Network Time Security - Securing NTP Against MITM Attacks

Network Time Security

Securing NTP Against MITM Attacks

Michael Schneider
by Michael Schneider
on November 17, 2022
time to read: 10 minutes

Keypoints

This is How you Secure the Network Time Protocol

  • NTP is an old protocol without security capabilities
  • Protocols like DNSSEC, Kerberos and TLS depend on a correct system time
  • MITM attacks can be used to manipulate NTP responses and thus the system time
  • The system time can be protected against abrupt time jumps by applying hardening measures
  • Network Time Security (NTS) adds authentication and encryption to NTP and protects against MITM attacks

The Network Time Protocol (NTP) is one of the oldest Internet protocols that is still widely used. The protocol has no security mechanisms, communication is unencrypted, there is no authentication between client and server and no safeguards against manipulation of network packets. Attacks against NTP can have a serious impact since other protocols are dependent on the accuracy of the system time, such as DNSSEC, Kerberos and TLS.

Most attacks are based on a machine-in-the-middle (MITM) attack. Once attackers are in this privileged position, they can manipulate server responses to provide a false time, delay or completely drop server responses to prevent the client from continuing to synchronise its system time with one or more servers. We demonstrate such an attack, show what measures can be taken to protect the system time and explain the Network Time Security protocol, an extension of the NTP protocol to protect against such attacks.

Attacks against NTP

An attack requires attackers to be in a position to eavesdrop and manipulate the network traffic of client and server. This can be done in the form of an MITM attack. For the following example, there are the actors:

Mallory will launch an attack on Bob and try to manipulate his system time. Before the attack, Bob has a synchronised system time and uses the software chrony and four time servers of the NTP Pool Project.

[user@bob ~]$ timedatectl 
               Local time: Tue 2022-08-16 17:08:12 CEST
           Universal time: Tue 2022-08-16 15:08:12 UTC
                 RTC time: Tue 2022-08-16 15:08:12
                Time zone: Europe/Zurich (CEST, +0200)
System clock synchronized: yes
              NTP service: active
          RTC in local TZ: no

The command timedatectl shows that everything is in order on the system.

To demonstrate an attack, the script by Davide Bove can be used. The script still had to be tweaked and is available as a fork. When the script is started, an ARP spoofing attack is automatically launched and then the system time of all transmitted NTP packets between server and client is manipulated.

[user@mallory ~]$ sudo python3 ntpspoof.py 192.168.244.130 eth0
Running ARP spoofing for target: 192.168.244.130 using the router: 192.168.244.2
[*] waiting for NTP packages
Received package for: 192.168.244.130 -> Modified!
Received package for: 192.168.244.130 -> Modified!
Received package for: 192.168.244.130 -> Modified!

The script was started on the Mallory system and as soon as a time was synchronised, the packets were manipulated. The attack was successful, which is evident in the message from chrony that the system time is wrong by 486805679 seconds and has been corrected.

[user@bob ~]$ sudo chronyd -q "server 0.ch.pool.ntp.org iburst"
2022-08-16T15:11:20Z chronyd version 4.2 starting (+CMDMON +NTP +REFCLOCK +RTC +PRIVDROP +SCFILTER +SIGND +ASYNCDNS +NTS +SECHASH +IPV6 +DEBUG)
2022-08-16T15:11:20Z Initial frequency -9.183 ppm
2022-08-16T15:11:24Z System clock wrong by 486805679.997304 seconds (step)
2038-01-18T22:59:24Z chronyd exiting

[user@bob ~]$ timedatectl 
               Local time: Mon 2038-01-18 23:59:31 CET
           Universal time: Mon 2038-01-18 22:59:31 UTC
                 RTC time: Tue 2022-08-16 15:11:31
                Time zone: Europe/Zurich (CET, +0100)
System clock synchronized: no
              NTP service: inactive
          RTC in local TZ: no

The system time output also shows that the attack was successful, and that the system Bob had accepted a new system time in the future.

Protect the System Time

Because the transmission of NTP packets is neither encrypted nor signed, no mitigation against such attacks can be implemented at the protocol level. However, it is possible to protect the system time from too large respectively abrupt time jumps in the configuration of chrony. The FAQ section of chrony describes how the system time can be protected. The setting maxchange, for example, specifies that the largest possible time jump cannot exceed 100 seconds, otherwise an error occurs and the chrony daemon terminates.

minsources 3
maxchange 100 0 0
makestep 0.001 1
maxdrift 100
maxslewrate 100
driftfile /var/lib/chrony/drift
rtcsync

The configuration of chrony was enhanced with the above settings and the attack was launched again.

systemd[1]: Started NTP client/server.
chronyd[3072]: Selected source 31.3.135.232 (1.ch.pool.ntp.org)
chronyd[3072]: Adjustment of 486753299.993 seconds exceeds the allowed maximum of 100.000 seconds (exiting)
chronyd[3072]: chronyd exiting
systemd[1]: chronyd.service: Main process exited, code=exited, status=1/FAILURE
systemd[1]: chronyd.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.

The chrony logs now show that the time deviation in the manipulated NTP packets was above the permitted 100 seconds and chrony therefore terminated itself. Although it was not possible to manipulate the system, the time synchronisation is still unprotected. Moreover, attackers can still manipulate the time, simply with smaller steps.

Network Time Security

The Network Time Security (NTS) mechanism was specified in RFC 8915 and uses Transport Layer Security (TLS) and Authenticated Encryption with Associated Data (AEAD) to secure the client-server mode of NTP. NTS includes the sub-protocols NTS Key Establishment (NTS-KE), which handles initial authentication and key establishment over TLS, and NTS Extension Fields for NTPv4, which controls the encryption and authentication of extension fields in NTP packets during time synchronisation.

During initial setup, the NTP client connects to an NTS-KE server via the NTS TCP port, usually 4460/tcp, and it performs a TLS handshake. Additional parameters are then negotiated via the TLS channel and the server sends cookies to the client along with the NTP server to be used. In addition, key material is exchanged via TLS Key Export, defined in RFC 5705. After this, the NTS-KE phase is completed and the NTP client does not need to establish any further connection with the NTS-KE server in the future.

During time synchronisation, the NTP client then sends a packet that contains several extension fields, including the cookie and an authentication tag generated from the key material from the NTS-KE handshake. The NTP server uses the cookie to access the key material on the server side and finally sends back an authenticated response. In addition to the time information, this response also includes a new cookie that is used in the client’s next request.

NTP Client Configuration

The NTP client Chrony supports NTS since version 4. In the configuration of Chrony, the option NTS can be added to each time server – if the time server supports NTS. In addition, the option ntsdumpdir /var/lib/chrony should be included in the configuration file so that the NTS keys and cookies are stored, and the NTS-KE handshake does not have to be performed after each restart of the service. A collection of time servers with NTS is available in the GitHub gist Time Servers with NTS support.

A list of servers is added to the /etc/chrony.conf file accordingly. It is not recommended to mix time servers without NTS and those with NTS support.

server time.cloudflare.com iburst nts maxdelay 0.1
server ntp.trifence.ch iburst nts maxdelay 0.1
server ntp.zeitgitter.net iburst nts maxdelay 0.1
server ntp.3eck.net iburst nts maxdelay 0.1
server nts.netnod.se iburst nts maxdelay 0.1
server ptbtime1.ptb.de iburst nts maxdelay 0.1
server ptbtime2.ptb.de iburst nts maxdelay 0.1 
server ptbtime3.ptb.de iburst nts maxdelay 0.1

Afterwards, the command chronyc -N authdata can be used to check whether the NTS-KE handshake was successful.

[user@bob ~]$ sudo chronyc -N authdata
Name/IP address             Mode KeyID Type KLen Last Atmp  NAK Cook CLen
=========================================================================
time.cloudflare.com          NTS     1   15  256 188m    0    0    8  100
ntp.trifence.ch              NTS     2   15  256 191m    0    0    8  100
ntp.zeitgitter.net           NTS     2   15  256 191m    0    0    8  100
ntp.3eck.net                 NTS     2   15  256 191m    0    0    8  100
ptbtime1.ptb.de              NTS     2   15  256 191m    0    0    8  100
ptbtime2.ptb.de              NTS     2   15  256 191m    0    0    8  100
ptbtime3.ptb.de              NTS     2   15  256 191m    0    0    8  100

The fields KeyID, Type, and KLen should not be 0. A possible source of error would be that the firewall blocks the outgoing connection on port 4460/tcp. The status of the time synchronisation can be verified using the command chronyc -N sources.

[user@bob ~]$ chronyc -N sources
MS Name/IP address         Stratum Poll Reach LastRx Last sample               
===============================================================================
^+ time.cloudflare.com           3  10   377   124   +532us[ +532us] +/-   18ms
^+ ntp.trifence.ch               2  10   377   828   -617us[ -437us] +/-   12ms
^+ ntp.zeitgitter.net            3  10   377   356    +81us[  +81us] +/-   11ms
^* ntp.3eck.net                  2  10   377   439   +330us[ +515us] +/- 6230us
^- ptbtime1.ptb.de               1  10   377   105   +494us[ +494us] +/-   18ms
^- ptbtime2.ptb.de               1  10   377   373   +218us[ +218us] +/-   19ms
^- ptbtime3.ptb.de               1  10   377   613   +745us[ +928us] +/-   18ms

The Reach column ideally has the value 377. This value indicates that the last 8 queries resulted in a valid response, including the NTS validation. If the MITM attack is performed again, chrony discards the responses and the value in the Reach column remains 0.

[user@bob ~]$ chronyc -N sources
MS Name/IP address         Stratum Poll Reach LastRx Last sample               
===============================================================================
^? time.cloudflare.com           0   7     0     -     +0ns[   +0ns] +/-    0ns
^? ntp.trifence.ch               0   7     0     -     +0ns[   +0ns] +/-    0ns
^? ntp.zeitgitter.net            0   7     0     -     +0ns[   +0ns] +/-    0ns
^? ntp.3eck.net                  0   7     0     -     +0ns[   +0ns] +/-    0ns
^? ptbtime1.ptb.de               0   7     0     -     +0ns[   +0ns] +/-    0ns
^? ptbtime2.ptb.de               0   7     0     -     +0ns[   +0ns] +/-    0ns
^? ptbtime3.ptb.de               0   7     0     -     +0ns[   +0ns] +/-    0ns

By using NTS, the manipulation of NTP packets by a MITM attack can be prevented. Attackers still have the possibility to affect the time synchronisation because the NTP client no longer receives valid responses.

Conclusion

The introduction of NTS allows to defend against known attacks against NTP. NTS is not yet supported in all NTP clients and not all Linux distributions have the updated versions of clients that have implemented NTS. In addition, as of August 2022, only a few servers with NTS support exist. For Windows, there is no support for NTS yet. So, it still takes time for NTS to become widespread.

Since a correct system time is essential for many other protocols, the introduction of a safeguard for the NTP protocol is an important and necessary step. The use of NTS on the time servers in the company infrastructure should therefore be planned and implemented in the near future.

About the Author

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider has been in IT since 2000. Since 2010 he is focused on information security. He is an expert at penetration testing, hardening and the detection of vulnerabilities in operating systems. He is well-known for a variety of tools written in PowerShell to find, exploit, and mitigate weaknesses. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

You want to test the security of your firewall?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Web Proxy with Kerberos

Web Proxy with Kerberos

Michael Schneider

Forced Authentication

Forced Authentication

Michael Schneider

Network Provider

Network Provider

Michael Schneider

Attacks via Peripheral Devices

Attacks via Peripheral Devices

Michael Schneider

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Network Time Security - Absicherung von NTP gegen MITM-Angriffe

Network Time Security

Absicherung von NTP gegen MITM-Angriffe

Michael Schneider
von Michael Schneider
am 17. November 2022
Lesezeit: 10 Minuten

Keypoints

So sichern Sie das Network Time Protocol

  • NTP ist ein altes Protokoll ohne Sicherheitsfunktionen
  • Protokolle wie DNSSEC, Kerberos und TLS sind abhängig von einer korrekten Systemzeit
  • Mit MITM-Angriffen können NTP-Antworten und somit die Systemzeit manipuliert werden
  • Durch Härtungsmassnahmen kann die Systemzeit vor abrupten Zeitsprüngen geschützt werden
  • Network Time Security (NTS) bringt Authentisierung und Verschlüsselung für NTP und schützt vor MITM-Attacken

Das Network Time Protocol (NTP) ist eines der ältesten Internetprotokolle, das noch weit verbreitet genutzt wird. Das Protokoll verfügt über keine Sicherheitsmechanismen, die Kommunikation erfolgt unverschlüsselt, es gibt keine Authentisierung zwischen Client und Server und keine Vorkehrung gegen die Manipulation der Netzwerkpakete. Angriffe gegen NTP können einen grossen Einfluss haben, da weitere Protokolle wie DNSSEC, Kerberos und TLS auf die Genauigkeit der Systemzeit angewiesen sind.

Die meisten Angriffe basieren auf einer Machine-in-the-Middle-Attacke (MITM). Sobald Angreifer sich in dieser privilegierten Position befinden, können diese Antworten des Servers manipulieren und damit eine falsche Zeit vorgeben, die Antworten von Servern verzögern oder vollständig verwerfen um zu verhindern, dass der Client weiterhin seine Systemzeit mit einem oder mehreren Servern abgleichen kann. Wir demonstrieren ein solcher Angriff, zeigen mit welchen Massnahmen die Systemzeit geschützt werden kann und stellen mit dem Protokoll Network Time Security eine Erweiterung des NTP-Protokolls zum Schutz gegen solche Angriffe vor.

Angriffe gegen NTP

Für einen Angriff müssen sich Angreifer in einer Position befinden, um den Netzwerkverkehr von Client und Server mitlesen und manipulieren zu können. Dies kann in Form einer MITM-Attacke realisiert werden. Für das folgende Beispiel gibt es die Akteure:

Mallory wird einen Angriff auf Bob durchführen und versuchen dessen Systemzeit zu manipulieren. Vor dem Angriff verfügt Bob über eine synchronisierte Systemzeit und verwendet als NTP-Client die Software chrony und vier Zeitserver des NTP Pool Projekts.

[user@bob ~]$ timedatectl 
               Local time: Tue 2022-08-16 17:08:12 CEST
           Universal time: Tue 2022-08-16 15:08:12 UTC
                 RTC time: Tue 2022-08-16 15:08:12
                Time zone: Europe/Zurich (CEST, +0200)
System clock synchronized: yes
              NTP service: active
          RTC in local TZ: no

Der Aufruf des Befehls timedatectl zeigt, dass auf dem System alles in Ordnung scheint.

Als Demonstration für einen Angriff kann das Skript von Davide Bove verwendet werden. Das Skript musste noch angepasst werden, und steht als Fork zur Verfügung. Bei der Ausführung des Skripts wird automatisch eine ARP-Spoofing-Attacke durchgeführt und danach die Systemzeit aller übermittelten NTP-Pakete manipuliert.

[user@mallory ~]$ sudo python3 ntpspoof.py 192.168.244.130 eth0
Running ARP spoofing for target: 192.168.244.130 using the router: 192.168.244.2
[*] waiting for NTP packages
Received package for: 192.168.244.130 -> Modified!
Received package for: 192.168.244.130 -> Modified!
Received package for: 192.168.244.130 -> Modified!

Das Skript wurde auf dem System Mallory gestartet und sobald eine Zeitsynchronisation durchgeführt wurde, wurden die Pakete manipuliert. Der Angriff verlieft erfolgreich, was ersichtlich ist in der Meldung von chrony, dass die Systemzeit um 486805679 Sekunden falsch läuft und korrigiert wurde.

[user@bob ~]$ sudo chronyd -q "server 0.ch.pool.ntp.org iburst"
2022-08-16T15:11:20Z chronyd version 4.2 starting (+CMDMON +NTP +REFCLOCK +RTC +PRIVDROP +SCFILTER +SIGND +ASYNCDNS +NTS +SECHASH +IPV6 +DEBUG)
2022-08-16T15:11:20Z Initial frequency -9.183 ppm
2022-08-16T15:11:24Z System clock wrong by 486805679.997304 seconds (step)
2038-01-18T22:59:24Z chronyd exiting

[user@bob ~]$ timedatectl 
               Local time: Mon 2038-01-18 23:59:31 CET
           Universal time: Mon 2038-01-18 22:59:31 UTC
                 RTC time: Tue 2022-08-16 15:11:31
                Time zone: Europe/Zurich (CET, +0100)
System clock synchronized: no
              NTP service: inactive
          RTC in local TZ: no

Auch die Ausgabe der Systemzeit zeigt, dass der Angriff erfolgreich war und das System Bob eine neue Systemzeit in der Zukunft übernommen hatte.

Systemzeit schützen

Da die Übertragung von NTP-Paketen weder verschlüsselt noch signiert erfolgt, kann auf Protokollebene keine Mitigation gegen solche Angriffe vorgenommen werden. Es ist aber möglich in der Konfiguration von chrony die Systemzeit von zu grossen respektive abrupten Zeitsprüngen zu schützen. In der FAQ-Sektion von chrony ist beschrieben, wie die Systemzeit geschützt werden kann. Die Einstellung maxchange gibt beispielsweise vor, dass der grösstmögliche Zeitsprung nicht mehr als 100 Sekunden betragen kann, ansonsten tritt ein Fehler auf und der chrony Daemon beendet sich.

minsources 3
maxchange 100 0 0
makestep 0.001 1
maxdrift 100
maxslewrate 100
driftfile /var/lib/chrony/drift
rtcsync

Die Konfiguration von chrony wurde um die obenstehenden Einstellungen erweitert, und der Angriff nochmals durchgeführt.

systemd[1]: Started NTP client/server.
chronyd[3072]: Selected source 31.3.135.232 (1.ch.pool.ntp.org)
chronyd[3072]: Adjustment of 486753299.993 seconds exceeds the allowed maximum of 100.000 seconds (exiting)
chronyd[3072]: chronyd exiting
systemd[1]: chronyd.service: Main process exited, code=exited, status=1/FAILURE
systemd[1]: chronyd.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.

In den Logs von chrony zeigt sich nun, dass die Abweichung mit der Zeit in den manipulierten NTP-Pakete über den erlaubten 100 Sekunden war und sich chrony daher selbst beendet hat. Die Manipulation der System war zwar nicht möglich, aber die Zeitsynchronisation ist immer noch ungeschützt. Zudem können Angreifer die Zeit weiterhin manipulieren, einfach mit kleineren Schritten.

Network Time Security

Der Mechanismus Network Time Security (NTS) wurde im RFC 8915 spezifiziert und verwendet Transport Layer Security (TLS) und Authenticated Encryption with Associated Data (AEAD) um den Client-Server-Modus von NTP abzusichern. NTS umfasst die Subprotokolle NTS Key Establishment (NTS-KE), was die initiale Authentisierung und die Einrichtung der Schlüssel über TLS handhabt, sowie NTS Extension Fields for NTPv4, welches die Verschlüsselung und Authentisierung von Erweiterungsfeldern in NTP-Paketen während der Zeitsynchronisation steuert.

Beim Initialaufbau verbindet sich der NTP-Client mit einem NTS-KE-Server über den NTS-TCP-Port, normalerweise 4460/tcp, und es wird ein TLS-Handshake durchgeführt. Über den TLS-Kanal werden dann weitere Parameter ausgehandelt und der Server sendet dem Client Cookies zusammen mit dem zu verwendenden NTP-Server. Zudem wird über TLS Key Export, definiert in RFC 5705, Schlüsselmaterial ausgetauscht. Danach ist die NTS-KE-Phase abgeschlossen und der NTP-Client braucht zukünftig keine weitere Verbindung mehr mit dem NTS-KE-Server aufzubauen.

Bei der Zeitsynchronisation sendet der NTP-Client dann ein Paket, dass mehrere Erweiterungsfelder enthält, unter anderem befindet sich dabei das Cookie und ein Authentication-Tag, der aus dem Schlüsselmaterial aus dem NTS-KE-Handshake generiert wurde. Der NTP-Server verwendet das Cookie um server-seitig auf das Schlüsselmaterial zuzugreifen und sendet schlussendlich eine authentisierte Antwort zurück. Neben den Zeitangaben umfasst diese Antwort auch ein neues Cookie, das im nächsten Request des Clients verwendet wird.

Konfiguration NTP-Client

Der NTP-Client Chrony unterstützt NTS seit der Version 4. In der Konfiguration von Chrony kann bei jedem Zeitserver die Option NTS aktiviert werden – falls der Zeitserver NTS unterstützt. Zudem sollte die Option ntsdumpdir /var/lib/chrony in die Konfigurationsdatei aufgenommen werden, damit die NTS-Schlüssel und Cookies gespeichert werden und der NTS-KE-Handshake nicht nach jedem Neustart des Dienst durchgeführt werden muss. Eine Sammlung von Zeitservern mit NTS liegt im GitHub Gist Time Servers with NTS support vor.

Die Datei /etc/chrony.conf wird entsprechend um eine Liste von Servern ergänzt. Es empfiehlt sich nicht Zeitserver ohne NTS- und solche mit NTS-Unterstützung zu mischen.

server time.cloudflare.com iburst nts maxdelay 0.1
server ntp.trifence.ch iburst nts maxdelay 0.1
server ntp.zeitgitter.net iburst nts maxdelay 0.1
server ntp.3eck.net iburst nts maxdelay 0.1
server nts.netnod.se iburst nts maxdelay 0.1
server ptbtime1.ptb.de iburst nts maxdelay 0.1
server ptbtime2.ptb.de iburst nts maxdelay 0.1 
server ptbtime3.ptb.de iburst nts maxdelay 0.1

Danach kann mit dem Befehl chronyc -N authdata geprüft werden, ob der NTS-KE-Handshake erfolgreich war.

[user@bob ~]$ sudo chronyc -N authdata
Name/IP address             Mode KeyID Type KLen Last Atmp  NAK Cook CLen
=========================================================================
time.cloudflare.com          NTS     1   15  256 188m    0    0    8  100
ntp.trifence.ch              NTS     2   15  256 191m    0    0    8  100
ntp.zeitgitter.net           NTS     2   15  256 191m    0    0    8  100
ntp.3eck.net                 NTS     2   15  256 191m    0    0    8  100
ptbtime1.ptb.de              NTS     2   15  256 191m    0    0    8  100
ptbtime2.ptb.de              NTS     2   15  256 191m    0    0    8  100
ptbtime3.ptb.de              NTS     2   15  256 191m    0    0    8  100

Die Felder KeyID, Type, und KLen sollten nicht 0 sein. Eine mögliche Fehlerquelle wäre, dass die Firewall die ausgehende Verbindung auf den Port 4460/tcp blockt. Der Status der Zeitsynchronisation kann mittels des Befehls chronyc -N sources verifiziert werden.

[user@bob ~]$ chronyc -N sources
MS Name/IP address         Stratum Poll Reach LastRx Last sample               
===============================================================================
^+ time.cloudflare.com           3  10   377   124   +532us[ +532us] +/-   18ms
^+ ntp.trifence.ch               2  10   377   828   -617us[ -437us] +/-   12ms
^+ ntp.zeitgitter.net            3  10   377   356    +81us[  +81us] +/-   11ms
^* ntp.3eck.net                  2  10   377   439   +330us[ +515us] +/- 6230us
^- ptbtime1.ptb.de               1  10   377   105   +494us[ +494us] +/-   18ms
^- ptbtime2.ptb.de               1  10   377   373   +218us[ +218us] +/-   19ms
^- ptbtime3.ptb.de               1  10   377   613   +745us[ +928us] +/-   18ms

Die Spalte Reach hat idealerweise den Wert 377. Dieser Wert gibt an, dass die letzten 8 Abfragen eine valide Antwort ergaben, inklusive der NTS-Validierung. Wenn nun der MITM-Angriff nochmals durchgeführt wird, dann verwirft chrony die Antworten und der Wert in der Spalte Reach bleibt auf 0.

[user@bob ~]$ chronyc -N sources
MS Name/IP address         Stratum Poll Reach LastRx Last sample               
===============================================================================
^? time.cloudflare.com           0   7     0     -     +0ns[   +0ns] +/-    0ns
^? ntp.trifence.ch               0   7     0     -     +0ns[   +0ns] +/-    0ns
^? ntp.zeitgitter.net            0   7     0     -     +0ns[   +0ns] +/-    0ns
^? ntp.3eck.net                  0   7     0     -     +0ns[   +0ns] +/-    0ns
^? ptbtime1.ptb.de               0   7     0     -     +0ns[   +0ns] +/-    0ns
^? ptbtime2.ptb.de               0   7     0     -     +0ns[   +0ns] +/-    0ns
^? ptbtime3.ptb.de               0   7     0     -     +0ns[   +0ns] +/-    0ns

Durch den Einsatz von NTS kann die Manipulation von NTP-Paketen durch einen MITM-Angriff verhindert werden. Angreifer haben zwar noch die Möglichkeit die Zeitsynchronisation zu beeinträchtigen, da der NTP-Client keine gültigen Antworten mehr erhält.

Fazit

Mit der Einführung von NTS können bekannte Angriffe gegen NTP abgewehrt werden. NTS wird noch nicht in allen NTP-Clients unterstützt und nicht alle Linux Distributionen verfügen über die aktualisierten Versionen von Clients, die NTS implementiert haben. Zudem existieren im August 2022 erst wenige Server mit NTS-Unterstützung. Für Windows gibt es noch keine Unterstützung von NTS. Für eine grossflächige Verbreitung von NTS braucht es also noch Zeit.

Da eine korrekte Systemzeit für viele weitere Protokolle essentiell ist, ist die Einführung einer Absicherung des NTP-Protokolls ein wichtiger und notwendiger Schritt. Der Einsatz von NTS auf den Zeitservern in der Firmeninfrastruktur sollte daher geplant und in nächster Zeit umgesetzt werden.

Über den Autor

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider arbeitet seit dem Jahr 2000 in der IT. Im Jahr 2010 hat er sich auf die Informationssicherheit spezialisiert. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehören das Penetration Testing, Hardening und das Aufspüren von Schwachstellen in Betriebssystemen. Er ist bekannt für eine Vielzahl in PowerShell geschriebener Tools zum Finden, Ausnutzen und Beheben von Schwachstellen. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

Sie wollen die Sicherheit Ihrer Firewall prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Web-Proxy mit Kerberos

Web-Proxy mit Kerberos

Michael Schneider

Forced Authentication

Forced Authentication

Michael Schneider

Network Provider

Network Provider

Michael Schneider

Angriffe über Peripheriegeräte

Angriffe über Peripheriegeräte

Michael Schneider

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv