Healthy Paranoia - Goodbye, Passwords!

Healthy Paranoia

Goodbye, Passwords!

Veit Hailperin
by Veit Hailperin
time to read: 7 minutes

One of the most exploited vulnerabilities that happen in an untargeted manner are passwords. Oftentimes, they’re easy to guess and if they aren’t, they’re often re-used with only slight variations. That’s not that astounding, seeing as I’m a security expert myself and I didn’t follow my own advice for the longest time. It’s too much effort. Or so I thought.

Funny, but useless. Source: xkcd.com

The most difficult part for me is to remember a complex string of characters that does not make any sense. I am not even going to think about remembering many of them. Even if XKCD is funny, it’s not a practical solution. The average internet user has anywhere between 10 and 50 passwords. Try the XKCD method times fifty. However, rephrasing the question makes «How can I remember ten to fifty random strings of characters?» into «Must I remember ten to fifty random strings of characters?»

We assume that we must know our passwords, but that’s wrong. There’s this thing, uhm, device that makes our lives easier – it’s called computer. So get a program that remembers passwords for you. These programs are called Password Safes. While they don’t solve all the problems related to passwords, they do take care of the remembering of passwords.

A comprehensive guide to picking the right password

Installation of Password Safes KeePass

One such solution is called KeePass. Installing is easy. In Windows, you download the installer of the professional version from the official KeePass Website and you follow the installation menu.

In Debian based Linux distributions such as Ubuntu, use the following line in Terminal.

$ sudo apt-get install keepassx

or go with a graphic installation tool.

For Mac OS X, the software is available here and a double click starts installation.

The First Start

First Start

After the first start of KeePass, you will have to create a database in which the passwords are being stored. This happen by clicking the image under file.

Neue Datenbank

Next, KeePass asks you what the password for the database should be. This is the only password that’s relevant to remember as it will be required at every start. It should be a very secure password.

Master Password

Confirm it:

Confirmation

Save the database now. Click on File —> Save Database

Save Password

Usage

Most of us have many passwords. There are two different ways how to go about changing these. Either you log into everything at least once and change the password and then save that in the database. Or you change it one by one, every time you need a service. The way you go from insecure passwords to secure ones in the database doesn’t matter, though. Start with your e-mail password, as it’s one of your most important ones. For our example here, we’ll use Facebook, though.

Click on Entries —> Add New Entry...

New Entry

A dialog pops up where all the relevant data can be entered.

Fill in Information

The button labeled Gen. opens the password generator.

Password Generator

There are various settings for the password that’s being generated. Length, complexity, characters and so on. After entering the settings, click on generate and that fills out the password field as well as the confirmation.

Password Settings

After a final click on OK you’re back to the main screen.

List of Passwords

If you want to enter the password you generated into a website’s password field, simply doubleclick the asterisks in the list of passwords. Then you can just paste them into the password field. A nice side effect of this is that the password is never displayed on screen and the password is only stored in the clipboard for a short period of time, which eliminates attacking the clipboard as a vector.

In case you want to see the setting up of a KeePass password in a video:

YouTube Video

Addendum

If you’d rather have you passwords stored on a portable device such as a USB stick, you can use the portable version that can also be found on KeePass’ official website. There, you’ll also find a list of unofficial versions running on Android, Windows Phone and Blackberry.

About the Author

Veit Hailperin

Veit Hailperin has been working in information security since 2010. His research focuses on network and application layer security and the protection of privacy. He presents his findings at conferences.

Links

You are in need of a professional Cyber Threat Intelligence?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Trustworthy AI

Trustworthy AI

Prisca Quadroni-Renella

Farewell NTLM

Farewell NTLM

Michael Schneider

The Secure Use of IoT Protocols

The Secure Use of IoT Protocols

Ralph Meier

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Gesunde Paranoia - Passwörter Ade

Gesunde Paranoia

Passwörter Ade

Veit Hailperin
von Veit Hailperin
Lesezeit: 8 Minuten

Eine der meist verbreiteten Schwachstellen, die im Internet auf ungezielte Art verwendet werden sind Passwörter. Oft sind sie einfach zu erraten, und wenn nicht, dann werden sie zumindest überall, manchmal in leichten Varianten, wiederverwendet. Das verwundert nicht, denn selbst als Sicherheitsexperte habe ich mich lange nicht an meine eigenen Ratschläge gehalten. Es handelt sich um zuviel Aufwand. Dachte ich.

Lustig aber nicht brauchbar. Quelle: xkcd.com

Das Schwierigste für mich ist sich eine komplexe, nicht Sinn-ergebende Zeichenabfolge zu merken, geschweige denn mehrere. Denn auch wenn XKCD erfreut, so ist das keine brauchbare Lösung. Ein durschnittlicher Anwender hat zwischen 10 und 50 Passwörter. Man stelle sich das mit der Lösung von XKCD vor. Wenn man diese Frage umformuliert, dann heisst es aber nicht mehr «Wie kann ich mir zehn bis fünfzig zufällige Zeichenabfolgen merken?» sondern «Muss ich mir eine komplexe Zeichenabfolge merken?».

Wir gehen im Normalfall davon aus, dass wir unsere Passwörter kennen müssen, aber das ist verkehrt. Da gibt es dieses Ding, ähm, Gerät, das uns das Leben einfacher machen soll – Computer heisst es. Man nehme sich ein Programm, welches sich die Passwörter merkt. Diese Programme werden Passwort Safes genannt. Damit sind noch nicht alle Probleme gelöst aber doch schon mal die Frage des sich Merkens.

Eine klare Anleitung für sichere Passwörter

Installation des Passwort Safe KeePass

Eine solche Lösung heisst KeePass. Die Installation ist einfach. Unter Windows lädt man sich den Installer für die Professional Edition von der offiziellen Webseite herunter. Anschliessend folgt man dem Installationsmenü.

Die Installation unter Debian-basierten Linux Distributionen wie z.B. Ubuntu geschieht per

$ sudo apt-get install keepassx

oder per graphischem Installationstool seiner Wahl.

Für Mac OS X kann man die Software hier herunterladen. Ein Doppelklick startet die Installation.

Der erste Start

Der erste Start

Nach dem ersten Start muss zuerst eine Datenbank angelegt werden, in der die Passwörter gespeichert werden. Dies erhält man durch Klicken auf das Bild unter File, beziehungsweise Datei.

Neue Datenbank

Anschliessend fragt einen KeePass, wie das Passwort für die Datenbank lauten soll. Dies ist das einzige Passwort, welches in Zukunft relevant ist und wird bei jedem Start erneut abgefragt. Es sollte ein sehr sicheres Passwort sein.

Masterpasswort

Dieses muss dann noch bestätigt werden:

Bestätigung

Jetzt sollte diese Datenbank zuerst einmal gespeichert werden. Dies geschieht mittels File —> Save Database.

Passwort speichern

Verwendung

Die meisten von uns haben eine Fülle an Passwörtern. Es gibt zwei verschiedene Arten wie man jetzt vorgehen kann. Entweder man loggt sich überall ein, und setzt ein neues Passwort, und speichert es in der Datenbank. Alternativ kann man ansonsten auch jedes Mal, wenn man sich irgendwo einloggt, wo man noch ein unsicheres Passwort verwendet, oder eines, welches auch an einem anderen Ort Einsatz findet es zu ändern. Der Vorgang ist jedoch nicht ausschlaggebend. Fangt mit eurem E-Mail Passwort an, denn das ist eines der wichtigsten Passwörter. Im Beispiel wird Facebook verwendet.

Klicke auf Entries —> Add New Entry...

Neuer Eintrag

Es geht eine Dialogbox auf in welcher man alle Daten die relevant sind abfüllen kann.

Das Formular

Der Knopf Gen. öffnet den Passwortgenerator.

Passwortgenerator

Hier lassen sich diverse Einstellungen über das Passwort festlegen, wie die verwendeten Zeichen, so wie Länge und diverses anderes. Nach dem man seine Einstellungen getroffen hat, klickt man auf Generate. Dies füllt dann das Passwortfeld und die Wiederholung automatisch aus.

Einstellungen und Informationen zum Passwort

Nach einem abschliessenden Klick auf OK landet man wieder im Hauptprogramm:

Liste der Passwörter

Möchte man das Passwort nun z.B. auf einer Webseite in ein Passwortfeld kopieren, macht man ein Doppelklick auf die Sternchen in der Passwortspalte, und kann sie mit Ctrl-V in der Webseite eintragen. Ein netter Nebeneffekt ist, dass das Passwort so nie auf dem Bildschirm angezeigt wird, was Shoulder-Surfing als Angriffsvektor ausschliesst. Auch wird das Passwort nur für einen kurzen Zeitrahmen im Zwischenspeicher gehalten, was anschliessendes Durchsuchen des Zwischenspeichers als Angriffsvektor eliminiert.

Wer die Verwendung gerne noch einmal mittels Video verfolgen möchte, der kann folgendes Video anschauen:

Zusatz

Wer seine Passwörter gerne lieber auf einem portablen Gerät wie USB Stick zwischenspeichert, kann die portable Version verwenden, die sich ebenfalls auf der offiziellen Webseite findet. Dort wird auch eine Liste von nicht offiziellen Versionen geführt, welche dann auf Android, iPhone, Windows Phone und Blackberry laufen.

Über den Autor

Veit Hailperin

Veit Hailperin arbeitet seit 2010 im Bereich der Informationssicherheit. Seine Forschung konzentriert sich auf Network und Application Layer Security sowie auf den Schutz der Privatsphäre. Die Resultate präsentiert er an Konferenzen.

Links

Sie benötigen ein solides Cyber Threat Intelligence?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv