Password Leak Analysis - Extensive Analysis of Passwords

Password Leak Analysis

Extensive Analysis of Passwords

Marc Ruef
by Marc Ruef
on April 15, 2021
time to read: 18 minutes

Keypoints

How Passwords are Chosen

  • As part of our darknet monitoring service, we collect information on password leaks
  • These are imported into an analysis system and can thus be extensively statistically evaluated
  • The top 10 passwords usually consist of simple number sequences such as 123456 or primitive passwords such as qwertz
  • An examination of the different countries reveals linguistic and cultural differences in password selection
  • This information can be used to optimize bruteforce attacks

Password security is often seen as a classic entry-level topic in the field of information security. Accordingly, much has already been said and written about it. In the context of an extensive analysis of leaked account data, we want to conduct a broad analysis of passwords in this article. The number of passwords examined, as well as the statistical analysis of them, provides a unique insight into how passwords are chosen.

As part of our services on the Darknet, we have infiltrated a number of data markets. In these, stolen data, such as credit card information and passwords, are traded. The latter are of particular interest to us. This is because whenever a password leak is provided, we import it into an internal database in anonymized form. This system is then used to alert our customers about leaks that affect them.

Also, with this system, the extensive statistical analysis of passwords becomes possible (e.g. the analysis of the popular leak of libero.it in Italy). In the context of our Red Teaming projects we tend to use specially prepared password lists. This allows bruteforce attacks to be highly optimized. Some of these lists are freely available on our public GitHub repository.

Statistical Data of the Collected Leaks

Currently, our database stores over 733 million unique mail addresses and over 265 million unique passwords. In addition, meta-information about the leaks (e.g. source, date), usernames and hashes are also stored. However, these are negligible in the context of this analysis. Based on these primitive key figures, it can be said that a password is used 2.76 times on average.

The following graphic shows the most frequently used domains. It can be seen that mainly those of well-known freemailers and large providers are to be found. These include the international companies Yahoo with their freemailer (23.7%), Microsoft with Hotmail (16.6%) and Google with Gmail (11.1%). The first two are represented by additional regional top-level domains such as .fr (France), .co.uk (United Kingdom) and .de (Germany).

Distribution of domains in the password database

Companies with more local characteristics follow. These include, for example, mail.ru in Russia (6.7%), AOL with a focus on the USA (2.5%) and qq.com in China (0.6%).

By their nature, these figures represent the number of leaked information per service. At the same time, indirect conclusions can be drawn to a certain extent about the market penetration of the individual providers.

The following analyses have not been fully normalized. This means that anomalies have not been manually isolated or corrected. Such an anomaly occurs, for example, if a bot created several accounts and always used the same password. Or if certain terms (e.g. names, music groups, sports teams) are disproportionately represented due to a fashion movement. These anomalies can have a direct influence on the statistical circumstances and therefore disturb the underlying linguistic and cultural observation. Moreover, the analyses are always a snapshot and reflect the corresponding idiosyncrasies.

Top Passwords over All Data

Security companies like to use the specification of top passwords for advertising purposes. A closer look reveals that these lists are rarely based on an accurate and methodical approach. Many lists are outdated, copied together, or based on very limited data sets.

The following is an analysis of the top passwords across our entire dataset. The 20 most popular passwords are shown in descending order. We will encounter these passwords again and again in the following observations. All of them master the different breakdowns to a large extent.

Top 20 passwords over all data

Different Countries

In this paragraph, a breakdown of individual countries will take place. Thereby exemplarily selected states are examined. Thus, linguistic and cultural peculiarities can be identified. The association of a leaked data set to a country is primarily based on the domain used for the mail address. Either the provider is typical for the country (e.g. 126.com in China) or the top-level domain provides for use by a specific target group (e.g. hotmail.fr for France). The origin of a leak or the affected service itself has no influence on our investigations.

Breakdown of leaked data by country

The distribution of the collected data shows that a large part can be assigned to Russia (46.8%). Followed by United Kingdom (12.5%), France (10.4%) and Germany (7.5%). In the country-specific evaluations, states are omitted or given lower priority if only a small amount of data is available to us. These include, for example, Guinea-Bissau (0.0000111%), the Marshall Islands (0.0000115%), and Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba (0.000013%).

Switzerland – Straightforward and Direct

Top passwords in Switzerland

For Switzerland with its top-level domain .ch, the usual standard passwords, such as 123456 (0.59%) and 123456789 (0.14%) are found in first place.

Unusual but regionally explainable are the German spelling passwort (0.04%) and the expression hallo (0.46%) or the variation of it as hallo123 (0.029%). With daniel (0.029%) a widespread male name is represented. This one has been very popular for years, topped the Rankings in Switzerland last time in 2019.

Particularly unusual, and probably a statistical anomaly, are !~!1 (0.91%) and tintenprofi (0.031%). These presumably come from specific leaks in which a separate clustering of just these passwords has occurred, resulting in a distortion of the overall results for the country.

Germany – Cultural Differences

Top passwords in Germany

If we now compare Switzerland with the top-level domain .de in Germany, we quickly see obvious parallels that are due to linguistic and cultural similarities. Again, of course, 123456 (0.64%) and 123456789 (0.22%) are at the top. The distributions are not exactly the same, but they play out in a similar range. Likewise, hallo123 (0.052%) and hallo (0.042%) are also found in the top spots, albeit with a reversal in terms of the order.

As typically German passwords can be identified primarily those from the subject areas football. These include schalke04 (0.023%) and fussball (0.020%) per se. But also Mercedes (0.012%) can be clearly assigned to records from Germany. Likewise, an above-average number of vulgar expressions like fi--en (0.028%) and ar--hole (0.019%) can be found.

The analysis of our dataset also shows statistical anomalies here that can be attributed to specific leaks. Foremost among these is Y57gjng4gH (0.032%), which looks like a random choice of characters. It is odd that this is represented so often. Accordingly, it can be assumed that it is the password of an automated mechanism or a fabricated record.

Looking at the top 20 passwords in Germany, 1q2w3e4r (0.031%) also stands out. Here, too, it appears at first glance to be a random and correspondingly fabricated password. However, this is not correct, since it corresponds to the merging of the strings 1234 and qwer. The characters are entered alternately from left to right on the keyboard (see picture).

Graphical illustration of 1q2w3e4r

The input of characters from left to right is particularly popular, as can be seen in the examples qwerty resp. qwertz can be seen. The fact that qwerty (0.086%) is more common in Germany than qwertz (0.029%) is surprising, since German-speaking keyboards use the second layout. It must be assumed that either English-speaking users or English-speaking keyboard layouts are dominant in the German-speaking area.

Russia – Multiple Typical Patterns

Top passwords in Russia

The evaluation of .ru for Russia is quite extensive, as they currently account for almost half of the records in our database. Looking at the most used passwords, they can be divided into five categories:

  1. ascending number sequences (e.g. 123456 and 123456789).
  2. repeating numbers (e.g. 1111 and 666666)
  3. letter input from left to right (e.g. qwerty and zxcvbnm)
  4. merging strings (e.g. 1q2w3e4r5t and 1q2w3e4r)
  5. duplication of strings (e.g. 123123 and 123321)

This exposes most of the typical password patterns. Chances are very high that the choice of a classic password falls into one of these categories. The distribution of the most used passwords is also more even than in other countries.

China – Numbers Preferred

Top passwords in China

The evaluation of China was based on the one hand on the top-level domain .cn, but also on some well-known domains of the largest providers such as 163.com and 126.com. This means that Chinese users on non-typical top-level domains could also be taken into account.

Looking at the top 100, it is immediately noticeable that 53% of the passwords consist of pure numbers. This is in contrast to 20% of the passwords in Germany. This is probably due to the fact that many systems do not provide for password entry with Chinese characters. And users are more likely to want to remember numerical combinations than foreign-language – mostly English – words.

By trying the top 100 passwords, a success rate of 3.01% is achieved for Germany. For Russia, this is above average at 5.46%. But for China even 7.11% is possible, which is due to the identified reduced entropy.

Passwords by Services

Top passwords of the domain yahoo.com

Just as a study of the most popular passwords per country can be implemented, this can be done for individual providers. As a sample, we have examined the data sets of the three most popular mail providers: yahoo.com (see graphic), hotmail.com and gmail.com.

At least among these three, there are no significant differences to the country-specific observations. The usual passwords are found in the front area. These include 123456 (0.73-1.02%) in first place and 123456789 (0.26-0.47%) in second place for all of them. This is actually followed by password (0.11-0.22%), but this has been pushed down to third place by fuk19600 (0.19%) at hotmail.com. This is probably again a password of automatically generated accounts or a fabricated record. Other similar effects can be observed again and again.

Password and Year Numbers

Year numbers are popular 4-digit PINs. Here we can see that 2005 (2.62%) tops the list and is immediately followed by 2004 (2.55%). This is followed by 2000 (2.32%) and 2003 (2.14%). Only now comes the first year from the 20th century: Namely the year 1987 (2.12%).

Top passwords of year numbers

Statistically, this observation becomes more exciting when the years are summarized in decades. Here we see that the decade 2000-2009 (18.71%) is closely followed by 1980-1989 (17.70%). After that, we find 1970-1979 (14.56%) and 1990-1999 (14.15%). This corresponds quite well to the primary audience of today’s Internet.

Here, the origin of the years must be distinguished. In most cases, the user’s own year of birth will probably be chosen. However, it is not unusual that also important events (e.g. wedding) or the birth years of one’s own children are used.

Top passwords grouped by decades

PINs (digits only)

Next, PIN (Personal Identification Number) of all types are searched for, which consist exclusively of numbers. In the case of 4-digit PINs, it can be seen that the usual standard patterns are also given for such short PINs. These include incremental number sequences such as 1233 (10.5%) and 4321 (0.25%), overall repetitions such as 1111 (1.62%) and 0000 (1.15%), and partial repetitions such as 1212 (0.52%) and 6969 (0.26%) (see the breakdown in the analysis of Russia).

Top 4-digit PINs

Some number series also look like years. For example 2005 (0.26%) and 2004 (0.25%). Whether these are really vintages or just patterns is difficult to say. The consideration of vintages was done before in a separate chapter.

Dates, for example birthdays or anniversaries, could also occur. However, they are underrepresented in terms of statistical distribution. In the Top 100, only a few come into question for this. Most likely a clear assignment of this form, since it is not a known year or an obvious pattern, can take place with 1231 (0.08%).

It is questionable whether these PINs also allow conclusions to be drawn about the relative distribution on devices such as smartphones and input terminals at ATMs. However, a comparison with other studies shows that the expected distribution can very well be observed here.

Pos PIN Datagenetics scip Difference
1 1234 10.713% 10.492% -0.220
2 1111 6.016% 1.624% -4.391
3 0000 1.881% 1.156% -0.724
4 1212 1.197% 0.528% -0.668
5 7777 0.745% 0.362% -0.382
6 1004 0.616% 0.095% -0.520
7 2000 0.613% 0.232% -0.380
8 4444 0.526% 0.358% -0.168
9 2222 0.516% 0.363% -0.152
10 6969 0.512% 0.267% -0.244

Average Password Lengths

Finally, the average length of the passwords should be discussed. This amounts to 9.7771 characters across all data sets and is thus above the traditional rule of thumb of 8 characters.

The breakdown by country now provides a basic overview of how highly anchored the understanding of security is in the respective cultures. Although this may provide a trend, the data must be seen in context. For some countries, there is relatively little leaked data. And others are dominated by generated and fabricated passwords. This can distort the view.

This distortion is the case for Eswatini (sz). The average length of this relatively small country with only about 1.1 million inhabitants is 24.6 characters. This is more than twice as long as Cookinseln (ck), which comes second with 11.5 characters. The number of inhabitants is also very limited with more than 18’000 and the meaningfulness is accordingly limited. For this reason, we have made an adjustment and only included countries in the statistics where there are at least 10,000 leaked accounts.

Distribution of average password lengths by country

After adjusting the data, a very concrete picture emerges. Ireland (ie) is in first place with 11.2 characters. This could be due to the fact that many large tech companies have corresponding connections to Ireland and thus exert direct or indirect influence on password structures.

This is followed by Kazakhstan (kz) with 9.674, Palau (pw) with 9.673 and Tokelau (tk) with 9.63. No countries known for technical developments. In the case of the top-level domain pw, the association with the term password could lead security-savvy users to prefer such addresses and actually not associate with the country otherwise.

Another western country is Belgium, which has an average password length of 9.55. United Kingdom with 9.43, Russia with 9.10 and Germany with 8.92 are also in the best quarter.

Rather average are Italy with 8.44, China with 8.33, USA with 8.21 and France with 8.18 characters.

Switzerland ranks in the last quarter with an average length of only 8.03 characters. It is difficult to say whether this is due to a lack of understanding of security, an increased willingness to take risks, or a concretely graded risk assessment.

Conclusion

Password lists seem archaic, but on closer inspection they still hold some hidden secrets. Skillful statistical analyses can identify cultural and technical conditions, thanks to which highly specialized and optimized password lists can be compiled.

In many places, the top passwords are the same or similar. In particular, ascending numerical strings and simple letter combinations are encountered time and again. The situation is similar for PINs, with anniversaries and years also playing an important role.

The study of average password lengths holds a few surprises in store, since above-average lengths can also be observed in countries that would not necessarily be considered highly risk-sensitive. It is therefore all the more unfortunate to see that Switzerland remains in the last quarter in this respect, even though we are considered a country with a high understanding of risk.

About the Author

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef has been working in information security since the late 1990s. He is well-known for his many publications and books. The last one called The Art of Penetration Testing is discussing security testing in detail. He is a lecturer at several universities, like ETH, HWZ, HSLU and IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

Is your data also traded on the dark net?

We are going to monitor the digital underground for you!

×
Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Data Markets

Data Markets

Marc Ruef

MITRE ATT&CK

MITRE ATT&CK

Marc Ruef

scip Cybersecurity Forecast

scip Cybersecurity Forecast

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Password Leak Analyse - Breitflächige Untersuchung von Passwörtern

Password Leak Analyse

Breitflächige Untersuchung von Passwörtern

Marc Ruef
von Marc Ruef
am 15. April 2021
Lesezeit: 18 Minuten

Keypoints

So werden Passwörter ausgewählt

  • Im Rahmen unserer Darknet-Monitoring Dienstleistung sammeln wir Informationen zu Passwort-Leaks
  • Diese werden in ein Analyse-System importiert und lassen sich so umfangreich statistisch auswerten
  • Die Top 10 Passwörter bestehen üblicherweise aus simplen Zahlenreihen wie 123456 oder primitive Passswörter wie qwertz
  • Eine Betrachtung der unterschiedlichen Länder lässt sprachliche und kulturelle Unterschiede bei der Passwortwahl ausmachen
  • Diese Information kann zur Optimierung von Bruteforce-Attacken herangezogen werden

Passwortsicherheit wird gerne als klassisches Einstiegsthema in den Bereich Informationssicherheit verstanden. Entsprechend viel wurde schon darüber gesagt und geschrieben. Im Rahmen einer umfangreichen Analyse von geleakten Kontodaten wollen wir in diesem Beitrag eine breitflächige Analyse von Passwörtern vornehmen. Die Anzahl der untersuchten Passwörter sowie die statistische Auswertung dieser gibt einen einmaligen Einblick, wie Passwörter ausgewählt werden.

Im Rahmen unserer Dienstleistungen im Darknet haben wir eine Reihe von Datenmärkten infiltriert. In diesen werden gestohlene Daten, wie zum Beispiel Kreditkarteninformationen und Passwörter, gehandelt. Gerade letztgenannte sind für uns von besonderem Interesse. Denn wenn immer ein Passwort-Leak zur Verfügung gestellt wird, importieren wir dieses in anonymisierter Form in eine interne Datenbank. Dieses System wird dann verwendet, um unsere Kunden über Leaks, die sie betreffen, informieren zu können.

Ebenfalls wird mit diesem System die umfangreiche statistische Analyse von Passwörtern möglich (z.B. die Auswertung des populären Leaks von libero.it in Italien). Im Rahmen unserer Red Team Projekte pflegen wir eigens angefertigte Passwort-Listen zu verwenden. Dadurch können Bruteforce-Attacken hochgradig optimiert werden. Einige dieser Listen stehen auf unserem öffentlichen GitHub Repository zur freien Verfügung.

Statistische Daten der gesammelten Leaks

Gegenwärtig sind in unserer Datenbank über 733 Millionen eindeutige Mailadressen sowie über 265 Millionen eindeutige Passwörter gespeichert. Zusätzlich werden ebenfalls Meta-Informationen zu den Leaks (z.B. Quelle, Datum), Benutzernamen und Hashes abgelegt. Diese sind im Rahmen dieser Analyse jedoch zu vernachlässigen. Anhand dieser primitiven Kennzahlen kann gesagt werden, dass ein Passwort im Schnitt 2.76 Mal verwendet wird.

Die nachfolgende Grafik zeigt die meistvorhandenen Domains. Es ist zu sehen, dass vorwiegend solche von bekannten Freemailern und grossen Providern zu finden sind. Dazu gehören die internationalen Firmen Yahoo mit ihrem Freemailer (23.7%), Microsoft mit Hotmail (16.6%) und Google mit Gmail (11.1%). Die beiden erstgenannten sind mit zusätzlichen regionalen Top-Level-Domains wie .fr (Frankreich), .co.uk (United Kingdom) und .de (Deutschland) vertreten.

Verteilung der Domains der Passwort-Datenbank

Firmen mit eher lokalen Ausprägungen folgen. Dazu gehören beispielsweise mail.ru in Russland (6.7%), AOL mit Fokus USA (2.5%) und qq.com in China (0.6%).

Diese Zahlen repräsentieren naturbedingt die Anzahl der geleakten Informationen pro Dienst. Zeitgleich kann zu einem gewissen Grad indirekt Rückschluss auf die Marktdurchdringung der einzelnen Anbieter gezogen werden.

Die nun folgenden Auswertungen sind nicht vollumfänglich bereinigt. Dies bedeutet, dass Anomalien nicht manuell isoliert oder korrigiert wurden. Eine solche Anomalie tritt zum Beispiel dann auf, wenn ein Bot verschiedene Konten erstellt hat und stets das gleiche Passwort zum Einsatz kam. Oder wenn gerade auf Grund einer Modebewegung bestimmte Begriffe (z.B. Namen, Musikgruppen, Sportmannschaften) überproportional vertreten sind. Diese Anomalien können direkten Einfluss auf die statistischen Gegebenheiten haben und deshalb die zugrundeliegende sprachliche und kulturelle Beobachtung stören. Die Analysen sind zudem stets eine Momentaufnahme und reflektieren die entsprechenden Eigenheiten.

Top-Passwörter über alle Daten

Sicherheitsfirmen nutzen die Angabe von Top-Passwörtern gerne für werbetechnische Zwecke. Bei näherer Betrachtung fällt auf, dass diesen Listen selten ein akkurater und methodischer Ansatz zugrundeliegt. Viele Listen sind veraltet, zusammenkopiert oder basieren auf sehr eingeschränkten Datensätzen.

Nachfolgend wird über unseren gesamten Datenbestand eine Analyse der Top-Passwörter durchgeführt. Dabei werden die 20 beliebtesten Passwörter in absteigender Reihenfolge gezeigt. Diese Passwörter werden uns in den folgenden Betrachtungen immer wieder begegnen. Alle von diesen beherrschen zu grossen Teilen die unterschiedlichen Aufschlüsselungen.

Top 20 Passwörter über alle Daten

Verschiedene Länder

In diesem Absatz soll eine Aufschlüsselung einzelner Länder stattfinden. Dabei werden exemplarisch ausgewählte Staaten untersucht. Dadurch lassen sich sprachliche und kulturelle Eigenheiten ausmachen. Die Assoziation eines geleakten Datensatzes zu einem Land erfolgt in erster Linie anhand der für die Mailadresse genutzten Domain. Entweder handelt es sich um einen ländertypischen Anbieter (z.B. 126.com in China) oder die Top-Level-Domain sieht die Nutzung für eine spezifische Zielgruppe vor (z.B. hotmail.fr für Frankreich). Die Herkunft eines Leaks oder der betroffene Dienst an sich hat dabei keinen Einfluss auf unsere Untersuchungen.

Aufschlüsselung der geleakten Daten nach Land

Die Verteilung der gesammelten Daten zeigt, dass ein Grossteil Russland (46.8%) zugeordnet werden kann. Gefolgt von United Kingdom (12.5%), Frankreich (10.4%) und Deutschland (7.5%). Bei den länderspezifischen Auswertungen werden Staaten ausgelassen oder mit niedrigerer Priorität behandelt, falls uns nur eine kleine Menge an Daten zur Verfügung steht. Dazu gehören Beispielsweise Guinea-Bissau (0.0000111%), die Marshallinseln (0.0000115%) und Bonaire, Sint Eustatius und Saba (0.000013%).

Schweiz – Gradlinig und direkt

Top-Passwörter in der Schweiz

Für die Schweiz mit ihrer Top-Level-Domain .ch finden sich die üblichen Standardpasswörter, wie zum Beispiel 123456 (0.59%) und 123456789 (0.14%) an erster Stelle.

Unüblich aber regional erklärbar sind die deutsche Schreibweise passwort (0.04%) und der Ausdruck hallo (0.46%) bzw. die Abwandlung davon als hallo123 (0.029%). Mit daniel (0.029%) ist ein weit verbreiteter männlicher Name vertreten. Dieser ist seit Jahren sehr populär, führte das letzte Mal im Jahr 2019 die Rangliste in der Schweiz an.

Besonders ungewöhnlich und wahrscheinlich eine statistische Anomalie, sind !~!1 (0.91%) und tintenprofi (0.031%). Diese stammen voraussichtlich aus spezifischen Leaks, in denen eine gesonderte Häufung eben dieser Passwörter vorgekommen ist, wodurch sich eine Verzerrung der Gesamtresultate des Landes beobachten lassen.

Deutschland – Kulturelle Abweichungen

Top-Passwörter in Deutschland

Wenn wir nun die Schweiz mit der Top-Level-Domain .de in Deutschland vergleichen, dann sehen wir schnell offensichtliche Parallelen, die auf sprachliche und kulturelle Gemeinsamkeiten zurückzuführen sind. Auch hier sind natürlich 123456 (0.64%) und 123456789 (0.22%) an der Spitze vertreten. Die Distributionen sind zwar nicht exakt gleich, spielen sich aber in einem ähnlichen Bereich ab. Ebenso findet sich auch hier hallo123 (0.052%) und hallo (0.042%) auf den vorderen Plätzen, wenn auch mit einer Umkehr in Bezug auf die Reihenfolge.

Als typisch deutsche Passwörter lassen sich in erster Linie solche aus den Themenbereichen Fussball identifizieren. Dazu gehören schalke04 (0.023%) und fussball (0.020%) ansich. Aber auch Mercedes (0.012%) kann eindeutig Datensätzen aus Deutschland zugewiesen werden. Ebenso sind eine überdurchschnittliche Anzahl vulgärer Ausdrücke wie fi--en (0.028%) und ar--loch (0.019%) zu finden.

Die Auswertung unseres Datensatzes zeigt auch hier statistische Anomalien, die auf spezifische Leaks zurückzuführen sind. Dazu gehört in erster Linie Y57gjng4gH (0.032%), das wie eine zufällige Wahl von Zeichen aussieht. Es ist sonderbar, dass diese so oft vertreten ist. Entsprechend ist anzunehmen, dass es sich um das Passwört eines automatisierten Mechanismus oder um einen fabrizierten Datensatz handelt.

Betrachtet man sich die Top 20 Passwörter in Deutschland, dann fällt ebenso 1q2w3e4r (0.031%) auf. Auch hier scheint es sich auf den ersten Blick um ein zufälliges und entsprechend fabriziertes Passwort zu handeln. Das ist jedoch nicht korrekt, entspricht es doch dem Zusammenführen der Zeichenketten 1234 und qwer. Abwechselnd werden die Zeichen von links nach rechts auf der Tastatur eingegeben (siehe Bild).

Darstellung der Eingabe von 1q2w3e4r

Die Eingabe von Zeichen von Links nach Rechts ist besonders beliebt, wie an den Beispielen qwerty bzw. qwertz zu sehen ist. Diese finden sich in der Regel in allen Sprachen in den Top 10. Dass qwerty (0.086%) in Deutschland eher vorkommt anstatt qwertz (0.029%) ist erstaunlich, da deutschsprachige Tastaturen das zweitgenannte Layout einsetzen. Es muss davon ausgegangen werden, dass entweder englischsprachige Benutzer oder englischsprachige Tastaturlayouts dominant im deutschsprachigen Raum vorhanden sind.

Russland – Verschiedene typische Muster

Top-Passwörter in Russland

Die Auswertung von .ru für Russland ist ziemlich umfangreich, da diese gegenwärtig fast die Hälfte der in unserer Datenbank befindlichen Datensätze ausmachen. Betrachtet man sich die meistgenutzten Passwörter, so lassen sich diese in fünf Kategorien unterteilen:

  1. Aufsteigende Zahlenreihen (z.B. 123456 und 123456789)
  2. Wiederholende Zahlen (z.B. 111111 und 666666)
  3. Buchstabeneingaben von Links nach Rechts (z.B. qwerty und zxcvbnm)
  4. Zusammenführen von Zeichenketten (z.B. 1q2w3e4r5t und 1q2w3e4r)
  5. Duplizierung von Zeichenketten (z.B. 123123 und 123321)

Damit ist ein Grossteil der typischen Passwortmuster entlarvt. Die Chancen sind sehr gross, dass die Wahl eines klassischen Passworts in eine dieser Kategorien fällt. Die Verteilung der meistgenutzten Passwörter ist ebenso gleichmässiger, als in anderen Ländern.

China – Zahlen bevorzugt

Top-Passwörter in China

Die Auswertung von China wurde einerseits anhand der Top-Level-Domain .cn, aber auch anhand einiger bekannter Domains der grössten Provider wie 163.com und 126.com vorgenommen. Es konnten also auch chinesische Nutzer auf nicht-typischen Top-Level-Domains berücksichtigt werden.

Betrachtet man sich die Top 100, so fällt unmittelbar auf, dass 53% der Passwört aus reinen Zahlen bestehen. Im Unterschied zu 20% der Passwörter in Deutschland. Dies ist voraussichtlich dem Umstand geschuldet, dass viele Systeme eine Passworteingabe mit chinesischen Zeichen nicht vorsehen. Und dass die Nutzer sich entsprechend eher Zahlenkombinationen merken wollen, als fremdsprachige – meistens englische – Wörter.

Mit dem Durchprobieren der Top 100 Passwörter wird für Deutschland eine Erfolgschange von 3.01% erreicht. Bei Russland fällt diese mit 5.46% überdurchschnittlich hoch aus. Doch bei China wird gar 7.11% möglich, was auf die identifizierte reduzierte Entropie zurückzuführen ist.

Passwörter nach Diensten

Top-Passwörter der Domain yahoo.com

Genauso wie eine Untersuchung der beliebtesten Passwörter pro Land umgesetzt werden kann, kann dies für einzelne Anbieter geschehen. Probeweisen haben wir die Datensätze der drei meistvertretenen Mailanbieter untersucht: yahoo.com (siehe Grafik), hotmail.com und gmail.com.

Dabei sind, mindestens unter diesen drei, keine nennenswerten Unterschiede zu den länderbezogenen Betrachtungen festzustellen. Es finden sich die üblichen Passwörter im vorderen Bereich. Dazu gehören bei allen die Zahlenreihen 123456 (0.73-1.02%) an erster und 123456789 (0.26-0.47%) an zweiter Stelle. Eigentlich folgt darauf password (0.11-0.22%), das jedoch bei hotmail.com durch fuk19600 (0.19%) auf den dritten Platz verdrängt wurde. Hierbei handelt es sich voraussichtlich wiederum um ein Passwort automatisch generierter Konten oder einen fabrizierten Datensatz. Weitere ähnliche Effekte sind immer wieder zu beobachten.

Passwort und Jahreszahlen

Jahreszahlen sind beliebte 4-stellige PINs. Hierbei ist zu sehen, dass 2005 (2.62%) die Liste anführt und direkt von 2004 (2.55%) gefolgt wird. Danach folgen 2000 (2.32%) und 2003 (2.14%). Erst jetzt kommt die erste Jahreszahl aus dem 20. Jahrhundert: Nämlich das Jahr 1987 (2.12%).

Top-Passwörter der Jahreszahlen

Statistisch spannender wird diese Betrachtung, wenn die Jahre in Dekaden zusammengefasst werden. Hier ist zu sehen, dass die Dekade 2000-2009 (18.71%) dicht durch 1980-1989 (17.70%) gefolgt wird. Danach finden sich 1970-1979 (14.56%) und 1990-1999 (14.15%). Dies entspricht ganz gut dem primären Publikum des heutigen Internets.

Hierbei muss die Herkunft der Jahreszahlen unterschieden werden. In den meisten Fällen wird wohl das eigene Geburtsjahr gewählt werden. Es ist aber nicht unüblich, dass ebenfalls wichtige Ereignisse (z.B. Hochzeit) oder die Geburtsjahre der eigenen Kinder eingesetzt werden.

Top-Passwörter nach Dekaden

PINs (nur Zahlen)

Als nächstes werden PIN (Personal Identification Number) aller Art gesucht, die ausschliesslich aus Zahlen bestehen. Bei 4-stelligen PINs ist zu sehen, dass die üblichen Standardmuster auch bei solch kurzen PINs gegeben sind. Dazu gehören inkrementelle Zahlenreihen wie 1233 (10.5%) und 4321 (0.25%), gesamtheitliche Wiederholungen wie 1111 (1.62%) und 0000 (1.15%) sowie partielle Wiederholungen wie 1212 (0.52%) und 6969 (0.26%) (siehe die Aufgliederung in der Betrachtung von Russland).

Top 4-stellige PINs

Manche Zahlenreihen sehen ebenfalls wie Jahrgänge aus. So zum Beispiel 2005 (0.26%) und 2004 (0.25%). Ob es sich wirklich um Jahrgänge handelt oder doch nur um Muster, ist schwierig zu sagen. Die Betrachtung von Jahrgängen wurde zuvor in einem separaten Kapitel vorgenommen.

Datumsangaben, zum Beiespiel Geburtstage oder Jahrestage, könnten auch vorkommen. Sind aber rein von der statistischen Verteilung her unterrepräsentiert. In den Top 100 kommen nur einige wenige hierfür in Frage. Am ehesten kann eine eindeutige Zuweisung dieser Form, da es sich nicht um eine bekannte Jahreszahl oder ein offensichtliches Muster handelt, bei 1231 (0.08%) stattfinden.

Es ist fragwürdig, ob diese PINs ebenfalls Rückschlüsse auf die relative Distribution auf Geräten wie Smartphones und Eingabeterminals bei Bankautomaten zulassen. Ein Vergleich mit anderen Studien zeigt jedoch, dass hier sehr wohl die erwartete Distribution beobachtet werden kann.

Pos PIN Datagenetics scip Abweichung
1 1234 10.713% 10.492% -0.220
2 1111 6.016% 1.624% -4.391
3 0000 1.881% 1.156% -0.724
4 1212 1.197% 0.528% -0.668
5 7777 0.745% 0.362% -0.382
6 1004 0.616% 0.095% -0.520
7 2000 0.613% 0.232% -0.380
8 4444 0.526% 0.358% -0.168
9 2222 0.516% 0.363% -0.152
10 6969 0.512% 0.267% -0.244

Durchschnittliche Passwort-Längen

Abschliessend soll die durchschnittliche Länge der Passwörter diskutiert werden. Diese beträgt über alle Datensätze hinweg 9.7771 zeichen und liegt damit über der traditionellen Faustregel von 8 Zeichen.

Die Aufschlüsselung nach Ländern gibt nun einen grundlegenden Überblick, wie hoch das Sicherheitsverständnis in den jeweiligen Kulturen verankert ist. Auch wenn sich dadurch ein Trend ermitteln lässt, müssen die Daten im Kontext gesehen werden. Für manche Länder liegen verhältnismässig wenige geleakte Daten vor. Und andere werden von generierten und fabrizierten Passwörtern beherrscht. Dies kann die Betrachtung verfälschen.

Diese Verfälschung ist bei Eswatini (sz) der Fall. Die durchschnittliche Länge dieses relativ kleinen Landes mit nur rund 1.1 Millionen Einwohnern beträgt 24.6 Zeichen. Dies ist mehr als doppelt so lange wie die Cookinseln (ck), die mit 11.5 Zeichen an zweiter Stelle kommen. Die Einwohnerzahl ist mit über 18’000 ebenfalls stark begrenzt und die Aussagekraft entsprechend eingeschränkt. Aus diesem Grund haben wir eine Bereinigung vorgenommen und nur Länder in der Statistik berücksichtigt, bei denen mindestens 10’000 geleakte Konten vorliegen.

Verteilung der durchschnittlichen Passwortlänge über alle Länder

Nach Bereinigung der Daten ergibt sich ein sehr konkretes Bild. Weit vorne an erster Stelle mit 11.2 Zeichen findet sich Irland (ie). Dies könnte daran liegen, dass viele grosse Tech-Firmen entsprechende Verbindungen nach Irland haben und so direkten oder indirekten Einfluss auf Passwortstrukturen ausüben.

Danach folgen Kasachstan (kz) mit 9.674, Palau (pw) mit 9.673 und Tokelau (tk) mit 9.63. Keine Länder, die für technische Entwicklungen bekannt sind. Bei der Top-Level-Domain pw könnte die Assoziation mit dem Begriff Password dazu führen, dass sicherheitsaffine Nutzer solche Adressen bevorzugen und eigentlich mit dem Land nicht anderweitig assoziiert sind.

Ein weiteres westliches Land ist Belgien, das eine durchschnittliche Passwortlänge von 9.55 aufweist. United Kingdom mit 9.43, Russland mit 9.10 und Deutschland mit 8.92 sind ebenfalls im besten Viertel zu finden.

Eher durchschnittlich sind Italien mit 8.44, China mit 8.33, USA mit 8.21 und Frankreich mit 8.18 Zeichen.

Die Schweiz rangiert im letzten Viertel mit einer durchschnittlichen Länge von lediglich 8.03 Zeichen. Ob dies an einem mangelhaften Sicherheitsverständnis, einer erhöhten Risikobereitschaft oder einer konkret abgestuften Risikobeurteilung liegt, ist schwierig zu sagen.

Fazit

Passwortlisten muten archaisch an, halten aber bei näherer Betrachtung noch immer einige verborgene Geheimnisse bereit. Durch geschickte statistische Analysen lassen sich kulturelle und technische Gegebenheiten identifizieren, dank denen sich hochgradig spezialisierte und optimierte Passwortlisten zusammenstellen lassen.

Dabei fallen die Top-Passwörter vielerorts gleich oder ähnlich aus. Vor allem aufsteigende Zahlenreichen und simple Buchstabenkombinationen sind immer wieder anzutreffen. Bei PINs verhält es sich ähnlich, wobei da Jahrestage und Jahrgänge ebenfalls eine wichtige Rolle spielen.

Die Untersuchung der durchschnittlichen Passwortlängen hält einige Überraschungen bereit, da überdurchschnittliche Längen auch bei Ländern zu beobachten sind, denen nicht unbedingt eine hohe Risikosensitivät beimessen würde. Umso sehr ist es schade zu sehen, dass die Schweiz diesbezüglich im letzten Viertel verbleibt, obwohl wir als Land mit hohem Risikoverständnis gelten.

Über den Autor

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef ist seit Ende der 1990er Jahre im Cybersecurity-Bereich aktiv. Er hat vor allem im deutschsprachigen Raum aufgrund der Vielzahl durch ihn veröffentlichten Fachpublikationen und Bücher – dazu gehört besonders Die Kunst des Penetration Testing – Bekanntheit erlangt. Er ist Dozent an verschiedenen Hochschulen, darunter ETH, HWZ, HSLU und IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

Werden auch Ihre Daten im Darknet gehandelt?

Wir führen gerne für Sie ein Monitoring des Digitalen Untergrunds durch!

×
Ransomware erkennen, abwehren und verfolgen

Ransomware erkennen, abwehren und verfolgen

Marc Ruef

Datenmärkte

Datenmärkte

Marc Ruef

MITRE ATT&CK

MITRE ATT&CK

Marc Ruef

scip Cybersecurity Forecast

scip Cybersecurity Forecast

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv