Android Lab Based on Virtual Devices

Android Lab Based on Virtual Devices

Oliver Kunz
by Oliver Kunz
time to read: 17 minutes

Today’s article is all about building an Android Lab based on virtual devices. While using physical devices is straight-forward and requires less effort for setting up a lab, there are drawbacks to consider. For example, if more than one analyst works on a project where the analysis of an Android app is required, either all have a device (expensive solution) or a good time schedule (administrative overhead) is necessary.

Another drawback is the update cycle of Android. On purchase, it’s uncertain how many new versions will be supported by the manufacturer of the device and how long it will take until the device can be updated. Using virtual devices reduces the cost and allows multiple analysts to work on their engagement at the same time.

Virtual Device Android Lab

Key requirements for the Android Lab are cost effectiveness, scalability and the state as well as frequency of updates. A lab solely based on physical devices would fail those requirements.

The combination of those issues make the use of a hardware-only based Android Lab problematic. However, this does not mean there shouldn’t be physical devices ready for testing. It’s likely that a project requires the use of a physical device.

The alternative to a physical device are virtual devices – known as emulators. There are different options available, from the SDK-included emulator, to the open source Android-x86 port, to other products like GenyMotion or Andy. The following sections give a quick overview of some of these options.

The Android-x86 Port

Android-x86 is an open source project. The name already discloses its goal – the porting of the Android source code to an x86 platform. As of this writing in autumn 2014, the project provides a port of the Android 4.4 version.

The ISO file can be used as a live OS or installed on x86 systems. We are not going into detail about the installation of Android-x86 on a VMware or VirtualBox VM. The process is straight forward and easy to handle for experienced users when it comes to the creation of Linux/Unix VM systems. In case of trouble, there are a number of blog posts that can help.

Lab Setup Android-x86

When started in a VM, the Ethernet link will be used as mobile network connection. To route network traffic via an intercepting proxy (e.g.: Burp Proxy), a few more steps are necessary. Probably the simplest solution is the use of another VM as network proxy. This VM will forward any HTTP and HTTPS traffic from the Android-x86 VM to the intercepting proxy. Such a setup was described in an earlier scip Labs article by Pascal Schaufelberger. Additionally to that setup, it is advised to create another dedicated virtual network interface connecting to the network where the Android-x86 and proxy VM are communicating. This link will be used for any Android Debug Bridge (adb) connection.

Note: VMware Player users cannot create an additional virtual network interface on the host. Therefore, using adb and intercepting web traffic at the same time is not possible. One has to reconfigure the network of the Android-x86 VM.

Anyhow, to connect to the device and adb the IP address assigned to the Android-x86 VM is required. Enter the console by pressing Alt+F1 and execute the command netcfg. On the host system, start a command line and execute the following commands to connect adb and the Android-x86 VM.

* check for any connected devices
adb devices
* connect to Android-x68
adb connect <IP-ADDRESS>
* list the connected devices
adb devices

After this configuration, the Android-x86 VM can be accessed via adb. You are now able to monitor its network traffic via intercepting proxy and monitor any other network traffic on the proxy VM using a tool such as tcpdump or tshark.

Conclusion Android-x86 VM

Comparing the Android-x86 VM with other emulators offers good usability and is a great tool for VM based virtual devices. It does, however, require a more hands-on approach during the initial setup and may not provide a stable latest version of Android. This solution comes at no additional cost.

The GenyMotion Emulator

GenyMotion is a company selling Android emulators. There is no specific reason why GenyMotion was used for this article.

GenyMotion offers a variety of products on their web site. A free version is available for testing and personal use. The tool comes as bundle with Oracle’s VirtualBox or as an additional piece of software if VirtualBox is already installed.

Using it is straight forward; an account is required to access the GenyMotion cloud and download the software, as well as the images from within the GenyMotion tool. The tool is some kind of virtual device manager. On the plus side, there’s the fact that the virtual device configurations that are available are as numerous as with the original Android SDK Emulator.

Hint: You might want to disable that the GenyMotion tool reports back to GenyMotion for product improvements.

Lab Setup GenyMotion

Different than Android-x86, GenyMotion disables the mobile network and enables a virtual WLAN, which is the network interface used by VirtualBox. To configure the proxy settings, for the use of an intercepting proxy, follow these simple steps:

  1. Navigate to the wireless settings (Settings → Wi-Fi)
  2. Long-click on the only available and connected wireless LAN (WiredSSID)
  3. Choose Modify network and tick the checkbox for Show advanced options
  4. Set the drop-down list Proxy on Manual and fill-in the blanks

For adb connection, there are no further steps required. GenyMotion connects the virtual device and adb automatically.

Conclusion GenyMotion

GenyMotion provides a solid virtual emulator. Especially interesting is the device and OS range offered to create a virtual device. If used for business, a 99 Euro license fee per year and user is charged. The emulator is quick and responsive. The interface allows controlling various hardware elements without much trouble.

The Android SDK Emulator

The Android SDK ships an emulator by itself. It is part of the Android SDK installation. For ever new Android version, there will be a new emulator image. With the current version (Android L), four system images are available for download.

  1. ARM based for Android TV
  2. Intel based for Android TV
  3. ARM based for regular devices *
  4. Intel based for regular devices *

* regular devices: e.g. smartphone, tablet

Lab Setup Android SDK Emulator

A virtual device is created by using AVD Manager. The GUI allows configuring more than just the device and Android version – much like GenyMotion does.

AVD Manager

After its creation, a virtual device can be started directly in the AVD Manager. The command line emulator (located in PATH-TO-SDK\tools) offers many switches to start and influence the execution of the virtual device. For example to declare the use of an intercepting proxy the switch -http-proxy configures a proxy server for the virtual mobile network.

This command starts a virtual device and sets the proxy option.

.\emulator.exe -avd VIRTUAL-DEVICE-NAME -http-proxy http://PROXY-IP:PROXY-PORT

Note: if the proxy is not reachable during the power-on of the virtual device, it will be ignored.

The Android SDK emulator has a reputation for being very slow and clumsy. But don’t panic, there are some tweaks to enhance the performance. While creating a virtual device make sure to follow these steps:

  1. Use as much RAM as possible for the virtual device. In Windows, a notification pops up that says that using more than 768 MB RAM may fail. If you can, ignore this warning.
  2. Tick the checkbox Use Host GPU (Enables Hardware OpenGLES emulation)
  3. Download the package Intel x86 Emulator Accelerator (HAXM installer) located under Extras using SDK Manager

Conclusion SDK Emulator

Even with GPU enabled emulation, the virtual device is slightly slower than the other two emulators. An advantage is that the SDK will provide an image right at the release date of a new version at no cost.

Option One, Two or Three?

There is not really an answer to the question which solution is the best. The answer greatly depends on the Android Lab requirements. All three options have their advantages and disadvantages. Using the original SDK emulator certainly is helpful if bleeding-edge Android versions are required and the performance drawback does not factor into testing too much. Additionally, if any of the command line switches, such as -http-proxy, are needed this is a good way to go.

The other two options follow a different approach and are easier to compare with each other. Android-x86 is a good option if the newest Android version is not required and the virtual device needs to operate in a more customizable environment. The solution comes at no cost, just like the Android SDK emulator.

GenyMotion on the other hand is a closed product. It comes with its own virtual device management application, a special shell, and performs all the necessary tasks for a developer – or penetration tester – to start right away. The handling feels slightly better than it does with Android-x86 and the user interface allows the tweaking of many hardware features. This is most likely more important to developers, but could come in handy during an application test as well.

Burp Proxy Certificate Installation

There will be the moment when the developers of your target application – hopefully – use SSL encrypted HTTP. To get rid of the warning messages that this creates, Burp’s CA certificate can be installed.

This simple task can become a real hassle when you realize that Burp Proxy exports – or provides via http://PROXY-IP:PROXY-PORT/cert – a file named cacert.der and Android expects a .crt file.

To install Burp’s CA certificate follow these steps:

  1. Open Burp Proxy and navigate to the tab Proxy
  2. In the Proxy tab, navigate to Options
  3. Click the button CA certificate … and choose the radio button Certificate in DER format
  4. Finish the export procedure and start a command line
  5. Push the CA cert on the virtual device using adb push PATH-TO-CA-CERT.DER /mnt/sdcard/CA-CERT.CRT (note the new filename ending – .crt)
  6. On the virtual device navigate to Settings → Security → Install from SD card
  7. Choose the location and click on the file. The certificate installation starts

This procedure works for almost any setup. The one notable exception is the SDK Emulator for Android 4.4.2. The menu item Install from SD card opens a file browser – as it does with all the other versions – but does not show the emulated internal SD card.

To install Burp’s CA certificate for an Android 4.4.2 SDK Emulator device, follow the first four steps described in the procedure above. Then place the file on a web server. It’s advised to use an internal test web server for this one. Now in the virtual device, start the web browser and browse to that file. Android will recognize the certificate and starts the installation process.

The last procedure would be much easier if either Android would not filter for .crt files specifically, or Burp Proxy would allow setting the filename for the browser access via http://PROXY-IP:PROXY-PORT/cert.

Automation via ADB

The Android Debug Bridge offers wide range of functionalities and is a great and valuable tool. No matter on which host system you’re working, you will be able to build your own scripts with this tool.

Application Installation

The installation of an application changes the operating system. The information about said changes may be of great value during the performing of analyses. Therefore, a script executing the following commands would help you out.

adb shell touch /mnt/sdcard/test
adb install PATH-TO-APK
adb shell find / -type f -newer /mnt/sdcard/test > fs-change-install.log
adb shell rm /mnt/sdcard/test

The fs-change-install.log contains a lot of information which stems from regular operation. Therefore all entries starting with /proc can be removed to see what really has changed. If the find command only runs in /data, chances are that some changes are not seen in fs-change-install.log.

Application De-installation

Just like any installation, information about file system changes after uninstallation of an application can be of interest. Another script executing the following commands would provide this information.

adb shell touch /mnt/sdcard/test
adb uninstall PACKAGENAME
adb shell find / -type f -newer /mnt/sdcard/test > fs-change-uninstall.log
adb shell rm /mnt/sdcard/test

Other Little Helpers

There are a lot of options for automation. All you need is the knowledge of the tools provided by the SDK and some scripting skills.

The last part of this article focuses on the knowledge of the tools the SDK provides, their usefulness and their helpfulness during the task of application analysis.

Android Device Monitor

This particularly helpful tool is located in PATH-TO-SDK/tools and called monitor.bat. Among other information, it lists the currently running virtual devices, their current running packages, Heap, Allocation Tracker, File Explorer and a rolling view of the device’s log.

Helpful Commands

The table below shows some useful commands for analysts getting started with adb.

Description Command
Output a list of all installed packages, including the path to the package. adb shell pm list packages -f
Pull a package from the system. adb pull -p PATH-TO-PACKAGE
Backup the application data. adb backup -f BACKUP-NAME PACKAGE
Push any file to the device adb push FILENAME DSTIONATION-PATH
Pull any file from device adb pull -p FILE-PATH
Start Emulator for a specific virtual device .\explorer.exe -avd VIRTUAL-DEVICE-NAME
Generate a bug report adb bugreport

Conclusion

Using virtual devices, there are several options for extending an Android Lab based solely on physical devices. The same options apply when establishing a new Lab altogether. It is worth taking a step back and analyzing the needs and requirements of the test environment. There are good free solutions available, but you might want to invest in a platform that will end up costing licensing fees. Needless to say, the license fee is most likely less than a physical device and the newest Android version will be ready for testing.

The tools provided by the Android SDK are worth taking a closer look at. The command line based execution of adb offers a great possibility to create your own tools, streamlined to the specific process.

About the Author

Oliver Kunz

Oliver Kunz has been in information security since 2010. Mainly, he deals with incident response, forensics and the security of mobile devices.

Links

You want to test the security of your firewall?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

CIS Controls

CIS Controls

Tomaso Vasella

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Trustworthy AI

Trustworthy AI

Prisca Quadroni-Renella

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Android Lab basierend auf virtuellen Geräten

Android Lab basierend auf virtuellen Geräten

Oliver Kunz
von Oliver Kunz
Lesezeit: 18 Minuten

In diesem Artikel dreht sich alles um den Aufbau eine Android Labs, das auf virtuellen Geräten läuft. Die Verwendung von physischen Geräten ist im Normalfall schnörkellos und benötigt weniger Zeit, um ein voll funktionsfähiges Lab zu sein. Dennoch gibt es bedeutende Nachteile. Wenn mehr als ein Analyst an einem App-Analyse-Projekt arbeitet, dann muss jeder Analyst ein eigenes Gerät mit identischem Setup besitzen (teure Lösung), oder das Zeit Management muss sehr gut sein (administrativer Overhead).

Ferner gilt es den Update-Cycle Androids zu beachten. Beim Kauf ist es nicht klar, wie viele zukünftige Android-Versionen vom Hersteller des Geräts unterstützt werden und wie lange es dauert, bis die unterstützten Updates erhältlich sein werden. Mit virtuellen Geräten können nicht nur mehrere Analysten am selben Projekt arbeiten, sondern das Problem des Update-Cycles löst sich ebenfalls.

Das virtuelle Android Lab

Eine Schlüsselvoraussetzung des Labs sind Kosteneffizienz, Skalierbarkeit und Stand der Updates. Ein Lab, das nur auf physischen Geräten basiert, würde an diesen Anforderungen scheitern.

Die Kombination all dieser Faktoren macht ein rein hardwarebasiertes Labs problematisch. Dennoch soll das nicht heissen, dass in einem voll funktionsfähigen Labs keine physischen Geräte vorhanden sein sollten. Es ist sogar wahrscheinlich, dass physische Geräte für gewisse Projekte sogar unabdingbar sind.

Die Alternative zu physischen Geräten sind virtuelle Maschinen – Emulatoren. Davon gibt es mehrere, vom im SDK inbegriffenen Emulator über die quelloffene Android-x86 bis hin zu Produkten wie GenyMotion oder Andy.

Die Android-x86 Portierung

Android-x86 ist ein Open-Source-Projekt, dessen Name Programm ist. Es geht darum, den Android Quellcode auf eine x86-Plattform zu portieren. Zum Zeitpunkt, an dem ich diesen Artikel im Herbst 2014 schreibe, bietet das Projekt eine Portierung von Android 4.4 an.

Die ISO-Datei kann als Live-Betriebssystem verwendet werden oder auf einer x86-Plattform installiert werden. Über die Installation müssen wir keine grossen Worte verlieren, denn jeder, der etwas Erfahrung mit der Erstellung von Linux/Unix Virtual Machines hat, kann die ISO in VMware oder VirtualBox zum Laufen bringen. Sollten dennoch Probleme auftauchen, bieten Blog Posts Hilfe.

Das Setup von Android-x86

Beim Start von Androind-x86 in einer VM wird der Ethernet-Link als Stellvertretung für mobile Netzwerkverbindung verwendet werden. Um Netzverkehr über einen Intercepting Proxy (zum Beispiel Burp Proxy) umzuleiten, sind noch einige weitere Schritte notwendig. Am einfachsten ist es wohl, eine weitere VM als Netzwerk-Proxy zu verwenden. Diese VM wird den ganzen HTTP- und HTTPS-Traffic von Android-x86 über den Intercepting Proxy leiten. Dieses Vorgehen wurde von Pascal Schaufelberger in einem früheren Labs-Artikel ausführlich beschrieben. Zusätzlich zu diesem Setup ist es ratsam, ein weiteres dediziertes virtuelles Netzwerk einzurichten, das sich mit dem Netzwerk verbindet, welches mit Android-x86 und der Proxy-VM kommuniziert. Dieser Link wird für die Android Debug Bridge (adb) verwendet.

Nutzer von VMware Player können keine zusätzlichen virtuellen Netzwerkinterfaces auf dem Host erstellen. Das macht die gleichzeitige Verwendung von adb und einem Intercepting Proxy, der Webtraffic überwacht, unmöglich. Daher muss in dem Falle die Netzwerkverbindung der Android-x86 VM rekonfiguriert werden.

Wie dem auch sei, um sich mit einem Gerät und adb verbinden zu können, ist die die IP-Adresse, die der Android-x86 VM gehört, notwendig. Gehen Sie in die Konsole, indem sie ALT+F1 drücken und führen Sie den Befehl netcfg aus. Danach starten Sie auf dem Host-System eine Command Line und führen Sie folgende Befehle aus, um adb und die Android-x86 VM zu verbinden.

* check for any connected devices
adb devices
* connect to Android-x68
adb connect <IP-ADDRESS>
* list the connected devices
adb devices

Nach diesen Einstellungen kann über adb auf die Android-x86 VM zugegriffen werden. Sie sind nun in der Lage, den gesamten Netzwerkverkehr über einen Intercepting Proxy einzusehen und allen anderen Netzwerkverkehr auf der Proxy VM mit Tools wie tcpdump und tshark zu überwachen.

Zusammenfassung Android-x86 VM

Im Vergleich mit anderen Emulatoren bietet die Android-x86 VM gute Nutzbarkeit und ist ein gutes Tool für VM-basierte virtuelle Geräte. Allerdings erfordert das initiale Setup einen grösseren Aufwand und kann unter Umständen nicht die neueste Android-Version unterstützen. Android-x86 ist mit keinerlei Zusatzkosten verbunden.

Der GenyMotion Emulator

GenyMotion ist eine Firma, die Android-Emulatoren verkauft. GenyMotion bietet einige Produkte auf ihrer Website an. Eine Gratisversion eines Emulators ist zu Testzwecken und zum persönlichen Bedarf vorhanden. Das Tool kommt im Bündel mit Oracles VirtualBox oder als Standalone Software wenn VirtualBox bereits installiert ist.

Die Verwendung GenyMotions ist einfach: Ein Account ist notwendig, um auf die GenyMotion-Cloud zuzugreifen und die Software herunterzuladen. Weiter müssen die Images mit dem GenyMotion-Tool heruntergeladen werden, das da eine Art von Manager für virtuelle Geräte ist. Auf der positiven Seite steht die Tatsache, dass die virtuellen Gerätekonfigurationen so zahlreich sind, wie die des originalen Android SDK-Emulators.

Unter Umständen wollen Sie die automatischen Produktberichte zur Verbesserung des selbigen an GenyMotion deaktivieren.

Das GenyMotion Setup

Im Unterschied zu Android-x86 schaltet GenyMotion das mobile Netzwerk aus und aktiviert das virtuelle WLAN, welches das Netzwerkinterface von VirtualBox ist. Um die Proxy-Einstellungen zu konfigurieren, um einen Intercepting Proxy zu verwenden, befolgen Sie folgende einfachen Schritte:

  1. Gehen Sie zu den Wireless-Einstellungen (Settings → Wi-Fi)
  2. Klicken Sie lange auf das einzige vorhandene WLAN, mit dem sie verbunden sind (WiredSSID)
  3. Klicken Sie auf ändern und aktivieren Sie die Checkbox, die fortgeschrittene Optionen anbietet.
  4. Stellen Sie den Proxy auf manuell und füllen Sie die Felder aus.

Um mit adb zu verbinden sind keine weiteren Schritte notwendig. GenyMotion verbindet automatisch mit adb.

Zusammenfassung GenyMotion

GenyMotion ist eine solide Lösung zur Android-Emulation. Besonders interessant ist die Auswahl an virtuellen Geräten und Betriebssystemen. Wenn GenyMotion geschäftlich genutzt wird, dann ist eine Gebühr von 99 Euro pro User und Jahr fällig. Der Emulator ist schnell und responsiv. Das Interface erlaubt die Kontrolle von mehreren Hardware-Elementen ohne weitere Umschweife.

Der Android SDK-Emulator

Android SDK wird direkt mit einem Emulator ausgeliefert. Er ist Teil der Android SDK-Installation und es wird für jede neue Android-Version ein neues Emulator-Image geben. Mit der kommenden Version (Android L) inklusive stehen vier Systeme zum Download bereit.

  1. ARM based for Android TV
  2. Intel based for Android TV
  3. ARM based for regular devices *
  4. Intel based for regular devices *

* Normale Geräte wie Smartphone oder Tablet

Lab Setup Android SDK Emulator

Ein virtuelles Gerät wird mit AVD Manager erstellt. Das GUI erlaubt die Konfiguration von mehr als nur gerade dem Gerät und der verwendeten Android-Version, genau wie es GenyMotion tut.

Der AVD Manager

Nach der Erstellung eines virtuellen Geräts kann dieses direkt aus dem AVD Manager gestartet werden. Der Command Line Emulator, der sich im Verzeichnis PATH-TO-SDK\tools befindet, bietet viele Optionen, das Verhalten und die Ausführung der virtuellen Maschine zu beeinflussen. Zum Beispiel, wenn wir einen Intercepting Proxy nutzen wollen, dann ist die Option -http-proxy die Funktion, die einen Proxyserver für das virtuelle mobile Netzwerk konfiguriert.

Folgender Befehl startet ein virtuelles gerät und schaltet auch gleich den Proxy ein.

.\emulator.exe -avd VIRTUAL-DEVICE-NAME -http-proxy http://PROXY-IP:PROXY-PORT

Wenn der Proxy während des Aufstartens des virtuellen Geräts nicht erreichbar ist, dann wird dieser ignoriert.

Der Android SDK Emulator hat den Ruf, sehr langsam und schwerfällig zu sein. Aber keine Panik, mit einigen kleinen Anpassungen kann die Performance verbessert werden. Bei der Erstellung des virtuellen Geräts müssen einfach folgende Schritte beachtet werden:

  1. Nutzen Sie so viel RAM wie Sie können. Eine Warnung wird unter Windows auftauchen, die davon abrät, mehr als 768MB RAM zu verwenden, da sonst das Gerät nicht funktionieren kann. Ignorieren Sie diese Warnung wenn möglich.
  2. Aktivieren Sie die Checkbox Use Host GPU, die Hardware OpenGLES-Emulation aktiviert.
  3. Downloaden Sie das Paket Intel x86 Emulator Accelerator (HAXM installer) im Menü Extras des SDK Managers.

Zusammenfassung SDK Emulator

Auch wenn die Emulation von der GPU unterstützt wird, ist das virtuelle Gerät etwas langsamer als es mit den anderen Emulatoren ist. Ein Vorteil ist aber, dass die Images der neuen Version zum Release Date frei erhältlich sein werden.

Eins, zwei oder drei?

Welche der Option in diesem Artikel jetzt die allgemein gültig beste Option ist, kann in dieser Form nicht beantwortet werden. Denn sie hängt zu grossen Teilen davon ab, welche Anforderungen an das Lab gestellt werden. Jede der drei Optionen hat Vor- wie auch Nachteile. Die Nutzung des original SDK Emulators ist sicher hilfreich, wenn es darum geht, mit den neuesten Android-Versionen zu arbeiten und die Performanceprobleme keine allzu grosse Rolle spielen. Zudem ist der Emulator sicher keine schlechte Lösung, wenn Command Line Switches wie -http-proxy benötigt werden.

Die anderen beiden Lösungen folgen einem anderen Ansatz und sind einfacher miteinander zu vergleichen. Android-x86 ist eine gute Option, sollt die neueste Android-Version nicht zwingend nötig sein und wenn das virtuelle Gerät in einer flexibleren und anpassbaren Umgebung funktionieren muss. Die Lösung ist zudem gratis, genau wie der Android SDK Emulator.

GenyMotion ist ein geschlossenes Produkt. Es kommt mit einer eigenen Lösung zum Virtual Device Management, einer eigenen Shell, die alle nötigen Schritte für den Developer – oder auch den Penetration Tester – übernimmt, um sofort loslegen zu können. GenyMotion fühlt sich besser in der Handhabung an und das User Interface erlaubt das Tweaken von vielen Hardware-Optionen. Dies ist wahrscheinlich für Entwickler wichtig, aber könnte auch Application Testern zugutekommen.

Burp Proxy Certificate Installation

Nach der Produktwahl kommt der Moment, an dem die Developer Ihrer Zielapplikation hoffentlich SSL-verschlüsseltes HTTP verwenden. Um dem Rechnung zu tragen, kann ein Burp CA Zertifikat installiert werden.

Diese einfache Aufgabe kann ganz schnell ganz schwer werden, wenn Ihnen bewusst wird, dass der Burp Proxy entweder über HTTP oder via http://PROXY-IP:PROXY-PORT/cert eine Datei namens cacert.der exportiert, Android aber eine .crt-Datei erwartet.

Um Burps CA Zertifikat zu installieren, können Sie diese Schritte befolgen:

  1. Öffnen Sie Burp Proxy und gehen Sie zum Tab Proxy
  2. Im Proxy_-Tab, klicken Sie auf _Options
  3. Klicken Sie auf CA certificate… und wählen Sie den Radiobutton Certificate in DER format an.
  4. Starten Sie nach dem Export eine Command Line
  5. Pushen Sie das CA Zertifikat auf das virtuelle Gerät, indem sie adb push PATH-TO-CA-CERT.DER /mnt/sdcard/CA-CERT.CRT (beachten Sie die neue Dateiendung .crt)
  6. Auf dem virtuellen Gerät, gehen sie zu Settings → Security → Install from SD Card
  7. Wählen Sie den Speicherort der Datei und klicken Sie darauf. Das Zertifikat wird nun installiert.

Dieser Vorgang funktioniert für fast alle Setups. Die grosse Ausnahme ist der SDK-Emulator für Android 4.4.2. Der Menüeintrag Install from SD Card öffnet einen Dateibrowser – genau wie bei anderen Versionen – aber dieser zeigt nicht die emulierte interne SD-Karte an.

Um das Zertifikat auf Android 4.4.2. SDK emulierten Geräten zu installieren, folgen Sie den ersten vier Schritten, die oben genannt werden. Dann laden Sie die Datei auf einen – im Idealfall internen und lediglich zu Testzwecken genutzten – Webserver und laden Sie im Webbrowser des virtuellen Geräts die Datei. Android wird diese als Zertifikat erkennen und die Installation beginnen.

Dieser Prozess wäre wesentlich einfacher, wenn entweder Android nicht nur .crt-Dateien ausfiltern würde oder Burp Proxy die Definition des Dateinamens für den Zugriff mit dem Browser via http://PROXY-IP:PROXY-PORT/cert erlauben würde.

Automation via ADB

Die Android Debug Bridge bietet ein breites Spektrum an Funktionen und ein gutes wie auch wertvolles Tool. Und ungeachtet des Systems, auf dem Ihr Android Lab aufgebaut ist, Sie werden mit adb Ihre eigenen Scripts bauen können.

Installation

Die Installation einer Applikation verändert das System. Die Details dieser Veränderung können während einer Analyse von grossem Wert sein. Daher wäre ein Script, das folgende Befehle ausführt, passend:

adb shell touch /mnt/sdcard/test
adb install PATH-TO-APK
adb shell find / -type f -newer /mnt/sdcard/test > fs-change-install.log
adb shell rm /mnt/sdcard/test

fs-change-install.log enthält eine grosse Menge an Informationen, die aus dem regulären Betrieb stammen. Daher sind alle Einträge, die mit /proc beginnen zu vernachlässigen, damit ersichtlich ist, was sich wirklich verändert hat. Wenn Sie einen Befehl finden, der nur in /data läuft, dann stehen die Chancen gut, dass einige Veränderungen nicht in fs-change-install.log aufgeführt werden.

De-Installation einer Applikation

Wie auch bei einer Installation wird bei einer Deinstallation das Filesystem verändert. Und ebenso kann diese Veränderung von grossem Interesse sein, weswegen auch hier ein Script wie das Folgende zum Tragen kommen kann.

adb shell touch /mnt/sdcard/test
adb uninstall PACKAGENAME
adb shell find / -type f -newer /mnt/sdcard/test > fs-change-uninstall.log
adb shell rm /mnt/sdcard/test

Weitere kleine Helfer

Es gibt eine Vielzahl von weiteren kleinen Tweaks, die das Arbeiten mit adb im Alltag wesentlich vereinfachen. Alles, was Sie dazu brauchen, sind die Tools, die mit dem SDK geliefert werden und Scripting Skills.

Daher konzentriert sich dieser letzte Teil des Artikels auf die Kenntnis der Tools, die vom SDK bereitgestellt werden, deren Nützlichkeit und Hilfestellung im Rahmen der Applikationsanalyse.

Android Device Monitor

Dieses ausserordentlich hilfreiche Tool befindet sich im Ordner PATH-TO-SDK/tools und heisst monitor.bat. Unter anderem informiert das Script über die aktuell laufenden virtuellen Geräte, die laufenden Pakete, Heap, Allocation Tracker, Dateiexplorer und eine rollende Ansicht des Logs des Geräts.

Hilfreiche Befehle

Die untenstehende Tabelle zeigt nützliche Befehle für Analysten auf, um mit adb einen guten, soliden und schnellen Start zu finden.

Beschreibung Befehl
Output einer Liste aller installierten Pakete, inclusive deren Pfad adb shell pm list packages -f
Ein Paket aus dem System ziehen adb pull -p PATH-TO-PACKAGE
Backup der Application Data. adb backup -f BACKUP-NAME PACKAGE
Beliebige Datei auf das Gerät pushen adb push FILENAME DESTINATION-PATH
Beliebig Datei vom System ziehen adb pull -p FILE-PATH
Emulator für spezifisches virtuelles Gerät starten .\explorer.exe -avd VIRTUAL-DEVICE-NAME
Bugreport generieren adb bugreport

Fazit

Es gibt mehrere Wege, ein rein physisches Android Lab mit virtuellen Geräten auszubauen – oder ein solches Lab von Grund auf aufzubauen. Es lohnt sich, einen Schritt zurückzutreten und die Anforderungen an die Testumgebung nüchtern und analytisch zu betrachten. Es gibt gute, kostenlose Möglichkeiten, aber es könnte sich sogar lohnen, in eine andere Plattform zu investieren. In fast jedem Fall dürfte es so sein, dass die Lizenzkosten tiefer sind, als die Kosten eines neuen physischen Gerätes. Zudem wird die neueste Android-Version stets als Image vorhanden sein, womit sich das Warten auf das Update erübrigt.

Die Tools, die das Android SDK bereitstellt, sind einen guten Augenschein wert. Die Command-Line-basierte Ausführung von adb bietet eine Vielzahl Möglichkeiten, damit ihre Nutzer eigene Tools bauen können, die genau auf den Prozess im Arbeitsalltag passen.

Über den Autor

Oliver Kunz

Oliver Kunz ist seit 2010 im Bereich der Informationssicherheit aktiv. Hauptsächlich setzt er sich mit Incident Response, Computerforensik und der Sicherheit von mobilen Geräten auseinander.

Links

Sie wollen die Sicherheit Ihrer Firewall prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv