Hackers - 20 Years of Awesome

Hackers

20 Years of Awesome

Dominik Bärlocher
by Dominik Bärlocher
time to read: 12 minutes

Zero Cool. Crash Override. Acid Burn. Cereal Killer. Those are names that make information security professionals – sometimes also dubbed hackers by media and others – both cringe and smile. They’re the reason why quite a number of us are in the field we’re working in today. Because, let’s be honest, 1995’s Hackers is an amazing movie.

Lord Nikon, Crash Override, Acid Burn and Cereal Killer

This year marks the 20th anniversary a of director and writer Iain Softley’s masterpiece Hackers. But its story is a weird one. The movie manages to be awesome and awful at the same time, often for the very same reasons. But what can’t be denied is that its influence is present to this day.

The Awesome Awfulness or the Awful Awesomeness

Hackers tells the story of Dade Murphy (played by Jonny Lee Miller) who, using the alias Zero Cool, crashed 1507 computers in one day. He was sentenced by court to not use a computer until his 18th birthday. On that day, he not only moves to New York City, but also hooks his computer up to the Internet and hacks a TV station as nothing good was on. Calling himself Crash Override now, he meets a hacker named Acid Burn (Angelina Jolie) online. At school, he meets a young man calling himself Phantom Phreak (Renoly Santiago) who specializes in Phreaking, the manipulation of phones. He befriends a group of Hackers who will get into trouble when one of their own hacks a Gibson supercomputer, belonging to oil company Ellingson Mineral.

Now they are on the run from the FBI and their only way to exonerate themselves and prove that they’re innocent is to uncover a plot plotted by Ellingson Mineral’s Computer Security Officer – a man calling himself The Plague.

A lot of things can be said against the movie. The acting is far from the best, the story is unbelievable at best and completely implausible at worst and whenever you see people working on a screen in the movies, it’s outright absurd.

Filesystem on The Gibson

Operating System on The Gibson

Kernel of The Gibson

The Da Vinci Worm

Then there’s the fact that our merry band of hackers goes everywhere on inline skates. Everywhere. Meanwhile, the bad guy uses a skateboard.

It’s a terribly dated movie and it paints a look of hacker culture exactly as it never was. Cyberpunk chique never made its way into it and to this day, there’s not a single company that has a large wall width display of a graphical interface of its company Kernel, let alone a keyboard as ridiculous as the one seen at Ellingson Mineral. In fact, it’s hard to find something like a company Kernel.

So how is it then that people who had no idea about computers made one of the best hacker movies of all time? The awesomeness of this movie lies in everything else.

Magic People, Voodoo People

Hackers was a gateway drug for many of us people in the information security industry. We’re now grown adults with lives, families and pets. But twenty years ago, in 1995, when Hackers came out, we were young.

Most of us were fond of computers even back then. We might have been working on Windows 95 already. We might have been wondering what technological wonders the Pentium MMX would bring and we were often ridiculed for our ability to spend nights and days in front of a screen, just to see if we could maybe manipulate the savestates of Command & Conquer – the very first one – to have more Tiberium and thus gain an edge in the game.

Hackers is the movie that taught us that we can be different. We don’t have to be sports fans to be cool. There was Zero Cool and there was Cereal Killer and there was Acid Burn. They were undeniably very cool. They looked trendy, they were super smart and every machine on this planet was at their feet.

Think back to the 90s for a second. Pagers were cool. Cereal Killer had a pager. Inline skates were cool. Everyone went everywhere on inline skates. Techno music wasn’t quite as popular then as it ended up being not a year later and the Hackers had it. There were even concerts at a club where two hackers with their own TV show – Razor and Blade – lived backstage. Hell, there were hacker clubs! Plural! And they were cool. They were people who understood why someone would like to spend ten hours staring into a text file, tinkering around with values and ultimately doing something people shouldn’t be doing by design.

Not only did the movie first convey something like nerds having the ability to be super cool but it was also inspiring. Could a computer really do all this? Could our computers be hooked up to the phone? Could we break into other computers? Remember, this was 1995 and our modems still made a lot of noise.

We were inspired. Not to steal anything, because even though Zero Cool and his friends were committing what seems to be an astronomically high number of crimes over the course of the movie, they did it for the right reasons. That said, illegal remains illegal, no matter what the reasons. But it did raise a question: Could we do good with our computers while tinkering with them so that they would do things they were not intended to do?

History between us all watching Hackers as impressionable teens and 2015 shows us that tinkering is a good thing. Curiosity is a good thing. A certain amount of criminal thinking and out-of-the-box creativity is a good thing. And, after all, it is using things the way they’re not meant to be used that pays our wages.

Or, to quote the movie’s character Razor:

Remember, hacking is more than just a crime. It's a survival trait.

Hackers is the movie that showed many of us what we could be. This is why we’re looking back on this gloriously crappy movie with fondness. We put it on when there’s a rainy Sunday afternoon and we watch it with our families and loved ones who all question our sanity for the entirety of the 107 minute runtime of the film. But there’s just nothing like Zero Cool proclaiming a creed that gave us all the shivers at one point.

Hack the Planet!

About the Author

Dominik Bärlocher

Dominik Bärlocher has been working with IT subjects since 2006. The journalist relied on his affinity for all things IT during his tenures at news papers and benefited from it. At scip, he conducts OSINT researches and is an expert at information gathering.

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

CIS Controls

CIS Controls

Tomaso Vasella

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Trustworthy AI

Trustworthy AI

Prisca Quadroni-Renella

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Hackers - 20 Jahre Grossartigkeit

Hackers

20 Jahre Grossartigkeit

Dominik Bärlocher
von Dominik Bärlocher
Lesezeit: 12 Minuten

Zero Cool. Crash Override. Acid Burn. Cereal Killer. Das sind Namen, die Profis in der Information Security – manchmal von Medien und anderen Hacker genannt – peinlich berühren und trotzdem zum Lächeln bringen. Sie sind wohl der Grund warum manch einer von uns in der Branche ist. Weil, seien wir mal ehrlich, der Film Hackers aus dem Jahre 1995 ist grossartig.

Lord Nikon, Crash Override, Acid Burn und Cereal Killer

In diesem Jahr wird das Meisterwerk von Regisseur Iain Softley 20 Jahre alt. Der Film mit Kultstatus ist aber etwas seltsam. Er ist sowohl supergut aber auch furchtbar schlecht. Oft sogar aus den exakt selben Gründen. Was aber nicht bestritten werden kann, ist dass der Film massiven Einfluss auf das echte Leben hat.

Die grossartige Grässlichkeit oder die grässliche Grossartigkeit

Hackers ist die Geschichte von Dade Murphy (Jonny Lee Miller), der unter dem Decknamen Zero Cool 1507 vernetzte Computer an einem Tag hat abstürzen lassen. Der damals Elfjährige wurde vom Gericht verurteilt und darf bis zu seinem 18. Geburtstag keinen Computer mehr benutzen. Just an diesem Tag zieht Dade nach New York und schliesst seinen Computer ans Internet an. Er hackt einen Fernsehsender, denn irgendwie läuft grade nichts Gutes. Er nennt sich nun Crash Override und trifft im Netzwerk des Fernsehsenders auf einen anderen Hacker: Acid Burn (Angelina Jolie). Am nächsten Tag in der Schule trifft Date einen jungen Mann der sich selbst Phantom Phreak (Renoly Santiago) nennt, der ein Spezialist in Sachen Phreaking ist, also der Manipulation von Telefonen. Er macht sich schnell Freunde in der lokalen Hackerszene. Sein engster Freundeskreis bekommt aber Ärger, als einer der jungen Männer einen Gibson Supercomputer hackt, der dem Ölkonzern Ellingson Mineral gehört.

Sie sind jetzt also auf der Flucht vor dem FBI und ihr einziger Weg, ihre Unschuld zu beweisen, ist es, den bösen Plan des Ellingson Mineral Computer Security Officers. Das ist ein Mann namens The Plague.

Gegen den Film spricht einiges: Die Schauspielerei ist nicht gerade oscarverdächtig, die Story ist bestenfalls unglaubwürdig und schlimmstenfalls kompletter Blödsinn. Jedes Mal, wenn ein Bildschirm gezeigt wird, ist der Film surrealistisch absurd.

Filesystem des Gibson

Operating System des Gibson

Kernel des Gibson

Der Da Vinci Wurm

Dann ist da noch die Tatsache, dass unsere Helden Inline Skates fahren. Überall hin. Der böse Computer Security Officer hingegen fährt Skateboard.

Der Film ist alles andere als zeitlos und fix in den 1990er angesiedelt. Er zeigt die Hackerkultur genau so, wie sie niemals war. Cyberpunk-Mode hat sich nicht durchgesetzt und bis dato ist mir kein Unternehmen bekannt, dass einen Serverraum hat, der einen wandfüllenden Bildschirm hat. Oder eine dermassen lächerliche Tastatur wie das in besagtem Serverraum. Auch ist es schwierig einen Company Kernel zu finden.

Wie kommt es dann, dass Leute, die offensichtlich keine Ahnung von Computern haben, einen der besten Hacker-Filme aller Zeiten gemacht haben? Die Grossartigkeit liegt in allem, das nicht Hacking ist.

Magic People, Voodoo People

Hackers war wohl für viele von uns in der Information Security eine Art Einstiegsdroge. Wir sind nun Erwachsene mit Existenzen, Familien und Haustieren. Aber vor 20 Jahren, im Jahre 1995 als Hackers erschienen ist, waren wir jung.

Die meisten von uns waren wohl schon damals begeistert von Computern. Vielleicht hatten wir sogar schon Windows 95. Vielleicht haben wir uns damals gefragt, welche technologische Wunder die Generation Pentium MMX bringen würde. Vielleicht wurden wir oft ausgelacht, weil wir uns die Nächte vor dem Computer um die Ohren geschlagen haben, nur damit wir Savegames von Command & Conquer – dem allerersten – manipulieren konnten und so am kommenden Tag mehr Tiberium und damit einen Vorteil im Spiel hatten.

Hackers hat uns gezeigt, dass wir nicht alleine sind. Wir müssen nicht Bayern München oder sonst eine Mannschaft cool finden, um cool zu sein. Unsere Helden waren nicht Lothar Matthäus, Mehmet Scholl und Oliver Kahn sondern Zero Cool, Cereal Killer und Acid Burn. Sie waren unbestreitbar cool. Sie trugen topmodische Kleidung, waren hochintelligent und jede Maschine auf dem Planeten lag ihnen zu Füssen.

Erinnern Sie sich an die 1990er. Pager waren cool. Cereal Killer hatte einen. Inline Skates waren cool. Alle im Film hatten Inline Skates. Techno war noch nicht ganz auf dem Zenit, aber die Hackers hatten den Sound für sich entdeckt. Sie hatten sogar Konzerte in einem Club, wo Backstage zwei Hacker mit ihrer eigenen Fernsehshow – Razor und Blade – gelebt haben. Da war sogar mehr als ein Club für Hacker! Clubs! Plural! Und sie waren cool. Die Hackers waren Menschen, die verstehen, wieso wir uns Nächte vor dem Bildschirm um die Ohren geschlagen haben, in eine schier unendlich lange Textdatei zu starren, nur damit wir am Ende etwas vollbracht hatten, das eigentlich nicht hätte vollbracht werden sollen.

Hackers hat nicht nur aufgezeigt, dass Nerds cool sein können, sondern der Film war auch recht inspirierend. Konnte ein Computer wirklich all das tun? Können wir Computer mit den Telefonnetz verbinden? Kann ich in einen Computer eindringen, der nicht mir gehört? Denken Sie daran, das war 1995 und unsere Modems machten immer noch eine Menge Lärm.

Wir waren trotzdem inspiriert. Nicht, damit wir irgendetwas stehlen oder jemandem Schaden zufügen konnten, auch wenn Zero Cool und seine Freunde eine Unzahl an Verbrechen begangen haben. Sie taten es aus den richtigen Gründen, oder so. Illegal bleibt illegal, daran ist nichts zu rütteln, auch wenn es in Hollywood manchmal schon ein bisschen cool ist, ausserhalb des Gesetzes zu agieren. Das funktioniert aber nur im Film und auch die besten Gründe entschuldigen keine Kriminalität. Aber die Frage kam auf: Könnten wir mit unseren Computern Gutes tun, indem wir die Maschinen so benutzen, wie sie nicht benutzt werden sollten?

Die Geschichte zwischen Hackers im Jahre 1995 und uns im Jahre 2015 zeigt, dass sich diese Gedanken gelohnt haben. Neugierde ist eine tolle Sache. Ein gewisser Grad an krimineller Energie und unkonventionelle Kreativität sind super. Denn genau das, das Nutzen von Computern in Wegen wie sie keiner vorgesehen hat, zahlt unsere Löhne.

Oder, um es in den Worten Razors aus dem Film zu sagen:

Remember, hacking is more than just a crime. It's a survival trait.

Hackers hat uns gezeigt, was wir sein können. Darum blicken wir auf diesen glorreich schlechten Film mit Nostalgie und Liebe zurück. Wir schauen ihn uns an regnerischen Sonntagnachmittagen mit unserer Familie an, die während den ganzen 107 Minuten an unserem Verstand zweifelt. Aber es gibt halt kaum etwas Besseres, als Zero Cool das Credo rufen zu hören, das uns allen einst Gänsehaut beschert hat.

Hack the Planet!

Über den Autor

Dominik Bärlocher

Der Journalist Dominik Bärlocher ist seit 2006 im IT-Bereich tätig. Während seiner Arbeit als Journalist bei grossen Schweizer Zeitungen sind ihm seine Recherchefähigkeiten und seine IT-Affinität immer wieder zu Hilfe gekommen. Bei scip AG führt er OSINT Researches durch und betreibt Information Gathering.

Links

Sie wollen die Resistenz Ihres Unternehmens auf Malware prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv