Belkin WeMo Switch Communications Analysis

Belkin WeMo Switch Communications Analysis

Michael Schneider
Michael Schneider
Veit Hailperin
Veit Hailperin
time to read: 14 minutes

In our Labs Approach to Testing IoT Devices we have described strategies to analyse devices embedded into the Internet of Things (IoT). In this article, we tackle the communications analysis of an IOT device and its surrounding systems such as apps and server infrastructure. We chose to have a look at the Belkin WeMo Switch. The product has been proven to have various vulnerabilities such as privilege Escalation (VulDB 12452), information disclosure (VulDB 12451 and 12453), buffer overflow (VulDB 12454) and weak authentication (VulDB 12455). Belkin has removed these vulnerabilities. During this communications analysis we want to investigate if we can remote control one or several devices using new vulnerabilities in the exchange between app, WeMo Switch and Belkin’s infrastructure.

Belkin’s WeMo Switch is a power plug insert that allows users to turn on and off any device plugged into it. From everywhere. A WeMo Switch is being set up in a pre-existing Wireless LAN (WLAN) and controlled using an App (iOS or Android). If the app and the switch are connected to the same network, then they communicate directly. Direct communication relies on Universal Plug and Play (UPnP) and a simple REST-API. Remote communication is handled using HTTP and the same REST-API that is used with UPnP.

WeMo Switch Setup

During the initialization phase, WeMo Switch generates its own WLAN as an access point (AP). The SSID of the WLAN is assigned using the scheme WeMo.Switch.XXX whereas XXX is the last three digits of the serial number. The AP is – additionally – being used for DHCP servers and uses IP addresses in the range 10.22.22.0/24. A webserver on port tcp/49152 is used for device administration. The WeMo App uses this service to transfer WLAN access data to the WeMo Switch. This access data is being transferred as an XML Request as follows:

POST /upnp/control/WiFiSetup1 HTTP/1.1
Content-Type: text/xml; charset="utf-8"
SOAPACTION: "urn:Belkin:service:WiFiSetup:1#ConnectHomeNetwork"
Content-Length: 444
HOST: 10.22.22.1:49152
User-Agent: CyberGarage-HTTP/1.0

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<s:Envelope xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/" s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/">
  <s:Body>
    <u:ConnectHomeNetwork xmlns:u="urn:Belkin:service:WiFiSetup:1">
      <ssid>WeMoTest</ssid>
      <auth>WPA2PSK</auth>
      <password>edTQ/hzPJ7MpPeL/qBA5gseNRZWdNdPR5dUu9v8Br40=2d1a</password>
      <encrypt>TKIP</encrypt>
      <channel>7</channel>
    </u:ConnectHomeNetwork>
  </s:Body>
</s:Envelope>

The password is being transferred in an encoded form. The last four digits, in our case 2d1a, are Hex values and give away the length of the entire password string. 2d equals 45 characters. The actual length of the password equals the value 1a, 26 characters. We could not determine which encoding for the password is being used. WeMo Switch uses this access data in order to connect to and communicate with the WLAN and Belkin’s servers.

Subsequently, the remote access is being established. The app sends a request to the WeMo Switch, identifying an app by its unique DeviceId. Under iOS, the UniqueDeviceIdentifier (UDID) is being used as DeviceId. Android uses the International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI).

POST /upnp/control/remoteaccess1 HTTP/1.1
Content-Type: text/xml; charset="utf-8"
SOAPACTION: "urn:Belkin:service:remoteaccess:1#RemoteAccess"
Content-Length: 603
HOST: 10.22.22.1:49152
User-Agent: CyberGarage-HTTP/1.0

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<s:Envelope xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/" s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/">
  <s:Body>
    <u:RemoteAccess xmlns:u="urn:Belkin:service:remoteaccess:1">
      <DeviceId>9jiusa7pp00n3uzdbwfv2ulat5yy34x26ou1wgo2</DeviceId>
      <dst>0</dst>
      <HomeId></HomeId>
      <DeviceName>TestDevice23</DeviceName>
      <MacAddr></MacAddr>
      <pluginprivateKey></pluginprivateKey>
      <smartprivateKey></smartprivateKey>
      <smartUniqueId></smartUniqueId>
      <numSmartDev></numSmartDev>
    </u:RemoteAccess>
  </s:Body>
</s:Envelope>

WeMo Switch’s reply contains HomeId and two keys: pluginprivateKey and smartprivateKey. These keys are presumably being used for encryption and signing purposes during further communication. HomeId is made up of seven digits and maybe tied to the SSID or the MAC-address of the WLAN. In our test network, two devices were used independently from each other and they both used the same HomeId.

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
CONTENT-LENGTH: 632
CONTENT-TYPE: text/xml; charset="utf-8"
DATE: Fri, 24 Jul 2015 11:12:08 GMT
EXT:
SERVER: Linux/2.6.21, UPnP/1.0, Portable SDK for UPnP devices/1.6.18
X-User-Agent: redsonic

<s:Envelope xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/" s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/">
  <s:Body>
    <u:RemoteAccessResponse xmlns:u="urn:Belkin:service:remoteaccess:1">
      <homeId>0000000</homeId>
      <pluginprivateKey>xxxxxxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxxxxxxxxxx</pluginprivateKey>
      <smartprivateKey>yyyyyyyy-yyyy-yyyy-yyyy-yyyyyyyyyyyy</smartprivateKey>
      <resultCode>PLGN_200</resultCode>
      <description>Successful</description>
      <statusCode>S</statusCode>
      <smartUniqueId>9jiusa7pp00n3uzdbwfv2ulat5yy34x26ou1wgo2</smartUniqueId>
      <numSmartDev>1</numSmartDev>
    </u:RemoteAccessResponse>
  </s:Body>
</s:Envelope>

Communication between WeMo App and Belkin’s Infrastructure

Communication between WeMo App and Belkin’s infrastructure can be divided into registration, enabling and disabling and firmware update.

Registration

During all requests related to registrations, the app uses a Basic Access Authentication Header that is formed following this scheme:

Authorization: SDU 9jiusa7pp00n3uzdbwfv2ulat5yy34x26ou1wgo2:gclbqUYLczNi+cJf+MJ5W/cmCeo=:1440403670@

In patent US9021139 B1 the building of the header is described. The SDU String from DeviceID, Signature and an expiration time are being combined. The field Signature could, according to the patent, be generated as follows: Signature=Base64(HMAC-SHA1(PrivateKey, StringToSign)). The key used in this is most likely one of the two keys used during initial registration.

The first request to the relay api.xbcs.net queries a list of registered devices assigned to a HomeId. During this, the DeviceID that is used as an authenticator is tied to the HomeId. In our tests, we did not succeed in accessing a different HomeId using a DeviceId. These requests are being blocked by the server with an error message. During successful requests, the server outputs a list of registered devices assigned to a HomeId.

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
asyncServiceInvoke: false
Content-Type: application/xml;charset=ISO-8859-1
Date: Mon, 24 Aug 2015 08:05:51 GMT
Server: Apache-Coyote/1.1
X-Powered-By: Servlet/3.0; JBossAS-6
Content-Length: 1242
Connection: keep-alive

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<devices xmlns:modelns="http://datamodel.components.cs.belkin.com/" success="S" fail="F" partial_success="P">
  <statusCode>S</statusCode>
  <resultCode>
    <code>PLGN_200</code>
    <description>Successful</description>
  </resultCode>
  <message>Device list retrieved successfully</message>
  <home>
    <homeId>0000000</homeId>
    <description>this is first plugin initialization</description>
    <firmwareId>0</firmwareId>
  </home>
  <device>
    <pluginId>1111111</pluginId>
    <macAddress>00005E005300</macAddress>
    <serialNumber>22222222222Z00</serialNumber>
    <uniqueId>uuid:Socket-1_0-22222222222Z00</uniqueId>
    <modelCode>Socket</modelCode>
    <productType>Socket</productType>
    <status>3</status>
    <notificationType>0</notificationType>
    <firmwareVersion>WeMo_WW_2.00.2176.PVT</firmwareVersion>
    <hwVersion>v1</hwVersion>
    <fwUpgradeStatus>4</fwUpgradeStatus>
    <signalStrength>29</signalStrength>
    <friendlyName>WeMo Switch 5</friendlyName>
    <dbVersion>0</dbVersion>
    <customizedState>1</customizedState>
    <attributeLists action="GetAttributes">
      <attribute>
        <name>hardResetTS</name>
        <value>1438939404278</value>
      </attribute>
    </attributeLists>
  </device>
  <groupSSIDs>
    <ssid>WeMoTest</ssid>
  </groupSSIDs>
  <groupArpMacs>
    <arpMac>00005E005301</arpMac>
  </groupArpMacs>
</devices>

The list contains further, hitherto unknown markers of a device. Among them are PluginId (also used as RecipientId in some cases), the macAddress as well as the firmware version of the WeMo Switch. These markers are being used for further actions such as the enabling and disabling of the WeMo Switch. In addition to that, the SSID of the WLAN as well as the MAC address of the AP are being stored at Belkin’s.

Turning it off and on

The command to turn the device on or off is being sent to the host api.xbcs.net. In order to send this message, an authentication using the Basic Access Authentication Header is necessary. The WeMo Switch is being addressed using the fields PluginId and RecipientId or the macAddress. The status of the device is being controlled using the values 0 and 1.

POST /apis/http/plugin/message HTTP/1.1
Host: api.xbcs.net:8443
<redacted by scip AG>

<plugins>
  <plugin>
    <recipientId>1111111</recipientId>
    <macAddress>00005E005300</macAddress>
    <content>
      <![CDATA[
      <pluginSetDeviceStatus>
        <plugin>
          <pluginId>1111111</pluginId>
          <macAddress>00005E005300</macAddress>
          <status>1</status>
          <friendlyName></friendlyName>
          <eventDuration>(null)</eventDuration>
          <cookedTime>(null)</cookedTime>
        </plugin>
      </pluginSetDeviceStatus>
      ]]>
    </content>
  </plugin>
</plugins>

Firmware Update

The WeMo app can also be used to update the firmware of the WeMo Switch. In the reply to the initial request that – in turn – contains the Basic Access Authentication Header the app receives a link to a site that lists all available firmware versions. The access to the firmware uses unencrypted connections, even though the server would be available per HTTPS.

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
asyncServiceInvoke: false
Content-Type: application/json;charset=ISO-8859-1
Date: Thu, 10 Sep 2015 12:35:43 GMT
Server: Apache-Coyote/1.1
X-Powered-By: Servlet/3.0; JBossAS-6
Content-Length: 133
Connection: keep-alive

{"fwUpgradeInfo":{"firmwareId":0,"description":"Default firmware file","fwUpgradeURL":"http:\/\/fw.xbcs.net\/wemo\/NewFirmware.txt"}}

The firmware binary itself is encrypted using GPG and is being extracted on the WeMo Switch itself. The use of GPG to distribute firmware is basically a good idea, only that Belkin made a grave mistake when implementing it. Security researcher Mike Davis of IOActive discovered in 2013 that Belkin had integrated the GPG Signing Key into the WeMo firmware image. An attacker could extract this key and sign his own firmware version with it, which he would be able to transfer to the device. The firmware update dated 24 January 2014 fixed this vulnerability.

Information About Belkin’s Infrastructure

Belkin runs its infrastructure on Amazon EC2 Cloud. The infrastructure includes the systems ota.xbcs.net, api.xbcs.net and fw.xbcs.net. We were able to identify Red Hat Linux, Apache 2.2.15 and JBoss 6.

When starting the WeMo Switch, log data is being sent to a system with the IP address 184.73.191.189. The MAC-Address 00005E005300 that belongs to the WeMo Switch is being used as ID during the POST request. There is no further authentication necessary and there are no further checks that investigate the content. This means that arbitrary content using arbitrary MAC-Addresses can be submitted to Belkin’s servers. It was, however, impossible to access already submitted content as well as stored data.

PUT /ToolService/log/uploadWdLogFile/00005E005300 HTTP/1.1
Host: 184.73.191.189:8899
Content-Type: multipart/octet-stream
Accept: application/xml
Content-Length: 301
Expect: 100-continue

[2015-08-07][08:33:35]|RT|Internet is connected
[2015-08-07][08:33:39]|PLUGINREMOTEREGISTER|Plugin App Remote ReRegister
[2015-08-07][08:33:37]|SIG|Connection signal strength: 55
[2015-08-07][08:33:40]|Plugin App Remote ReRegister failure|
[2015-08-07][08:33:40]|Plugin App Remote ReRegister failure|


HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Server: Apache-Coyote/1.1
Content-Type: application/xml
Content-Length: 67
Date: Fri, 07 Aug 2015 06:33:58 GMT

/opt/deviceLogs2/20150807/wdLogFile_00005E005300_20150807063358.log

Lesson Learned

When the WeMo Switch was first published, it wasn’t long before several vulnerabilities had been discovered. In the area of communication between application, WeMo Switch and server infrastructure Belkin has learned from this and remote communication has been secured to the point where devices can not be remote controlled without prior authentication. In addition to that, the devices and local networks are being tied to one another and it’s not possible without further attacks to find other local networks and their devices using a trial and error enumeration method. Therefore, it’s not easy for a remote attacker to carry out a successful attack. It remains to hope that other IoT manufacturers learn a lesson from this and implement security features mitigating these issues from the first version onwards.

About the Authors

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider has been in IT since 2000. Since 2010 he is focused on information security. He is an expert at penetration testing, hardening and the detection of vulnerabilities in operating systems. He is well-known for a variety of tools written in PowerShell to find, exploit, and mitigate weaknesses. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Veit Hailperin

Veit Hailperin has been working in information security since 2010. His research focuses on network and application layer security and the protection of privacy. He presents his findings at conferences.

Links

You need professional Vulnerability Management?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Farewell NTLM

Farewell NTLM

Michael Schneider

ContainerKitty

ContainerKitty

Michael Schneider

WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

HardeningKitty Score

HardeningKitty Score

Michael Schneider

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Belkin WeMo Switch Kommunikationsanalyse

Belkin WeMo Switch Kommunikationsanalyse

Michael Schneider
Michael Schneider
Veit Hailperin
Veit Hailperin
am 18. Februar 2016
Lesezeit: 14 Minuten

Wir haben in unserem Beitrag Vorgehen zum Testen von IoT Devices Strategien zur Analyse von Geräten im Internet of Things (IoT) aufgezeigt. In diesem Beitrag setzen wir uns mit der Kommunikationsanalyse eines IoT-Geräts und seiner Um-Systeme (Apps, Server-Infrastruktur) auseinander. Wir haben dazu das Produkt Belkin WeMo Switch ausgewählt. In diesem wurden bereits Schwachstellen der Klassen Privilege Escalation (VulDB 12452, Information Disclosure (VulDB 12451 und 12453), Buffer Overflow (VulDB 12454) und Weak Authentication (VulDB 12455) gefunden und durch Belkin behoben. Mit der Kommunikationsanalyse wollen wir untersuchen, ob im Austausch zwischen App, WeMo Switch und der Belkin-Infrastruktur weitere Schwachstellen vorliegen, die es ermöglichen, eines oder mehrere Geräte aus der Ferne zu kontrollieren.

Der Belkin WeMo Switch ist eine Steckdose, die es zulässt, beliebige angeschlossene elektronische Geräte ein- und auszuschalten. Von überall. Der WeMo Switch wird dazu mit einem vorhandenen Wireless-LAN (WLAN) verbunden und über eine App (iOS oder Android) gesteuert. Wenn sich die App und der Switch im gleichen Netzwerk befinden, kommunizieren diese direkt miteinander, ansonsten wird die Infrastruktur Belkins als Schaltzentrale genutzt. Die direkte Kommunikation basiert auf dem Netzwerkprotokoll Universal Plug and Play (UPnP) und einer einfachen REST-API. Die Remote-Kommunikation findet über HTTP statt, wobei dieselbe REST-API wie bei UPnP eingesetzt wird.

WeMo Switch Setup

In der Initialisierungsphase erstellt der WeMo Switch als Access Point (AP) ein eigenes WLAN. Die SSID des WLANs wird nach dem Namensschema WeMo.Switch.XXX benannt. Dabei steht XXX für die letzten drei Stellen der Seriennummer. Der Access Point (AP) ist zusätzlich auch DHCP-Server und verwendet IP-Adressen aus dem Bereich 10.22.22.0/24. Zur Verwaltung des Geräts wird ein Webserver auf Port tcp/49152 eingesetzt. Die WeMo App nutzt diesen Dienst, um die Zugangsdaten des WLANs an den WeMo Switch zu übermitteln. Dabei werden die Zugangsdaten als XML-Request im folgenden Format versendet:

POST /upnp/control/WiFiSetup1 HTTP/1.1
Content-Type: text/xml; charset="utf-8"
SOAPACTION: "urn:Belkin:service:WiFiSetup:1#ConnectHomeNetwork"
Content-Length: 444
HOST: 10.22.22.1:49152
User-Agent: CyberGarage-HTTP/1.0

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<s:Envelope xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/" s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/">
  <s:Body>
    <u:ConnectHomeNetwork xmlns:u="urn:Belkin:service:WiFiSetup:1">
      <ssid>WeMoTest</ssid>
      <auth>WPA2PSK</auth>
      <password>edTQ/hzPJ7MpPeL/qBA5gseNRZWdNdPR5dUu9v8Br40=2d1a</password>
      <encrypt>TKIP</encrypt>
      <channel>7</channel>
    </u:ConnectHomeNetwork>
  </s:Body>
</s:Envelope>

Das Passwort wird dabei in kodierter Form übertragen. Die letzten vier Stellen, im Falle des Beispiels 2d1a, sind Hex-Werte und geben die gesamte Zeichenlänge des Passwort-Strings, der Wert 2d entspricht 45 Zeichen, sowie die tatsächliche Länge des Passworts beispielsweise ergibt der Wert 1a 26 Zeichen. Welche Kodierung für den Passwort-String verwendet wird, konnte im Rahmen der Analyse nicht identifiziert werden. Der WeMo Switch verwendet diese Zugangsdaten, um sich mit dem WLAN zu verbinden und mit den Servern Belkins zu kommunizieren.

Anschliessend wird der Remote-Access eingerichtet. Die App sendet einen Request an den WeMo Switch, dabei wird die App über eine DeviceId eindeutig identifiziert. Unter iOS wird der UniqueDeviceIdentifier (UDID) und auf Android-basierenden Geräte die International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI) als DeviceId verwendet.

POST /upnp/control/remoteaccess1 HTTP/1.1
Content-Type: text/xml; charset="utf-8"
SOAPACTION: "urn:Belkin:service:remoteaccess:1#RemoteAccess"
Content-Length: 603
HOST: 10.22.22.1:49152
User-Agent: CyberGarage-HTTP/1.0

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<s:Envelope xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/" s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/">
  <s:Body>
    <u:RemoteAccess xmlns:u="urn:Belkin:service:remoteaccess:1">
      <DeviceId>9jiusa7pp00n3uzdbwfv2ulat5yy34x26ou1wgo2</DeviceId>
      <dst>0</dst>
      <HomeId></HomeId>
      <DeviceName>TestDevice23</DeviceName>
      <MacAddr></MacAddr>
      <pluginprivateKey></pluginprivateKey>
      <smartprivateKey></smartprivateKey>
      <smartUniqueId></smartUniqueId>
      <numSmartDev></numSmartDev>
    </u:RemoteAccess>
  </s:Body>
</s:Envelope>

Die Antwort des WeMo Switches enthält die HomeId und zwei Schlüssel pluginprivateKey sowie smartprivateKey. Diese Schlüssel werden vermutlich im weiteren Kommunikationsverlauf zur Signierung und Verschlüsselung eingesetzt. Die HomeId besteht aus sieben Zahlen und wird möglicherweise mit der SSID oder der MAC-Adresse des WLAN-Access-Points verknüpft. In unserem Testnetzwerk wurden zwei Geräte unabhängig voneinander im gleichen Netzwerk eingerichtet und beide verwendeten dieselbe HomeId.

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
CONTENT-LENGTH: 632
CONTENT-TYPE: text/xml; charset="utf-8"
DATE: Fri, 24 Jul 2015 11:12:08 GMT
EXT:
SERVER: Linux/2.6.21, UPnP/1.0, Portable SDK for UPnP devices/1.6.18
X-User-Agent: redsonic

<s:Envelope xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/" s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/">
  <s:Body>
    <u:RemoteAccessResponse xmlns:u="urn:Belkin:service:remoteaccess:1">
      <homeId>0000000</homeId>
      <pluginprivateKey>xxxxxxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxxxxxxxxxx</pluginprivateKey>
      <smartprivateKey>yyyyyyyy-yyyy-yyyy-yyyy-yyyyyyyyyyyy</smartprivateKey>
      <resultCode>PLGN_200</resultCode>
      <description>Successful</description>
      <statusCode>S</statusCode>
      <smartUniqueId>9jiusa7pp00n3uzdbwfv2ulat5yy34x26ou1wgo2</smartUniqueId>
      <numSmartDev>1</numSmartDev>
    </u:RemoteAccessResponse>
  </s:Body>
</s:Envelope>

Kommunikation zwischen WeMo App und Belkin Infrastruktur

Die Kommunikation zwischen der WeMo App und der Infrastruktur Belkins lässt sich in die Bereiche Registrierung, Ein- und Ausschalten sowie Firmware Update aufteilen.

Registrierung

Bei allen Anfragen zur Registrierung verwendet die App einen Basic Access Authentication Header, der nach folgendem Schema aufgebaut wird:

Authorization: SDU 9jiusa7pp00n3uzdbwfv2ulat5yy34x26ou1wgo2:gclbqUYLczNi+cJf+MJ5W/cmCeo=:1440403670@

Im Patent US9021139 B1 wird der Aufbau des Headers so beschrieben, dass der SDU String aus DeviceId, Signature und einer Ablaufzeit ExpirationTime zusammengesetzt wird. Das Feld Signature könnte gemäss des Patents wie folgt generiert werden: Signature=Base64(HMAC-SHA1(PrivateKey, StringToSign)). Dabei wird als Schlüssel vermutlich einer der beiden Schlüssel aus der Initial-Registrierung verwendet.

Bei der ersten Anfrage der Schnittstelle api.xbcs.net wird eine Liste der registrierten Geräte unter einer bestimmten HomeId abgefragt. Dabei ist die DeviceId, die zur Authentisierung eingesetzt wird, mit der HomeId verknüpft. In unseren Tests war es nicht möglich, mit einer DeviceId auf fremde HomeId zuzugreifen. Diese Anfragen wurden vom Server mit einer Fehlermeldung geblockt. Bei einem erfolgreichen Aufruf gibt der Server eine Liste der registrierten Geräte pro HomeId zurück.

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
asyncServiceInvoke: false
Content-Type: application/xml;charset=ISO-8859-1
Date: Mon, 24 Aug 2015 08:05:51 GMT
Server: Apache-Coyote/1.1
X-Powered-By: Servlet/3.0; JBossAS-6
Content-Length: 1242
Connection: keep-alive

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<devices xmlns:modelns="http://datamodel.components.cs.belkin.com/" success="S" fail="F" partial_success="P">
  <statusCode>S</statusCode>
  <resultCode>
    <code>PLGN_200</code>
    <description>Successful</description>
  </resultCode>
  <message>Device list retrieved successfully</message>
  <home>
    <homeId>0000000</homeId>
    <description>this is first plugin initialization</description>
    <firmwareId>0</firmwareId>
  </home>
  <device>
    <pluginId>1111111</pluginId>
    <macAddress>00005E005300</macAddress>
    <serialNumber>22222222222Z00</serialNumber>
    <uniqueId>uuid:Socket-1_0-22222222222Z00</uniqueId>
    <modelCode>Socket</modelCode>
    <productType>Socket</productType>
    <status>3</status>
    <notificationType>0</notificationType>
    <firmwareVersion>WeMo_WW_2.00.2176.PVT</firmwareVersion>
    <hwVersion>v1</hwVersion>
    <fwUpgradeStatus>4</fwUpgradeStatus>
    <signalStrength>29</signalStrength>
    <friendlyName>WeMo Switch 5</friendlyName>
    <dbVersion>0</dbVersion>
    <customizedState>1</customizedState>
    <attributeLists action="GetAttributes">
      <attribute>
        <name>hardResetTS</name>
        <value>1438939404278</value>
      </attribute>
    </attributeLists>
  </device>
  <groupSSIDs>
    <ssid>WeMoTest</ssid>
  </groupSSIDs>
  <groupArpMacs>
    <arpMac>00005E005301</arpMac>
  </groupArpMacs>
</devices>

Die Liste enthält weitere, bisher unbekannte Merkmale eines Geräts, unter anderem die PluginId (wird zum Teil auch als RecipientId verwendet), die macAddress sowie die Firmware-Version des WeMo Switches. Diese Merkmale werden dann für weitere Aktionen, wie das Ein- und Ausschalten des WeMo-Switches, benötigt. Zusätzlich werden auch die SSID des WLANs und die MAC-Adresse des Access-Points bei Belkin gespeichert.

Ein- und Ausschalten

Der Befehl zum Ein-/Ausschalten des Geräts wird an den Host api.xbcs.net gesendet. Um diese Nachricht zu senden, ist eine Authentisierung über den Basic Access Authentication Header notwendig. Der WeMo Switch wird dabei über die Felder PluginId respektive die RecipientId und die macAddress angesprochen. Der Status der Geräte wird dabei über die Werte 0 oder 1 gesteuert.

POST /apis/http/plugin/message HTTP/1.1
Host: api.xbcs.net:8443
<redacted by scip AG>

<plugins>
  <plugin>
    <recipientId>1111111</recipientId>
    <macAddress>00005E005300</macAddress>
    <content>
      <![CDATA[
      <pluginSetDeviceStatus>
        <plugin>
          <pluginId>1111111</pluginId>
          <macAddress>00005E005300</macAddress>
          <status>1</status>
          <friendlyName></friendlyName>
          <eventDuration>(null)</eventDuration>
          <cookedTime>(null)</cookedTime>
        </plugin>
      </pluginSetDeviceStatus>
      ]]>
    </content>
  </plugin>
</plugins>

Firmware Update

Die WeMo App kann auch dazu genutzt werden, um die Firmware des WeMo Switches zu aktualisieren. Als Antwort auf die initiale Anfrage, die wiederum den Basic Access Authentication Header enthält, erhält die App einen Link zu einer Seite, welche die erhältlichen Firmware-Versionen auflistet. Der Zugriff auf die Firmware erfolgt über eine unverschlüsselte Verbindung, obwohl der Server auch per HTTPS erreichbar wäre.

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
asyncServiceInvoke: false
Content-Type: application/json;charset=ISO-8859-1
Date: Thu, 10 Sep 2015 12:35:43 GMT
Server: Apache-Coyote/1.1
X-Powered-By: Servlet/3.0; JBossAS-6
Content-Length: 133
Connection: keep-alive

{"fwUpgradeInfo":{"firmwareId":0,"description":"Default firmware file","fwUpgradeURL":"http:\/\/fw.xbcs.net\/wemo\/NewFirmware.txt"}}

Das Firmware-Binary selbst ist mittels GPG verschlüsselt und wird auf dem WeMo Switch selbst extrahiert. Die Verwendung von GPG zur Verteilung der Firmware ist grundsätzlich eine gute Idee, nur hat Belkin bei der Implementierung einen folgenschweren Fehler gemacht. Der Security Researcher Mike Davis von IOActive entdeckte 2013, dass Belkin den GPG Signing Key in das WeMo Firmware-Image integrierte. Ein Angreifer konnte diesen Key extrahieren, eine eigene Firmware damit signieren und schlussendlich auf das Gerät einspielen. Im Firmware Update von 24. Januar 2014 hatte Belkin diese Schwachstelle geschlossen.

Informationen zur Belkin Infrastruktur

Die Belkin Infrastruktur wird in der Amazon EC2 Cloud betrieben. Die Infrastruktur umfasst unter anderem die Systeme ota.xbcs.net, api.xbcs.net oder fw.xbcs.net. Dabei konnte der Einsatz von Red Hat Linux, Apache 2.2.15 sowie JBoss 6 identifiziert werden.

Beim Start des WeMo Switches werden Log-Daten an ein System mit der IP-Adresse 184.73.191.189 übermittelt. Die MAC-Adresse 00005E005300 des WeMo Switches wird hierbei als ID in der POST-Request verwendet. Es ist ferner keine Authentisierung notwendig und es finden keine Kontrollen des Inhalts statt. Dies bedeutet, dass beliebige Inhalte unter beliebigen MAC-Adressen an die Server Belkins übermittelt werden können. Hingegen war es nicht möglich, auf bereits übermittelten und gespeicherten Daten zuzugreifen.

PUT /ToolService/log/uploadWdLogFile/00005E005300 HTTP/1.1
Host: 184.73.191.189:8899
Content-Type: multipart/octet-stream
Accept: application/xml
Content-Length: 301
Expect: 100-continue

[2015-08-07][08:33:35]|RT|Internet is connected
[2015-08-07][08:33:39]|PLUGINREMOTEREGISTER|Plugin App Remote ReRegister
[2015-08-07][08:33:37]|SIG|Connection signal strength: 55
[2015-08-07][08:33:40]|Plugin App Remote ReRegister failure|
[2015-08-07][08:33:40]|Plugin App Remote ReRegister failure|


HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Server: Apache-Coyote/1.1
Content-Type: application/xml
Content-Length: 67
Date: Fri, 07 Aug 2015 06:33:58 GMT

/opt/deviceLogs2/20150807/wdLogFile_00005E005300_20150807063358.log

Aus Erfahrungen gelernt

Als der WeMo Switch veröffentlicht wurde, ging es nicht lange und es wurden mehrere Schwachstellen gefunden. Im Bereich der Kommunikation zwischen App, WeMo Switch und der Server-Infrastruktur hat Belkin nun aus diesen Erfahrungen gelernt und die Remote-Kommunikation soweit gesichert, so dass Geräte ohne eine erfolgreiche Authentisierung nicht ferngesteuert werden können. Zudem werden die Geräte und Heimnetzwerke miteinander verknüpft und es ist nicht ohne weiteres möglich, andere Heimnetzwerke und deren Geräte durch Ausprobieren oder Durchnummerieren zu finden. Dadurch ist es für einen Angreifer nicht so leicht, Angriffe aus der Ferne auszuführen. Es bleibt zu hoffen, dass auch andere IoT-Hersteller aus diesen Erfahrungen ihre Lehren ziehen und die Produkte von Beginn an mit entsprechenden Sicherheitsfunktionen versehen.

Über die Autoren

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider arbeitet seit dem Jahr 2000 in der IT. Im Jahr 2010 hat er sich auf die Informationssicherheit spezialisiert. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehören das Penetration Testing, Hardening und das Aufspüren von Schwachstellen in Betriebssystemen. Er ist bekannt für eine Vielzahl in PowerShell geschrieber Tools zum Finden, Ausnutzen und Beheben von Schwachstellen. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Veit Hailperin

Veit Hailperin arbeitet seit 2010 im Bereich der Informationssicherheit. Seine Forschung konzentriert sich auf Network und Application Layer Security sowie auf den Schutz der Privatsphäre. Die Resultate präsentiert er an Konferenzen.

Links

Sie brauchen professionelles Vulnerability Management?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
HardeningKitty

HardeningKitty

Michael Schneider

KleptoKitty

KleptoKitty

Michael Schneider

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv