Transport Layer Security Done Right

Transport Layer Security Done Right

Michael Schneider
by Michael Schneider
time to read: 12 minutes

Transport Layer Security (TLS) and its predecessor Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) are encryption protocols to ensure secure communication on the internet. TLS is most often used to encrypt communication between websites using HTTP but it can used with POP3, SMTP, IMAP, XMPP or FTP. The level of security of such a connection depends on protocols, settings and cipher suites. When establishing a TLS connection the systems involved in it will negotiate the cipher suite and the protocol to use. In the TLS configuration, the protocols and cipher suites are defined and determined, which ones are to be preferred.

Often during security checks we discover that the configuration of these systems does not meet the requirements for a secure connection. This labs describes the basics of a secure TLS configuration and shows how it can be checked for security.

TLS Configuration

The TLS configuration of a system is made up of three parts:

Depending on the operating system, the library or the application software, the configuration ends up looking different. The necessary adjustments can be made using configuration files, the Windows registry or a graphic user interface. The recommendations in this Labs are viable for most common solutions. An overview of TLS configurations in general can be found in the documes SSL/TLS Deployment Best Practices, written by Ivan Ristić.

There are five protocols concerned with TLS/SSL:

SSLv2 is insecure and should be deactivated immediately. SSLv3 has not been updated since 1996, is considered to be obsolete and was replaced by TLSv1.0 which went on to become the standard.

On October 14th, 2014, the vulnerability known as POODLE (CVE-2014-3566) was made public. It exploits an error in SSLv3 to extract information from an encrypted connection. The only effective mitigation is up to this point the deactivation of SSLv3.

TLSv1.2 should be used as the main protocol and be preferred to all other protocols. TLSv1.0 and TLSv1.1, however must remain supported for reasons of backwards compatibility.

Apart from the choice of protocol, the support or the disabling of functions is crucial for the secure operation of any TLS infrastructure. The function Client-Initiated Renegotiation should be deactivated because it makes a Denial of Service Attacke against TLS infrastructures much easier. In September 2012, security researchers Juliano Rizzo and Thai Duong published the attack known as CRIME (CVE-2012-4929) that enables the extraction of sensitive data such as a session cookie from a secure TLS connection. The countermeasure: Deactivating TLS compression.

When estabslishing a TLS connection between client and server, a session key for encryption of the communication based on a public key principle is being negotiated. If someone has recorded such a communication, including the handshake and later gains possession of the server’s private key, he can use the key to decrypt the communication. The function Forward Secrecy mitigates this attack by negotiating a one-time-only key that can’t be deducted from the server’s private key after the negotiation. Forward Secrecy requires deployment of the cipher suites of the key exchange named Diffie-Hellman (DHE-RSA, DHE-DSS)_ and Elliptic Curves based on Diffie Hellman ECDHE-RSA, ECDHE-ECDSA)

Cipher Suites

A cipher suite is the combination of algorithms used during the following stages:

A Cipher Suite Explained

The choice of cipher suite for a TLS connection has significant influence on the security of said connection. When establishing a connection between server and client, the cipher suite is being decided on. That is why it’s important that cipher suites are only supported by TLS infrastructure that fulfills certain security criteria. Only cipher suites should be deployed that have a key length of 128 Bit or more. All other cipher suites are to be disabled. This should include – for security reasons – Triple DES (3DES). Although 3DES has a key length of 168 Bit (3×56 Bit) but due to knowledge of Meet in the Middle attacks an effective key length of 112 Bit should be enforced.

In March 2013 a research team of Royal Holloway, TU Eindhoven and the University of Illinois at Chicago has discovered an attack against RC4 (CVE-2013-2566). Therefore ciphers based on RC4 are considered to be insecure and should therefore not be used anymore. In 2011, the use of RC4 was recommended as a mitigation for the BEAST Attack (CVE-2011-3389). All widely used web browsers have since been updated and thus, RC4 cipher can be deactivated.

Certificate

The certificate is a further component of a secure configuration. A certificate should include all hostnames and domains in the field Common Name (CN) or as Subject Alternative Name (SAN) and – in addition to that – should be signed by a trustworthy certificate agency. In order for a certificate to be checked for its validity, the certificate by the agency must be established and recognized as trusted by all clients that access the system (i.e. web browsers). When generating the certificate, additional attention needs to be paid to the length of the private key. It should be at least 2048 Bit long.

Computer Security Specialist Bruce Schneier published an article on the security of the algorithm SHA 1 and pointed out that the generation of collisions (generation of an identical hash with different originating values) with the use of adequate computing power has come entered the realm of the possible. He concludes that SHA2/SHA3 should be starting to replace SHA1. Microsoft and Google announced that certificates with SHA1 will be considered to be less trustworthy from now on. Therefore, SHA256 should be used.

TLS Configuration Checklist

The following checklist contains all the mentioned recommendations for a secure TLS configuration as of October 2014:

Check TLS configuration

A ELS configuration can be checked by various means. Qualys SSL Labs offers a SSL Server Test which keeps being adjusted to the most recent developments in the field of security. The test reads out the configuration and evaluates it based on Best Practices. The test’s big disadvantage is that only publicly available domains can be checked. The use of IP addresses is not allowed. Also, only tests using port tcp/443 are supported.

Alternatively, all the test’s steps can be done manually by using OpenSSL. Security researcher Jerome Smith has published a compilation of OpenSSL commands that can be used to check a TLS configuration. Using the command openssl s_client -ssl3 -connect <ip-address>:<port> an SSLv3 connection can be established and subsequently, information can be read out. The server in our example uses the insecure protocol SSLv3, the cipher suite DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA has been negotiated, the function TLS compression is being supported and a key with the length of 2014 Bit is being used. Even using nothing but this establishing of a connection as a basis, multiple vulnerabilities can be deducted.

[user@host ~] openssl s_client -ssl3 -connect <ip-address>:<port>
CONNECTED(00000003)
...
---
SSL handshake has read 1020 bytes and written 369 bytes
---
New, TLSv1/SSLv3, Cipher is DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA
Server public key is 1024 bit
Secure Renegotiation IS supported
Compression: zlib compression
Expansion: zlib compression
...
---
closed

In order to check the configuration of cipher suites, the command openssl s_client -cipher NULL,EXPORT,LOW,3DES,RC4 -connect <ip-address>:<port> can be used to check if the system is supporting weak cipher suites. The output below shows that this is indeed the case. There’s a connection using cipher suite EDH-RSA-DES-CBC3-SHA.

[user@host ~] openssl s_client -cipher NULL,EXPORT,LOW,3DES,RC4 -connect <ip-address>:<port>
CONNECTED(00000003)
...
---
SSL handshake has read 1167 bytes and written 434 bytes
---
New, TLSv1/SSLv3, Cipher is EDH-RSA-DES-CBC3-SHA
Server public key is 1024 bit
Secure Renegotiation IS supported
Compression: zlib compression
Expansion: zlib compression

The manual analysis using OpenSSL commands is not very efficient. For example, if you want to figure out which ciphers are supported, a request for every single cipher has to be sent individually. This check just like many others can be performed automatically using any one of a number of tools that check TLS configurations. One of them is SSLyze that runs on Windows, Mac OSX and Linux. SSLyze can read all supported cipher suites and lists the status of functions such as Session Renegotiation or TLS Compression.

PS C:\> .\sslyze.exe --regular <ip-address>:<port>
...
* Session Renegotiation:
  Client-initiated Renegotiations:   OK - Rejected
  Secure Renegotiation:              OK - Supported
* Deflate Compression:
  VULNERABLE - Server supports Deflate compression
...
* Certificate - Content:
  ...
  Signature Algorithm:               sha1WithRSAEncryption
  Key Size:                          1024 bit
  Exponent:                          65537 (0x10001)
...
* TLSV1 Cipher Suites:
  Preferred:
	DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA            DH-1024 bits   256 bits      HTTP 200 OK
  Accepted:
	DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA            DH-1024 bits   256 bits      HTTP 200 OK
	AES256-SHA                    -              256 bits      HTTP 200 OK
	DHE-RSA-AES128-SHA            DH-1024 bits   128 bits      HTTP 200 OK
	RC4-SHA                       -              128 bits      HTTP 200 OK
	RC4-MD5                       -              128 bits      HTTP 200 OK
	AES128-SHA                    -              128 bits      HTTP 200 OK
	EDH-RSA-DES-CBC3-SHA          DH-1024 bits   112 bits      HTTP 200 OK
	DES-CBC3-SHA                  -              112 bits      HTTP 200 OK

Unlike using Qualys SSL Server Test the received results have to be interpreted manually – at least partially – and categorized accordingly. In this example, we can identify the following:

SSLyze is, as opposed to Qualys SSL Server Test not limited to domain names and certain ports. IP addresses and random ports can be used. In addition to that, SSLyze supports the option STARTTLS and can therefore be used to check protocols like SMTP, POP3, IMAP, FTP, XMPP, LDAP or RDP.

Summary

The security of a TLS configuration hinges on the selection of the supported protocols, functions, cipher suites as well as a correctly issued certificate. The standard settings of an application usually don’t fulfill the requirements of a secure configuration. It’s well worth checking this configuration in order to make out vulnerabilities and implement fixes.

About the Author

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider has been in IT since 2000. Since 2010 he is focused on information security. He is an expert at penetration testing, hardening and the detection of vulnerabilities in operating systems. He is well-known for a variety of tools written in PowerShell to find, exploit, and mitigate weaknesses. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

You want more than a simple security test with Nessus und Nmap?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

HardeningKitty Score

HardeningKitty Score

Michael Schneider

HTTP Response Header

HTTP Response Header

Michael Schneider

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Transport Layer Security richtig konfigurieren

Transport Layer Security richtig konfigurieren

Michael Schneider
von Michael Schneider
Lesezeit: 13 Minuten

Transport Layer Security (TLS) und dessen Vorgänger Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) sind Verschlüsselungsprotokolle zur sicheren Kommunikation im Internet. TLS wird vor allem zur Verschlüsselung der Kommunikation von Webseiten mittels HTTP eingesetzt, kann aber auch mit Protokollen wie POP3, SMTP, IMAP, XMPP oder FTP verwendet werden. Der Sicherheitslevel einer solchen verschlüsselten Verbindung hängt davon ab, welche Protokolle, Einstellungen und Cipher Suites eingesetzt werden. Beim Aufbau einer TLS-Verbindung handeln die beteiligten Systeme aus, welches Protokoll und welche Cipher Suite verwendet werden. In der TLS-Konfiguration werden die zu verwendenden Protokolle und Cipher Suites definiert und festgelegt, welche bevorzugt werden.

Wir stellen im Rahmen unserer Sicherheitsüberprüfungen regelmässig fest, dass die Konfiguration der Systeme den Anforderungen an eine sichere Verbindung nicht genügen. Dieses Labs beschreibt die Grundlagen einer sicheren TLS-Konfiguration und zeigt auf, wie diese überprüft werden kann.

TLS-Konfiguration

Die TLS-Konfiguration eines Systems besteht aus drei Teilen: Konfiguration (z.B. unterstützte Protokolle), Cipher Suites sowie das Zertifikat. Je nach Betriebssystem, Bibliothek oder Applikationssoftware unterscheidet sich die Konfiguration. Diese kann mittels Konfigurationsdateien, Windows Registry oder über eine grafische Oberfläche vorgenommen werden. Die Empfehlungen in diesem Labs lassen sich mit den meisten gängigen Lösungen umsetzen. Eine Übersicht über TLS-Konfiguration im Allgemeinen bietet das Dokument SSL/TLS Deployment Best Practices von Ivan Ristić.

Für TLS/SSL existieren fünf Protokolle:

Das Protokoll SSLv2 ist unsicher und sollte in jedem Fall deaktiviert werden. SSLv3 wurde seit 1996 nicht mehr aktualisiert, gilt als obsolet und wurde im Jahr 1999 durch TLSv1.0 als Standardversion abgelöst. Am 14. Oktober 2014 wurde die Schwachstelle POODLE (CVE-2014-3566) veröffentlicht, die einen Fehler in SSLv3 ausnutzt, um Informationen aus einer verschlüsselten Verbindung zu extrahieren. Die einzige wirkungsvolle Gegenmassnahme ist zurzeit die Deaktivierung von SSLv3.

Das Protokoll TLSv1.2 sollte als Hauptprotokoll eingesetzt und allen anderen Protokollen gegenüber bevorzugt behandelt werden. Die Protokolle TLSv1.0 und TLSv1.1 müssen vor allem aus Gründen der Abwärtskompatibilität weiterhin unterstützt werden.

Nebst der Auswahl der unterstützten Protokolle ist die Unterstützung respektive das Deaktivieren von Funktionen für einen sicheren Betrieb einer TLS-Infrastruktur relevant. Die Funktion Client-Initiated Renegotiation sollte deaktiviert werden, da diese eine Denial of Service Attacke gegen die TLS-Infrastruktur vereinfacht. Im September 2012 stellten die Security Researcher Juliano Rizzo und Thai Duong die Attacke CRIME (CVE-2012-4929) vor, die es ermöglicht sensitive Informationen (zum Beispiel ein Session-Cookie) aus einer TLS-Verbindung zu extrahieren. Die Gegenmassnahme dazu ist die Funktion TLS compression zu deaktivieren.

Beim Aufbau einer TLS-Verbindung wird zwischen Client und Server wird ein Sitzungsschlüssel für die Verschlüsselung der Kommunikation basierend auf einem Public-Key-Verfahren ausgehandelt. Wenn jemand eine solche Kommunikation einschliesslich des Handshakes aufgezeichnet hat, und später in den Besitz des Private Keys des Servers gerät, kann dieser Key dazu genutzt werden um die mitgeschnittene Kommunikation zu entschlüsseln. Die Funktion Forward Secrecy mitigiert diese Attacke, indem ein einmaliger Sitzungsschlüssel ausgehandelt wird, der im Nachhinein nicht vom Private Key des Servers abgeleitet werden kann. Für Forward Secrecy müssen die Cipher Suites des Schlüsselaustauschverfahrens Diffie-Hellman (DHE-RSA, DHE-DSS) und Elliptische Kurven basierend auf Diffie Hellman (ECDHE-RSA, ECDHE-ECDSA) eingesetzt werden.

Cipher Suites

Eine Cipher Suite setzt sich aus der Kombination von Algorithmen für die folgenden Elemente zusammen:

Eine aufgeschlüsselte Cipher Suite

Die Wahl der Cipher Suite für eine TLS-Verbindung hat einen grossen Einfluss auf die Sicherheit dieser Verbindung. Beim Aufbau einer Verbindung wird zwischen Server und Client die Cipher Suite ausgehandelt. Dementsprechend ist es wichtig, dass nur Cipher Suites durch die TLS Infrastruktur unterstützt werden, die einen definierten Sicherheitsstandard erfüllen. Es sollten nur Cipher Suites eingesetzt werden, die über eine Schlüssellänge von 128 Bit und mehr für die Algorithmen zur Authentifizierung und Verschlüsselung verfügen. Alle anderen Cipher Suites sind zu deaktivieren. Aus Sicherheitsgründen sollte dazu auch Triple DES (3DES) gezählt werden. 3DES verfügt zwar über eine Schlüssellänge von 168 Bit (3×56 Bit), aber aufgrund aus Erkenntnissen der Meet in the Middle Attacke sollte von einer effektiven Schlüssellänge von 112 Bit ausgegangen werden.

Im März 2013 fand ein Forschungsteam der Royal Holloway, TU Eindhoven und University of Illinois at Chicago eine Attacke gegen RC4 (CVE-2013-2566). Daher gelten auf RC4 basierende Cipher als unsicher und sollten auch nicht mehr eingesetzt werden. Im Jahr 2011 wurde die Verwendung von RC4 Ciphers als Gegenmassnahme für die Attacke BEAST (CVE-2011-3389) empfohlen. Für alle weit verbreiteten Web Browser sind Updates gegen diese Attacke veröffentlicht und daher kann der Einsatz von RC4 Ciphers deaktivieren werden.

Zertifikat

Das Zertifikat ist ein weiterer Bestandteil für eine sichere Konfiguration. Ein Zertifikat sollte alle eingesetzten Hostnamen/Domains im Feld Common Name (CN) oder als Subject Alternative Name (SAN) enthalten und von einer vertrauenswürdigen Zertifizierungsstelle signiert sein. Damit ein Zertifikat von einem Client auf Gültigkeit überprüft werden kann, muss das Zertifikat der Zertifizierungsstelle in allen Clients (z.B. Webbrowser), die auf das System zugreifen, hinterlegt und als vertrauenswürdig eingestuft sein. Bei der Generierung des Zertifikats gilt es zudem darauf zu achten, dass die Schlüssellänge des Private Keys mindestens 2048 Bit beträgt.

Bruce Schneier veröffentlichte am 05. Oktober 2012 einen Beitrag über die Sicherheit des Algorithmus SHA 1, und wies darauf hin, dass die Generierung von Kollisionen (Erstellung eines identischen Hashs mit verschiedenen Ursprungswerten) mit dem Einsatz von genügend Rechenleistung in den Bereich des Möglichen gerückt ist. Er kommt zum Schluss, dass nun die Ablösung von SHA1 durch SHA2/SHA3 beginnen sollte. Microsoft und Google kündigten ihrerseits an, dass Zertifikate mit SHA1 in Zukunft als weniger vertrauenswürdig eingestuft werden. Wenn ein neues Zertifikat ausgestellt wird, sollte dementsprechend SHA256 eingesetzt werden.

TLS-Konfiguration Checkliste

Die folgende Checkliste beinhaltet alle erwähnten Empfehlungen für eine sichere TLS-Konfiguration (Stand Oktober 2014):

TLS-Konfiguration überprüfen

Die eigene TLS-Konfiguration lässt sich mit verschiedenen Mitteln überprüfen. Das Qualys SSL Labs stellt einen SSL Server Test zur Verfügung, welcher laufend aktuellen Sicherheitsentwicklungen angepasst wird. Der Test liest die Konfiguration aus und bewertet diese anschliessend anhand von Best Practices. Ein Nachteil dieses Tests ist, dass nur öffentlich verfügbare Domains überprüft werden können, die Verwendung von IP-Adressen ist nicht erlaubt, zudem werden nur Tests auf den Port tcp/443 unterstützt.

Als Alternative können die Testschritte manuell mittels OpenSSL durchgeführt werden. Jerome Smith veröffentlichte eine Zusammenstellung von OpenSSL-Befehlen, mit denen eine TLS-Konfiguration überprüft werden kann. Mittels des Befehls openssl s_client -ssl3 -connect <ip-address>:<port> wird eine SSLv3 Verbindung aufgebaut und daraus können nun mehrere Informationen ausgelesen werden. Der Server im Beispiel verwendet das unsichere Protokoll SSLv3, als Cipher Suite wurde DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA ausgehandelt, die Funktion TLS compression wird unterstützt und ein Zertifikat mit einem Private Key von 1024 Bit verwendet. Bereits durch die Analyse eines Verbindungsaufbaus können so mehrere Schwächen in der Konfiguration identifiziert werden.

[user@host ~] openssl s_client -ssl3 -connect <ip-address>:<port>
CONNECTED(00000003)
...
---
SSL handshake has read 1020 bytes and written 369 bytes
---
New, TLSv1/SSLv3, Cipher is DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA
Server public key is 1024 bit
Secure Renegotiation IS supported
Compression: zlib compression
Expansion: zlib compression
...
---
closed

Um die Konfiguration von Cipher Suites zu überprüfen, kann mittels des Befehls openssl s_client -cipher NULL,EXPORT,LOW,3DES,RC4 -connect <ip-address>:<port> getestet werden, ob das System schwache Cipher Suites unterstützt. Die untenstehende Ausgabe zeigt, dass dies der Fall ist. Es wurde eine Verbindung mittels der Cipher Suite EDH-RSA-DES-CBC3-SHA aufgebaut.

[user@host ~] openssl s_client -cipher NULL,EXPORT,LOW,3DES,RC4 -connect <ip-address>:<port>
CONNECTED(00000003)
...
---
SSL handshake has read 1167 bytes and written 434 bytes
---
New, TLSv1/SSLv3, Cipher is EDH-RSA-DES-CBC3-SHA
Server public key is 1024 bit
Secure Renegotiation IS supported
Compression: zlib compression
Expansion: zlib compression

Die manuelle Auswertung mit OpenSSL Befehlen ist nicht sonderlich effizient. Um zum Beispiel alle unterstützen Ciphers zu ermitteln, muss eine Abfrage mit jeder verfügbaren Cipher einzeln gesendet werden. Diese und weitere Überprüfungen lassen sich automatisieren. Es existieren Tools um eine TLS-Konfiguration zu kontrollieren. Eines dieser Tools ist SSLyze, das unter Windows, Mac OSX und Linux eingesetzt werden kann. SSLyze kann alle unterstützen Cipher Suites auslesen und listet den Status der Unterstützung für Funktionen wie Session Renegotiation oder TLS Compression auf.

PS C:\> .\sslyze.exe --regular <ip-address>:<port>
...
* Session Renegotiation:
  Client-initiated Renegotiations:   OK - Rejected
  Secure Renegotiation:              OK - Supported
* Deflate Compression:
  VULNERABLE - Server supports Deflate compression
...
* Certificate - Content:
  ...
  Signature Algorithm:               sha1WithRSAEncryption
  Key Size:                          1024 bit
  Exponent:                          65537 (0x10001)
...
* TLSV1 Cipher Suites:
  Preferred:
	DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA            DH-1024 bits   256 bits      HTTP 200 OK
  Accepted:
	DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA            DH-1024 bits   256 bits      HTTP 200 OK
	AES256-SHA                    -              256 bits      HTTP 200 OK
	DHE-RSA-AES128-SHA            DH-1024 bits   128 bits      HTTP 200 OK
	RC4-SHA                       -              128 bits      HTTP 200 OK
	RC4-MD5                       -              128 bits      HTTP 200 OK
	AES128-SHA                    -              128 bits      HTTP 200 OK
	EDH-RSA-DES-CBC3-SHA          DH-1024 bits   112 bits      HTTP 200 OK
	DES-CBC3-SHA                  -              112 bits      HTTP 200 OK

Im Gegensatz zum Qualys SSL Server Test müssen die erhaltenen Resultate teilweise selbst interpretiert und entsprechend eingestuft werden. In diesem Beispiel werden die folgenden Schwachpunkte identifiziert:

SSLyze ist im Gegensatz zum Qualys SSL Server Test nicht auf Domainnamen und Ports eingeschränkt. Es können IP-Adressen mit beliebigen Ports angegeben werden. Zusätzlich unterstützt SSLyze die Option STARTTLS und kann somit auch zur Überprüfung von Protokollen wie SMTP, POP3, IMAP, FTP, XMPP, LDAP oder RDP verwendet werden.

Zusammenfassung

Die Sicherheit einer TLS-Konfiguration hängt von der Auswahl der unterstützten Protokolle, Funktionen, Cipher Suites sowie einem korrekt ausgestellten Zertifikat ab. Die Standardeinstellungen einer Applikation entsprechen in vielen Fällen nicht den Anforderungen an eine sichere Konfiguration. Es lohnt sich diese Konfiguration zu überprüfen, um allfällig vorhandene Schwachpunkte zu identifizieren und anschliessend zu beheben.

Über den Autor

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider arbeitet seit dem Jahr 2000 in der IT. Im Jahr 2010 hat er sich auf die Informationssicherheit spezialisiert. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehören das Penetration Testing, Hardening und das Aufspüren von Schwachstellen in Betriebssystemen. Er ist bekannt für eine Vielzahl in PowerShell geschrieber Tools zum Finden, Ausnutzen und Beheben von Schwachstellen. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

Sie wollen mehr als einen simplen Security Test mit Nessus und Nmap?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
HardeningKitty

HardeningKitty

Michael Schneider

KleptoKitty

KleptoKitty

Michael Schneider

Linux Hardening

Linux Hardening

Michael Schneider

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv