Asset Inventories – Making them sexy

Asset Inventories

Making them sexy

Dominik Altermatt
by Dominik Altermatt
on November 15, 2018
time to read: 8 minutes

Keypoints

This is how you make Asset Inventories sexy again

  • Asset inventories have a dusty, boring image
  • But with a relatively small investment they offer many advantages for operations as well as security
  • Asset inventories are essential for a systematic IT security concept
  • They can support secondary processes such as vulnerability and patch management

I’ve heard from various people working in IT and IT security that asset inventories are boring, unsexy and don’t have enough bite to them. They seem to have a bad reputation and are consequently hard to “sell”. Customers prefer current generation security devices instead.

This makes no sense to me. Any reputable IT security guide or standard starts out with an asset inventory that at least includes hardware and software assets. And rightly so. Aside from that, it is a logical and rudimentary concept that IT security requires a foundation. Without some sort of general framework, it’s impossible to be certain that efforts will actually be effective across the board and that nothing falls by the wayside.

An approach to Systematic Implementation

So what is the foundation, or how do you begin to systematically implement IT security controls once you have identified and ideally defined which of the countless potential cyber risks you are exposed to?

By documenting your hardware and software assets.

Starting with the network and its users, the question is who is using the network and do they actually have the appropriate authorization to do so? It is not just intruders with malicious intent who are unauthorized – but also any infected personal devices belonging to staff. After a certain period of time, all known devices are flagged as authorized in the hardware inventory, and any unknown devices will be detected relatively quickly and can be investigated. This is the first reason why it makes sense to implement automated mechanisms, which take an inventory of the population of devices operating on your own network.

Then you have the OS and software that are installed on the devices. On which devices? Yes, on those devices found in the hardware inventory. This explains the second good reason for having a hardware inventory.

The software inventory therefore comes next. It essentially consists of two lists: one describing the required and authorized software, i.e. a list representing a sort of ideal state, the other collected from the devices to determine what is actually installed, i.e. the current state. The discrepancies between the two should then be eliminated as appropriate.

In addition, the following security tasks are based on the HW and SW inventory or depend on them in one form or another:

If you do not have a HW and SW inventory yet, focus on the following items, which will in any case make it easier to get started with the task.

Getting started with Asset Inventories

HW and SW inventories are tightly interwoven, which is why it is helpful to first take inventory of the hardware and then enrich the data in a second step by taking inventory of the installed software.

It also helps to begin with a few relatively simple tasks, particularly if you have little or no experience in this kind of undertaking.

But first let’s examine the following requirements rationally.

HW Inventory

  1. Tool: Active inventory of devices on all networks and at all sites, including in the cloud
  2. Tool: Passive inventory of devices on all networks and locations, including in the cloud
  3. Tool: The inventory itself, which is used to manage the collected data and includes the appropriate reporting functions. Initial reports might include:
    • List of all unauthorized or unknown devices
    • List of devices with incomplete data
  4. Process: Managing the inventories, i.e. adding/decommissioning authorized devices as well as including additional information about them. Ultimately, the following data should be provided from the start:
    • MAC address
    • IP address
    • Name
    • “Last seen on” [date/time]
    • Type (server, client, IoT, etc.)
    • Location
    • Responsible party
    • Department
    • Flag: Authorized/unauthorized
  5. Process: Analysis and tracking of unauthorized devices. These must either be removed or authorized.

This list is not exhaustive, but it is a good starting point. Certificate-based Network Access Control (NAC) can be implemented here in the next step.

SW Inventory

  1. Process: Create an “ideal state” list of authorized software, i.e. the inventory of the software required within the business context. This can sometimes be tricky, so you can also start with step two and use tools designed for creating an inventory of all installed software. This will then provide a basis for determining which software is authorized. The list should also include a support and licensing model, responsibilities, and manufacturer information.
  2. Tool: Active inventory of all software and versions, as well as installation date (if possible) on the devices included in the HW inventory.
  3. Tool: The inventory itself, which is used to manage the collected data and includes the appropriate reporting functions. Ideally, the data records in the hardware inventories are enriched with data from the SW inventory. Initial reports might include:
    • List of all devices running unauthorized software
    • List of incomplete entries
  4. Process: Analysis and tracking of unauthorized software. These must either be removed or authorized.

This list is not exhaustive either. The next step is to address the issue of application whitelisting. Microsoft’s own solution AppLocker can be used for this purpose.

Tools

But let’s return to the topic of tools. Simple methods might include:

If adequate scripting capabilities are available, implementing these measures can be an interesting task. It should be noted that known data formats are used and that script maintenance should not be underestimated.

But ready-to-use open source or freeware solutions can be quickly deployed as well. For instance, these projects offer appropriate solutions:

Large and usually expensive suites from well-known software makers should only be considered later on – if at all. The requirements for taking an initial asset inventory are relatively manageable. If vulnerability management and other issues need to be addressed later, there are additional requirements that have to be met and a certain degree of dynamism and flexibility are helpful.

Metrics

Successes should be reported. The information collected in the course of managing a simple asset inventory is an excellent source of data that can be presented to management:

Conclusion

Ideally, the many companies that are increasingly confronted with cybersecurity risks without having established a proper, systematic foundation for security will begin addressing the problem by carrying out a basic asset inventory. It’s a relatively inexpensive way of getting good results, or systematically improving the security of your own IT infrastructure in the long-term.

About the Author

Dominik Altermatt

Dominik Altermatt is working since 2003 in the IT business and was responsible for Data Leakage Prevention at a Swiss bank for many years. Besides traditional penetration testing he is also focusing on the introduction and improvement of IT security management processes. (ORCID 0000-0003-4575-4597)

Links

You want to test the security of your firewall?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Traffic Analysis with Windows Built-In Tools

Traffic Analysis with Windows Built-In Tools

Dominik Altermatt

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Asset Inventories - Make them sexy

Asset Inventories

Make them sexy

Dominik Altermatt
von Dominik Altermatt
am 15. November 2018
Lesezeit: 8 Minuten

Keypoints

So machen Sie Asset Inventories wieder sexy

  • Asset-Inventories gelten als staubig und langweilig
  • Sie bieten aber sowohl für Betrieb als auch Security viele Vorteile mit verhältnismässig wenig Investition
  • Ohne Asset-Inventory kann keine systematische IT-Security aufgebaut werden
  • Weiterführende Prozesse wie Vulnerability und Patch Management können darauf aufbauen

Von verschiedenen Personen in der IT und auch in der IT-Security habe ich schon vernommen, dass Asset-Inventories langweilig sind, nicht sexy und knackig genug. Sie scheinen einen schlechten Ruf zu habe, lassen daher schlecht “verkaufen” und der Kunde möchte lieber Current Generation Security Devices.

Ich verstehe das nicht. Jeder vernünftige IT-Security Guide oder Standard rät initial eine Asset-Inventory, welches mindestes Hard- und Software Assets abdeckt, zu erstellen. Und dies zu Recht. Aber abgesehen davon, ist es logisch und elementar, dass die IT-Security eine Basis benötigt. Ohne eine Auslegeordnung kann man nicht sich nicht gewiss sein, dass Anstrengungen auch flächendeckend greifen und nichts vergessen geht.

Systematischen Implementierung angehen

Was ist also die Basis, respektive der Startpunkt einer systematischen Implementation von IT Security Kontrollen, nachdem man erkannt und bestenfalls definiert hat das man den mannigfaltigen Cyberrisken ausgesetzt ist?

Es ist die Definition von Hard- und Software Assets.

Angefangen beim Netzwerk und dessen Teilnehmer: Die Frage lautet, wer nimmt daran teil und sind die Teilnehmer auch autorisiert dazu? Nicht autorisiert sind nicht nur Angreifer mit bösen Absichten, sondern auch das allenfalls virenverseuchte private Gerät eines Mitarbeiters. Nach einer gewissen Zeit sind alle bekannte Geräte als autorisiert im Hardware-Inventory markiert, und jedes unbekannte Gerät fällt relativ schnell auf und kann investigiert werden. Dies ist der erste Grund warum es sinnvoll ist, automatisierte Mechanismen zu implementieren, welcher die Population der Geräte im eigenen Netzwerk erhebt.

Dann ist auf den Geräten OS und Software installiert. Auf welchen Geräten? Korrekt, auf jene aus dem Hardware-Inventory. Somit sollte der zweite gute Grund für eine Hardware-Inventory geklärt sein.

Das Software-Inventory ist somit der nächste Schritt. Im Grunde besteht dieses aus zwei Listen. Eine Liste beschreibt die benötige und autorisierte Software, also quasi die Soll-Liste. Die zweite Liste muss auf den Geräten erhoben werden, was ist also effektiv installiert, somit die IST-Liste. Der Gap dazwischen soll dann auf die eine oder andere Art eliminiert werden.

Weiter basieren unter anderen folgenden Security-Themen auf HW- und SW-Inventory oder sind davon in der einen oder anderen Form abhängig:

Wer in seiner Umgebung noch keine HW- und SW-Inventory betreibt, kann sich an folgende Punkte halten, welche allenfalls den Einstig in das Thema erleichtern.

Asset-Inventory Starthilfe

HW- und SW-Inventories sind eng miteinander verbunden. Somit ist es sinnvoll, erst die Hardware zu erheben und diese in einem zweiten Schritt mit der drauf installierten Software anzureichern.

Weiter ist es sinnvoll mit entsprechend simplen Mitteln zu starten. Vor allem wenn noch keine oder wenig Erfahrung im Unternehmen vorhanden sind.

Zuerst aber zu den Anforderungen, welche nüchtern Betrachte die folgenden sind.

HW-Inventory

  1. Tool: Aktive Erhebung von Geräten in allen Netzwerken und Standorten inklusive Cloud
  2. Tool: Passive Erhebung von Geräten in allen Netzwerken und Standorten inklusive Cloud
  3. Tool: Das Inventory selbst, welches die erhobenen Daten verwaltet und entsprechende Reportfunktionalität aufweist. Initiale Reports können sein:
    • Liste aller nicht autorisierten respektive unbekannten Geräten
    • Liste der Geräte mit unvollständigen Daten
  4. Prozess: Pflege des Inventories, respektive die Aufnahme von neuen autorisierten Geräten und deren Dekomissionierung sowie deren Anreicherung von Zusatzinformationen. Schlussendlich sollten initial folgenden Daten abgefüllt sein:
    • MAC Adresse
    • IP Adresse
    • Name
    • “Zuletzt gesehen am” [Datum/Urzeit]
    • Typ (Server, Client, IoT, etc.)
    • Standort
    • Verantwortlicher
    • Abteilung
    • Flag: Autorisiert / nicht autorisiert
  5. Prozess: Analyse und Verfolgung von nicht autorisierten Geräten. Diese müssen entweder entfernt oder autorisiert werden.

Die Liste ist hier nicht zu Ende, jedoch als Start ausreichenden. Die Implementation einer zertifikatsbasierten Network Access Control (NAC) kann hier als nächster Schritt implementiert werden.

SW-Inventory

  1. Prozess: Erstellen der Soll-Liste von autorisierter Software, das heisst die Erhebung jener Software, die im Geschäftskontext erforderlich ist. Dies kann unter Umständen eine schwierige Angelegenheit sein. Darum kann auch mit Schritt zwei begonnen werden und initial mittels geeigneter Tools alle installierte Software erhoben werden, um dann auf dieser Basis zu bestimmen, welche Software autorisiert wird. Weiter soll diese Liste mit Support- und Lizenz-Modell, Verantwortung, Hersteller Informationen versehen werden.
  2. Tool: Aktive Erhebung aller Software, deren Version sowie Installations-Datum (wenn möglich), welche auf den Geräten aus dem HW-Inventory installiert ist.
  3. Tool: Das Inventory selbst, welches die erhobenen Daten verwaltet und entsprechende Reportfunktionalität aufweist. Idealerweise werden die Datensätzen das HW-Inventories mit den Daten aus der SW-Erhebung angereichert. Initiale Reports können sein:
    • Liste aller Geräte, welche nicht autorisierte Software aufweisen
    • Liste von unvollständigen Einträgen
  4. Prozess: Analyse und Verfolgung von nicht autorisierter Software. Diese müssen entweder entfernt oder autorisiert werden.

Diese Auflistung ist hier ebenfalls nicht zu Ende. In einem nächsten Schritt wird das Thema Application Whitelisting relevant. Dazu kann z.B. das Microsoft Boardmittel AppLocker verwendet werden.

Tools

Nun zurück zu den Tools. Simple Mittel können sein:

Falls ausreichend Scripting-Fähigkeiten im Unternehmen vorhanden sind, sind solche Themen spannend in der Umsetzung. Dabei zu beachten ist, dass bekannte Datenformate genutzt werden und die Wartung der Scripts nicht zu unterschätzen ist.

Aber auch eine fertige Lösung im OpenSource oder Freeware-Bereich können rasch eingesetzt werden. Zum Beispiel bieten folgende Projekte entsprechende Lösungen an:

Die grossen und meist teuren Suiten der bekannten Hersteller sollten erst, wenn überhaupt, zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt in Betracht gezogen werden. Die Anforderungen an ein initiales Asset-Inventory sind relativ überschaubar. Kommt später ein Vulnerability-Management und andere Themen hinzu, sind weitere Anforderungen zu erfüllten und eine gewisse Dynamik und Flexibilität ist daher von Nutzen.

Metriken

Wenn was Gutes getan wurde, sollte darüber berichtet werden. Die Informationen, welche aus dem Betrieb einem simplen Asset-Inventories entspringen, eignen sich wunderbar, um dem Management Zahlen zu präsentieren:

Fazit

Es ist zu hoffen, dass viele der Unternehmen, welche sich zunehmend mit den Risiken rund um Cybersecurity beschäftigen müssen aber noch keine eigenen systematischen Grundschutz aufgebaut haben, mit einem simplen Asset-Inventory beginnen. Für relativ geringe Kosten kann eine guter Ertragt erreicht werden, respektive die Sicherheit der eigenen IT-Infrastruktur kann systematisch und langfristig angehoben werden.

Über den Autor

Dominik Altermatt

Dominik Altermatt arbeitet seit 2003 in der IT-Branche. Unter anderem hat er sich mehrere Jahre mit Data Leakage Prevention bei einer Grossbank beschäftigt. Heute liegen seine Schwerpunkte neben klassischen Penetration Tests bei der Einführung und der Weiterentwicklung von IT-Security-Management-Prozessen. (ORCID 0000-0003-4575-4597)

Links

Sie wollen die Sicherheit Ihrer Firewall prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Traffic-Analyse mit Windows-Boardmitteln

Traffic-Analyse mit Windows-Boardmitteln

Dominik Altermatt

Cisco WebEx Online Meeting Security

Cisco WebEx Online Meeting Security

Dominik Altermatt

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv