Data Theft - Selling and Trading Stolen Data

Data Theft

Selling and Trading Stolen Data

Michèle Trebo
by Michèle Trebo
on June 09, 2022
time to read: 7 minutes

Keypoints

This is How to Handle Data Theft

  • The offence of data theft does not exist explicitly in the Swiss Criminal Code SCC
  • However, there are a number of legal articles that can be applied in the case of data theft
  • These include, for example, theft under Art. 139 SCC
  • Furthermore, unauthorised access into a data processing system under Art. 143 bis 182 SCC may also apply
  • Extortion under Art. 156 SCC can also be relevant
  • And finally, handling stolen goods under Art. 160 SCC

Data theft is a term that does not explicitly exist in the Swiss Criminal Code SCC, but is nevertheless punishable. The Handling stolen goods in Art. 160 SCC states that a thing in this case data of which it is known or must be assumed that another has obtained, acquires, allows to be given, takes as a pledge, conceals or helps to dispose of by criminal acts against property, is punishable by a custodial sentence of up to five years or a monetary penalty. If the perpetrator acts commercially, he or she is liable to a custodial sentence of up to ten years or a monetary penalty of not less than 90 daily penalty units. But what does that mean exactly?

Before data theft can occur at all, the data must first have been obtained through a criminal act against property. This often involves unauthorised intrusion into a data processing system, as punishable under Art. 143 bis 182 SCC. For example, an unknown perpetrator, we call them the Beagle Boys, penetrates the data processing system of the company Duck and steals sensitive customer data. Not only the unauthorised intrusion into the data processing system, but also the theft of the data (theft under Art. 139 SCC) already fulfil criminal offences.

How does data theft work?

Now the Beagle Boys are in possession of the Duck company’s customer data and want to earn money with it. They can do this in two ways. Either they blackmail the Duck company (extortion under Art. 156 SCC) by contacting it and demanding a certain amount of money for the return/deletion of the data, or they offer the customer data for sale on the web. The fences, in this case the Beagle Boys, are punished according to the penalty of the predicate offence if it is milder. If the predicate offence is an application offence, the receiving of stolen goods is only prosecuted if there is an application for prosecution of the predicate offence (handling of stolen goods under Art. 160 SCC). In the case study, the Beagle Boys decide to offer the stolen customer data of the Duck company for sale on an online marketplace for leaked data. Donald discovers the offer of the safecrackers and also wants to profit from this data. He transfers cryptocurrency to the Beagle Boys and receives the leaked data of the Duck company in return. By buying this data, Donald has already made himself liable to prosecution for handling stolen goods under Art. 160 SCC. If he sold the data, that would also be punishable.

Data theft vs. ransomware

Data theft should not be confused with ransomware. With ransomware, the perpetrators extort a ransom for the release of a computer or the data on it. In contrast to data theft, the perpetrators use malware to prevent access to data, its use or the entire computer system.

Protection from cyber attacks

Whether as a private individual or a company, it is no longer possible to imagine life without being informed about cyber attacks and protecting oneself accordingly. If you don’t want to become a victim, you should regularly check for serious cases in order to detect vulnerabilities and be able to remedy them at an early stage.

Private

Private individuals are advised to keep their web browser, operating system and software up to date. In addition, virus protection and a firewall make it more difficult for a possible attacker to gain access. In general, care should be taken to choose a secure password and a separate password for each log-in. A password manager can help with this. Passwords should be at least ten characters long, contain upper and lower case letters, numbers and special characters. It is also not recommended to choose passwords that are associated with the user or contain actual words. Furthermore, security regarding log-in can be improved by opting for two-factor authentication where possible. Before opening an email or its attachment, it is important to consider what might be behind it. Downloads should also be considered carefully. In addition, care should be taken to always use an encrypted internet connection (HTTPS).

Company

Companies are recommended to review the security model at regular intervals or have it reviewed. Security assessments, penetration tests, etc. can provide information about possible vulnerabilities. can provide information about possible weak points. It is also important to sensitise employees to possible cyber attacks and to train them in the use of the infrastructure. An emergency concept for the case of an emergency can help to be able to react promptly and correctly. External data back-ups and secure data exchange are also ways to counteract cyber attacks.

Behaviour in an emergency

What do you do if you become a victim of data theft despite taking all precautions? First, check how high the probability is that the perpetrator is actually in possession of your data. It is possible that they only want to get their hands on money and that the actual data is not available at all. For example, you can ask the perpetrator for a sample data set. If there is a possibility that the perpetrator has the real data, appropriate measures should be taken. It is not advisable to pay the demanded amount of money. This is because there is no guarantee that the perpetrator will not subsequently resell or delete the leaked data. In this case, it is recommended to contact specialists.

Summary

Cyber attacks have become part of everyday life and should not be ignored. With simple tricks, you can prevent such attacks and protect not only yourself, but also your company. Especially in an emergency such as data theft, you should react correctly and be prepared. Data theft does not exist explicitly in the Swiss Penal Code. Nevertheless, it is punishable and several criminal offences can be fulfilled. For example, theft under Art. 139 SCC, unauthorised access into a data processing system under Art. 143 bis 182 SCC, extortion under Art. 156 SCC and handling stolen goods under Art. 160 SCC may apply. If you are not sure whether you are sufficiently protected or have been the victim of a cyber attack, we will be pleased to assist you.

About the Author

Michèle Trebo

Michèle Trebo has a Bachelor of Information Technology at ZHAW and worked six years as a police officer in the field of cyber crime investigations. She is responsible for criminal research topics like darknet analysis, cyber threat intelligence, fraud investigation, and forensics. (ORCID 0000-0002-6968-8785)

Links

Is your data also traded on the dark net?

We are going to monitor the digital underground for you!

×
Cyber-Terrorism

Cyber-Terrorism

Michèle Trebo

Sealing of Evidence in Criminal Proceedings

Sealing of Evidence in Criminal Proceedings

Michèle Trebo

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Datenhehlerei - Der verbotene Umgang mit gestohlenen Daten

Datenhehlerei

Der verbotene Umgang mit gestohlenen Daten

Michèle Trebo
von Michèle Trebo
am 09. Juni 2022
Lesezeit: 7 Minuten

Keypoints

So gehen Sie mit Datenhehlerei um

  • Der Straftatbestand der Datenhehlerei existiert im Schweizerischen Strafgesetzbuch StGB nicht explizit
  • Allerdings gibt es einige Gesetzesartikel, die im Falle einer Datenhehlerei zur Anwendung kommen können
  • Dazu gehört beispielsweise der Diebstahl nach Art. 139 StGB
  • Weiter kann auch das unbefugte Eindringen in ein Datenverarbeitungssystem nach Art. 143 bis 182 StGB zur Anwendung kommen
  • Auch die Erpressung nach Art. 156 StGB kann relevant sein
  • Und letztendlich auch die Hehlerei nach Art. 160 StGB

Datenhehlerei ist ein Begriff der so im Schweizerischen Strafgesetzbuch StGB nicht explizit existiert, aber dennoch strafbar ist. Die Hehlerei nach Art. 160 StGB sagt aus, dass eine Sache – in diesem Fall Daten -, von denen man weiss oder annehmen muss, dass sie ein anderer durch strafbare Handlungen gegen das Vermögen erlangt hat, erwirbt, sich schenken lässt, zum Pfande nimmt, verheimlicht oder veräussern hilft, mit einer Freiheitsstrafe bis zu fünf Jahren oder Geldstrafe bestraft wird. Handelt die Täterschaft gewerbsmässig, so wird sie mit einer Freiheitsstrafe von bis zu zehn Jahren oder einer Geldstrafe nicht unter 90 Tagessätzen bestraft. Doch was bedeutet das genau?

Bevor es überhaupt zur Datenhehlerei kommen kann, müssen die Daten vorgängig durch eine strafbare Handlung gegen das Vermögen erlangt worden sein. Dabei wird oft unbefugt in ein Datenverarbeitungssystem eingedrungen, sowie das Art. 143 bis 182 StGB unter Strafe stellt. Dabei dringt beispielsweise eine unbekannte Täterschaft, wir nennen sie die Panzerknacker, in das Datenverarbeitungssystem der Firma Duck ein und entwendet sensible Kundendaten. Nicht nur das unbefugte Eindringen in das Datenverarbeitungssystem, sondern auch das Entwenden der Daten (Diebstahls nach Art. 139 StGB) erfüllen bereits Straftatbestände.

Wie funktioniert die Datenhehlerei?

Nun sind die Panzerknacker in Besitz der Kundendaten der Firma Duck und möchten damit Geld verdienen. Sie können dies auf zwei Arten tun. Entweder sie erpressen die Firma Duck (Erpressung nach Art. 156 StGB), indem sie mit ihr Kontakt aufnehmen und für das Zurückgeben/Löschen der Daten einen bestimmten Geldbetrag verlangen oder sie bieten die Kundendaten im Web zum Verkauf an. Die Hehler, in diesem Fall die Panzerknacker, werden nach der Strafandrohung der Vortat bestraft, wenn diese milder ist. Ist die Vortat ein Antragsdelikt, so wird die Hehlerei nur verfolgt, wenn ein Antrag auf Strafverfolgung der Vortat vorliegt (Hehlerei nach Art. 160 StGB). Im Fallbeispiel entscheiden sich die Panzerknacker, die gestohlenen Kundendaten der Firma Duck auf einem Online-Marktplatz für geleakte Daten zum Verkauf anzubieten. Donald entdeckt das Angebot der Panzerknacker und möchte ebenfalls von diesen Daten profitieren. Er überweist den Panzerknackern Kryptowährung und erhält dafür die geleakten Daten der Firma Duck. Bereits durch den Kauf dieser Daten hat sich Donald der Hehlerei nach Art. 160 StGB strafbar gemacht. Würde er die Daten verkaufen, wäre auch das strafbar.

Datenhehlerei vs. Ransomware

Die Datenhehlerei ist nicht mit Ransomware zu verwechseln. Bei Ransomware erpresst die Täterschaft Lösegeld für das Freigeben eines Computers oder der Daten, die sich darauf befinden. Dabei nutzt die Täterschaft im Gegensatz zur Datenhehlerei Schadprogramme, mit deren Hilfe sie den Zugriff auf Daten, deren Nutzung oder das ganze Computersystem verhindern kann.

Schutz vor Cyberangriffen

Egal ob als Privatperson oder Unternehmen, sich über Cyberangriffe zu informieren und sich entsprechend davor zu schützen, ist in der heutigen Zeit nicht mehr wegzudenken. Wer nicht zum Opfer werden will, sollte regelmässig den Ernstfall prüfen, um Schwachstellen zu detektieren und frühzeitig beheben zu können.

Private

Privaten wird empfohlen, den Webbrowser, das Betriebssystem und Software aktuell zu halten. Ausserdem erschwert ein Virenschutz und eine Firewall einem möglichen Angreifer das Eindringen. Allgemein sollte darauf geachtet werden, ein sicheres und für jedes Log-in ein separates Passwort zu wählen. Dabei kann ein Passwortmanager unterstützen. Passwörter sollten mindestens zehn Zeichen lang sein, Gross- und Kleinschreibung, Zahlen und Sonderzeichen enthalten. Zudem wird davon abgeraten, Passwörter zu wählen, die mit dem Benutzter in Verbindung stehen oder tatsächliche Wörter enthalten. Weiter kann die Sicherheit bez. Log-in verbessert werden, indem man sich wo möglich für eine Zwei-Faktor-Authentisierung entscheidet. Bevor eine Email oder dessen Anhang geöffnet wird, ist es wichtig, sich zu überlegen, was dahinterstecken könnte. Auch Downloads sollten wohl überlegt sein. Zusätzlich sollte darauf geachtet werden, stets eine verschlüsselte Internetverbindung zu verwenden (HTTPS).

Unternehmen

Unternehmen wird empfohlen, das Sicherheitsmodell in regelmässigen Abständen zu überprüfen oder überprüfen zu lassen. Dabei können Security-Assessments, Penetration-Tests usw. Aufschluss über mögliche Schwachstellen geben. Wichtig ist es auch, Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf mögliche Cyberangriffe zu sensibilisieren und den Umgang mit der Infrastruktur zu schulen. Ein Notfallkonzept für den Ernstfall kann helfen, zeitnah richtig reagieren zu können. Weiter sind externe Daten-Back-ups sowie ein sicherer Datenaustausch Möglichkeiten, Cyberangriffen entgegenzuwirken.

Verhalten im Ernstfall

Wie verhalten Sie sich, wenn Sie trotz aller Vorsichtsmassnahmen Opfer von Datenhehlerei werden? Zuerst ist zu prüfen, wie hoch die Wahrscheinlichkeit ist, dass die Täterschaft tatsächlich in Besitz Ihrer Daten ist. Möglicherweise möchte sie nur an Geld kommen und die tatsächlichen Daten liegen gar nicht vor. Dabei kann beispielsweise bei der Täterschaft nach einem Beispieldatensatz gefragt werden. Sollte die Möglichkeit bestehen, dass die Täterschaft die echten Daten hat, so sollten entsprechende Massnahmen eingeleiten werden. Vom Begleichen des geforderten Geldbetrages wird abgeraten. Denn ob die Täterschaft die geleakten Daten anschliessend nicht weiterverkauft oder löscht, ist nicht garantiert. In diesem Fall wird empfohlen, sich an Spezialisten zu wenden.

Zusammenfassung

Cyberangriffe sind mittlerweile Alltag und sollten nicht ausser Acht gelassen werden. Mit einfachen Tricks kann man solchen vorbeugen und nicht nur sich, sondern auch das Unternehmen schützen. Besonders im Ernstfall wie der Datenhehlerei sollte man richtig reagieren und gewappnet sein. Die Datenhehlerei existiert nicht explizit im Schweizerischen Strafgesetzbuch StGB. Dennoch ist sie strafbar und es können mehrere Straftatbestände erfüllt sein. Dabei können beispielsweise der Diebstahl nach Art. 139 StGB, das unbefugte Eindringen in ein Datenverarbeitungssystem nach Art. 143 bis 182 StGB, die Erpressung nach Art. 156 StGB sowie die Hehlerei nach Art. 160 StGB zur Anwendung kommen. Sollten Sie sich nicht sicher sein, ob Sie genügend geschützt sind oder Opfer eines Cyberangriffes geworden sein, unterstützen wir Sie gerne.

Über die Autorin

Michèle Trebo

Michèle Trebo hat einen Bachelor in Informatik an der ZHAW abgeschlossen und war sechs Jahre lang als Polizistin, unter anderem zur Aufklärung und Auswertung von Cybercrime, tätig. Sie zeichnet sich im Bereich Forschung für kriminalistische Themen wie Darknet, Cyber Threat Intelligence, Ermittlungen und Forensik verantwortlich. (ORCID 0000-0002-6968-8785)

Links

Sie wollen die Sicherheit Ihrer Firewall prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Russland-Ukraine-Konflikt

Russland-Ukraine-Konflikt

Michèle Trebo

Cyber-Terrorismus

Cyber-Terrorismus

Michèle Trebo

Siegelung im Strafprozess

Siegelung im Strafprozess

Michèle Trebo

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv