scip IT Security Forecast 2015

scip IT Security Forecast 2015

Marc Ruef
by Marc Ruef
time to read: 7 minutes

Now that the year 2014 is drawing to a close, we would like to take the time to look ahead and try to predict what the coming twelve months will bring. This is something of a tradition at scip and we’ve done this in the past few years as well. The predictions are – if possible – sorted in descending priority:

Unrest in Europe and Cyber War

The economic and military conflicts in Europe will affect electronic warfare. The continuing and sometimes escalating conflicts could carry over to militaristically orchestrated or politically motivated groups in virtual spaces. Break-ins, defacements, DDoS and malware attacks could be the consequences.

&nbsp

Wearables Will Establish Themselves

Small computers, worn on the body will continue to spread and become a staple of modern society. They will be more powerful, more comfortable, more affordable and nicer to look at. This will have sociological and security related consequences that will change our perception as well as our handling of our electronic data once more.

&nbsp

Fitness Tracker Will Have First Impacts

Solutions such as Fitbit or Garmin will store more and more personal data, including medical content. The protection of this data will be considered important by the public. If and how the vendors of the solutions are allowed to analyze the medical data they collect will lead to discussions on all levels of society.

&nbsp

Aftershocks of the Sony Hack

The repeated and extremely compromising break-in at Sony this past November will have technical, legal, financial and sociological effects. The fact that global players in the corporate world can be shaken to their core will change the public’s view on IT security. Dave Aitel, former NSA research scientist and CEO of the IT security firm Immunity, considers the hack an Act of War.

&nbsp

Windows 8.1 Will Dominate

Microsoft’s youngest operating system, Windows 8.1, will be adopted by more members of the public as well as corporate entities. This will push Windows 7 off its throne. The additional features as well as the security mechanisms will have significant influence on how users deal with the solution. Existing concepts will have to be adapted to the new situation.

&nbsp

More Electronics in Cars

The on-board electronics in cars will become increasingly complex. Companies like Tesla that will offer the Model X, a SUV, will make more headway in this sector. Due to this advancement, IT security in cars will be more of a topic of discussion than ever before.

&nbsp

Netzneutralität Will Be Undermined

In many nations, there are first indicators that net neutrality is being undermined. Net neutrality will be increasingly adapted to economic interest. This has a direct effect on competition and the freedom of speech. Without an international accord to keep net neutrality intact, the online landscape will gradually change.

&nbsp

4K Fernsehen Will Become Relevant

As an extension to current HD televisions (720p/1080p), Ultra HD models (4k2k) that can compete in the market when it comes to price will be offered. The biggest driving force behind this is the option to watch video in high resolution on portals such as YouTube, Netflix as well as on 4K Blu-ray.

About the Author

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef has been working in information security since the late 1990s. He is well-known for his many publications and books. The last one called The Art of Penetration Testing is discussing security testing in detail. He is a lecturer at several universities, like ETH, HWZ, HSLU and IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

You want to test the strength of your enterprise regarding malware attacks?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Data Markets

Data Markets

Marc Ruef

Password Leak Analysis

Password Leak Analysis

Marc Ruef

MITRE ATT&CK

MITRE ATT&CK

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

scip IT Security Forecast 2015

scip IT Security Forecast 2015

Marc Ruef
von Marc Ruef
Lesezeit: 7 Minuten

Wie jedes Jahr möchten wir auch zum Ende von 2014 einen IT Security Forecast für das kommende Jahr 2015 machen. Nachfolgend eben jene Themen – nach Möglichkeiten in der Reihenfolge absteigender Priorität -, die sich unseres Erachtens manifestieren oder gar noch weiterentwickeln werden:

Unruhen in Europa und Cyberkrieg

Die wirtschaftlichen und militärischen Unruhen in Europa haben Auswirkungen auf die elektronische Kriegsführung. Der anhaltende oder gar punktuell eskalierende Konflikt könnte zu militärisch orchestrierten oder politisch motivierten Gruppierungen in den virtuellen Raum übertragen werden. Breakins, Defacements, DDoS- und Malware-Attacken können die Folge davon sein.

&nbsp

Wearables werden sich etablieren

Am Körper getragene Kleinstcomputer werden sich zunehmend verbreiten und zu einem festen Bestandteil der modernen Gesellschaft werden. Sie werden leistungsfähiger, komfortabler, preisgünstiger und schöner anzusehen. Dies wird soziologische und sicherheitstechnische Auswirkungen haben, die sowohl unsere Wahrnehmung als auch unseren Umgang mit elektronischen Daten noch einmal verändern werden.

&nbsp

Fitness Tracker werden erste Folgen haben

Durch Lösungen wie Fitbit und Garmin werden immer mehr persönliche Daten, auch mit medizinischen Inhalten, anfallen. Der Schutz dieser wird dementsprechend bald auch durch eine breite Öffentlichkeit als wichtig wahrgenommen. Ob und inwiefern die Anbieter entsprechender Lösungen diese ohne Einschränkungen auswerten dürfen, wird noch für Diskussionen auf allen Ebenen sorgen.

&nbsp

Nachwehen zum grossen Sony-Hack

Der erneute und extrem breitflächige Einbruch bei Sony im vergangenen November wird technische, juristische, finanzielle und soziologische Auswirkungen haben. Dass mit einer solchen Kompromittierung selbst grosse Weltkonzerne in Bedrängnis gebracht werden können, wird die öffentliche Wahrnehmung zum Thema IT-Sicherheit verändern. Dave Aitel, ehemaliger NSA Research Scientist und jetziger CEO der IT-Security-Firma Immunity, äussert sich gar dahingehend, diesen Zwischenfall als Act of War zu verstehen.

&nbsp

Windows 8.1 wird zunehmend dominieren

Das jüngste Betriebssystem Windows 8.1 wird immer mehr von Privatpersonen und Unternehmen eingesetzt werden und damit Windows 7 verdrängen. Die zusätzlichen Funktionen und Sicherheitsmechanismen werden Einfluss auf den Umgang entsprechender Lösungen nehmen. Bestehende Konzepte müssen überarbeitet und den neuen Gegebenheiten angepasst werden.

&nbsp

Noch mehr Elektronik in Autos

Die Bordelektronik in Autos wird zunehmend komplexer. Gerade Anbieter wie Tesla, die mit dem Model X auch einen SUV auf den Markt bringen werden, trumpfen in diesem Bereich auf. Durch die zunehmende Verbreitung moderner Autos wird das Thema IT-Sicherheit auch in diesem Bereich breitflächig Einzug halten.

&nbsp

Netzneutralität wird untergraben

In vielen Staaten deutet es sich mittlerweile auf politischer Ebene an, dass an der Netzneutralität gerüttelt wird. Diese wird zunehmend an den wirtschaftlichen Bedürfnissen ausgerichtet und dementsprechend untergraben. Dies hat direkten Einfluss auf Wettbewerb und Meinungsfreiheit. Ohne internationale Einigung zum Erhalt der Netzneutralität wird sich die Internet-Landschaft langsam aber stetig verändern.

&nbsp

4K Fernsehen wird relevant

Als Erweiterung zu aktuellen HD-Fernsehern (720p/1080p) werden Ultra HD-Modelle (4K2K) angeboten, die mittlerweile mit Preis und Leistung überzeugen können. Als wichtigster Treiber ist die Bereitstellung entsprechend hochauflösenden Filmmaterials anzusehen, das mit einer Erweiterung von YouTube, Netflix und 4K Blu-ray direkt vor der Tür steht.

Über den Autor

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef ist seit Ende der 1990er Jahre im Cybersecurity-Bereich aktiv. Er hat vor allem im deutschsprachigen Raum aufgrund der Vielzahl durch ihn veröffentlichten Fachpublikationen und Bücher – dazu gehört besonders Die Kunst des Penetration Testing – Bekanntheit erlangt. Er ist Dozent an verschiedenen Hochschulen, darunter ETH, HWZ, HSLU und IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

Sie wollen die Resistenz Ihres Unternehmens auf Malware prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

3D Printing

3D Printing

Marc Ruef

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv