File Integrity Checker Policy

File Integrity Checker Policy

Rocco Gagliardi
by Rocco Gagliardi
time to read: 6 minutes

Do you trust your OS? How to make sure that someone hasn’t replaced some system files? A file integrity checker (FIC) creates a trusted database of files; once created, it can be used to verify the integrity of the files.

Problem

Developing a policy for a FIC is, as always, a compromise between usability and security. If you are monitoring all files present in the system, you will receive a lot of false positives: in each system, a large number of files is temporary or must be modified. Alerting when these files are changed may not really be interesting, depending on the file and the change. Example: Given a running system with auditing enabled, a saved time ordered sequence of system events (OS logfile) cannot remain static but at the same time the size of the logfile cannot decrease. You can rotate it (close the file and create a new one), but the audit daemon is not designed to remove events from the file. In this case, an alert is useful only if the FIC notes a negative delta in logfile size (FIC limitation: this still does not assure that the logfile was not externally manipulated and had records removed: the FIC just calculates the delta between the logfile size of current and the previous run. If an intruder removes 30kb of data and the logfile has growth 30Mb since the last run, the delta is 30Mb-30kb, is positive and the alert isn’t set off. To assure that the sequence of events cannot be manipulated, different mechanism must be implemented.)

Creating an efficient and effective policy for FIC monitoring is a challenge. In this Labs, such a policy that has been deployed is being looked at. The policy is a basis and can be adapted to specific needs while it maintains usability as well as security. In addition to that, it’s future proof.

The Challenger: Red Hat Enterprise Linux

The Policy

After some testing and tuneups, the following policy was developed and implemented:

Directory/File Value
=/boot$ Full
/bin Full
/sbin Full
/usr/bin Full
/usr/sbin Full
/usr/local/bin Full
/usr/local/sbin Full
/lib Full
/usr/local/lib Full
/etc VarDir
/etc/mtab$ n+p+u
/etc/cron\.daily$ VarDir
/etc/adjtime$ VarFile
/etc/resolv\.conf$ VarFile
/var/backups$ VarDir
/var/backups/lock$ VarDir
/var/backups/log$ VarDir
/var/backups/run$ VarDir
/var/backups/tmp$ VarDir
/var/run/sudo/[a-z0-9]+$ VarDir
/var/run/sshd.pid$ VarFile
/var/log/ Log
/dev Full-m
/tmp$ OwnerMode+i
!/tmp/ssh-[a-zA-Z0-9]{10}$
!/tmp/ssh-[a-zA-Z0-9]{10}/agent.[0-9]{1,5}$
!/dev/xconsole
!/dev/pts

Variables:

Aliases Description Comment
Full p+i+n+u+g+s+b+m+c+Checksum
VarFile p+u+g+n
VarDir p+u+g+n+i
Log p+u+g+n+S Logs grow in size; this should only be used for logs that are not rotated
OwnerMode p+u+g

Primitives:

Primitive Description
p permission
i inode
n number of links
u user
g group
s size
b block count
m mtime
a atime
c ctime
S check for growing size
E Empty group
md5, sha1, rmd160, tiger, haval, gost,crc32 checksums

The language follows the AIDE standard but the content can be adapted for other FICs.

Summary

File integrity checkers are important components in a security framework. Developing, tuning and maintain an effective monitoring policy can be complex and time expensive. This policy has been used in large RHEL-server environment and proved to be a good starting point for a solid File Integrity Checker.

About the Author

Rocco Gagliardi

Rocco Gagliardi has been working in IT since the 1980s and specialized in IT security in the 1990s. His main focus lies in network routing, firewalling and log management.

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Office 365 Teams Security

Office 365 Teams Security

Rocco Gagliardi

Phishing Protection

Phishing Protection

Rocco Gagliardi

Logging

Logging

Rocco Gagliardi

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

File Integrity Checker Policy

File Integrity Checker Policy

Rocco Gagliardi
von Rocco Gagliardi
Lesezeit: 7 Minuten

Vertrauen Sie Ihrem OS? Wie stellen Sie sicher, dass niemand irgendwelche Systemdateien ersetzt hat? Ein File Integrity Checker (FIC) schafft eine vertrauenswürdige Database von Dateien. Wenn diese erst einmal erstellt ist, dann kann sie die Integrität der Dateien verifizieren.

Problem

Einen FIC zu entwickeln ist, wie üblich, ein Kompromiss zwischen Usability und Sicherheit. Wenn Sie alle Dateien im System überwachen, erhalten Sie jede Menge False Positives, denn in jedem System existiert eine Vielzahl temporärer Daten oder Dateien, die stets modifiziert werden. Eine Warnung, wenn diese Dateien sich verändern, ist unter Umständen recht uninteressant. Das kommt aber ganz auf die Datei und deren Modifikation an. Ein Beispiel: In einem System, auf dem Auditing eingeschaltet ist, ist es unmöglich, dass eine abgespeicherte, nach Zeit sortierte Abfolge von Events (OS Logfile) kleiner wird. Sie können die Logfiles rotieren (ein Log abschliessen und eine neue Datei erstellen), aber der Audit Daemon ist nicht darauf ausgelegt, Events aus der Datei zu entfernen. In diesem Falle ist eine Warnung an den Administrator nur dann sinnvoll, wenn der FIC ein negatives Delta in der Grösse der Logfile feststellt (Limitierung seitens des FIC: Das stellt immer noch nicht sicher, dass die Logfile von ausserhalb manipuliert wurde. Der FIC berechnet nur das Delta zwischen der aktuellen Grösse der Logfile und deren beim vorherigen Ausführen. Wenn ein Eindringling 30kb Daten entfernt, die Logfile aber 30Mb gewachsen ist, dann ist der Delta 30Mb-30kb und daher positiv. Somit wird die Warnung nicht ausgelöst. Um sicherzustellen, dass der Ablauf der Events nicht manipuliert werden kann, müssen andere Mechanismen implementiert werden.)

Die Erstellung einer effizienten und effektiven Policy für FIC Monitoring ist eine Herausforderung. Im Folgenden wird eine solche Policy aus der Praxis besprochen. Sie soll eine solide Basis darstellen, damit sowohl Usability wie auch die Sicherheit gewahrt wird. Zudem soll sie zukunftssicher sein.

Der Herausforderer: Red Hat Enterprise Linux

Die Policy

Nach einigen Tests und weiteren Anpassungen entstand die folgende Policy, die in der Folge implementiert wurde.

Directory/File Value
=/boot$ Full
/bin Full
/sbin Full
/usr/bin Full
/usr/sbin Full
/usr/local/bin Full
/usr/local/sbin Full
/lib Full
/usr/local/lib Full
/etc VarDir
/etc/mtab$ n+p+u
/etc/cron\.daily$ VarDir
/etc/adjtime$ VarFile
/etc/resolv\.conf$ VarFile
/var/backups$ VarDir
/var/backups/lock$ VarDir
/var/backups/log$ VarDir
/var/backups/run$ VarDir
/var/backups/tmp$ VarDir
/var/run/sudo/[a-z0-9]+$ VarDir
/var/run/sshd.pid$ VarFile
/var/log/ Log
/dev Full-m
/tmp$ OwnerMode+i
!/tmp/ssh-[a-zA-Z0-9]{10}$
!/tmp/ssh-[a-zA-Z0-9]{10}/agent.[0-9]{1,5}$
!/dev/xconsole
!/dev/pts

Variablen:

Aliases Description Comment
Full p+i+n+u+g+s+b+m+c+Checksum
VarFile p+u+g+n
VarDir p+u+g+n+i
Log p+u+g+n+S Logs grow in size; this should only be used for logs that are not rotated
OwnerMode p+u+g

Primitives:

Primitive Description
p permission
i inode
n number of links
u user
g group
s size
b block count
m mtime
a atime
c ctime
S check for growing size
E Empty group
md5, sha1, rmd160, tiger, haval, gost,crc32 checksums

Die hier zur Anwendung kommende Sprache folgt dem AIDE Standard, aber der Inhalt kann auch auf andere FICs angepasst werden.

Zusammenfassung

File Integrity Checker sind wichtige Bestandteile eines Security Frameworks. Die Entwicklung, das Tuning und die Instandhaltung einer effektiven und effizienten Monitoring Policy können komplexe und zeitintensive Arbeiten sein. Doch die in diesem Labs beschriebene Policy kommt in grossen RHEL-Serverumgebungen zur Anwendung und stellt einen guten Ausgangspunkt für einen soliden File Integrity Checker dar.

Über den Autor

Rocco Gagliardi

Rocco Gagliardi ist seit den 1980er Jahren im Bereich der Informationstechnologie tätig. In den 1990er Jahren hat er sich ganz der Informationssicherheit verschrieben. Die Schwerpunkte seiner Arbeit liegen im Bereich Routing, Firewalling und Log Management.

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Schutz vor Phishing

Schutz vor Phishing

Rocco Gagliardi

Logging

Logging

Rocco Gagliardi

IT Security Policies

IT Security Policies

Rocco Gagliardi

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv