CIS CSAT - IT Security Assessment Tool

CIS CSAT

IT Security Assessment Tool

Dominik Altermatt
by Dominik Altermatt
on March 14, 2019
time to read: 8 minutes

Keypoints

Simple assessment of CIS Controls

  • CSAT is a free web app from CIS
  • The app lets users run CIS Controls assessments
  • This includes a basic set of useful features
  • It is not yet fully mature in certain areas
  • It may be something worth keeping an eye on

People are gradually beginning to understand the need for solid IT security frameworks on all fronts. Governments, industry associations and independent organizations are publishing and refining their standards and guidelines on how individual IT infrastructures should and must be protected against the complete array of threats. This, of course, takes more than merely understanding them; effective action is required.

But this can be the start of a difficult process. It takes investment, perhaps in hardware, software, staffing and expertise. If IT security has been neglected over a period of many years, it will take more than a few months to bring it up to speed. In other words, structures are required to guide the implementation of security controls and keep processes on track. Then it is up to management to allocate the appropriate resources – (ideally) over a period of several years. New budget items should therefore be transparent, and progress must be tangible. Otherwise, the initial euphoria will quickly be replaced by the monotony of day-to-day business.

Anyone using CIS Controls for this purpose, or planning to, now has a helpful resource. A few weeks ago, CIS released a new online tool called CIS CSAT which simplifies the assessment and management of CIS Controls. But most importantly, its lean website makes effective usage a more appealing experience.

CIS Controls

Currently in version 7, CIS Controls offers 20 controls, each of which includes between 5 and 13 sub-controls.

CIS Critical Controls

To find out more, visit the website.

CSAT schema

CSAT High-Level Workflow

The tool includes a minimal set of features, but these are more than enough to set up and operate an IT security framework. The main features include:

Review of CIS CSAT

The first thing a company needs to establish before using the tool is whether it is happy with effectively shifting its IT security to the cloud.

This means placing your trust in CIS as the operator and Amazon (AWS US East Region) as the provider. If you want to be on the safe side you can use the platform anonymously without uploading identifying information, while still benefiting from the management and visualization features. An initial review suggests that this is quite simple.

Walk-through

After signing in, you will see the dashboard for the current assessment. It will be empty at first. The dashboard provides a range of information and charts, without being too overwhelming.

Overall Dashboard

Clicking on one of the controls (blue buttons) takes you to the dashboard for the control. You will then see several figures, such as scoring and completeness status, as well as the list of sub-controls.

Control Dashboard

The next click takes you to the assessment form for the respective sub-control.

Assessment Formular Sub-Control

A brief introductory text provides information on the selected sub-control, followed by references to the corresponding PCI DSS and NIST controls, which can sometimes be convenient for further investigation of the controls and for compliance reports. The actual assessment is based on responses to the four questions in the drop-down menus, and carried out by clicking the Complete Sub-control button. The sub-control is then validated or sent back for reprocessing with an additional click. The user management interface allows other users to perform validation as well.

Validate Sub-Control

An audit trail makes the whole assessment process easily traceable.

Audit Trail

Filling out all 171 sub-controls is somewhat time-consuming. The corresponding workflow is still a bit cumbersome, requiring a lot of scrolling and clicking. It would be nice to have a more streamlined process here.

Once all of the controls are assessed, the dashboard takes on more color and the user will see the desired overview. CSAT assesses all controls and presents them in a graphic visualization.

Overall Dashboard after Assessment

For example, a company without an IT security framework might see something like this in a first assessment.

These graphs can be exported to PowerPoint with a simple click and then used immediately to create reports for stakeholders.

Maturity Graphs

The assessment run is now complete and a current IT security status report is available.

This allows you to very effectively and precisely define where (control and sub-control) measures should and must be taken in specific areas (policy, implementation, automation, and reporting). You can add relevant projects – and there you have an IT security framework using CIS Controls.

It is a good idea to carry out a new assessment after a reasonable period of time to measure and depict progress in IT security. You can trigger this new assessment from the dashboard.

OopsCSAT still has a gaping hole here. If you’re expecting the new assessment to draw data from the previous assessment you will be disappointed and instead discover the forms are blank for all controls. In other words, you have to fill everything in all over again. Completing all 170 sub-controls again for each assessment run is very laborious and impractical. You would expect that only controls/sub-controls where progress had been made would have to be updated, with all the others simply retaining their current state.

We have submitted this feature request to CIS. It is currently unclear if and when pre-population of the previous assessment run will be implemented.

Conclusion

CIS CSAT simplifies the management of CIS Controls, making it more attractive. The basic structure and feature set of the web application does this quite well. However, CIS should work on offering a smoother workflow for the assessment run.

Unfortunately, the absence of a pre-population feature, which uses data from the previous assessment, makes the tool very time-consuming to use, particularly when you have a lot going on in the area of IT security, or when you need to generate quarterly reviews, say. Hopefully CIS will implement this feature to make this effective security management tool a very simple and appealing tool.

An offline version would, of course, be a welcome addition which would cut out the step of anonymizing data for upload.

About the Author

Dominik Altermatt

Dominik Altermatt is working since 2003 in the IT business and was responsible for Data Leakage Prevention at a Swiss bank for many years. Besides traditional penetration testing he is also focusing on the introduction and improvement of IT security management processes. (ORCID 0000-0003-4575-4597)

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Traffic Analysis with Windows Built-In Tools

Traffic Analysis with Windows Built-In Tools

Dominik Altermatt

Cisco WebEx Online Meeting Security

Cisco WebEx Online Meeting Security

Dominik Altermatt

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

CIS CSAT - IT-Security Assessment Tool

CIS CSAT

IT-Security Assessment Tool

Dominik Altermatt
von Dominik Altermatt
am 14. März 2019
Lesezeit: 8 Minuten

Keypoints

Einfaches Assessment von CIS Critical Controls

  • CSAT ist ein Gratis Web-App von CIS
  • Es erlaubt das Assessment von CIS Critical Controls
  • Es kommt mit einem grundsätzlich sinnvollen Feature-Set daher
  • An einigen Stellen ist es jedoch noch nicht ausgereift
  • Weiterverfolgen könnte sich lohnen

Allmählich entwickelt sich das Verständnis über die Notwendigkeit eines robusten IT-Security Programms an allen Fronten. Die Regierungen, Branchen-Verbände und Unabhängige veröffentlichen und verfeinern ihre Standards und Guidelines, wie man seine eigenen IT Infrastruktur gegen die mannigfaltigen Bedrohungen schützen soll, respektive muss. Das Verständnis allein reicht aber bekanntlich nicht aus, effektive Taten müssen folgen.

Doch damit beginnt ein schwieriger Prozess. Es muss investiert werden, unter Umständen in Hardware, Software, Personal und Fachwissen. Wurde über mehrere Jahre hinweg die IT-Security vernachlässigt, lässt sich dies nicht innert Monaten wieder aufholen. Also sind Strukturen nötig, die einem während der Implementation von Security-Kontrollen begleiten und auf dem richtigen Pfad halten. Dann muss das Management entsprechende Ressourcen sprechen und dies (idealerweise) über Jahre. Der neue Budgetposten sollte daher in einem guten Licht dastehen, der Fortschritt muss sichtbar sein, ansonsten wird die Anfangseuphorie schnell durch das Daily Business abgelöst.

Unterstützung dazu erhalten nun jene, welche sich nach den CIS Critical Controls richten oder richten möchten. CIS hat vor wenigen Wochen ein neues gratis Online Tool namens CIS CSAT veröffentlicht, welches das Erheben und Verwalten der CIS Critical Controls vereinfacht – Aber vor allem durch den schlanken Webauftritt zur effektiven Nutzung attraktiver macht.

CIS Critical Controls

Die CIS Controls bestehen aus 20 Controls mit je zwischen 5-13 Sub-Controls, aktuell in der Version 7.

CIS Critical Controls

Mehr Informationen dazu können auf der Webseite gefunden werden.

Aufbau von CSAT

CSAT High-Level Workflow

Das Tool bietet ein minimales Set von Funktionen. Diese reichen aber absolut aus, um ein IT Security Framework aufzubauen und zu betrieben. Zu den wichtigen Funktionen gehören:

Review von CIS CSAT

Was als Erstes geklärt werden sollte, bevor eine Unternehmung das Tool nutzen möchte, ist die Frage, ob denn effektiv der Stand der eigenen IT-Security in der Cloud abgelegt werden soll.

Dies ist eine Vertrauensfrage, wobei hier CIS als Betreiber sowie Amazon (AWS US East Region) als Provider vertraut werden muss. Wer sichergehen will, kann die Plattform möglichst anonym nutzen, keine identifizierenden Informationen hochladen und doch von den Management- und Visualisierung-Features profitieren. Dies scheint nach einem ersten Review auch problemlos möglich zu sein.

Walkthrough

Nach dem Sign-Up landet man auf dem Dashboard des aktuellen Assessments, was initial noch leer ist. Das Dashboard bietet einige Informationen und Grafiken, wirkt aber trotzdem nicht überladen.

Overall Dashboard

Mit einem Klick auf einen der Controls (blaue Buttons) gelangt man zum Dashboard einer Control mit wiederum einigen Zahlen wie Scoring- und Completeness-Status sowie der Liste der Sub-Controls.

Control Dashboard

Mit einem weiteren Klick gelangt man schlussendlich in das Assessment-Formular der Sub-Control.

Assessment Formular Sub-Control

Ein kurzer Einleitungstext gib Auskunft über die gewählte Sub-Control, gefolgt von Referenzen zu den entsprechenden Controls von PCI DSS und NIST, was gelegen für weiter Prüfungen der Controls und Compliance-Reports nützlich sein kann. Die Beantwortung der vier Fragen mittels Drop-Down-Menü entspricht dem effektiven Assessment, welches anschliessend durch den Complete Sub-Control Button abgeschlossen wird. Danach kann die Sub-Control mit einem zusätzlichen Klick validiert oder zur nochmaligen Bearbeitung zurückgesandt werden. Das vorhandene Benutzer-Management lässt die Validierung auch durch weitere Benutzer durchführen.

Validate Sub-Control

Der ganze Assessment-Prozess wird schön mit einem Audit-Trail festgehalten.

Audit Trail

Das Ausfüllen der Total 171 Sub-Controls beansprucht etwas Zeit. Der entsprechende Workflow dazu ist noch etwas umständlich gehalten: Es muss viel gescrollt und geklickt werden. Hier wäre es wünschenswert, einen etwas flüssigeren Prozess zu erhalten.

Sind einmal alle Controls beurteilt, bekommt das Dashboard etwas mehr Farbe und man erhält den gewünschten Überblick. CSAT bewertet alle Controls mit einem Scoring und stellt diese entsprechend grafisch dar.

Overall Dashboard after Assessment

So könnte ein Scoring für ein Unternehmen aussehen, welches ihr erstes Assessment ohne IT Security Program ausgefüllt hat.

Und gerade diese Grafiken lassen sich per Klick in ein PowerPoint exportieren. Diese können für das Reporting an die Stakeholder sofort verwendet werden.

Maturity Graphs

Nun ist eine Assessment Run abgeschlossen und ein aktueller Stand der IT-Security ist erhoben.

Damit kann effektiv sehr genau definiert werden, in welchem Bereich (Control und Sub-Control) zu welchen Themen (Policy, Implementation, Automatisierung und Reporting) Massnahmen ergriffen werden sollen und müssen. Entsprechende Projekte können aufgesetzt werden und ein IT-Security Framework nach den CIS Critical Controls ist in Betrieb.

Nach einer sinnvollen Zeitperiode sollte erneut beurteilt werden, um die Fortschritte im Bereich IT Security messen und darzustellen zu können. Dazu kann im Dashboard ein neues Assessment gestartet werden.

Oops – hier weist CSAT noch eine unschöne Lücke auf. Wer denkt, in einem neuen Assessment werden die Daten aus dem vorhergehenden Assessment geladen, liegt falsch. Leider werden einem bei allen Controls leere Formulare präsentiert. Das heisst: Alles muss nochmals ausgefüllt werden. Dass bei jedem Assessment-Run erneut alle 170 Sub-Controls ausgefüllt werden müssen, ist sehr mühsam und nicht praktikabel. Man hätte erwartet, dass nur genau jene Controls/Sub-Controls angepasst werden können, wo eine Fortschritt stattgefunden hat und alle anderen bleiben auf ihrem Stand bestehen.

Eine entsprechende Feature-Request wurde dazu durch uns bei CIS platziert. Aktuell ist nicht klar ob und wann eine Pre-Population von vorhergehenden Assessment-Runs implementiert wird.

Fazit

CSAT von CIS bemüht sich das Management der CIS Critical Controls zu vereinfachen und damit attraktiver zu machen. Dies gelingt mit dem grundsätzlichen Aufbau und Feature-Set der Web-Applikation ganz gut. Jedoch sollte CIS in einen flüssigeren Workflow für den Assessment-Run investieren.

Leider ist durch das Fehlen der Pre-Population der vorhergehenden Assessment-Daten das Tool noch sehr aufwändig zu bedienen, vor allem wenn einige Aktivitäten im Bereich IT-Security stattfinden und zum Beispiel quartalsweise beurteilt werden sollen. Es bleibt zu hoffen, dass CIS dieses Feature implementiert, um effektiv von einem sehr einfachen und attraktiven Security Management Tool sprechen zu können.

Zudem wäre natürlich eine offline Version wünschenswert, damit nicht der Umweg der Anonymisierung der hochgeladenen Daten gegangen werden muss.

Über den Autor

Dominik Altermatt

Dominik Altermatt arbeitet seit 2003 in der IT-Branche. Unter anderem hat er sich mehrere Jahre mit Data Leakage Prevention bei einer Grossbank beschäftigt. Heute liegen seine Schwerpunkte neben klassischen Penetration Tests bei der Einführung und der Weiterentwicklung von IT-Security-Management-Prozessen. (ORCID 0000-0003-4575-4597)

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Traffic-Analyse mit Windows-Boardmitteln

Traffic-Analyse mit Windows-Boardmitteln

Dominik Altermatt

Cisco WebEx Online Meeting Security

Cisco WebEx Online Meeting Security

Dominik Altermatt

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv