Functionality Testing a IDS/IPS

Functionality Testing a IDS/IPS

Marc Ruef
by Marc Ruef
time to read: 9 minutes

Intrusion Prevention Systems (IPS) were considered to be the consequence of Intrusion Detection Systems (IDS) around 15 years ago. IDS were to help to recognize and react to attack attempts and successful attacks. IPS go one step further and attempt to stop ongoing attacks as early as possible. This should improve the already existing security of an environment.

Even though IDS and IPS have been on the market for years and many a product has gone on sale, they are a bit of a mystery. Administrators either can’t comprehend the functionality of the systems at all or, if they can, they have great difficulty doing so. Traditionally, network-based solutions, known as HIDS/HIPS are deployed. The possibilities of a systematic functionality test and an illustration thereof is the goal of this article.

Goal

The goal of the functionality test of an IDS/IPS is to find out if the solution is working properly. The definition of properly changes, depending on the test case.

Usually, the systems have to detect an attempted attack as just that. This will result in an action that defines how the attack is being handled. This can be a passive action, preferably offered by the IDS:

However, these actions can also be active actions. These are mainly the task of an IPS:

In a test case, these actions are to be provoked deliberately. They are to be targeted, controlled and comprehensive.

Initial Situation

For a functionality test to take place, there need to be certain prerequisites in place. Basically, an attack scenario needs to be created, in which the IDS/IPS can perform its functions. In a host-based solution, it is necessary for the traffic to either tangent the IDS/IPS (passive sensors) or for the traffic to be re-routed via the IDS/IPS (inline system).

The easiest case is when the defined target system is protected by the IDS/IPS. An attacker will be put in an as-realistic-as-possible position where his attempts at accessing the target will be checked by the IDS/IPS.

Ideally, the data traffic will be logged at both end points (source and target) as well as on any and all systems in between – in particular on the IDS/IPS systems. That way, the exact minutiae of the test can be known.

This becomes interesting when a security component has a direct impact on communications. For example when a proxy transforms protocols or an IPS stops an attempted attack in the middle of said attempt. In that case, logging between source and target can be compared to determine the exact time and influence of the actions.

Testing

After the preparations for testing have concluded, the test proper can begin. During a test, various test cases are being initiated. All of those cases must fulfil these requirements:

The easiest way to go about it is to use the tools that are freely available and that are also used during penetration testing. The following tools are recommended:

However, there can be situations in which fairly complex exploits need to be simulated. In such cases, testers should rely on standardized frameworks such as Metasploit or ATK. The use of dedicated exploits is problematic. Not only are they not always comprehensively standardized but they also are usually of questionable origin, leading to the risk of getting infected with a Trojan.

Documentation

Each of the test cases has to be documented separately. In this documentation, certain basic points of information are mandatory to include in order to maintain the desired level of quality:

The result of a relatively small functionality test with an easily comprehensive number of test cases can look as follows:

ID Designation Command Result
1 TCP FIN Scan nmap -PN -sF -vv -d1 <target> -oA nmap_sf NOT DETECTED
2 TCP Xmas Scan nmap -PN -sX -vv -d1 <target> -oA nmap_sx DETECTED
3 Ping +++ATH DoS ping -c 3 -p 2b2b2b415448300d <target> PREVENTED
4 Land DoS hping3 -V -c 10000 -d 120 -S -w 64 -p 445 -s 445 -flood --rand-source <target> NOT DETECTED

If an attack has been detected correctly, then this can be filed as a success. However, if the IDS does not detect an attack, then an investigation into the reasons for the failure of detection must be launched. In an ideal case, if such a thing exists when the IDS failed, it’s due to the misconfiguration of the IDS/IPS or one of the filters that are being used. If the cause of the failure can’t be found – many commercial solutions do not publish the functionality of their filters (such as HP Tipping Point) – then the vendor should be contacted in order to get an explanation for the failure. Transparency is of the utmost importance in order to maintain trust in and quality of a solution.

Summary

IDS and IPS are important elements in the security architecture of an environment. Targeted functionality tests should be undertaken to check if the systems do their job properly. To do this, testers must create an attack scenario that is as realistic as possible in which the systems can show their functionality.

By using targeted, comprehensive and simple test cases testers can try to provoke an expected action. If this action happens, this can be considered a success. If it doesn’t happen, though, then the cause of the failure must be investigated. Misconfiguration or errors in the deployed product can be responsible. Functionality tests are of vital importance to the security of an environment and the trust that is put into a product used in said environment.

About the Author

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef has been working in information security since the late 1990s. He is well-known for his many publications and books. The last one called The Art of Penetration Testing is discussing security testing in detail. He is a lecturer at several universities, like ETH, HWZ, HSLU and IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

You want to test the security of your firewall?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Data Markets

Data Markets

Marc Ruef

Password Leak Analysis

Password Leak Analysis

Marc Ruef

MITRE ATT&CK

MITRE ATT&CK

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Funktionstests eines IDS/IPS

Funktionstests eines IDS/IPS

Marc Ruef
von Marc Ruef
Lesezeit: 8 Minuten

Intrusion Prevention Systeme (IPS) galten vor bald 15 Jahren als Weiterführung von Intrusion Detection Systemen (IDS). IDS sollten dabei helfen, Angriffsversuche und erfolgreiche Attacken als solche zu erkennen, um auf diese reagieren zu können. IPS gehen einen Schritt weiter und versuchen laufende Attacken frühestmöglich zu unterbinden. Die gegebene Sicherheit einer Umgebung sollte damit unmittelbar verbessert werden.

Obwohl IDS und IPS seit vielen Jahren bekannt sind und viele Anbieter auf den Markt gekommen sind, ist die Funktionsweise von derlei Systemen nach wie vor für viele Administratoren nicht oder nur schwierig nachzuvollziehen. Klassischerweise werden netzwerkbasierte Lösungen – sogenannte HIDS/HIPS – eingesetzt. Die Möglichkeit eines systematischen Funktionstests soll in diesem Beitrag illustriert werden.

Ziel

Das Ziel des Funktionstests eines IDS/IPS besteht darin herauszufinden, ob die Lösung richtig funktioniert. Die Richtigkeit unterscheidet sich je nach Fall.

In der Regel müssen diese Systeme Angriffsversuche als solche erkennen können. Daraus resultiert eine Action, wie mit der identifizierten Attacke umgegangen werden soll. Dies kann eine passive Action, vorzugsweise durch ein IDS angeboten, sein:

Es können aber auch aktive Actions, dies ist hauptsächlich Aufgabe eines IPS, ausgelöst werden:

Durch den Funktionstest sollen nun diese Actions bewusst, gezielt, kontrollierbar und nachvollziehbar provoziert werden.

Ausgangslage

Damit ein Funktionstest durchgeführt werden kann, müssen einige Gegebenheiten vorhanden sein. Grundsätzlich muss ein Angriffsszenario geschaffen werden, in dem das IDS/IPS seine Funktionalität erbringen kann. Bei einer hostbasierten Lösung ist erforderlich, dass der Datenverkehr zum Zielsystem das IDS/IPS tangiert (passiver Sensor) bzw. über dieses geleitet wird (Inline-System).

Am einfachsten ist es, wenn ein Zielsystem, das durch das IDS/IPS geschützt wird, definiert wird. Ein Angreifer wird dem möglichst realistischen Szenario entsprechend so positioniert, dass seine Zugriffe auf das Zielsystem durch das IDS/IPS geprüft werden.

Im Idealfall wird der Datenverkehr auf den beiden Endpunkten (Quelle und Ziel) sowie den dazwischenliegenden Systemen – vor allem auf dem IDS/IPS – mitprotokolliert. Dadurch kann der Testverlauf exakt nachvollzogen und bei Problemen detailliert analysiert werden.

Dies ist vor allem dann interessant, wenn eine Sicherheitskomponente direkten Einfluss auf die Kommunikation ausübt. Zum Beispiel, wenn ein Proxy Umformungen von Protokollen vornimmt oder ein IPS mittendrin einen Angriffsversuch stoppt. In diesem Fall kann nämlich die Protokollierung zwischen Quell- und Zielsystem verglichen werden, um den exakten Zeitpunkt und den unmittelbaren Einfluss zu identifizieren.

Durchführung

Nachdem die Vorbindungen für das Testing geschaffen wurden, kann die Durchführung angegangen werden. Dabei werden einzelne Test Cases initiiert, die ihrerseits grundlegende Anforderungen voraussetzen:

Am einfachsten ist es, wenn die für einen Penetration Test üblichen und frei verfügbaren Werkzeuge genutzt werden. Hierzu bieten sich die folgenden beiden Tools an:

Es kann dennoch Situationen geben, in denen man eher komplexe Exploits simulieren möchte. Hier sollte auf standardisierte Frameworks wie Metasploit oder ATK zurückgegriffen werden. Das Nutzen von dedizierten Exploits ist problematisch. Einerseits sind diese nicht immer nachvollziehbar standardisiert und andererseits stammen sie meist aus zweifelhafter Quelle (Gefahr einer Trojanisierung).

Dokumentation

Die einzelnen Test Cases müssen separat dokumentiert werden. Dabei sind einige Grundinformationen zwingend festzuhalten, um das gewünschte Mass an Qualität gewährleisten zu können:

Das Resultat eines relativ kleinen Funktionstests mit einer überschaubaren Anzahl an Test Cases sieht dann zum Beispiel wie folgt aus:

ID Bezeichnung Kommando Resultat
1 TCP FIN Scan nmap -PN -sF -vv -d1 <target> -oA nmap_sf NOT DETECTED
2 TCP Xmas Scan nmap -PN -sX -vv -d1 <target> -oA nmap_sx DETECTED
3 Ping +++ATH DoS ping -c 3 -p 2b2b2b415448300d <target> PREVENTED
4 Land DoS hping3 -V -c 10000 -d 120 -S -w 64 -p 445 -s 445 -flood --rand-source <target> NOT DETECTED

Wenn ein Angriffsversuch korrekt erkannt wurde, kann dies als Erfolg verbucht werden. Sollte hingegen eine Entdeckung ausbleiben, gilt es herauszufinden, was der Grund für diesen Umstand ist. Im “Idealfall” ist dies auf eine Fehlkonfiguration des IDS/IPS bzw. eines der eingesetzten Filter zurückzuführen. Falls die Ursache nicht ausgemacht werden kann – viele kommerzielle Anbieter legen die Funktionsweise ihrer Filter nicht offen (z.B. HP TippingPoint) – sollte der Hersteller um eine Erklärung ersucht werden. Transparenz ist unendlich wichtig, um das Vertrauen in eine Lösung und die gewünschte Qualität erhalten zu können.

Zusammenfassung

IDS und IPS sind wichtige Elemente, die zur Sicherheit einer Umgebung beitragen können. Durch gezielte Funktionstests sollte geprüft werden, ob sie ihren Dienst auch richtig verrichten. Zu diesem Zweck muss ein möglichst realistisches Angriffsszenario geschaffen werden, in dem sie ihre Möglichkeiten entfalten können.

Durch gezielte, nachvollziehbare und möglichst einfache Test Cases kann dann versucht werden, die erwartete Action zu provozieren. Falls diese eintritt, kann von einem Erfolg gesprochen werden. Bleibt sie hingegen aus, muss man der Ursache auf den Grund gehen. Fehlkonfigurationen oder Fehlbarkeiten im eingesetzten Produkt können dafür verantwortlich sein. Für die Sicherheit einer Umgebung und das Vertrauen in die eingesetzten Produkte sind solche Funktionstests unerlässlich.

Über den Autor

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef ist seit Ende der 1990er Jahre im Cybersecurity-Bereich aktiv. Er hat vor allem im deutschsprachigen Raum aufgrund der Vielzahl durch ihn veröffentlichten Fachpublikationen und Bücher – dazu gehört besonders Die Kunst des Penetration Testing – Bekanntheit erlangt. Er ist Dozent an verschiedenen Hochschulen, darunter ETH, HWZ, HSLU und IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

Sie wollen die Sicherheit Ihrer Firewall prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

3D Printing

3D Printing

Marc Ruef

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv