TIBER-EU Framework - Threat intelligence-based Red Teaming

TIBER-EU Framework

Threat intelligence-based Red Teaming

Dominik Altermatt
by Dominik Altermatt
on November 19, 2020
time to read: 16 minutes

Keypoints

All about the TIBER-EU Framework

  • The framework covers many important factors of successful red teamings
  • TIBER-EU strives for a "Real-World" approach
  • The TIBER-EU process, however, can limit red teams and thus cause inefficiencies at best
  • scip AG focuses more on effective detection of vulnerabilities instead of the claim to act as "Real-World" as possible

scip AG has been successfully conducting red teaming projects and attack simulations for almost 20 years. Our customers are organizations that have a certain maturity in information security. Especially the financial sector is well represented as a customer. With TIBER-EU (red teaming based on threat intelligence) a framework for red teaming projects was published in 2018 by the European Central Bank. In this article we will deal with this framework to give an overview and compare its requirements and recommendations with our practical experience.

The TIBER-EU Framework was standardized with the aim to streamline the procedure for red teaming projects for national central banks as well as critical functions in the EU financial sector. The framework can currently be voluntarily adapted nationally. A national TIBER implementation will be marked with the corresponding country code, e.g. TIBER-BE (Belgium) or TIBER-NL (Netherlands).

On one hand, a governance structure for correct and safe implementation is described. This is to ensure that red teaming projects can be comparable and recognized throughout the EU, as well as the possibility to collect Lesons Learned and incorporate them into improvements.

This is to be achieved, for example, by establishing a corresponding body (TIBER Cyber Team, TCT) at national level and a central team (TIBER-EU Knowledge Center) at European level. In addition, it is described in detail which stakeholders can or must be involved in which function.

On the other hand, the framework describes how the test phase End-to-End is to be carried out and provides concrete requirements as well as recommendations. If possible, real, current or even future attack scenarios should be worked out by means of threat intelligence activities and then imitated by means of red teaming on the productive systems of the target organization in order to check the current resilience of the target organization.

In short, TIBER-EU pursues the following goals:

What is “Threat Intelligence Based Red Teaming”?

TIBER-EU defines a threat as:

On this basis, Threat Intelligence is defined as follows:

Information that provides a relevant and sufficient understanding of the mitigation of the effects of a potentially harmful event.

Threat Intelligence includes:

An intelligence-led red team test imitates the TTPs (Tactics, Techniques and Procedures) of real attackers based on tailored threat information. It targets the people, processes and technologies underlying the critical functions of the target organization to test its protection, detection and response capabilities without prior knowledge. This enables the target organization to understand their real resilience by putting all the elements_ of their business operations against the threat actors’ TTPs.

The TIBER-EU Process

Apart from the necessary characteristics for a European-wide acceptance across different jurisdictions, we are especially interested in the effective process of implementing red team projects. Therefore, we will not look at the overall aspects and processes in detail.

The TIBER-EU process roughly follows a classical project approach. Optionally, an analysis of the entire financial center in which the target organizations are located is recommended as an initial starting point.

TIBER-EU high-level process overview

The Threat Intelligence (TI) and red teaming (RT) process must involve independent third party providers. The total project management is carried out by the so-called White Team (WT), which consists of personnel from the target organization with the corresponding support of the TCT.

TIBER-EU mandatory requirements:

TIBER-EU recommendations:

Preparation Phase

In addition to the classic project start, the preparation phase includes the procurement of IT and RT providers, the scoping process and the development of the project plan. Special attention is paid to the selection of the TI and RT providers. Their skills and quality are decisive for the value of the test and for a smooth and secure execution.

TIBER-EU preparations

Procurement of TI and RT providers

For TI and RT providers, high requirements are set to ensure the necessary quality and care for the sensitive test.

TIBER-EU recommends to choose only certified providers, however, there is no appropriate certification body.

Therefore, target organizations must carry out the necessary due diligence during the selection process themselves. However, the TIBER-EU procurement guidelines and checklists document detailed minimum requirements for external providers. TIBER-EU describes that the responsibility for selecting TI and RT providers lies with the target organization.

TIBER-EU mandatory requirements:

TIBER-EU recommendations:

Scoping Process

In addition to the selection of external providers, the scoping process is the second decisive factor in the planning and execution of an RT test, since it defines the scope and content of the test and thus significantly determines the expressiveness of the report.

Critical functions (CF) are used to build up the scope. CFs are defined as follows: The people, processes and technologies that the target organization needs to deliver a core service, the interruption of which could adversely affect the financial stability, security and integrity of the organization, the company’s customer base or the organization’s market behavior.

The CFs are then used to define flags (Capture the flag), i.e. the description of actions or targets that confirm a successful RT attack. An example could be: The unnoticed exfiltration of customer data from a PCI zone.

TIBER-EU mandatory requirements:

TIBER-EU recommendations:

Test-Phase

Active testing is divided into two phases:

  1. Threat intelligence
  2. Red teaming

Threat Intelligence

TIBER-EU defines that defined attack scenarios should be developed as a starting point for red teaming. These in turn should be based on a Threat Intelligence Report. This should allow for the derivation of attack scenarios that are as relevant and realistic as possible, or a real threat situation with its actors should be drawn up.

The first result should be a Targeted Threat Intelligence Report (TTI). TIBER-EU recommends to plan a period of about four weeks for these activities.

Among others the following goals are mentioned:

The result of this activity is the identification of the areas of attack of people, processes and technologies in relation to the target organization and its global digital footprint on a CF-oriented, systems-based basis.

Furthermore, effective attack scenarios along the project scope are to be defined based on the insights gained. These scenarios form the link to RT.

TIBER-EU mandatory requirements:

TIBER-EU recommendations:

Red Teaming

The RT phase is explained accordingly quickly. Through the preparations, the team is given a clear mandate based on the scope definition and the scenarios. The RT defines a concrete RT test plan based on the scenarios. On the one hand, very detailed information on TTPs in relation to the attack targets should be documented in advance. However, TIBER-EU explicitly admits that scope, flags and TTPs can be changed during the course of the test and that the RT should be granted the greatest possible flexibility and creativity.

The output is the report of the RT, which documents the findings.

TIBER-EU mandatory requirements:

TIBER-EU recommendations:

Abschluss-Phase

The Blue Team (BT) of the target organization is now informed about the test and is to create a BT report with corresponding countermeasures based on the RT report. With Workshops, RT and BT should clarify the details and, if necessary, repeat certain RT actions in order to understand processes better.

Of course, the target organization should now plan and execute the implementation of any appropriate countermeasures.

TIBER-EU mandatory requirements:

TIBER-EU recommendations:

Conclusion

The TIBER-EU Framework appears basically as a solid work, many reasonable requirements and hints for a successful red teaming are documented. Of course, the framework brings a certain degree of formalism and thus the corresponding bureaucracy with it, but this seems absolutely required for the overall acceptance of the framework as well as the desired quality. However, this may – depending on how it is interpreted – also have a negative influence on the work of the TI/RT teams. TIBER-EU countered these risks with clear indications regarding the necessary flexibility and dynamic scoping during the test phases.

In many details, the requirements corresponded to the procedure, which we also strive for with our attack simulations. However, our overall approach differs somewhat. TIBER-EU strives for a most realistic scenario, therefore the development of “real-world” scenarios by the TI-Team in advance. The scoping is also defined early in the process by the target organization with the help of the TCT. This detailed scope and scenario definition creates the risk that the red team will be restricted in its ability to be strengthened, and although the RT is granted a great deal of creativity, a too strict interpretation of the defined scope and scenarios will not reveal any valuable information by the red team. Therefore, it is recommended that suggestions from the red team are generously accepted during the testing phase and that the RT should be part of the discussion during the scoping phase.

The expectation that a RT is capable of simply having all possible TTPs “in the know” in a very technical depth seems not quite realistic. The corresponding engineering effort that would be necessary for this is probably not worthwhile for many offensive security companies. As well as the hint by TIBER-EU that “good” RTs should be able to imitate nation-state actors is something special. Technically this may be partially true, but many other aspects, such as access to effective intelligence information, such as data from Internet providers, or even basically the scope and quality of resources (budget, personnel, equipment, etc.) is probably rarely given at the nation-state actor level by commercial providers.

Our approach follows a pragmatic and economically effective way. In many respects it does not differ from TIBER-EU, but we tend to use simulated rather than realistic scenarios. Our experience shows that the customer can gain more weak points/knowledge within the given budget. In doing so, we focus on the broadest possible scope, i.e. the entire target organization is ideally defined as a scope and corresponding CF analogous to TIBER-EU is documented and submitted to the RT. Furthermore, we advise to define the scenario of a compromised client as a starting point. We gladly offer the initial compromise as a separate module, so that a consistent story can be documented.

Starting from a compromised client/route employee scenario, reconnaissance is performed and Privilege Escalation and Lateral Movement is analyzed and executed step by step. This results in various attack paths, which either lead to the compromise of CFs or not. This approach reveals various weaknesses in the entire target organization, independent of defined real-word scenarios. Unfortunately, in today’s world it seems to be a given that detected weaknesses and successful attack paths can and will be exploited by malicious actors. For this reason, we often dispense with detailed TI analysis and proof of this fact in RT projects.

This does not mean, however, that TI is not relevant. We would, however, carry out analyses in this area independently of RT projects as a separate task. We would also loosely encapsulate corresponding weak-point analyses of the perimeter and OSINT, for example, as modules.

It remains to be seen whether TIBER-EU will continue to assert itself in its current form. Various European countries have already implemented or are working on their own adaptations. A possible obligation of such tests by the regulator could also have very interesting effects.

About the Author

Dominik Altermatt

Dominik Altermatt is working since 2003 in the IT business and was responsible for Data Leakage Prevention at a Swiss bank for many years. Besides traditional penetration testing he is also focusing on the introduction and improvement of IT security management processes. (ORCID 0000-0003-4575-4597)

Links

Your Blue Team may use some support?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
JWT Issues

JWT Issues

Andrea Hauser

CIS Controls

CIS Controls

Tomaso Vasella

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Trustworthy AI

Trustworthy AI

Prisca Quadroni-Renella

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

TIBER-EU Framework - Threat Intelligence-basiertes Red Teaming

TIBER-EU Framework

Threat Intelligence-basiertes Red Teaming

Dominik Altermatt
von Dominik Altermatt
am 19. November 2020
Lesezeit: 16 Minuten

Keypoints

Das bringt das TIBER-EU Framework

  • Das Framework deckt viele wichtige Faktoren von erfolgreichen Red Teamings ab
  • TIBER-EU strebt einen "Real-World"-Ansatz an
  • Der TIBER-EU Prozess kann jedoch Red Teams einschränken und somit allenfalls Ineffizienzen verursachen
  • scip AG setzt mehr auf effektive Detektion von Schwachstellen anstatt auf den Anspruch möglichst "Real-World" zu agieren

scip AG führt seit bald 20 Jahren erfolgreich Red Teaming Projekte und Angriffs-Simulationen durch. Dabei sind unsere Kunden Organisationen, welche eine gewisse Maturität bezüglich Informationssicherheit aufweisen. Vor allem der Finanz-Sektor ist dabei als Kunde gut vertreten. Mit TIBER-EU (Red Teaming auf der Basis von Threat Intelligence) wurde 2018 durch die Europäische Zentral Bank ein Framework für Red Teaming Projekte veröffentlicht. In diesem Beitrag beschäftigen wir uns mit diesem Framework, um einen Überblick zu verschaffen und dessen Anforderungen und Empfehlungen gegenüber unseren praktischen Erfahrungen zu vergleichen.

Das TIBER-EU Framework wurde mit dem Ziel, das Vorgehen für Red Teaming Projekte für nationale Zentralbanken sowie als kritisch bezeichnete Funktionen im EU-Finanz-Sektor, zu standardisieren. Das Framework kann aktuell freiwillig national adaptiert werden. Eine nationale TIBER-Implementationen wird mit dem entsprechenden Landeskürzel versehen, z.B. TIBER-BE (Belgien) oder TIBER-NL (Niederlande).

Es wird einerseits eine Governance-Struktur zur korrekten und sicheren Durchführen beschrieben. Diese soll sicherstellen, dass Red Teaming Projekte vergleichbar und EU-weit anerkannt werden können, sowie die Möglichkeit Lesons Learned zu sammeln und in Verbesserungen einfliessen zu lassen.

Dies soll z.B mit der Etablierung einer entsprechenden Stelle (TIBER Cyber Team, TCT) auf nationaler Ebene sowie einem zentralen Team (TIBER-EU Knowledge Center) auf europäischer Ebene erreicht werden. Ausserdem wird detailliert beschrieben, welche Stakeholder in welcher Funktion involviert werden können oder müssen.

Andererseits beschreibt das Framework, wie die Test-Phase End-to-End durchzuführen ist und gibt konkrete Anforderungen vor sowie Empfehlungen ab. Dabei sollten möglichst reelle, aktuelle oder gar zukünftige Angriffs-Szenarien durch Threat Intelligence Aktivitäten erarbeitet und anschliessend mittels Red Teaming auf den produktiven Systemen der Ziel-Organisation imitiert werden, um die aktuelle Resilienz der Ziel-Organisation zu prüfen.

Kurz gesagt, verfolgt TIBER-EU folgende Ziele:

Was ist “Threat Intelligence Based Red Teaming”?

TIBER-EU definiert eine Bedrohung (engl. Threat) als:

Auf dieser Basis wird Threat Intelligence wie folgt definiert:

Informationen, die ein relevantes und ausreichendes Verständnis für die Mitigation der Auswirkungen eines potenziell schädlichen Ereignisses liefern.

Threat Intelligence umfasst:

Ein intelligence-geführter Red Team Test imitiert die TTPs (Taktiken, Techniken und Prozeduren) echter Angreifer auf der Grundlage massgeschneiderter Bedrohungsinformationen. Dabei zielt es auf die Personen, Prozesse und Technologien ab, die den kritischen Funktionen der Ziel-Organisation zugrunde liegen, um deren Schutz-, Detektions- und Reaktionsfähigkeit ohne Vorwissen zu testen. Dies ermöglicht es der Ziel-Organisation, ihre reale Widerstandsfähigkeit zu verstehen, indem sie alle Elemente ihrer Geschäftstätigkeit gegen die TTPs der Bedrohungsakteure stellt.

Der TIBER-EU Prozess

Neben den notwendigen Eigenschaften für eine europaweite Akzeptanz über unterschiedliche Gerichtsbarkeiten, interessiert uns vor allem der effektive Prozess zur durchführen von Red Team Projekten. Daher werden wir die übergeordneten Aspekte und Prozesse, nicht weiter im Detail betrachten.

Grob folgt der TIBER-EU Prozess einem klassischen Projekt-Ansatz. Optional wird als initiale Ausgangslage eine Analyse des gesamten Finanzplatzes, in welcher sich die Ziel-Organisationen befindet, empfohlen.

TIBER-EU High-Level Prozess

Für den Prozess Threat Intelligence (TI) und Red Teaming (RT) müssen unabhängige dritte Provider hinzugezogen werden. Die gesamte Projektleitung übernimmt das sogenannte White Team (WT), welches aus Personal der Ziel-Organisation besteht mit der entsprechenden Unterstützung des TCT.

TIBER-EU zwingende Anforderungen:

TIBER-EU Empfehlungen:

Vorbereitungs-Phase

Die Vorbereitungs-Phase beinhaltet neben dem klassischen Projekt-Start auch die Beschaffung der IT und RT Provider, den Scoping-Prozess und die Entwicklung des Projekt-Plans. Der Auswahl der TI und RT Provider wird besondere Aufmerksamkeit geschenkt, so ist deren Können und Qualität massgeblich für den Wert des Tests aber auch für eine reibungslose und sichere Durchführung.

TIBER-EU Vorbereitungs-Prozess

Beschaffung der TI und RT Provider

Für die TI und RT Provider werden hohen Anforderungen angesetzt, damit die notwendige Qualität und Sorgfalt für den sensitiven Test gewährleistet werden kann.

TIBER-EU empfiehlt nur zertifizierte Provider zu wählen, jedoch existiert heute noch keine entsprechende Zertifikations-Stelle.

Daher müssen Ziel-Organisationen die nötige Due Diligence bei der Auswahl selbst durchführen. In den TIBER-EU Beschaffungs-Guidelines und Checklisten werden jedoch detaillierte minimale Anforderungen für die externen Provider dokumentiert. TIBER-EU beschreibt, dass die Verantwortung der Auswahl der TI und RT Provider bei der Ziel-Organisation liegt.

TIBER-EU zwingend Anforderungen:

TIBER-EU Empfehlungen:

Scoping-Prozess

Neben der Auswahl der externen Provider ist der Scoping-Prozess der zweite ausschlaggebende Faktor bei der Planung und Durchführung eines RT-Tests, da er den Rahmen und Inhalt des Tests definiert und damit die Aussagekraft des Reports massgeblich bestimmt.

Anhand von kritischen Funktionen (CF) soll der Scope aufgebaut werden. CFs werden wie folgt definiert: Die Personen, Prozesse und Technologien, die die Ziel-Organisation benötigt, um eine Kerndienstleistung zu erbringen, deren Unterbrechung sich nachteilig auf die finanzielle Stabilität, die Sicherheit und Integrität der Organisation, den Kundenstamm des Unternehmens oder das Marktverhalten der Organisation auswirken könnte.

Anschliessend sollen anhand der CFs Flags (Capture the flag) definiert werden, also die Beschreibung von Aktionen, respektive Zielen, welche einen erfolgreichen Angriff des RT bestätigen. Ein Beispiel dazu könnte sein: Die unbemerkte Exfiltrierung von Kunden-Daten aus einer PCI-Zone.

TIBER-EU zwingende Anforderungen:

TIBER-EU Empfehlungen:

Test-Phase

Das aktive Testen besteht aus zwei Phasen:

  1. Threat Intelligence
  2. Red Teaming

Threat Intelligence

TIBER-EU definiert, dass als Ausgangslage für das Red Teaming definierte Angriffs-Szenarien erarbeitet werden sollen. Diese wiederum sollten auf einem Threat Intelligence Report aufgebaut werden. Damit sollen möglichst relevante und realistische Angriffs-Szenarien abgeleitet werden können, respektive eine reale Bedrohungslage mit ihren Akteuren gezeichnet werden.

Als erstes Resultat soll ein Targeted Threat Intelligence Report (TTI) geliefert werden. TIBER-EU empfiehlt für diese Aktivitäten einen Zeitraum von ca. vier Wochen ein zu planen.

Unteranderem werden folgende Ziele genannt:

Das Ergebnis dieser Aktivität ist die Identifizierung der Angriffsflächen von Personen, Prozessen und Technologien in Bezug auf die Ziel-Organisation und ihren globalen digitalen Fussabdruck auf einer CF-orientierten, systembezogenen Basis.

Weiter soll anhand der gewonnen Erkenntnissen effektive Angriffsszenarien entlang des Projekt-Scopes definiert werden. Diese Szenarien bilden die Verbindung zum RT.

TIBER-EU zwingende Anforderungen:

TIBER-EU Empfehlungen:

Red Teaming

Die RT-Phase ist entsprechend schnell erklärt. Durch die Vorbereitungen wird dem Team anhand der Scope-Definition und den Szenarien ein klarer Auftrag erteilt. Das RT definiert anhand der Szenarien einen konkreten RT-Test-Plan. Dabei sollen einerseits sehr detaillierte Angaben zu TTPs in Bezug zu den Angriffszielen vorab dokumentiert werden. TIBER-EU räumt aber dabei explizit ein, dass Scope, Flags und TTPs während des Testverlaufes geändert werden können sowie auch, dass dem RT grösste mögliche Flexibilität und Kreativität eingeräumt werden soll.

Als Output entsteht der Report des RT, welcher die Befunde dokumentiert.

TIBER-EU zwingende Anforderungen:

TIBER-EU Empfehlungen:

Abschluss-Phase

Das Blue Team (BT) der Ziel-Organisation wird nun über den Test in Kenntnis gesetzt und soll anhand des RT-Reports einen BT-Report mit entsprechenden Gegenmassnahmen erstellen. Mit Workshops sollen RT und BT die Details klären und allenfalls Wiederholungen von gewissen RT-Aktionen durchführen, um Vorgänge besser verstehen zu können.

Natürlich sollte die Ziel-Organisation nun die Implementationen von allfällig geeigneten Gegenmassnahmen planen und durchführen.

TIBER-EU zwingende Anforderungen:

TIBER-EU Empfehlungen:

Fazit

Das TIBER-EU Framework erschient grundsätzlich als solides Werk, viele sinnvolle Anforderungen und Hinweise für eine erfolgreiches Red Teaming sind dokumentiert. Natürlich bringt das Framework ein gewissen Grad an Formalismus und damit die entsprechende Bürokratie mit sich, was aber für die Übergeordnete Akzeptanz des Frameworks sowie der gewünschten Qualität absolut erforderlich erscheint. Dies kann jedoch – je nach Auslegungs-Art – auch negative Einflüsse auf die Arbeit der TI/RT Teams verursachen. TIBER-EU begegneten diesen Risiken jedoch mit den klaren Hinweisen bezüglich der nötigen Flexibilität und dynamischen Scoping währen der Test-Phasen.

In vielen Details deckten sich die Anforderungen mit dem Vorgehen, welches auch wir mit unseren Angriffs-Simulationen anstreben. Jedoch unterscheidet sich unser übergeordneter Ansatz etwas. TIBER-EU strebt ein möglichst realistisches Szenario an, daher auch die vorab Entwicklung von “Real-World” Szenarien durch das TI-Team. Auch das Scoping wird früh im Prozess durch die Ziel-Organisation mit Hilfe des TCT definiert. Durch diese detaillierten Scope- und Szenarien-Definition entsteht das Risiko, dass das Red Team zu stärkt eingeschränkt wird und obwohl dem RT viel Kreativität eingeräumt wird, kann durch eine zu strenge Auslegung des definierten Scope und Szenarien allenfalls wertvolle Information durch das Red Team nicht an den Tag gebracht werden. Daher ist dabei zu empfehlen, dass Vorschlägen vom Red Team grosszügig während der Test-Phase stattgegeben werden sowie auch, dass das RT unbedingt bei der Scoping-Phase Teil der Diskussion sein muss.

Die Erwartungshaltung, dass ein RT in der Lage ist einfach alle möglichen TTPs in einer sehr technischen Tiefe “im Peto” zu haben, scheint nicht ganz realistisch. Der entsprechende Engineering-Aufwand, der dazu notwendig wäre, rechnet sich wohl für viele Offensive Security Unternehmen nicht. Sowie den Hinweis durch TIBER-EU, dass “gute” RTs in der Lage sein sollen Nation-State-Actors zu imitieren, ist etwas speziell. Technisch mag dies teilweise zutreffen, jedoch viele andere Aspekte, wie z.B. der Zugriff auf effektive nachrichtendienstliche Information, wie z.B. Daten von Internet-Providern, oder auch grundsätzlich den Umfang und Qualität von Ressourcen (Budget, Personal, Equipment, etc.) ist bei kommerziellen Anbietern wohl eher selten auf Nation-State-Actor-Level gegeben.

Unser Ansatz verfolgt einen pragmatischen und wirtschaftlich effektiven Weg. Bei vielen Punkten unterscheidet sich dieser nicht von TIBER-EU, jedoch tendieren wir mehr auf simulierte als auf möglichst realistische Szenarien. Dabei zeigt unsere Erfahrung, dass der Kunde innerhalb des gegeben Budgets mehr Schwachstellen/Erkenntnisse gewinnen kann. Dabei setzen wir auf einen möglichst breiten Scope, respektive die gesamte Ziel-Organisation wird idealerweise als Scope definiert und entsprechende CF analog TIBER-EU werden dokumentiert an das RT abgegeben. Weiter raten wir, das Szenario eines kompromittierten Clients als Ausgangslage zu definieren. Die Initiale Kompromittierung bieten wir gerne als separates Modul an, damit eine durchgängige Story dokumentiert werden kann.

Von einem kompromittierten Client-/Rouge Employee-Szenario ausgehend, wird Reconnaissance betrieben und Privilege Escalation und Lateral-Movement Schritt für Schritt analysiert und ausgeführt. Dabei entstehen diverse Angriffs-Pfade, welche entweder zur Kompromittierung von CFs führt oder auch nicht. Mit diesem Ansatz werden unabhängig von definierten Real-Word-Szenarien diverse Schwachstellen in der gesamten Ziel-Organisation zu Tage geführt. Dass detektierte Schwachstellen und erfolgreiche Angriffs-Pfade durch bösartige Akteure ausgenutzt werden können und werden, erscheint in der heutigen Welt leider als gegeben. Daher verzichten wir in RT-Projekten oft auf die ausführliche TI-Analyse und dem Beweis dieser Tatsache.

Dies bedeutet jedoch nicht, dass TI nicht relevant wäre. Wir würden Analysen in diesem Bereich jedoch unabhängig von RT-Projekten als separate Aufgabe durchführen. Auch entsprechende Schwachstellen-Analysen des Perimeters sowie etwa OSINT würde wir als Module lose kapseln.

Ob sich TIBER-EU in der aktuellen Form weiter durchsetz, wird sich zeigen. Diverse europäische Länder haben bereits ihre eigenen Adaptionen umgesetzt oder arbeiten daran. Auch ein allfälliges Obligatorium solcher Tests durch den Regulator könnten sehr interessante Effekte haben.

Über den Autor

Dominik Altermatt

Dominik Altermatt arbeitet seit 2003 in der IT-Branche. Unter anderem hat er sich mehrere Jahre mit Data Leakage Prevention bei einer Grossbank beschäftigt. Heute liegen seine Schwerpunkte neben klassischen Penetration Tests bei der Einführung und der Weiterentwicklung von IT-Security-Management-Prozessen. (ORCID 0000-0003-4575-4597)

Links

Ihr Blue Team braucht Unterstützung?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Traffic-Analyse mit Windows-Boardmitteln

Traffic-Analyse mit Windows-Boardmitteln

Dominik Altermatt

Cisco WebEx Online Meeting Security

Cisco WebEx Online Meeting Security

Dominik Altermatt

SANS SEC503 Intrusion Detection In-Depth

SANS SEC503 Intrusion Detection In-Depth

Dominik Altermatt

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv