OAuth 2.0 Flows - Characteristics and their Area of Application

OAuth 2.0 Flows

Characteristics and their Area of Application

Ralph Meier
by Ralph Meier
on September 15, 2022
time to read: 13 minutes

Keypoints

Find the appropriate OAuth flow for different application types

  • OAuth enables authorised access to resources without own user authentication
  • OAuth flows tailored to application types with different properties
  • Flow to renew expired access tokens by means of refresh tokens
  • Flows which should only be used for clients with high trust

This article gives an insight into different OAuth 2.0 flows, their characteristics and which flow is best suited for which type of application. The basics of OAuth 2.0, an overview of SAML 2.0, OpenID Connect and its differences have already been covered in the article SAML 2.0, OpenID Connect, OAuth 2.0. If you are not familiar with whether OAuth is authentication or authorization, you should look there first. This article focuses on OAuth 2.0 according to RFC 6749 and does not address other extending RFCs regarding OAuth 2.0.

In the following, OAuth always refers to OAuth 2.0, unless another version is explicitly referenced. The basic idea behind OAuth is to allow authorised access to third-party applications without having to have a copy of the users’ access data and to authenticate the users themselves. OAuth also allows you to control what the third-party application is allowed to see and for how long. In addition, access can be revoked for each application.

Terminology

The OAuth 2.0 specification provides various OAuth processes, so-called flows. By specifying grant_type when initiating, the flow is defined and executed according to its scheme.

Actors

An overview of the actors involved in different OAuth flows:

Actor Description
Client / Client Application A web application or other application that wants access to protected resources with the help and on behalf of the resource owner.
Resource Owner The user who grants access to the protected resource. If the resource owner is a user, this is also referred to as the end user.
Resource Server Server that manages the protected resources.
Authorization Server Server that authenticates the resource owner and issues access tokens for access to the desired resource with the resource owner’s consent.

Technical Terms

Term Description
Authorization Grant Reflects the access data of the resource owner. This is used to request the Access Token from the Authorization Server.
Access Token Access tokens to access protected resources. They represent an authorization for the respective client. The information they contain includes exact scope and defined access duration.
Refresh Token These are optionally issued with an Access Token. With a Refresh Token, a new Access Token can be collected from the Authorization Server after the validity of the Access Token has expired.

Different Client Types

OAuth Flows

The following abstract flow serves as a general understanding of the OAuth process, the various flows differ from it.

Abstract OAuth Procedure

Abstract OAuth Procedure

  1. The client requests access to resource X from its resource owner.
  2. The resource owner grants the client access (in the form of an authorization grant) to the requested resources. This takes place in the form of the grant type previously defined between the client and the OAuth service provider.
  3. The client authenticates itself with the OAuth service provider and asks for an access token using the authorization grant received from the resource owner.
  4. The authorization server authenticates the client and validates the Authorisation Grant, awarding the access token based on the result.
  5. The client requests the protected resource from the resource server, authenticating itself with the access token received.
  6. The resource server validates the access token and then responds to the request.

Authorization Code Flow

grant_type="authorization_code"

OAuth Authorization Code Flow

Here, an authorization server is located between the client and the resource owner. Instead of a direct request from the client to the resource owner, the resource owner is directed via a browser (user agent) to an authorization server. There, the resource owner authenticates himself to the authorization server and assigns the authorization to the client. The resource owner is then forwarded back to the client with an authorization code. The client can then collect the access token with the authorization code. With the access token request, the client still has to authenticate itself if it is a confidential client or if it has client access data.

Issuing a refresh token together with the access token is optional.

The authorization code issued should be valid for a maximum of 10 minutes. It should be cancelled shortly after use to prevent the risk of an authorization code leak. The authorization code must not be used more than once, if this happens the request should be discarded and all issued tokens based on this authorization code should be cancelled.

In the event of an error, the resource owner should be informed of the circumstances by the authorization server.

The added security value comes from the fact that the access token is sent directly from the authorization server to the client and does not go through the resource owner’s browser and is thus disclosed to him and possible other third parties.

Implicit Flow

response_type="token"

OAuth Implicit Flow

Step 6 is the execution of the received script from step 5 to read the access token from the URI fragment.

This process is a simplified version of the Authorisation Code flow and is designed for public client types. In this flow, an access token is issued directly to the client and an authorization code is therefore not required.

The authentication of the client by the authorization server is omitted, as public client types cannot implement the secure storage of their own client access data.

With this transfer, the access token becomes visible to the resource owner and other applications that have access to the resource owner’s browser.

The implicit flow speeds up the OAuth process by omitting the receipt of the authorization code and its exchange to obtain the access token. However, this makes the access token accessible to other parties and reduces its security.

The Implicit Flow does not support refresh tokens.

Resource Owner Password Credentials Flow

grant_type="password"

OAuth Resource Owner Password Credentials Flow

Here, the username and password of the resource owner are used directly as an authorization grant to obtain an access token.

This flow should only be used if the client does not currently support any other OAuth flow and OAuth must be used. The use of this flow is not recommended according to Internet-Draft, as the resource owner’s credentials are leaked to the client, many thanks to @alcastronic for this advice.

If a long-lived access or refresh token is issued to the client, the retransmission of the access data can be waived for this period of time. In this way, the resource owner enters his access data once and the client saves the token received. This makes sense in isolated areas of application. This can also replace existing direct authentication procedures such as HTTP Basic Authentication.

After issuing the access token, the client must remove the received access data of the resource owner from its memory.

Since the access token request here primarily consists of a user name and password, or rather this constitutes the authorization grant, the associated endpoint of the authorization server must be protected against brute force attacks.

Client Credentials Flow

grant_type="client_credentials"

OAuth Client Credentials Flow

This flow is used when the client is the resource owner itself or the client has been previously authorised for the requested resource. Machine-To-Machine (M2M) applications in particular often use this flow, such as daemons or services in the backend. The client only uses its credentials or other forms of client authentication towards the authorization server. This flow should only be used with trusted clients.

Renew Access Token via Refresh Token

The issuing of refresh tokens is optional, but makes sense depending on the application and the flow used. If the validity of the access token has expired, the client can use it to have a new access token issued by the authorization server if it is in possession of a refresh token. The refresh token is typically long-lived and bound to the client that made the initial access token request. If it is a confidential client or if it authenticated itself with client credentials in the initial request, it must provide them again. In addition to the client access data, the authorization server must also check, if necessary, whether the client comes with the refresh token intended for it.

If all supplied access data and the refresh token are valid, a new access token and optionally a new refresh token are issued. When a new refresh token is issued, the client must replace the old one with the new refresh token. The authorization server, on the other hand, can cancel the old refresh token, but does not have to. The scope of the new refresh token corresponds to the scope of the old refresh token.

Conclusion

When implementing a new OAuth solution, it is important to select the appropriate flow based on the specified client, applicable security requirements and security considerations. In the case of a classic web application with a backend on a web server, which can securely store client access data and protect it from unauthorised access, the authorization code flow is the appropriate choice. Whether optional refresh tokens are issued must be analysed depending on the application scenario.

Currently, OAuth 2.1 is in the making, which is to unify the additionally published RFCs to the OAuth 2.0 core RFC 6749.

About the Author

Ralph Meier

Ralph Meier completed an apprenticeship as an application developer, with a focus on web development with Java, at a major Swiss bank and then completed a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science UAS Zurich at the ZHAW School of Engineering. His primary task is doing security-related analysis of web applications and services. (ORCID 0000-0002-3997-8482)

Links

Is your data also traded on the dark net?

We are going to monitor the digital underground for you!

×
Flipper Zero

Flipper Zero

Ralph Meier

Web Cache Poisoning

Web Cache Poisoning

Ralph Meier

Increase Security in the Home Network

Increase Security in the Home Network

Ralph Meier

Reverse Engineering

Reverse Engineering

Ralph Meier

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

OAuth 2.0 Flows - Merkmale und ihr Einsatzgebiet

OAuth 2.0 Flows

Merkmale und ihr Einsatzgebiet

Ralph Meier
von Ralph Meier
am 15. September 2022
Lesezeit: 13 Minuten

Keypoints

Finden Sie den geeigneten OAuth Flow für verschiedene Applikationsarten

  • OAuth ermöglicht autorisierter Zugriff auf Ressourcen ohne eigene Benutzerauthentifizierung
  • Auf Applikationsarten zugeschnittene OAuth Abläufe mit verschiedenen Eigenschaften
  • Ablauf, um abgelaufene Access Tokens mittels Refresh Tokens zu erneuern
  • Welche Flows sollten nur bei Clients mit grossem Vertrauen eingesetzt werden

Dieser Artikel gibt einen Einblick in verschiedene OAuth 2.0 Flows, deren Eigenschaften und welcher Flow sich am besten für welche Art von Applikation eignet. Die Grundlagen von OAuth 2.0 und ein Überblick zu SAML 2.0, OpenID Connect und dessen Unterschiede werden bereits im Artikel SAML 2.0, OpenID Connect, OAuth 2.0 erläutert. Wem nicht geläufig ist, ob OAuth nun Authentisierung oder Autorisierung ist, sollte zuerst dort vorbeischauen. Dieser Artikel fokussiert sich auf OAuth 2.0 gemäss RFC 6749 und geht dabei nicht auf andere erweiternde RFCs bezüglich OAuth 2.0 ein.

Nachfolgend ist mit OAuth immer OAuth 2.0 gemeint, sofern nicht explizit eine andere Version referenziert wird. Die Grundidee hinter OAuth ist fremden Applikationen autorisierter Zugriff zu ermöglichen, ohne dabei eine Kopie der Zugangsdaten von den Benutzern zu besitzen und die Benutzer selbst authentifizieren zu müssen. Durch OAuth lässt sich ebenfalls steuern was die fremde Applikation einsehen darf und für wie lange. Zudem kann der Zugriff pro Applikation widerrufen werden.

Begrifflichkeiten

Die OAuth 2.0 Spezifikation stellt verschiedene OAuth Prozesse, sogenannte Flows zur Verfügung. Durch die Angabe von grant_type beim Initiieren, wird der Flow festgelegt und nach dessen Schema durchgeführt.

Akteure

Eine Übersicht der vorkommenden Akteure in den verschiedenen OAuth Abläufen:

Akteur Beschreibung
Client / Client Application Eine Webapplikation oder andere Applikation, welche Zugriff auf geschützte Ressourcen mit Hilfe und im Namen des Resource Owners will.
Resource Owner Der Benutzer, welcher Zugriff auf die geschützte Ressource freigibt. Handelt es sich beim Resource Owner um einen Benutzer, wird dieser auch als End-User bezeichnet.
Resource Server Server, welcher die geschützten Ressourcen verwaltet.
Authorization Server Server, welcher den Resource Owner authentisiert und mit dessen Zustimmung Access Tokens für den Zugriff auf die gewünschte Ressource ausstellt.

Fachbegriffe

Begriff Beschreibung
Authorization Grant Widerspiegelt die Zugangsdaten des Resource Owners, quasi ein Berechtigungsnachweis. Dieser wird verwendet, um beim Authorization Server den Access Token einzufordern.
Access Token Zugangstoken, um auf geschützte Ressourcen zuzugreifen. Sie repräsentieren eine Autorisierung für den jeweiligen Client. Die darin enthaltenen Informationen sind unteranderem genauer Scope und festgelegte Zugriffzeitdauer.
Refresh Token Diese werden optional mit einem Access Token ausgestellt. Mit einem Refresh Token kann nach Ablauf der Gültigkeit des Access Tokens, ein neues Access Token beim Authorization Server abgeholt werden.

Unterschiedliche Clienttypen

OAuth Flows

Der folgende abstrakte Ablauf dient zum allgemeinen Verständnis des OAuth Prozesses, die verschiedenen Flows unterscheiden sich davon.

Abstrakter OAuth Ablauf

Abstrakter OAuth Ablauf

  1. Der Client fragt den Zugriff auf Ressource X bei dessen Resource Owner an.
  2. Der Resource Owner gewährt dem Client Zugriff (in Form eines Authorization Grant) auf die angefragten Ressourcen. Dies geschieht in Form des zwischen Client und OAuth Service Provider vorher festgelegten grant type.
  3. Der Client authentisiert sich beim OAuth Service Provider und fragt nach einem Access Token mittels dem vom Resource Owner erhaltenen Authorization Grant.
  4. Der Authorization Server authentisiert den Client und validiert den Authorization Grant, vergibt aufgrund des Resultats den Access Token.
  5. Der Client fragt die geschützte Ressource vom Resource Server an, dabei authentifiziert er sich mit dem erhaltenen Access Token.
  6. Der Resource Server validiert das Access Token und beantwortet anschliessen den Request.

Authorization Code Flow

grant_type="authorization_code"

OAuth Authorization Code Flow

Hierbei befindet sich ein Authorization Server zwischen Client und Resource Owner. Statt einer direkten Anfrage vom Client zum Resource Owner, wird der Resource Owner via Browser (User-Agent) zu einem Authorization Server geleitet. Dort authentifiziert sich der Resource Owner gegenüber dem Authorization Server und vergibt die Berechtigung für den Client. Danach wird der Resource Owner mit einem Authorization Code zurück zum Client weitergeleitet. Anschliessend kann der Client mit dem Authorization Code den Access Token abholen. Beim Access Token Request muss sich der Client noch authentifizieren, wenn es sich um einen confidential Client handelt oder er über Client Zugangsdaten verfügt.

Die Ausgabe eines Refresh Tokens zusammen mit dem Access Token ist optional.

Der ausgestellte Authorization Code sollte maximal 10 Minuten gültig sein. Er sollte kurz nach Verwendung annulliert werden, um das Risiko eines Authorization Code-Leaks zu verhindern. Der Authorization Code darf nicht mehr als einmal verwendet werden, passiert dies sollte der Request verworfen werden und sämtliche ausgestellten Tokens basierend auf diesem Authorization Code annulliert werden.

Im Fehlerfall sollte der Resource Owner durch den Authorization Server über die Umstände informiert werden.

Der Security Mehrwert kommt davon, dass der Access Token direkt vom Authorization Server an den Client gesendet wird und nicht über den Browser des Resource Owners geht und somit offengelegt wird gegenüber ihm und möglichen weiteren Drittparteien.

Implicit Flow

response_type="token"

OAuth Implicit Flow

Bei Schritt 6 handelt es sich um die Ausführung des erhaltenen Scripts aus Schritt 5, um den Access Token aus dem URI Fragment herauszulesen.

Dieser Prozess ist eine vereinfachte Version des Authorization Code Flows und ist für public Clienttypen ausgelegt. In diesem Ablauf wird dem Client direkt ein Access Token ausgestellt und ein Authorization Code fällt somit weg.

Die Authentifizierung des Clients durch den Authorization Server fällt weg, da public Clienttypen die sichere Aufbewahrung von eigenen Client Zugangsdaten nicht umsetzen können.

Bei dieser Übergabe wird der Access Token gegenüber dem Resource Owner und anderen Applikationen, welche Zugriff auf den Browser des Resource Owners haben, einsehbar.

Der Implicit Flow beschleunigt den OAuth Prozess durch das Weglassen der Entgegennahme des Authorization Codes und dessen Umtausch zum Erhalt des Access Tokens. Dadurch wird der Access Token jedoch anderen Parteien zugänglich und büsst an Sicherheit ein.

Der Implicit Flow unterstützt keine Refresh Tokens.

Resource Owner Password Credentials Flow

grant_type="password"

OAuth Resource Owner Password Credentials Flow

Hierbei wird direkt der Benutzername und das Passwort des Resource Owners als Authorization Grant verwendet, um ein Access Token zu erhalten.

Dieser Ablauf sollte nur eingesetzt werden, wenn der Client aktuell keinen anderen OAuth Flow unterstützt und zwingend OAuth eingesetzt werden muss. Der Einsatz wird dieses Flows wird gemäss Internet-Draft nicht empfohlen, da dabei die Zugangsdaten des Resource Owners gegenüber dem Client geleakt werden, vielen Dank an @alcastronic für diesen Hinweis.

Wenn ein langlebiges Access oder Refresh Token dem Client ausgegeben wird, kann für diese Zeitspanne auf die erneute Übermittlung der Zugangsdaten verzichtet werden. Dadurch gibt der Resource Owner einmalig seine Zugangsdaten ein und der Client speichert das erhaltene Token. Dies macht in vereinzelten Anwendungsbereichen Sinn. Dadurch können auch existierende direkte Authentifizierungsverfahren wie HTTP Basic Authentication abgelöst werden.

Nach der Ausstellung des Access Tokens muss der Client die erhaltenen Zugangsdaten des Resource Owners aus dessen Speicher entfernen.

Da der Access Token Request hier primär aus Benutzername und Passwort besteht, beziehungsweise dies den Authorization Grant ausmacht, muss der dazugehörige Endpoint des Authorization Servers gegen Brute-Force-Angriffe geschützt sein.

Client Credentials Flow

grant_type="client_credentials"

OAuth Client Credentials Flow

Dieser Ablauf wird eingesetzt, wenn der Client der Resource Owner selbst ist oder der Client bereits zuvor für die angefragte Ressource autorisiert wurde. Gerade Machine-To-Machine (M2M) Applikationen verwenden diesen Flow häufig, wie zum Beispiel Daemons oder Services im Backend. Dabei verwendet der Client nur seine Zugangsdaten oder andere Formen von Client Authentifizierung gegenüber dem Authorization Server. Dieser Flow sollte nur mit vertrauenswürdigen Clients eingesetzt werden.

Access Token erneuern mittels Refresh Token

Die Ausgabe von Refresh Tokens ist optional, ist jedoch je nach Applikation und verwendetem Flow sinnvoll. Wenn die Gültigkeit des Access Tokens verstrichen ist, kann der Client falls er im Besitz eines Refresh Tokens ist, sich damit ein neues Access Token beim Authorization Server ausstellen lassen. Der Refresh Token ist typischerweise langlebig und an den Client gebunden, welcher den initialen Access Token Request gestellt hat. Wenn es sich um einen confidential Client handelt oder er sich beim initialen Request mit Client Zugangsdaten authentisiert hat, muss er diese erneut mitliefern. Der Authorization Server muss neben den Client Zugangsdaten, falls notwendig auch prüfen, ob der Client mit dem für ihn bestimmten Refresh Token daherkommt.

Falls alle gelieferten Zugangsdaten und der Refresh Token valide sind, wird ein neues Access Token und optional noch ein neuer Refresh Token ausgestellt. Bei einer Neuausstellung des Refresh Tokens muss der Client den Alten durch den neuen Refresh Token ersetzen. Der Authorization Server hingegen kann den alten Refresh Token annullieren, muss aber nicht. Der Scope des neuen Refresh Tokens entspricht dem Scope des alten Refresh Tokens.

Fazit

Bei der Implementierung einer neuen OAuth Lösung ist es wichtig anhand des spezifizierten Clients, geltenden Sicherheitsanforderungen sowie getätigten Sicherheitsüberlegungen den geeigneten Flow auszuwählen. Bei einer klassischen Webapplikation mit Backend auf einem Webserver, welcher Client Zugangsdaten sicher aufbewahren und vor Fremdzugriff schützten kann, ist der Authorization Code Flow die geeignete Wahl. Ob dabei optionale Refresh Tokens ausgestellt werden, muss je nach Anwendungsszenario analysiert werden.

Zurzeit ist OAuth 2.1 in Arbeit, welches die zum OAuth 2.0 core RFC 6749 zusätzlich publizierten RFCs vereinen soll.

Über den Autor

Ralph Meier

Ralph Meier hat eine Lehre als Applikationsentwickler, Fokus Webentwicklung mit Java, bei einer Schweizer Grossbank absolviert und danach einen Bachelor of Science ZFH in Informatik an der ZHAW School of Engineering abgeschlossen. Er fokussiert sich auf die sicherheitstechnische Untersuchung von Webapplikationen. (ORCID 0000-0002-3997-8482)

Links

Werden auch Ihre Daten im Darknet gehandelt?

Wir führen gerne für Sie ein Monitoring des Digitalen Untergrunds durch!

×
Web Cache Poisoning

Web Cache Poisoning

Ralph Meier

Sicherheit im Heimnetzwerk erhöhen

Sicherheit im Heimnetzwerk erhöhen

Ralph Meier

Reverse Engineering

Reverse Engineering

Ralph Meier

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv