Open-Source and its Effects on Security

Open-Source and its Effects on Security

Marc Ruef
by Marc Ruef
time to read: 6 minutes

The debate if and how open source can affect the security of a product has been going on for a while. There are, theoretically speaking, three main points that can be made:

Generally, it can be said that all three assumptions can be correct. The statement is dependent on the standpoint and the properties of it, though. The statements can be summarized as follows:

Quota of Errors

Let’s assume that a system has a certain number of Total Vulnerabilities. This number can be greater or smaller than the Total Vulnerabilities Undiscovered. This number, in turn, can be greater than or equal to the number of Vulnerabilities Discovered. And this number can also be greater than or equal to the number of Vulnerabilities Public:

Total Vulnerabilities ≥ Vulnerabilities Undiscovered ≥ Vulnerabilities Discovered ≥ Vulnerabilities Public

The sequence of this comparison determines the danger emanating from a vulnerability. The more public a vulnerability is, the more likely it is to be mitigated. This is basically a good thing for both the manufacturer and the customer.

Some publications assume that the number of Vulnerabilities Discovered or Vulnerabilities Public is a direct indicator of the security of a system (and by that also a statement regarding Total Vulnerabilities). This is, as shown in the comparison, not necessarily the case. Only the data of the past could potentially _show a possible trend_.

A high number of publicized vulnerabilities in this case isn’t necessarily an indicator of the lacking quality of a product. They are also an indicator of the rise in security a product has, if the vulnerabilities are being fixed. Good examples of this are the Microsoft products IIS and Internet Explorer. Both solutions have been criticized over the years due to their high number of gaps in security and patches. The current statistical comparison (see also) with competing products shows that the level of security of these products is now above the average across the board. This proves that even the data of the past is not a certain indicator of security.

Model for High Security Environments

As evidenced above, open and closed source systems have distinct advantages. The question now arises which model should be preferred when it comes to high security environments.

A closed source solution can be recommended if a short-term advantage – and only a short-term advantage! – is to be met. If the solution can be tested by internal specialists, the solution can lead to head start (which can be assumed of the changes to DES by the NSA). The attackers will in the long run be able to catch up and transform the advantage of the closed source system into a disadvantage (as evidenced by the encryption called A5 used in GSM).

In the long run, open source systems should be preferred over closed source ones. By actively engaging in collaboration with a community – especially in combination with internal specialists -, vulnerabilities can be discovered and eliminated much quicker. The goal should be to, at some point and as quickly as possible, reach the state of a system that is as secure as possible and in which there are no highly critical and unknown weaknesses left.

About the Author

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef has been working in information security since the late 1990s. He is well-known for his many publications and books. The last one called The Art of Penetration Testing is discussing security testing in detail. He is a lecturer at several universities, like ETH, HWZ, HSLU and IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

You need professional Vulnerability Management?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Data Markets

Data Markets

Marc Ruef

Password Leak Analysis

Password Leak Analysis

Marc Ruef

MITRE ATT&CK

MITRE ATT&CK

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Open-Source und die Auswirkungen auf die Sicherheit

Open-Source und die Auswirkungen auf die Sicherheit

Marc Ruef
von Marc Ruef
Lesezeit: 6 Minuten

Seit jeher wird debattiert, ob und inwiefern Quelloffenheit Einfluss auf die Sicherheit eines Produkts haben kann. Es gibt hier theoretisch drei Standpunkte, die vertreten werden können:

Generell kann gesagt werden, dass alle drei Annahmen richtig sein können. Die Aussage ist aber massgeblich vom Standpunkt und den mit ihm einhergehenden Eigenschaften abhängig. Diese können den Aussagen entsprechend wie folgt zusammengefasst werden:

Verhalten der Fehlerquote

Gehen wir davon aus, dass ein System eine Anzahl Fehler Total hat. Diese können grösser oder gleich gross der Anzahl Fehler Unentdeckt sein. Diese können ihrerseits grösser oder gleich gross der Anzahl Fehler Entdeckt sein. Und diese können ebenfalls grösser oder gleich gross Fehler öffentlich sein:

Fehler Total ≥ Fehler Unentdeckt ≥ Fehler Entdeckt ≥ Fehler Öffentlich

Die Reihenfolge dieses Vergleichs bestimmt ebenso die Gefahr eines Fehlers. Umso entdeckter/öffentlicher er ist, desto eher kann und wird er behoben werden. Dies ist im Grunde sowohl für den Hersteller als auch für die Nutzer/Kunden von Vorteil.

In so manchen Publikationen wird davon ausgegangen, dass die Anzahl Fehler Entdeckt bzw. Fehler Öffentlich eine direkte Aussage zur Sicherheit eines Systems (und damit über die Anzahl der Fehler Total) gemacht werden kann. Dies ist jedoch, wie der Vergleich zeigt, nicht zwingend der Fall. Es kann höchstens aus den Daten der Vergangenheit ein möglicher Trend aufgezeigt werden.

Eine hohe Anzahl öffentlich gemachter Fehler ist in diesem Fall aber nicht zwingend nur ein Hinweis auf die fehlende Qualität eines Produkts. Ebenso können diese, sind sie denn behoben worden, Aufschluss über die gegenwärtig erhöhte Sicherheit geben. Gute Beispiele hierfür sind die Microsoft-Produkte IIS und Internet Explorer. Beide Lösungen sind jahrelang aufgrund der überdurchschnittlich hohen Anzahl Sicherheitslücken/Patches in der Kritik gestanden. Der gegenwärtige statistische Vergleich (siehe auch) mit konkurrierenden Produkten attestiert diesen Lösungen mittlerweile eine bessere durchschnittliche Sicherheitsqualität. Es darf sich also nicht nur auf Daten der Vergangenheit in unumstösslicher Weise verlassen werden.

Modell für hochsichere Umgebungen

Es wurde nun gezeigt, dass sowohl offene als auch geschlossene Systeme einen sicherheitstechnischen Vorteil versprechen können. Damit stellt sich nun aber die Frage, welches Modell in hochsicheren Umgebungen bevorzugt werden sollte.

Eine geschlossene Lösung kann dann empfohlen werden, wenn ein kurzfristiger Vorteil – und nur ein solcher! – erreicht werden will. Kann die Lösung durch eigene Spezialisten umfangreich geprüft werden, kann sich damit ein Vorsprung herausgeholt werden (dies kann bei den Anpassungen von DES durch die NSA vermutet werden). Die Angreifer werden jedoch längerfristig in der Lage sein, diesen aufzuholen und damit den Vorteil des geschlossenen Systems in dessen Nachteil umzuwandeln (so geschehen bei der in GSM eingesetzten Verschlüsselung A5).

Längerfristig gesehen sollten deshalb stets offenen Systemen den Vorrang gegeben werden. Durch das etwaige Mitarbeiten einer Community – vor allem in Kombination mit den eigenen Spezialisten – können Fehler schneller eliminiert werden. Das Ziel sollte sein, irgendwann – möglichst schnell – den Zustand eines möglichst sicheren Systems zu erreichen, in dem keine unbekannten und untragbaren Schwachstellen mehr existieren.

Über den Autor

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef ist seit Ende der 1990er Jahre im Cybersecurity-Bereich aktiv. Er hat vor allem im deutschsprachigen Raum aufgrund der Vielzahl durch ihn veröffentlichten Fachpublikationen und Bücher – dazu gehört besonders Die Kunst des Penetration Testing – Bekanntheit erlangt. Er ist Dozent an verschiedenen Hochschulen, darunter ETH, HWZ, HSLU und IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

Sie brauchen professionelles Vulnerability Management?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

3D Printing

3D Printing

Marc Ruef

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv