Hacker Fashion - A Not Quite Serious Test

Hacker Fashion

A Not Quite Serious Test

Dominik Bärlocher
Dominik Bärlocher
Veit Hailperin
Veit Hailperin
time to read: 7 minutes

Be Advised: The following joke article is not entirely serious.

It is a well-established fact that people who feel comfortable in their own skin are better workers. They’re more effective and more efficient. It therefore pays off to think about your attire at the workplace, even if there are dress codes for your office. In this Labs, we will test the outfits that are defined for work in Information Security, that also happen to be fashionable. We’ll see how practical and effective they are.

Current Situation

A short survey reveals that everyone at scip is happy with the current dress code around the office. However, scip is committed to steadily improving not only their clients’ security but their own methods and processes. In most recent weeks, questions regarding workplace attire have arisen.

The Test

A test could utilize complicated metrics to analyse comfort and efficiency of clothing. Despite this, we decided to conduct this test subjectively, due to the nature of clothing. Every piece of clothing is being evaluated individually without set metrics.

Efficiency and effectiveness are relatively easy to determine

Due to the fact that most of our code is confidential; we are using the following dummy code. It’s the American children’s song 99 Bottles of Beer in Python.

for quant in range(99, 0, -1):
	if quant > 1:
		print quant, "bottles of beer on the wall,", quant, "bottles of beer."
		if quant > 2:
			suffix = str(quant - 1) + " bottles of beer on the wall."
		else:
			suffix = "1 bottle of beer on the wall."
	elif quant == 1:
		print "1 bottle of beer on the wall, 1 bottle of beer."
			suffix = "no more beer on the wall!"
	print "Take one down, pass it around,", suffix
	print "--"

It took our tester, an experienced coder, 1 minute 54 seconds.

Benchmark

During testing, we got inspiration from widely publicized outfits that hackers wear. In the end, we settled for an outfit like this.

A hacker, as seen in popular media

Luckily, there are plenty of images that depict hackers in public image archives.

The Test

Putting on the hacker outfit, the test commences.

Let the test begin

for qumntg in range(99, 0,  -1)^:
   if quant > 1:
     prin t quanmtz, "bottles of beer on the wall,", quamnt, "bottles of bededf."
	 if quamt > 2:
		suffix = str(quant -1q ) + "bottles of ber on he wall."
	else:
		suffix = "1 bottle of beder omn the wall."
elif quamnt == 1q
print "Take one down pass it around,", suffix
print "--"

It took our tester 4 minutes and 37 seconds to type this out and he made ten mistakes. So both effectiveness and efficiency are down.

The best finger to type is, contrary to popular assumption, the middle finger as opposed to the index finger. However, there is no way to type with ten fingers, seeing as the fingertips of the gloves are way too thick. This presents an unexpected advantage, though. Typing >, on Swiss German keyboards SHIFT+<, is a lot easier as you’re far more likely to hit both keys at once.

The hoodie is comfortable and completely unproblematic. With the hood up, it gets a bit warm after a while, but it has the nice effect that it blocks out the light that is in the office. As we all know, hackers do not like being exposed to sunlight, daylight or light in general. The hoodie thus helped create a familiar setting for the hacker that usually lurks in basements full of cables.

The balaclava is not ideal to wear for hacking. It gets awfully warm under it after only a very short time. Basements, as we all know, get kind of stuffy really quick, seeing as air circulation is not a strong suit of a basement. Assuming we would be wearing the balaclava for an entire workday, we would need to either up the air conditioning in the offices or come to terms with body odour.

Impractical, but Secure

After extensive testing, we have come to the conclusion that the hacker outfit seen on the media raises questions. Chief among them is the following: Why wear a mask when the webcam is disabled?

This led us to the discovery that the media’s hacker outfit has a distinct advantage. Not only can the computer’s webcam not see the hacker’s face, but he also doesn’t leave any fingerprints on the keyboard, which could be crucial evidence in case of arrest.

Still, the heat in the outfit is close to unbearable after only a very short time. It is now up to designers to make hoodies and balaclavas that provide good air circulation for hackers.

About the Authors

Dominik Bärlocher

Dominik Bärlocher has been working with IT subjects since 2006. The journalist relied on his affinity for all things IT during his tenures at news papers and benefited from it. At scip, he conducts OSINT researches and is an expert at information gathering.

Veit Hailperin

Veit Hailperin has been working in information security since 2010. His research focuses on network and application layer security and the protection of privacy. He presents his findings at conferences.

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
OTPs as Second Factor

OTPs as Second Factor

Mark Zeman

JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Hacker-Kleidung - Ein nicht ganz ernst gemeinter Test

Hacker-Kleidung

Ein nicht ganz ernst gemeinter Test

Dominik Bärlocher
Dominik Bärlocher
Veit Hailperin
Veit Hailperin
Lesezeit: 7 Minuten
Hinweis
Dieser Beitrag ist mit einem Augenzwinkern zu lesen.

Es ist nicht weit hergeholt, dass Menschen, die sich in ihrer Haut und in ihrer Kleidung wohl fühlen, effektiver und effizienter arbeiten. Daher lohnt es sich, sich Gedanken über das eigene Outfit im Büro zu machen. In diesem Labs werden wir einige Varianten eines für die Information Security gedachten und gleichzeitig modischen Outfits auf Prakitkabilität zu testen.

In diesem Labs wird die Kleidung, die von scip-Mitarbeitern zu Anlässen mit Repräsentationscharakter getragen wird, nicht berücksichtigt. Es geht hierbei um die Kleidung, die getragen warden kann, wenn es heisst, einen Tag lang am Bildschirm zu arbeiten und so die Netzwerke dieser Welt etwas sicherer zu machen.

Ausgangslage

Mit dem aktuellen Dresscode im Büro sind die scip-Mitarbeiter eigentlich zufrieden. Doch da sie immer bestrebt sind, Resultate wie auch Arbeit und Prozesse zu optimieren, sind in jüngster Vergangenheit Fragen zum Outfit aufgekommen.

Der Test

Obwohl komplizierte Metrik zur Messung des Komforts und der Effizienz angesetzt werden könnte, ist beschlossen worden, dass der Test subjektiv verlaufen und jedes Outfit individuell bewertet werden kann.

Die Effektivität und Effizienz lässt sich relativ einfach überprüfen.

Für den Test wird folgender Code-Schnipsel hinhalten. Es handelt sich hierbei um das amerikanische Kinderlied 99 Bottles of Beer in Python.

for quant in range(99, 0, -1):
   if quant > 1:
      print quant, "bottles of beer on the wall,", quant, "bottles of beer."
      if quant > 2:
         suffix = str(quant - 1) + " bottles of beer on the wall."
      else:
         suffix = "1 bottle of beer on the wall."
   elif quant == 1:
      print "1 bottle of beer on the wall, 1 bottle of beer."
      suffix = "no more beer on the wall!"
   print "Take one down, pass it around,", suffix
   print "--"

Unserem Tester gelang es, diesen Code in 1 Minute 54 Sekunden fehlerfrei abzutippen.

Benchmark des neuen Outfits

Für das getestete Outfit hat das Projekt-Team die am meisten publizierte Kleidung für Hacker gesucht und entsprechend Kleidungsstücke gesammelt.

Pate für das Outfit stand am Ende der Recherche folgendes Bild:

Ein Hacker wie er in vielen Zeitungen abgebildet ist

Glücklicherweise gibt es von diesem Typus Hacker genügend Fotos in Bildarchiven.

Der Test

Das Hacker-Outfit angezogen kann der Test beginnen.

Der Test kann losgehen

for qumntg in range(99, 0,  -1)^:
   if quant > 1:
     prin t quanmtz, "bottles of beer on the wall,", quamnt, "bottles of bededf."
	 if quamt > 2:
		suffix = str(quant -1q ) + "bottles of ber on he wall."
	else:
		suffix = "1 bottle of beder omn the wall."
elif quamnt == 1q
print "Take one down pass it around,", suffix
print "--"

Unser Tester brauchte 4 minuten 37 Sekunden um den Text mit zehn Tippfehlern abzutippen. Sowohl Effizienz wie auch Effektivität sind gesunken.

Anders als angenommen ist der Mittelfinger der beste Finger, um zu tippen. Das Zehnfingersystem funktioniert hingegen überhaupt nicht, da die Fingerspitzen des Handschuhs zu klobig sind. Das hat aber auch seine Vorteile. Das Zeichen > – auf Schweizerdeutschen Tastaturen SHIFT+< in der unteren linken Ecke der Tastatur, kann wesentlich schneller und einfacher getippt werden, da es Hackern leicht fällt, zwei Tasten gleichzeitig mit einem Finger zu drücken.

Der Kapuzenpulli ist hingegen ein Volltreffer. Mit der Kapuze im Gesicht werden die Augen und die Haut des erfahrungsgemäss lichtscheuen Hackers geschont. Daher ist der sogenannte Hoodie nicht nur gesundheitstechnisch sinnvoll, sondern schafft auch ausserhalb des heimischen Kellers eine Vertraute Umgebung für den Hacker.

Die Sturmhaube hingegen ist alles andere als Ideal für Hacker. Die Körpertemperatur erhöht sich innerhalb weniger Minuten drastisch. Es wird stickig, da die Luftzirkulation keines der Features eines Kellers ist. Wenn ein Hacker während eines ganzen Tages eine Sturmmaske tragen muss, so muss die Klimaanlage aufgedreht werden. Eine zweite Möglichkeit wäre, dass sich das nähere Umfeld des Hackers mit Körpergeruch abfindet.

Unpraktisch aber sicher

Nach der Testphase des Outfits sind wir zum Schluss gekommen, dass ein Hacker-Outfit wie wir es aus den Medien kennen einige Fragen aufwirft. Namentlich: Wieso trägt ein Hacker eine Maske, wenn die Webcam ohnehin ausgeschaltet ist?

Die Antwort: Sicherheit. Das ist das eine herausstechende Feature des Outfits. Ein Hacker hinterlässt dank den Handschuhen keine Fingerabdrücke auf der Tastatur und sein Gesicht ist von der Webcam nicht auszumachen. Beides sind eindeutige Identifikatoren im Falle einer Verhaftung.

Dennoch wird die Hitze im Outfit schnell unerträglich. Es liegt nun an Designern, Hoodies und Sturmmasken herzustellen, die Hackern das Atmen erleichtern und auch bei niedriger Luftzirkulation geruchsneutral bleiben.

Über die Autoren

Dominik Bärlocher

Der Journalist Dominik Bärlocher ist seit 2006 im IT-Bereich tätig. Während seiner Arbeit als Journalist bei grossen Schweizer Zeitungen sind ihm seine Recherchefähigkeiten und seine IT-Affinität immer wieder zu Hilfe gekommen. Bei scip AG führt er OSINT Researches durch und betreibt Information Gathering.

Veit Hailperin

Veit Hailperin arbeitet seit 2010 im Bereich der Informationssicherheit. Seine Forschung konzentriert sich auf Network und Application Layer Security sowie auf den Schutz der Privatsphäre. Die Resultate präsentiert er an Konferenzen.

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Crypto-Malware

Crypto-Malware

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv