FONES Minimum Standard - State of cyber security in the energy sector and sector-specific standards

FONES Minimum Standard

State of cyber security in the energy sector and sector-specific standards

Mark Zeman
by Mark Zeman
on August 05, 2021
time to read: 8 minutes

Keypoints

This is the FONES Minimum Standard in the Energy Sector

  • Implementation of the minimum standard remains minimal
  • Explicit strategies help, but even the best results remain under target
  • Overall, not even first maturity level reached
  • Sector manuals differ a lot in length and detail
  • Some very brief and straightforward, some long and convoluted

Two years ago, we last wrote about the ICT minimum standard from the Federal Office of National Economic Supply. Recently, this was picked up by the media as the energy companies, according to a survey conducted by the government, have failed to prepare and did not implement the recommendations from the minimum standard properly.

In particular, the energy sector set themselves a goal of reaching an average maturity grade of 2.6 and achieved on of barely under 1. We will take this as an opportunity to look at the standard again, in particular the sector-specific manuals and how they differ, as well as what this target number means.

Maturity Grades

The ICT minimum standard defined the following scale:

Grade Description
0 Not implemented
1 Partially implemented, not fully defined and adopted
2 Partially implemented, fully defined and adopted
3 Implemented, fully or largely implemented, static
4 Adaptive, implemented, continuously reviewed, improved

The target of the electricity industry, to achieve between 2 and 3 on this scale, is therefore at first sight a realistic target, which brings clear improvement. This would give us clearly defined and tested measures that have at least been partially implemented – a “good start”, so to speak. We could then build on this in the coming years and achieve further improvements.

The score was only just 1 (0.898 on average across all functions), which means that it has not even been fully defined what is to be implemented. It is not surprising that the federal government now wants to switch from voluntary to mandatory and establish an auditing office.

The function Protect scores the highest, with a result of 1.08, while Respond scores the worst with 0.66. Since the survey is a self-assessment without evidence, these results are probably to be read as optimistic, most likely being higher than they ought to be. However, it is important to be aware that some areas were also excluded here, in particular nuclear power plants, which are already separately regulated in terms of cybersecurity.

Switch to “Assume Breach”

Now, it is easier to say that improvements are needed in all areas than to implement them. As the federal government also states in its strategy for protection against cyber risks, it is becoming increasingly apparent that a successful attack is merely a matter of time. Under this paradigm, also called Assume Breach – assume you have been hacked – the functions Detect, Respond and Recover are particularly important. From the point of view of this critical infrastructure, this makes even more sense, as a short-term power outage is much less severe than months of restricted operations, as currently experienced by the Irish Health Service Executive.

Currently, the highest maturity is in the Protect function, which is still based on the older paradigm that you can completely prevent successful attacks by taking sufficient preventive measures. Now, it is certainly important not to disregard this function, but the strategy of first and foremost improving the response to an attack is certainly not inappropriate. However, both the ICT minimum standard and the industry manuals still have to be adapted to this.

Sector-specific Manuals?

As addressed in the original article, specific variants of the minimum standard have been developed, which should be tailored to individual industries. These differ, in some cases significantly, in their approaches to how the industry achieves higher resilience. The industry standard for wastewater utilities, for example, at 36 pages, is shorter than the ICT minimal standard and provides only a brief motivation, then moves directly into a checklist that can be used to improve resilience. Certainly not the most detailed approach and one that risks, despite the clear warning that security is not a state but a process, that this checklist will be worked through exactly once. Still, even this checklist is fundamentally thoughtful, and those who can answer yes to all questions are better off than they were before.

The standards for public transport, the gas sector and food supply are also rather concise. In contrast to the generic standard, the standards for public transport and the gas sector additionally explain what the critical processes in the sectors are that need to be protected, while the standard for the food supply sector primarily explains how a defense-in-depth strategy can be implemented.

The situation is different for the water supply and electricity sectors, which present documents of around 150 pages. The water industry nominally divides its industry manual into a main document and 4 appendices. The main document briefly explains the context and critical systems, while the appendices provide the details. The explanations of the Cyber Security Framework and Defense-In-Depth are similar to those for the other industries. In addition, there are additional recommendations for small water utilities serving fewer than 5,000 residents, which are not saddled with the full standard, but only provided with tips that would almost be in the right place for a private user. It is certainly commendable to formulate more appropriate recommendations for smaller companies, but these seem so generic and so with such a low bar that it will likely add little value. At least the industry can now be measured against this document. Lastly, there are three implementation examples, although these do seem somewhat idiosyncratic. In the first example, for example, the minimum target is rated as achieved (i.e., a value >= 2.6 achieved), but the entire Detect function has been excluded on the grounds that the sample company is taking a risk-based approach. Overall, the examples seem very kindly scored. Nevertheless, they are certainly valuable as a template for how this issue can be approached and audited.

The electricity industry, on the other hand, focuses on describing a security strategy in detail and devotes a little more than half of its document to this topic. The goal is to allow industry leaders to formulate their own strategies. However, as has now been shown in practice, this does not seem to have worked and while the companies that have formulated such a strategy are further along than those that have not, even these companies are not as far along as they should be. The industry standard also includes 21 Steps to Increase Cyber Security, which seem to be taken relatively directly from the U.S. Department of Energy. These are somewhat more concrete, but are still high-level and in some places extremely complex in their formulation. There is little talk of gradual improvements. A checklist as in the industry standard of the wastewater companies should achieve better results here, since it is much clearer and simpler.

Closing Thoughts

The relatively short and clear idea of the ICT minimum standard was thus developed into several industry manuals, some of which attempt to be just as short and directly applicable and some of which attempt to formulate lengthy strategies. For the electricity industry, the attempt to rely on a complex and detailed strategy now seems to have failed, at least in its current form. It would now be interesting to conduct more such surveys or studies and thus see how the situation has developed in other industries, i.e. whether the significantly shorter manual for the transport companies spurred on more improvements or the lower requirements for small water suppliers are better implemented and do bring added value after all.

In the long run, however, it is probably inevitable that for such critical infrastructure, binding requirements will be formulated and enforced by the federal government. As we have clearly seen several times in the recent past, one cannot rely exclusively on individual responsibility, but must proceed collectively. Analogously, it might also be worthwhile here to subsidize projects to improve cybersecurity and to actively follow their implementation in order to accelerate the improvement.

About the Author

Mark Zeman

Mark Zeman has a Master of Science in Engineering with focus on Information and Communication Technologies at the FHNW. He was able to transform his passion of information security to his focus since 2017. During his bachelor studies he worked for an email security company. (ORCID 0000-0003-0085-2097)

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
OWASP Core Rule Set

OWASP Core Rule Set

Mark Zeman

totemomail

totemomail

Mark Zeman

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

BWL-Minimalstandard - Stand der Cybersicherheit in der Strombranche und branchen-spezifische Handbücher

BWL-Minimalstandard

Stand der Cybersicherheit in der Strombranche und branchen-spezifische Handbücher

Mark Zeman
von Mark Zeman
am 05. August 2021
Lesezeit: 9 Minuten

Keypoints

So funktioniert der BWL-Minimalstandard in der Strombranche

  • Umsetzung des IKT-Minimalstandards bleibt minimal
  • Explizite Strategien helfen, aber auch beste Resultate unter Ziel
  • Insgesamt nicht mal ersten Maturitätsgrad erreicht
  • Branchenhandbücher unterscheiden sich deutlich
  • Einige sehr knapp und direkt, andere sehr lang und umständlich

Vor knapp 2 Jahren schrieben wir zuletzt über den IKT-Minimalstandard des Bundesamts für wirtschaftliche Landesversorgung. Nun wurde dieser kürzlich in den Medien aufgegriffen, da die Stromversorger gemäss einer Umfrage des Bundes nicht ausreichend vorbereitet sind und die Empfehlungen des Minimalstandards ungenügend umgesetzt haben.

Insbesondere hat sich die Energiebranche selber das Ziel gesetzt, im Schnitt einen Maturitätsgrad von 2.6 zu erreichen, hat nun aber nur knapp unter 1 erreicht. Das nehmen wir nun zum Anlass, den Standard erneut zu betrachten, insbesondere wie sich die branchen-spezifischen Handbücher unterscheiden sowie was diese Zielsetzungen bedeuten.

Maturitätsgrade

Im IKT-Minimalstandard wurden folgende Skala definiert:

Grad Beschreibung
0 Nicht umgesetzt
1 Partiell umgesetzt, nicht vollständig definiert und abgenommen
2 Partiell umgesetzt, vollständig definiert und abgenommen
3 Umgesetzt, vollständig oder grösstenteils umgesetzt, statisch
4 Dynamisch, umgesetzt, kontinuierlich überprüft, verbessert

Die Zielsetzung der Strombranche, hier zwischen 2 und 3 zu landen, ist daher auf den ersten Blick eine realistische Zielsetzung, die klare Verbesserung bringt. Damit hätte man klar definierte und geprüfte Massnahmen welche zumindest teilweise umgesetzt sind – ein “guter Start”, sozusagen. Darauf könnte man dann in kommenden Jahren aufbauen und weitere Verbesserungen erreichen.

Erreicht wurde nun nur knapp eine 1 (0.898 im Schnitt über alle Funktionen), was bedeutet, dass noch nicht einmal vollständig definiert wurde, was umzusetzen ist. Da ist nicht überraschend, dass der Bund nun von Freiwilligkeit auf Verbindlichkeit wechseln möchte, und eine Prüfbehörde aufbauen will.

Am besten schneidet die Funktion Schützen ab, wo ein Resultat 1.08 erreicht werden konnte, während Reagieren mit 0.66 am schlechtesten abschneidet. Da es sich bei der Umfrage um eine Selbsteinschätzung ohne Nachweise handelt, sind diese Resultate wohl sogar noch optimistisch zu verstehen, eher höher als die Realität. Es ist aber wichtig, sich bewusst zu sein, dass hier auch einige Bereiche ausgeschlossen wurden, insbesondere die Kernkraftwerke, die auch bezüglich Cybersicherheit bereits separat reguliert sind.

Allerdings ist auch zu beachten, dass der Durchschnitt hier zwar die Maturität der Branche abbildet, aber es doch auch klare Unterschiede zwischen den Unternehmen gab. Einer der ersten Schritte in der Verbesserung scheint eine explizite Strategie für den Umgang mit IT und OT (operationeller Technik) zu sein. Die Firmen (rund 50% der Teilnehmer), welche solch eine Strategie haben, erreichten Werte deutlich über 1. Trotzdem ist die Aussage des Berichts, dass die Betriebe vom Zielwert weit entfernt sind, korrekt. Immerhin scheinen sich die Betreiber von Smart Metern der Sicherheitsproblematik bewusst zu sein und gaben überwiegend an, dies zu berücksichtigen.

Umstellen auf “Assume Breach”

Nun ist es leichter zu sagen, dass hier in allen Bereichen Verbesserungen notwendig sind, als dies umzusetzen. Wie der Bund in seiner Strategie zum Schutz vor Cyber-Risiken auch festhält, zeigt sich zunehmend, dass ein erfolgreicher Angriff bloss eine Frage der Zeit ist. Unter diesem Paradigma, auch Assume Breach – nimm an, dass du gehackt wurdest – genannt, sind insbesondere die Funktionen Erkennen, Reagieren und Wiederherstellen wichtig. Aus Sicht dieser kritischen Infrastruktur macht dies erst recht Sinn, da ein kurzzeitiger Stromausfall deutlich weniger schlimm ist, als monatelang eingeschränkte Operationen, wie es zurzeit die irische Krankenversicherungsbehörde Health Service Executive erlebt.

Die zurzeit höchste Maturität ist in der Funktion Schützen, was noch auf dem älteren Paradigma beruht, dass man durch ausreichende Präventionsmassnahmen erfolgreiche Angriffe komplett verhindern kann. Nun ist es sicher wichtig, diese Funktion auch nicht ausser Acht zu lassen, aber die Strategie, dass zunächst vorallem die Reaktion auf einen Angriff zu verbessern ist, ist sicherlich nicht unangebracht. Daran müssen aber sowohl der IKT-Minimalstandard, als auch die Branchenhandbücher erst noch angepasst werden.

Branchen-spezifische Handbücher?

Wie im ursprünglichen Artikel angesprochen, wurden spezifische Varianten des Minimalstandards ausgearbeitet, welche auf die einzelnen Branchen abgestimmt sein sollten. Diese unterscheiden sich teils deutlich in ihren Ansätzen, wie die Branche zu höherer Resilienz kommt. Der Branchenstandard für die Abwasserbetriebe ist z.B. mit 36 Seiten kürzer als der IKT-Minimalstandard und gibt nur eine kurze Motivation, um dann direkt in eine Checkliste überzugehen, anhand derer die Resilienz verbessert werden kann. Sicher nicht der ausführlichste Ansatz und riskiert, dass trotz der klaren Warnung, dass Sicherheit kein Zustand, sondern ein Prozess ist, dass diese Checkliste genau einmal abgearbeitet wird. Trotzdem, auch diese Checkliste ist grundsätzlich durchdacht und wer alle Fragen mit Ja beantworten kann, steht besser da, als zuvor.

Auch die Standards für den öffentlichen Verkehr, den Gassektor und die Lebensmittelversorgung halten sich eher knapp. Für den öffentlichen Verkehr und den Gassektor wird gegenüber dem generischen Standard zusätzlich erläutert, was in den Sektoren spezifisch die kritischen Prozesse sind, die es zu schützen gilt, während der Standard für die Lebensmittelversorgung vor allem zusätzlich erläutert, wie eine Defense-in-Depth Strategie umgesetzt werden kann.

Anders bei der Wasserversorgung und der Strombranche, welche rund 150-seitige Dokumente vorlegen. Die Wasserbranche unterteilt ihr Branchenhandbuch nominell in ein Hauptdokument und 4 Anhänge. Das Hauptdokument erläutert kurz den Kontext und die kritischen Systeme, während die Anhänge die Details enthalten. Die Erläuterungen zum Cyber Security Framework und zu Defense-In-Depth sind dabei ähnlich wie bei den anderen Branchen. Hinzu kommen zusätzliche Empfehlungen für kleine Wasserversorger, welche weniger als 5000 Einwohner versorgen und denen nicht der komplette Standard aufgehalst wird, sondern nur Tips, die auch bei einem Privatanwender fast am richtigen Ort wären. Es ist sicherlich lobenswert, für kleinere Unternehmen angemessenere Empfehlungen zu formulieren, aber diese scheinen so generisch und so tief angesetzt, dass es kaum Mehrwert bringen wird. Immerhin kann die Branche nun an diesem Dokument gemessen werden. Zuletzt kommen noch drei Umsetzungsbeispiele hinzu, wobei diese doch etwas eigen wirken. Im ersten Beispiel wird beispielsweise das Minimalziel als erreicht bewertet (also ein Wert >= 2.6 erreicht), jedoch wurde die gesamte Erkennen-Funktion ausgeklammert mit der Begründung, dass die Musterfirma einen risikobasierten Ansatz verfolge. Insgesamt wirken die Beispiele sehr freundlich bewertet. Trotzdem sind sie sicherlich wertvoll als Vorlage, wie dieses Thema angegangen werden kann.

Die Strombranche hingegen setzt darauf, eine Sicherheitsstrategie im Detail zu beschreiben und widmet diesem Thema etwas mehr als die Hälfte ihres Dokuments. Das Ziel ist, daduch den Verantwortlichen aus der Branche zu ermöglichen ihre eigenen Strategien zu formulieren. Wie sich aber nun in der Praxis gezeigt hat, scheint dies nicht funktioniert zu haben. Zwar sind die Firmen, welche eine solche Strategie ausgearbeitet haben, weiter, als diejenigen, die es nicht getan haben, aber auch diese Firmen sind nicht soweit, wie sie sein sollten. Der Branchenstandard beinhaltet auch 21 Schritte zur Erhöhung der Cyber Security, welche relativ direkt vom US-Amerikanischen Department of Energy übernommen zu sein scheinen. Diese sind zwar immerhin etwas konkreter, aber sind trotzdem auch noch high-level und stellenweise in der formulierten Version äusserst aufwendig. Von graduellen Verbesserungen ist dort wenig zu hören. Eine Checkliste wie im Branchenstandard der Abwasserbetriebe dürfte hier bessere Resultate erreichen, da viel klarer und simpler.

Fazit

Aus dem relativ kurzen und klaren Gedanken des IKT-Minimalstandards wurden also mehrere Branchenhandbücher entwickelt, welche teils genauso kurz und direkt anwendbar zu sein versuchen und teils langatmig ausformulierte Strategien zu formulieren versuchen. Für die Strombranche scheint der Versuch auf eine lange Strategie zu setzen nun zumindest in der jetzigen Form gescheitert zu sein. Spannend wäre es nun, mehr solcher Umfragen bzw. Studien durchzuführen und in anderen Branchen zu sehen, wie sich die Situation dort entwickelt hat, ob also das deutlich kürzere Handbuch für die Verkehrsbetriebe zu mehr Verbesserungen anspornte oder die tieferen Anforderungen für kleine Wasserversorger besser umgesetzt werden und eben doch Mehrwert bringen.

Langfristig ist es aber wohl unumgänglich, dass für solch kritische Infrastruktur verbindliche Vorgaben formuliert werden, die vom Bund durchgesetzt werden. Wie wir in der jüngsten Vergangenheit mehrmals deutlich gesehen haben, kann man sich nicht ausschliesslich auf Eigenverantwortung verlassen, sondern muss im Kollektiv vorgehen. Analog könnte es sich hier auch lohnen, Projekte zur Verbesserung der Cybersicherheit zu subventionieren und deren Umsetzung aktiv mitzuverfolgen, um die Verbesserung zu beschleunigen.

Über den Autor

Mark Zeman

Mark Zeman hat seinen Master of Science in Engineering mit Vertiefung Information and Communication Technologies an der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz absolviert. Seit 2017 hat er seine Passion im Bereich Information Security zu seinem Fokus gemacht. Unter anderem hat er schon während seinem Bachelorstudium bei einer Email-Sicherheitsfirma gearbeitet. (ORCID 0000-0003-0085-2097)

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
OWASP Core Rule Set

OWASP Core Rule Set

Mark Zeman

totemomail

totemomail

Mark Zeman

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv