Hard Disk Encryption Tool: Startech Enclosure

Hard Disk Encryption Tool

Startech Enclosure

Rocco Gagliardi
by Rocco Gagliardi
time to read: 11 minutes

For business users, securing data isn’t really an option – it’s mandatory. That’s never truer than for portable devices that must be encrypted to comply with the company policy or other regulations . For USB Keys, I found the Carbide USB Stick, but for external HD I was still searching an affordable solution. In this test, we evaluated the Startech encrypted external Hard Drive enclosure.

Features

Basically, the enclosure turns a generic 2.5” SATA HD or SSD into secured AES encrypted external storage with password entry, no software is needed on the OS side, the devices is connected via standard USB3 interface. The construction quality of the enclosure is pretty good, despite the plastic used for the case and the keys. The interface is very simple, with just five LEDs indicating the status of the devices.

Views of the Startech Encrypted External Hard Drive Enclosure - click to enlarge

Performance

The unit is USB 3.0 compatible, using a Fujitsu MB86C311 USB 3.0-SATA chipset, and although this should allow USB-attached SCSI protocol (UASP) for decent throughput, it is already limited by the old SATA R.2 standard. Therefore the rate is limited to 3Gbps (SATA2). We tested the device using a standard disk test suite, with and without encryption using different file sizes. The following chart depicts the results:

Data Transfer Rates - encrypted vs. unencrypted by block size - click to enlarge

The transfer rate is pretty decent and the encryption does not impact the performance.

Security

The enclosure is built around the Fujitsu MB86C311, an evolution of the MB86C30A. The MB86C30A contains an embedded AES engine that supports two operation modes: Cipher Block Chaining (CBC), a mode for encrypting block data; and XTS, the XEX encryption mode with tweak and ciphertext stealing.

The encryption engine makes it possible to store encrypted data on HDDs, thus protecting confidential information from threats when portable devices are lost or stolen – a well-publicised problem in recent years – or to prevent data leaks when storage devices are disposed of. Also, compared to software encryption, this hardware encryption does not burden the CPU of the host PC and provides better protection of user’s data.

Encryption Hardware

The encryption key is chip specific, so it is burned into the chip itself and protected by the code. This makes it relatively hard to find out, but not impossible.

MC86C311B Blocks - click to enlarge

Encryption quality

Entropy measure of the decrypted block:

===========================================================================
root@ent:~/test# ent dec_block.001
Entropy = 0.180781 bits per byte.

Optimum compression would reduce the size of this 100000000 byte file by 97 percent.

Chi square distribution for 100000000 samples is 24920010681.90, and randomly would exceed this value 0.01 percent of the times.

Arithmetic mean value of data bytes is 1.4229 (127.5 = random). Monte Carlo value for Pi is 3.990601360 (error 27.02 percent). Serial correlation coefficient is 0.735227 (totally uncorrelated = 0.0). =========================================================================== root@ent:~/test# ent-b dec_block.001 Entropy = 0.050111 bits per bit.

Optimum compression would reduce the size of this 800000000 bit file by 94 percent.

Chi square distribution for 800000000 samples is 782110492.86, and randomly would exceed this value 0.01 percent of the times.

Arithmetic mean value of data bits is 0.0056 (0.5 = random). Monte Carlo value for Pi is 3.990601360 (error 27.02 percent). Serial correlation coefficient is 0.493992 (totally uncorrelated = 0.0). ===========================================================================

Entropy measure of the encrypted block:

===========================================================================
root@ent:~/test# ent enc_block.001
Entropy = 7.988049 bits per byte.

Optimum compression would reduce the size of this 100000000 byte file by 0 percent.

Chi square distribution for 100000000 samples is 2803150.58, and randomly would exceed this value 0.01 percent of the times.

Arithmetic mean value of data bytes is 126.1542 (127.5 = random). Monte Carlo value for Pi is 3.150669486 (error 0.29 percent). Serial correlation coefficient is 0.030260 (totally uncorrelated = 0.0). =========================================================================== root@ent:~/test# ent-b enc_block.001 Entropy = 0.999920 bits per bit.

Optimum compression would reduce the size of this 800000000 bit file by 0 percent.

Chi square distribution for 800000000 samples is 88356.65, and randomly would exceed this value 0.01 percent of the times.

Arithmetic mean value of data bits is 0.4947 (0.5 = random). Monte Carlo value for Pi is 3.150669486 (error 0.29 percent). Serial correlation coefficient is 0.010411 (totally uncorrelated = 0.0). ===========================================================================

In graphical representation:

Encrypted and Decrypted Blocks - Click to Enlarge

Attacks

Since the encryption key is in the chip, it is pretty clear that it can be read and then used to decode the data. But reading such data from a chip isn’t simple.

The first target of an attacker is the keyboard: the user is not forced to use a minimal code length, can just use 0 and it works; but normally a security trained user would type in something more complex like a birthday. Please, spend eight minutes watching this Numberphile video.

With this type of enclosure (there is another with a capacitive keyboard) the attacker can try to find out which numbers were used for the code, looking at the wear and tear of the substrate of the keys. The countermeasure is trivial: all code uses a permutation of all the number 0-9.

As an additional keyboard attack method, with a little engineering, and interest in the data, an attacker can put a small film of sensors between the plastic key and the button on the board and store the key sequence. It would be hard to discover and relatively easy to implement: it just took one minute to physically disassemble the enclosure and there is enough space to store the hardware required including a small CR2032. The countermeasure is also trivial: if you are a company, seal the enclosure and hope that the user constantly checks the seal.

If the attacker has both the knowledge and the tools, he can start to attack the AES key stored in the chip itself. Please refer to Fault attacks on secure chips: from glitch to flash for a good overview.

Chip related attack categories can be briefly summarised as:

Attack Method Summary

Timeframe Summary

Summary

Pro: cheap, easy to use, encrypts well, does not impact the computer CPU, and can be used with each Device/OS combination that supports USB HDs.

Contra: not certified, neither FIPS nor other. Relatively easy to attack. If device is lost, data access is no longer possible.

The Startech Enclosure is very cheap, provides a good encryption (in quality and performance) and can be used as first line of defense for reserved data, so just if you do not want to leave the data unencrypted.

About the Author

Rocco Gagliardi

Rocco Gagliardi has been working in IT since the 1980s and specialized in IT security in the 1990s. His main focus lies in network routing, firewalling and log management.

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Office 365 Teams Security

Office 365 Teams Security

Rocco Gagliardi

Phishing Protection

Phishing Protection

Rocco Gagliardi

Logging

Logging

Rocco Gagliardi

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Hard Disk Encryption Tool: Startech Enclosure

Hard Disk Encryption Tool

Startech Enclosure

Rocco Gagliardi
von Rocco Gagliardi
Lesezeit: 12 Minuten

Für Business User ist die Verschlüsselung von Daten keine freiwillige Sache – sie ist Pflicht. Das gilt auch für tragbare Geräte, die verschlüsselt werden und der Company Policy wie auch anderen Regulatorien entsprechen müssen. Für USB-Sticks habe ich den Carbide USB Stick getestet. Bisher war meine Suche nach einer preiswerten Lösung in Punkto externer Festplatte aber erfolglos. Ich wurde mit der Startech encrypted external Hard Drive enclosure fündig.

Features

Im Grunde genommen verwandelt die Enclosure eine beliebige 2.5” SATA HD oder SSD in ein gesichertes AES-verschlüsseltes Speichermedium mit Passwortschutz. Seitens des Betriebssystems ist keine zusätzliche Software benötigt. Die Enclosure wird mit einem Standard-USB3-Anschluss mit dem Computer verbunden. Sie ist sauber verarbeitet, trotz der Tatsache, dass das Case und die Tasten aus Plastik bestehen. Das Interface ist einfach gehalten und kommt mit nur fünf LEDs aus, die den Status des Geräts anzeigen.

Die Startech Encrypted External Hard Drive Enclosure - zum Vergrössern klicken

Performance

Das Gerät ist USB3.0-kompatibel, verwendet ein Fujitsu MB86C311 USB 3.0-SATA Chipset, und obwohl das durch das mit USB verbundene SCSI-Protokoll (UASP) einen guten Throughput erlaubt, ist es bereits durch den alten SATA R.2 Standard limitiert. Daher liegt die Höchstgeschwindigkeit bei 3Gbps (SATA2). Wir haben das Gerät mit einer Standard-Suite getestet, mit und ohne Verschlüsselung und mit verschiedenen Dateigrössen. Die folgende Grafik zeigt die Resultate.

Data Transfer Rates - Verschlüsselte kontra unverschlüsselte Block Sizes - Zum vergrössern klicken

Die Übertragungsrate ist ganz gut und die Verschlüsselung hat keinen Einfluss auf die Performance.

Sicherheit

Das Case ist um eine Fujitsu MB86C311 gebaut, einer Weiterentwicklung des MB86C30A. Dieses enthält eine eingebettete AES-Engine, die zwei Operation Modes unterstützt: Cipher Block Chaining (CBC), ein Modus um Block Data zu verschlüsseln, und XTS, den XEX-Verschlüsselungsmodus mit Tweaks und Ciphertext Stealing.

Die Verschlüsselungs-Engine ermöglicht es, verschlüsselte Daten auf HDDs zu speichern und damit vertrauliche Daten vor Bedrohungen zu schützen, wenn die tragbare Festplatte verloren oder gestohlen wurde. Oder – wie in vergangenen Jahren oft publiziert – Datenlecks auftauchen, wenn die Festplatte entsorgt wird. Verglichen mit Software Encryption belastet diese Hardware-Verschlüsselung die CPU des Host-PCs nicht und liefert besseren Schutz der Nutzerdaten.

Verschlüsselungshardware

Der Encryption Key ist im Chip eingebrannt und durch Code geschützt. Das macht es relativ hart, den Key herauszufinden aber nicht unmöglich.

MC86C311B Blocks - zum Vergrössern klicken

Verschlüsselungsqualität

Entropiemessung eines entschlüsselten Blocks:

===========================================================================
root@ent:~/test# ent dec_block.001
Entropy = 0.180781 bits per byte.

Optimum compression would reduce the size of this 100000000 byte file by 97 percent.

Chi square distribution for 100000000 samples is 24920010681.90, and randomly would exceed this value 0.01 percent of the times.

Arithmetic mean value of data bytes is 1.4229 (127.5 = random). Monte Carlo value for Pi is 3.990601360 (error 27.02 percent). Serial correlation coefficient is 0.735227 (totally uncorrelated = 0.0). =========================================================================== root@ent:~/test# ent-b dec_block.001 Entropy = 0.050111 bits per bit.

Optimum compression would reduce the size of this 800000000 bit file by 94 percent.

Chi square distribution for 800000000 samples is 782110492.86, and randomly would exceed this value 0.01 percent of the times.

Arithmetic mean value of data bits is 0.0056 (0.5 = random). Monte Carlo value for Pi is 3.990601360 (error 27.02 percent). Serial correlation coefficient is 0.493992 (totally uncorrelated = 0.0). ===========================================================================

Entropiemessung eines verschlüsselten Blocks:

===========================================================================
root@ent:~/test# ent enc_block.001
Entropy = 7.988049 bits per byte.

Optimum compression would reduce the size of this 100000000 byte file by 0 percent.

Chi square distribution for 100000000 samples is 2803150.58, and randomly would exceed this value 0.01 percent of the times.

Arithmetic mean value of data bytes is 126.1542 (127.5 = random). Monte Carlo value for Pi is 3.150669486 (error 0.29 percent). Serial correlation coefficient is 0.030260 (totally uncorrelated = 0.0). =========================================================================== root@ent:~/test# ent-b enc_block.001 Entropy = 0.999920 bits per bit.

Optimum compression would reduce the size of this 800000000 bit file by 0 percent.

Chi square distribution for 800000000 samples is 88356.65, and randomly would exceed this value 0.01 percent of the times.

Arithmetic mean value of data bits is 0.4947 (0.5 = random). Monte Carlo value for Pi is 3.150669486 (error 0.29 percent). Serial correlation coefficient is 0.010411 (totally uncorrelated = 0.0). ===========================================================================

Grafisch sieht das so aus:

Entropie in Blocks - zum Vergrössern klicken

Attacken

Da der Encryption Key im Chip ist, ist es offensichtlich, dass er ausgelesen werden und zum Entschlüsseln der Daten verwendet werden. Aber solche Daten aus einem Chip auszulesen ist schwierig.

Das erste Ziel eines Angreifers ist die Tastatur: Der Nutzer wird nicht gezwungen, eine Mindestlänge im Code zu verwenden, und können daher einfach 0 verwenden. Im Normalfall würde ein Nutzer aber einen komplexeren Code verwenden, wie ein Geburtsdatum. Bitte nehmen Sie sich acht Minuten Zeit, um dieses Video von Numberphile zu schauen:

Mit dieser Enclosure – es gibt noch eine weitere mit einer kapazitiven Tastatur – die ein Angreifer ausnutzen kann, um die für den Code benutzten Nummern zu ermitteln indem er die Abnutzung und das Substrat der Tasten untersucht. Die Gegenmassnahme ist trivial: Jeder Code verwendet Permutationen aller Zahlen zwischen 0 und 9.

Ein weiterer Angriff auf die Tastatur kann mit einem bisschen Fingerspitzengefühl und Interesse an den Daten Erfolg bringen. Der Angreifer kann einen Sensorfilm zwischen die Plastiktasten und den Kontakt auf dem Board legen. Dies wäre sehr schwer zu erkennen und ziemlich einfach einzubauen. Ich brauchte nur eine Minute, um das Gehäuse auseinanderzunehmen und darin ist genug Platz, die für den Angriff benötigte Hardware unterzubringen, inklusive kleiner CR2032-Batterie. Aber auch hier ist die Gegenmassnahme trivial: Als Firma gilt es einfach, die Enclosure zu versiegeln und darauf zu hoffen, dass die Nutzer das Siegel regelmässig überprüfen.

Wenn der Angreifer sowohl Wissen wie auch Werkzeug hat kann er den AES-Key im Chip angreifen. Darüber kann Fault Attacke on secure chips: from glitch to flash eine gute Übersicht geben.

Angriffe auf den Chip können kurz so zusammengefasst werden:

Zusammenfassung der Angriffe

Zeitaufwände

Zusammenfassung

Pro: Günstig, einfach zu verwenden, verschlüsselt gut, belastet die CPU des Computers nicht und kann mit jeder Gerät/Betriebssystem-Kombination verwendet werden, die USB HDs unterstützt.

Contra: Nicht zertifiziert, weder FIPS noch sonstwie. Relativ einfach anzugreifen. Wenn das Gerät verloren ist, ist der Datenzugriff nicht mehr möglich.

Die Startech Enclosure ist sehr günstig, bietet gute Verschlüsselung in Punkto Qualität und Performance und kann als erste Verteidigungslinie für geheime Daten dienen, für den Fall, dass sie ihre Daten nicht unverschlüsselt lassen wollen.

Über den Autor

Rocco Gagliardi

Rocco Gagliardi ist seit den 1980er Jahren im Bereich der Informationstechnologie tätig. In den 1990er Jahren hat er sich ganz der Informationssicherheit verschrieben. Die Schwerpunkte seiner Arbeit liegen im Bereich Routing, Firewalling und Log Management.

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Schutz vor Phishing

Schutz vor Phishing

Rocco Gagliardi

Logging

Logging

Rocco Gagliardi

IT Security Policies

IT Security Policies

Rocco Gagliardi

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv