die Kommunikation mit dem Server wird dann direkt abgehandelt.

Beispiel Protokollablauf

Die folgende Abbildung stellt beispielhaft den Protokollablauf dar.

Der Erhalt des Service Tickets. Grafik im Original aus MS-KKDCP Spezifikation

  1. Der Client ruft die Methode ProxyMessge(), die die Nachricht KRB_AS_REQ enthält, auf.
  2. Der KKDCP Client stellt einen sicheren Kommunikationskanal via TLS mit dem KKDCP Proxyserver her.
  3. Anschliessend wird die Nachricht KDC_PROXY_MESSAGE (die die KRB_AS_REQ Nachricht beinhaltet) gesendet.
  4. Nach dem Empfang der KDC_PROXY_MESSAGE Nachricht extrahiert der KKDCP Server die KRB_AS_REQ Nachricht und leitet diese an den KDC Server weiter.
  5. Der KDC Server sendet ein KRB_AS_REP zum KKDCP Proxyserver.
  6. Der KKDCP Proxyserver platziert die KRB_AS_REP Nachricht in einer KDC_PROXY_MESSAGE und sendet diese zum KKDC Client.
  7. Nach Empfang der KDC_PROXY_MESSAGE, leitet der KKDCP Client die KRB_AS_REP Nachricht weiter zum Kerberos Client.
  8. Der Kerberos Client ruft die Methode ProxyMessage() und initiiert die KRB_TGS_REQ Nachricht.
  9. Der KKDCP Client sendet die KDC_PROXY_MESSAGE beinhaltend die KRB_TGS_REQ Nachricht.
  10. Nach dem Empfang extrahiert der KKDCP Server die KRB_TGS_REQ Nachricht und leitet sie an den KDC Server weiter.
  11. Der KDC Server generiert das TGT und sendet eine KRB_TGS_REP Nachricht zum KKDCP Server.
  12. Der KKDCP Proxyserver sendet die Nachricht vom KDC Servers in einer KDC_PROXY_MESSAGE an den KKDCP Client.
  13. Der KKDCP Client übermittelt die KRB_TGS_REQ Nachricht an den Kerberos Client.
  14. Der Kerberos Client sendet die KRB_APS_REQ Nachricht an den Applikation Server um den Service anzufordern.
  15. Der Applikation Server returniert die KRB_AP_REP Nachricht.

Die obige Beschreibung ist etwas gekürzt. Die Empfänger müssen natürlich stets die Validität, Integrität und Authentisierung etc. in den Phasen überprüfen. Zusätzlich wird angenommen, dass alles ohne Probleme funktioniert und der Client autorisiert ist, den angefragten Service des Applikationsservers zu benutzten.

Sicherheitsimplikationen

Die Kerberos Authentisierung ins Internet zu erweitern, hat sicher seine Vorteile. Es existieren aber auch einige Risiken, an die gedacht werden sollte.

Sicherheit der Kerberos Nachrichten

Ein generelles Problem mit öffentlich zugänglichen Services sind Denial of Service (DoS) Attacken. Ein boshafter Client könnte eine Verbindung zum KKDC Proxyserver aufbauen und eine nachgemachte, falsche aber üblicherweise ungültige Kerberos Anfrage senden. Der Proxy muss diese Nachricht annehmen und verarbeiten um die Gültigkeit zu erkennen. Für diesen Vorgang werden Ressourcen gebunden und diese wiederum sind limitiert. Die Spezifikation von KKDCP besagt, dass der Proxyserver die Kerberos Nachrichten welche in einer KRB_KDC_PROXY_MESSAGE gesendet werden, evaluiert. Die Verbindung sollte abgebrochen und die Verarbeitung gestoppt werden, sobald klar wird, dass es sich nicht um eine well-formed Nachricht handelt. Das sollte demnach die Ausbreitung einer DoS-Attacke vor den internen Kerberos Elementen abfangen und limitiert die negativen Effekte auf externe Clients.

Die zentrale Frage ist: Was wird vom KKDCP Proxyserver validiert? Hält der Proxyserver ein Acceptance Window für Nonces (Zufallszahlen die einmal gebraucht werden – number used once) und Zeitstempel um Replay-Nachrichten zu erkennen? Falls dies nicht der Fall ist, könnte der KKDCP Proxyserver verwendet werden um well-formed, aber ungültige – da wiederholte – Nachrichten an die internen Kerberos Systeme weitergeleitet werden. Die Konsequenz wäre illegitimer Datenverkehr hinter der Firewall. Der KKDCP Proxy wäre nur in der Lage nach Replay Kerberos Nachrichten zu suchen, wenn er das Wissen über Verschlüsselungs-Keys hätte und die Kerberos-Nachrichten entschlüsseln könnte. Das wiederum sollte nicht der Fall sein, da dies im Falle einer Kompromittierung des Proxyservers die Möglichkeiten eines Angreifers ungemein erhöht.

Obwohl HTTPS als standardmässiges Transportprotokoll in der Microsoft-Spezifikation definiert wurde, ermöglicht der Standard den Gebrauch von HTTP. Was wiederum Risiken wie Integritätsverlust oder Informationsenthüllung einführt. Wäre ein Angreifer in der Lage den Verkehr abzufangen und zu manipulieren könnte er folgendes lernen:

Zusätzlich zu obigen Informationen könnte er den Verkehr manipulieren und damit:

Diese drei Szenarien würden die Client Aktivitäten stören und letzten Endes in einem Denial of Service resultieren.

Wäre es für einen Angreifer möglich, den KKDCP Proxyserver zu kompromittieren, würde er nicht viel erreichen. Der Proxyserver hat keine Kenntnis über die Verschlüsselungs-Keys für die Kerberos Nachrichten. Er würde daher nur so viel lernen, wie bei einem Szenario in dem HTTP eingesetzt wird. In Bezug auf eine DoS Attacke bedeutet dies, dass er in der Lage wäre die Kommunikation eines spezifischen Clients zu stören.

Fazit

Es ist verständlich, dass die Kerberos-Authentisierung für Organisationen von grossem Wert wäre, wenn sie auch im Internet verfügbar sein würde. Ich wurde auf KKDCP aufmerksam, als ich in einem Projekt MobileIron 6.0 analysieren durfte. Es ermöglicht Unternehmen, die gleiche Authentisierungsmethode für externe Clients zu verwenden, welche auch bereits die Internen verwenden. Aber: Vorsicht ist geboten, damit keine Informationen aus und über das interne Netzwerk an die Öffentlichkeit gelangen. Nicht nur wenn HTTP-only verwendet wird, auch mit HTTPS können unvorhergesehene Incidents auftauchen. Die diesjährig publizierten SSL/TLS Faux-pas (goto-fail und Heartbleed) zeigen auf, dass HTTPS nicht gezwungenermassen als Silver Bullet betrachtet werden sollte. Vorsicht ist geboten bei der Konfiguration und Wartung von SSL/TLS und/oder Clients könnten dadurch Risiko einer Denial of Service Attacke ausgesetzt sein. Würden die Proxyserver mehr Kenntnis über die Keys erhalten, würde das Schadenspotential im Fall einer Kompromittierung dramatisch erhöht werden. Obwohl dies das Risiko eines DoS auf die interne Infrastruktur vermindern könnte.

Über den Autor

Oliver Kunz

Oliver Kunz ist seit 2010 im Bereich der Informationssicherheit aktiv. Hauptsächlich setzt er sich mit Incident Response, Computerforensik und der Sicherheit von mobilen Geräten auseinander.

Links

Sie wollen die Sicherheit Ihrer Firewall prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv