The new NIST Cybersecurity Framework - What has changed?

The new NIST Cybersecurity Framework

What has changed?

Tomaso Vasella
by Tomaso Vasella
on March 07, 2024
time to read: 10 minutes

Keypoints

This is the new NIST

  • In February 2024, version 2.0 of the CSF was published as its first major update
  • The new framework extends its scope to all industries, sectors and organizations
  • The most significant change is the newly added sixth function Govern
  • The Govern function highlights the importance of cyber security as a source of business risk and emphasizes supply chain risk management

In 2013, the US President Obama signed Executive Order 13636. This order was intended to increase the performance of critical infrastructures in the domain of cybersecurity risk management. The executive order tasked the US National Institute for Standards and Technology (NIST) with developing a cybersecurity framework in collaboration with the private sector. This resulted in the well established and widely known NIST Cybersecurity Framework (CSF), whose initial version 1.0 was published in February 2014. The CSF was designed as a living document that is continuously updated and expanded over time. Version 1.1 was published in April 2018 and deals more comprehensively with the topics of identity management and security in supply chains. In February 2024, Version 2.0 was published as the first major update of the CSF.

This article looks at the main innovations in the current version of the CSF and highlights the most important effects on its practical application.

Timeline of the CSF versions

Components of the CSF

The new version of the CSF also contains the three components Core, Tiers and Profiles.

CSF Core

The CSF Core describes desirable outcomes or security objectives, which are divided into functions, categories and subcategories. The methods by which these objectives are to be achieved are left open and it is the exercise of the users of the CSF to implement suitable controls. This segmentation, familiar from earlier versions, has been retained in the latest version, but a new sixth function Govern (see below) has been added.

CSF Core with functions, categories and subcategories

Organizational Profiles

A CSF profile is used to describe the security status of an organization in relation to the security objectives of the CSF Core. Profiles can be used to select and prioritize those CSF categories that appear best suited for a particular organization to achieve its security objectives. Profiles can be used to tailor the CSF to the specific needs of an organization in order to prioritize measures and costs and to develop a plan of action. The profiles can also be used for an actual-target comparison by comparing the security targets currently achieved and those to be achieved in the future in the form of CSF profiles.

Steps for creating and using a CSF Organizational Profile

Tiers

The four tiers – partial, risk-informed, repeatable and adaptive – characterize the rigor and practice of risk management. An organization can determine which tier is appropriate for it based on criteria such as business objectives, risk tolerance and budget.

CSF Tiers for cybersecurity risk governance and management

Key Changes

Scope of Application

The CSF version 2.0 includes several significant changes to the scope and area of application. The new framework no longer focuses primarily on critical infrastructures, but extends its scope to all industries, sectors and organizations. Greater attention has also been paid to ensuring that the CSF is relevant and applicable to smaller organizations and those with less advanced security programs. Accordingly, its name has been generalized and it is now simply called the NIST Cybersecurity Framework.

The generalized scope of application is also taken into account with the expansion of the central CSF document to include a series of online resources, which are to be updated regularly (see the section below). The latest version thus has a livelier character than the rather static previous versions, not least thanks to the practical support and examples of implementation.

Restructuring and a new function Govern

Probably the most significant structural change is the newly added sixth function Govern. This new function is intended to support CSF practitioners in better integrating cybersecurity risk management into an overarching, comprehensive risk management system for the entire organization. The aim is to anchor the responsibility and accountability for cyber risk management at senior management level, to create a corresponding risk-aware culture and to promote risk communication to management. This emphasis on governance underlines the importance of cyber security as a source of business risk that cannot be considered in isolation and must be regarded on the same level as financial or reputational risks.

In addition, the new CSF expands the measures for supply chain risk management (SCRM) previously included in the Identify function and now also places them in the new Govern function. The CSF emphasizes the essential importance of SCRM in view of the interconnected and complex relationships and dependencies in supply chains.

Similar to previous versions, the CSF contains a description of the functions and the objectives to be pursued. These descriptions can now be found in the introduction and are written in a more practice-oriented language. A short, concise description of the objectives in one sentence is now also found in the functions themselves.

The restructuring emphasizes that the functions of the CSF are not simply linear steps but are interdependent components of a holistic security strategy.

Finally, there is a handy button on the first page of the PDF version with a link to check for new versions of the CSF.

Useful Tools

NIST and other organizations have developed various online resources that provide assistance and further information for a better understanding, introduction and implementation of the CSF. Due to the large amount of available information, tools, cross-references and partially overlapping information, it is not easy to gain an overview. The most important resources are listed below.

Informative References and guidance

The so-called Informative References are cross-references that show relationships between the CSF Core and other resources such as standards, guidelines, implementation guidance and others. These resources often contain more practical information than the CSF Core itself and are helpful in understanding how an organization can achieve the outcomes of the CSF Core. Examples of referenced resources are the CIS Controls or the NIST Special Publication 800-218 regarding secure software development. In addition, the Informative References contain Implementation Examples with clear, practical guidance on how to achieve the outcomes of the CSF subcategories.

These references and the implementation examples can be obtained directly as an Excel file. There is also the new reference tool which allows to search for terms in the CSF Core and in the implementation notes. It offers an export option in JSON or Excel format. However, while the exports contain the implementation examples, they don’t contain the cross-references. Nevertheless, the reference tool is a practical way to navigate through the CSF. The reference tool is based on the Cybersecurity and Privacy Reference Tool (CPRT), a more general tool that also contains many references to other NIST standards in addition to the references to the CSF.

In collaboration with the community, the NIST began in 2019 to improve the applicability and interoperability of information security standards by providing a set of informative references. Although they bear the same name as the above-mentioned Informative References, they are not the same resource. They can be looked up and searched in the online reference catalog OLIR (Online Informative Reference Catalog). At the time of writing, OLIR contains four documents for the CSF, including cross-references between the previous and current version of the CSF and cross-references between the CIS Controls and the CSF. Clicking on More Details takes you to an information page about the reference and allows you to generate a comparison report, which can also be exported. The list of cross-references between versions 1.1 and 2.0 of the CSF should prove to be particularly useful as it shows directly where the categories have been moved. The mappings to the CIS controls are also useful and hopefully more will follow.

Quick-Start Guides (QSGs)

The Quick Start Guides are individual documents on specific CSF topics. For example, they contain information that helps smaller organizations to start an information security program and there is assistance on the topic of supply chain risk management. The Quick Start Guides themselves have a small manual for a better overview.

Conclusion

The new version of the CSF makes a good impression. In particular, the broader scope of application including suitability for smaller organizations with fewer resources, and the stronger focus on anchoring risk management at the organizational management level are important innovations.

Incorporating supply chain risk management into governance is an important step in the right direction. From a security perspective, supply chains are often unmanageably complex and revent events made it clear that more needs to be done to manage their security on a senior management level.

The efforts to make the framework more practical and dynamic, and the related new online resources help to ensure that the CSF is used as a useful tool rather than a theoretical construct. It can be assumed that the new CSF will be even more widely used and applied than its predecessor and it will be interesting to see what other guidance, practical examples and tools will emerge over time.

About the Author

Tomaso Vasella

Tomaso Vasella has a Master in Organic Chemistry at ETH Z├╝rich. He is working in the cybersecurity field since 1999 and worked as a consultant, engineer, auditor and business developer. (ORCID 0000-0002-0216-1268)

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Security Testing

Security Testing

Tomaso Vasella

Flipper Zero WiFi Devboard

Flipper Zero WiFi Devboard

Tomaso Vasella

Denial of Service Attacks

Denial of Service Attacks

Tomaso Vasella

System Log Monitoring

System Log Monitoring

Tomaso Vasella

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Das neue NIST Cybersecurity Framework - Was hat sich geändert?

Das neue NIST Cybersecurity Framework

Was hat sich geändert?

Tomaso Vasella
von Tomaso Vasella
am 07. März 2024
Lesezeit: 10 Minuten

Keypoints

Das ist das neue NIST

  • Im Februar 2024 wurde die Version 2.0 des CSF als erste grosse Aktualisierung veröffentlicht
  • Das neue Framework erweitert seinen Anwendungsbereich auf alle Branchen, Sektoren und Organisationen
  • Die signifikanteste Änderung ist die neu hinzugekommene sechste Funktion Govern
  • Die Funktion Govern unterstreicht die Bedeutung der Cybersicherheit als Quelle von Unternehmensrisiken und betont das Risikomanagement von Lieferketten

Im Jahr 2013 hat der damalige US-amerikanische Präsident Obama die Verfügung 13636 unterzeichnet. Damit sollte die Leistungsfähigkeit kritischer Infrastrukturen für das Management von Cyberrisiken erhöht werden. Die Verfügung beauftragte das amerikanische National Institute for Standards and Technology (NIST) mit dem Ausarbeiten eines Cybersecurity Frameworks in Zusammenarbeit mit der Privatwirtschaft. Daraus entstand das heute etablierte und weit bekannte NIST Cybersecurity Framework (CSF), welches im Februar 2014 in der Version 1.0 veröffentlicht wurde. Das CSF wurde als lebendes Dokument konzipiert, das im Lauf der Zeit kontinuierlich aktualisiert und erweitert wird. Die Version 1.1 wurde im April 2018 veröffentlicht und geht umfassender auf die Themen Identitätsmanagement und Sicherheit in Lieferketten ein. Im Februar 2024 wurde die Version 2.0 als erste grosse Aktualisierung des CSF veröffentlicht.

Dieser Beitrag geht auf die hauptsächlichen Neuerungen in der aktuellen Version des CSF ein und beleuchtet die wichtigsten Auswirkungen auf die Anwendungspraxis.

CSF Versionen auf der Zeitachse

Komponenten des CSF

Das CSF enthält auch in der neuen Version die drei Komponenten Core, Tiers und Profiles.

Core

Der CSF Core beschreibt erstrebenswerte Resultate oder Sicherheitsziele, die in Funktionen, Kategorien und Subkategorien unterteilt sind. Dabei wird offengelassen, mit welchen Methoden diese Ziele erreicht werden sollen beziehungsweise es ist den Anwendern des CSF überlassen, geeignete Kontrollen umzusetzen. Diese aus den früheren Versionen bekannte Unterteilung wurde in der neusten Version beibehalten, aber es ist eine neue sechste Funktion Govern (siehe weiter unten) hinzugekommen.

CSF Core mit Funktionen, Kategorien und Subkategorien

Organizational Profiles

Ein CSF Profil dient der Beschreibung des Sicherheitsstands einer Organisation in Bezug auf die Sicherheitsziele des CSF Core. Mit Profilen können diejenigen CSF Kategorien ausgewählt und priorisiert werden, die für eine bestimmte Organisation als am besten geeignet erscheinen, ihre Sicherheitsziele zu erreichen. Mit Profilen kann das CSF auf die spezifischen Bedürfnisse eine Organisation zugeschnitten werden (tailoring), um Massnahmen und Kosten zu priorisieren und einen Vorgehensplan zu entwickeln. Ebenfalls können die Profile für einen Ist-Soll-Vergleich verwendet werden, indem die aktuell erreichten und die künftig zu erreichenden Sicherheitsziele einander in Form von CSF Profilen gegenübergestellt werden.

Schritte zur Erstellung und Anwendung von CSF Organizationsprofilen

Tiers

Die vier Stufen (Tiers) Partial, Risk-Informed, Repeatable und Adaptive charakterisieren die Stringenz und die Praxis hinsichtlich des Risikomanagements. Eine Organisation kann die für sie zweckmässige Stufe anhand von Kriterien wie Geschäftsziele, Risikotoleranz und Budget bestimmen.

CSF Tiers für Cybersecurity Risk Governance und Management

Wichtigste Änderungen

Anwendungsbereich

Das CSF Version 2.0 beinhaltet mehrere signifikante Änderungen des Umfangs und des Anwendungsbereichs. Das neue Framework richtet sein Augenmerk nicht mehr hauptsächlich auf kritische Infrastrukturen, sondern erweitert seinen Anwendungsbereich auf alle Branchen, Sektoren und Organisationen. Ebenfalls wurde verstärkt darauf geachtet, dass das CSF auch für kleinere Organisationen und solche mit noch wenig fortgeschrittenem Sicherheitsprogramm relevant und anwendbar ist. Dementsprechend wurde seine Bezeichnung verallgemeinert und heisst neu einfach NIST Cybersecurity Framework.

Dem allgemeineren Anwendungsbereich wird auch mit der Erweiterung des zentralen Dokuments um eine Reihe von Online-Ressourcen Rechnung getragen, die regelmässig aktualisiert werden sollen (siehe Abschnitt Hilfreiche Werkzeuge weiter unten). Die jüngste Version hat damit einen lebendigeren Charakter als die recht statischen Vorgängerversionen, nicht zuletzt auch dank der praktischen Hilfestellungen und Umsetzungsbeispiele.

Restrukturierung und eine neue Funktion Govern

Die wahrscheinlich signifikanteste strukturelle Änderung ist die neu hinzugekommene sechste Funktion Govern. Diese neue Funktion soll Anwender darin unterstützen, das Risikomanagement im Bereich der Cybersicherheit besser in ein übergeordnetes, umfassendes Risikomanagement der gesamten Organisation einzubinden. Das Ziel besteht darin, die Zuständigkeit und die Verantwortung für das Management von Cyberrisiken auf Ebene der Geschäftsleitung zu verankern, eine entsprechende risikobewusste Kultur zu schaffen und die Risikokommunikation gegenüber dem Management zu fördern. Diese Betonung der Governance unterstreicht die Bedeutung der Cybersicherheit als eine Quelle von Unternehmensrisiken, die nicht alleinstehend betrachtet werden darf und sich auf gleicher Stufe wie finanzielle oder reputationsbezogene Risiken befinden muss.

Darüber hinaus erweitert das neue CSF die früher in der Funktion Identify enthaltenen Massnahmen für das Risikomanagement von Lieferketten (Supply Chain Risk Management, SCRM) und siedelt diese nun ebenfalls in der neuen Funktion Govern an. Das CSF betont die essenzielle Wichtigkeit des SCRM angesichts der vernetzten und komplexen Beziehungen und Abhängigkeiten in den Lieferketten.

Wie auch in früheren Versionen enthält das CSF eine Beschreibung der Funktionen und der damit anzustrebenden Ziele. Diese Beschreibungen befinden sich neu in der Einleitung und sind in einer etwas mehr praxisorientierten Sprache verfasst. Eine kurze, prägnante Beschreibung der Ziele in einem Satz befindet sich nun auch bei den Funktionen selbst.

Die Restrukturierung betont, dass die Funktionen des CSF nicht einfach lineare Schritte bedeuten, sondern untereinander abhängige Komponenten einer ganzheitlichen Sicherheitsstrategie sind.

Schliesslich gibt es einen praktischen Button auf der ersten Seite der PDF-Version mit einem Link zur Überprüfung nach neuen Versionen des CSF.

Hilfreiche Werkzeuge

Das NIST und weitere Organisationen haben verschiedene Online-Ressourcen erarbeitet, die Hilfestellungen und weiterführende Informationen zum besseren Verständnis und zur Einführung und Umsetzung des CSF enthalten. Aufgrund der grossen Zahl an verfügbaren Informationen, Tools, Querverweisen und teilweisen Überlappungen ist es nicht einfach, einen Überblick zu gewinnen. Die wichtigsten Ressourcen sind nachfolgend zusammengestellt.

Referenzen und weiterführende Informationen (Informative References)

Die sogenannten Informative References sind Querverweise, die Beziehungen zwischen dem CSF Core und anderen Ressourcen wie Standards, Richtlinien, Umsetzungshinweisen und weiteren aufzeigen. Diese Ressourcen enthalten vielfach stärker praxisbezogene Informationen als der CSF Core selbst und sind hilfreich für das Verständnis, wie eine Organisation die Resultate des CSF Core erreichen kann. Beispiele für referenzierte Ressourcen sind die CIS Controls oder die NIST Spezialpublikation 800-218 betreffend sicherer Software-Entwicklung. Zusätzlich enthalten die Informative References Umsetzungsbeispiele (Implementation Examples) mit klaren, praxisorientierten Ausführungshinweisen zum Erzielen der Ergebnisse der CSF-Subkategorien.

Diese Referenzen und die Umsetzungshinweise können direkt als Excel-Datei bezogen werden. Zusätzlich gibt es das neue Referenz-Tool, das eine Suche nach Begriffen im CSF Core und in den Umsetzungshinweisen erlaubt und eine Exportmöglichkeit im JSON- oder Excel-Format bietet. Allerdings enthalten die Exporte zwar die Umsetzungshinweise, nicht aber die Querverweise bzw. Informative References. Trotzdem ist das Referenz-Tool eine praktische Möglichkeit, durch das CSF zu navigieren. Das Referenz-Tool basiert auf dem Cybersecurity and Privacy Reference Tool (CPRT), ein übergeordnetes Werkzeug, das neben den Referenzen zum CSF auch viele Referenzen zu anderen NIST Standards enthält.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Community hat das NIST im Jahr 2019 damit begonnen, die Anwendbarkeit und die Interoperabilität von Informationssicherheitsstandards zu verbessern, indem eine Reihe von informativen Referenzen bereitgestellt werden. Diese können im Online-Referenzkatalog OLIR (Online Informative Reference Catalog) nachgeschlagen und durchsucht werden. Für das CSF enthält OLIR zum Zeitpunkt dieses Beitrags vier Dokumente, unter anderem Querverweise zwischen der vorherigen und der aktuellen Version des CSF sowie Querverweise zwischen den CIS Controls und dem CSF. Durch Klick auf More Details gelangt man zu einer Informationsseite über die Referenz und kann sich einen Vergleichsreport erzeugen lassen, der auch exportiert werden kann. Als besonders nützlich dürfte sich die Aufstellung von Querverweisen zwischen den Versionen 1.1 und 2.0 des CSF erweisen, weil damit direkt ersichtlich ist, welche Kategorien wohin verschoben wurden. Ebenfalls nützlich sind die Mappings zu den CIS Controls und es bleibt zu hoffen, dass weitere folgen werden.

Schnellstart-Anleitungen (Quick-Start Guides, QSGs)

Die Quick Start Guides sind einzelne Dokumente zu bestimmten Themen des CSF. Beispielsweise sind Informationen enthalten, die kleineren Organisationen helfen, ein Informationssicherheitsprogramm zu beginnen und es gibt Hilfestellungen zum Thema Supply Chain Risk Management. Die Quick Start Guides haben selbst eine kleine Anleitung zur besseren Übersicht.

Fazit

Die neue Version macht einen gelungenen Eindruck. Vor allem der breitere Anwendungsbereich auch für kleinere Organisationen mit weniger Ressourcen und der stärkere Fokus auf die Verankerung des Risikomanagements auf Ebene der Organisationsleitung sind wichtige Neuerungen.

Das Risikomanagement von Lieferketten in der Governance anzusiedeln ist ein wichtiger Schritt in die richtige Richtung. Lieferketten sind aus Sicherheitssicht oft unüberschaubar komplex und es muss eindeutig mehr unternommen werden, deren Sicherheit auch von der Geschäftsleitungsebene aus zu steuern.

Die Bestrebungen, das Framework praktischer und dynamischer zu gestalten und die in diesem Zusammenhang neu verfügbaren Online-Ressourcen tragen dazu bei, es als nützliches Werkzeug zu verwenden und nicht als theoretisches starres Konstrukt zu betrachten. Es darf davon ausgegangen werden, dass das neue CSF eine noch grössere Verbreitung und Anwendung erfahren wird, als seine Vorgängerversionen und es bleibt spannend zu verfolgen, welche weiteren Hilfsmittel und Werkzeuge noch entstehen werden.

Über den Autor

Tomaso Vasella

Tomaso Vasella hat seinen Master in Organic Chemistry an der ETH Zürich abgeschlossen und ist seit 1999 im Bereich Cybersecurity aktiv. Positionen als Berater, Engineer, Auditor und Business Developer zählen zu seinen Erfahrungen. (ORCID 0000-0002-0216-1268)

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Flipper Zero WiFi Devboard

Flipper Zero WiFi Devboard

Tomaso Vasella

Denial of Service Angriffe

Denial of Service Angriffe

Tomaso Vasella

Überwachung des Systemprotokolls

Überwachung des Systemprotokolls

Tomaso Vasella

Datentransfer über SSID

Datentransfer über SSID

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv