HardeningKitty Score - Pros and Cons of the Scoring of Windows Configurations

HardeningKitty Score

Pros and Cons of the Scoring of Windows Configurations

Michael Schneider
by Michael Schneider
on January 21, 2021
time to read: 9 minutes

Keypoints

This is what the HardeningKitty Score can do

  • A score is supposed to be a simplification of the overall result
  • The score is calculated from the sum of individual checks
  • However, such a score cannot be judged without background knowledge
  • The list of check item should be adapted to one's own needs
  • The assessment of a configuration review is too complex to abstract it to a simple score

With the security check of a Windows configuration, many individual settings are examined and their effect on the security of the test object is classified. From the sum of the ratings, an assessment of the strengths and weaknesses of the configuration is made.

The severity classification of a configuration setting differs from the classification of a vulnerability in a software component. Since a misconfiguration of a setting does not necessarily have to result in a vulnerability. For the classification of vulnerabilities, there is the industry standard Common Vulnerability Scoring System (CVSS). Here, a vulnerability is evaluated according to criteria for exploitation and impact. As a counterpart to CVSS, there is the Common Configuration Scoring System (CCSS) for configuration reviews. The goal of such standards is it different description and measuring systems with one another to make compatible and generally understandable.

Systems such as CVSS and CCSS are intended for the classification of individual weak points and configuration settings. For assessing the overall outcome of a configuration review, there is also a desire for the result to be presented in a simplified form such as a score. Ideally, this score can also be used to make comparisons with similar projects. Whether the use of such a score achieves this goal of a simplified evaluation of a Windows configuration and whether this is also useful, we will look at in this article using the newly introduced Score of HardeningKitty.

HardeningKitty Score

With the Release v0.5.0 the HardeningKitty Score was introduced. For each test item there is a different number of points depending on the severity. If the checkpoint is rated as Passed, this is assigned four points. A severity score of Low gives two points, for a severity score of Medium gives one point and for a High no more points are given.

The HardeningKitty Score is calculated using the following formula:

(points achieved / maximum possible points) * 5 + 1

The score obtained can be interpreted using the following table:

Score Rating
6 Excellent
5 Good
4 Sufficient
3 Insufficient
2 Insufficient
1 Insufficient

The aim of awarding points in this way is to ensure that the severity of a test point is also taken into account in the score. Alternatively, a checkpoint would only be scored for pass/fail. However, assigning points according to severity means that a system without a passed checkpoint will not drop to 0 points unless all checkpoints are rated High, and thus will not receive a score of 1.0. This gradation is therefore subsequently made in the calculation in the Code of HardeningKitty.

Pros and Cons

What is the use of a score?

The score is intended to be a simplification of a result and to allow assessment at a glance. When hundreds of individual tests are available, it is difficult to interpret the result without technical expertise and a yardstick: Are 20 medium weaknesses out of 250 test points a good result or not. In addition, a score can also provide a means of comparison when the same tests are performed on two different systems.

The score is calculated on the basis of a defined metric, so that it is possible to understand how a rating is arrived at. For example, if a HardeningKitty Score is below 4.0, this is considered an insufficient implementation. Based on the distributed points, it is also comprehensible how many settings must be corrected in order to achieve a sufficient rating.

The score is not a complete evaluation

The score cannot be used alone to evaluate the Windows configuration. As an example, a system on which many hardening recommendations have been implemented. This leads to a score above 5.0 and thus represents a good to very good result according to the HardeningKitty Rating. However, the hard disk of the system was not encrypted. This leads to a High rating for notebooks, since attackers with physical access can compromise the system in the absence of hard disk encryption. However, the point deduction of a High vulnerability is not directly apparent in the score. Therefore, HardeningKitty displays the sum of the results in the respective severity level in addition to the score, so that critical findings are not lost.

In addition, combinations of vulnerabilities due to misconfigurations cannot be mapped with a score. If PowerShell version 2 is installed on a system, the LSASS process is not protected and Credential Guard is not used, then attackers with administrative rights can use PowerShell version downgrade bypass to execute the script Invoke-Mimikatz and read the credentials of logged-in users. This bypasses existing protection systems such as Microsoft’s Antimalware Scan Interface (AMSI). Individually, these are all medium-findings in a configuration review, but in combination they can have a critical impact on system security.

What should be measured?

HardeningKitty has lists of various frameworks, including CIS Benchmarks for Microsoft Windows 10 and the Microsoft Security Baseline for Windows 10. Checking a system yields a very different score depending on the list of findings. For example, scanning a hardened Windows 10 system with the 0×6d69636b list yields a score of 5.66, while the Microsoft Security Baseline yields a score of 4.1 and CIS yields a score of 4.26.

When analyzing the lists, it is noticeable that Microsoft specifies over 50 settings regarding Internet Explorer. If Internet Explorer is not used on the system, the configuration of Internet Explorer settings is secondary. At CIS, recommendations for disabling services are given, among other things. Since neither Internet Explorer settings nor the configuration of services were made on the checked system, the difference in the score comes into play.

Therefore, before reviewing the system, it is recommended to think about what should be measured. If the system is to be checked for compliance with recommendations from Microsoft or CIS, the respective list can be adopted accordingly without any adjustments. On the other hand, it is worth compiling your own list from the existing recommendations. If Microsoft Edge is used as the default browser, the check should be extended to include Edge elements, but checking explicit Internet Explorer settings may not be necessary.

There are also settings where Microsoft and CIS directly contradict each other. For example, Microsoft recommends enabling PowerShell Script Block Logging, while CIS claims not to enable this feature. Microsoft weights the benefit of evaluating PowerShell logs higher than the risk that the logs may contain passwords.

Conclusion

The goal of using a score to represent the result of a Windows configuration review is not achieved. The score cannot be assessed without expert knowledge and detailed knowledge of the checklist used. The assessment of an operating system hardening is too complex to be represented by a score alone. Especially when it comes to combining and exploiting misconfigurations. The wish that a complex entity can be abstracted into a number remains unfulfilled. The overall result should therefore be presented accordingly with an analysis of strengths and weaknesses rather than a simple number.

The HardeningKitty Score is nevertheless not without utility. For example, it can be used to simply measure the improvement achieved after repeated testing. Likewise, such a score can be used as a threshold for hardening settings to be fulfilled, provided that the advantages and disadvantages of a score have been considered and the preliminary work in compiling a checklist has been done.

About the Author

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider has been in IT since 2000. Since 2010 he is focused on information security. He is an expert at penetration testing, hardening and the detection of vulnerabilities in operating systems. He is well-known for a variety of tools written in PowerShell to find, exploit, and mitigate weaknesses. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

You want to test the security of your firewall?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Farewell NTLM

Farewell NTLM

Michael Schneider

ContainerKitty

ContainerKitty

Michael Schneider

WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

HTTP Response Header

HTTP Response Header

Michael Schneider

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

HardeningKitty Score - Sinn und Unsinn der Bewertung einer Windows-Konfiguration

HardeningKitty Score

Sinn und Unsinn der Bewertung einer Windows-Konfiguration

Michael Schneider
von Michael Schneider
am 21. Januar 2021
Lesezeit: 9 Minuten

Keypoints

So sinnvoll sind Scores von HardeningKitty

  • Ein Score soll eine Vereinfachung des Gesamtresultats darstellen
  • Der Score wird aus der Summe von Einzelprüfungen errechnet
  • Eine solche Punktzahl kann jedoch nicht ohne Hintergrundwissen beurteilt werden
  • Die Liste von Prüfpunkten sollten auf eigene Bedürfnisse angepasst werden
  • Die Beurteilung eines Konfigurationsreviews ist zu komplex um diese auf einen Score zu abstrahieren

Mit der Sicherheitsprüfung einer Windows-Konfiguration werden viele einzelne Einstellungen untersucht und deren Auswirkung auf die Sicherheit des Prüfobjekts eingestuft. Aus der Summe der Einstufungen wird eine Beurteilung der Stärken und Schwächen der Konfiguration vorgenommen.

Die Einstufung des Schweregrads einer Konfigurationseinstellung unterscheidet sich gegenüber der Einstufung einer Schwachstelle in einer Softwarekomponente. Da eine Fehlkonfiguration einer Einstellung nicht zwingend in einer Schwachstelle resultieren muss. Für die Einstufung von Schwachstellen gibt es den Industriestandard Common Vulnerability Scoring System (CVSS). Dabei wird eine Schwachstelle nach Kriterien zur Ausnutzung und der Auswirkungen (engl. impact) bewertet. Als Pendant zu CVSS gibt es für Konfigurationsreviews das Common Configuration Scoring System (CCSS). Das Ziel solcher Standards ist es verschiedene Beschreibungs- und Messsysteme miteinander kompatibel und allgemein verständlich zu machen.

Systeme wie CVSS und CCSS sind für die Einstufung einzelner Schwachstellen und Konfigurationseinstellungen gedacht. Für die Beurteilung des Gesamtresultats eines Konfigurationsreviews besteht ebenso der Wunsch, dass das Resultat in einer vereinfachten Form wie eine Punktzahl oder Score dargestellt wird. Idealerweise kann dieser Score auch dazu verwendet werden, um Vergleiche mit ähnlichen Projekten anzustellen. Ob die Verwendung eines solchen Scores dieses Ziel einer vereinfachten Bewertung einer Windows-Konfiguration erreicht und ob dies auch sinnvoll ist, betrachten wir in diesem Artikel anhand des neu eingeführten Score von HardeningKitty.

HardeningKitty Score

Mit dem Release v0.5.0 wurde der HardeningKitty Score eingeführt. Für jeden Prüfpunkt gibt es je nach Schweregrad eine unterschiedliche Anzahl Punkte. Wird der Prüfpunkt als Passed eingestuft, wird dies mit vier Punkten bewertet. Ein Schweregrad von Low ergibt zwei Punkte, für den Schweregrad Medium gibt einen Punkt und für ein High wird kein Punkt mehr vergeben.

Der HardeningKitty Score wird mit der folgenden Formel berechnet:

(Anzahl erreichte Punkte / Maximal mögliche Punkte) * 5 + 1

Der erhaltene Score kann anhand der folgenden Tabelle interpretiert werden:

Score Rating
6 Excellent
5 Good
4 Sufficient
3 Insufficient
2 Insufficient
1 Insufficient

Das Ziel bei dieser Vergabe von Punkten ist es, dass der Schweregrad eines Prüfpunktes im Score auch berücksichtigt wird. Alternativ würde ein Prüfpunkt nur für bestanden/nicht bestanden bewertet. Die Punktvergabe nach Schweregrad führt aber dazu, dass einen System ohne bestandenen Prüfpunkt nicht auf 0 Punkte fällt, wenn nicht alle Prüfpunkte mit High eingestuft sind, und somit keinen Score von 1.0 erhält. Diese Abstufung wird daher in der Berechnung im Code von HardeningKitty nachträglich vorgenommen.

Sinn und Unsinn

Was bringt ein Score?

Der Score soll eine Vereinfachung eines Resultats darstellen und die Einschätzung auf einen Blick ermöglichen. Wenn hunderte Einzelprüfungen vorliegen, ist es ohne technisches Fachwissen und einen Massstab schwierig das Resultat zu deuten: Sind 20 Medium Schwachstellen bei 250 Prüfpunkten ein gutes Resultat oder nicht. Zudem kann ein Score auch eine Vergleichsmöglichkeit bieten, wenn die gleichen Prüfungen auf zwei unterschiedlichen Systemen durchgeführt werden.

Der Score wird anhand einer festgelegten Metrik berechnet, damit ist nachvollziehbar wie eine Einstufung zu Stande kommt. Sprich wenn ein HardeningKitty Score unter 4.0 erzielt wird, gilt dies als eine ungenügende Umsetzung. Anhand der verteilten Punkte ist es auch nachvollziehbar, wie viele Einstellungen korrigiert werden müssen, um eine genügende Einstufung zu erlangen.

Der Score ist keine vollständige Bewertung

Der Score kann nicht alleine zur Bewertung der Windows-Konfiguration verwendet werden. Als Beispiel dazu dient ein System, auf dem viele Hardening-Empfehlungen umgesetzt worden sind. Dies führt zu einem Score über 5.0 und stellt somit nach dem HardeningKitty Rating ein gutes bis sehr gutes Resultat dar. Nur wurde aber die Festplatte der Systems nicht verschlüsselt. Dies führt bei Notebooks zur Einstufung High, da beim Fehlen einer Festplattenverschlüsselung Angreifer mit physischem Zugriff das Systems kompromittieren können. Der Punkteabzug einer High-Schwachstelle ist aber im Score nicht direkt ersichtlich. Daher wird bei HardeningKitty neben dem Score auch die Summe der Resultate im jeweiligen Schweregrad ausgegeben, damit kritische Findings nicht untergehen.

Mit einem Score können zudem Kombinationen von Schwachstellen infolge von Fehlkonfigurationen nicht abgebildet werden. Wenn auf einem System die PowerShell Version 2 installiert ist, der LSASS-Prozess nicht geschützt und Credential Guard nicht verwendet wird, dann können Angreifer mit administrativen Rechten mittels PowerShell-Version-Downgrade-Bypass das Skript Invoke-Mimikatz ausführen und die Zugangsdaten von angemeldeten Benutzern auslesen. Dabei werden vorhandene Schutzsysteme wie Microsofts Antimalware Scan Interface (AMSI) umgangen. Einzeln betrachtet sind dies in einem Konfigurationsreview alles Medium-Findings, in der Kombination können sie jedoch einen kritischen Impakt auf die Sicherheit des Systems haben.

Was soll gemessen werden?

HardeningKitty verfügt über Listen verschiedener Frameworks, unter anderem CIS Benchmarks für Microsoft Windows 10 und die Microsoft Security Baseline für Windows 10. Die Überprüfung eines Systems liefert je nach Findings-Liste einen ganz anderen Score. Die Prüfung eines gehärteten Windows 10 Systems mit der Liste 0×6d69636b ergibt beispielsweise einen Score von 5.66, während mit der Microsoft Security Baseline ein Score von 4.1 erreicht wird und mit CIS erzielt das System den Score 4.26.

Bei der Analysen der Listen fällt auf, dass Microsoft über 50 Einstellungen bezüglich Internet Explorer vorgibt. Wenn Internet Explorer auf dem System nicht genutzt wird, ist die Konfiguration der Internet-Explorer-Einstellungen zweitrangig. Bei CIS werden unter anderem Empfehlungen für das Deaktivieren von Diensten vorgegeben. Da auf dem geprüften System weder Internet-Explorer-Einstellungen noch die Konfiguration von Diensten vorgenommen wurden, kommt der Unterschied im Score zu tragen.

Daher empfiehlt es sich vor Überprüfung des Systems sich Gedanken zu machen, was gemessen werden soll. Wenn das System die Einhaltung von Empfehlungen von Microsoft oder CIS geprüft werden soll, kann die jeweilige Liste entsprechend ohne Anpassungen übernommen werden. Andererseits lohnt es sich eine eigene Liste aus den vorhandenen Empfehlungen zusammen zu stellen. Wenn Microsoft Edge als Standardbrowser verwendet wird, sollte die Prüfung um Edge-Elemente erweitert werden, aber die Prüfung von expliziten Internet-Explorer-Einstellungen sind gegebenenfalls nicht notwendig.

Es gibt auch Einstellungen, bei denen sich Microsoft und CIS direkt widersprechen. So empfiehlt Microsoft PowerShell Script Block Logging zu aktvieren, während CIS vorgibt diese Funktion nicht zu aktivieren. Microsoft gewichtet den Nutzen des Auswertung von PowerShell-Logs höher als das Risiko, dass sich in den Logs allenfalls Passwörter befinden können.

Fazit

Das Ziel, mit einem Score das Resultat einer Prüfung einer Windows-Konfiguration darzustellen, wird nicht erreicht. Der Score kann nicht ohne Fachwissen und detaillierte Kenntnisse über die verwendete Checkliste beurteilt werden. Die Beurteilung einer Betriebssystemhärtung ist zu komplex, um dies alleine mit einem Score darstellen zu können. Vor allem wenn es um die Kombination und Ausnutzung von Fehlkonfigurationen geht. Der Wunsch, dass ein komplexes Gebilde in eine Zahl abstrahiert werden kann, bleibt unerfüllt. Das Gesamtresultat sollte daher entsprechend mit einer Analyse von Stärken und Schwächen dargestellt und nicht mit einer einfache Zahl dargestellt werden.

Der HardeningKitty Score ist dennoch nicht ohne Nutzen. Er kann beispielsweise verwendet werden, um nach wiederholten Prüfungen einfach die erzielte Verbesserung zu messen. Ebenso kann ein solcher Score als Schwellwert für zu erfüllende Hardening-Einstellungen verwendet werden, vorausgesetzt die Vor- und Nachteile eines Scores wurden berücksichtig und die Vorarbeiten in der Zusammenstellung einer Checkliste erledigt.

Über den Autor

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider arbeitet seit dem Jahr 2000 in der IT. Im Jahr 2010 hat er sich auf die Informationssicherheit spezialisiert. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehören das Penetration Testing, Hardening und das Aufspüren von Schwachstellen in Betriebssystemen. Er ist bekannt für eine Vielzahl in PowerShell geschrieber Tools zum Finden, Ausnutzen und Beheben von Schwachstellen. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

Sie wollen Ihr Log und Monitoring auf das nächste Level bringen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Lebewohl NTLM

Lebewohl NTLM

Michael Schneider

ContainerKitty

ContainerKitty

Michael Schneider

WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

HTTP Response Header

HTTP Response Header

Michael Schneider

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv