Lattice-Based Cryptography - A Remedy Against Quantum Crypto Attacks?

Lattice-Based Cryptography

A Remedy Against Quantum Crypto Attacks?

Noah Berner
by Noah Berner
on September 22, 2022
time to read: 10 minutes

Keypoints

This is how Lattice-Based Cryptography and GGH works

  • The algorithm is based on hard computational problems within the mathematical concept of lattices
  • The problem of finding a closest lattice vector (CVP) for a given point is thought to be hard both on classical and quantum computers
  • The concept of good and bad lattice bases is introduced
  • The GGH protocol uses the CVP for asymmetric cryptography

Since we made you worry about our cryptographic future in our last article, we will now take this opportunity to show you a possible remedy against the evil attacks of quantum computers on our beloved asymmetric cryptography. Post-quantum cryptography is the scientific discipline of designing classical cryptographic algorithms that are resilient to both classical and quantum attacks. In this article, we will talk about one specific category of such post-quantum cryptography algorithms, lattice-based cryptography.

What is a lattice?

In simple terms, a lattice can be described as an infinite number of points on a periodically spaced grid. Before giving a more rigorous definition, we will first look at few mathematical concepts.

Vector

A vector is a mathematical object that has a length and a direction, much like an arrow drawn on a piece of paper. For the purpose of this article, we will limit ourselves to two-dimensional space and two-dimensional vectors. These 2D-vectors are described by two numbers. For example the red vector can be described as (2, 1) and the blue vector can be described as (3.14, -0.5).

Vectors in Two Dimensional Space

Basis

A basis is a set of vectors that allows us to reach any point in space by linearly combining them. For example, if we are given the basis:

B = {b1 = (2, 0), b2 = (0, 1)}

we can reach the point P = (4, -1.5) by linearly combining b1 and b2 in the following way:

P = 2 * (2, 0) – 1.5 * (0, 1) = (4, -1.5)

Note, that the number of bases for a given space is infinite. As long as two chosen vectors are linearly independent (one vector cannot be the result of a linear combination of the other), they can be used as a basis for the two-dimensional space.

Linearly Combining Two Basis Vectors to Reach Point P

Lattice

Now that we have a basic understanding of what a vector and a basis is, we can properly introduce a lattice. It is the set of all integer linear combinations of vectors from a basis { b1,b2 } of 2, which can be summarised as:

L = { a1 b1 + a2 b2 : ai ∈ ℤ}

This means, that while the basis vectors b1 and b2 can have arbitrary real numbers as elements, like 1.5, 8 and π, the factors of the linear combination a1 and a2 can only be integers, like -3, 0 and 7. This definition of lattices gives them their periodic behaviour.

Lattice with Two Basis Vectors

Much like with two-dimensional space, there is an infinite number of basis vectors that describe a given lattice. Below is an image of the same lattice as above but with different basis vectors.

Lattice with Two Alternative Basis Vectors

Closest Vector Problem (CVP)

To use lattices as post-quantum-cryptographic tools, we must find problems that are hard to solve both on classical and on quantum computers. There are several such lattice problems, which are believed to be hard. We will look at the closest vector problem (CVP). In the CVP, the goal is to find the closest lattice point to a given point which is not necessarily on the lattice. To give further intuition on this problem, we will look at the concept of good and bad bases.

Bad Basis

In this context, a bad basis is a lattice basis, for which it is hard to determine the closest point of a lattice for a given point. Consider the following basis:

Bbad = {b1 = (6, 21), b2 = (4, 15)}

Say we want to find the closest lattice point to the point P = (11.5, 8.4). Then we need to solve the following system of equations:

a1 * (6, 21) + a2 * (4, 15) ≈ (11.5, 8.4)

This can be solved by Gaussian elimination. The result of that calculation is a1 = 23.15 and a2 = -31.85. However, remember that we are looking for a lattice point and that lattice points only allow integer multiple of the basis coordinates. If we try to round to the nearest integer, we get a1 ≈ 23 and a2 ≈ -32. This gives us the approximative lattice point:

PL’ = 23 * (6, 21) – 32 * (4, 15) = (10, 3)

This is not a great approximation for the actually closest lattice point PL = (12, 9). This demonstration shows that our simple rounding algorithm is in general no good when using a bad basis.

Bad Basis with Rounding Approximation

Good Basis

A good basis is a lattice basis which has short and nearly orthogonal vectors. We will see, that for such a basis, it is easy to determine the closest lattice point for a given point. Let us use the same lattice as before, but this time defined by the good basis:

Bgood = {b1 = (2, 0), b2 = (0, 3)}

We still want to find the closest lattice point to the point P = (11.5, 8.4) and solve the linear system of equations:

a1 * (2, 0) + a2 * (0, 3) ≈ (11.5, 8.4)

The result is a1 = 5.75 and a2 = 2.8. If we again round to the nearest integer we get a1 ≈ 6 and a2 ≈ 3 and the following approximate lattice point:

PL’ = 6 * (2, 0) + 3 * (0, 3) = (12, 9)

which is equal to the actual nearest point PL = (12, 9). Thus for good basis, the rounding algorithm provides an accurate result.

Good Basis with Rounding Approximation

Notice the asymmetry in hardness of the same problem between the two given bases. This asymmetry will allow us to construct an asymmetric cryptography protocol.

Goldreich-Goldwasser-Halevi (GGH) Lattice-Based Cryptosystem

We now present a simplified version of the GGH cryptosystem. It uses the CVP and the concept of good and bad bases to construct an asymmetric cryptography protocol.

Keys

The GGH cryptosystem has a public and a private key. The private key B = {b1, b2} is a good basis of the lattice L. The public key B’ = {b’1, b’2} is a bad basis of the lattice L.

Encryption

To encrypt a message m = (m1, m2), we generate a ciphertext by multiplying the message with the public key and adding a small, random error e = (e1, e2):

c = m * B’ + e = (m1 * b’1 + e1, m2 * b’2 + e2)

Note that the error is added, so that the ciphertext-point is not directly on the lattice. The error has to be small enough, so that the ciphertext-point is still closest to the original lattice point (without the error) in order to ensure correct decryption.

Decryption

In the decryption phase, we calculate the closest lattice point to the given ciphertext-point. For this, the private key and good lattice basis B is necessary. We use Gaussian elimination just like before to solve the linear system of equation:

a1 * b1 + a2 * b2 ≈ c

Then we round a1 and a2 to their nearest integer which gives us the original message m = (m1, m2).

Security of GGH

It was shown by Nguyen that the GGH encryption scheme has a design flaw where the ciphertext reveals information about the plaintext which then reduces the hardness of the CVP. Even though, the GGH scheme is not secure in practice, it is still an easy-to-understand example to show how the hardness of lattice problems can be turned into an encryption scheme.

Discussion

So, is that it? Are we saved from the unnerving future where quantum computers break all our cryptography and everyone can read everything? If the history of classical cryptography has taught us anything, it is that finding and implementing a secure encryption scheme is really hard. Add to that, that these post-quantum cryptography schemes must be resilient to both quantum and classical attacks and that they have had less time to mature and be tested and you see why it might be a long journey to true post-quantum cryptography. Nonetheless, the field has gained traction in the last couple of years and NIST is making progress on the standardization of the algorithms. Another promising option is quantum key distribution (QKD), which uses quantum physics to produce information-theoretically secure keys that cannot be broken by any physical device.

Disclaimer

This article is written for a broad audience and as such, some of the mathematical statements have been simplified and should not be used to derive further statements.

About the Author

Noah Berner

Noah Berner obtained a bachelor’s degree in computer science and a master’s degree in quantum engineering from ETH Zurich. In addition to information security in complex data processing systems, his research interests include quantum key distribution protocols and physical quantum computing architectures. (ORCID 0000-0003-4320-097X)

Links

You are looking for a speaker?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
RSA Versus Quantum

RSA Versus Quantum

Noah Berner

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Gitterbasierte Kryptographie - Ein Mittel gegen Kryptographische Quantenattacken?

Gitterbasierte Kryptographie

Ein Mittel gegen Kryptographische Quantenattacken?

Noah Berner
von Noah Berner
am 22. September 2022
Lesezeit: 10 Minuten

Keypoints

So funktioniert gitterbasierte Kryptographie und GGH

  • Der Algorithmus basiert auf für Computer schwer lösbaren Problemen im Rahmen des mathematischen Konzepts der Gitter
  • Es wird vermutet, dass das Problem für einen gegebenen Punkt den nächsten Vektor in einem Gitter zu finden (CVP) sowohl für klassische als auch für Quantencomputer schwer ist
  • Wir führen das Konzept von guten und schlechten Basen ein
  • Das GGH-Protokoll verwendet das CVP, um ein asymmetrisches kryptographisches Verfahren zu definieren

In einem unserer letzten Artikel haben wir Angst um unsere kryptographische Zukunft geschürt und wir möchten nun gerne eine mögliche Abhilfe zu den bösen Attacken der Quantencomputer auf unsere geliebte asymmetrische Kryptographie vorstellen. Post-Quanten-Kryptographie ist die wissenschaftliche Disziplin, die sich mit dem Design von klassischen kryptographischen Protokollen auseinandersetzt, die sowohl klassischen wie auch quantenbasierten Attacken standhält. In diesem Artikel werden wir uns auf eine spezifische Kategorie der Post-Quanten-Kryptographie konzentrieren, der gitterbasierten Kryptographie.

Was ist ein Gitter?

Einfach beschrieben kann man sagen, dass ein Gitter im mathematischen Sinne eine unendliche Anzahl Punkte auf einem periodisch angeordneten Raster ist. Bevor wir eine genauere Definition geben können, werden wir uns zuerst ein paar mathematische Konzepte anschauen.

Vektor

Ein Vektor ist ein mathematisches Konzept, das sowohl eine Länge wie auch eine Richtung hat. Man kann sich das wie ein auf Papier gezeichneter Pfeil vorstellen. In diesem Artikel werden wir uns auf den zweidimensionalen Raum und zweidimensionale Vektoren beschränken. Diese 2D-Vektoren können durch zwei Zahlen beschrieben werden. So ist zum Beispiel der rote Vektor definiert als (2, 1) während der blaue Vektor als (3.14, -0.5) definiert werden kann..

Vektoren im zweidimensionalen Raum

Basis

Eine Basis ist eine Liste von Vektoren, welche uns erlauben jeden beliebigen Punkt im Raum zu erreichen. Dazu setzen wir die Vektoren in eine Linearkombination. Wenn wir zum Beispiel die folgende Basis haben:

B = {b1 = (2, 0), b2 = (0, 1)}

Dann können wir den Punkt P = (4, -1.5) erreichen, indem wir b1 und b2 wie folgt linear kombinieren:

P = 2 * (2, 0) – 1.5 * (0, 1) = (4, -1.5)

Es ist wichtig zu sehen, dass die Anzahl der Basen für einen gegebenen Raum unendlich ist. So lange die zwei gewählten Vektoren nicht voneinander linear abhängig sind (ein Vektor kann nicht als lineare Kombination des anderen erstellt werden), können sie als Basis für den zweidimensionalen Raum verwendet werden.

Linearkombination zweier Basisvekoren um den Punkt P zu erreichen

Gitter

Nun da wir ein Grundverständnis über Vektoren und Basen erlangt haben, können wir das mathematische Konzept der Gitter einführen. Ein Gitter ist die Menge aller ganzzahligen Linearkombinationen der Vektoren einer Basis { b1,b2 } von 2, was zusammengefasst werden kann als:

L = { a1 b1 + a2 b2 : ai ∈ ℤ}

Das bedeutet, dass die Basisvektoren b1 und b2 jede beliebige reelle Zahl als Element haben kann, wie zum Beispiel 1.5, 8 und π, die Faktoren der Linearkombination a1 und a2 müssen jedoch ganzzahlig sein, wie zum Beispiel -3, 0 und 7. Diese Definition gibt den Gittern ihre periodische Eigenschaft.

Gitter mit zwei Basisvektoren

Ähnlich wie im zweidimensionalen Raum gibt es auch unendlich viele Basisvektoren, die ein vorgegebenes Gitter beschreiben. Im Bild unten sehen wir dasselbe Gitter wie oben, aber mit anderen Basisvektoren.

Gitter mit zwei alternativen Basisvektoren

Closest Vector Problem (CVP)

Um Gitter als post-quanten-kryptographische Werkzeuge zu verwenden, müssen wir Probleme finden, die sowohl auf klassischen wie auch Quantencomputern schwer zu lösen sind. Es gibt einige solche Gitterprobleme, von denen man annimmt, das sie schwer sind. Wir werden uns mit dem Closest Vector Problem (CVP) auseinandersetzen. Im CVP ist das Ziel für einen gegebenen Punkt im Raum, der nicht zwingend auf dem Gitter liegt, den nächsten Punkt auf dem Gitter zu finden. Um dies besser zu illustrieren, führen wir nun die Konzepte der guten und schlechten Basen ein.

Schlechte Basis

In diesem Kontext bedeutet schlecht, dass es für eine schlechte Gitterbasis schwierig ist, für einen gegebenen Punkt den nächsten Gitterpunkt zu finden. Schauen wir uns die folgende Basis an:

Bschlecht = {b1 = (6, 21), b2 = (4, 15)}

Wir wollen nun den nächsten Gitterpunkt zu dem gegebenen Punkt P = (11.5, 8.4) finden. Dazu können wir das folgende Gleichungssystem lösen:

a1 * (6, 21) + a2 * (4, 15) ≈ (11.5, 8.4)

Das Gleichungssystem kann durch das Gausssches Eliminationsverfahren gelöst werden. Das Resultat ist a1 = 23.15 und a2 = -31.85. Wir erinnern uns, dass wir einen Gitterpunkt suchen und Gitterpunkte nur ganzzahlige Vielfache der Basiskoordinaten sein dürfen. Wenn wir nun zu der nächsten Zahl runden, erhalten wir a1 ≈ 23 und a2 ≈ -32. Dies gibt uns den folgenden approximierten Gitterpunkt:

PL’ = 23 * (6, 21) – 32 * (4, 15) = (10, 3)

Dies ist keine gute Approximation für den tatsächlich nächsten Gitterpunkt PL = (12, 9). Dies zeigt, dass unser simpler Rundungsalgorithmus generell keine guten Ergebnisse liefert, wenn wir nur eine schlechte Basis zur Verfügung haben.

Schlechte Basis mit Rundungsapproximation

Gute Basis

Eine gute Gitterbasis hat kurze und fast orthogonale Vektoren. Wir werden sehen, dass es mit einer solchen Basis einfach ist den nächsten Gitterpunkt für einen gegebenen Punkt im Raum zu bestimmen. Wir wiederholen den vorherigen Schritt, nur diesmal mit einer guten Basis:

Bgut = {b1 = (2, 0), b2 = (0, 3)}

Wir wollen immer noch den nächsten Gitterpunkt zu dem Punkt P = (11.5, 8.4) finden und lösen wieder das lineare Gleichungssystem:

a1 * (2, 0) + a2 * (0, 3) ≈ (11.5, 8.4)

Das Resultat ist a1 = 5.75 und a2 = 2.8. Wenn wir nun wieder zu der nächsten Zahl hin runden erhalten wir a1 ≈ 6 und a2 ≈ 3, sowie den folgenden approximierten Gitterpunkt:

PL’ = 6 * (2, 0) + 3 * (0, 3) = (12, 9)

Dieser ist äquivalent zu dem tatsächlichen nächsten Gitterpunkt PL = (12, 9). Für eine gute Basis gibt der Rundungsalgorithmus also ein genaues Resultat.

Gute Basis mit Rundungsapproximation

Die Asymmetrie in der Schwierigkeit des Problems zwischen den beiden Basen wird uns nun erlauben ein asymmetrisches Kryptographieprotokoll zu definieren.

Goldreich-Goldwasser-Halevi (GGH) Gitterbasiertes Kryptographiesystem

Wir führen nun eine vereinfachte Version des GGH Kryptosystems ein. Es verwendet das CVP und das Konzept der guten und schlechten Basen, um ein asymmetrisches Kryptographieprotokoll zu konstruieren.

Schlüssel

Das GGH Kryptosystem hat einen öffentlichen und einen geheimen Schlüssel. Der geheime Schlüssel B = {b1, b2} ist eine gute Basis für das Gitter L. Der öffentliche Schlüssel B’ = {b’1, b’2} ist eine schlecte Basis des Gitters L.

Verschlüsselung

Um eine Nachricht m = (m1, m2) zu verschlüsseln generieren wir den Geheimtext indem wir die Nachricht mit dem öffentlichen Schlüssel multiplizieren und einen kleinen, zufälligen Fehler e = (e1, e2) addieren:

c = m * B’ + e = (m1 * b’1 + e1, m2 * b’2 + e2)

Der Fehler wird hinzuaddiert, um zu verhindern, dass der Geheimtextpunkt auf dem Gitter landet. Der Fehler muss klein genug sein damit der Geheimtextpunkt immer noch am nächsten zum dem originalen Gitterpunkt (ohne den Fehler) liegt, um eine korrekte Entschlüsselung zu garantieren.

Entschlüsselung

Um den Geheimtext zu entschlüsseln, berechnen wir den nächsten Gitterpunkt zu dem gegebenen Geheimtextpunkt. Wir brauchen dafür den geheimen Schlüssel (die gute Gitterbasis) B. Danach wenden wir wie schon zuvor das Gausssche Eliminationsverfahren an, um das lineare Gleichungssystem zu lösen:

a1 * b1 + a2 * b2 ≈ c

Wenn wir nun a1 und a2 zu der nächsten Zahl hin runden erhalten wir die ursprüngliche Nachricht m = (m1, m2).

Sicherheit von GGH

Nguyen hat gezeigt, dass das GGH Verschlüsselungsverfahren Schwächen hat, weil dessen Geheimtext Informationen über die verschlüsselte Nachricht preisgibt und dadurch ein einfacher zu lösendes CVP kreiert. Auch wenn das GGH-Protokoll in der Praxis unsicher ist, bietet es doch ein gutes Beispiel, um das Umwandeln von harten Gitterproblemen in Kryptographieverfahren zu demonstrieren.

Diskussion

Also wars das? Sind wir nun gerettet von der düsteren Zukunft in der Quantencomputer all unsere Kryptographie knacken und jeder alles lesen kann? Wenn uns die Geschichte eines lehrt, so ist es, dass das Finden und Implementieren von sicherer Verschlüsselung sehr schwierig ist. Hinzu kommt noch, dass die Post-Quanten-Kryptographie-Verfahren sowohl gegen Quanten- wie auch klassischen Angriffen resilient sein muss und dass sie weniger Zeit hatten, um sich zu beweisen und getestet zu werden. Da sieht man, dass es noch eine lange Reise sein kann bevor wir wahre Post-Quanten-Kryptographie haben. Es soll aber auch gesagt sein, dass die Disziplin in den letzten Jahren einiges an Schwung gewonnen hat und NIST in der Standardisierung der Verfahren Fortschritte macht. Eine andere vielversprechende Option ist der Quantenschlüsselaustausch (QKD), welcher Quantenphysik nutzt, um informationstheoretisch sichere Schlüssel zu generieren welche von keinem physischen Gerät geknackt werden können.

Haftungsausschluss

Da sich dieser Artikel an ein breites Publikum wendet, wurden einige mathematische Aussagen vereinfacht und sollten nicht in der hier präsentierten Form verwendet werden, um weitere Aussagen herzuleiten.

Über den Autor

Noah Berner

Noah Berner schloss sein Studium an der ETH Zürich mit einem Bachelor of Science in Informatik und einem Master of Science in Quantum Engineering ab. Neben der Informationssicherheit in komplexen Datenverarbeitungssystemen gehören Quantum-Key-Distribution-Protokolle und physische Quantencomputer-Architekturen zu seinen Forschungsinteressen. (ORCID 0000-0003-4320-097X)

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
RSA Gegen Quantum

RSA Gegen Quantum

Noah Berner

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv