Browser-Powered Request Smuggling - New Request Smuggling Technique

Browser-Powered Request Smuggling

New Request Smuggling Technique

Andrea Hauser
by Andrea Hauser
on October 20, 2022
time to read: 6 minutes

Keypoints

This is how Browser-Powered Request Smuggling works

  • New Research shows that Request Smuggling is not only possible between a chain of servers
  • CL.0 also known as client-side desync desynchronises the connection between a victim's browser and the server
  • static content and redirects are particularly vulnerable
  • tooling already exists to detect these new vulnerabilities in a straightforward way

Browser-powered request smuggling allows new client-side variations of request smuggling, which allows not only attacking a chain with multiple servers but also a standalone server. Compared to the previously shown request smuggling attacks, the issued requests are well-formed and can therefore be sent via a browser. Attacking a single server is possible since the attack is laid out to get a victim’s browser to poison its own connection to a vulnerable server.

This article is heavily based on research from James Kettle that was presented on Defcon 30. Based on this research multiple labs on the topic client-side desync were created in the Portswigger Web Academy. Those labs can be used to attempt the attacks in practice.

CL.0 Request Smuggling

The previously covered request smuggling attacks were all based on achieving different interpretations of requests between several servers in a chain by means of content length and transfer encoding headers manipulation. The CL.0 attack works because certain servers assume that the request does not contain a body and therefore assume a content length of 0. If the back-end server always assumes a content length of 0, but the front-end server accepts the content length given, this can lead to discrepancies. Testing whether a CL.0 vulnerability exists is very simple.

POST /vulnerable-endpoint HTTP/1.1
Host: example.com
Connection: keep-alive
Content-Type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded
Content-Length: 33 --> valid Content-Length

GET /shouldBe404 HTTP/1.1
Foo: x

The above is a complete request with a valid content length that contains a second incomplete request in the body. If a 404 response is received in the response to a second valid request, which was sent shortly after this first submitted request, it can be assumed that a CL.0 request smuggling vulnerability is present. The CL.0 vulnerability can be used to exploit the same vulnerabilities as shown in the last labs. Endpoints that do not expect a POST request, for example static files or redirects, are most susceptible to CL.0 vulnerabilities.

Client-Side Desync Attacks

So far, request smuggling attacks have been considered a server-side problem, as they were misunderstandings between several servers in a chain. These could not be triggered from the browser, as they deliberately use manipulated or invalid requests. With the discovery of the CL.0 vulnerability, however, there is now the possibility to trigger attacks from a browser as well, since the CL.0 vulnerability involves requests that are not invalid, which means they can be issued by a browser. A client-side desync attack is the exploitation of a vulnerability in which the connection between the browser and a server is desynchronized. Accordingly, new attack paths open up, as it is no longer only a chain of servers that can be attacked, but also standalone or individual servers.

To abstract, a client-side desync attack consists of the following steps:

  1. The target of the attack is tricked into visiting an arbitrary web page running attacker-controlled JavaScript.
  2. The JavaScript triggers a request to the web page with the client-side desync vulnerability, leaving an uncompleted, malicious or for an attacker interesting request in the pipeline.
  3. This unfinished request remains in the pipeline between the browser and the request after the initial request has been answered. This desynchronizes the connection between browser and server.
  4. The JavaScript now triggers another request to the server, which extends the already started request with the victim’s cookies.

This is how it looks in code:

<html>
<script>
fetch('https://example.com/vulnerable-endpoint', {
    method: 'POST',
    body: 'GET /thisShouldBe404 HTTP/1.1\\r\\nFoo: x',
    credentials: 'include' // is set so that the "with-cookies" connection pool is used for the connection
}).then(() => {
    location = 'https://example.com/' // here the desynchronized connection is used
})
</script>
</html>

After visiting this website in a browser, two requests should be visible in the network tab. If the attack was successful, the second request, which is normally answered with a 200 OK, is answered with a 400 Bad Request. This example can be used to verify a client-side desync vulnerability. For an actual attack, the attacker would define a request in the body that stores the content of the victim’s second desynchronized request in the attacker’s account. This would allow the attacker to access the victim’s cookies and take over the victim’s session.

However, the example shown above does not work in all cases, for when a server-side redirect is triggered, the code area defined in the .then() block is not executed, instead the browser follows the redirect. To prevent the redirect and ensure that the client-side desync attack works, the following code can be used.

<html>
<script>
fetch('https://example.com/redirect-endpoint', {
    method: 'POST',
    body: 'GET /thisShouldBe404 HTTP/1.1\\r\\nFoo: x',
    mode: 'cors', // is set deliberately so that an error is thrown, and the redirect is cancelled
    credentials: 'include'
}).catch(() => {
    // here the CORS error is caught, and the desynchronized connection is used
    fetch('https://example.com/', {
        mode: 'no-cors',
        credentials: 'include'
    })
})
</html>
</script>

As in the previous example, after visiting this website in a browser, two requests should be visible in the network tab. If the attack was successful, the second request, which is normally answered with 200 OK, is answered with 400 Bad Request. A comprehensive step-by-step guide on how to test for client-side vulnerabilities can be found in the Portswigger Web Academy.

Conclusion

With client-side desync attacks, the field for request smuggling expands again and it can lead to more interesting attack scenarios, since now attacks against standalone servers are possible. The consequences of such attacks can be devastating, since the sessions of users can be taken over. Since the research was conducted by James Kettel, who is employed by Portswigger, the tooling for finding these new vulnerability types is already excellent, as current versions of Burp already have built-in identification for these vulnerabilities. For extended coverage, the HTTP Request Smuggler extension is recommended.

About the Author

Andrea Hauser

Andrea Hauser graduated with a Bachelor of Science FHO in information technology at the University of Applied Sciences Rapperswil. She is focusing her offensive work on web application security testing and the realization of social engineering campaigns. Her research focus is creating and analyzing deepfakes. (ORCID 0000-0002-5161-8658)

Links

Are you interested in a Penetration Test?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Prototype Pollution

Prototype Pollution

Andrea Hauser

HTTP/2 Request Smuggling

HTTP/2 Request Smuggling

Andrea Hauser

Request Smuggling

Request Smuggling

Andrea Hauser

JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Browser-Gestütztes Request Smuggling - Neue Request Smuggling Technik

Browser-Gestütztes Request Smuggling

Neue Request Smuggling Technik

Andrea Hauser
von Andrea Hauser
am 20. Oktober 2022
Lesezeit: 7 Minuten

Keypoints

So funktioniert browser-gestütztes Request Smuggling

  • Neue Recherchen zeigen, dass Request Smuggling nicht nur zwischen Ketten von Servern funktionieren
  • CL.0 beziehungsweise Client-Side Desync desynchronisiert die Verbindung zwischen Browser eines Opfers und Server
  • Besonders anfällig sind statische Inhalte und Redirects
  • Es besteht bereits Tooling, um diese neuen Schwachstellen vereinfacht entdecken zu können

Browser-gestütztes Request Smuggling ermöglicht neue clientseitige Varianten des Request Smugglings, die nicht nur den Angriff auf eine Kette von mehreren Servern, sondern auch auf einen einzelnen Server ermöglichen. Im Vergleich zu den bisher gezeigten Request Smuggling-Angriffen sind die für diese Angriffe notwendigen Requests korrekt formatiert und können daher über einen Browser gesendet werden. Der Angriff auf einen einzelnen Server ist möglich, da der Angriff so angelegt ist, dass der Browser des Opfers seine eigene Verbindung zu einem verwundbaren Server desynchronisiert.

Dier Artikel basiert stark auf der Recherche von James Kettel, die an der Defcon 30 präsentiert wurde. Basierend darauf wurden in der Portswigger Web Academy Labs zum Thema Client-Side Desync aufgebaut, mit denen diese Angriffe in der Praxis ausprobiert werden können.

CL.0 Request Smuggling

Die bisherigen Request Smuggling Angriffe haben alle darauf basiert unterschiedliche Interpretationen mittels Content-Length und Transfer-Encoding Headern zwischen mehreren Servern in einer Kette zu erreichen. Beim CL.0 Angriff geht es darum, dass gewisse Server immer davon ausgehen, dass der Request keinen Body mitschickt und die dementsprechend eine Content-Length von 0 annehmen. Wenn also der Back-End Server immer eine Content-Length von 0 annimmt, der Front-End Server allerdings die mitgegebene Content-Length übernimmt, kann es so zu Diskrepanzen kommen. Das Testen, ob eine CL.0 Schwachstelle vorhanden ist, ist sehr einfach.

POST /vulnerable-endpoint HTTP/1.1
Host: example.com
Connection: keep-alive
Content-Type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded
Content-Length: 33 --> gültige Content-Length

GET /shouldBe404 HTTP/1.1
Foo: x

Es handelt sich beim oben gezeigten um einen kompletten Request mit einer gültigen Content-Length, der im Body einen zweiten nicht vollständigen Request beinhaltet. Wenn in der Antwort auf einen zweiten gültigen Request kurz nach diesem ersten abgesetzten Request eine 404-Antwort erhalten wird, kann davon ausgegangen werden, dass eine CL.0 Request Smuggling Schwachstelle vorhanden ist. Mit der CL.0 Schwachstelle können die gleichen Schwachstellen ausgenutzt werden, wie sie in den letzten Labs aufgezeigt wurden. Am anfälligsten für CL.0 Schwachstellen sind Endpunkte, die keinen POST-Request erwarten, zum Beispiel statische Dateien oder Redirects.

Client-Side Desync Angriffe

Bis anhin wurden Request Smuggling Angriffe als ein serverseitiges Problem betrachtet, da es sich um Missverständnisse zwischen mehreren Servern in einer Kette handelt. Diese können nicht aus dem Browser ausgelöst werden, da sie bewusst manipulierte beziehungsweise ungültige Requests verwenden. Mit der CL.0 Schwachstelle gibt es nun allerdings die Möglichkeit Angriffe auch aus dem Browser auszulösen, da es sich bei der CL.0 Schwachstelle um Requests handelt, die nicht ungültig sind, also von einem Browser ausgestellt werden können. Eine Client-Side Desync Angriff ist das Ausnützen einer Schwachstelle, bei dem die Verbindung zwischen dem Browser und einem Server desynchronisiert wird. Dementsprechend eröffnen sich auch neue Angriffswege, da nun nicht mehr nur eine Kette von Servern angegriffen werden können, sondern auch alleinstehende beziehungsweise einzelne Server.

Abstrahiert gesagt besteht ein Client-Side Desync Angriff aus den folgenden Schritten:

  1. Das Ziel des Angriffs wird auf eine beliebige Webseite gelockt, auf der durch Angreifer kontrolliertes JavaScript ausgeführt wird.
  2. Das JavaScript löst einen Request auf die Webseite mit der Client-Side Desync Schwachstelle aus, bei der ein nicht abgeschlossener, bösartiger beziehungsweise für den Angreifer interessanter Request in der Pipeline übrig bleibt.
  3. Dieser nicht abgeschlossene Request bleibt in der Pipeline zwischen Browser und Request, nach dem der initiale Request beantwortet wurde. Damit ist die Verbindung zwischen Browser und Server desynchronisiert.
  4. Mit dem JavaScript wird nun ein weiterer Request an den Server ausgelöst, der den bereits angefangenen Request mit den Cookies des Opfers erweitert.

In Code sieht das ganze wie folgt aus:

<html>
<script>
fetch('https://example.com/vulnerable-endpoint', {
    method: 'POST',
    body: 'GET /thisShouldBe404 HTTP/1.1\\r\\nFoo: x',
    credentials: 'include' // damit der "with-cookies" Connection Pool für den Verbindungsaufbau verwendet wird
}).then(() => {
    location = 'https://example.com/' // hier wird die desynchronisierte Verbindung genutzt
})
</script>
</html>

Nach Besuch dieser Webseite in einem Browser sollten im Netzwerk-Tab zwei Requests ersichtlich sein. Falls der Angriff erfolgreich war, wird der zweite Aufruf, der normalerweise mit 200 OK beantwortet wird, mit 400 Bad Request beantwortet. Dieses Beispiel kann für die Verifikation einer Client-Side Desync Schwachstelle genutzt werden. Für einen tatsächlichen Angriff würde der Angreifer im Body einen Request definieren, der den Inhalt des zweiten, desynchronisierten Request des Opfers im Account des Angreifers abspeichert. Damit würde der Angreifer an die Cookies des Opfers kommen und kann die Session des Opfers übernehmen.

Das oben gezeigte Beispiel funktioniert allerdings nicht in allen Fällen, denn wenn ein serverseitiger Redirect ausgelöst wird, wird der Code-Bereich der im .then() definiert ist, nicht ausgeführt, sondern der Browser folgt dem Redirect. Damit der Redirect verhindert werden kann und der Client-Side Desync Angriff funktioniert, kann folgender Code verwendet werden.

<html>
<script>
fetch('https://example.com/redirect-endpoint', {
    method: 'POST',
    body: 'GET /thisShouldBe404 HTTP/1.1\\r\\nFoo: x',
    mode: 'cors', // wird bewusst gesetzt, damit ein Fehler geworfen wird und der Redirect abgebrochen wird
    credentials: 'include'
}).catch(() => {
    // hier wird der CORS-Fehler aufgefangen und die desynchronisierte Verbindung genutzt
    fetch('https://example.com/', {
        mode: 'no-cors',
        credentials: 'include'
    })
})
</html>
</script>

Nach Besuch dieser Webseite in einem Browser sollten wie im vorherigen Beispiel im Netzwerk-Tab zwei Requests ersichtlich sein. Falls der Angriff erfolgreich war, wird der zweite Aufruf, der normalerweise mit 200 OK beantwortet wird, mit 400 Bad Request beantwortet. Eine umfängliche Schritt für Schritt Anleitung wie auf Client-Side Schwachstellen getestet werden kann ist in der Portswigger Web Academy ersichtlich.

Zusammenfassung

Mit Client-Side Desync Angriffen erweitert sich das Feld für Request Smuggling erneut und es kann zu weiteren spannenden Angriffsszenarien führen, da nun auch der Angriff auf einzelne Server möglich wird. Da die Research von James Kettel durchgeführt wurde, der bei Portswigger angestellt ist, bedeutet dies, dass das Tooling zum Auffinden dieser neuen Schwachstellen-Typen bereits ausgezeichnet ist, da in aktuellen Versionen von Burp die Identifikation dieser Schwachstellen bereits eingebaut ist. Für eine erweiterte Abdeckung wird die HTTP Request Smuggler Erweiterung empfohlen.

Über die Autorin

Andrea Hauser

Andrea Hauser hat ihren Bachelor of Science FHO in Informatik an der Hochschule für Technik Rapperswil abgeschlossen. Sie setzt sich im offensiven Bereich in erster Linie mit Web Application Security Testing und der Umsetzung von Social Engineering Kampagnen auseinander. Zudem ist sie in der Forschung zum Thema Deepfakes tätig. (ORCID 0000-0002-5161-8658)

Links

Sie wollen mehr als einen simplen Security Test mit Nessus und Nmap?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
HTTP/2 Request Smuggling

HTTP/2 Request Smuggling

Andrea Hauser

Request Smuggling

Request Smuggling

Andrea Hauser

JWT-Problematiken

JWT-Problematiken

Andrea Hauser

Transport Layer Security

Transport Layer Security

Andrea Hauser

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv