RSA Versus Quantum - Breaking Security Protocols with a Quantum Computer

RSA Versus Quantum

Breaking Security Protocols with a Quantum Computer

Noah Berner
by Noah Berner
on May 19, 2022
time to read: 10 minutes

Keypoints

The Attack on RSA with a Quantum Computer

  • The attack relies on factoring a large number which is the product of two primes
  • On a quantum computer, this factorization is calculated exponentially faster than on a classical computer
  • Once the factorization of the large number is found, it is possible to calculate the private key
  • Other asymmetric protocols are also affected by the attack

Today, RSA is one of the most widely used encryption protocols in the world and protects various applications from the prying eyes of attackers – unless these attackers have a quantum computer. The security properties of RSA are based on the belief that computers need a certain amount of time to solve a hard problem. Quantum computers can solve some of these problems much more efficiently than classical computers so that they are able to break the RSA protocol.

Needed Building Blocks

The attack on RSA using a quantum computer is best described by first looking at the building blocks of the attack.

RSA

The encryption protocol RSA, which was named after its authors Rivest, Shamir and Adleman, is one of today’s most widely used encryption schemes. Among other things, it is used in TLS to securely exchange the keys between server and client and thus protects the communication between websites like electronic banking and end-user devices.

RSA is an asymmetric cryptographic scheme, meaning that for the en- and decryption two different keys are used. The key that is used to encrypt data is called the public key. As the name suggests, the public key is public and can be shared with any party with whom one wants to communicate. It is expected that any attacker also knows the public key.

The key used for decryption of the data is called the private key. The private key has to be kept secret and cannot fall into the hands of the attacker or be calculated by them.

The security of the RSA protocol is based on the assumption that it is hard to factor a number N = p * q, which is the product of two prime numbers p and q, back into these two factors. The fastest known algorithm on a classical computer needs

O(2∛n)

time units to accomplish this task, where n is the number of bits of the number N. Thus, the runtime of the classical algorithm that receives N as input and returns the two factors p and q as output is exponential in the number of bits n.

Calculating the Period of a Function Using a Quantum Program

One of the most important building blocks of Shor’s algorithm is a quantum program that calculates the period r of a periodic function

ƒ(x) = ƒ(x + r)

In other words, the program calculates the distance r after which the output of the function is repeated.

The quantum program uses the quantum Fourier transform to calculate the period r. The quantum Fourier transform is the quantum computing equivalent to the discrete Fourier transform but can perform this operation exponentially faster than a classical computer. This is the decisive time advantage that will allow us to break RSA in a reasonable amount of time.

Euclidean Algorithm

The Euclidean algorithm efficiently calculates the greatest common divisor gcd of two numbers.

Assembling Shor’s Algorithm

Now that we have seen the essential building blocks, we assemble them into an algorithm that is able to factor the number N into its secret factors p and q in polynomial (i.e., sub-exponential) time. The American mathematician Peter Shor has developed such an algorithm in 1994 which is now named after him and known as Shor’s algorithm.

Quantum Part

We choose a number a which does not have any common factors with N. This property can easily be checked using the Euclidean algorithm, as it is equivalent to the statement that the greatest common divisor of a and N is one.

gcd(a, N) = 1

Once we have found a suitable candidate a we define the following two things:

  1. The order of a modulo N is called r and defined as the exponent of a modulo N equal to one:
    ar mod N = 1
  2. We define ƒa as follows
    ƒa(x) = ax mod N

Notice that ƒa has the following properties:

ƒa( r ) = ar mod N = 1

ƒa(x+y) = ax+y mod N = ax * ay mod N = ƒa(x) * ƒa(y) mod N

The crucial observation after all these definitions is that ƒa is a periodic function with the period r:

ƒa(x+r) = ƒa(x) * ƒa( r ) = ƒa(x) * 1 = ƒa(x)

With the aforementioned quantum program, we can calculate the period r of ƒa in polynomial time. Once r is calculated with the quantum computer, we will use classical algorithms to process r and find the factors of N.

Classical Part

With a probability of at least 50% we will receive an r from the quantum computer which has the following two properties:

  1. r is an even number.
  2. Neither ar/2 + 1 nor ar/2 – 1 is a multiple of N.

If both of these properties hold for a we can find the prime factors of N. Otherwise, we will let the quantum computer calculate a new r by choosing a different value for a.

With an r that fulfills the above requirements, we make the following observation:

ar mod N = 1

⇔ (ar/2)2 mod N = 1

⇔ (ar/2)2 – 1 mod N = 0

⇔ (ar/2 – 1)(ar/2 + 1) mod N = 0

Because neither ar/2 + 1 nor ar/2 – 1 are a multiple of N, these two numbers must share a non-trivial factor with N. This factor can be calculated using the Euclidean algorithm

x = gcd(ar/2 – 1, N) = p or q

The second factor can be found by dividing N with the factor x.

Boom, RSA is Broken!

We were able to use Shor’s algorithm to calculate the secret prime factors p and q in polynomial time.

O(poly(n))

This allows an attacker to calculate the private key, just as the original owner of the key did when they started the RSA protocol. Thus, the private key is in the hands of the attacker, and we have successfully broken RSA!

Are Other Protocols Safe?

You probably ask yourself whether other encryption protocols are also in danger of being weakened by the existence of quantum computers. The answer to that question depends on whether we talk about symmetric or asymmetric protocols.

Symmetric Encryption

Symmetric encryption algorithms are not affected by Shor’s algorithm as they rely on different hard problems to be secure. Quantum programs that solve these hard problems exponentially faster than classical programs have not been discovered yet. This could of course change in the future and whether such algorithms can exist or not is an open research question.

Asymmetric Encryption

Shor’s algorithm can be generalized so that it solves all problems of the hidden subgroup problem for finite Abelian groups. One of those problems is the discrete logarithm problem on which the security of the Diffie-Hellman key exchange and the elliptic-curve cryptography is based. Thus, none of today’s most used asymmetric encryption protocols is safe.

Even if quantum computers with enough qubits that have a reasonable noise level to break RSA with its current problem sizes are at least a few years away, this situation is still unsatisfactory. We present two possible remedies.

Post-Quantum Cryptography

Post-quantum cryptography, i.e., the cryptography that is safe in the era of quantum computers, is a field of research that develops classical asymmetric encryption schemes that are neither vulnerable to classical nor quantum attacks. At the moment, NIST is in the process of certifying and standardizing such algorithms.

Quantum Key Distribution

Quantum Key Distribution uses quantum physics to exchange keys whose security is tied to the laws of physics rather than the computational power of attackers. Thus, even if an attacker has a quantum computer at their disposal, they cannot reconstruct the key. The disadvantages of quantum key distribution are the limited range and throughput as well as the cost of using new hardware.

Conclusion

The attack on RSA shows that if we enter an era where quantum computers with enough qubits exist, that we need new ways to perform asymmetric encryption. Otherwise, the secure communication of today is no longer possible. There are already alternatives to the quantum unsafe status quo, but these are not yet fully developed and need more time and investment before they become viable.

Additional Material

Readers who would like to dive deeper into quantum computers and their algorithms will find a good resource in the textbook of Qiskit as well as the great book Quantum Computation and Quantum Information by Nielsen and Chuang.

Disclaimer: This article is written for a broad audience and as such, some of the mathematical statements have been simplified and should not be used to derive further statements.

About the Author

Noah Berner

Noah Berner obtained a bachelor’s degree in computer science and a master’s degree in quantum engineering from ETH Zurich. In addition to information security in complex data processing systems, his research interests include quantum key distribution protocols and physical quantum computing architectures.

Links

You are looking for a speaker?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Attack Path Analysis

Attack Path Analysis

Marius Elmiger

Data Theft

Data Theft

Michèle Trebo

Vulnerability of Humans and Machines

Vulnerability of Humans and Machines

Marisa Tschopp

Web Cache Poisoning

Web Cache Poisoning

Ralph Meier

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

RSA Gegen Quantum - Sicherheitsprotokolle mit einem Quantencomputer knacken

RSA Gegen Quantum

Sicherheitsprotokolle mit einem Quantencomputer knacken

Noah Berner
von Noah Berner
am 19. Mai 2022
Lesezeit: 10 Minuten

Keypoints

RSA mit einem Quantencomputer angreifen

  • Für den Angriff muss man eine grosse Zahl faktorisieren, die das Produkt zweier Primzahlen ist
  • Diese Faktorisierung erfolgt exponentiell schneller auf einem Quantencomputer als auf einem klassichen Computer
  • Mit der gefundenen Faktorisierung lässt sich der private Schlüssel berechnen
  • Andere asymmetrische Protokolle sind ebenfalls betroffen

RSA ist eine der meistgenutzten Verschlüsselungstechniken der heutigen Zeit und schützt verschiedene Applikation von den neugierigen Augen der Angreifer – ausser diese Angreifer besitzen einen Quantencomputer. Die Sicherheit von RSA basiert darauf, dass Computer eine gewisse Zeit brauchen, um ein hartes Problem zu lösen. Quantencomputer können einige dieser Probleme so viel effizienter lösen als klassische Computer, dass es ihnen in nützlicher Zeit gelingt RSA zu knacken.

Benötigte Bausteine

Die Attacke auf RSA mithilfe eines Quantencomputers beschreibt man am besten, indem man sich die Bauteile der Attacke anschaut.

RSA

Das Verschlüsselungsprotokoll RSA, benannt nach seinen Autoren Rivest, Shamir und Adleman, ist eines der meistgenutzten Verschlüsselungsverfahren der heutigen Zeit. Es wird unter anderem bei TLS zum sicheren Austausch von Schlüsseln zwischen Webserver und Client verwendet und schützt somit den Austausch zwischen Webseiten wie E-Banking und Endgeräten.

Bei RSA handelt es sich um ein asymmetrisches Kryptographieverfahren. Das bedeutet, dass für die Ver- und Entschlüsselung zwei verschiedene Schlüssel verwendet werden. Der Schlüssel zur Verschlüsselung der Daten wird öffentlicher Schlüssel genannt. Der öffentliche Schlüssel ist, wie der Name schon sagt, öffentlich und kann an alle Parteien versendet werden, mit denen man kommunizieren möchte. Es wird angenommen, dass auch ein Angreifer den öffentlichen Schlüssel kennt.

Der Schlüssel zur Entschlüsselung der Daten wird privater Schlüssel genannt. Der private Schlüssel muss geheim gehalten werden und darf nicht in die Hände des Angreifers gelangen oder von diesem berechnet werden können.

Die Sicherheit des RSA-Protokolls basiert auf der Vermutung, dass es schwer ist, eine Zahl N = p * q, die das Produkt von zwei Primzahlen p und q ist, wieder in diese zwei Faktoren zu zerlegen. Der schnellste bekannte Algorithmus auf klassischen Computern braucht dazu

O(2∛n)

Zeiteinheiten, wobei n die Anzahl Bits der Zahl N ist. Die Laufzeit des klassischen Algorithmus der als Input die Zahl N bekommt und die beiden Faktoren p und q findet und ausgibt ist also exponentiell in der Anzahl Bits n.

Periode einer Funktion mit einem Quantenprogramm berechnen

Eines der wichtigsten Bauteile des Shor-Algorithmus ist das Quantenprogramm, welches die Periode r einer periodischen Funktion

ƒ(x) = ƒ(x + r)

berechnet. Das Programm berechnet also den Abstand r nachdem sich die Ausgabe der Funktion wiederholt.

Das Quantenprogramm berechnet die Periode r mithilfe der Quanten-Fourier-Transformation. Die Quanten-Fourier-Transformation ist das quantentechnische Pendant zu der diskreten Fourier-Transformation, schafft diese Operation jedoch exponentiell viel schneller als es klassische Computer können. Dies ist der entscheidende Zeitvorteil, welcher es uns später erlauben wird, RSA in nützlicher Zeit zu knacken.

Euklidischer Algorithmus

Mit dem euklidischen Algorithmus lässt sich der grösste gemeinsame Teiler ggT von zwei Zahlen effizient berechnen.

Zusammensetzen der Bausteine – Der Shor-Algorithmus

Wir wollen nun diese Programme nutzen, um einen Algorithmus zu konstruieren, der uns die Zahl N in polynomieller (sprich sub-exponentieller) Zeit in die geheimen Faktoren p und q zerlegt. Der amerikanische Mathematiker Peter Shor hat einen solchen Algorithmus im Jahre 1994 entwickelt, welcher nun auch nach ihm benannt ist – der Shor-Algorithmus.

Quantenteil

Wir wählen eine Zahl a welche keine gemeinsamen Teiler mit N hat. Dies lässt sich leicht mit dem euklidischen Algorithmus feststellen, da in diesem Fall der grösste gemeinsame Teiler von a und N eins sein muss.

ggT(a, N) = 1

Wenn wir einen geeigneten Kandidaten a gefunden haben, definieren wir zwei Dinge:

  1. Die Ordnung von a modulo N nennen wir r und ist definiert als die Potenz von a modulo N welche eins ergibt:
    ar mod N = 1
  2. Wir definieren die Funktion ƒa als
    ƒa(x) = ax mod N

Nun stellen wir fest, dass ƒa folgende Eigenschaften hat:

ƒa( r ) = ar mod N = 1

ƒa(x+y) = ax+y mod N = ax * ay mod N = ƒa(x) * ƒa(y) mod N

Die entscheidende Schlussfolgerung von all diesen Definitionen ist nun, dass ƒa eine periodische Funktion mit der Periode r ist:

ƒa(x+r) = ƒa(x) * ƒa( r ) = ƒa(x) * 1 = ƒa(x)

Wir können nun mithilfe des oben genannten Quantenprogramms die Periode r von ƒa in polynomieller Zeit berechnen. Wenn die Periode r mithilfe des Quantencomputers bestimmt wurde, benutzen wir klassische Algorithmen, um r zu verarbeiten und die Faktoren von N zu bestimmen.

Klassischer Teil

Mit einer Wahrscheinlichkeit von mindestens 50 Prozent, erhalten wir von dem Quantencomputer ein r welche folgende zwei Eigenschaften hat:

  1. r ist eine gerade Zahl.
  2. Weder ar/2 + 1 noch ar/2 – 1 ist ein Vielfaches von N.

Wenn diese zwei Eigenschaften erfüllt sind, können wir die Primfaktoren von N bestimmen. Ansonsten lassen wir den Quantencomputer ein neues r berechnen, indem wir einen anderen Wert für a wählen. Da die Chance ein nützliches r zu finden mindestens 50 Prozent ist, können wir mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit und in schneller Zeit ein solches r finden.

Mit einem r, das die obigen Eigenschaften hat, machen wir die folgende Beobachtung:

ar mod N = 1

⇔ (ar/2)2 mod N = 1

⇔ (ar/2)2 – 1 mod N = 0

⇔ (ar/2 – 1)(ar/2 + 1) mod N = 0

Da weder ar/2 + 1 noch ar/2 – 1 ein Vielfaches von N sind, müssen diese Zahlen einen nicht-trivialen Faktor mit N teilen. Dieser Faktor lässt sich mit dem Euklidischen Algorithmus finden

x = ggT(ar/2 – 1, N) = p oder q

Der zweite Faktor lässt sich durch Teilen von N mit dem Faktor x bestimmen.

Zack, RSA geknackt!

Wir konnten nun also mithilfe des Shor-Algorithmus in polynomieller Zeit

O(poly(n))

die beiden geheimen Primfaktoren p und q bestimmen. Dies erlaubt einem Angreifer den privaten Schlüssel so zu berechnen, wie es der ursprüngliche Besitzer des privaten Schlüssels tat. Der private Schlüssel ist somit in den Händen des Angreifers und wir haben RSA geknackt!

Sind andere Protokolle sicher?

Nun stellt sich die Frage, ob denn auch andere Protokolle durch die Präsenz von Quantencomputer geschwächt werden. Dabei spielt es eine Rolle, ob diese Protokolle symmetrisch oder asymmetrisch sind.

Symmetrische Kryptosysteme

Symmetrische Kryptosysteme sind vor dem Shor-Algorithmus sicher, da diese auf anderen Problemen aufbauen als die, die ein Quantencomputer exponentiell schneller lösen können als klassische Computer. Dies ist jedoch eine Momentaufnahme und bedeutet lediglich, dass zurzeit noch kein Algorithmus gefunden wurde, der diese Probleme effizient löst. Ob es einen solchen Algorithmus gibt, ist ein offenes Forschungsproblem.

Asymmetrische Kryptosysteme

Der Shor-Algorithmus kann erweitert werden, sodass er alle Probleme des Hidden Subgroup Problem für endliche abelsche Gruppen löst. Dazu gehört das Problem den diskreten Logarithmus zu berechnen, worauf der Diffie-Hellman Schlüsselaustausch und auch Elliptische-Kurven-Kryptographie aufbauen. Es ist also keines der heute häufig verwendeten asymmetrischen Protokolle sicher.

Auch wenn es noch mindestens einige Jahre dauern wird, bis ein Quantencomputer existiert, der genügend viele und genaue Qubits besitzt, um die heutigen Problemgrössen von RSA und co. zu knacken, so ist der jetzige Zustand doch unbefriedigend. Abhilfe könnten zwei Ansätze schaffen.

Post-Quanten-Kryptographie

Die Post-Quanten-Kryptographie, also die Kryptographie, die nach der Ära von Quantencomputern sicher sein soll, beschäftigt sich mit der Entwicklung klassischer asymmetrischer Verschlüsselungsverfahren welche weder von klassischen noch von Quantenalgorithmen geknackt werden können. Zurzeit läuft ein Zertifizierungsverfahren von NIST, welches einige der neuen Verfahren standardisieren möchte.

Quantenschlüsselaustausch

Der Quantenschlüsselaustausch nutzt die Quantenphysik, um Schlüssel auszutauschen, deren Sicherheit durch physikalische Gesetze und nicht durch Annahmen über die Leistung von Computern garantiert wird. Somit ist es auch einem Angreifer mit einem Quantencomputer nicht möglich den ausgetauschten Schlüssel wiederherzustellen. Die Nachteile des Quantenschlüsselaustausch sind die beschränkte Übertragungsdistanz und -geschwindigkeit, sowie die nötige Anschaffung neuer Hardware.

Zusammenfassung

Die Attacke auf RSA zeigt, dass falls wir in ein Zeitalter kommen, indem Quantencomputer mit genügend Qubits existieren, wir uns um neue Arten der asymmetrischen Verschlüsselung bemühen müssen. Ansonsten ist die sichere Kommunikation, die wir uns heute gewöhnt sind nicht mehr möglich. Es existieren Alternativen zu dem quantentechnisch unsicheren Status quo, diese müssen jedoch noch weiter entwickelt werden damit sie praktikabel sind.

Zusätzliches Material

Leser, die sich gerne mehr mit Quantencomputer und deren Algorithmen auseinandersetzen möchten, werden sowohl im Textbook von Qiskit als auch in dem Buch Quantum Computation and Quantum Information von Nielsen und Chuang fündig.

Haftungsausschluss: Da sich dieser Artikel an ein breites Publikum wendet, wurden einige mathematische Aussagen vereinfacht und sollten nicht in der hier präsentierten Form verwendet werden, um weitere Aussagen herzuleiten.

Über den Autor

Noah Berner

Noah Berner schloss sein Studium an der ETH Zürich mit einem Bachelor of Science in Informatik und einem Master of Science in Quantum Engineering ab. Neben der Informationssicherheit in komplexen Datenverarbeitungssystemen gehören Quantum-Key-Distribution-Protokolle und physische Quantencomputer-Architekturen zu seinen Forschungsinteressen. (ORCID 0000-0003-4320-097X)

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Gitterbasierte Kryptographie

Gitterbasierte Kryptographie

Noah Berner

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv