Monitoring - Detecting Attacks with MITRE ATT&CK

Monitoring

Detecting Attacks with MITRE ATT&CK

Michael Schneider
by Michael Schneider
on July 11, 2019
time to read: 10 minutes

Keypoints

How to use MITRE ATT&CK to detect attacks

  • Understanding the techniques used in attacks helps in detecting them
  • MITRE ATT&CK Enterprise Matrix includes actual attack statistics and techniques
  • Running it requires configuration of additional Windows audit settings
  • Correlations between events can be used to identify attacks

A Windows 10 client logs thousands of events each day during normal operation. These events provide information about the state of the system, its activities and its users. Analyzing these logs can provide a lot of information, ranging from the user’s work habits based on login/logout operations and device startup/shutdown, to hard disk failures caused by multiple unusual write errors and even attacks on the system.

There are countless techniques that can be used to attack a Windows system. The successful detection of attacks requires an understanding of the technique being used. But it also requires the system to be configured to log the relevant events in the first place. Then from all this data you need to pick out the events that were triggered by the respective technique.

MITRE ATT&CK Enterprise Matrix

MITRE ATT&CK Enterprise Matrix is a collection of tactics and techniques based on data taken from actual attacks. ATT&CK is publicly available and can be used free of charge. The April 2019 version of ATT&CK Enterprise Matrix includes 12 tactics and 244 techniques. For example, the credential access tactic involves techniques for gaining access to login credentials, including brute force, credential dumping and forced authentication. Each technique includes a description, a list of examples detailing how the technique is used along with possible countermeasures that are divided into categories of mitigation and detection.

The ATT&CK Enterprise Matrix is, among other things, a good foundation for identifying attacks. The recommended measures relate specifically to the technique in question. For example, in the case of Kerberoasting the recommended procedure is to monitor the Kerberos event log for Kerberos Service Ticket Operations on accounts that issue a large number of requests within the span of just a few minutes, particularly if the ticket request contains the encryption algorithm RC4 (type 0×17). The recommendations for dealing with the technique of credential dumping are more general. Recommendations include checking to make sure LSASS is started as a protected process and that attempts to access the LSASS process are monitored. The running of applications and scripts should be monitored for suspicious behavior as well. One of the best-known examples of credential dumping is the tool known as Mimikatz, which is not only used by security researchers but also by many groups who use it to launch real attacks. This is why we are currently configuring a test system that uses built-in Windows features to detect Mimikatz attacks.

Configuring Audit Settings

The article covering Windows 10 client hardening already discussed several additional settings for the audit configuration. The latest version of the hardening checklist includes additional settings and has been updated for Windows 10 Build 1903. To detect when Mimikatz is being run requires some additional audit settings in Windows. These include some of the following settings which, incidentally, can also be used to detect other attack techniques:

Monitoring Mimikatz

The Windows client runs the LSASS process in protected mode, which can be verified by checking the system event log when starting the operating system. The event with the source Wininit and event ID 12 is: LSASS.exe was started as a protected process with level: 4. If Mimikatz now attempts to read the login credentials of users who are logged in, the operation will fail:

mimikatz # privilege::debug
Privilege '20' OK

mimikatz # sekurlsa::logonpasswords
ERROR kuhl_m_sekurlsa_acquireLSA ; Handle on memory (0x00000005)

Sysmon can be used to detect when Mimikatz starts, for example, by monitoring the Process Create event. If a modified version of Mimikatz is used and the name, description and other properties of the application have been concealed, this event is not necessarily reliable. When starting Mimikatz, the Sensitive Privilege Use task with event ID 4673 will also appear in the security event log as Failed. An attempt will be made to acquire SeTcbPrivilege privileges. If the process ID has the same ID as the Sysmon event, this is a red flag for suspicious activity.

In the next step, the Mimikatz driver is loaded to disable Protected Mode for the LSASS process in the system memory.

mimikatz # !+
[*] 'mimidrv' service not present
[+] 'mimidrv' service successfully registered
[+] 'mimidrv' service ACL to everyone
[+] 'mimidrv' service started

mimikatz # privilege::debug
Privilege '20' OK

mimikatz # !processprotect /remove /process:lsass.exe
Process : lsass.exe
PID 652 -> 00/00 [0-0-0]

This activity can be detected as event Driver Loaded in the Sysmon log. In addition, an entry for loading of the driver will also appear in the system event log with the Service Control Manager as the source and event ID 7045. The installation of a driver is also documented in the security event log and will have event ID 4697.

Once the LSASS process is no longer protected, the user’s login credentials can be read from the process memory.

mimikatz # sekurlsa::logonpasswords

Authentication Id : 0 ; 2496472 (00000000:002617d8)
Session           : Interactive from 1
User Name         : admin
Domain            : W10
Logon Server      : W10
Logon Time        : 31/02/2019 08:10:41
SID               : S-1-5-21-2094461431-2471580941-81854671-1002
...

Reading the login credentials generates the event An attempt was made to access an object with the category Kernel Object and event ID 4663 in the security event log. This means that an application has successfully accessed the LSASS process object.

Expanding the Sysmon configuration to include the following setting can make it easier to detect attacks on the LSASS process:

<!--SYSMON EVENT ID 10 : INTER-PROCESS ACCESS-->
<!--DATA: UtcTime, SourceProcessGuid, SourceProcessId, SourceThreadId, SourceImage, TargetProcessGuid, TargetProcessId, TargetImage, GrantedAccess, CallTrace-->
<ProcessAccess onmatch="include">
    <TargetImage condition="contains">lsass.exe</TargetImage>
</ProcessAccess>

Analyzing how Mimikatz is executed and applying these insights makes it possible to detect the attack. In the simplest scenario, you can monitor when mimikatz.exe is run and when the mimidrv.sys driver is loaded. By correlating the Process Create and Driver Loaded events as well as attempts to access the LSASS process, you can also detect a disguised version of Mimikatz or an application that uses similar mechanisms.

Moving Forward

Detecting Mimikatz is only one first step towards being able to detect all of the attack techniques covered in the ATT&CK Enterprise Matrix. The documented techniques do, however, provide assistance and are therefore a good place to start building a detection framework. Another helpful tool is Andrea Fortuna’s collection of event log IDs. In addition, the mechanisms for detecting suspicious activities can usually be used for more than just a single technique, so you don’t have to set up a separate detection rule for each individual technique. It should also be noted that other attacks and activities that are beyond the scope of MITRE ATT&CK should be taken into account as well.

You can identify attacks on the client system by integrating an alarm into the central infrastructure or by using a central monitoring system to carry out the necessary analytics. In centralized analytics systems, you can also incorporate data from other systems to provide additional clues. The history from the previous few days should also be taken into account, because an attack can span several days or even weeks.

About the Author

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider has been in IT since 2000. Since 2010 he is focused on information security. He is an expert at penetration testing, hardening and the detection of vulnerabilities in operating systems. He is well-known for a variety of tools written in PowerShell to find, exploit, and mitigate weaknesses. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

You want to test the security of your firewall?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

HardeningKitty Score

HardeningKitty Score

Michael Schneider

HTTP Response Header

HTTP Response Header

Michael Schneider

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Monitoring - Detektieren von Angriffen mittels MITRE ATT&CK

Monitoring

Detektieren von Angriffen mittels MITRE ATT&CK

Michael Schneider
von Michael Schneider
am 11. Juli 2019
Lesezeit: 10 Minuten

Keypoints

So können Sie Angriffe mittels MITRE ATT&CK erkennen

  • Wissen über Angriffstechniken hilft, diese zu detektieren
  • MITRE ATT&CK Enterprise Matrix beinhaltet reelle Angriffstaktiken und -techniken
  • Die Windows-Audit-Einstellungen sollten ausgebaut werden
  • Durch Korrelierung von Ereignissen können Angriffe erkannt werden

Auf einem Windows 10 Client werden im normalen Betrieb täglich tausende Ereignisse protokolliert. Diese Ereignisse geben Auskunft über den Zustand und Aktivitäten des Systems und dessen Benutzer. Durch die Auswertung dieser Protokolle können viele verschiedene Informationen gewonnen werden, vom Arbeitsverhalten des Benutzers anhand An-/Abmelde-Vorgänge und Start/Herunterfahren des Geräts, über einen sich abzeichnenden Ausfall einer Festplatte aufgrund vieler unüblicher Schreibfehler, bis hin zu Angriffen auf das System.

Es gibt unzählige Techniken wie ein Windows-System angegriffen werden kann. Für das erfolgreiche Detektieren von Angriffen muss einerseits die eingesetzte Technik bekannt und andererseits das System so konfiguriert sein, dass relevante Ereignisse überhaupt aufgezeichnet werden. Aus all den Daten müssen danach die passenden Ereignisse zur jeweiligen Technik gefunden werden.

MITRE ATT&CK Enterprise Matrix

Die MITRE ATT&CK Enterprise Matrix ist eine Sammlung von Taktiken und Techniken, bestehend aus Daten von realen Angriffen. ATT&CK ist öffentlich verfügbar und kann kostenlos eingesetzt werden. Die Version April 2019 der ATT&CK Enterprise Matrix umfasst 12 Taktiken und 244 Techniken. Als Beispiel umfasst die Taktik Credential Access Techniken zum Erlangen von Zugangsdaten, dazu gehören Brute Force, Credential Dumping und Forced Authentication. Jede Technik beinhaltet eine Beschreibung, eine Liste von Examples, wie die Technik eingesetzt wird, sowie mögliche Gegenmassnahmen jeweils aufgeteilt in Mitigation und Detection.

Die ATT&CK Enterprise Matrix eignet sich unter anderem als Basis für die Erkennung von Angriffen. Die empfohlenen Massnahmen sind, je nach Technik, spezifisch formuliert. So wird im Falle von Kerberoasting empfohlen im Event-Log der Kerberos Service Ticket Operations auf Accounts zu achten, die innert wenigen Minuten viele Anfragen stellen, besonders wenn der Ticket-Request den Verschlüsselungsalgorithmus RC4 (Type 0×17) beinhaltet. Bei der Technik Credential Dumping sind die Empfehlungen dafür allgemeiner gehalten. Es wird unter anderem empfohlen zu prüfen, dass LSASS als Protected Process gestartet wird und dass Zugriffe auf den Prozess LSASS überwacht werden. Zudem sollte die Ausführung von Anwendungen und Skripte auf verdächtiges Verhalten untersucht werden. Als eines der bekanntesten Beispiele für Credential Dumping gilt das Tool Mimikatz. Mimikatz wird neben Security-Researchern auch von vielen Gruppen in realen Angriffen eingesetzt. Daher versuchen wir ein Testsystem so zu konfigurieren, dass mittels Windows-Bordmitteln ein Angriff mit Mimikatz detektiert werden kann.

Konfiguration Audit-Einstellungen

Im Artikel Windows 10 Client Hardening sind bereits einige Zusatzeinstellungen für die Audit-Konfiguration erwähnt. Die neuste Version der Hardening Checkliste verfügt über weitere Einstellungen und sie wurde auf den Stand von Windows 10 Build 1903 aktualisiert. Um die Ausführung von Mimikatz zu erkennen, ist es nötig die Audit-Einstellungen von Windows zu erweitern. Dies umfasst einige der nachfolgenden Einstellungen, welche jedoch auch für das Erkennen von weiteren Angriffstechniken genutzt werden können:

Monitoring von Mimikatz

Auf dem Windows-Client läuft der LSASS-Prozess im Protected Mode. Dies lässt sich beim Start des Betriebssystems im System-Event-Log verifizieren. Der Event der Quelle Wininit mit der Event-ID 12 lautet: LSASS.exe was started as a protected process with level: 4. Wenn nun mit Mimikatz versucht wird die Zugangsdaten der angemeldeten Benutzern auszulesen, schlägt der Vorgang fehl:

mimikatz # privilege::debug
Privilege '20' OK

mimikatz # sekurlsa::logonpasswords
ERROR kuhl_m_sekurlsa_acquireLSA ; Handle on memory (0x00000005)

Mit Sysmon kann der Start von Mimikatz detektiert werden, unter anderem mit dem Event Process Create. Falls eine modifizierte Version von Mimikatz eingesetzt wird, und der Name, die Beschreibung und weitere Merkmale der Applikation getarnt wurden, ist dieser Event nur bedingt zuverlässig. Beim Starten von Mimikatz wird zudem im Security-Event-Log der Task Sensitive Privilege Use mit der Event-ID 4673 als Failed registriert. Es wird versucht die Privilegien für SeTcbPrivilege zu erlangen. Falls es sich bei der Prozess-ID um dieselbe ID wie beim Sysmon-Event handelt, stellt dies ein Indiz für eine verdächtige Aktivität dar.

Im nächsten Schritt wird der Mimikatz-Treiber geladen, um den Protected Mode des LSASS-Prozesses im Memory des Systems zu entfernen.

mimikatz # !+
[*] 'mimidrv' service not present
[+] 'mimidrv' service successfully registered
[+] 'mimidrv' service ACL to everyone
[+] 'mimidrv' service started

mimikatz # privilege::debug
Privilege '20' OK

mimikatz # !processprotect /remove /process:lsass.exe
Process : lsass.exe
PID 652 -> 00/00 [0-0-0]

Dieser Vorgang kann mit Sysmon und dem Event Driver loaded nachvollzogen werden. Zusätzlich ist im System-Event-Log unter der Quelle Service Control Manager und der Event-ID 7045 ebenfalls ein Eintrag zum Laden des Treibers vorhanden. Die Installation eines Treibers wird auch im Security-Event-Log unter der Event-ID 4697 festgehalten.

Nachdem der LSASS-Prozess nun nicht mehr geschützt ist, können die Zugangsdaten der Benutzer aus dem Speicher des Prozesses ausgelesen werden.

mimikatz # sekurlsa::logonpasswords

Authentication Id : 0 ; 2496472 (00000000:002617d8)
Session           : Interactive from 1
User Name         : admin
Domain            : W10
Logon Server      : W10
Logon Time        : 31/02/2019 08:10:41
SID               : S-1-5-21-2094461431-2471580941-81854671-1002
...

Das Auslesen der Zugangsdaten generiert im Security-Event-Log den Event An attempt was made to access an object. der Kategorie Kernel Object mit der Event-ID 4663. Dabei wurde von einer Anwendung auf das Objekt LSASS-Prozess erfolgreich zugegriffen.

Durch die Erweiterung der Sysmon-Config um die folgende Einstellung kann die Erkennung von Zugriffen auf den LSASS-Prozess noch verbessert werden:

<!--SYSMON EVENT ID 10 : INTER-PROCESS ACCESS-->
<!--DATA: UtcTime, SourceProcessGuid, SourceProcessId, SourceThreadId, SourceImage, TargetProcessGuid, TargetProcessId, TargetImage, GrantedAccess, CallTrace-->
<ProcessAccess onmatch="include">
    <TargetImage condition="contains">lsass.exe</TargetImage>
</ProcessAccess>

Mit diesen Erkenntnissen der Analyse der Ausführung von Mimikatz ist es nun möglich den Angriff zu detektieren. Im einfachsten Fall kann auf die Ausführung von mimikatz.exe sowie das Laden des Treibers mimidrv.sys geachtet werden. Durch die Korrelierung der Ereignisse Process Create, Driver loaded und Zugriffe auf den LSASS-Prozess kann zudem auch eine getarnte Version von Mimikatz oder eine Anwendung, die nach einem ähnlichen Prinzip vorgeht, detektiert werden.

Wie weiter

Das Detektieren von Mimikatz ist nur ein erster Schritt auf dem Weg alle Angriffstechniken der ATT&CK Enterprise Matrix detektieren zu können. Die dokumentierten Techniken bieten jedoch eine Hilfestellung und somit einen guten Anhaltspunkt zum Aufbau eines Detektion-Frameworks. Eine weitere Hilfe stellt die Sammlung von Event-Log-IDs von Andrea Fortuna dar. Zudem können die Mechanismen zur Erkennung von verdächtigen Vorgängen meist für mehr als nur eine Technik verwendet werden. Es ist demzufolge auch nicht nötig für jede einzelne Technik eine eigene Detektierungsregel zu bauen. Darüber hinaus darf nicht vergessen werden, dass es andere Angriffe und Aktivitäten ausserhalb von MITRE ATT&CK gibt, die auch beachtet werden sollten.

Die Identifikation von Angriffen kann einerseits bereits auf dem Client-System erfolgen mit einem anschliessenden Alarm an die zentrale Infrastruktur, oder es findet im zentralen Monitoringsystem eine entsprechende Analyse statt. Bei zentralen Auswertungen können zudem die Daten anderer Systeme zugezogen werden, was gegebenenfalls auch weitere Anhaltspunkte liefern kann. Ebenfalls sollte die Historie der letzten Tage beigezogen werden, da sich ein Angriff über mehrere Tage oder gar Wochen erstrecken kann.

Über den Autor

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider arbeitet seit dem Jahr 2000 in der IT. Im Jahr 2010 hat er sich auf die Informationssicherheit spezialisiert. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehören das Penetration Testing, Hardening und das Aufspüren von Schwachstellen in Betriebssystemen. Er ist bekannt für eine Vielzahl in PowerShell geschrieber Tools zum Finden, Ausnutzen und Beheben von Schwachstellen. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

Sie wollen die Sicherheit Ihrer Firewall prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
HardeningKitty

HardeningKitty

Michael Schneider

KleptoKitty

KleptoKitty

Michael Schneider

Linux Hardening

Linux Hardening

Michael Schneider

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv