Challenges accompanying the daily routine - All good things come in threes

Challenges accompanying the daily routine

All good things come in threes

Valérie Kastner
by Valérie Kastner
on November 14, 2019
time to read: 7 minutes

Keypoints

You might like these hacking challenges

  • Several open source tutorials and challenges offer the opportunity to exercise and refine attacks
  • WebGoat is in line with the abilities of beginners
  • Root Me provide challenges in various topics
  • The Web Security Academy of PortSwigger is extremely detailed, extensively documented and conveys both, basics and advanced attacks

Who has not faced a similar situation? Hectic times filled with project after project, where one’s flexibility and concentration are taxed to the utmost. And then there is the famous calm before the storm (or even after it). It is a welcome opportunity to prepare oneself, to maintain and to improve tools and skills. Personally, I like to occupy myself with challenges and tutorials around web application security during the more quiet times of the year. In the following article, I will present 3 platforms I have already spent quite a lot of time on, learning a lot and enhancing my skills.

I often hear that vulnerabilities in there are too “obvious” and would never be found that easily in reality. This might be true, but I still believe in the effectiveness of the challenges and I consider it very useful being able to test attacks and train certain procedures. All too often attacks fail because of improper execution and reading articles cannot replace exploiting vulnerabilities and practising certain attack scenarios.

WebGoat by OWASP

When I had just joined the RedTeam of scip AG, one of the first platforms I practiced on was WebGoat. WebGoat is an insecure web application that is maintained by OWASP (Open Web Application Security Project).

This app provides good explanations and conveys basic theory with challenges and attacks predominantly designed for beginners. This way the fundamentals are first taught and can subsequently be tried out on the application. A major advantage is the existence of different challenges on various topics. Overall, there are tutorials covering all OWASP Top10 vulnerabilities.

Some of the subjects are extremely instructive and well described. Particularly the chapter depicting JSON Web Tokens gave me a deeper understanding of JWTs and the resulting risks. Another advantage is the possibility of a step-by-step disclosure of hints during more difficult challenges, pointing one in the right direction.

A possible downside is that the application has to be downloaded and installed independently. Furthermore, there exist no official solutions, so if there are no hints for a challenge and no help can be found searching the web, the challenge might remain unsolved.

Root Me

In contrast to WebGoat, Root Me does not need to be downloaded. All free challenges are instantly accessible after a registration by e-mail. Personally, my restricted time has only allowed me to deal with the challenges on the topics of web client and web server. Nevertheless, I figure that other exercises in the area of cryptanalysis, programming and network might be thrilling as well.

Difficulties of the challenges range from extremely simple to very complex approaches. The displayed statistics about, for example, how many users validated a challenge, the difficulty it is rated at, number of example solutions and more are also very interesting.

On top of that, authors are free to share any documentation they consider useful. I’ve found some very interesting cheat sheets, descriptions or presentations of vulnerabilities in the related resources section already.

In addition, it is very helpful during a challenge to be able to rely on a pre-selected source of information. Particularly inspiring are best practices from other users, which may motivate you to check your own approach’s efficiency or give insights into other mental models or methods of resolution.

At the same time, I would like to highlight the downside of example solutions presented on Root Me. These are only visible to people that have already successfully solved the challenges. If you are stuck, there are only very limited possibilities for getting help, aside from the already mentioned documents in the section related resources. Although there is a community forum where you are able to ask questions, most of the time there is no response about the more difficult challenges or the hints are kept extremely generic, which leaves you stuck on the challenge. Additionally, the questions asked are not allowed to be too specific, otherwise a user might leak parts of the solution (these posts are censored). I myself got stuck on the challenge named Javascript Obfuscation 5. Unfortunately, my direct messages to two other users (one of them the author of the challenge), in hopes of getting a hint, have remained unanswered. So, several months have passed while being unable to validate the challenge (of course I tried to get some help through search engines – unsuccessfully, as the policy of Root Me stipulates that publishing solutions is forbidden). In such a case it is a pity that it is impossible to have a glance at the solutions. I do understand of course that it is not the goal to instantly take the easy way, although my personal opinion is that this is the responsibility of the user.

Web Security Academy by PortSwigger

In April 2019, PortSwigger announced their Web Security Academy. In the beginning there were challenges for 4 of the most famous vulnerabilities: SQL Injection, Cross-Site Scripting, OS Command Injection and Directory Traversal. Since then, there are various other tutorials that have been added to the existing ones. Unfortunately, I lacked time to solve all of them yet only have first-hand experience with the CSRF, XSS, File Path Traversal and SQL Injection tutorials.

Let me state up front that I am thrilled about this platform. All the descriptions are extremely detailed and well-constructed. The degree of difficulty is constantly increasing but the user is never left alone. Past a certain difficulty level, a solution is provided. Every area consists of several challenges, which enables everybody to train newly acquired knowledge more than once. As the theory provided is exceptionally well written, it is even possible for a complete beginner to find their way into the subject area und solve the challenges.

As a convenient side effect, the solutions occasionally include Burp Suite settings, which some of the users may not have known yet. For now, I have not found any disadvantage of the Academy.

Conclusion

There are numerous online trainings that help with improving and broadening your skills. Apart from the three platforms mentioned there exist various other, professional ones.

What counts in the end is to not get out of practice. Vulnerabilities that one hasn’t encountered for some time or which rarely exist anymore, are easily forgotten and it is natural that penetration testers begin to neglect these exploit methods more and more. Particularly “theoretical” tutorials may help remind oneself of these techniques.

Furthermore, best practices are always instructive as somebody might have discovered other approaches or tricks that are new and simplify life a lot.

About the Author

Valérie Kastner

Valérie Kastner studies Business Economics with focus on Risk & Insurance at the Zurich University of Applied Sciences. After several years in underwriting and technical center for insurances, she has been working in IT security since 2018 with a focus on Web Application Security Testing and Social Engineering. (ORCID 0000-0002-9214-572X)

Links

Are you interested in a Penetration Test?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

CIS Controls

CIS Controls

Tomaso Vasella

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Trustworthy AI

Trustworthy AI

Prisca Quadroni-Renella

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Challenges im Alltag - Aller guten Dinge sind drei

Challenges im Alltag

Aller guten Dinge sind drei

Valérie Kastner
von Valérie Kastner
am 14. November 2019
Lesezeit: 7 Minuten

Keypoints

Diese Hacking Challenges können nützlich sein

  • Viele Open-Source-Tutorials und Challenges helfen Angriffe zu üben und zu verfeinern
  • WebGoat ist vorwiegend auf Anfänger ausgerichtet
  • Root Me bietet diverse Challenges zu verschiedensten Bereichen
  • Die Web Security Academy von PortSwigger ist sehr detailliert und umfassend beschrieben und zeigt sowohl Grundlagen wie auch fortgeschrittene Angriffe

Wer kennt die Situation nicht? In hektischen Zeiten stürzt man von einem Projekt ins nächste, wobei die eigene Flexibilität und Konzentration aufs Äusserte ausgereizt wird. Und doch gibt es die berühmte Ruhe vor dem Sturm (teilweise natürlich auch danach). Es ist eine gute Möglichkeit sich vorzubereiten und die eigenen Werkzeuge zu verfeinern und zu warten. In einer ruhigeren Phase beschäftige ich mich persönlich gerne mit Challenges und Tutorials rund um das Thema Sicherheit von Web Applikationen. Im Folgenden stelle ich 3 Plattformen vor, mit denen ich bereits so einige Zeit vertrieben und vieles dazu gelernt habe.

Oftmals höre ich die Aussage, dass eine Schwachstelle selten genauso “offensichtlich” gefunden wird. Dies mag durchaus sein, dennoch erachte ich es als wertvoll, selbst Angriffe testen zu können und das Vorgehen zu trainieren. Ein Angriff scheitert nicht selten an der tatsächlichen Ausführung, das Lesen eines Artikels ersetzt nicht das eigene Ausprobieren und Üben von Angriffen.

WebGoat von OWASP

Als ich neu ins RedTeam der scip AG gestossen bin, war eine der ersten Plattformen WebGoat. WebGoat ist eine unsichere Web-Applikation, welche durch OWASP (Open Web Appliaction Security Project) bereitgestellt wird. Diese Applikation enthält gute Erklärungen und vermittelt grundlegende Theorie.

Die Challenges und Angriffe sind aber vorwiegend auf Anfänger ausgerichtet. So werden vorwiegend fundamentale Basics vermittelt, welche man anschliessend austesten kann. Als Vorteil gilt sicher die Challenges zu verschiedenen Bereichen, so gibt es Tutorials zu etwa allen OWASP Top Ten Schwachstellen.

Gewisse Themen waren auch äusserst lehrreich und sehr detailliert beschrieben. Insbesondere das Kapitel zu JSON Web Tokens, hat mir die Technologie von JWT sehr viel näher gebracht und mir ein tieferes Verständnis ermöglicht. Ein weiterer Vorteil sind die Tipps, welche bei schwierigen Challenges stufenweise angezeigt werden können und einem die Richtung weisen.

Mögliche Nachteile sind, dass die Applikation heruntergeladen und selbständig installiert werden muss. Ausserdem existieren keine offiziellen Musterlösungen für die Challenges. Gibt es zu einer Challenge keinen Tipp und findet man mit Hilfe einer Suchmaschine auch keine geeignete Hilfe, bleiben gewisse Challenges ungelöst.

Root Me

Im Gegensatz zu WebGoat benötigt Root Me kein Download. Die Gratis-Challenges sind nach einer Registration mit einer E-Mail-Adresse sofort zugänglich. Persönlich habe ich mich bisher selbst nur mit den Themenbereichen Web-Client und Web-Server auseinandergesetzt.

Spannend an dieser Plattform sind sicherlich jedoch auch Übungen zu diversen anderen Themengebieten wie Kryptoanalyse, Programmierung und Netzwerk. Die Schwierigkeit der Trainings sind enorm breit gefächert und reichen von extrem simplen bis zu komplexen Ansätzen. Spannend sind auch die angezeigten Indikatoren, wie viel Prozent der Benutzer eine Challenge validieren konnten, den Schweregrad, Anzahl Musterlösungen, etc.

Im Weiteren ist es den Autoren möglich, nützliche Quellen anzugeben. Ich habe bereits einige sehr spannende Dokumentationen, Beschreibungen oder Präsentationen von Schwachstellen gefunden. Ausserdem ist es während einer Challenge sehr hilfreich, wenn man eine ausgewählte Quelle als Hilfestellung beiziehen kann. Ein sehr anregendes Feature ist ausserdem das Anzeigen von Musterlösungen von anderen Benutzern. Es ermöglicht einem den eigenen Ansatz beispielsweise auf Effizienz zu überprüfen oder andere Denkens- und Lösungsansätze zu betrachten.

Im gleichen Zuge möchte ich hier aber auch die negative Seite der Musterlösungen beleuchten. Die Musterlösungen sind nur für User ersichtlich, welche die Challenge bereits erfolgreich gelöst haben. Steckt man in einer Übung fest, gibt es abgesehen von den Dokumenten in Nützliche Quellen, nur geringe Möglichkeiten Hilfe zu erhalten. Zwar können im Forum Fragen gestellt werden, aber gerade bei schwierigen Challenges bleibt eine Antwort oftmals aus, oder der Ratschlag ist so generell gehalten, dass man weiterhin ansteht. Zudem darf die Fragestellung nicht zu spezifisch sein, da man mögliche Teilschritten anderen Teilnehmern preisgeben würde (solche Posts werden zensiert). Ich selbst habe bei einer Challenge Javascript Obfuscation 5 auch zwei User angeschrieben (unter anderem den Autor), um möglicherweise einen Tipp zu erhalten. Leider blieben diese jedoch unbeantwortet und ich stehe auch nach mehreren Monaten noch bei dieser Challenge an. (Natürlich habe ich mich auch mit Suchmaschinen versucht um eine Lösung zu finden, jedoch ist die Policy von Root Me, dass keine Lösungen veröffentlicht werden dürfen.) In diesem Falle finde ich es schade, dass die Musterlösungen nicht bedingungslos angezeigt werden können. Selbstverständlich ist nicht das Ziel bei jeder kleineren Hürde sich den Weg so zu vereinfachen, aber meiner persönlichen Meinung nach liegt dies auch in der Verantwortung des Benutzers.

Web Security Academy von PortSwigger

Im April 2019 kündigte PortSwigger ihre Web Security Academy an. Gestartet wurde mit 4 berühmten Schwachstellen: SQL Injection, Cross-Site Scripting, OS Command Injection und Directory Traversal. Zwischenzeitlich wurde die Academy mit zusätzlichen Challenges erweitert. Leider hatte ich bisher noch nicht die Zeit, alle Übungen durchzuspielen. Meine Erfahrungen beziehen sich deshalb auf die Themen CSRF, XSS, File Path Traversal und SQL Injection.

Vorweg: Ich bin begeistert von dieser Plattform. Die Erklärungen sind äusserst detailliert und extrem gut aufgebaut. Stetig wird bei den verschiedenen Challenges die Schwierigkeit etwas erhöht, der Benutzer jedoch nie alleine gelassen. Bei schwierigeren Übungen ist es möglich eine Musterlösung anzeigen zu lassen. Zu jedem Thema gibt es zahlreiche Übungen, sodass man das soeben Gelernte mehrmals anwenden kann. Durch das, dass die Erklärungen auffallend gut beschrieben sind, ist es auch einem Anfänger in einem Thema möglich den Einstieg zu finden und die Challenges zu lösen.

Ein angenehmer Nebeneffekt von Musterlösungen sind teilweise Beschreibungen zu Einstellungen zur Burp Suite, die man gegebenenfalls bis anhin noch nicht gekannt oder übersehen hat. Eine Schattenseite dieses Tutorials habe ich an dieser Stelle noch nicht entdeckt.

Fazit

Es gibt zahlreiche Online-Trainings, um die eigenen Fähigkeiten auszubauen und zu erweitern. Nebst den drei erwähnten Plattformen gibt es zudem verschiedenste andere, professionelle Plattformen.

Am Ende zählt vor allem, nicht aus der Übung zu kommen. Bei Schwachstellen, die man seit längerer Zeit nicht mehr gefunden hat oder die kaum mehr bestehen, besteht oftmals die Gefahr, dass man als Penetration Tester das Prüfen gewisser Methoden zunehmend vernachlässigt oder sie nicht mehr vollständig präsent sind. Gerade auch “theoretische” Tutorials helfen dabei, sich derer wieder zu erinnern.

Ausserdem sind auch Musterlösungen sehr lehrreich wo möglicherweise andere Ansätze gewählt wurden oder man einen Trick entdeckt, den man bisher noch nicht gekannt hat und der einem das Leben wesentlich einfacher gestaltet.

Über die Autorin

Valérie Kastner

Valérie Kastner studiert Betriebsökonomie mit Schwerpunkt Risk & Insurance an der Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften. Nach mehreren Jahren im Underwriting und Technical Center von Versicherungen, arbeitet sie seit 2018 im Bereich IT-Security mit Fokus auf Web Application Security Testing und Social Engineering. (ORCID 0000-0002-9214-572X)

Links

Haben Sie Interesse an einem Penetration Test?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Social Engineering

Social Engineering

Valérie Kastner

Schwierigkeiten von Cyber-Versicherungen

Schwierigkeiten von Cyber-Versicherungen

Valérie Kastner

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv