Deepfakes Analysis - Resolution, Facial Structure and Overlapping Objects

Deepfakes Analysis

Resolution, Facial Structure and Overlapping Objects

Andrea Hauser
by Andrea Hauser
on March 07, 2019
time to read: 12 minutes

Keypoints

This is how you optimize a Deepfake

  • The resolution of the source material has a surprisingly minor effect on the final outcome
  • Facial structure of the two people should be similar
  • Handling of hair and glasses still problematic
  • Only part of the face is modified, whereas forehead and ears are left alone

In previous tests we presented some initial results showing what it takes to create a deepfake. The basic parameters were identified based on the number of images, lighting, and the angle of the source material.

Since then we have also performed tests in the following categories:

The underlying model had been trained with images of Donald Trump and Nicolas Cage. The results are presented in line with the last round of tests. That means running topically relevant test cases through a set of specifically defined categories. Two videos will be shown for each of these test cases. The first case shows the results of merging the faces using the standard parameters (default). In the second case, each of the parameters for merging the faces is manually tweaked until they produce the best possible results. The YouTube video Bush’s Best Speech was used as the output video for all tests.

Resolution of source material

The question here is how will the standard resolutions of the video affect the fake. To test the effect of the standard resolution on the deepfake, different renderings were performed with videos in 360p and 720p resolution.

Source video 360p ⇒ output video 360p, 7 seconds (168 images)

First, the results from the source and output video in 360p resolution were compared with the source and output video in 720p. The newly created 360p fake was compared with the video from the case source video 500 images ⇒ output video 7 seconds (168 images) in 720p resolution, which was covered in the recent article. Apart from the poorer quality of the new 360p video, which was basically to be expected, and the somewhat blurrier edges, it still achieved decent results. Less obvious was the somewhat darker face compared to the video in 720p resolution, although nothing about the images, except for the resolution, was modified for either fake.

Source video 360p ⇒ output video 720p, 7 seconds (168 images)

Next we tried to determine whether the quality of the fake deteriorated when the new video material was only available in 360p resolution and the video being modified had a resolution of 720p. The resulting video was compared with the same source video with 500 images⇒ output video 7 seconds discussed in the most recent article. If the images are compared side-by-side, subtle differences in facial structure are noticeable. When comparing the output videos, however, these differences do not immediately stand out. Nevertheless, for best results, the maximum resolution should be used for the video.

Differing facial structures

The main question here is whether you can achieve good results when the subjects have completely different facial structures. To test this, videos of Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton were used for face-swapping. Care was taken to select image material containing a good mix of images with frontal and side angles to ensure this would not be a factor in the test results.

Source video Donald Trump ⇒ output video George Bush, 7 seconds (168 images)

The goal was to use two faces with very different facial structures. Donald Trump has a much rounder face than George Bush. Care was taken to ensure that the lighting and angle of the shots was as similar as possible in both cases to allow a close comparison of structural differences. The evaluation of this particular deepfake showed it to be a total failure. Trump’s and Bush’s contrasting skin tones emphasized their very different facial structures in the manual test case. In the default case, the problem is with the heavy flickering, as the most recent article pointed out. What’s more, the artificially rendered nose does not look anything like Donald Trump’s nose.

Source video Hillary Clinton ⇒ output video George Bush, 7 seconds (168 images)

Here, the purpose of the test was to see whether you can swap a female face for a male face. Videos of Hillary Clinton were used for the female face. The resulting fake does not look real and gives the impression that something is not quite right with this face, but we have no conclusive reason why that is.

Overlapping objects

The aim of these tests is to determine how to deal with hands in front of the face. In this category, we also performed a test in which we swapped a face with a beard for a face without a beard.

Source video 10% of images with overlapping objects ⇒ output video 7 seconds (168 images)

Of the 500 source images used, 50 had George Clooney with hands in front of his face. This already created a problem during the processing of the faces required for the actual rendering of the deepfake. Before the rendering, the first step is to try to extract a face from each image. This extraction failed for a quarter of the facial images in which there was a hand in front of the face. To produce the deepfake, all images containing a recognizable face were used. The video differs slightly from the case using source video 500 images ⇒ output video 7 seconds discussed in the most recent article. For example, the left eye appears to tremble more than it does where there are no overlapping objects.

Source video 33% of images with overlapping objects ⇒ output video 7 seconds (168 images)

As with the previous source material, here there were also problems extracting faces when there were objects in front of them. Again, no face was recognized in a quarter of the facial images which featured obstructions. Likewise, the quality was poorer than without overlapping objects.

Source video with beard ⇒ output video without beard, 7 seconds (168 images)

In this case, the task was to determine how well the deepfake algorithm can handle beards. For this purpose, we used a source video of a bearded George Clooney and found that the beard could not be recreated convincingly in the deepfake. The beard looks as if it is glued on, and it lacks depth. The individual beard hairs do not have enough detail. As it currently stands, reproducing hair in images is still quite difficult.

Glasses

While researching the production of deepfakes, we came across an article featuring a transformation of Jimmy Fallon into John Oliver. The resulting deepfake is a compelling indication that glasses are still a problem. The faces pass muster, but the frames of the glasses look glued on, much like the beard before. Upon closer inspection, the viewer will notice that the temple of the glasses is missing.

Conclusion

As the glasses example and Donald Trump both demonstrate, only part of the face is modified. Even under the best conditions, the underlying deepfake algorithm is unable to properly transform the forehead, ears and hair. To create a truly convincing deepfake (that is, one that is indistinguishable from the original), the haircut and general shape of the face of the “new” person must at least be similar to that of the person in the source material. Moreover, we found that glasses, overlapping objects, and hair are still generally problematic.

About the Author

Andrea Hauser

Andrea Hauser graduated with a Bachelor of Science FHO in information technology at the University of Applied Sciences Rapperswil. She is focusing her offensive work on web application security testing and the realization of social engineering campaigns. Her research focus is creating and analyzing deepfakes. (ORCID 0000-0002-5161-8658)

Links

You want experience what damage AI and Fake News can do?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Deepfake Audio Text to Speech

Andrea Hauser

IT Security Tips

IT Security Tips

Andrea Hauser

GraphQL

GraphQL

Andrea Hauser

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Deepfakes Analyse - Auflösung, Gesichtsstruktur und überlagernde Objekte

Deepfakes Analyse

Auflösung, Gesichtsstruktur und überlagernde Objekte

Andrea Hauser
von Andrea Hauser
am 07. März 2019
Lesezeit: 12 Minuten

Keypoints

So lassen sich Deepfakes optimieren

  • Auflösung des Ursprungsmaterials spielt erstaunlich kleine Rolle für das Endresultat
  • Gesichtsstruktur der beiden Personen sollte ähnlich sein
  • Umgang mit Haaren und Brillen ist noch nicht zufriedenstellend möglich
  • Der umgewandelte Bereich betrifft nur einen Teil des Gesichts, Stirn und Ohren werden nicht angepasst

Schon in vorhergehenden Untersuchungen wurden erste Resultate präsentiert, die Aufzeigen was für die Erstellung eines Deepfakes notwendig ist. Dabei wurden die Basisparameter anhand der Anzahl der Bilder, der Lichtverhältnisse sowie des Winkels des Quellmaterials festgelegt.

Diese Untersuchungen werden nun noch um die folgenden Kategorien erweitert:

Dabei wurde als Ausgangsmodel ein bereits auf Donald Trump und Nicolas Cage trainiertes Model verwendet. Die Resultate werden im gleichen Schema wie letztes Mal präsentiert. Das heisst innerhalb der definierten Kategorien werden thematisch passende Testfälle aufgeführt. Zu diesen Testfällen werden jeweils zwei Videos als Resultat gezeigt. Dabei handelt es sich im ersten Fall um das Ergebnis des Merges der Gesichter mit den Standard-Parametern (Default). Im zweiten Fall wurden die Parameter beim Zusammenfügen der Gesichter jeweils manuell angepasst (Tweaked), bis das optimalste Ergebnis erreicht wurde. Als Zielvideo für sämtliche Versuche wurde das Youtube-Video mit dem Titel Bush’s Best Speech verwendet.

Auflösung des Ursprungsmaterials

Dabei stellt sich die Frage was für eine Auswirkung die Standardauflösungen der Videos auf den erstellten Fake haben. Um die Auswirkung der Standardauflösung auf den Deepfake zu untersuchen wurden verschiedene Berechnungen mit Videos der Auflösungen 360p sowie 720p vorgenommen.

Quellvideo 360p ⇒ Zielvideo 360p, 7 Sekunden (168 Bilder)

Als erstes wurde der Unterschied zwischen Quell- und Zielvideo mit der Auflösung 360p im Vergleich zu Quell- und Zielvideo mit 720p ausgewertet. Als Vergleichswert für den neu erstellten 360p Fake wird das Video zum Fall Quellvideo 500 Bilder ⇒ Zielvideo 7 Sekunden (168 Bilder) aus dem letzten Artikel mit der Auflösung 720p verwendet. Bis auf die grundsätzlich zu erwartende, schlechtere Qualität des neu erstellten 360p Videos und die damit etwas unschärferen resultierenden Konturen konnte ein gutes Resultat erzielt werden. Unerklärlicherweise wird das resultierende Gesicht im Vergleich zur Auflösung 720p etwas dunkler dargestellt, obwohl sich bis auf die Auflösung nichts an den genutzten Bildern zur Erstellung dieser beiden Fakes geändert hat.

Quellvideo 360p ⇒ Zielvideo 720p, 7 Sekunden (168 Bilder)

In einem nächsten Schritt wurde versucht festzustellen, ob es eine Verschlechterung der Qualität des Fakes gibt, wenn das hinzuzufügende Videomaterial nur mit der Auflösung von 360p zur Verfügung steht und das Video, das verändert werden soll, eine Auflösung von 720p hat. Als Vergleichswert für das so entstandene Video wird erneut der Fall Quellvideo 500 Bilder ⇒ Zielvideo 7 Sekunden aus dem letzten Artikel verwendet. Im direkten Vergleich einzelner entstandener Bilder sind feine Unterschiede in der Gesichtsstruktur zu sehen. Diese fallen jedoch beim Vergleich der resultierenden Videos nicht sofort auf. Trotz dieser Erkenntnis sollte vorsichtshalber die bestmögliche Auflösung der Videos verwendet werden.

Unterschiedliche Gesichtsstrukturen

Hier stellt sich vor allem die Frage, ob auch mit einer komplett anderen Gesichtsstrukturen ein gutes Resultat erzielt werden kann. Dafür wurden Videos von Donald Trump sowie Hillary Clinton als neu hinzuzufügende Person verwendet. Es wurde darauf geachtet, dass sich in der Auswahl der Bilder jeweils eine gute Mischung zwischen frontalen und seitlichen Aufnahmen vorhanden war, damit dies keine Auswirkung auf den Test hat.

Quellvideo Donald Trump ⇒ Zielvideo George Bush, 7 Sekunden (168 Bilder)

Ziel war es zwei Gesichter mit möglichst unterschiedlichen Gesichtsstrukturen zu verwenden. Donald Trump hat im Vergleich zu George Bush ein viel runderes Gesicht. Es wurde darauf geachtet, dass die beiden Fälle möglichst gleich sind, was Beleuchtung und Winkel der Aufnahmen betrifft, damit möglichst nur der Strukturunterschied der Gesichter vergleichen werden kann. Die Auswertung des Deepfakes zeigt, dass dieser Versuch gar nicht funktioniert hat. Die unterschiedlichen Hautfarben von Trump und Bush führten dazu, dass im manuellen Fall die veränderte Gesichtsstruktur deutlich hervorgehoben wird. Im Default Fall besteht, wie bereits im letzten Artikel festgestellt, das Problem mit dem starken flackern. Zusätzlich kommt dazu, dass die generierte Nase überhaupt nicht aussieht wie die Nase von Donald Trump.

Quellvideo Hillary Clinton ⇒ Zielvideo George Bush, 7 Sekunden (168 Bilder)

In diesem Fall wurde untersucht, ob die Übertragung eines weiblichen Gesichts auf ein männliches Gesicht möglich ist. Für das weibliche Gesicht wurden Videos von Hillary Clinton verwendet. Der resultierende Fake sieht nicht glaubwürdig aus und hinterlässt den Eindruck, dass mit diesem Gesicht etwas nicht stimmt. Weshalb dieser Eindruck entsteht, kann nicht abschliessend begründet werden.

Überlagernde Objekte

Mit diesen Tests soll festgestellt werden, wie gut mit Händen vor dem Gesicht umgegangen werden kann. In dieser Kategorie wird ebenfalls der Versuch, ein Gesicht mit Bart auf ein Gesicht ohne Bart hinzuzufügen, aufgeführt.

Quellvideo 10% der Bilder mit Überlagerung ⇒ Zielvideo 7 Sekunden (168 Bilder)

Unter den 500 Quellbildern waren 50 Bilder, die George Clooney mit Händen vor dem Gesicht zeigten. Hier stellte schon die Aufbereitung der Gesichter für die effektive Berechnung des Deepfakes ein Problem dar. Vor der effektiven Deepfake-Berechnung wird versucht aus jedem Bild ein Gesicht zu extrahieren. Diese Extrahierung schlug bei einem Viertel der Gesichter fehl, die eine Hand vor dem Gesicht hatten. Für die Berechnung des Deepfakes wurden sämtliche Bilder genutzt, in denen ein Gesicht erkannt wurde. Das Video unterscheidet sich in Kleinigkeiten zum Fall Quellvideo 500 Bilder ⇒ Zielvideo 7 Sekunden aus dem letzten Artikel. So scheint das linke Auge mehr zu zittern als im Fall ohne Überlagerungen.

Quellvideo 33% der Bilder mit Überlagerung ⇒ Zielvideo 7 Sekunden (168 Bilder)

Gleich wie beim vorhergehenden Quellmaterial bestanden auch hier Probleme bei der Extrahierung der Gesichter, die Überlagerungen vor dem Gesicht hatten. Auch in diesem Fall wurde bei einem Viertel der Gesichter mit Überlagerungen kein Gesicht erkannt. Und auch hier ist die Qualität schlechter als im Fall ohne Überlagerungen.

Quellvideo mit Bart ⇒ Zielvideo ohne Bart, 7 Sekunden (168 Bilder)

In diesem Fall sollte herausgefunden werden, wie gut der Deepfake-Algorithmus mit einem Bart umgehen kann. Dafür wurden für das Ausgangsmaterial Videos von George Clooney verwendet, in denen er Bart trägt. Bei der Auswertung des resultierenden Deepfakes wird festgestellt, dass der Bart nicht überzeugend dargestellt werden kann. Der Bart wirkt aufgeklebt und ihm fehlt die Tiefe. Die einzelnen Barthaare werden zu wenig deutlich dargestellt. Momentanes Fazit ist, dass die Darstellung von Haaren noch schwierig zu sein scheint.

Umgang mit Brillen

Während den Recherchen zur Deepfake Erstellung wurde ein Artikel gefunden, der die Umwandlung von Jimmy Fallon in John Oliver aufzeigte. Bei den daraus resultierenden Deepfakes zeigt sich sehr gut, dass der Umgang mit Brillen noch problematisch ist. Die Gesichter werden zwar grundsätzlich gut dargestellt, das Brillengestellt wirkt allerdings wie der Bart aufgeklebt. Bei genauer Betrachtung stellt man fest, dass die Bügel der Brille fehlen.

Fazit

Wie anhand des Brillenbeispiels sowie des Beispiels von Donald Trump ersichtlich, wird lediglich ein Teil des Gesichts verändert. Auch unter den besten Bedingungen werden mit dem verwendeten Deepfake-Algorithmus die Stirnpartie sowie die Ohren und die Haare nicht angeglichen. Um einen wirklich glaubwürdigen Deepfake (im Sinne von nicht mehr vom Original zu unterscheiden) zu erstellen, müsste also zumindest die Frisur sowie die generelle Gesichtsform der hinzuzufügenden Person bereits im Ursprungsmaterial vorhanden sein. Weiter konnte festgestellt werden, dass der Umgang mit Brillen, anderen überlagernden Objekten sowie Haaren generell noch ein Problem darstellen.

Über die Autorin

Andrea Hauser

Andrea Hauser hat ihren Bachelor of Science FHO in Informatik an der Hochschule für Technik Rapperswil abgeschlossen. Sie setzt sich im offensiven Bereich in erster Linie mit Web Application Security Testing und der Umsetzung von Social Engineering Kampagnen auseinander. Zudem ist sie in der Forschung zum Thema Deepfakes tätig. (ORCID 0000-0002-5161-8658)

Links

Sie wollen sehen, was man mit KI und Fake News erreichen kann?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
GraphQL

GraphQL

Andrea Hauser

Server-Side-Request-Forgery

Server-Side-Request-Forgery

Andrea Hauser

Policy Analyzer

Policy Analyzer

Andrea Hauser

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv