Analysis of Mobile Apps - An Introduction

Analysis of Mobile Apps

An Introduction

Tomaso Vasella
by Tomaso Vasella
on August 11, 2022
time to read: 17 minutes

Keypoints

How to Analyze Mobile Apps

  • Mobile apps are part of our everyday life, their security is therefore very important
  • Getting started with mobile app analysis is not difficult
  • Many powerful tools and utilities exist
  • Static and dynamic analysis allow deep insights into mobile apps
  • Even with simple means you often get pretty far

Mobile applications, usually simply called apps, are applications designed for use on mobile devices such as mobile phones or tablets. Mobile apps must take into account the requirements and limitations of mobile devices, however, current mobile devices have considerable memory and processing power. Apps exist for virtually every conceivable purpose from the simplest utilities and entertainment applications to comprehensive programs such as online banking and they are a part of everyday life. By mid-2022, the leading app stores – the digital distribution platforms for apps – include over 2 million apps.

Many apps use sensitive, often personal data or have access to it and communicate with various services on the Internet. Against this background, it is useful and interesting to analyze the functionality and data communication of apps from a security perspective. This article shows a pragmatic introduction to the possibilities of analyzing Android apps.

Reverse engineering generally refers to the technical investigation of a ready-made application or system with the goal of obtaining as much detailed and accurate information as possible about how it works, often with the aim of recovering the source code or a representation of it. Depending on the intention, the focus can also be only on the behavior or communication of an application (see also the articles Introduction to the World of Disassembling and Decompiling and Reverse Engineering).

A large number of useful tools exists for reverse engineering. The use of some of them with regard to the analysis of Android apps is illustrated in the following sections.

Anatomy of an Android App

For the following considerations, an intentionally insecure Android app from the MSTG Hacking Playground which was created for testing purposes is used. Android Apps exist as APK files (Android Package Kit) and they are normal ZIP archives:

$ file MSTG-Android-Java.apk 
MSTG-Android-Java.apk: Zip archive data, at least v0.0 to extract, compression method=deflate

$ unzip -q MSTG-Android-Java.apk -d MSTG-Android-Java
$ ls MSTG-Android-Java
AndroidManifest.xml  assets  classes.dex  lib  META-INF  res  resources.arsc

The usual contents of an APK file which are also listed in the above example are:

Static Analysis of APK Files

In the following sections static analysis of Android apps is discussed.

Extraction

For unpacking and analyzing APK files, there are various tools with different functionalities. The Android Studio contains an APK Analyzer and therefore is one of the most convenient tools, even though it is rather resource-hungry. The APK analyzer can be started through the menu Build / Analyze APK.

An APK opened in Android Studio

The content of the APK is unpacked and can be further analyzed. The resources present in the APK as binary files are also unpacked and for example the AndroidManifest.xml file can be viewed in plain text.

Analysis of the Dalvik Byte Code

When analyzed via Android Studio, the Dalvik bytecode from the classes.dex file is automatically decoded and can be viewed directly.

Dalvik Byte Code in Android Studio

If you want to have a closer look at the code, you can display the bytecode directly by right-clicking:

Dalvik Byte Code in Android Studio

The byte code is displayed as smali, a human readable representation (disassembler syntax) of the byte code. It is also possible to convert the Dalvik byte code to Java byte code. This often works even if the Android app was originally written in Kotlin. Subsequently, the Java bytecode can be analyzed with a Java decompiler, which allows even more convenient viewing.

As an alternative to using Android Studio, the command line tool Apktool can be used. This tool sometimes achieves even better results, especially when dealing with more complex apps:

$ java -jar apktool_2.6.1.jar d MSTG-Android-Java.apk 
I: Using Apktool 2.6.1 on MSTG-Android-Java.apk
I: Loading resource table...
I: Decoding AndroidManifest.xml with resources...
I: Loading resource table from file: ~/.local/share/apktool/framework/1.apk
I: Regular manifest package...
I: Decoding file-resources...
I: Decoding values */* XMLs...
I: Baksmaling classes.dex...
I: Copying assets and libs...
I: Copying unknown files...
I: Copying original files...

$ ls MSTG-Android-Java
AndroidManifest.xml  apktool.yml  assets  lib  original  res  smali

This tool converts the Dalvik bytecode directly to smali:

$ head -20 smali/sg/vp/owasp_mobile/OMTG_Android/MyActivity.smali 
.class public Lsg/vp/owasp_mobile/OMTG_Android/MyActivity;
.super Landroidx/appcompat/app/AppCompatActivity;
.source "MyActivity.java"

# static fields
.field public static final EXTRA_MESSAGE:Ljava/lang/String; = "com.mycompany.myfirstapp.MESSAGE"

# direct methods
.method public constructor <init>()V
    .locals 0

    .line 12
    invoke-direct {p0}, Landroidx/appcompat/app/AppCompatActivity;-><init>()V

    return-void
.end method

A big advantage of using the the Apktool is that the decoded files (XML etc.) but also the decoded smali code can be edited and afterwards an APK can be recreated with the edited files.

Conversion to Java Code

Another useful tool in the analysis arsenal is dex2jar, which converts the Dex files contained in APKs directly to Java classes. Afterwards, the Java code can be easily decompiled.

$ dex-tools-2.1/d2j-dex2jar.sh MSTG-Android-Java.apk
dex2jar MSTG-Android-Java.apk -> ./MSTG-Android-Java-dex2jar.jar

The .jar file created in this way can then be analyzed with a Java decompiler, in the following example the JD-GUI is used for this purpose.

Java Code in JD-GUI

Similar results can be obtained with the tool jadx, which also converts Dex bytecode to Java.

As an example of a possible approach for static analysis, we will use one of the test cases in the test app mentioned above. This app contains a function for creating an encrypted SQLite database.

MSTG App Encrypted SQLite MSTG App Encrypted SQLite

The corresponding code is easy to find in the decompiled version:

Java Code for the SQLite Encrption

When looking at the method SQLiteEnc() it becomes apparent that the secret used for the encryption of the database must be returned from the method stringFromJNI(). Interesting is the method System.loadLibrary() which loads a native library compiled for the CPU architecture in use. The method stringFromJNI() is prefixed with the keyword native which means that this method is implemented in native code using the JNI (Java Native Interface). Listing the directory lib/x86 shows the following files:

$ ls MSTG-Android-Java/lib/x86
libnative-lib.so  libsqlcipher.so

$ file libnative-lib.so
libnative-lib.so: ELF 32-bit LSB shared object, Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, BuildID[sha1]=5feb6239bf0911b46bbdf5ff1bccd29570bbb00f, stripped

The secret we are looking for must therefore be generated by a function of the libnative-lib.so file. There are various possible approaches for the static analysis of this library. As an illustration a short analysis with the tool Ghidra is shown here. First, a new project must be created via the menu Menu File / New Project, then the library can be loaded via drag and drop, whereby the defaults are already correct here:

Import in Ghidra

Double click on the imported file opens the code browser, which suggests an analysis of the file. In this example all suggested defaults are accepted.

Analysis in Ghidra

After that we search for the name of the function we found in the Java code: Search / Program Text:

Searching for the Function Name

The locations of the identified functions are then displayed:

Found Function Names

Clicking on the name navigates to the corresponding code location:

Navigation to the Function

If the mouse pointer is hovered over the hex values of the variable puVar1, it can be seen that this code seems to construct a string from dwords. The dwords are 32 bits long, therefore the instructions EAX + 0×4, EAX + 0×8, etc.:

Displaying Characters

By right-clicking the hex values can be converted with the following result:

Converted hex values

The sequence \0 suggests a string terminated with a null byte and it can be assumed that the wanted string must be read backwards, resulting in the secret we are looking for: S3cr3tString!!! While this example is interesting and illustrative, one could have simply searched for existing strings in the binary:

$ strings /tmp/MSTG-Android-Java/lib/x86/libnative-lib.so
...
[^_]
[^_]
S3cr3tString!!!
cannot allocate __cxa_eh_globals
std::__libcpp_tls_set failure in __cxa_get_globals()
execute once failure in __cxa_get_globals_fast()
...

Similar functionality is available in Ghidra via Window / Defined Strings

Viewing the Defined Strings

Dynamic Analysis

Now that we have seen some methods for static analysis of APKs and their contents, it is useful to also take a look at the possibilities for dynamic analysis, i.e. analyzing the behavior of Android apps at their runtime. Conveniently, with the Android Emulator as part of Android Studio, there is a comprehensive way to emulate Android devices, including the ability to install apps from the Google Play Store. A new virtual device can be created via Tools / Device Manager / Create Device where the desired Android version can be chosen as well as a version with or without Playstore. Hint: If you want to easily gain root rights on the virtual device later, you have to choose an Android image without Playstore.

Creating a Virtual Device

The virtual device is created at ~/.android/avd/<device-name>.avd/ and can be started via the Android Studio or usind the command line. As soon as the virtual device is started, it can be reached with the Android Debug Bridge:

> ~/Android/Sdk/platform-tools/adb devices
List of devices attached
emulator-5554    device

A variety of different methods and tools are available for the dynamic analysis of Android apps, one of the best known and most powerful is probably Frida sein. In the following section, a convenient method for analyzing the communication behavior of Android apps is shown, a step that is required in practially every analysis. An obvious idea for this is to route the communication of apps or of the entire device through a proxy and thus be able to follow the communication. With the emulator, a proxy can be set very easily via the GUI:

Proxy Settings in the Android Emulator

With older Android versions, this worked quite well after the proxy’s certificate is installed in the device’s trust store and as long as the apps do not use certificate pinning. With Android versions from Android Nougat onwards, however, it will quickly become evident that most apps no longer communicate with this setup. One reason for this is that in such versions, the apps no longer trust the certificates installed in the user trust store. One could decompile the app, alter the file network_security_policy.xml and then recompile the app to get the app to trust the certificate in the user store.

A more convenient method is to install the custom certificates in Android’s system trust store which is located at /system/etc/security/cacerts. However, this requires obtaining root privileges on the device which is very simple to achieve on virtual devices using the Android Emulator and a system image without Playstore. Conveniently, there is the relatively new tool HTTP Toolkit which makes this very simple. After the tool is unpacked and started, it can be connected directly to a started emulator via “Android device via ADB”.

Connection with HTTP Toolkit

As long as the system image in use allows root privileges, the following steps are fully automated.

Installed HTTP Toolkit

HTTP Toolkit includes a request browser that can be used to easily view the communication. In this example, the MSTG Test App was used again.

Web Request of the MSTG App Viewing the Requests in HTTP Toolkit

Summary

Today, many tools, some of them very powerful, are readily available for the analysis of Android apps. Simple static and dynamic analyses can be realized with relatively little effort and without overly complex environments. Although in practice much more difficult cases occur regularly, whether due to code obfuscation or for other reasons, one often gets quite far with simple steps. Even when spending only a limited amount of time on looking under the hood of mobile apps and viewing their basic behaviour, is is often possible to find weaknesses, especially since insecure practices such as usind hard-coded API keys or credentials are unfortunately still rather common in mobile apps.

About the Author

Tomaso Vasella

Tomaso Vasella has a Master in Organic Chemistry at ETH Z├╝rich. He is working in the cybersecurity field since 1999 and worked as a consultant, engineer, auditor and business developer. (ORCID 0000-0002-0216-1268)

Links

You want to test the security of your firewall?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Information Security Risk Management

Information Security Risk Management

Tomaso Vasella

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Analyse von Mobile Apps - Eine Einführung

Analyse von Mobile Apps

Eine Einführung

Tomaso Vasella
von Tomaso Vasella
am 11. August 2022
Lesezeit: 17 Minuten

Keypoints

So lassen sich Mobile Apps untersuchen

  • Mobile Apps sind Teil unseres Alltags, ihre Sicherheit ist deshalb sehr wichtig
  • Der Einstieg in die Analyse von mobilen Apps ist nicht schwierig
  • Es existieren viele leistungsfähige Werkzeuge und Hilfsmittel
  • Statische und dynamische Analysen erlauben tiefe Einblicke in mobile Apps
  • Auch mit einfachen Mitteln kommt man oft ziemlich weit

Mobile Applikationen, meistens einfach App genannt, sind Anwendungen, die zur Verwendung auf Mobilgeräten wie Mobiltelefonen oder Tablets entwickelt wurden. Mobile Apps müssen die Anforderungen und Einschränkungen der mobilen Geräte berücksichtigen, wobei die aktuellen Mobilgeräte über beachtliche Rechenleistung verfügen. Apps existieren praktisch für jeden erdenklichen Zweck von einfachsten Dienstprogrammen und Spassanwendungen bis zu umfangreichen Programmen wie Online-Banking und sind aus dem Alltag nicht mehr wegzudenken. Mitte 2022 beinhalten die führenden App-Stores – die digitalen Vertriebsplattformen für Apps – über 2 Millionen Apps.

Viele Apps verwenden sensitive, oft personenbezogene Daten oder haben Zugriff darauf und kommunizieren mit diversen Diensten im Internet. Vor diesem Hintergrund ist es nützlich und interessant, die Funktionsweise und die Datenkommunikation von Apps aus Sicherheitssicht zu analysieren. Dieser Beitrag zeigt eine pragmatische Einführung in die Möglichkeiten zur Analyse von Android Apps.

Reverse Engineering

Reverse Engineering (auch: rekonstruieren, Nachkonstruktion) bezeichnet generell die technische Untersuchung einer fertigen Anwendung oder eines Systems mit dem Ziel, möglichst detaillierte und genaue Informationen über die Funktionsweise zu erhalten, häufig mit dem Ziel, den Quellcode oder eine Repräsentation davon rückzugewinnen. Je nach Absicht kann auch nur das Verhalten oder die Kommunikation einer Anwendung im Fokus stehen (vgl. auch die Fachartikel Einstieg in die Welt des Disassemblierens und Dekompilierens und Reverse Engineering). Für das Reverse Engineering existiert eine grosse Anzahl nützlicher Werkzeuge. Die Verwendung einiger davon im Hinblick auf die Analyse von Android Apps wird nachfolgend aufgezeigt.

Anatomie einer Android App

Für die folgenden Betrachtungen wird eine absichtlich für Testzwecke erstellte, unsichere Android App des MSTG Hacking Playground verwendet. Android Apps liegen als APK-Dateien vor (Android Package Kit), welches normale ZIP-Archive sind:

$ file MSTG-Android-Java.apk 
MSTG-Android-Java.apk: Zip archive data, at least v0.0 to extract, compression method=deflate

$ unzip -q MSTG-Android-Java.apk -d MSTG-Android-Java
$ ls MSTG-Android-Java
AndroidManifest.xml  assets  classes.dex  lib  META-INF  res  resources.arsc

Die üblichen Inhalte einer APK-Datei, wie auch im obigen Beispiel ersichtlich, sind:

Statische Analyse von APK-Dateien

In den folgenden Abschnitten wird auf die statische Analyse von Android Apps eingegangen.

Entpacken

Für das Entpacken und Analysieren von APK-Dateien gibt es diverse Werkzeuge mit unterschiedlichem Funktionsumfang. Das Android Studio enthält ein APK-Analysewerkzeug und ist damit eines der komfortabelsten Tools, wenn auch recht ressourcenhungrig. Der APK-Analyzer kann über das Menu Build / Analyze APK gestartet werden.

In Android Studio geöffnetes APK

Die Inhalte des APK werden entpackt und analysiert und können nun weiter untersucht werden. Die im APK als Binärdateien vorliegenden Ressourcen werden ebenfalls entpackt, so dass z.B. das AndroidManifest.xml im Klartext betrachtet werden kann.

Analyse des Dalvik Bytecodes

Bei der Analyse über das Android Studio wird der Dalvik Bytecode aus der classes.dex Datei automatisch decodiert und kann direkt betrachtet werden.

Dalvik Byte Code in Android Studio

Will man den Code genauer betrachten, lässt sich durch Rechtsklick der Bytecode direkt anzeigen:

Dalvik Byte Code in Android Studio

Die Darstellung erfolgt als smali, eine für Menschen lesbare Repräsentation (Disassembler Syntax) des Bytecodes. Es ist auch möglich, den Dalvik Bytecode in Java-Bytecode umzuwandeln. Dies funktioniert häufig auch dann, wenn die Android App ursprünglich in Kotlin geschrieben wurde. Anschliessend kann der Java Bytecode mit einem Java Decompiler analysiert werden, was eine noch komfortablere Betrachtung ermöglicht.

Alternativ zur Verwendung de Android Studio bietet sich das Kommandozeilen-Tool Apktool an, welches vor allem bei komplexeren Apps manchmal bessere Resultate erzielt:

$ java -jar apktool_2.6.1.jar d MSTG-Android-Java.apk 
I: Using Apktool 2.6.1 on MSTG-Android-Java.apk
I: Loading resource table...
I: Decoding AndroidManifest.xml with resources...
I: Loading resource table from file: ~/.local/share/apktool/framework/1.apk
I: Regular manifest package...
I: Decoding file-resources...
I: Decoding values */* XMLs...
I: Baksmaling classes.dex...
I: Copying assets and libs...
I: Copying unknown files...
I: Copying original files...

$ ls MSTG-Android-Java
AndroidManifest.xml  apktool.yml  assets  lib  original  res  smali

Dieses Tool konvertiert den Dalvik Bytecode direkt zu smali:

$ head -20 smali/sg/vp/owasp_mobile/OMTG_Android/MyActivity.smali 
.class public Lsg/vp/owasp_mobile/OMTG_Android/MyActivity;
.super Landroidx/appcompat/app/AppCompatActivity;
.source "MyActivity.java"

# static fields
.field public static final EXTRA_MESSAGE:Ljava/lang/String; = "com.mycompany.myfirstapp.MESSAGE"

# direct methods
.method public constructor <init>()V
    .locals 0

    .line 12
    invoke-direct {p0}, Landroidx/appcompat/app/AppCompatActivity;-><init>()V

    return-void
.end method

Ein grosser Vorteil des Apktool besteht darin, dass die decodierten Dateien (XML usw.) aber auch der decodierte smali Code editiert werden können und anschliessend kann mit den editierten Dateien wieder ein APK erzeugt werden.

Umwandlung in Java Code

Ein weiteres nützliches Tool im Analyse-Arsenal ist dex2jar, welches die in APKs enthaltenen Dex Dateien direkt zu Java Klassen umwandelt. Anschliessend kann der Java-Code einfach dekompiliert werden.

$ dex-tools-2.1/d2j-dex2jar.sh MSTG-Android-Java.apk
dex2jar MSTG-Android-Java.apk -> ./MSTG-Android-Java-dex2jar.jar

Die so erzeugte jar-Datei kann anschliessend mit einem Java-Decompiler analysiert werden, im folgenden Beispiel wird dazu das JD-GUI verwendet.

Java Code in JD-GUI

Analoges kann erreicht werden mit dem Tool jadx, welches ebenfalls Dex Bytecode nach Java umwandelt.

Als Beispiel eines möglichen Vorgehens für statische Analysen verwenden wir einen der Testfälle in der oben erwähnten Test-App. Diese App enthält eine Funktion zur Erstellung einer verschlüsselten SQLite Datenbank.

MSTG App SQLite verschlüsselt

MSTG App SQLite verschlüsselt

Der entsprechende Code ist in der dekompilierten Version einfach auffindbar:

Java Code zur SQLite-Verschlüsselung

Betrachtet man die Methode SQLiteEnc() wird ersichtlich, dass das zur Verschlüsselung verwendete Secret offenbar von der Methode stringFromJNI() ausgegeben werden muss. Interessant ist die Methode System.loadLibrary(), welche eine native, für die jeweilige CPU kompilierte Library lädt. Die Methode stringFromJNI() ist mit dem Schlüsselwort native versehen, dies bedeutet, dass diese Methode in nativem Code mittels JNI (Java Native Interface) implementiert ist. Ein Blick ins Verzeichnis lib/x86 zeigt folgende Dateien:

$ ls MSTG-Android-Java/lib/x86
libnative-lib.so  libsqlcipher.so

$ file libnative-lib.so
libnative-lib.so: ELF 32-bit LSB shared object, Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, BuildID[sha1]=5feb6239bf0911b46bbdf5ff1bccd29570bbb00f, stripped

Das gesuchte Secret muss also durch eine Funktion in der Datei libnative-lib.so erzeugt werden. Zur statischen Analyse dieser Library gibt es diverse mögliche Ansätze. Zur Illustration wird hier eine kurze Analyse mit dem Werkzeug Ghidra gezeigt. Als erstes muss ein neues Projekt erstellt werden über das Menu File / New Project, anschliessend kann die Library über Drag and Drop geladen werden, wobei die Defaults hier bereits richtig sind:

Import in Ghidra

Doppelklick auf die Importierte Datei öffnet den Code Browser, welcher eine Analyse der Datei vorschlägt. In diesem Beispiel werden alle vorgeschlagenen Defaults akzeptiert.

Analyse in Ghidra

Anschliessend suchen wir nach dem Namen der Funktion, den wir im Java Code gefunden haben: Search / Program Text:

Suche nach Funktionsnamen

Als Ergebnis werden die gefundenen Lokationen angezeigt:

Gefundene Funktionsnamen

Durch Klick darauf wird zur entsprechenden Stelle im Code navigiert:

Navigation zur Funktion

Bewegt man den Mauszeiger über die Hex-Werte der Variablen puVar1 wird ersichtlich, dass hier ein String zusammengesetzt wird aus dwords. Diese sind 32 Bits lang, deshalb EAX + 0×4, EAX + 0×8, etc.:

Anzeige der Zeichen

Durch Rechtsklick kann man die Hex-Werte konvertieren mit folgendem Ergebnis:

Konvertierte Hex-Werte

Die Sequenz \0 lässt einen mit einem Null-Byte terminierten String erahnen, man darf also annehmen, dass der String rückwärts gelesen werden muss, womit sich das gesuchte Secret ergibt: S3cr3tString!!! Dieses Beispiel ist zwar interessant und illustrativ, aber man hätte auch einfach nach vorhandenen Strings im Binary suchen können:

$ strings /tmp/MSTG-Android-Java/lib/x86/libnative-lib.so
...
[^_]
[^_]
S3cr3tString!!!
cannot allocate __cxa_eh_globals
std::__libcpp_tls_set failure in __cxa_get_globals()
execute once failure in __cxa_get_globals_fast()
...

Vergleichbare Funktionalität steht auch in Ghidra zur Verfügung über Window / Defined Strings

Anzeige Definierte Zeichenketten

Dynamische Analyse

Nachdem wir nun einige Methoden zur statischen Analyse von APKs und ihren Inhalten gesehen haben, ist es nützlich, auch einen Blick auf die Möglichkeiten zur dynamischen Analyse zu werfen, d.h. die Analyse des Verhaltens von Android Apps zu ihrer Laufzeit. Praktischerweise steht mit den Android Emulator als Bestandteil des Android Studio eine umfassende Möglichkeit zur Emulation von Android-Geräten zur Verfügung, einschliesslich der Möglichkeit, Apps vom Google Play Store zu installieren. Ein neues virtuelles Gerät lässt sich über Tools / Device Manager / Create Device einrichten, wobei man auch die gewünschte Android-Version wählen kann, ebenso, ob eine Version mit oder ohne Playstore verwendet werden soll. Hinweis: Möchte man später auf einfache Weise root-Rechte auf dem virtuellen Gerät erlangen können, so muss man ein Android Image ohne Playstore wählen.

Erstellen virtuelles Gerät

Das so erstellte virtuelle Device befindet sich nun unter ~/.android/avd/<device-name>.avd/ und kann über das Android Studio oder über die Kommandozeile gestartet werden. Sobald das Gerät gestartet ist, kann es via Android Debug Bridge erreicht werden:

> ~/Android/Sdk/platform-tools/adb devices
List of devices attached
emulator-5554    device

Zur dynamischen Analyse von Android Apps steht eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Methoden und Werkzeuge zur Verfügung, eines der bekanntesten und leistungsfähigsten dürfte Frida sein.

Nachfolgend wird auf eine bequeme Methode zur Analyse des Kommunikationsverhaltens von Android Apps eingegangen, ein praktisch bei jeder Analyse erforderlicher Schritt. Ein naheliegender Gedanke dazu besteht darin, die Kommunikation von Apps oder des gesamten Geräts über einen Proxy zu leiten und so die Kommunikation mitverfolgen zu können. Mit dem Emulator kann sehr einfach ein Proxy gesetzt werden über das GUI:

Proxy-Einstellungen im Android Emulator

Bei älteren Android-Versionen hat dies recht gut funktioniert, nachdem das Zertifikat des Proxy im Trust Store des Geräts installiert ist und solange die Apps kein Certificate Pinning verwenden. Bei Android-Versionen ab Android Nougat wird man aber rasch feststellen, dass die meisten Apps so nicht mehr kommunizieren. Dies liegt unter anderem daran, dass in solchen Versionen die Apps nicht mehr den im Benutzer Trust Store installierten Zertifikaten vertrauen. Man könnte Apps Dekompilieren, die darin enthaltene Datei network_security_policy.xml entsprechend verändern und die App neu kompilieren.

Eine einfachere Methode besteht darin, die eigenen Zertifikate in den System Trust Store von Android zu installieren, der sich unter /system/etc/security/cacerts befindet. Allerdings erfordert dies root-Rechte auf dem Gerät, was aber mit dem Android-Emulator und einem System-Image ohne Playstore sehr einfach möglich ist. Praktischerweise gibt es dafür das relativ neue Werkzeug HTTP Toolkit, das dieses ganze Prozedere enorm einfach macht. Nachdem das Tool entpackt und gestartet ist, kann man sich via “Android device via ADB” direkt mit einem gestarteten Emulator verbinden.

Verbinden mittels HTTP Toolkit

Solange das verwendete System-Image root-Rechte erlaubt, sind die nachfolgenden Schritte vollständig automatisiert.

Installiertes HTTP Toolkit

Das Tool beinhaltet einen Request-Browser, mit dem die Kommunikation einfach betrachtet werden kann. In diesem Beispiel wurde wiederum die MSTG Test App verwendet.

Web Request der MSTG App Anzeige des Requests im HTTP Toolkit

Zusammenfassung

Für die Analyse von Android Apps sind heute viele, teilweise sehr leistungsfähige Werkzeuge verfügbar. Einfache statische und dynamische Analysen sind mit relativ geringem Aufwand und ohne allzu komplexe Umgebungen realisierbar. Obwohl in der Praxis selbstverständlich auch viel schwierigere Fälle regelmässig auftreten, sei dies aufgrund von Code-Verschleierung oder aus anderen Gründen, kommt man oft mit einfachen Mitteln ziemlich weit. Selbst wenn man nur beschränkte Zeit damit verbringt, unter die Haube von mobilen Anwendungen zu schauen und ihr grundlegendes Verhalten zu betrachten, ist es oft möglich, Schwachstellen zu finden, insbesondere da unsichere Praktiken wie die Verwendung von im Code hinterlegten API-Schlüsseln oder Anmeldeinformationen in mobilen Anwendungen leider immer noch recht häufig vorkommen.

Über den Autor

Tomaso Vasella

Tomaso Vasella hat seinen Master in Organic Chemistry an der ETH Zürich abgeschlossen und ist seit 1999 im Bereich Cybersecurity aktiv. Positionen als Berater, Engineer, Auditor und Business Developer zählen zu seinen Erfahrungen. (ORCID 0000-0002-0216-1268)

Links

Sie wollen die Sicherheit Ihrer Firewall prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Risikomanagement

Risikomanagement

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv