Area41 Workshop – A Look Behind the Scenes

Area41 Workshop

A Look Behind the Scenes

Michael Schneider
by Michael Schneider
on June 07, 2018
time to read: 9 minutes

Keypoints

  • Setting up a test environment has its pitfalls
  • I/O performance is key
  • Trouble-free migration from ESXi to Citrix XenServer
  • Windows 2000 lives on

A Windows Active Directory test environment is a great thing in itself. It can be used to test new settings, to train in hacking techniques and for research. From time to time it also inspires us to write a Labs article like BloodHound – Sniffing out domain admins. I built the first version of my test environment some time ago on a notebook running VMware Workstation with two domain controllers, two member servers and two clients. I used this environment as the basis for Area41, which will take place on June 15 and 16, 2018, and the Adversary Simulation workshop and have continued developing it. And there began a tale of woe.

The hypervisor

For the Area41 workshop, our IT admin provided me with a server that we had used for internal testing purposes in the past. The machine was running VMware ESXi 6.0, and the server’s uptime was 220 days. I decided to upgrade to vSphere 6.5, installed all updates and then began uploading my existing virtual machines (VM).

Switching the hardware invalidates the Windows Evaluation License for the Windows 10 clients. Because the license renewal with slmgr /rearm no longer worked under Windows 10, I could not continue using the clients in this way. That isn’t a big problem; a client can be easily replaced, since this is for the most part configured using group policies.

The server performance was a greater problem when all VMs were running at the same time. Disk utilization was so high that it was only possible to work in the VM at a snail’s pace. So I went back to the IT admin to scrounge up an SSD.

I installed it and then during the initialization process I began to wonder whether I should format the SSD with VMFS6 or with VMFS5 like the other two disks. After much hesitation, I opted for VMFS6.

I expected a performance boost with the SSD, but I was disappointed. The system was even more sluggish than before. And now working with the VMs had become impossible; they would only respond after long delays and took 15 minutes just to boot. It turned out that VMware had developed a new AHCI driver (vmw_ahci) with vSphere 6.5, resulting in performance problems with certain controllers. Monitoring the disk performance showed that the read and write I/O dropped shortly after starting and then remained at just a few KBps:

ESXi Disk Performance

The AHCI driver can be disabled with the SSH command esxcli system module set --enabled=false --module=vmw_ahci. Rolling back to the legacy driver and/or updating to build 5969303 appears to have solved the problem for others. Performance remained slow on my system, however. Even trying various settings in the BIOS did not bring about any improvement.

I decided to downgrade to ESXi 6.0. During the downgrade, however, I discovered that ESXi 6.0 cannot read VMFS6-formatted partitions. The tool vmfs-tools does not (yet) support VMFS6 either.

Most of my VMs were, of course, stored on the SSD. Yet because I had still been unable to work with the VMs up until this point due to the performance problems, and my local VMs were therefore still up-to-date, I decided to reformat the SSD. But the performance problem persisted even with ESXi 6.0. At least it did not appear to be caused by the new AHCI driver. After speaking with the IT admin, we decided to use XenServer.

The migration

When migrating to XenServer, VMware VMs can be exported into the OVF format, which can then be imported directly using XenCenter. To my surprise, the export/import process worked fine. When running XenServer, there were no performance problems with the SSD either. It was only the Windows 2000 VM that would no longer start due to a bluescreen during the boot process – but more on that later.

After the migration, I began uninstalling VMware Tools on all VMs and installing the XenServer Tools. That worked on all systems, except for one Windows Server 2016 Core VM. I could not find any way to uninstall VMware Tools. VMware itself recommends uninstalling this software in Programs and Features or running the VMware Tools setup file. There did not appear to be any other option. The Programs and Features option is not available in Windows Server Core, however, and I didn’t want to go through the extra step of copying the VMware Tools setup program to the VM. If anyone knows a simple way to uninstall VMware Tools, any recommendations are welcome.

For the first VMware Tools service, I disabled and started with the XenServer Tools installation, which is available as an MSI package. The installation was blocked by a software policy, however. Because I had configured several hardening settings on this server, I wasn’t particularly surprised. But I still could not find the cause even after several hours of combing through the AppLocker policy, software restrictions and various registry keys. It ultimately turned out that the installation would have worked fine with msiexec /i.

All of the restarts and shuffling back and forth of the VMs had now created an inconsistency in the AD replication of the two domain controllers. There was initially a 60-minute time difference between the secondary DC and the primary DC, but I managed to fix this. After restarting, however, the event log started filling up with Kerberos error messages – a bad sign. Here, too, it took me some time to analyze and try various workarounds before finding a solution to the problem. What finally worked was resetting the machine account of the secondary domain controller, making it possible to replicate the two domain controllers again. Luckily, there were no other problems on the member servers. So the migration was completed successfully, except for the Windows 2000 machine.

The return of Windows 2000

The Windows 2000 machine is one of the challenges planned for the Area41 workshop, so I was interested in getting it up and running again. The bluescreen cropped up during the boot process, because Windows 2000 could not locate the boot partition. The reason was probably that Windows 2000 did not have a driver for the disk controller. A workaround was to run the VM again under VMware Workstation, install XenServer Tools 5.5 and then migrate the VM again. Windows 2000 now started successfully:

Windows 2000 boot screen

A new version of XenServer tools cannot be installed under Windows 2000, however, because it has a .NET Framework dependency. At least there is a guide on how the .NET Framework 3.0 and 3.5 can also be installed under Windows 2000. But now that my VM was running smoothly, I decided to stop experimenting.

Incidentally, I also noticed that Windows Update no longer worked in Windows 2000. This is probably because the requirements for the TLS/SSL configuration on the Windows Update are too strict, preventing the Windows Update client from being able to connect anymore. At least most of the updates for Windows 2000 can still be found on the internet – the links on the Microsoft download page are a dead end, however. For anyone feeling nostalgic and wanting to run Windows 2000 from time to time, I recommend using the Windows 2000 JSLinux VM developed by Fabrice Bellard.

Moving forward

Migrating the AD test environment to XenServer ultimately succeeded, but cost me a lot more time and effort than I had expected. After temporarily changing roles between Red Team and Sysadmin, I once again saw how much expertise, work and “pain” is required to set up an IT infrastructure and keep it up and running. So it’s only right that there is a System Administrator Appreciation Day (last Friday in July)! The setups for the Area41 workshop are now ready, and I will use the remaining time to set up additional systems, prepare vulnerabilities and develop a monitoring scheme together with our Blue Team. See you soon at the Area41!

About the Author

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider has been in IT since 2000. Since 2010 he is focused on information security. He is an expert at penetration testing, hardening and the detection of vulnerabilities in operating systems. He is well-known for a variety of tools written in PowerShell to find, exploit, and mitigate weaknesses. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

Your Blue Team may use some support?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Farewell NTLM

Farewell NTLM

Michael Schneider

ContainerKitty

ContainerKitty

Michael Schneider

WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

HardeningKitty Score

HardeningKitty Score

Michael Schneider

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Area41 Workshop - Ein Blick hinter die Kulissen

Area41 Workshop

Ein Blick hinter die Kulissen

Michael Schneider
von Michael Schneider
am 07. Juni 2018
Lesezeit: 9 Minuten

Keypoints

  • Der Aufbau einer Testumgebung hat seine Tücken
  • I/O-Performance ist entscheidend
  • Migration von ESXi auf Citrix XenServer ohne Probleme
  • Windows 2000 lebt noch weiter

Eine Windows Active Directory-Testumgebung ist an sich eine grossartige Sache. Sie kann für das Testen neuer Einstellungen, für Training von Angriffstechniken und für Research genutzt werden. Daraus resultiert ab und an auch ein Labs-Artikel wie BloodHound – Auf der Jagd nach Domain-Admins. Die erste Version meiner Testumgebung habe ich vor einiger Zeit auf einem Notebook mit VMware Workstation gebaut, bestehend aus zwei Domain-Controllern, zwei Member-Server und zwei Clients. Anlässlich der Area 41 vom 15. und 16. Juni 2018 und unserem Workshop Adversary Simulation habe ich diese Umgebung als Basis genommen und diese weiter ausgebaut. Der Beginn einer Leidensgeschichte.

Der Hypervisor

Für den Area41-Workshop habe ich von unserem IT-Admin einen Server erhalten, den wir bisher für interne Testzwecke eingesetzt haben. Darauf war VMware ESXi 6.0 installiert und die Uptime des Servers betrug 220 Tage. Ich entschied mich für ein Upgrade auf vSphere 6.5, installierte alle Updates und begann dann meine bestehenden virtuellen Maschinen (VM) hochzuladen.

Durch den Hardwarewechsel ist die Windows Evaluation License der Windows 10 Clients nicht mehr gültig. Da unter Windows 10 die Lizenzverlängerung mit slmgr /rearm nicht mehr funktioniert, kann ich die Clients so nicht weiterverwenden. Das ist kein grosse Problem, ein Client kann leicht ersetzt werden, da dieser grösstenteils über Gruppenrichtlinien konfiguriert wird.

Ein grösseres Problem stellte die Performance des Servers dar, wenn alle VMs gleichzeitig liefen. Die Auslastung der Disks war so hoch, dass es beim Arbeiten in der VM nur noch schleppend voran ging. Ich ging also zurück zum IT-Admin, um eine SSD zu erschnorren.

Nach dem Einbau überlegte ich beim Initialisieren, ob ich die SDD mit VMFS6 formatieren sollte, oder mit VMFS5 wie die anderen beiden Disks. Nach längerem Zögern entschied ich mich für VMFS6.

Mit der SDD erwartete ich einen Leistungsschub, wurde aber enttäuscht. Das System agierte noch schwerfälliger als zuvor. Mittlerweile war das Arbeiten mit den VMs nicht mehr möglich, diese reagierten nur noch mit grossen Verzögerungen und brauchten eine Viertelstunde nur zum Starten. Es stellte sich heraus, dass VMware mit vSphere 6.5 einen neuen AHCI-Treiber (vmw_ahci) entwickelt hatte, welcher bei einigen Controllern zu Performance-Problemen führt. In der Auswertung der Disk-Performance war zu sehen, wie der Read- und Write-I/O kurz nach Start einbrach und dann auf wenigen KBps verblieb:

ESXi Disk Performance

Über SSH kann der AHCI-Treiber durch den Befehl esxcli system module set --enabled=false --module=vmw_ahci deaktiviert werden. Der Rollback zum Legacy-Treiber und/oder das Update zum Build 5969303 scheint das Problem bei einigen anderen zu beheben. Bei meinem System blieb die Performance jedoch bescheiden. Auch das Durchprobieren von verschiedenen Einstellungen im BIOS führte nicht zu einer Verbesserung.

Ich entschied mich für einen Downgrade auf ESXi 6.0. Während dem Downgrade stellte ich jedoch fest, dass ESXi 6.0 VMFS6 formatierte Partitionen nicht lesen kann. Auch das Tool vmfs-tools unterstützt VMFS6 (noch) nicht.

Auf der SSD waren natürlich die meisten meiner VMs gespeichert. Da ich aber bis zum dem Zeitpunkt mit den VMs aufgrund der Performance-Problemen noch nicht viel arbeiten konnte und somit meine lokalen VMs noch aktuell waren, entschied ich mich, die SSD neu zu formatieren. Doch auch unter ESXi 6.0 bestand das Performance-Problem. Es schien zumindest nicht am neuen AHCI-Treiber zu liegen. Nach Diskussionen mit dem IT-Admin entschieden wir uns auf den Einsatz von XenServer.

Die Migration

Zur Migration auf XenServer können VMware-VMs in das OVF-Format exportiert werden, welches dann mittels XenCenter direkt importiert werden kann. Zu meiner Überraschung funktionierte der Export/Import-Vorgang problemlos. Unter XenServer gab es dann auch keine Performance-Probleme mit der SSD. Nur die Windows 2000 VM konnte aufgrund eines Bluescreens während dem Boot-Vorgang nicht mehr gestartet werden – dazu später mehr.

Nach der Umstellung begann ich auf allen VMs die VMware Tools zu de- und die XenServer Tools zu installieren. Das klappte auf allen Systemen soweit, bis auf einer Windows Server 2016 Core VM. Ich fand keine Möglichkeit die VMware Tools zu deinstallieren. VMware selber empfiehlt diese per Programs and Features zu deinstallieren, oder das VMware Tools Setup zu verwenden. Ein andere Möglichkeit schien es nicht zu geben. Die Option Programs and Features ist unter Windows Server Core aber nicht vorhanden und das VMware Tools Setupprogramm wollte ich nicht extra auf die VM kopieren. Falls jemand weiss, wie man die VMware Tools einfach deinstallieren kann, Tipps sind willkommen.

Ich deaktivierte fürs erste den VMware Tools Service und startete mit der Installation der XenServer Tools, welche als MSI-Paket vorliegen. Die Installation wurde jedoch von einer Software Policy geblockt. Da ich einige Hardening-Einstellungen bei diesem Server vorgenommen hatte, war ich nicht sonderlich überrascht. Aber auch nach stundenlangen Durchgehen der AppLocker Policy, Software Restrictions und diversen Registry-Keys konnte ich die Ursache nicht finden. Am Ende stellte sich heraus, dass die Installation mittels msiexec /i ohne weiteres funktioniert hätte.

Durch das Hin- und Herschieben und Starten der VMs gab es nun eine Inkonsistenz der AD-Replikation der beiden Domain-Controller. Der Secondary-DC hat zuerst 60min Zeitunterschied zum Primary-DC, was sich aber noch beheben liess. Nach einem Neustart begann sich jedoch das Event-Log mit Kerberos-Fehlermeldungen zu füllen. Ein schlechtes Zeichen. Auch hier verbrachte ich einige Zeit mit Analyse und diversen Workarounds zur Problembehebung. Schlussendlich half es den Maschinen-Account des Secondary-Domain-Controllers zurückzusetzen. Die beiden Domain Controller replizierten nun wieder. Bei den Member-Servern gab es glücklicherweise keine weiteren Probleme. Bis auf die Windows 2000 Maschine konnte die Migration also erfolgreich abgeschlossen werden.

Windows 2000 kehrt zurück

Die Windows 2000 Maschine ist eine der Challenges für den Area 41 Workshop, dementsprechend war ich interessiert daran diese wieder zum Laufen zu bringen. Der Bluescreen trat während des Boot-Prozesses auf, da Windows 2000 die Boot-Partition nicht finden konnte. Ursache dafür war vermutlich, dass Windows 2000 keinen Treiber für den Disk-Controller hatte. Als Workaround liess ich die VM nochmals unter VMware Workstation laufen, installierte dort die XenServer Tools 5.5 und migrierte die VM danach nochmals. Mit Erfolg, Windows 2000 startete nun:

Windows 2000 Boot Screen

Eine neuere Version der XenServer Tools kann unter Windows 2000 aber nicht installiert werden, da diese vom .NET-Framework abhängig ist. Es gibt zumindest eine Anleitung, wie das .NET-Framework 3.0 und 3.5 auch unter Windows 2000 installiert werden kann. Nachdem meine VM aber soweit ohne Probleme lief, verzichtete ich auf weitere Experimente.

Nebenbei stellte ich fest, dass das Windows Update unter Windows 2000 nicht mehr funktioniert. Möglicherweise sind die Anforderungen der TLS/SSL-Konfiguration der Windows-Update-Server zu hoch, sodass der Windows Update-Client keine Verbindung mehr aufbauen kann. Immerhin sind die meisten der Updates für Windows 2000 noch im Internet auffindbar – auf der Download-Seite von Microsoft verweisen die Download-Links jedoch ins Leere. Tipp für all diejenigen, die nun aus Nostalgie wieder einmal ein Windows 2000 starten möchten, benutzt die Windows 2000 JSLinux VM von Fabrice Bellard.

Ausblick

Die Migration der AD-Testumgebung auf XenServer ist schlussendlich geglückt, hatte mich aber mehr Aufwand gekostet wie ursprünglich gedacht. Mein temporärer Rollenwechsel vom Red Team zum Sysadmin hat mir wieder einmal gezeigt, wie viel Wissen, Aufwand und “Schmerzen” es benötigt, eine IT-Infrastruktur aufzubauen und am Laufen zu halten. Nicht umsonst gibt es den System Administrator Appreciation Day am letzten Freitag im Juli! Die Basis für den Area41-Workshop ist nun gelegt, die verbleibende Zeit verwende ich nun, um zusätzliche Systeme aufzusetzen, Schwachstellen zu präparieren und ein Monitoring zusammen mit unserem Blue Team aufzubauen. Bis bald an der Area41!

Über den Autor

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider arbeitet seit dem Jahr 2000 in der IT. Im Jahr 2010 hat er sich auf die Informationssicherheit spezialisiert. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehören das Penetration Testing, Hardening und das Aufspüren von Schwachstellen in Betriebssystemen. Er ist bekannt für eine Vielzahl in PowerShell geschrieber Tools zum Finden, Ausnutzen und Beheben von Schwachstellen. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

Ihr Blue Team braucht Unterstützung?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
HardeningKitty

HardeningKitty

Michael Schneider

KleptoKitty

KleptoKitty

Michael Schneider

Linux Hardening

Linux Hardening

Michael Schneider

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv