The Secure Use of IoT Protocols - An Introduction

The Secure Use of IoT Protocols

An Introduction

Ralph Meier
by Ralph Meier
on September 02, 2021
time to read: 11 minutes

Keypoints

How to use and protect IoT

  • Many devices in the home have an IoT connection
  • Core competencies of different IoT protocols
  • Broad configuration options of MQTT
  • How to secure MQTT, CoAP, AMQP and DDS

The variety of devices on the Internet of Things (IoT) has almost exploded in recent years. Many household appliances or everyday objects have an IoT connection or can be integrated into a smart home system.

But how does the communication of IoT devices work and which protocols are used? This article is about IoT protocols, which are located in the application layer with a focus on MQTT and about securing the protocols, but not securing the infrastructure.

Message Queuing Telemetry Transport (MQTT)

The most well-known IoT communication protocol is currently Message Queuing Telemetry Transport, Quelle: https://docs.oasis-open.org/mqtt/mqtt/v5.0/mqtt-v5.0.html (MQTT). This is a network protocol designed for machine-to-machine (M2M) communication. The client-server protocol is based on the publish-subscribe model. MQTT usually works via TCP. However, there are also variants of the protocol that work with UDP.

IoT Use-Case with MQTT

IoT use case with MQTT

The client, in this case a Raspberry Pi with a room temperature sensor, sends sensor data to the server (MQTT broker). After the connection between client and server is established, data is sent on a predefined topic. This topic can be Office/Meetingroom/Temperature, for example. The use case could be that the office control subscribes to this topic and informs employees about the temperature shortly before their next meeting in the “meeting room”, thus giving them the opportunity for early ventilation.

MQTT is widely used in sensors and actuators, mobile phones, embedded systems or even full-fledged desktop computers. Ports 1883 and 8883 are reserved for MQTT. A great advantage of MQTT is the MQTT broker, which takes over important tasks from the often resource-poor client. This is also the reason for its widespread use in automation and control solutions.

The interaction works as follows: IoT devices send data, states or other information to the MQTT broker, which sends the received data to other devices and systems that have subscribed to the corresponding topic. This means that the IoT device only has to send the data to the MQTT broker, which saves a lot of complexity and performance.

MQTT Configuration Options

The MQTT protocol offers the following configuration options for Quality of Service (QoS), ensuring the arrival of a message:

Level Value Description
At most once 0 Send once, probably no arrival if connection is interrupted
At least once 1 Send until reception is confirmed
Exactly once 2 Ensuring that the message arrives even if the connection is interrupted

The retain option in the broker enables messages to be saved and the last message of the topic to be delivered immediately in the case of a new subscription. When establishing a connection, it is possible to define what happens in the event of an interruption or complete termination of a connection, or which message should be sent to the subscribers in such a case.

Structure of an MQTT Packet

The protocol header is 2 bytes in size, the first byte contains the message type (4 bits) as well as specific flags depending on the message type, for example, in the case of a publish message, duplicate delivery (1 bit), quality of service (2 bits) and the retain flag (1 bit). The length of the remaining payload is noted in the second byte. This is followed by the variable part with the MQTT topic and the payload.

Structure of a MQTT packet

How do you secure MQTT?

MQTT can be encrypted and thus protected with the use of TLS at the transport layer, using port 8883 (secure-MQTT). The article Transport Layer Security explains the latest changes and shows the recommended TLS configuration. In addition, there is the option that the sender authenticates itself to the MQTT broker using an X.509 certificate.

MQTT itself has authentication through username and password. It must be noted that without the use of TLS, the transmission takes place in plain text and can thus be easily intercepted. In addition to the username and password, a client identifier can also be added to the connect message. This process first checks the username and password combination and then whether the client identifier sent with the message matches. There is an option for encryption of the payload, which should be considered if TLS cannot be used due to very low available hardware.

How does Authorisation work in MQTT?

The control is carried out on the MQTT broker, namely via so-called Topic Permissions. The following options are available:

Constrained Application Protocol (CoAP)

CoAP is an IoT protocol that is best suited for nodes with few resources, i.e. low-power processors such as 8-bit microcontrollers with little RAM and ROM. The protocol is also designed for machine-to-machine (M2M) applications, whether on the same network or over the internet. Applications can be found in smart energy and building automation. CoAP works differently from MQTT in a request/response interaction model between endpoints.

The big advantages of CoAP are the simple conversion to HTTP, the support of multicast as well as the low overhead of the protocol and the simplicity for devices with very low resources. CoAP runs on most devices that support UDP.

How can you secure CoAP?

The CoAP protocol offers four different security models, most of which use Datagram Transport Layer Security (DTLS). DTLS is an encryption protocol for unreliable transport protocols such as UDP or SCTP. DTLS is based on TLS and provides similar security.

Security models of CoAP:

Advanced Message Queuing Protocol (AMQP)

AMQP is an open standard that is an application-level binary network protocol for message-oriented middleware (MOM). AMQP is built on top of TCP. The AMQP protocol was created to support many different types of messages and communication patterns. It supports different message-delivery guarantees, which correspond to the Quality of Service of MQTT.

How can you secure AMQP?

AMQP can be encrypted with TLS, then port 5671 (amqps) is used. The client must validate the server’s certificate. Additional security is provided by authenticating the client by the server using the client certificate.

With the support of the Simple Authentication and Security Layer (SASL) framework, there is another option for authentication and negotiation of communication parameters. SASL offers many different mechanisms for authentication including OAuth 2.0 bearer tokens, Kerberos, NTLM, OTP and many more. Among these, there is also an “ANONYMOUS” variant, whereby this is an unauthenticated variant and should therefore not be supported.

Data Distribution Service (DDS)

DDS (Data Distribution Service) is an open standard that is ideal for real time systems. DDS provides broad support from the smallest devices to fast desktop computers and is designed to eliminate complicated network programming. DDS increases reliability, is simple and uses the publish-subscribe model. The DDS protocol is often used in aerospace, air traffic control, autonomous vehicles, medical devices, robots and other applications that require real-time data exchange.

Similar to the MQTT protocol, there are publishers who create topics and send samples. DDS distributes these samples to the subscribers of the respective topics.

DDS is also referred to as network middleware, which handles the addressing of messages and the serialisation and deserialisation of messages in cross-platform communication. DDS also manages authorisation and error handling if a message cannot be delivered. Quality of Service (QoS) can also be configured with DDS. DDS supports hot-swapping between redundant publishers, whereby a backup node steps in if the primary publisher fails.

How can you secure DDS?

Before the DDS security model existed, mainly TLS and DTLS were used to secure DDS, but this only worked with unicast.

The DDS security model, which was added later, is modular and allows different areas to be added as plug-ins. The following plug-ins are available in the security area:

The plug-ins Authentication, Access Control and Cryptography should be used in any case when using DDS. Depending on the area of application and purpose, the remaining plug-ins Logging and Data Tagging should also be used.

Conclusion

All protocols have their own strengths, so it is worth evaluating which feature is most important in your own environment. Depending on the application, this can be the real-time capability, the good use for low-resource devices or the simple development. Securing the IoT protocol used is important and should be done precisely and, if possible, tested before commissioning. Many of the IoT protocols presented can be secured with TLS, here it is important to use a secure TLS configuration.

About the Author

Ralph Meier

Ralph Meier completed an apprenticeship as an application developer, with a focus on web development with Java, at a major Swiss bank and then completed a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science UAS Zurich at the ZHAW School of Engineering. His primary task is doing security-related analysis of web applications and services.

Links

You want to bring your logging and monitoring to the next level?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Programming Language Go

Programming Language Go

Ralph Meier

Online Tracking

Online Tracking

Ralph Meier

Web-Shells

Web-Shells - An Overview

Ralph Meier

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Der sichere Einsatz von IoT-Protokollen - Eine Einführung

Der sichere Einsatz von IoT-Protokollen

Eine Einführung

Ralph Meier
von Ralph Meier
am 02. September 2021
Lesezeit: 11 Minuten

Keypoints

So nutzt und sichert man IoT-Protokolle

  • Viele Geräte in den eigenen vier Wänden haben eine IoT-Anbindung
  • Kernkompetenzen von verschiedenen IoT-Protokollen
  • Breite Konfigurationsmöglichkeiten von MQTT
  • Absicherung von MQTT, CoAP, AMQP und DDS

Die Vielfalt der Geräte im Internet der Dinge (eng. Internet of Things, IoT) ist in den letzten Jahren beinahe explodiert. Viele Haushaltsgeräte oder alltäglichen Gegenstände verfügen über eine IoT-Anbindung oder lassen sich in ein Smart Home System integrieren.

Wie aber funktioniert die Kommunikation der IoT-Geräte und welche Protokolle kommen dabei zum Einsatz? In diesem Artikel geht es um IoT-Protokolle, welche in der Anwendungsschicht angesiedelt sind mit Fokus auf MQTT und um die Absicherung der Protokolle, nicht aber der Absicherung der Infrastruktur.

Message Queuing Telemetry Transport (MQTT)

Das zurzeit wohl bekannteste IoT-Kommunikationsprotokoll ist Message Queuing Telemetry Transport (MQTT). Hierbei handelt es sich um ein Netzwerkprotokoll, welches für Machine-to-Machine-Kommunikation (M2M) konzipiert ist. Das Client-Server-Protokoll setzt auf das Publish Subscribe Modell. MQTT funktioniert üblicherweise über TCP. Es gibt jedoch auch Varianten des Protokolls, welche mit UDP funktionieren.

IoT-Anwendungsbeispiel mit MQTT

IoT-Anwendungsbeispiel mit MQTT

Der Client, in diesem Fall ein Raspberry Pi mit Raumtemperatursensor, sendet Sensordaten an den Server (MQTT Broker). Nach Verbindungsaufbau zwischen Client und Server wird auf einem im Voraus bestimmtem Topic Daten gesendet. Dieses Topic kann zum Beispiel Office/Meetingroom/Temperature heissen. Der Anwendungsfall kann sein, dass die Bürosteuerung dieses Topic abonniert und Mitarbeitende kurz vor ihrer nächsten Besprechung im Meetingroom über die Temperatur informiert und ihnen so die Möglichkeit für frühzeitiges Lüften ermöglicht.

MQTT findet breite Verwendung in Sensoren und Aktoren, Mobiletelefonen, eingebettete Systemen oder auch vollwertige Desktopcomputer. Die Ports 1883 und 8883 sind für MQTT reserviert. Ein grosser Vorteil von MQTT ist der MQTT-Broker, welcher wichtige Aufgaben vom oftmals ressourcenarmen Client übernimmt. Darauf lässt sich auch die grosse Verbreitung in Automatisierungs- und Steuerungslösungen zurückführen.

Das Zusammenspiel funktioniert wie folgt: IoT-Geräte senden Daten, Zustände oder andere Informationen an den MQTT-Broker, dieser sendet die erhaltenen Daten an weitere Geräte und Systeme, welche das dazugehörige Topic abonniert haben. Dadurch muss das IoT-Gerät, die Daten nur an den MQTT-Broker senden, was einiges an Komplexität und Leistung einspart.

Konfigurationsmöglichkeiten von MQTT

Das MQTT-Protokoll bietet folgende Konfigurationsmöglichkeiten bei Quality of Service (QoS), die Sicherstellung der Ankunft einer Nachricht:

Stufe Wert Beschreibung
At most once 0 Einmal Senden, bei Verbindungsunterbruch wohl keine Ankunft
At least once 1 Senden bis Empfang bestätigt wird
Exactly once 2 Sicherstellung, dass Nachricht auch bei Verbindungsunterbruch ankommt

Die Retain-Option beim Broker ermöglicht es, Nachrichten zu speichern und bei einer neuen Subscription die letzte Nachricht des Topics sofort zuzustellen. Beim Verbindungsaufbau kann definiert werden, was im Fall eines Unterbruchs oder eines kompletten Abbruchs einer Verbindung passiert, beziehungsweise welche Nachricht in so einem Fall an die Subscriber gesendet werden soll.

Aufbau eines MQTT-Pakets

Der Protokoll-Header ist 2 Byte gross, das erste Byte beinhaltet den Nachrichtentyp (4 Bit) sowie spezifische Flags je nach Nachrichtentyp, bei einer Publish Nachricht zum Beispiel Duplicate Delivery (1 Bit), Quality of Service (2 Bit) und das Retain-Flag (1 Bit). Im zweiten Byte ist die Länge des restlichen Payloads vermerkt. Danach folgt der variable Teil mit MQTT-Topic und dem Payload.

Aufbau eines MQTT-Pakets

Wie sichert man MQTT ab?

MQTT kann mit dem Einsatz von TLS auf Transportschicht verschlüsselt und somit geschützt werden, dabei wird der Port 8883 (secure-MQTT) verwendet. Im Artikel Transport Layer Security werden die neusten Änderungen erläutert und die empfohlene TLS-Konfiguration aufgezeigt. Zusätzlich besteht die Option, dass sich der Sender beim MQTT-Broker mittels X.509 Zertifikat authentifiziert.

MQTT selbst verfügt über eine Authentifizierung durch Benutzername und Passwort. Es muss beachtet werden, dass ohne den Einsatz von TLS die Übertragung im Klartext stattfindet und somit einfach abgehört werden kann. Zusätzlich zu Benutzername und Passwort kann auch noch ein Clientidentifier der Connect Message hinzugefügt werden. Bei diesem Vorgang wird zuerst die Benutzername und Passwort Kombination geprüft und danach, ob der mitgesendete Clientidentifier dazu passt. Es gibt es eine Option für die Verschlüsselung des Payloads, diese sollte in Betracht gezogen werden, wenn TLS aufgrund sehr geringer verfügbarer Hardware nicht eingesetzt werden kann.

Wie funktioniert Autorisierung in MQTT?

Die Steuerung wird auf dem MQTT-Broker vorgenommen, und zwar über sogenannte Topic Permissions. Folgende Möglichkeiten gibt es hier:

Constrained Application Protocol (CoAP)

CoAP ist ein IoT-Protokoll, welches sich für Nodes mit wenig Ressourcen, sprich low-power Prozessoren wie 8-bit Microkontroller mit wenig RAM und ROM bestens eignet. Das Protokoll ist ebenso für Machine-to-Machine (M2M) Applikationen designt, sei dies im gleichen Netzwerk oder über das Internet. Einsatzzwecke finden sich in Smart Energy und Gebäudeautomation wieder. CoAP funktioniert anders als MQTT in einem Request/Response Interaktion Modell zwischen Endpunkten.

Die grossen Vorteile von CoAP sind die einfache Umwandlung zu HTTP, die Unterstützung von Multicast sowie der geringe Overhead des Protokolls und die Einfachheit für Geräte mit sehr geringen Ressourcen. CoAP läuft auf den meisten Geräten, welche UDP unterstützen.

Wie kann man CoAP absichern?

Das CoAP-Protokoll bietet vier verschiedene Security Modelle, die meisten verwenden Datagram Transport Layer Security (DTLS). DTLS ist ein Verschlüsselungsprotokoll für unzuverlässige Transportprotokolle wie UDP oder SCTP. DTLS basiert auf TLS und bringt ähnliche Sicherheit mit sich.

Security Modelle von CoAP:

Advanced Message Queuing Protocol (AMQP)

AMQP ist ein offener Standard, bei welchem es sich um ein binäres Netzwerkprotokoll auf Anwendungsebene für Message-orientierte Middleware (MOM) handelt. AMQP baut auf TCP auf. Das AMQP-Protokoll wurde erschaffen, um viele verschiedene Arten von Nachrichten und Kommunikationsmuster zu unterstützen. Es unterstützt verschiedene Message-delivery guarantees, welche den Quality of Service von MQTT entsprechen.

Wie sichert man AMQP ab?

AMQP kann mit TLS verschlüsselt werden, dann wird der Port 5671 (amqps) verwendet. Der Client muss dabei das Zertifikat des Servers validieren. Eine zusätzliche Sicherheit bietet die Authentifizierung des Clients mittels Client-Zertifikat beim Server.

Mit der Unterstützung des Simple Authentication and Security Layer (SASL) Frameworks gibt es eine weitere Option für die Authentifizierung und das Aushandeln von Kommunikationsparametern. SASL bietet viele verschiedene Mechanismen zur Authentifizierung darunter OAuth 2.0 bearer tokens, Kerberos, NTLM, OTP und viele weitere. Darunter gibt es auch eine ANONYMOUS-Variante, wobei es sich um eine nicht authentifiziert Variante handelt und daher nicht unterstützt werden sollte.

Data Distribution Service (DDS)

DDS (Data Distribution Service) ist ein offener Standard, welcher sich ideal für zeitkritische Systeme eignet. DDS bietet eine breite Unterstützung von kleinsten Geräten bis zum schnellen Desktopcomputer und soll komplizierte Netzwerkprogrammierung verhindern. DDS erhöht die Zuverlässigkeit, ist simpel gehalten und verwendet dabei das Publish Subscribe Modell. Das DDS-Protokoll findet oft Verwendung in den Bereichen Luft- und Raumfahrt, Luftverkehrskontrolle, autonome Fahrzeuge, medizinische Geräte, Roboter und andere Anwendungsbereiche welche Echtzeit Datenaustausch benötigen.

Ähnlich wie beim MQTT-Protokoll gibt es Publishers, diese erstellen Topics und versenden Samples. DDS verteilt diese Samples an die Abonnenten (Subscribers) der jeweiligen Topics.

DDS wird auch als Netzwerk Middleware bezeichnet, welche die Adressierung der Nachrichten und die Serialisierung sowie Deserialisierung der Nachrichten bei plattformübergreifender Kommunikation handhabt. DDS managt zudem auch Autorisierung und Fehlerbehandlung, wenn eine Nachricht nicht zugestellt werden kann. Die Quality of Service (QoS) kann bei DDS auch konfiguriert werden. DDS unterstützt Hot-Swapping zwischen redundanten Publishers, dabei springt ein Backupnode ein beim Ausfall des primären Publishers.

Wie sichert man DDS ab?

Bevor es das DDS-Securitymodell gegeben hatte, wurden vor allem TLS und DTLS für die Sicherung von DDS verwendet, dies funktionierte jedoch nur mit Unicast.

Das DDS-Securitymodell, was im Nachhinein dazu kam, ist modular und ermöglicht verschiedene Bereiche als Plug-ins hinzuzufügen. Es stehen folgende Plug-ins im Security Bereich zur Auswahl:

Die Plug-ins Authentifizierung, Access Control und Kryptographie sollten auf jeden Fall verwendet werden beim Einsatz von DDS. Je nach Einsatzgebiet und Anwendungszweck sollten auch die restlichen Plug-ins Logging und Data Tagging eingesetzt werden.

Fazit

Alle Protokolle bringen ihre eigenen Stärken mit sich, daher lohnt es sich zu evaluieren, welche Eigenschaft im eigenen Umfeld am wichtigsten ist. Dies kann je nach Anwendungszweck die Real-Time-Fähigkeit, der gute Einsatz für ressourcenarme Geräte oder die simple Entwicklung sein. Der Sicherung des verwendeten IoT-Protokolls ist wichtig und sollte präzise vorgenommen und wenn möglich vor Inbetriebnahme geprüft werden. Viele der vorgestellten IoT-Protokolle können mit TLS abgesichert werden, hierbei ist es wichtig eine sichere TLS-Konfiguration einzusetzen.

Über den Autor

Ralph Meier

Ralph Meier hat eine Lehre als Applikationsentwickler, Fokus Webentwicklung mit Java, bei einer Schweizer Grossbank absolviert und danach einen Bachelor of Science ZFH in Informatik an der ZHAW School of Engineering abgeschlossen. Er fokussiert sich auf die sicherheitstechnische Untersuchung von Webapplikationen.

Links

Sie wollen Ihr Log und Monitoring auf das nächste Level bringen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Programmiersprache Go

Programmiersprache Go

Ralph Meier

Online-Tracking

Online-Tracking

Ralph Meier

Web-Shells

Web-Shells - Ein Überblick

Ralph Meier

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv