Kerberos under Attack

Kerberos under Attack

Michael Schneider
by Michael Schneider
time to read: 10 minutes

Kerberos is an authentication protocol that is used in Microsoft Windows in order to authenticate users. Oliver Kunz explained its basics in his Labs dated July 24th, 2014. In this Labs, I want to present two attacks against Kerberos that utilise vulnerabilities in the granting of tickets. In order to fully comprehend these attacks, it helps to understand how Kerberos grants tickets.

Granting a Kerberos Ticket

The process that Kerberos uses to grant a ticket can be summed up in five steps:

  1. Authentication Service Request (AS-REQ): A client requests a Ticket Granting Ticket (TGT), asking the service Key Distribution Center (KDC). In the initial request, the UTC Timestamp is being encrypted using a Long Term Key (usually the password of the user). Upon Login, Windows generates Long Term Keys for the user using the following encryption algorithms. Interesting detail: the NTLM Hash is the same as the value of the RC4-HMAC Hash in Kerberos:
    • RC4-HMAC
    • AES128-CTS-HMAC-SHA1-96
    • AES256-CTS-HMAC-SHA1-96
  2. Authentication Service Response (AS-REP): The request is being checked by the KDC, the decryption is done using the Long Term Key in the Active Directory (AD). If this check is successful, the KDC grants the TGT. This TGT has a limited validity and will be encrypted with the Long Term Key of the user krbtgt. The TGT contains, among other things, in the context of a Privilege Attribute Certificate (PAC) information about the identity of the user as well as their group affiliation.
  3. Ticket-Granting Service Request (TGS-REQ): If the client accesses a resource like CIFS, RPC, Scheduler or WS-Man, to name a few, another request has to be made. The client requests another ticket called Ticket-Granting Service (TGS) at the KDC in order to access a random resource. This requests contain the TGT granted earlier as well as the name of the server that offers the resource.
  4. Ticket-Granting Service Response (TGS-REP): The TGT sent in the request TGS-REQ is being decrypted by the KDC and the PAC information is being copied into the TGS grated for the service. The user receives this ticket and forwards it to a target server. The ticket is being encrypted with the Long Term Key of the target server.
  5. Application Server Request (AP-REQ): The user forwards the ticket to the target server. This server decrypts the ticket and takes over the PAC information inside the ticket in order to check the access rights of the user. During this, the PAC information is being analysed without verifying them with the KDC again. This is to boost performance. If the check is successful, the client gains access to the resource.

Granting a Kerberos ticket - click to enlarge

An article written by security consultant Mike Pilkington describes the granting of tickets in great detail and points out weaknesses in the individual steps. Further information can be found in the article titled How the Kerberos Version 5 Authentication Protocol Works published on Microsoft’s TechNet.

Attack 1: MS14-068

On November 19, 2014, Microsoft published Security Bulletin MS14-068 outside their regular patchday cycle. The bulletin deals with a vulnerability in Kerberos that enables an attacker to elevate his rights until he gains the rank of domain administrator.

In a test environment I have recreated a possible attack scenario.

A user, his account is a member of the group Domain Users, tries to elevate his rights on a Windows 7 client that is integrated into the domain. The account doesn’t have local administrator rights. The attack can be carried out from outside the domain as Dave Kennedy, founder and CEO of Trustedsec has discovered and demonstrated step by step.

The attack he presents is based on the Python Kerberos Exploitation Kit. Using PyKEK the exploitation of the vulnerability leads to the granting of a Kerberos ticket that gives any domain user the rights of the following groups:

To do this, the attacker needs the following data:

You can request your own SID using the command whoami/USER. The following example in PowerShell enables the attacker to request the SIDs of other users.

SID in PowerShell

After gaining knowledge of the account’s SID, PyKEK can be run:

Running PyKEK

First, PyKEK runs the request AS-REQ, but requests – contrary to normal operation – a TGT without PAC. PyKEK takes the TGT of the KDC (see step AS-REP) and generates a PAC containing the listed group identifiers. The received TGT and the generated PAC are used as pieces making up TGS-REQ. The vulnerable KDC takes this information and grants a TGS that grants the account rights of a domain administrator. This TGS is being extracted into a file by PyKEK and can thus be re-used.

Using mimikatz the ticket is being loaded into an existing user session.

PyKEK ticket in mimikatz

After importing the ticket, the account is a member of the group domain admin during the session and can thus access administrative sharing options of the domain controller.

Admin share after a successful attack

As a countermeasure the patch MS14-068 by Microsoft should be installed immediately.

Attack 2: Golden Ticket

In the second attack scenario, we’re aiming to create a Golden Ticket, a Kerberos ticket that makes a user a member of the Domain Admins for ten years.

The attack is being carried out on a client that is integrated into the domain using a user account that doesn’t have local administrator privileges. The requirements for this attack are considerably higher than those of the first attack in this article. In order to create such a ticket, the NTLM hash of the account krbtgt needs to be known. The account krbtgt is being used to grant Kerberos tickets and is being created during the installation of an AD. An attacker can extract the NTLM hash – should his attack be successful – from a domain controller (using the hashdump) or from an unsecured backup. The password of the account krbtgt is usually set upon creation of the domain and is rarely ever changed. Therefore, an attacker can use a backup that is several years old.

Mimikatz is being used to generate the Golden Ticket. Needed for this attack are the following:

Golden Ticket in mimikatz

The command kerberos::golden generates a Kerberos ticket that identifies an otherwise unprivileged account a member of several administrative groups. Using the available information, any ticket can be granted. Analogous to the first attack in this article, the account that gets outfitted with the Golden Ticket gains the rights of a Domain Admin and can access the sharing options of the domain controller.

Golden Ticket in the Session

The main countermeasure against the Golden Ticket attack is the protection of krbtgt’s credentials. The document Mitigating Service Account Credential Theft on Windows that was written in collaboration between HD Moore of Rapid7, Joe Bialek of Microsoft and Ashwath Murthy of Palo Alto Networks describes how the configuration of the domain controller can be hardened. Specific measures against the attack can be found in the document Protection from Kerberos Golden Ticket by CERT-EU. If the credentials of krbtgt have been compromised, the password of the account should be reset twice in order to make Golden Tickets that may or may not have been generated invalid. Microsoft published a blog post titled KRBTGT Account Password Reset Scripts now available for customers in which they included a script to change the password of krbtgt.

What are the Countermeasures?

Apart from the two attacks I described in detail there are more attacks against Kerberos. In the presentation Abusing Microsoft Kerberos that was held at the security conference black hat USA 2014 security researchers Alva “Skip” Duckwall and Benjamin Delpy (developer of mimikatz) have presented additional attacks.

To protect your infrastructure against the attacks, there are several counter measures:

Using these methods, it’s a lot more difficult for an attacker to successfully attack Kerberos.

About the Author

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider has been in IT since 2000. Since 2010 he is focused on information security. He is an expert at penetration testing, hardening and the detection of vulnerabilities in operating systems. He is well-known for a variety of tools written in PowerShell to find, exploit, and mitigate weaknesses. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

HardeningKitty Score

HardeningKitty Score

Michael Schneider

HTTP Response Header

HTTP Response Header

Michael Schneider

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Kerberos unter Beschuss

Kerberos unter Beschuss

Michael Schneider
von Michael Schneider
Lesezeit: 10 Minuten

Kerberos ist ein Authentisierungsprotokoll, das auch in Microsoft Windows zur Benutzerauthentisierung eingesetzt wird. Oliver Kunz erklärte in seinem Labs vom 24. Juli 2014 die Grundlagen zu Kerberos. In diesem Labs stelle ich zwei Angriffe gegen Kerberos vor, die Schwachstellen bei der Ausstellung von Tickets ausnutzen. Um diese Angriffe nachvollziehen zu können, hilft es zu verstehen, wie ein Kerberos Ticket ausgestellt wird.

Ausstellung von Kerberos Tickets

Der Vorgang lässt sich unter Windows in fünf Schritte zusammenfassen:

  1. Authentication Service Request (AS-REQ): Ein Client stellt eine Anfrage für ein Ticket-Granting Ticket (TGT) an den Dienst Key Distribution Center (KDC). In der Initialanfrage wird der UTC-Zeitstempel mit einem Long-Term Key (normalerweise Passwort des Benutzers) verschlüsselt. Beim Login generiert Windows für den Benutzer Long-Term Keys mit den folgenden Verschlüsselungsalgorithmen (Interessantes Detail, der NTLM-Hash entspricht dabei dem Wert des RC4-HMAC Hashs Kerberos):
    • RC4-HMAC
    • AES128-CTS-HMAC-SHA1-96
    • AES256-CTS-HMAC-SHA1-96
  2. Authentication Service Response (AS-REP): Die Anfrage wird vom KDC geprüft, die Entschlüsselung erfolgt mit dem im Active Directory (AD) hinterlegten Long-Term Key. Nach der erfolgreichen Überprüfung stellt der KDC das TGT aus. Das TGT verfügt über eine beschränkte Laufzeit und wird mit dem Long-Term Key des Benutzers krbtgt verschlüsselt. Das TGT enthält innerhalb eines sogenannten Privilege Attribute Certificate (PAC) unter anderem Informationen zur Benutzeridentität wie die Zugehörigkeit zu Gruppen.
  3. Ticket-Granting Service Request (TGS-REQ): Wenn der Client nun auf eine Ressource (zum Beispiel CIFS, RPC, Scheduler, WS-MAN) zugreifen will, muss dazu eine weitere Anfrage gestellt werden. Der Client beantragt beim KDC ein weiteres Ticket namens Ticket-Granting Service (TGS) für den Zugriff auf eine beliebige Ressource. Diese Anfrage enthält unter anderem das vorher ausgestellte TGT sowie den Namen des Servers, der die gewünschte Ressource zur Verfügung stellt.
  4. Ticket-Granting Service Response (TGS-REP): Das in der Anfrage TGS-REQ mitgesendete TGT wird durch den KDC entschlüsselt und die PAC-Informationen in das für den Dienst ausgestellte Ticket (TGS) kopiert. Der Benutzer erhält dann dieses Ticket und leitet es an den Zielserver weiter. Das Ticket wird dabei mit dem Long-Term Key des Zielservers verschlüsselt.
  5. Application Server Request (AP-REQ): Der Benutzer leitet das Ticket an den Zielserver weiter. Dieser entschlüsselt das Ticket und übernimmt die PAC-Informationen innerhalb des Tickets um die Zugriffsrechte des Benutzers zu prüfen. Dabei werden die PAC Informationen übernommen ohne diese nochmals beim KDC zu verifizieren (aus Performancegründen). Wenn die Überprüfung erfolgreich war, erhält der Client Zugriff auf die gewünschte Ressource.

Die Ausstellung eines Kerberos-Tickets

Ein Artikel des Security Consultants Mike Pilkington behandelt die Ausstellung eines Tickets detailliert und stellt Schwachpunkte in den Schritten vor. Weitere Informationen können im Microsoft TechNet Artikel How the Kerberos Version 5 Authentication Protocol Works nachgeschlagen werden.

Angriff 1: MS14-068

Am 19. November 2014 veröffentlichte Microsoft ausserhalb des Patchday-Zyklus das Security Bulletin MS14-068. Das Bulletin handelt von einer Schwachstelle in Kerberos, die es einem Angreifer ermöglicht, seine Rechte bis auf Stufe Domänen-Administrator zu erweitern.

In einer Testumgebung habe ich ein mögliches Angriffsszenario nachgestellt.

Ein Benutzer, sein Account ist Mitglied der Gruppe Domain Users, versucht, auf einem domainintegrierten Windows-7-Client seine Rechte zu erweitern. Der Account hat keine lokalen Administratorenrechte. Der Angriff kann auch ausserhalb einer Domäne ausgeführt werden, wie Dave Kennedy, Gründer und CEO von Trustedsec, Schritt für Schritt demonstrierte.

Der vorgestellte Angriff basiert auf dem Python Kerberos Exploitation Kit. Mit PyKEK wird durch die Ausnutzung der Schwachstelle ein Kerberos-Ticket ausgestellt, das einem beliebigen Domänenbenutzer die Berechtigungen der folgenden Gruppen bescheinigt:

Für diesen Angriff werden folgende Daten benötigt:

Der SID des eigenen Accounts kann mittels des Befehls whoami /USER abgefragt werden. Das folgende PowerShell-Beispiel ermöglicht es zudem auch SIDs von anderen Accounts abzufragen.

SID Powershells

Nachdem der SID des Accounts bekannt ist, kann PyKEK ausgeführt werden:

PyKEK wird ausgeführt

Zuerst führt PyKEK eine Anfrage AS-REQ durch, fordert aber im Gegensatz zu einer normalen Anfrage ein TGT ohne PAC an. PyKEK nimmt das TGT vom KDC (Schritt AS-REP) und generiert dazu ein PAC mit den aufgezählten Gruppenidentifikatoren. Das erhaltene TGT und der generierte PAC werden als Bestandteil für die Anfrage TGS-REQ verwendet. Der verwundbare KDC übernimmt dann diese Information und stellt ein TGS aus, das dem Account nun Rechte auf der Stufe von Domänen-Admins gibt. Dieses TGS wird von PyKEK in eine Datei extrahiert und kann so weiter verwendet werden.

Mit der Hilfe von mimikatz wird das Ticket in bestehende Session des Benutzers geladen.

Das von PyKEK generierte Ticket in mimikatz

Durch den Import des Tickets ist der Account während dieser Session Mitglied der Gruppe Domain Admins und kann so unter anderem auf administrative Freigaben eines Domain Controllers zugreifen.

Das Admin Share nach erfolgreichem Angriff

Als Gegenmassnahme sollte umgehend der von Microsoft veröffentlichte Patch MS14-068 installiert werden.

Angriff 2: Golden Ticket

Im zweiten Angriffsszenario geht es darum ein Kerberos-Ticket zu erstellen, das einen Benutzer zum Mitglied der Gruppe Domain Admins macht und zehn Jahre lang gültig ist: ein sogenanntes Golden Ticket.

Der Angriff wird wiederum auf einem domainintegrierten Client mit einem Benutzer ohne lokale Administratorenrechte durchgeführt. Die Anforderungen für diesen Angriff sind wesentlich höher als beim ersten simulierten Angriff: Um ein solches Ticket zu erstellen, wird der NTLM-Hash des Accounts krbtgt benötigt. Dieser Account wird zur Ausstellung von Kerberos-Tickets verwendet und wird während einer AD Installation erstellt. Ein Angreifer kann den NTLM-Hash bei einem erfolgreichen Angriff auf einen Domain Controller (per Hashdump) oder aus einem (ungesicherten) Backup extrahieren. Das Passwort des Accounts krbtgt wird in der Regel bei der Erstellung einer Domäne gesetzt und selten bis gar nicht mehr geändert. Ein Angreifer kann daher auch ein Backup verwenden, das einige Jahre alt ist.

Das Tool mimikatz wird für die Erstellung eines Golden Tickets eingesetzt. Der Angriff benötigt folgende Daten:

Das Golden Ticket in mimikatz

Der Befehl kerberos::golden generiert ein Kerberos-Ticket, das einen Account als Mitglied mehrerer Administratoren Gruppen ausweist. Mit den vorhandenen Informationen kann ein beliebiges Ticket ausgestellt werden. Analog zum ersten Angriff hat der Account, durch das Importieren des Golden Tickets in die bestehende Session, die Rechte eines Domain Admins und kann somit auf administrative Freigaben des DC zugreifen. Der folgende Screenshot zeigt das Golden Ticket als geladenes Ticket in der Session:

Das Ticket in der Session

Die Hauptmassnahme gegen den Golden-Ticket-Angriff ist der Schutz der Credentials des Accounts krbtgt. Das Dokument Mitigating Service Account Credential Theft on Windows, das in Zusammenarbeit von HD Moore (Rapid7), Joe Bialek (Microsoft) und Ashwath Murthy (Palo Alto Networks) entstanden ist, beschreibt wie die Konfiguration des DC gehärtet werden kann. Spezifische Massnahmen gegen den Angriff enthält das Dokument Protection from Kerberos Golden Ticket des CERT-EU. Falls die Credentials des Accounts krbtgt kompromittiert wurden, sollte das Passwort des Accounts zweimal zurückgesetzt werden, damit allenfalls erstellte Golden Tickets ungültig werden. Microsoft veröffentlichte am 11. Februar 2015 in dem Blogartikel KRBTGT Account Password Reset Scripts now available for customers ein Skript zur Passwortänderung des Accounts krbtgt.

Welche Gegenmassnahmen gibt es?

Nebst den beiden vorgestellten Beispielen gibt es weitere Angriffe gegen Kerberos. In der Präsentation Abusing Microsoft Kerberos an der Konferenz black hat USA 2014 haben die Sicherheitsforscher Alva “Skip” Duckwall und Benjamin Delpy (Entwickler von mimikatz) zusätzliche Möglichkeiten vorgestellt.

Um sich vor solchen Angriffen zu schützen, gibt es mehrere Gegenmassnahmen:

Wenn diese Massnahmen umgesetzt werden, ist es für einen Angreifer viel schwieriger erfolgreiche Angriffe gegen Kerberos durchzuführen.

Über den Autor

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider arbeitet seit dem Jahr 2000 in der IT. Im Jahr 2010 hat er sich auf die Informationssicherheit spezialisiert. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehören das Penetration Testing, Hardening und das Aufspüren von Schwachstellen in Betriebssystemen. Er ist bekannt für eine Vielzahl in PowerShell geschrieber Tools zum Finden, Ausnutzen und Beheben von Schwachstellen. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
HardeningKitty

HardeningKitty

Michael Schneider

KleptoKitty

KleptoKitty

Michael Schneider

Linux Hardening

Linux Hardening

Michael Schneider

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv