Logging with Graylog - A Technical Review

Logging with Graylog

A Technical Review

Rocco Gagliardi
by Rocco Gagliardi
on March 02, 2017
time to read: 4 minutes

This article looks at the open-source log file tool Graylog. It is not a technical comparison against other tools, is just to fire some reasons to support my – changed – preference of Graylog over ELK. We are taking here about the free versions.

Since many years I’m a – relative – big fan of ELK, basically because Logstash and Kibana. Since I wrote and maintained my own log parsing and presentation engine, I really appreciate Logstash, in regards of performance, modularity, flexibility. I also appreciate the Kibana visualization features.

Where I’m falling from love with ELK, is the lacks of authentication/authorization features and the absence of a unified management user interface for all components.

Comfort of Graylog

Graylog uses a different approach. The WebUI covers many functionality – from the status of ES indexes up to input, parsing, filter and presentation – making the experience more comfortable; sure, for some advanced tuning, console intervention is needed, but for normal usage, the WebUI provides all functionality necessary to get, parse, manipulate, and present the data.

The Graylog dashboard

Key points to use Graylog

Graylog excels in many areas:

Room for Improvements

The dashboard part, even if very well integrated and useful, lacks many features and visualizations contained in Kibana (like aggregations).

Additionally, security settings must be configured separately, also with some terminal effort.

Summary

Graylog, even if not perfect, is – at the moment – the best open-source tool to start with, if there is a need of log management. It is packaged for major Linux distributions, has VM ready for use and also Docker images are available.

It still requires some time to learn the architecture, and in case of problems you could spend days if you never touched Elasticsearch or other log tools. But if you have some experience, you can easily setup a complex environment for complex log analysis in a couple of hours.

About the Author

Rocco Gagliardi

Rocco Gagliardi has been working in IT since the 1980s and specialized in IT security in the 1990s. His main focus lies in network routing, firewalling and log management.

Links

You want to bring your logging and monitoring to the next level?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
SQLite forensic's notes

SQLite forensic's notes

Rocco Gagliardi

Microsoft365DSC

Microsoft365DSC

Rocco Gagliardi

Office 365 Teams Security

Office 365 Teams Security

Rocco Gagliardi

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Logging mit Graylog - Eine technische Betrachtung

Logging mit Graylog

Eine technische Betrachtung

Rocco Gagliardi
von Rocco Gagliardi
am 02. März 2017
Lesezeit: 4 Minuten

Dieser Beitrag diskutiert das quelloffene Log-Tool Graylog. Dabei geht es weniger um einen technischen Vergleich mit anderen Lösungen, sondern lediglich die Diskussion darum, warum ich diese mittlerweile ELK vorziehe. Wir betrachten hierbei die frei verfügbare Version.

Seit vielen Jahren bin ich ein grosser Fan von ELK. Hauptsächlich wegen Logstash und Kibana. Seitdem ich meine eigene Log Parsing und Presentation Engine geschrieben habe, mag ich Logstash, vor allem aufgrund von Performance, Modularität und Flexibilität. Ebenso mag ich die Möglichkeiten der Visualisierung, wie sie durch Kibana bereitgestellt werden.

Meine Zuneigung zu ELK wird jedoch getrübt, wenn es um Authentisierung/Autorisierung sowie das Fehlen eines zentralisierten Management-Interfaces für sämtliche Komponenten geht.

Komfort von Graylog

Graylog geht da andere Wege. Das WebUI deckt viele Funktionalitäten ab – Vom Status der ES Indexes über Parsing und Filter bis hin zur Darstellung. Selbstverständlich ist auch hier die eine oder andere Optimierung auf der Konsole erforderlich. Doch für den täglichen Gebrauch im Umgang mit den Daten reicht es allemal.

Das Graylog Dashboard

Die Vorteile von Graylog

Graylog vermag in verschiedenen Bereichen zu überzeugen:

Möglichkeiten zur Verbesserung

Das Dashboard, selbst wenn es gut integriert und nützlich ist, weist nicht so viele Funktionalitäten wie Kibana auf (z.B. Aggregierung).

Zudem müssen Sicherheitseinstellungen separat vorgenommen werden, weshalb man um den Zugriff über Terminal nicht herum kommt.

Fazit

Graylog, selbst wenn es zur Zeit noch nicht perfekt ist, ist das beste open-source Tool, mit dem man sich an Log Management herantrauen kann. Es liegt vielen grossen Linux-Distributionen bei, kommt alternativ als VM daher und ist also Docker-Image verfügbar.

Es setzt natürlich dennoch einige Zeit voraus, um die Architektur verstehen zu können. Für das Lösen einzelner Probleme kann es schon mal erforderlich sein, mehrere Tage investieren zu müssen, falls man noch nie mit anderen Tools wie Elasticsearch gearbeitet hat. Doch wenn Sie die entsprechende Erfahrung mitbringen, dann ist das Aufsetzen einer komplexen Umgebung zur Bewältigung von Logs durchaus in wenigen Stunden möglich.

Über den Autor

Rocco Gagliardi

Rocco Gagliardi ist seit den 1980er Jahren im Bereich der Informationstechnologie tätig. In den 1990er Jahren hat er sich ganz der Informationssicherheit verschrieben. Die Schwerpunkte seiner Arbeit liegen im Bereich Routing, Firewalling und Log Management.

Links

Sie wollen Ihr Log und Monitoring auf das nächste Level bringen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Schutz vor Phishing

Schutz vor Phishing

Rocco Gagliardi

Logging

Logging

Rocco Gagliardi

IT Security Policies

IT Security Policies

Rocco Gagliardi

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv