Password Security - When Passwords are there for the World to see

Password Security

When Passwords are there for the World to see

Eleanore Young
by Eleanore Young
on January 12, 2017
time to read: 12 minutes

The year 2016 has seen many reveals of successful attacks on user account databases; the most notable cases being the attacks on Yahoo and Dropbox. Thanks to recent advances not only in graphics processing hardware (GPUs), but also in password cracking software, it has become dangerously cheap to determine the actual passwords from such password databases. We will explore the setup of the appropriate hardware, common strategies used for cracking passwords, and how to make it harder for attackers to determine your passwords.

A Little Background

Due to the fact that the past 15 years or so have seen many successful attacks on password databases, software developers have learned not to store the user account passwords in plain text, but to only store so called digests, or hashes, of the passwords.

Hashes are the output of one-way algorithms, which means that it is computationally very hard to determine the input from the output. These methods allow developers to verify the authenticity of a password without actually storing the password itself. Commonly used hashing algorithms are: MD5, SHA-1, SHA-256, SHA-512, NTLM, or combinations thereof. The Wikipedia articles on cryptographic hash functions and key derivation functions offer a good overview over the subject, but I particularly like the introductions by Zulfikar Ramzan and Srinivas Devadas.

All is not well though, as not all hashing algorithms were designed for securely hashing passwords, and many have vulnerabilities such as frequent collisions (when two different input values have the same hash), or more efficient ways to calculate the hashes, in other words, shortcuts. Modern password cracking software use these vulnerabilities to very rapidly determine the original password from a hash without having to attempt a reversal of the hashing algorithm.

Furthermore, if passwords are fed through hashing algorithms as is, two persons who happen to use the same password, will also have the same hash value. As a countermeasure, developers have started adding random user-specific values (the salt) to the password before calculating the hash. The salt will then be stored alongside the password hash in the user account database. As such, even if two persons use the same password, their resulting hash value will be different due to the added salt.

Modern GPU architectures are designed for large scale parallelism. Currently, a decent consumer-grade graphics card is capable of performing on the order of 1000 calculations simultaneously. For example, when using two recent top-range consumer graphics cards to perform an attack on NTLM hashes, this would result in approximately 27 Trillion hashing operations per second! In 2012, the developer team MOSIX first published GPU clustering software which allows for practically unlimited scaling of the underlying hardware with minimal effort. Thus, it has become possible to reverse even password hashes that employ a salt at within reasonable time frames, assuming the hashing algorithms are amenable to parallelization.

Attackers commonly use a combination of multiple password cracking programs, most of them freely available. As of the writing of this article, free and open source programs that are capable of using graphics cards are: John the Ripper and Hashcat. Others are Ophcrack, and Cain and Abel. There exist more, but usually for specific areas such as computer passwords or WiFi passwords.

Strategies of Attackers

People who profit from cracking passwords have steadily progressed towards increasingly professionalized work. The strategies presented herein present only a small part of the effort undertaken to determine user credentials, and are by no means complete.

As far as hardware is concerned, attackers will adapt it to their use case, ranging from anything between a mid-range laptop to a 128 GPU cluster. Due to the fact that modern GPUs are now reasonably cheap, even one person can easily come up with the money to build a powerful cracking computer.

For the sake of brevity, we will focus on a powerful desktop computer with a recent release of Hashcat. The program Hashcat provides various attack methods and supports a large number of hashing algorithms, always automatically making use of the available CPUs and GPUs. I believe that it manages to illustrate how effectively passwords can be cracked nowadays.

For the examples in the following sections, we will try to crack the passwords of six persons. Persons “user1” and “user2” use two of the most common passwords, “user3” and “user4” use two short randomly generated passwords, and “user5” and “user6” use a very common easy-to-remember format. The hashing algorithm used is SHA-1 without a salt.

  1. user1 has the password hallo1 and the corresponding hash of d819b82566e9b601d87e168d0dffe31cee1a9229.
  2. user2 has the password 1234567890 and the corresponding hash of 01b307acba4f54f55aafc33bb06bbbf6ca803e9a.
  3. user3 has the password Xkkxer and the corresponding hash of a357d8269ef8f96973a98c820b2fb47251f11696.
  4. user4 has the password Lf!lyASz and the corresponding hash of 338cb709d331e5bb6361300f59fcea03bec56111.
  5. user5 has the password Martin90? and the corresponding hash of 1c15c4f9a0da91443205f58f5731a3c850c34b6d.
  6. user6 has the password Bergsteiger2016! and the corresponding hash of 72bf66db2315e75dfb569ba3d3a09203e906c111.

Hashcat parses the above list from the text file hashes.txt in the format username:hash-value.

Dictionary Attacks

Dictionary attacks rely on word lists and rule sets to derive candidate passwords, and are usually the fastest to deliver results. Based on our experience, dictionary attacks tend to recover between 10% and 30% of the available passwords. They work, because people prefer to use common words with simple variations for passwords.

The attacker’s all-time favorite word list is based on the public Rockyou user account database leak from 2009, because it contains a very large number of real, primarily English-based passwords. However, we found that we get better coverage when including German-language dictionaries, or targeted word lists for dictionary attacks.

Dictionary rules are used to modify each word in the dictionary to capture password variations such as hallo90! or Hallo. The GitHub source repository of Hashcat already provides a good set of dictionary rules.

The following command manages to recover the passwords of user1, user2, and user5 within the first couple of minutes, but fails to recover any of the other user’s passwords.

$ hashcat -a 0 -m 100 -w 3 —username -r InsidePro-PasswordsPro.rule hashes.txt wordlists-dir/

Mask Attacks

Despite all that has happened with regards to password security over the past years, a large percentage of users still use passwords that consist of a capitalized word, a few digits and a special character, in that order. They are usually between 8 and 10 characters long. Coincidentally, these passwords fulfill the minimum password requirements commonly used in Windows domains.

User-chosen passwords will follow a pattern. In Hashcat, these patterns can be expressed as so-called masks, for example ?u?l?l?l?l?d?d?s. In a mask attack, Hashcat will perform a brute force attack (i.e. try out every possible value) based on the supplied masks, which is more efficient than a blunt brute force attack alone.

The GitHub source repository of Hashcat already provides good masks, but for non-English language or corporate environments, it is often helpful to create masks from statistical information about passwords or from a known password policy, such as the default Windows domain policy. The PACK utilities were expressly developed for this purpose and are of great help in these scenarios. In certain cases it is helpful to evaluate existing sets of masks against a password policy to further reduce the number of brute force tries Hashcat has to make, so I created package Policymatch to help with that.

The following command additionally recovers the password of user3 within a minute.

$ hashcat -a 3 -m 100 -w 3 —username hashes.txt rockyou-1-60.hcmask

Recovering the password of user4 took a bit longer, about 72 hours:

$ hashcat -a 3 -m 100 -w 3 —username hashes.txt 8char-1l-1u-1d-1s-compliant.hcmask

Hybrid Attacks

Hashcat allows us to combine the two previous attack methods with the hybrid attack method. The following command finally manages to recover the last password, that of user6 in about 15 minutes. This specific attack works well, because users often include a date or a year in the password.

$ hashcat -a 6 -m 100 -w 3 —username hashes.txt wordlists-dir/ “?d?d?d?d?s”

Closing the Blinds on Prying Eyes

As a form of proof of who you are, passwords belong to the group of what you alone know. But because passwords are so hard to remember, they do not actually serve as a secure form of authentication. We see from the above examples that even passwords that are commonly considered more secure, can be recovered with little effort. A very scary realization.

From the user perspective, the best approach to passwords as a form of authentication is to use password managers, such as KeePassX, LastPass, or 1Password. The most important aspect of password managers is that they allow users to generate very complex passwords that never have to be remembered or entered by hand. In my opinion, the talks by Pierre-Antoine Haidar-Bachminska and David Jaeger offers a perfect introduction to better password strategies for those inclined.

From the developer perspective, it is crucial that passwords are stored and handled in a secure fashion using algorithms specifically designed for authentication data. For the basics, read the OWASP cheat sheets on password storage, forgot password, authentication and pinning. If you’re interested in knowing more about the subject, watch the talk by Per Thorsheim.

About the Author

Eleanore Young

Eleanore Young has completed her master degree in electrical engineering and information technology in 2014 at ETH Zurich. Her areas of focus include computer architectures, operating systems and applied research.

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Passwordless Authentication

Passwordless Authentication

Tomaso Vasella

Data Markets

Data Markets

Marc Ruef

Transport Layer Security

Transport Layer Security

Andrea Hauser

Diversify AI

Diversify AI

Marisa Tschopp

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Passwortsicherheit - Wenn Passwörter so klar wie Glas sind

Passwortsicherheit

Wenn Passwörter so klar wie Glas sind

Eleanore Young
von Eleanore Young
am 12. Januar 2017
Lesezeit: 12 Minuten

Im Jahr 2016 ereigneten sich erneut viele erfolgreiche Angriffe auf Nutzerdatenbanken, davon waren die wohl bekanntesten die Angriffe auf Yahoo und Dropbox. Dank neulicher Fortschritte in der Technologie von Grafikkarten (GPUs), aber auch von Software zum Knacken von Passwörtern, ist es mittlerweile auch für Privatpersonen erschwinglich geworden, Nutzerpasswörter im grossen Stil zurückzurechnen.

Etwas Hintergrund

Aufgrund der Tatsache, dass in den letzten 15 Jahren manche Angriffe auf Nutzerdatenbanken erfolgreich waren, begannen Softwareentwicklerinnen, Passwörter in reduzierter Form, den sogenannten Hashes, anstelle von Klartext zu speichern.

Hashes stellen die Ausgabe von gerichteten Algorithmen, den Hashfunktionen, dar. Das heisst, dass die Ausgabe dieser Algorithmen nur sehr schwer auf den ursprünglichen Eingabewert zurückzurechnen sind. Auf diese Weise können Programme die Authentizität von Passwörtern überprüfen, ohne diese selbst speichern zu müssen. Beispiele oft verwendeter Hashfunktionen sind MD5, SHA-1, SHA-256, SHA-512, NTLM oder eine Kombination dessen. Die Wikipediaartikel zu kryptologischen Hashfunktionen und Key Derivation Functions bieten einen guten Überblick über die Thematik, allerdings bevorzuge ich die Vorlesungen von Zulfikar Ramzan und Srinivas Devadas.

Damit sind jedoch nicht sämtliche Probleme gelöst. Nicht alle Hashfunktionen wurden zur sicheren Speicherung von Passwörtern entwickelt und viele davon besitzen Schwachstellen, wie häufige Kollisionen (wenn zwei verschiedene Eingabewerte den gleichen Ausgabewert besitzen) oder effizientere Berechnungsweisen, also Abkürzungen. Moderne Programme zur Berechnung von Passwörtern verwenden diese Schwachstellen, um Passwörter aus den Hashes zu berechnen, ohne die Hashfunktionen umkehren zu müssen.

Darüber hinaus sind Hashfunktionen deterministisch. Das heisst, wenn zwei Personen das gleiche Passwort verwenden, resultiert dies auch in einem identischen Hashwert. Sobald eine Angreiferin oder ein Angreifer den Hash zu einem Passwort kennt, werden alle Personen, die dieses Passwort verwenden, in Mitleidenschaft gezogen. Als Gegenmassnahme haben Entwicklerinnen begonnen, einen individuellen zufälligen Wert, das sogenannte Salt, zu jedem Passwort hinzuzufügen, bevor der Hash berechnet wird. Damit haben zwei unterschiedliche Personen einen anderen Hash, auch wenn sie dasselbe Passwort benützen.

Moderne GPU Architekturen werden für einen hohen Grad an Rechenparallelität entwickelt. Zur Zeit schafft es eine für Konsumentinnen geeignete Grafikkarte in der Grössenordnung von 1’000 simultanen Berechnungen auszuführen. Beispielsweise, gelingt es mit zwei aktuellen, herkömmlichen Grafikkarten die Hashfunktion NTLM ungefähr 27 Milliarden Mal in der Sekunde zu berechnen! In 2012, publizierte das Team MOSIX erstmals Software zum Bilden von grossen GPU Clustern, was praktisch unbegrenztes Skalieren der Hardware ermöglicht. So ist es möglich geworden, sogar Hashes mit Salt in absehbarer Zeit zu knacken, vorausgesetzt, die verwendete Hashfunktion kann leicht parallelisiert werden.

Angreiferinnen verwenden für Gewöhnlich eine Kombination verschiedenster Programme zum Berechnen von Passwörtern – die meisten davon sind frei erhältlich. Zur Zeit vermögen es die Programme John the Ripper und Hashcat verfügbare GPUs zu verwenden. Andere Programme sind z.B. Ophcrack und Cain and Abel.

Strategien der Angreiferinnen

Menschen, die aus dem Knacken von Passwörtern Profit schlagen können, haben sich in den letzten Jahren zunehmends professionalisiert. Die hier präsentierten Strategien sind deshalb keineswegs abschliessend und bieten nur einen groben Überblick über das Feld.

Was die Hardware betrifft, verwenden Angreiferinnen alles zwischen einem Laptop und einem 128 GPU Rechencluster. Aufgrund der Tatsache, dass aktuelle GPUs kräftig und zugleich relativ günstig sind, können es sich mittlerweile auch Einzelpersonen leisten, geeignete Hardware zusammenzustellen.

Im Sinne der Kurzweiligkeit beschränken wir uns hier auf einen leistungsfähigen Desktopcomputer mit einer aktuellen Version von Hashcat. Das Programm Hashcat stellt mehrere Angriffsweisen zur Verfügung, kann mit vielen Hashfunktionen umgehen und verwendet automatisch alle verfügbaren CPUs und GPUs. Meiner Meinung nach ist diese Konfiguration gut dafür geeignet, die Effizienz heutiger Methoden vor Auge zu führen.

In den nachfolgenden Abschnitten werden wir versuchen, die Passwörter von sechs Personen zu knacken. Die Personen user1 und user2 verwenden jeweils eines der häufigsten Passwörter, user3 und user4 verwenden jeweils ein kurzes zufällig generiertes Passwort und user5 wie user6 verwenden ein leicht zu merkendes Passwortformat. Die Hashfunktion in diesem Fall ist SHA-1 ohne Salt.

  1. user1 verwendet das Passwort hallo1 und den Hash d819b82566e9b601d87e168d0dffe31cee1a9229.
  2. user2 verwendet das Passwort 1234567890 und den Hash 01b307acba4f54f55aafc33bb06bbbf6ca803e9a.
  3. user3 verwendet das Passwort Xkkxer und den Hash a357d8269ef8f96973a98c820b2fb47251f11696.
  4. user4 verwendet das Passwort Lf!lyASz und den Hash 338cb709d331e5bb6361300f59fcea03bec56111.
  5. user5 verwendet das Passwort Martin90? und den Hash 1c15c4f9a0da91443205f58f5731a3c850c34b6d.
  6. user6 verwendet das Passwort Bergsteiger2016! und den Hash 72bf66db2315e75dfb569ba3d3a09203e906c111.

Hashcat liest diese Daten aus der Textdatei hashes.txt im Format Nutzername:Hash.

Wörterbuchangriffe

Wörterbuchangriffe, oder Dictionary Angriffe, stützen sich auf Wortlisten und Regeln, um Passwortkandidaten zu finden. Dieser Angriffstyp liefert oftmals am schnellsten Resultate und deckt nach unserer Erfahrung etwa 10% bis 30% der Passwörter auf. Wörterbuchangriffe funktionieren, weil Menschen es bevorzugen, Passwörter aus bekannten Wörtern mit einfachen Variationen zu erstellen.

Die beliebteste Wortliste ist jene aus dem Rockyou Leak aus 2009, weil sie viele echte, englischsprachige Passwörter enthält. Wir bevorzugen jedoch zusätzlich eine Kombination aus lokalisierten und zielgerichteten Wortlisten.

Regeln werden dann dazu verwendet, die vorhandenen Wörter mit häufigen Variationen, wie zum Beispiel hallo90! oder Hallo” anzupassen. Die GitHub Repository von Hashcat stellt eine gute Liste von Regeln zur Verfügung.

Der folgende Befehl knackt die Passwörter der Personen user1, user2 und user5 binnen einiger Minuten, schlägt bei den anderen drei jedoch fehl.

$ hashcat -a 0 -m 100 -w 3 —username -r InsidePro-PasswordsPro.rule hashes.txt wordlists-dir/

Maskenangriffe

Ein beträchtlicher Prozentsatz von Nutzerinnen verwendet nach wie vor ein Passwort, das mit einem Grossbuchstaben beginnt, ein vollständiges Wort enthält und mit einer Zahl und/oder einem Sonderzeichen aufhört. Dieser Typ von Passwörtern ist meistens zwischen 8 und 10 Zeichen lang. Auffälligerweise erfüllt dieses Format ganz schön die standard Passwortvorgaben von Windows Domänen.

Von Nutzerinnen gewählte Passwörter folgen einem Muster. In Hashcat, können diese Muster als sogenannte Masken, z.B. ?u?l?l?l?l?d?d?s, ausgedrückt werden. In einem Maskenangriff führt Hashcat einen gezielten Bruteforce Angriff durch, das heisst, es werden alle möglichen Werte der vorgegebenen Maske durchprobiert. Dies ist effizienter als ein blosses Durchprobieren aller vorstellbarer Möglichkeiten.

Die GitHub Seite von Hashcat stellt bereits gute Masken zur Verfügung. Für nicht englischsprachige oder geschäftliche Umfelder, ist es oft von Nutzen, statistische Informationen über Passwörter oder eine bekannte Passwortvorgabe zu verwenden, um gute Passwortkandidaten zu finden. Die PACK Programme wurden speziell dafür entwickelt und sind von grosser Hilfe. In gewissen Fällen kann es helfen, bestehende Masken gegen eine Passwortvorgabe zu prüfen, um den Suchraum weiter einschränken zu können. Dafür habe ich das Paket Policymatch entwickelt. Feedback ist willkommen!

Der folgende Befehl errechnet das Passwort der Person user3 innert einer Minute.

$ hashcat -a 3 -m 100 -w 3 —username hashes.txt rockyou-1-60.hcmask

Um das Passwort des Person user4 zu errechnen bedurfte es mit ca, 72 Stunden etwas mehr geduld:

$ hashcat -a 3 -m 100 -w 3 —username hashes.txt 8char-1l-1u-1d-1s-compliant.hcmask

Hybridangriffe

Hashcat erlaubt es uns, die vorhergehenden Methoden in einem Hybridangriff zu kombinieren. Der folgende Befehl schafft es schlussendlich, das Passwort der letzten Person, user6 innert einer Viertelstunde zurückzurechnen. Dieser spezifische Angriff funktioniert gut, weil Personen oft ein Datum oder eine Jahreszahl im Passwort verwenden.

$ hashcat -a 6 -m 100 -w 3 —username hashes.txt wordlists-dir/ “?d?d?d?d?s”

Damit Geheimnisse auch solche bleiben

Als ein Beweis dafür, wer du bist, gehören Passwörter zu der Gruppe von was du alleine weisst. Aber weil man sich nur sehr schwer an Passwörter erinnern kann, eignen sie sich nicht wirklich als sichere Form der Authentisierung. An den vorhergehenden Beispielen stellen wir mit Schrecken fest, mit wie wenig Aufwand sogar als relativ sicher angesehene Passwörter geknackt werden können.

Aus der Perspektive der Nutzerinnen ist die beste Strategie, einen Passwortmanager wie z.B. KeePassX LastPass oder 1Password zu verwenden. Der wichtigste Aspekt von Passwortmanagern ist, dass sie Menschen erlauben, hochkomplexe Passwörter zu generieren und diese nie von Hand eingeben zu müssen. Meiner Meinung nach liefern die Talks von Pierre-Antoine Haidar-Bachminska und David Jaeger perfekte Einführungen in die Welt besserer Passwortstrategien.

Aus der Perspektive der Entwicklerinnen ist es zentral, dass Passwörter auf sichere Weise mit dafür gedachten Algorithmen gehandhabt und gespeichert werden. Für einen Überblick empfehle ich die OWASP Cheat Sheets zu Password Storage, Forgot Password, Authentication und Pinning. Für Interessierte verweise ich auf den Talk von Per Thorsheim.

Über die Autorin

Eleanore Young

Eleanore Young hat ihren Master in Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnologie im Jahr 2014 an der ETH Zürich abgeschlossen. Zu ihren Fachgebieten gehören Rechnerarchitekturen, Betriebssysteme sowie angewandte Forschung.

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv