Bypassing NAC - A handy How-to Guide

Bypassing NAC

A handy How-to Guide

Michael Schneider
by Michael Schneider
on February 07, 2019
time to read: 11 minutes

Keypoints

How to bypass Network Access Control

  • Bypassing IEEE 802.1X with a transparent bridge solution
  • Implementation based on NACkered
  • NAC bypass project available on GitHub
  • A way to bypass Network Access Control
  • Feeding in own commands via a legitimate device
  • Can be used autonomously in environments where devices are switched

In the article entitled Network Access Control – What’s important to remember with NAC?, Dominik Altermatt described the basics of Network Access Control (NAC) and briefly discussed how to bypass this control mechanism. In this edition of Labs, we will introduce a practical solution for bypassing port-based IEEE 802.1X network access control.

Standing on the shoulders of giants

In 2011, Alva Lease “Skip” Duckwall IV gave a presentation at Defcon 19 entitled A Bridge Too Far in which he showed how 802.1X can be bypassed using a Linux transparent bridge. Based on these principles, Matt E wrote the bash script NACkered v2.92.2. We then used this script to write our own NAC bypass script collection, which we have released on our GitHub page.

At first, the plan was to use NACkered and make selective changes as needed. But we gradually found ourselves changing so many things that we ultimately developed a standalone solution. We included one extension to support Laurent GaffiĆ©’s Responder tool, because the combination of NAC bypass and Responder is very useful for internal network-based penetration tests or as part of red team assessments to gain access to login credentials.

Requirements and setup

The basic requirement for an NAC bypass is access to a device that has already been authenticated. This device is used to log into the network and then smuggle in network packages from a different device. This involves placing the attacker’s system between the network switch and the authenticated device. One way to do this is with a Raspberry Pi and two network adapters.

The NACkered script and our nac_bypass_setup.sh solution were written and tested on Debian-based Linux distributions, but both should be executable on other Linux distributions as well. The following software packages are required:

For arptables, iptables and ebtables, make sure not to use Netfilter xtable tools (nft), or the script will not work as desired.

The nac_bypass_setup.sh script has the following parameters:

nac_bypass_setup.sh v0.6.1 usage:
    -1 <eth>    network interface plugged into switch
    -2 <eth>    network interface plugged into victim machine
    -a          autonomous mode
    -c          start connection setup only
    -h          display this help
    -i          start initial setup only
    -r          reset all settings
    -R          enable port redirection for Responder
    -S          enable port redirection for OpenSSH and start the service

The parameters -1 and -2 define which network adapters will be used. You can also edit them directly in the script: -a suppresses the output of the script’s log and debugging information and no manual interaction is required when running it. The parameters -R and -S activate port forwarding for the use of SSH and Responder. The parameters -c, -i and -r only initiate certain sequences within the script. Their respective functions will be discussed in more detail later.

Use

The nac_bypass_setup.sh script is used together with a legitimate device as shown in the diagram below:

Using the NAC bypass

The legitimate device, client, is not initially connected to the network switch. Now the script is started on the attacker device, bypass. Bypass and attacker are one physical device. The attacker figure symbolizes actions carried out by the attacker on the NAC bypass device. The first step is the initial configuration: To start with, unwanted services, such as NetworkManager, are stopped, IPv6 is disabled and any DNS configurations are initialized. Next, the bridge is configured and started. To ensure bridging works as desired, the kernel has to be configured to forward EAPOL frames. Without this adjustment, 802.1X authentication will not be carried out.

Once the configuration is complete, the network cables can be connected and the bridge’s switch side is now enabled as a passive forwarder. The bypass device forwards all network traffic back and forth between the switch and the client but cannot send any packets itself. The client should now be authenticated with the network switch and can log into the network successfully.

All network traffic passes through the bridge and can be analyzed accordingly. This is done to capture Kerberos and SMB packets with tcpdump – as these are normally found in several places on a Windows network, making it possible to see the network configuration, such as the client’s IP and MAC address. This information is used to automatically configure the client side of the bridge. However, the bypass’s connection to the network remains blocked to ensure that network packets from the attacker device find their way onto the network and are detected. If packets from the attacker are sent onto the network later, an ebtables rule will overwrite the MAC address, meaning that the packets will appear as if they originated from the client. The same procedure is implemented using iptables rules at IP level, so that outgoing TCP, UDP and ICMP packets also have the same IP address as the client. Finally, the attacker is able to connect to the network and can carry out actions from their own device.

If port forwarding has been enabled for SSH and Responder, the bridge forwards all requests for the respective ports to the attacker’s services. From there, a Responder instance can be run to carry out multicast poisoning and to perform authentication for protocols such as SMB, _FTP, or HTTP. This instance can be reached from the network using the client’s IP address.

Bypassing NAC in an infinite loop

The scenario described above is only possible if the attacker is in possession of a legitimate device. But if the attacker only has physical access to a building and its rooms and does not have their own device, additional steps are necessary. If a room has a network installation – e.g. a meeting room or shared workspace – the bypass device can still be installed. However, it must be noted that the NAC bypass setup is agile and can respond to changes such as switching devices. With a shared workspace, for example, User1 connects their device to the docking station in the morning. The hidden bypass device installs its configuration on User1’s device. As soon as they leave the shared workspace, the bypass device resets to the initial state and waits for new devices. If User2 connects their device to the docking station, the bypass device is no longer allowed to run with User1’s configuration. Instead, it must use User2’s credentials to connect to the network.

The bypass device therefore checks network connectivity at certain intervals and then responds to status changes and then invokes the appropriate NAC bypass procedure. We created a simple implementation of this check with the awareness.sh script, which checks an adapter’s network status every five seconds and responds accordingly when the status changes.

while true
do
    NETWORK_STATE_INTERFACE=`cat "/sys/class/net/$INTERFACE/carrier"`

    if [ "$NETWORK_STATE_INTERFACE" -ne "$STATE_INTERFACE" ]; then

        STATE_COUNTER=0

        if [ "$NETWORK_STATE_INTERFACE" -eq 1 ]; then
            echo "[!] $INTERFACE is now up!"
        else
            echo "[!] $INTERFACE is now down!"
        fi
    else

        if [ "$STATE_COUNTER" -eq "$THRESHOLD_UP" ] && [ "$NETWORK_STATE_INTERFACE" -eq 1 ]; then
            echo "[!!] Set new config"
            bash nac_bypass_setup.sh -a -c

        elif [ "$STATE_COUNTER" -eq "$THRESHOLD_DOWN" ] && [ "$NETWORK_STATE_INTERFACE" -eq 0 ]; then
            echo "[!!] Reset config"
            bash nac_bypass_setup.sh -a -r
            bash nac_bypass_setup.sh -a -i
        fi

        echo "[*] Waiting"
        ((STATE_COUNTER++))
    fi

    STATE_INTERFACE=$NETWORK_STATE_INTERFACE
    sleep $TIMER
done

First, the basic setup for the NAC bypass is configured. Next, a loop is started to monitor the state of the network interface. The second part of the NAC bypass setup is then executed as soon as the interface is activated. If the network connection is lost, the configuration is reset and initialized. Configurable cycles are also set between the status changes to avoid premature configuration changes when network connectivity is lost temporarily, for example. This script allows a bypass device to respond to device switching; this can be done without any manual intervention over an extended period of time by placing the device in an appropriate room.

Next steps

The awareness.sh script responds to status changes and modifies the NAC bypass configuration accordingly. All other actions must be carried out manually at present using the likes of SSH on the device. This SSH service is only available on the victim’s network, however. One of the next steps is the planned integration of an additional management interface using a WLAN or cellular network adapter. This adapter could then be used to establish an autonomous connection, allowing the attacker to access the device without having to be physically on the premises or network. The awareness script could also be enhanced to include modules that ensure more autonomy. For example, communication via a command and control server (C2) can be configured to receive commands or extract data. The NAC bypass project is available on GitHub. We appreciate any feedback you may have and welcome pull requests.

About the Author

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider has been in IT since 2000. Since 2010 he is focused on information security. He is an expert at penetration testing, hardening and the detection of vulnerabilities in operating systems. He is well-known for a variety of tools written in PowerShell to find, exploit, and mitigate weaknesses. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

Are you interested in a Penetration Test?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

HardeningKitty Score

HardeningKitty Score

Michael Schneider

HTTP Response Header

HTTP Response Header

Michael Schneider

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

NAC-Bypass - Eine praktische Umsetzung

NAC-Bypass

Eine praktische Umsetzung

Michael Schneider
von Michael Schneider
am 07. Februar 2019
Lesezeit: 11 Minuten

Keypoints

So umgehen Sie Network Access Control

  • Bypass von IEEE 802.1X mit einer Transparent-Bridge-Lösung
  • Umsetzung basierend auf NACkered
  • Projekt NAC-Bypass auf GitHub erreichbar
  • Bypass von Netzwerk Access Control möglich
  • Einspeisung von eigenen Befehlen über ein legitimes Gerät
  • Kann in Umgebungen mit wechselnden Geräten autonom eingesetzt werden

Im Beitrag Network Access Control – Was gibt es bei NAC noch zu beachten? beschreibt Dominik Altermatt die Grundlagen zu Network Access Control (NAC) und geht kurz auf die Umgehung eines solchen Kontrollmechanismus ein. In diesem Labs stellen wir eine praktische Lösung zur Umgehung einer port-basierten Netzwerkzugangskontrolle nach IEEE 802.1X vor.

Auf den Schultern von Riesen

Im Jahre 2011 stellte Alva Lease ‘Skip’ Duckwall IV an der Defcon 19 mit der Präsentation A Bridge Too Far eine Lösung zur Umgehung von 802.1X mittels einer Linux Transparent Bridge vor. Mit diesen Grundlagen hat Matt E das Bash-Skript NACkered v2.92.2 geschrieben. Dieses Skript dient wiederum als Basis für unsere Skript-Kollektion NAC-Bypass, die wir auf unserem GitHub-Account veröffentlicht haben.

Zu Beginn war geplant NACkered zu verwenden und wenn nötig punktuelle Anpassungen vorzunehmen. Nach und nach haben wir aber so viele Umstellungen vorgenommen, dass daraus eine separate Lösung entstanden ist. Als eine der Erweiterungen haben wir eine Unterstützung für das Tool Responder von Laurent Gaffié eingebaut. Denn die Kombination NAC-Bypass und Responder ist bei internen netzwerkbasierten Penetration Tests oder als Bestandteil eines Redteam-Assessments sehr nützlich, um an Zugangsdaten zu gelangen.

Voraussetzungen und Setup

Die Grundvoraussetzung für einen NAC-Bypass ist der Zugang zu einem bereits authentisierten Gerät. Mit diesem Gerät findet die Anmeldung am Netzwerk statt und anschliessend können über dieses Gerät Netzwerk-Pakete von einem fremden Gerät eingeschleust werden. Dazu wird das System des Angreifers zwischen den Netzwerk-Switch und dem authentisierten Gerät platziert. Dafür kann unter anderem ein Raspberry Pi mit zwei Netzwerkadaptern eingesetzt werden.

Das Skript NACkered und unsere Lösung nac_bypass_setup.sh wurde auf Debian basierenden Linux-Distributionen geschrieben und getestet. Beide sollten aber unter anderen Linux-Distributionen ebenfalls lauffähig sein. Die folgenden Software-Pakete werden benötigt:

Bei arptables, iptables und ebtables ist zu beachten, dass nicht die Netfilter xtable tools (nft) verwendet werden, ansonsten funktioniert das Skript nicht wie gewünscht.

Das Skript nac_bypass_setup.sh verfügt über die folgenden Parameter:

nac_bypass_setup.sh v0.6.1 usage:
    -1 <eth>    network interface plugged into switch
    -2 <eth>    network interface plugged into victim machine
    -a          autonomous mode
    -c          start connection setup only
    -h          display this help
    -i          start initial setup only
    -r          reset all settings
    -R          enable port redirection for Responder
    -S          enable port redirection for OpenSSH and start the service

Die Parametern -1 und -2 definieren die zu verwendenden Netzwerkadapter, andererseits können diese auch im Skript direkt editiert werden. Mittels -a wird die Ausgabe von Log- und Debug-Informationen des Skripts unterdrückt und es ist keine manuelle Interaktion im Ablauf notwendig. Mit den Parametern -R und -S wird die Port-Weiterleitung für die Nutzung von SSH und Responder aktiviert. Die Parameter -c, -i und -r lösen nur bestimmte Abfolgen innerhalb des Skripts aus. Deren Einsatzzweck wird später genauer beschrieben.

Anwendung

Die Anwendung des Skripts nac_bypass_setup.sh zusammen mit einem legitimen Gerät sieht schematisch dargestellt so aus:

Anwendung des NAC-Bypass

Das legitime Gerät Client ist zu Beginn nicht mit dem Netzwerk-Switch verbunden. Das Skript wird nun auf dem Angreifer-Gerät Bypass gestartet. Bei Bypass und Attacker handelt es sich um ein physisches Gerät. Die Figur Attacker symbolisiert Aktionen, die der Angreifer auf dem NAC-Bypass-Gerät durchführt. Zunächst wird die Initialkonfiguration vorgenommen: Zum Start werden unerwünschte Dienste wie NetworkManager beendet, IPv6 deaktiviert und allfällige DNS-Konfigurationen initialisiert. Danach wird die Bridge konfiguriert und gestartet. Damit das Bridging wie gewünscht funktioniert, muss eine Kernel-Konfiguration zur Weiterleitung von EAPOL-Frames vorgenommen werden. Ohne diese Anpassung findet keine 802.1X-Authentisierung statt.

Nach Abschluss der Konfiguration können die Netzwerkkabel verbunden werden und die Switch-Seite der Bridge ist nun als passive Weiterleitungsstelle aktiv. Das Gerät Bypass leitet allen Netzwerkverkehr vom Switch zum Client und zurück, kann selbst aber noch keine Pakete versenden. Der Client sollte sich nun beim Netzwerk-Switch authentisieren und erfolgreich am Netzwerk anmelden können.

Der gesamte Netzwerkverkehr wird über die Bridge geleitet und kann entsprechend analysiert werden. Dies wird genutzt, um Kerberos- und SMB-Pakete mit tcpdump aufzuzeichnen – da diese normalerweise in einem Windows-Netzwerk vermehrt auftreten – um daraus die Netzwerk-Konfiguration wie IP- und MAC-Adresse des Clients auszulesen. Mit diesen Informationen wird die Client-Seite der Bridge automatisch konfiguriert. Die Verbindung von Bypass ins Netzwerk bleibt aber noch blockiert, damit sichergestellt ist, dass Netzwerkpakete vom Angreifer-Gerät ins Netzwerk gelangen und zu einer Entdeckung führen. Wenn später Pakete des Attackers ins Netzwerk gesendet werden, wird durch eine ebtables-Regel die MAC-Adresse überschreiben, sodass die Pakete aussehen, als ob sie vom Client stammen. Das gleiche Prozedere wird mittels iptaples-Regeln auf IP-Ebene umgesetzt, sodass ausgehende TCP-, UDP- und ICMP-Pakete ebenso über die IP-Adresse des Clients verfügen. Schlussendlich kann die Verbindung vom Attacker ins Netzwerk geöffnet werden und der Angreifer kann Aktionen auf seinem eigenen Gerät durchführen.

Falls die Port-Weiterleitungen für SSH und Responder aktiviert wurden, leitet die Bridge alle Anfragen auf die jeweiligen Ports auf die Dienste des Attackers weiter. Dort kann eine Responder-Instanz betrieben werden, die Multicast-Poisoning vornimmt und als Authentisierung für Protokolle wie SMB, FTP oder HTTP agiert. Aus dem Netzwerk ist diese Instanz über die IP-Adresse des Clients erreichbar.

NAC-Bypass in der Endlos-Schlaufe

Das oben beschriebene Szenario wird nur dann möglich, wenn der Angreifer im Besitz eines legitimen Gerätes ist. Wenn der Angreifer aber nur physischen Zugang in ein Gebäude und deren Räume hat, und über kein eigenes Gerät verfügt, sind zusätzliche Schritte notwendig. Verfügt ein Raum um eine Netzwerk-Installation wie ein Sitzungszimmer oder ein Shared-Workspace, kann das Bypass-Gerät trotzdem platziert werden. Dabei muss aber beachtet werden, dass das NAC-Bypass-Setup agil ist und auf Veränderungen wie wechselnde Geräte reagieren kann. Beim Beispiel eines Shared-Workspaces wird morgens der Benutzer1 sein Gerät an die Dockingstation anschliessen. Das versteckt platzierte Bypass-Gerät richtet seine Konfiguration auf Benutzer1 ein. Sobald dieser den Shared-Workspace verlässt, setzt sich das Bypass-Gerät in den Ausgangszustand zurück und wartet auf neue Geräte. Wenn Benutzer2 sein Gerät an der Dockingstation anschliesst, darf das Bypass-Gerät nicht mehr mit der Konfiguration des Benutzer1 laufen, sondern muss die Angaben von Benutzer2 übernehmen, damit eine Netzwerkverbindung aufgebaut wird.

Dazu findet auf dem Bypass-Gerät eine Prüfung der Netzwerkkonnektivität in einem bestimmten Zeitintervall statt, welche dann auf Zustandsänderungen reagiert und die passenden NAC-Bypass-Prozedur aufruft. Eine einfache Form dieser Prüfung haben wir mit dem Skript awareness.sh implementiert. Dort wird der Netzwerkstatus eines Adapters alle 5s geprüft und bei Statusänderungen eine entsprechende Aktion ausgelöst.

while true
do
    NETWORK_STATE_INTERFACE=`cat "/sys/class/net/$INTERFACE/carrier"`

    if [ "$NETWORK_STATE_INTERFACE" -ne "$STATE_INTERFACE" ]; then

        STATE_COUNTER=0

        if [ "$NETWORK_STATE_INTERFACE" -eq 1 ]; then
            echo "[!] $INTERFACE is now up!"
        else
            echo "[!] $INTERFACE is now down!"
        fi
    else

        if [ "$STATE_COUNTER" -eq "$THRESHOLD_UP" ] && [ "$NETWORK_STATE_INTERFACE" -eq 1 ]; then
            echo "[!!] Set new config"
            bash nac_bypass_setup.sh -a -c

        elif [ "$STATE_COUNTER" -eq "$THRESHOLD_DOWN" ] && [ "$NETWORK_STATE_INTERFACE" -eq 0 ]; then
            echo "[!!] Reset config"
            bash nac_bypass_setup.sh -a -r
            bash nac_bypass_setup.sh -a -i
        fi

        echo "[*] Waiting"
        ((STATE_COUNTER++))
    fi

    STATE_INTERFACE=$NETWORK_STATE_INTERFACE
    sleep $TIMER
done

Zuerst wird das Basis-Setup für den NAC-Bypass eingerichtet, danach wird eine Schlaufe gestartet, die den Zustand der Netzwerkschnittstelle überwacht. Der zweite Teil des NAC-Bypass-Setups wird dann ausgeführt sobald die Schnittstelle aktiv wird. Wird die Netzwerkverbindung getrennt, dann erfolgt ein Reset der Konfiguration und der Initialvorgang wird gestartet. Zwischen den Statusänderungen sind noch konfigurierbare Zyklen festgelegt, um vorschnelle Konfigurationsänderungen zu vermeiden, wenn beispielsweise ein temporärer Netzwerkunterbruch auftritt. Mit diesem Skript kann ein Bypass-Gerät auf wechselnde Geräte reagieren und es ist möglich dieses ohne manuelle Eingriffe vorzunehmen über längere Zeit in einem geeigneten Raum zu platzieren.

Wie geht es weiter

Das Skript awareness.sh reagiert auf Statusänderungen und passt die NAC-Bypass-Konfiguration entsprechend an. Alle weiteren Aktionen müssen zurzeit manuell erfolgen, beispielsweise über SSH auf dem Gerät. Dieser Dienst SSH ist aber nur im Netzwerk des Opfers erreichbar. Als einer der nächsten Schritte ist die Integration einer zusätzlichen Management-Schnittstelle, in Form eines WLAN- oder ein Mobilfunk-Netzwerkadapters, geplant. Mit diesem Adapter wird eine autonome Verbindung etabliert und der Angreifer kann auf das Gerät zugreifen, ohne physisch vor Ort oder im Netzwerk sein zu müssen. Zusätzlich könnte das Awareness-Skript um Module erweitert werden, welche eine weitere Autonomität gewährleisten. So kann eine Kommunikation über Command-and-Control-Server (C2) aufgebaut werden, um Befehle zu empfangen oder Daten zu extrahieren. Das Projekt NAC-Bypass ist auf GitHub verfügbar. Wir freuen uns über jegliches Feedback und Pull Requests sind gerne gesehen.

Über den Autor

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider arbeitet seit dem Jahr 2000 in der IT. Im Jahr 2010 hat er sich auf die Informationssicherheit spezialisiert. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehören das Penetration Testing, Hardening und das Aufspüren von Schwachstellen in Betriebssystemen. Er ist bekannt für eine Vielzahl in PowerShell geschrieber Tools zum Finden, Ausnutzen und Beheben von Schwachstellen. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

Haben Sie Interesse an einem Penetration Test?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
HardeningKitty

HardeningKitty

Michael Schneider

KleptoKitty

KleptoKitty

Michael Schneider

Linux Hardening

Linux Hardening

Michael Schneider

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv