Hacker Summer Camp (2014 Edition)

Hacker Summer Camp (2014 Edition)

Stefan Friedli
by Stefan Friedli
time to read: 17 minutes

Las Vegas

Has it already been a year? Apparently, because two weeks ago I found myself in the middle of the Nevada desert once more to attend what has recently has been affectionaltely named Hacker Summer Camp the week when Black Hat, BSides Las Vegas and DEFCON happen back to back and most mailing lists get oddly silent because almost everyone is out in Vegas anyway. And as in previous years (for example 2012 – Part 1, Part 2 and 2011), I had the pleasure of attending myself, too.

BSides Las Vegas

The original Security BSides is still going strong and is, one might argue, probably the most original and innovative conference happening in this packed week. I skipped the annual madness last year and with it, I missed the move BSides made from the Artisan to the Tuscany, but I think that the move helped the event a lot when it comes to coping with the massive amount of people wanting to attend. While no official numbers have been published to date, there were probably about 1500 people in attendance – a massive feat for a conference that charges attendees an exact amount of zero dollars for a ticket and finances itself completely with the help of sponsors and donations without degenerating into a sales event. In fact, BSides – again – managed to offer a variety of highly sophisticated technical talks on many topics.

Before I give a couple of examples to illustrate the content presented at BSides, let me point out that all the videos are already available online should you wish to catch up. I can only compliment Adrian Irongeek Crenshaw on his professional dealing with the video and the quick uploads.

That being said, I really enjoyed Meredith L. Patterson’s talk Strategies Without Frontiers that essentially deals with game theory in terms of threat modelling.

Another talk that I enjoyed, primarily due to my own affinity for travelling comfortably while not spending an absurd amount of money, is TProphet’s talk Travel Hacking With The Telecom Informer. As the title implies, it’s not strictly related to information security, but it illustrates nicely that hacking is not necessarily to be considered something that has to do with computers.

If you prefer more specific information security content, you might enjoy this talk on ATM Malware by Daniel Regalado.

These are only a couple of examples to illustrate the fantastic content available to BSidesLV this year. Apart from a select few, all talks were posted. One of them is the infamous closing ceremony with a surprise appearance by John McAfee, mostly known for his recent escapades including a wide variety and large quantity of drugs.

Again, while I didn’t get to spend as much time at BSides as I’d have liked to, I can only compliment Banasidhe and her entire team on all their hard work and the results they achieved. And, of course, all the compliments that they deserved.

Black Hat USA

Partially coinciding with BSidesLV, the titan of security conferences, Black Hat USA happened for the first time in one of my favorite venues in Las Vegas, the Mandalay Bay, probably because the event outgrew Caesar’s Palace or just wanted something a bit more modern. Black Hat is always a bit tricky. On one side, the conference has a solid reputation for bringing out some of the best researchers and giving them all the limelight they can to present important findings to the InfoSec industry and the general public. On the other side, Black Hat has a very corporate feel to it that seems to deter a steadily increasing amount of the hardcore security folks.

That being said, Black Hat did feature some very profound and interesting talks, including Dan Geer’s keynote titled Cybersecurity as Realpolitik. The transcript of the talk can be found here and it’s an interesting read, since one Geer’s key points suggested that the US government should buy all available vulnerabilities, at ten times the price every other interested party would offer. He suggests this because it would be an extra incentive for people to get into the field and it would lead to very high transparency, because he suggests that all vulnerabilities should also be published. This would also devalue vulnerabilities and increase willingness to disclose them. It’s a radical suggestion that became a fertile grounds for a lot of discussion, including this elaborate answer by Bill Blunden.

In a less controversial talk, Nils and Jon Butler discussed the potential flaws of Mobile Point-of-Sale (mPOS) systems, featuring some pretty cool proof-of-concepts. The video of talk, as embedded below, is one of the few already available online for free and I’d recommend checking out the list on Black Hat’s official channel.

The Pwnie Awards

Another tradition that has established itself in the past couple of years at Black Hat are the Pwnie Awards. They’re a tongue-in-cheek award that seeks to recognize the feats the industry has accomplished this past year and it’s handed out for several categories. While not of giant educational value, it’s usually good for a couple of laughs, so I would not want to keep this information from our readers. First, here are the winners for best bugs and research:

On a more humorous note, AVG managed to win the award for “Lamest Vendor Response” by spectacularly claiming that various vulnerabilities identified by a third party are in fact by design.

Vendor Contact Timeline

Date Event
2014-01-15 Contacting AVG via online support form and requesting security contact.
2014-01-15 Support forwards us to “Jürgen Jakob Software-Entwicklung, AVG Authorized Distributor” (sales representative!)
2014-01-21 AVG support requests technical information.
2014-01-22 Requesting contact to discuss security issues.
2014-01-29 Requesting contact to discuss security issues (2nd try).
2014-02-10 Requesting contact to discuss security issues (3rd try).
2014-02-12 AVG support explains lack of response because they were “experiencing a higher than usual volume of e-mail messages from customers” and requests technical information.
2014-02-24 Requesting encryption keys (S/MIME or PGP).
2014-03-05 Requesting encryption keys (2nd try). Announcing that advisory will be sent via plaintext if no keys are provided.
2014-03-11 (No response) Sending security advisory and responsible disclosure policy as plaintext. Setting deadline to 2014-04-30.
2014-03-11 Opening a new ticket – referring to previous ticket, advisory and proof of concept exploits.
2014-03-31 (No response) Contacting AVG CTO via LinkedIn, referring to previous tickets and requesting encryption key.
2014-03-31 CTO responds, provides encryption key.
2014-03-31 Sending advisory and responsible disclosure via encrypted channel.
2014-04-04 CTO responds with AVG risk assessment:
#1 low risk “This is by design”
#1 low risk “This is by design”
#2 high risk
#3 medium risk “This attack is difficult to set up”
#4 low risk “The cipher is used here just for the obfuscation of the traffic, it was not meant to protect any private data”
CTO further mentions that Remote Administration is “no longer available for sale for new customers” – this was never substantiated!
Even the FAQ on the website says differently:
Even the FAQ on the website says differently:
http://www.avg.com/us-en/faq.num-5125
2014-04-25 Shifting release deadline to 2014-05-08.
2014-04-28 CTO responds, announcing that patch for remote code execution (issue #2) will be released on 2014-04-29.
2014-05-06 Requesting confirmation that only remote code execution will be fixed.
2014-05-06 CTO confirms that only remote code execution is fixed.
2014-05-08 SEC Consult releases security advisory & proof of concept videos.

The remaining awards in short form:

DEFCON 22

Last but not least, running for its 22nd year, DEFCON happened. Defying rumours claiming for it to be definitely and undeniably cancelled, the event happened at the Rio Convention center as it did in previous years. It is a significant problem to try and describe DEFCON in a couple of written sentences since there is so much to see, do and learn usually. For a general impression, I wholeheartedly recommend the DEFCON 20 documentary:

There is so much going on at DEFCON, it’s hard to point out specific points without missing out on a lot of others at the same time. But for example, the Blackphone, according to its vendor being the “the world’s first smartphone to put privacy and control ahead of everything else”, got rooted within five minutes because the application in charge for remote wipe had debugging enabled, so attaching a debugger would give a potentially unauthenticated user an instant system shell.

Another entertaining side-story happening at DEFCON was a person using the pseudonym ihuntpineapples to pursue people using Hak5’s WiFi Pineapple. The device used to launch attacks using wireless networks was sold at the event and people trying to set it up on location experienced an instant surprise:

Apparently, someone tried to teach people a lesson by using a 0day vulnerability on the device to compromise them when used at the local DEFCON network. To be fair, using any sort of non-hardened device (or any device at all, frankly) in the DEFCON network is usually a bad idea, but this got viral really quickly and became an amusing topic of discussion throughout the con, causing Hak5 to issue multiple firmware updates mitigating the vulnerabilities used to conduct the attack.

As DEFCON came to a close on Sunday, TheDarkTangent announced that this will be the last event to happen at the Rio. The 2015 DEFCON will happen in the Paris and in the Harrah’s, which should make for an interesting experience. Not only is this going to be the largest DEFCON to date, but it’s also going to be right in the middle of the strip, potentially causing a considerable lot more mayhem than at the slightly off-strip Rio.

That being said, we settle back into our normal everyday life, where you can actually use a WLAN with only a slight possibility of being viciously attacked. It’s pretty relaxing. But we will probably be back anyway.

About the Author

Stefan Friedli

Stefan Friedli is a well-known face among the Infosec Community. As a speaker at international conferences, co-founder of the Penetration Testing Execution Standard (PTES) as well as a board member of the Swiss DEFCON groups chapters, he still contributes to push the community and the industry forward.

Links

You want to test the strength of your enterprise regarding malware attacks?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

CIS Controls

CIS Controls

Tomaso Vasella

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Trustworthy AI

Trustworthy AI

Prisca Quadroni-Renella

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Hacker Summer Camp (2014 Edition)

Hacker Summer Camp (2014 Edition)

Stefan Friedli
von Stefan Friedli
Lesezeit: 17 Minuten

Las Vegas

Ist es schon wieder ein Jahr her? Anscheinend, weil vor zwei Wochen fand ich mich erneut mitten in der Wüste Nevadas wieder, um dort den vor kurzem liebevoll Hacker Summer Camp getaufte Event zu besuchen. Damit ist die Woche gemeint, währens der Black Hat, BSides Las Vegas und DEFCON stattfinden. Es ist die Woche, während der die Mailing Listen merkwürdig ruhig sind, weil fast jeder sowieso in Las Vegas ist. Und wie in den vergangenen Jahren (zum Beispiel 2012 – Part 1, Part 2 und 2011) hatte ich das grosse Vergnügen, dabei zu sein.

BSides Las Vegas

Das Original, die Security BSides, glänzt nach wie vor und ist sehr wahrscheinlich die originellste und innovativste Konferenz in dieser Woche. Im vergangenen Jahr habe ich sie zwar verpasst und damit auch den Umzug vom Artisan ins Tuscany, aber ich denke, dass der Umzug geholfen hat, mit dem grossen Besucherandrang umgehen zu können. Noch sind keine offiziellen Zahlen bekannt, aber es dürften etwa 1500 Personen gekommen sein – eine reife Leistung für eine Messe, die exakt null Dollar als Eintrittspreis verlangt und sich ausschliesslich über Sponsoren finanziert und es gleichzeitig schafft, nicht zum Kommerzevent zu verkommen. Es ist sogar Tatsache, dass BSides es erneut geschafft hat, viele Talks zu halten, die nicht nur technisch sehr hochstehend waren, sondern auch eine breite Palette an Themen abgedeckt haben.

Bevor ich aber den Inhalt der BSides beispielhaft illustriere, möchte ich erwähnen, dass alle Videos bereits online sind, falls Sie sich selbst einen Überblick verschaffen wollen. Ein Kompliment geht an Adrian Irongeek Crenshaw für sein professionelles Aufarbeiten der Videos und den zeitnahen Upload.

Einer meiner Favoriten war Meredith L. Pattersons Talk mit dem Titel Strategies Without Frontiers (deutsch: Strategien ohne Grenzen), der sich im Wesentlichen mit der Spieltheorie im Rahmen des Threat Modelling auseinandersetzt.

Ein weiterer Talk, der mir sehr gefallen hat, hauptsächlich weil ich selbst sehr gerne bequem reise, ohne eine absurde Menge Geld ausgeben zu müssen, war TProphet’s Talk Travel Hacking with The Telecom Informer (deutsch: Reise-Hacking mit dem Telecom Informer). Wie der Titel bereits impliziert, geht es nicht direkt um Information Security, aber zeigt auf, dass das Hacken nicht nur eine reine Computersache ist.

Wenn Sie aber reine Information-Security-Themen bevorzugen, könnte Ihnen der Talk von Daniel Regalado zum Thema ATM Malware gefallen.

Alle Talks, mit Ausnahme einiger weniger, wurden bereits online gestellt. Einige Talks werden nicht veröffentlicht, darunter die bereits berüchtigte Abschlusszeremonie mit einem überraschenden Besuch von John McAfee, der in jüngster Zeit vor allem durch seine Eskapaden mit einer grossen Menge verschiedener Drogen bekannt geworden ist.

Ich konnte erneut nicht so viel Zeit an der BSides verbringen, wie ich wollte. Aber ich kann Banasidhe und ihrem ganzen Team nur ein Kompliment aussprechen und ihnen für die harte Arbeit und das Resultat derer danken.

Black Hat USA

Teilweise überlappend mit der BSidesLV hat der Titan der Security Conferences stattgefunden, zum ersten Mal in einer meiner liebsten Konferenzzentren in Las Vegas, dem Mandalay Bay. Dies, weil der Event wohl zu gross für das Caesar’s Palace geworden ist, oder weil die die Organisatoren einfach etwas Moderneres wollten. Black Hat ist stets ein zweischneidiges Schwert. Auf der einen Seite hat die Konferenz einen soliden Ruf dafür, dass sie einige der besten Researcher ins Rampenlicht rückt, damit diese wichtige Erkenntnisse aus der Information-Security-Industrie der Öffentlichkeit präsentieren können. Andererseits hat Black Hat eine sehr kommerzielle Ader, die mehr und mehr die hardcore Security Leute vertreibt.

Black Hat hat einige tiefgründige und interessante Talks gehabt, darunter Dan Greer’s Keynote mit dem Titel Cybersecurity as Realpolitik. Das Skript des Talks kann hier eingesehen werden. Es handelt sich um sehr interessanten Lesestoff, unter anderem weil Greer vorschlägt, dass die US-Regierung alle Vulnerabilities zum Zehnfachen ihres Marktwerts aufkaufen soll. Dies, weil er sich durch das effektive Monopolisieren des Vulnerability-Marktes beinahe vollständige Transparenz und enorm hohe Disclosure erhofft. Weiter werden so durch den hohen Wert der Vulnerabilities mehr Leute dazu angeregt, sich im Feld der Information Security Research zu engagieren und, schliesslich, Vulnerabilities an Wert verlieren, wenn sie alle öffentlich sind. Das ist ein radikaler Vorschlag, der für manch eine Diskussion gesorgt hat, und Bill Blunden dazu veranlasst hat, eine gut ausgearbeitete Antwort zu verfassen.

Weit weniger kontrovers war der Talk von Nils und Jon Butler, die potentielle Fehler in mobilen Point-of-Sale-Systemen (mPOS) besprachen und einige sehr coole Proof-of-Concepts aufzeigten. Das Video des Talks ist eines der wenigen bereits kostenlos verfügbaren Videos und ich empfehle, die gesamte Liste der Talks auf Black Hats offiziellem Kanal im Auge zu behalten.

Die Pwnie Awards

Eine Tradition, die sich in den vergangenen paar Jahren an der Black Hat etabliert hat, sind die Pwnie Awards. Ein Pwnie ist eine augenzwinkernde Auszeichnung, die für eine herausragende Leistung in der Information-Security-Branche im vergangenen Jahr verliehen wird. Und das in mehreren Kategorien. Und auch wenn der Award nicht gerade gigantisch lehrreich ist, so ist er doch gut für einige gute Lacher, weswegen ich die Pwnies unseren Lesern nicht vorenthalten möchte.

Zuerst einmal die Gewinner der Kategorien Best Bugs und Best Research:

In der eher lustigen Kategorie hat AVG es geschafft, den Award für Lahmste Antwort eines Vendors abzusahnen, indem sie öffentlichkeitswirksam angegeben haben, dass mehrere Vulnerabilities, die von Dritten entdeckt worden sind gar keine Vulnerabilities, sondern by design implementiert worden seien.

Vendor Contact Timeline

Date Event
2014-01-15 Contacting AVG via online support form and requesting security contact.
2014-01-15 Support forwards us to “Jürgen Jakob Software-Entwicklung, AVG Authorized Distributor” (sales representative!)
2014-01-21 AVG support requests technical information.
2014-01-22 Requesting contact to discuss security issues.
2014-01-29 Requesting contact to discuss security issues (2nd try).
2014-02-10 Requesting contact to discuss security issues (3rd try).
2014-02-12 AVG support explains lack of response because they were “experiencing a higher than usual volume of e-mail messages from customers” and requests technical information.
2014-02-24 Requesting encryption keys (S/MIME or PGP).
2014-03-05 Requesting encryption keys (2nd try). Announcing that advisory will be sent via plaintext if no keys are provided.
2014-03-11 (No response) Sending security advisory and responsible disclosure policy as plaintext. Setting deadline to 2014-04-30.
2014-03-11 Opening a new ticket – referring to previous ticket, advisory and proof of concept exploits.
2014-03-31 (No response) Contacting AVG CTO via LinkedIn, referring to previous tickets and requesting encryption key.
2014-03-31 CTO responds, provides encryption key.
2014-03-31 Sending advisory and responsible disclosure via encrypted channel.
2014-04-04 CTO responds with AVG risk assessment:
#1 low risk “This is by design”
#1 low risk “This is by design”
#2 high risk
#3 medium risk “This attack is difficult to set up”
#4 low risk “The cipher is used here just for the obfuscation of the traffic, it was not meant to protect any private data”
CTO further mentions that Remote Administration is “no longer available for sale for new customers” – this was never substantiated!
Even the FAQ on the website says differently:
Even the FAQ on the website says differently:
http://www.avg.com/us-en/faq.num-5125
2014-04-25 Shifting release deadline to 2014-05-08.
2014-04-28 CTO responds, announcing that patch for remote code execution (issue #2) will be released on 2014-04-29.
2014-05-06 Requesting confirmation that only remote code execution will be fixed.
2014-05-06 CTO confirms that only remote code execution is fixed.
2014-05-08 SEC Consult releases security advisory & proof of concept videos.

Die verbleibenden Awards in Kurzform:

DEFCON 22

Und dann ist da noch DEFCON, die in diesem Jahr zum 22. Mal stattgefunden hat. Trotz Gerüchten, dass die Konferenz definitiv und unbestritten abgesagt worden ist, fanden die Gäste im Rio Convention Center eine Konferenz namens DEFCON vor. Es ist eine recht umfangreiche und problematische Sache, zu versuchen, DEFCON in einigen geschriebenen Sätzen zu beschreiben. Es gibt so viel zu sehen, und normalerweise so viel zu lernen. Für einen generellen Eindruck empfehle ich die Dokumentation über DEFCON 20:

An der DEFCON passiert so viel, dass es schwer fällt, einige spezifische Dinge hervorzuheben, ohne dass unendlich viele andere Dinge vernachlässigt werden müssen. Aber zum Beispiel ist da die Sache mit dem Blackphone, das laut seinen Herstellern das weltweit erste Smartphone ist, das Privatsphäre und Kontrolle als oberste Priorität hat. Es wurde binnen fünf Minuten gerootet. Der Grund: Die Applikation, die für den Remote Wipe verantwortlich ist, hatte Debugging eingeschaltet. Daher konnte durch simples Einstecken eines Debuggers eine System Shell für unautorisierte Benutzer geöffnet werden.

Eine weitere unterhaltsame Randgeschichte der DEFCON: Eine Person mit dem Pseudonym ihuntpineapples hat sich an die Fersen von Leuten geheftet, die Hak5s WiFi Pineapple benutzt haben. Das Gerät, das dazu gebraucht werden kann, Angriffe auf drahtlose Netzwerke zu starten, wurde an der Konferenz verkauft und Käufer, die ihren neuesten Einkauf ausprobieren wollten, erlebten eine böse Überraschung.

Anscheinend wollte jemand den Kunden eine Lektion erteilen, indem er oder sie eine 0Day Vulnerability ausgenutzt hat, um die Geräte zu kompromittieren, wenn sie im lokalen DEFCON Netzwerk verwendet werden. Aber, um ehrlich zu sein, jegliche Nutzung von Hardware ohne vorheriges Hardening (oder Hardware im Allgemeinen, wenn ich ehrlich bin) im DEFCON Netzwerk ist im Normalfall eine sehr schlechte Idee, aber die Aktion von ihuntpineapples verbreitete sich viral und wurde zur amüsanten Diskussion während der ganzen Convention. Die Aktion führte auch dazu, dass Hak5 mehrere Firmware-Updates herausgab, welche die Vulnerabilities mitigierten.

Als DEFCON am Sonntag dann zu Ende ging, liess Gründer TheDarkTangent verlauten, dass die Konferenz zum letzten Mal im Rio stattgefunden hat. Stattdessen wird die DEFCON 2015 im Paris und im Harrah’s stattfinden, was doch eine recht interessante Erfahrung sein dürfte. Nicht nur wird die kommende DEFCON die bisher Grösste sein, sondern sie wird mitten auf dem berühmt-berüchtigten Strip stattfinden. Das könnte zu einer weit grösseren Menge an Chaos führen, als eine DEFCON im Rio, das leicht abseits des Strip liegt.

Wie dem auch sei, wir gewöhnen uns wieder an unseren Alltag, in dem wir ein WLAN nutzen können und nur entfernt die Möglichkeit besteht, gnadenlos attackiert zu werden. Das ist sehr entspannend. Aber wir werden wohl alle in den kommenden Jahren wieder in Vegas sein.

Über den Autor

Stefan Friedli

Stefan Friedli gehört zu den bekannten Gesichtern der Infosec Community. Als Referent an internationalen Konferenzen, Mitbegründer des Penetration Testing Execution Standard (PTES) und Vorstandsmitglied des Schweizer DEFCON Group Chapters trägt er aktiv zum Fortschritt des Segmentes bei.

Links

Sie wollen die Resistenz Ihres Unternehmens auf Malware prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv