A First Analysis of the AshleyMadison.com Leak

A First Analysis of the AshleyMadison.com Leak

Dominik Bärlocher
by Dominik Bärlocher
time to read: 4 minutes

Hackers calling themselves the Impact Team have released about 9.6Gb of data containing what they claim to be all of the business data of cheating website AshleyMadison.com. The hackers have gained access to the files in July 2015 and tried to blackmail AshleyMadison’s parent company Avid Life Media (ALM). The Impact Team wanted ALM to cease all operations on AshleyMadison.com and its sister sites immediately and permanently. Should ALM not comply, the data would be made public. ALM did not comply.

Ashley Madison

What Data was Published?

Impact Team’s leak contains, among other data, the following:

The data is unsorted and contained in SQL export files. They contain many duplicates. There are 30,612,512 unique e-mail addresses, 56,323 of which end in .ch.

Can the Data be Viewed?

Theoretically, yes. It is possible you can look at the data, but it is unlikely. The data is stored in cleartext, but the file with the e-mail addresses – arguably one of the smaller files – is 1.7GB in size. Every normal text editor is not made to handle files this size. The files need to be split before they can be read.

Who Was Cheated on?

Even if you’re able to read the data and see all the e-mail addresses without your computer crashing, it doesn’t mean that your partner cheated on you. Security researcher Per Thorsheim has told techblog Techcrunch that AshleyMadison does not verify mail addresses.

This makes it easy for people to create accounts using a fake e-mail address or a mail address that does not belong to them. Also, there are many clearly fake mail addresses such as aaa@bbb.com as well as obvious nicknames.

How Secure is Credit Card Data?

The files leaked by Impact Team contain 2643 files that contain transaction data from credit cards. They’re sorted by day and time of transaction. In these files, ALM has collected the following data:

If your name shows up in one of these files, then it’s highly likely that you were doing business with ALM. With the data ALM has collected, it is not possible to make a purchase using your credit card.

About the Author

Dominik Bärlocher

Dominik Bärlocher has been working with IT subjects since 2006. The journalist relied on his affinity for all things IT during his tenures at news papers and benefited from it. At scip, he conducts OSINT researches and is an expert at information gathering.

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Office 365 Teams Security

Office 365 Teams Security

Rocco Gagliardi

Web-Shells

Web-Shells - An Overview

Ralph Meier

scip Cybersecurity Forecast

scip Cybersecurity Forecast

Marc Ruef

IT Security Tips

IT Security Tips

Andrea Hauser

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Eine erste Analyse des AshleyMadison.Com Leaks

Eine erste Analyse des AshleyMadison.Com Leaks

Dominik Bärlocher
von Dominik Bärlocher
Lesezeit: 3 Minuten

Hacker, die sich Impact Team nennen, haben 9.6GB Daten veröffentlicht, die sämtliche Geschäftsdaten des Fremdgehservices AshleyMadison.com enthalten sollen. Die Hacker sind im Juli 2015 an die Daten gelangt und wollten damit Avid Life Media (ALM), den Betreiber AshleyMadisons und weiterer Seiten erpressen. ALM solle den Betrieb sofort und dauerhaft einstellen, oder die Daten gehen an die Öffentlichkeit.

Ashley Madison

Welche Daten wurden veröffentlicht?

Bei den Daten, die vom Impact Team veröffentlicht wurden, handelt es sich unter anderem um Folgendes:

Die Daten sind im unsortierten SQL-Export abgelegt und enthalten Duplikate. Insgesamt sind 30’612’501 E-Mail-Adressen in den Daten gespeichert, darunter 56’323 Adressen, die auf .ch enden.

Sind die Daten einsehbar?

Theoretisch ja. Es ist möglich, dass Sie die Daten ansehen können, aber unwahrscheinlich. Die Daten sind zwar im Klartext abgelegt, aber die Datei mit den E-Mail-Adressen – eine der kleineren Dateien – ist 1.7 GB gross. Jeder normale Texteditor ist nicht auf die Verwendung solcher Daten ausgelegt. Erst durch Splitten der Dateien wird es möglich, die Daten auszulesen.

Wer ist betrogen worden?

Doch auch selbst wenn Sie in der Lage sind, die Dateien zu durchsuchen, ohne dass Ihr Computer abstürzt, heisst das noch nicht, dass Ihr Partner Sie betrogen hat. Security Researcher Per Thorsheim hat gegenüber dem Techblog Techcrunch angegeben, dass AshleyMadison.com keinerlei E-Mail-Verifikation durchführt.

Das macht es Nutzern leicht, Accounts unter fremdem Namen zu erstellen. Deshalb findet sich unter den eingetragenen Mailadressen Einträge wie aaa@bbb.com und ähnliche Platzhalter. Ferner sind unter den Adressen auch zahlreiche offensichtliche Decknamen

Sind die Kreditkartendaten sicher?

In den Daten, die das Impact Team veröffentlicht hat, sind auch 2643 Kreditkartenreports enthalten. Darin sind alle Transaktionen nach Tag und Uhrzeit sortiert. Darin hat ALM folgende Daten festgehalten:

Wenn Ihr Name in einer dieser Dateien auftaucht, dann ist es sehr wahrscheinlich, dass Sie mit den Datingsites ALMs zu tun hatten. Aber mit den Daten, die ALM gesammelt hat, können Dritte keine Käufe mit Ihrer Kreditkarte tätigen.

Über den Autor

Dominik Bärlocher

Der Journalist Dominik Bärlocher ist seit 2006 im IT-Bereich tätig. Während seiner Arbeit als Journalist bei grossen Schweizer Zeitungen sind ihm seine Recherchefähigkeiten und seine IT-Affinität immer wieder zu Hilfe gekommen. Bei scip AG führt er OSINT Researches durch und betreibt Information Gathering.

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Crypto-Malware

Crypto-Malware

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv