SwiNOG #28 - A Short Review

SwiNOG #28

A Short Review

Veit Hailperin
by Veit Hailperin
time to read: 4 minutes

At the 28th congress of the Swiss Network Operator Group (SwiNOG) Veit Hailperin, researcher at scip AG, spoke about his research. The congress that has the same name as its organisers, who founded SwiNOG as Swiss counterpart to the North American Network Operator Group NANOG in 2000, happens twice a year and unites the network operator community on the Gurten in Bern.

SwiNOG logo

Before the event, there was a brief moment of worry. While the attendees who had already arrived were enjoying the spring sun and drinking coffee and eating Gipfeli – the Swiss word for a croissant -, attendees arriving from Germany faced bad weather along the road and the strike of the Deutsche Bahn employees. For some time, it was not clear whether or not they would make it to the venue.

Simon Ryf, one of the heads of the congress, welcomed the attendees. His words were followed by those of Thomas Weible, co-founder of Flexoptix GmbH. He talked about Optic connectors, their current development as well as their pros and cons. Klaus Gribi, senior consultant at Swisscom spoke about the risks of cloud services. The main risks are not only technological in nature, but also legal, he said. Therefore he stands for implementation of new standards when it comes to clouds.

Attorney Simon Schlauri informed the audience about the current legal situation in terms of data collection and what is legal in which way and how it’s illegal. Most interesting is the classification of data. Before lunch, there was an update from DE-CIX that highlighted the fact that a throughput of 4TBit/s has been reached and two new centres are being built; one in Marseille, the other in Palermo.

Vesna Manojlovic, Senior Community Builder at RIPE Network Coordination Centre, spoke about the online tool IXP Jedi after lunch. She also pointed out other ways RIPE provides information.

Tom Pattinson, Director of Security Professional Services and Consulting at Level 3 Communications, showed some possibilities of ISPs to deflect Direct Denial of Service DDoS attacks. After his talk, Veit Hailperin talked about the security issues with TCP Timestamps. It’s a security story that has been ongoing for over a decade without any significant advances in terms of defense. However, there have been new attacks. The talks were concluded by an introduction into Software Defined Networking and Over-The-Top Services.

While drinking a nice pint of beer and having more talks (un)related to network operating, the day at the 28th SwiNOG concluded.

In the near future, the list of talks held at SwiNOG will be completed with the slides the speakers used.

About the Author

Veit Hailperin

Veit Hailperin has been working in information security since 2010. His research focuses on network and application layer security and the protection of privacy. He presents his findings at conferences.

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
OTPs as Second Factor

OTPs as Second Factor

Mark Zeman

JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

CIS Controls

CIS Controls

Tomaso Vasella

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

SwiNOG #28 - Ein kurzer Rückblick

SwiNOG #28

Ein kurzer Rückblick

Veit Hailperin
von Veit Hailperin
Lesezeit: 4 Minuten

Am 28. Kongress des Swiss Network Operator Group (SwiNOG) hat scip-Mitarbeiter Veit Hailperin vorgetragen. Der Kongress, der den gleichen Namen trägt wie die Organisation, die seit dem Jahr 2000 als Schweizer Pendant zur North American Network Operator Group (NANOG) besteht, findet zwei mal im Jahr statt und vereint auf dem Berner Hausberg Gurten die Community.

Das Logo der SwiNOG

Der jüngste Kongress stand bereits vor dem Beginn vor einem Problem. Während sich die Anwesenden in der Frühlingssonne Gipfeli und Kaffee genossen, erschwerte der Streik der Deutschen Bahn und das schlechte Wetter über Deutschland die Anreise der Gäste aus der Bundesrepublik schwer. Sorge kam auf, ob sie es denn überhaupt nach Bern schaffen würden.

Nach einer kurzen Begrüssung durch Simon Ryf, einer der Hauptorganisatoren des Kongresses, übernahm Thomas Weible, Mitgründer der Flexoptix GmbH die Bühne und widmete sich Optic-Anschlüssen. Er zeigte ihre Vor- und Nachteile auf und ging auf die aktuelle Entwicklung der Anschlüsse ein. Ihm folgte Klaus Gribi, Senior Consultant bei Swisscom, der über die Gefahren von Cloud-Diensten sprach. Die Gefahren seien nicht nur technologischer Natur sondern können auch gesetzlich sein. Er plädiert daher für den Einsatz neuer Standards zur Cloud Security.

Rechtsanwalt Simon Schlauri informierte nach einer kurzen Pause über den aktuellen Stand von Gesetzen und was auf welche Art legal und auf welche Art illegal ist. Vor der Mittagspause gab es dann noch ein Update der DE-CIX. Das Highlight: erreichen eines Durchsatzes von 4 TBit/s und zwei neue Zentren in Palermo und Marseille

Vesna Manojlovic, Senior Community Builder des RIPE Network Coordination Centre, sprach kurz nach dem Mittagessen über IXP Jedi, einem Online Tool, und anderen Möglichkeiten wie heute RIPE Informationen zugänglich macht.

Tom Pattinson, Director of Security Professional Services und Consulting bei Level 3 Communications, zeigte die besonderen Möglichkeiten auf, die Internet Service Providern zur Abwehr von Direct Denial of Service (DDoS) Attacken zur Verfügung stehen. Im Anschluss daran wurde die sicherheitstechnische Problematik von TCP Timestamps aufgezeigt, eine Geschichte in der es in mehr als zehn Jahren keine wirklich Fortschritte mehr gab, dafür aber neue Angriffe. Abgeschlossen wurden die Vorträge durch einer Vorstellung und Übersicht von Software Defined Networking und Over-the Top Services.

Bei einem Bier und netten (Fach-)Gesprächen fand der Tag dann sein Ende.

Die Liste der Talks wird in naher Zukunft auf der Seite der SwiNOG ergänzt um die verwendeten Slides:

Über den Autor

Veit Hailperin

Veit Hailperin arbeitet seit 2010 im Bereich der Informationssicherheit. Seine Forschung konzentriert sich auf Network und Application Layer Security sowie auf den Schutz der Privatsphäre. Die Resultate präsentiert er an Konferenzen.

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Crypto-Malware

Crypto-Malware

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv