Cyber Security – Addressing Highly Dynamic Risks

Cyber Security

Addressing Highly Dynamic Risks

Flavio Gerbino
by Flavio Gerbino
time to read: 14 minutes

The term cyber has gradually increased in significance in recent years, alongside information security, and beyond specialist circles. It has become acceptable, and even if the sensationalism of the term has worn off a little, it is used readily and widely. However, it still has a dramatic, almost mythical connotation.

It often comes as a prefix, attaching itself to established terms to lend them a certain gravity and impact: cyber attack, cyber crime, cyber espionage, cyber security, cyber warfare, etc. It has become a universally applicable term of security discourse.

The origins of a word

Delving into the etymology of the word cyber, the first word we come across is cybernetics, the control sciences _of _cybernetics, thus the Greek kybernetes, helmsman, together with his kybernetike (techne), the helmsman’s art, and finally the primary word kybernan, to steer.

In the book What Philologists Love – 27 Word Histories by Klaus Bartels, you will find the following explanation:

This “Greek” kybernetes was an interloper in Greek, with no related words, and we do not know from which “barbarian” land it washed up on the Greek coast.

So this description might suggest why we should really think carefully about the cyber issue – it is precisely this menacing uncertainty, this doubtful, unforeseeable quality that can abruptly make its presence felt from out of nowhere that causes us concern. Just like the Greeks felt about the sudden appearance of the kybernetes.

And in more recent literature, references to the word cyber can be found. In 1982, the American science fiction author William Gibson wrote the short story Burning Chrome. The hacker’s software described in the story is called Cyber Space Seven.

In an interview with the New York Times a few years later, Gibson revealed that in fact the word had no meaning. But he liked it all the same, if only for the sound of the word.

Cyber for businesses

The fact that the term cyber is so widely used makes it all the more important from a corporate point of view to limit it to a specific perspective in order to ensure that the areas of activity are better delineated in context and appropriately defined.

This should extend to cyber security assuming the quasi status of a significant facet of information security and information security management. This reflects the fact that cyber security incorporates everything that the company may wish to protect against premeditated attacks, threats, vulnerabilities and their consequences.

Despite the polyvalent usage of the term, cyber security should be aligned with every other aspect of a company’s information security. Naturally, that includes management disciplines such as governance and risk management.

In contrast with traditional, more static information security, the leitmotif of cyber security stems from its pronounced dynamism, which has a highly situational focus and is, according to the threat level, permanently adaptable in order to address subjects as they arise. This characteristic entails a continual process of improvement that ensures all defined requirements can be fulfilled. These result not just from company-specific security objectives, but also evolve naturally from the development of good practices, legal framework conditions and regulatory rules of play.

Shift in security models

Traditional information security Cyber security
Reactive (historic) Intelligence-driven (future)
Perimeter-based Risk & attack scenario-based
Static controls Dynamic controls
“Silo” management system “Contextual” management system

The action sphere of traditional information security is expanded to encompass all cyberspace as we know it. This includes all the technologies associated with the internet and other networks (including the Darknet) and takes into account extended communication paths, processes, applications, data streams and information. From this, one can draw the following conclusions.

Starting with the major business areas of a company, one can incorporate various perspectives of cyber security that can contribute to a greater understanding of reality in terms of the significance of effective risks and threats:

The development of a tailor-made cyber security strategy, then, comes from taking a bird’s-eye view beyond the company’s industry-standard framework, in order that security innovations and emerging threats and trends from other channels (e.g. Dark Net) are registered and tracked minutely.

Furthermore, national and international advances, strategies and tactics from the fields of business, politics and other organizations or industry groupings can provide a valuable basis for orientation. These include:

Orientation and further development of cyber security measures and projects in terms of a commonsense comparison.

Regulatory positions

In the guideline Corporate governance principles for banks issued by the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision in July 2015, the theme of cyber security and cyber risks is mentioned for the first time.

(…) cyber risks have captured the attention of regulators and bank executives alike after large-scale and coordinated denial of service attacks on banks and high profile criminal hacking (…)

it is interesting that mention is made of cyber risks in the Annual Report of the Swiss National Bank SNB. In other words, cyber attacks are being documented as concrete risks in the financial system for the first time, specifically in the context of the Financial Stability Board:

The FSB promotes international financial stability; it does so by coordinating national financial authorities and international standard-setting bodies as they work towards development of strong regulatory, supervisory and other financial sector policies. It also represents the link between sector-specific standard-setting bodies and the G20.

In Switzerland, FINMA (Financial Market Supervisory Authority) is naturally also concerned with aligning the Swiss basis with international standards, such as the Basel Committee.

That means FINMA, too, is concerned with Summarizing Corporate Governance of Banks (internal control system risk management). Here, they have combined different provisions – previously distributed in various circulars – in one circular and adapted the provisions in the light of findings arising from the financial market crisis and updated international standards.

This results in stricter regulations for corporate governance, internal control systems and risk management, as well as the first use of the term cyber to cover management of IT and cyber risks. This principle of IT and cyber crime is taken up in the 2008/21 Circular: Operational Risks – Banks.

If the new Principle 4, which concerns the cyber security requirements of FINMA, is considered, one sees that the previously mentioned dimensions are almost congruent with current standards of cyber security (NIST Cybersecurity Framework).

FINMA NIST
Planning: Cyber risk management strategy N/A
Identification: Identification of potential risks for cyber attacks Identify
Protect: Protection from cyber attacks Protect
Detection: Detection of cyber attacks Detect
Reaction: Reaction to cyber attacks Respond
Recovery: Recovery after a cyber attack Recover

Cyber security standards

You can now find established standards that form a good basis for development of cyber security strategies:

The essence of cyber security

Cyber security takes more than just an uncritical compliance with regulations, standards and good practices. We have seen that the traditional, preventative perimeter security is no longer reliable enough. Today’s threats tend not to come from perimeter intrusions per se, as the regular, established point of view would have it.

With advanced persistent threats (APT), for example, it becomes clear that the defensive line has already been successfully breached at one or other of the sites of traditional information security and that hackers are able to lurk undetected behind enemy lines, perhaps without causing direct, visible damage at first.

The danger of attackers lurking for extended periods behind these apparent lines of protection is now more real than ever. This requires a paradigm shift among security experts and company management – a shift to security modeling.

In essence, it’s about aligning cyber security objectives with the anticipation of future, potential cyber risks and emerging threats with the objective of optimally preparing and positioning the company to offer the best defense against present and future developments.

The early discovery of targeted attacks through detection of anomalies (and by no means just technical anomalies) and rapid assessment of potential impact – that is, the optimal situational awareness of security in real time – are essential. And this is precisely the essence of cyber security.

This includes, in particular:

Conclusion

There is no simple Archimedean point of cyber security, only countless parameters, protection objectives, risks, threats and attack scenarios. The view of the whole is more than the sum of its parts. And the dangers also arise out of effects and tendencies the causalities and correlations of which we currently have little understanding.

Even the most refined cyber security strategy does not allow us to recognize, register, measure and detect everything. But that’s not to say that we should not engage intensively with cyber security. On the contrary – we find ourselves in a tricky center position. We know some things, we can get more in-depth information on others, and with a bit of imagination we can realistically recognize and register threat scenarios. From this perspective, cyber security is the concrete attempt to do our best for security.

About the Author

Flavio Gerbino

Flavio Gerbino has been in information security since the late 1990s. His main areas of expertise in cybersecurity are the organizational and conceptual security of a company.

Links

Is your data also traded on the dark net?

We are going to monitor the digital underground for you!

×
Passwordless Authentication

Passwordless Authentication

Tomaso Vasella

Data Markets

Data Markets

Marc Ruef

Transport Layer Security

Transport Layer Security

Andrea Hauser

Diversify AI

Diversify AI

Marisa Tschopp

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Cybersicherheit - Hochdynamische Risiken adressieren

Cybersicherheit

Hochdynamische Risiken adressieren

Flavio Gerbino
von Flavio Gerbino
am 14. Juli 2016
Lesezeit: 14 Minuten

Der Begriff Cyber hat in den letzten Jahren auch nebst der Informationssicherheit und ausserhalb spezialisierter Fachkreise sukzessive an Bedeutung gewonnen. Er ist insofern salonfähig geworden und auch wenn sich die Effekthascherei dieses Begriffs inzwischen bereits wieder etwas abgenutzt hat, wird er dennoch gerne und breit verwendet. Noch immer haftet ihm eine durchaus dramatische, ja fast mythische Konnotation an.

Gerne schmückt man etablierte Begriffe mit diesem Präfix, um eine besondere Wichtigkeit und Brisanz zu erwirken: Cyberangriff, Cyberkriminalität, Cyberspionage, Cybersicherheit, Cyberkriegsführung etc. Er ist zum kollektiven Universalbegriff des Sicherheitsdiskurses avanciert.

Versuch einer Wortherkunft

Wenn man nach der Etymologie des Wortes Cyber recherchiert, erscheinen zunächst die englischen cybernetics, die Steuer-Wissenschaften der Kybernetik, sodann der griechische kybernetes, der Steuermann, samt seiner kybernetike (techne), der Steuermannskunst, und schliesslich das Grundwort kybernan, steuern.

Im Buch Was die Philologen lieben – 27 Wortgeschichten von Klaus Bartels findet sich folgende Ergänzung:

Dieser “griechische” kybernetes ist im Griechischen ein Fremdling gewesen, ohne weitere Verwandtschaft, und wir wissen nicht einmal, aus welchem “Barbaren”-Land es ihn an griechische Küsten verschlagen hat.

Ja, vielleicht lässt sich aus dieser Beschreibung erahnen, weshalb wir uns zu recht Gedanken zum Thema Cyber machen müssen: Es ist genau diese bedrohliche Ungewissheit, das Zweifelhafte, nicht vorhersehbare, das ohne sichtbare Herkunft abrupt eintreten kann, das uns Sorge bereitet. Ähnlich wie den Griechen das plötzliche Eintreffen des kybernetes.

Auch in der neueren Literatur gibt es Hinweise auf das Wort Cyber: 1982 schreibt der amerikanische Science-Fiction-Autor William Gibson die Kurzgeschichte Burning Chrome. Die im Roman erwähnte Software der Hacker nannte er Cyber Space Seven.

In einem Interview mit der New York Times einige Jahre später verriet Gibson dann, dass das Wort keinerlei Bedeutung habe. Ihm gefalle es aber trotzdem sehr gut, denn vom Klang her mache es jawohl einiges her.

Cyber im Unternehmen

Da der Begriff Cyber also eine sehr breite Verwendung findet, ist es für eine Betrachtung aus Unternehmenssicht umso wichtiger, dass man sich auf eine spezifische Sichtweise beschränkt, so dass die Handlungsfelder im Kontext besser abgegrenzt und entsprechend definiert werden können.

Dies sollte dann soweit führen, dass Cybersicherheit quasi den Status einer bedeutenden Facette der Informationssicherheit und des Informationssicherheitsmanagements einnehmen kann. Unter dem Aspekt, dass Cybersicherheit alles einschliesst, was das Unternehmen besonders vor vorsätzlichen Angriffen, Bedrohungen, Schwachstellen und daraus resultierenden Folgen schützt.

Trotz der polyvalenten Verwendung des Begriffs, sollte Cybersicherheit auf alle anderen Informationssicherheitsaspekte in einem Unternehmen ausgerichtet werden. Dazu gehören natürlich auch Management Disziplinen wie die Governance und das Risk Management.

Das Leitmotiv der Cybersecurity ergibt sich – im Gegensatz zur traditionellen, eher statischen Informationssicherheit – in ihrer ausgeprägten Dynamik, die sehr situativ fokussiert ist und die je nach Bedrohungslage, permanent anpassungsfähig bleibt, um die jeweils aktuellen Motive adäquat zu adressieren. Diese Charakteristik impliziert einen kontinuierlichen Verbesserungsprozess, der sicherstellt, dass alle definierten Anforderungen erfüllt werden können: Diese ergeben sich nicht nur aus den unternehmensspezifischen Sicherheitszielen, sondern erwachsen natürlich auch aus der Weiterentwicklung von Good-Practices, durchgesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen und regulatorische Spielregeln.

Shift im Sicherheitsmodell

Traditionelle Informationssicherheit Cyber-Sicherheit
Reaktiv (Historisch) Intelligence Driven (Zukunft)
Perimeter-basiert Risk- & Angiffsszenario-basiert
Statische Controls Dynamische Controls
“Silo” Management System “Contextual” Management System

Die Aktionssphäre der traditionellen Informationssicherheit wird nun somit auf den erfassbaren Cyber-Raum expandiert. Dieser schliesst alle mit dem Internet und anderen ähnlichen Netzen (also auch Darknet) verbundene Technologien mit ein und berücksichtigt auch die erweiterten Kommunikationswege, Prozesse, Applikationen und Datenströme und Informationen. Daraus kann man schon mal folgende Schlüsse ziehen.

Aus den bedeutenden Geschäftsfeldern eines Unternehmens heraus, lassen sich für die Cybersicherheit unterschiedliche Perspektiven einnehmen, die dazu beitragen können, die Realität bezüglich der effektiven Risiken und Bedrohungen in ihrer Bedeutung besser zu verstehen:

Die Erarbeitung einer passgenauen Cybersicherheits-Strategie entsteht also, indem auch aus einer Vogelperspektive heraus, über den branchenüblichen Rahmen eines Unternehmens hinweg, sowohl Sicherheitsinnovationen als auch neu entstehende Bedrohungen und Trends aus anderen Kanälen (z.B. Darknet) registriert und minuziös verfolgt werden.

Des Weiteren bilden auch nationale und internationale Vorstösse, Strategien, Taktikten aus Wirtschaft, Politik und anderen Organisationen bzw. Fachgruppierungen der Branche, wertvolle Grundlage für die Orientierung. Dazu gehören:

Ausrichtung und Weiterentwicklung der eigenen Cybersicherheits-Massnahmen und Vorhaben, im Sinne eines Common Sense Abgleiches.

Regulatorische Standpunkte

In der Vorgabe Corporate governance principles for banks des Basel Committee on Banking Supervision vom Juli 2015 findet das Thema Cybersicherheit und Cyberrisiken erstmals eine Erwähnung.

(…) cyber risks have captured the attention of regulators and bank executives alike after large scale and coordinated denial of service attacks on banks and high profile criminal hacking (…)

Interessant ist, dass sogar im Geschäftsbericht der Schweizerischen Nationalbank SNB von Cyberrisken gesprochen wird. Genauer gesagt, werden erstmals Cyberattacken als konkrete Risiken in Finanzsystem dokumentiert und zwar im Kontext des Financial Stability Board FSB:

Der Finanzstabilitätsrat FSB koordiniert die Weiterentwicklung und Förderung stabilitätswirksamer Massnahmen zwischen den sektorenspezifischen Standardsetzungsgremien und unterstützt die nationalen Behörden bei der Umsetzung wirksamer Regulierungs- und Aufsichtsmassnahmen. Er stellt zudem das Verbindungsglied zwischen den sektorenspezifischen Standardsetzungsgremien und der G-20 dar.

In der Schweiz geht es der FINMA (Eidgenössische Finanzmarktaufsicht) nun natürlich auch darum, die schweizerische Basis an die internationalen Standards, wie eben dem erwähnten Basler Ausschuss, anzugleichen.

D.h auch die FINMA ist, daran die aufsichtsrechtlichen Anforderungen an die Corporate Governance der Banken zusammenzufassen (internes Kontrollsystem Risikomanagement). Dafür konzentriert sie diverse Bestimmungen – vorher in unterschiedlichen Rundschreiben verteilt – in einem Rundschreiben und adaptiert die Bestimmungen im Hinblick auf Erkenntnisse aus der Finanzmarktkrise und den modernisierten internationalen Standards.

Daraus folgen strengere Vorschriften für Corporate Governance, interne Kontrollsysteme und Risikomanagement, sowie ebenfalls die erstmalige Einführung des Begriffs Cyber als Management von IT- und Cyberrisiken: Dieser Grundsatz zur IT- und Cyberkriminalität wird ins Rundschreiben 2008/21: Operationelle Risiken Banken aufgenommen.

Wenn man nun den neuen Grundsatz 4 bezüglich Cybersicherheitsanforderungen der FINMA betrachtet, sieht man unweigerlich, dass die erwähnten Dimensionen praktisch kongruent mit gängigen Standards der Cybersicherheit Korrespondieren (NIST: Cyber Security Framework)

FINMA NIST
Planung: Cyberrisikomanagement-Strategie N/A
Identifikation: Identifikation potenzieller Risiken für Cyberangriffe Identify
Schützen: Schutz vor Cyberangriffen Protect
Aufdeckung: Aufdeckung von Cyberangriffen Detect
Reaktion: Reaktion auf Cyberangriffe Respond
Wiederherstellung: Wiederherstellung nach einem Cyberangriff Recover

Standards zur Cybersicherheit

Inzwischen gibt es einige etablierte Standards, die eine gute Basis bilden, um basierend Darauf Cybersicherheits-Strategien zu erarbeiten:

Quintessenz der Cybersicherheit

Das unreflektierte Einhalten von Regularien, Standards und Good-Practices alleine reicht nicht aus, um Cybersicherheit zu gewährleisten. Wir haben gesehen, dass die traditionelle, präventive Perimetersicherheit nicht mehr verlässlich genug ist: Die Bedrohung ist heute nicht der Perimeterübertritt (Intrusion) per se, wie das bei regulärer, althergebrachter Sichtweise der Fall gewesen wäre.

Anhand der Advanced Persistent Threats (APT) zeigt sich beispielsweise deutlich, dass an der einen oder anderen Stelle der traditionellen Informationssicherheit die Verteidigungslinien bereits erfolgreich passiert wurden und sich Hacker unerkannt hinter feindlichen Linien aufhalten können, eventuell zunächst einmal ohne einen direkten, sichtbaren Schaden zu verursachen.

D.h. die Bedrohung, dass sich Angreifer über längere Zeit unbemerkt hinter diesen vermeintlichen Schutzlinien aufhalten können, ist heute realer denn je. Dies erfordert eben den Paradigmenwechsel bei den Sicherheitsverantwortlichen und der Unternehmensführung: Eine Verschiebung in der Sicherheitsmodellierung.

Im Grunde geht es bei der Ausgestaltung der Sicherheitsziele in punkto Cybersicherheit um die Antizipation zukünftiger, potentieller Cyberrisiken und von neu aufkommenden Bedrohungen, mit dem Ziel das Unternehmen optimal vorzubereiten und aufzustellen, um sowohl den bestehenden gegenwärtigen als auch den antizipierten zukünftigen Entwicklungen Paroli bieten zu können.

Die frühzeitige Entdeckung von gezielten Attacken durch das Detektieren von Anomalien (und zwar keinesfalls nur technisch) sowie eine rasche Abschätzung der möglichen Auswirkungen, D.h. eine optimierte Situationswahrnehmung der Sicherheit in Echtzeit sind existentiell. Und darin liegt genau die Quintessenz der Cybersicherheit.

Dies beinhaltet besonders:

Fazit

Es existiert kein einfacher archimedischer Punkt der Cybersicherheit. Sondern nur unzähligen Parameter, Schutzziele, Risiken, Bedrohungen und Angriffsszenarien. Die ganze Betrachtung ist mehr als die Summe der Teile. Und die Gefahren, die damit abgewendet werden sollen, entstehen auch aus Effekten und Tendenzen, deren Kausalitäten und Korrelationen wir derzeit nur unzureichend verstehen.

Auch mit der raffiniertesten Cybersicherheits-Strategie können wir eben dennoch nicht alles erkennen, registrieren, messen und detektieren. Das bedeutet aber durchaus nicht, dass wir uns deshalb nicht intensiv mit Cybersicherheit auseinandersetzen sollten. Im Gegenteil: Wir befinden uns in einer vertrackten Mittelposition. Wir wissen einiges, können uns über manches vertieft informieren und mit etwas Phantasie diverse Bedrohungsszenarien realistisch erkennen und registrieren. Cybersicherheit ist aus dieser Perspektive, der konkrete Versucht, daraus das Beste für die Sicherheit zu machen.

Über den Autor

Flavio Gerbino

Flavio Gerbino ist seit Ende der 1990er Jahre im Bereich der Informationssicherheit tätig. Seine Schwerpunkte liegen im Bereich der strategischen Ausrichtung und des Managements der Sicherheit eines Unternehmens.

Links

Werden auch Ihre Daten im Darknet gehandelt?

Wir führen gerne für Sie ein Monitoring des Digitalen Untergrunds durch!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv